Chris Sinckler, Minister of Finance

BU was advised by a reliable source that the communication attached to this blog was delivered to the office of the Minister of Finance (MoF) on 26 July 2016. The objective was to ensure the MoF received feedback in advance of the 2016-2017 budget. Contrary to the MoF’s advisement that he had consulted stakeholders in the private sector, we were again reliably informed that the joint committee representing the PSV sector did not receive a response from the MoF. Not even an acknowledgment.

Every business in every sector of the economy has been able to adjust prices to ensure they earn a reasonable ROI except the PSV operators. Unfortunately fare increases are regulated by government and in the face of rising cost the PSV sector finds itself with an ageing fleet and rising operating cost.  The recent imposition of a 2% National Social Responsibility Levy will have the effect of increasing operating cost by a further 4% to 6%.

What is upsetting is the information reaching BU that the Nation newspaper was able to see the document sent to the MoF and published the following editorial on the 7 September 2016 with the title – Not the time for increase in bus fare. A read of the editorial exposes an obvious bias of the author. An editorial is meant to share the view of the newspaper we are told.

BU acknowledges that the PSV needs to be better regulated but it will only be achieved if all the players worked closely together. The corrupt behaviour of officials over the last three or four decades has not assisted the industry. There is a suffocating culture that has enveloped the industry and it behooves all the stakeholders to demonstrate leadership to bring the sector to heel.

Shame on the Nation newspaper and Roy Morris!

Relevant ink:

Letter sent to Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler on 26 July 2016 (fare increase/duty concession)

17 responses to “Minister Chris Sinckler Refused to Respond to the PSV Operators Before the Budget”

1. “The recent imposition of a 2% National Social Responsibility Levy will have the effect of increasing operating cost by a further 4% to 6%.”

And why did the price for chicken in PriceSmart increase by 42% ??? I could cite many other examples.

2. Didn’t we have to listen to the MoF Sinckler filling Dennis Johnson’s head with fluff by explaining the important of those responsible responding to inquires from the public?

3. These morons have taken this country to hell.

They have destroyed everything and there is no hope that things will get better as long as they remain in office.

Every time that the minister of finance has introdued a revenue collection measure, it has been a disaster. He dont know what he is doing and so he cannot explain to those who are to implement the desired policy what should be or should not be. The man is out of his depths.

The public service was supposed to be reformed and it is incredible that in 2016, the public can write letters to government ministers and not be afforded the respect of a response.

I wish the minibus assocaition luck in dealing with these morons……………..but they are reaping what they sow……………I destinctly remember how the PSV community was forcefully supporting the DLP…………they never thought that the dems could be so indifferent to them after making so many promises to them, dems always promise but can never deliver on the promise…………..but like the older folk always say……… a promise is a comfort to a fool.

4. We were all taught that the collective noun for a number of sheep is a flock. Well, recently I wanted to find out the word for a collection of politicians and decided to Google it. After thinking about it, I realise that I should not have been surprised by the result when I know Sinckler and his colleagues.

There are three words for a collection of politicians – LIE, EQUIVOCATION, ODIUM.

I love the English language.

5. crooks , liars scumbags, nothing will change unless they are removed,All of them, all 60 of them . kings of tax and vat .

6. @ac

So, is Inniss now “exposing” PriceSmart for a price increase of 42 % ?
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/08/27/ill-expose-them/

YES or NO?

AC, should I ask Donni himself when I bump into him next in Zurich?

7. The economic shock triggered by the latest tax slaughter is evident.

How can we trust an establishment which claims to “expose” (Inniss) or “expect” (Ince) desparate businessmen and also claims that prices only increase by 2%, when in bloody reality prices explode like in Venezuela?

How can we trust an establishment that told us in August that everything is OK with the budget and that excessive taxation is good for the people, when in reality S&P just kicked us into the … again and there is still a NEGATIVE outlook?

I ask every reader:

How can we trust an establishment that tells us that devaluation is not an option, when every single promise is broken?

8. @ David
    What has Bushie ALWAYS told you about the Nation….? lotta shiite!!
    The Nation is the PRIMARY propaganda organ of those who are intent on (and succeeding in) destroying Barbados. A group called ‘One Caribbean’…

@ Tron
    Boss … anybody (- with the obvious exception of AC and Alvin) who believes ANYTHING that Chris Stinkliar says fully deserves the fate of a fool…

This man has lied openly, publicly, on record, and repeatedly now for so long and so often that HE can no longer be blamed for any jackass that chooses to believe him.

When Stinkliar said that devaluation is not an option, Bushie IMMEDIATELY began urgent preparations for a drastic devaluation. When he said that we had ‘turned the corner’…. Bushie mashed brakes and slapped in reverse gear….

Shiite man!!! We all know that the man is a dunce and compulsive liar, the trick is to operate within that reality…

@ Caswell
    As you well know, there is an embarrassingly simple solution to this problem of being burdened with idiots for politicians. Unfortunately, it requires a few brave, intelligent and UNAFRAID individuals to take some revolutionary steps in the right direction.

1 – Politicians should NOT be paid for their services….which should be limited to POLICY. Theirs should be a civic duty, performed by those who have been BLESSED with the needed talents and gifts, and who have benefited most from the society’s educational systems.
    2. Every single shiite that they do must be open to public scrutiny and be subject to review based on established rules and regulations.
    3- Professional managers should be head-hunted and hired to manage the Nation’s business just as is done in any sensible organization….and held responsible for success.
    Only brass bowls hire jackasses to manage their money.

In short, You should have launched BUP some time ago and offered Barbados a chance for survival. As it is, …you did not …and our ass IS grass. End of story.

9. It is approaching 3 years since minister Sincker declared he had received a death threat. What is the latest?

Police investigating death threat against Minister

Posted by Amit Somaru on October 24, 2013 in Barbados, News | Comments Off on Police investigating death threat against Minister

Public Relations Officer of the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF)  Inspector David Welch, has  confirmed that lawmen are investigating  a threat against Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler,

Last Tuesday, Sinckler told  Parliament that he was informed by the police they had credible information that two people were overheard planning to shoot him.

According to Sinckler,the police had offered him security because of this threat to his life.

Welch, confirmed to  that the RBPF was actively investigating a threat to Sinckler, but said he could not go into details on the matter and the protection being accorded the Minister.

10. Isn’t that more lies from the Mof coming all down the line including the police?

11. Looka Honourable Blogmaster,

Every night de ole man does be up wid de Glockenspiel heheheheh pacing de property jes waiting pun dem, and confident dat well…..and dem dots of continuity is sufficient unto they who have ears…

Now as an active conspiracy theory senior citizen and confabulation expert (jes look at de ole man stoopid cartoon) I want to go through this absolute story for reader edification

“Stinkliar told Parliament that he had been informed by the police, (same fellers dat beat up Nazzim Blackett) they had credible information that two people had been overheard planning to shoot him”

Now there are some things that bear mention here.

Overheard.

Now that would suggest that someone or someones were actually there to hear the threat AND, given that it could not have been the police who overheard the threat, for you dun know dat if a feller point he fingers at a woman, while dem in a nearby vehicle, dem does get lock up, it would have to have been a third party.

Now Stinkliar confirm dat de overhearer(s) (dat is a word? overhearer?) any the overhearer was not a “Lickmout Lou” since dem was credibly accredited by de Police who ent yet issue de Blackett report

So we have been able to establish dat it was not a policeman dat hear de threat or de threatener(s) dat is a word?, de threatener would have been arrested.

We also know dat dem is credible cause de police say so.

So, given dat 3years has elapsed and nobody ent get apprehend I will now respectfully suggest dat de menses, and I gine assume dat it is menses who gine shoot he, note by the way he did not say kill, jes shoot (but I gine get back to dat Freudian slip) given dat 3 years gone and nobody ent apprehend, I gine suggest dat de shooters was policemenses and dat dey is protecting one of dere own like how dem protecting de officers dat beat Nazzim.

It ent mek sense tuh you?

All dis time and not a feller ent get arrest!!

Dem menses is either policemenses or, and here is a next ting, white Bajans, who you dun know does doan do crimes!!!

Now back to the verb of choice “shoot”.

Why shoot and not stab nor blow up or use a lens pun?

See Whu de ole man saying?

It is a crime from menses wid guns.

And since no arrests was made, it ent no small hoodlums so we now sure dat it is white men’s, policemenses or politicians wid gunses.

Where pit bull or Dale Smiley Teets was on de day of de accusations?

Steupseeee, dat Stinkliar is an effing liar dat was seeking sympathy and trying to tek peeple mind off of some udder issue at that time, like de budget.

But doan completely write he off causing, when de election bell ring bout heah in 2017, not two men, but thousands of men, and women gine “masticate” he and de DLP at de polls.

Masticate is a word?

12. the blp operatives are so predictable in their comments it as if their reading of the same ole scripts the last election, hooting and hollering and the same level of high expectation for winning which ended with egg all over the faces

13. with the leadership of the blp having tainted goods the blp ship needs to first find a new and improved captain do not get wunna hopes all high cause Mia baggage is heavy and all the goods in that bag would eventually drown her operatives dont get too excited talking about chris because the blp legacy of lies and deceit has a veryyyyyy long tail which would be used agaist them remember it is all about integrity and transparency
    not get to work go fix wunna crap because nothing would be held back going into the next election, there are plenty stink bombs that will derail all this blp euphoria

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dont mind all the rubbish the slave minded yardfowls are spouting…brace yaselves….75% if Americans are living paycheck to paycheck. …there are 75% of the popukation who are 1 paycheck away from homelessness and poverty…..

Neither Sinckler pr any of the others in parliament know what they are doing….it’s all pie in the sky, they feeding you their fantasies and lies…trying to get you to live their fanfasies….an easily popped balloon.

This is reality.

“In recent months, we’ve seen nearly $8 trillion disappear from world stock markets… and a whopping 70% of investors lose money in 2015.

Even the great Warren Buffett lost $11 billion dollars.

We’re looking at a collapse in corporate bonds.. and plummeting oil and commodity prices.

Research shows the “too big to fail” banks, the top five largest financial institutions (the ones that were bailed out in 2008), are now 25% bigger than they were back then, and more dangerous than ever.

We’ve seen private businesses take on more debt than any time in the past 12 years, and an incredible 863 companies that have had their credit rating downgraded last year… the most since 2009.

I mean… even Wal-Mart announced the shutdown of more than 250 stores, worldwide.

This is what happens when our government embarks on a gross, out-of-control experiment, expanding the money supply 400% in just six years, and more than doubling our national debt since 2006.

It took our nation 216 years to rack up the first $8.5 trillion in debt… then just 8 more years to double that amount.

As someone who has been investigating this situation closely for years, who has built a $100 million business by capitalizing on expertise in finance and accounting… I am here to tell you with 100% certainty:

America is in for some major changes to our economy, our country, and our very way of life over the next five years.

The way you live, work, travel, retire, invest… everything is going to change. Some of it in ways most people would never expect.

A “new” crisis of epic proportions is already underway.

Stocks will fall further. Bonds are going to collapse. Huge numbers of bankruptcies in the energy business may soon ripple through the financial system.

And eventually, we’re going to have a major stock market crash — and it will be worse than the one we experienced seven years ago.

We’re going to have a currency crisis too – because investors and governments around the world will realize the U.S. dollar is not the safe haven it once was.

Sooner than most people think, we’ll see the U.S. dollar lose it’s “reserve currency” status, and this will make it much harder for our government to borrow money, and have our military stationed in more than 150 countries.”

15. Frustrated Businessman (aka tired of pointing out obvious realities of Bajan suffering) Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman (aka tired of pointing out obvious realities of Bajan suffering)

60% of Bajans are transported by minibuses, 20% by cars and 20% by the Transport Board.

The minibuses could shut down this country if they unified for change, just by staying home for a few working days. Just like the Chamber of Commerce could by jamming up the Bridgetown Port with trucks.

A change of gov’t could be forced in a fortnight by several suffering sectors of the community, it would be especially acceptable to most this month and next month when tourism is at a low ebb.

But we won’t, we like it so.

16. Here is a ruling from the CCJ.
    Jail time is an option for former Ministers of Government. http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20110629/business/business71.html#.V-gO84Tl-Jn.facebook

17. Not jail time. That the AG can sue former Ministers.