Image Credit: Colonel Buggy

The BU household commiserates with the people of St.Joseph and the neighbouring parishes who have had to endure extended periods without water. One can only imagine the physical and emotional challenges brought about by the inability of the authorities to deliver potable water.

BU will continue to highlight the matter until there is redress. To be without water for a few hours is an inconvenience, to have intermittent access to for weeks and months is criminal and points to a lack of planing an inept management. The BU household, on behalf of the government of Barbados, apologizes for the poor service being delivered to Barbadian households in St. Joseph an elsewhere.

107 responses to “Josephines, We Feel Your Pain”

1. The map of Barbados looks like Panem in The Hunger Games (adaption from Wikipedia):

“The country consists of a wealthy Capitol city, located next to the Platinum Coast, surrounded by ten (originally eleven) poorer districts ruled by the Capitol. The Capitol is lavishly rich and technologically advanced, but the districts are in varying states of poverty. As punishment for a past rebellion against the Capitol (called the “Dark Days”), in which District 11 was supposedly destroyed, taxpayers are selected by lottery to compete in an annual payment called the Hunger Games.”

2. Colonel Buggy September 15, 2016 at 1:51 PM #
    You asked about the distribution of the water supply in St Joseph. This was common knowledge many years ago when the then Water Works Department was decentralised, unlike the BWA today ,where all reservoirs had foremen and employees who knew the system. The following photos are an indication of the BWA’S uncertainty.
    http://i.imgur.com/fR5m8ze.jpg?2
    http://i.imgur.com/oX7Mce2.jpg?1

3. David September 15, 2016 at 1:44 PM
    David a picture tells a thousand words.
    Here is an area belonging to Huntes Tropical which is located in an area feet from the Castle Grant Reservoir, and is at a lower elevation that the bottom of the reservoirs holding tank. Therefore any leaks from the reservoir would find its way to the bottom of this section of Hunte Tropical. When Castle Grant was a sugar plantation, this now lush tropical forest, was no good for growing canes, and was the owners
    “Orchard”, where he grew citrus fruits and other exotic plants.

http://i.imgur.com/t7IwqB4.jpg?1

4. Georgie Porgie 1.46 PM #
    “IN LIGHT OF ALL THE FAILURES OF GOVERNMENT IN OUR COUNTRY, I MOVE THAT THE CITIZENS SHOULD BOYCOTT THE 50TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATIONS”

Georgie, have you lost your mind? Put on a free concert with free food and drink and the detonation of an atomic bomb in Carlisle Bay would not keep Bajans away! Remember that a full blown riot in Barbados consists of six people holding hand written placards making loud steupse noises and sporting sour facial expressions. Unless of course it is raining, when the whole thing will get called off. Boycott?!?! Protest?!!? In Barbados?!?! Dream on……

5. This item is worth a repost – From the Barbados Advocate July 10. 1952 (64 years ago)
    http://i.imgur.com/vmXk0oc.jpg?1

6. Some St Joseph residents who have no complaints.
    http://i.imgur.com/2jb0PWI.jpg?1