The following extracted from the Barbados Investors & Policyholders Alliance (BIPA) Facebook Page.

bipa1

Hopefully this will reach the eyes of those who are dragging their feet and will put enough fire under them to speed things up. If Barbados’ 50th Anniversary arrives on 30th November and policyholders have not seen the start of their money coming back, BIPA will have plenty to say about it.

Nation News Monday 12th September

Image may contain: 1 person , text

WITH SOME MEMBERS dying before any resolution in the CLICO/BAICO insurance debacle, the head of the Barbados Association of Retired Persons (BARP) has called for quicker action to conclude the rescue deal. “They don’t have a lot of time left and they need to have this thing settled within their lifetime as rapidly as possible,” said Ed Bushell. “A lot of these people who made the investment were in their 70s and 80s and some would have passed on without any hope.” The BARP leader was among more than 50 people attending the annual general meeting of the Barbados Investors & Policyholders Alliance (BIPA) at the St Gabriel’s School last Wednesday.

Bushell said BARP members were very concerned about the time being taken to resolve the problem, and he expressed mixed views about the current situation. “Coming out of this meeting I can see some light at the end of the tunnel. However, I hope it’s not an oncoming train. Based on the information that we got, I think we are going in the right direction. My major concern is the slow pace at which the judicial manager is working,” he said.

“Some of my members who took their savings and invested in CLICO, we’re not going to get into whether they were right to do it or not, but the fact is they did it and because of mis-management, they’re now placed in a position where they have become the genteel poor. They are asset rich and cash poor. Even those who are left with a house can’t sell it because of the market now. So they’re between a rock and a hard place and they need to get this thing resolved as soon as possible.”

A minute’s silence in honour of four members who died within the last year was observed at the meeting. BIPA officials said they feared the numbers could be far higher given that many policyholders were not members of the organisation. And they said the situation was further worrying, given the age of other members, the eldest of whom was 92. During the AGM, members were given the news that the September 30 timeline to transfer CLICO policies to the new company, Resolution Life, did not seem likely.

New Life Investment Company Inc. (NLICO), the holding company created by Government, is the sole shareholder of Resolution Life. BIPA vice president Deighton Smith, who represents BIPA on NLICO, described the process as “walking through thick mud”, and said several major issues had not been resolved.
He told the meeting that there appeared to be no urgency on the part of the judicial manager, which had caused the process to move at a very slow rate.

“Once all of these instruments have been agreed to, then the liabilities will be transferred from CLICO to Resolution Life. The reason that it has not been transferred yet is that the valuation of the portfolio has not been completed and you can’t transfer it until you’re absolutely sure of what you’re transferring in terms of the amounts” he explained. Smith said BIPA was very disappointed with the pace at which things were moving. (WILLCOMM)

67 responses to “CLICO Investors Passing from this World, Liquidators Earning Millions in Fees”

1. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI September 16, 2016 at 5:48 PM #

For 250,000 Bajans to be tricked AT THE SAME TIME with this CLICO fiasco you need a man like Houdini@@

The People still have time to wake up, If they are fooled again then we know now , they deserve all they get, They also can be downgraded below the S&P and Moody’s as being the smartest in the Caribbean,
    The Island of Doctor Monro

2. Don’t forget that the Principals of the JM are in fact the Receiver Managers. Also note that the law firm of CGF represents the JM, the RMs, CLICO. The conflict of interest is staggering.
    One of the principals of the JM is a former CLICO employee while the JM also acted as its auditor in the past.

There is more… But I’ll be leaving it for the movie!

3. Is that why Jordan parted ways with Toppin?

4. @ Bullpistle
    Man yuh lie….!!!

Can’t be…
    Not even in Brassbados.

5. Jordan moved to the company that did the audits during the best years for Parris n co.
    The central bank had warned CLICO that they were doing improper investments in real estate prior to the collapse.
    CLICO was so connected they even got a loan from the Enterprise growth fund!!

I never checked who was the attorney that incorporated BIPA! Can you tell me David?

Who left CGF and went to FirstCaribbean as their chief legal advisor and why?

The JM were pushing liquidate…. Suddenly changed their minds…. Why?

Where is the capital government promised?
    What is negligence in law?
    Is BIPA compromised? Why no action against Parris and Thornhill… No call by BIPA…
    Follow Fowler …. Maybe her HUSBAND… Small island….. Nuff stories….

6. @Bullpistle

You are delivering in parables Sir!

7. @David.

You must learn to read between the lines Re. Bullpistle.

8. @Bullpistle

Still waiting for you to be a little more clear. Thanks

Barbados Investors & Policyholders Alliance

ATTENTION BAICO POLICYHOLDERS

URGENT

The Judicial Manager of British American Insurance Company (Barbados) Limited ("BAICO") — In Judicial Management has filed its final report with the High Court of Barbados and is now in the process of verifying policyholder contact information. If your name and/or policy number is included in the attached list, please visit the BAICO office located at the Corner of Collymore Rock and Britton’s Cross Road or call the office at 431-4400 to provide your current contact details.

The list can be found by clicking this link. You can then ‘save’ if necessary.

http://freepdfhosting.com/8b9250ad1e.pdf

9. It s interesting to note the only politician BU recognizes on the list of British American policyholders is Jefferey Bostic. It is enough to go hmmmm.

10. Clear?

Line 1: PWC were the auditors of CLICO during its last years. Negligence should be explored as a legal option against the auditors…. Did BIPA check the audited reports say from 2000 to 2009?
    Jordan, who as a principal of the JM should have checked the reports and moved against the auditors…. Moved to work for them. He previously worked for FirstCaribbean!

Connect some dots yuhself David… Yuh getting lazy!!

11. And the Chief Legal Advisor you refer to the late Freddy Clarke’s son?

12. @ David
    Perhaps Bullpistle does not realize that there is no need to speak ‘between the lines’ on BU. The information he has shared is public knowledge -unbelievable as it is…
    What is amazing is that so many people who have been robbed of their money are prepared to sit back and take such blatant dishonesty from KNOWN criminals in our society.

The only explanation that seems feasible to the bushman, is that “a thief from a thief makes God LOL.” How else on this Earth, ….can so many people be treated like shit, – and simply sit back and wait to be flushed….?

13. @Bush Tea

The many suffering from the water problems and the few who marched supports your point.

14. @Bush Tea

Further some need to appreciate that BU requires 27/7 support. Lording over info does not help us.

15. The very fact that some BIPA insiders have not been using BU /Naked to expose the shiite speaks volumes to Bushie. Citizens sit down in various positions EVERY DAMN DAY and watch as others rob, steal, kill, and bribe ….. and we do NOT A SHIITE.
    Even anonymously …we are so lacking in self-respect that we refuse to STAND UP for what is right. It is almost as if Bajans no longer have a moral compass that guides their collective consciences….
    There is no future for such a society….and we are well ‘out to baller…’ (at the end of our rope…)

16. With Respect to Jamar Omar Scott

My respect to the family of the recently deceased Jamar Scott.

I comment on this matter with all respect to him and to you his family at this time of your loss.

This Issue while it is not directly tied to the substantive point of CLICO speaks to a topic that Well Well and Consequences has been prosecuting for a while now per the CGI entity in particular and to the wider Insurance Group in general.

Their practice is to collect premiums but to pay out nothing when the insured require that type of assistance.

35 years ago an employee of Light & Power was injured during maintenance of their Spring Garden? plant

I forget his name but he used to live up in Clapham, a humble gentleman, a giant among men, peaceable and polite.

He suffered some serious burns from the incident and, due to the care of the BL&P principals, I am made to understand that his medical bills and recuperation were both handled by BL&P without skipping a heartbeat.

These people at Purity Bakeries and Officials at Goddards Enterprises Limited mussee still investigating the circumstances surrounding the death of Jamar Omar Scott.

Like the Royal Barbados Police Force is still investigating the 8 officers who beat Nazzim Blackett within an inch of his life.

I wonder which of the 1100 minus 2 lawyers (Come Sing a Song and Jeff Cumberbatch are examining this and similar matters?