Image may contain: outdoor and nature
Barbados Water Authority valve on their Fort George Reservoir compound leaking water no stop for months!

The above was posted to a popular Facebook page Barbados Wall of Shame. In light of water outages especially in St. Thomas, St. John and St. Joseph and the refusal of Minister of Water David Estwick to resign the obvious management inefficiencies at the Barbados Water Authority bears severe scrutiny. BU was asked to share this story.

41 responses to “Who Pays the Water Bill of the Barbados Water Authority?”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Retarded…the whole lot of them, when the minister responsible can admit that he set the policies, which everyone knows are useless to the people, yet he dont think that he….who is responsible for setting bad policies that results in no water being available to the people…..should take the blame, but instead the workers who have to follow his bad policies or be fired, should take the blame for him instead, while the Prime Minister and leader of the coubtry, should not only be forgiven for accepting his bad policies which is costing the taxpayers hundreds of millions of scare dollars, but also for not firing his incompetent, useless ass.

Fruendel also needs firing for enabling and condoning these 9 year old atrocities against the people, he is also useless…, starting with Leroy Parris and the illegal selling of insurance investment EPA policies in the CLICO scam.

2. It appears that Barbados has finally awakened from its deep slumber. David Estwick and John Mwansa must be held fully responsible and accountable for the water situation in the country. I have been saying this for the past several months.

3. No one pays the bill, the government have no money but the Ministers have all the money from tax and vat,, It make them feel rich and powerful , no worry soon the all too will be broke as they pay to employ their members for elections,water talks are just to keep their voice in the media , the problem we have with water is the DBLP Ministers greed and ways to hike prices on every port of cash, The fact that we are taxed and vat so much we have to be near 30 percent by now..

4. “Every human being has four endowments – self-awareness, conscience, independent will, and creative imagination. These give us the ultimate human freedom: The power to choose, to respond, to change.”

I am not a product of my circumstances. I am a product of my decisions.

If I really want to improve my situation, I can work on the one thing over which I have control – myself.

Setbacks are inevitable; misery is a choice.1

On Contribution

Be a light, not a judge. Be a model, not a critic.

Deep within each of us is an inner longing to live a life of greatness and contribution – to really matter, to really make a difference. We can consciously decide to leave behind a life of mediocrity and to life a life of greatness – at home, at work, and in the community.

Most of us spend too much time on what is urgent and not enough time on what is important.

The key to life is not accumulation. It’s contribution.

Effective people are not problem-minded; they’re opportunity-minded. They feed opportunities and starve problems.

The main thing is to keep the main thing the main thing.

There’s no better way to inform and expand your mind on a regular basis than to get into the habit of reading good literature.

We live in a shortcut world. Can you imagine a farmer “cramming” in the fall to bring forth the harvest, as students have done, and still do, to pass examinations? Can you imagine a mile runner “pretending” speed and endurance, or a concert pianist “putting on the appearance” of skill and proficiency?

On Empathy

Being influenceable is the key to influencing others.

Empathy is not sympathy. Sympathy is a form of agreement. Empathy is not agreeing with someone; it is fully, deeply understanding that person, emotionally as well as intellectually.

I have made it a regular practice to interview my children. The basic ground rule in this “interview” is that I only listen and try to understand. It is not a time for moralizing, preaching, teaching, or disciplining – there are other times for that – this is a time to merely listen and understand and empathize. Sometimes I want terribly to move in and advise, teach, judge, or sympathize, but I have inwardly determined that during these special visits I will only attempt to understand.

If I were to summarize in one sentence the single most important principle I have learned in the field of interpersonal relations, it would be this: Seek First to Understand, Then to Be Understood.

Most arguments are not really disagreements but are rather little ego battles and misunderstandings.

On Leadership

Are leaders born or made? This is a false dichotomy – leaders are neither born nor made. Leaders choose to be leaders.

Effective leadership is putting first things first. Effective management is discipline, carrying it out.

I don’t define leadership as becoming the CEO. A CEO is no more likely to be a leader than anyone else. I am talking about leading your own life, being a leader among your friends, being a leader in your own family.

In the Industrial Age, leadership was a position. In the Knowledge Age, leadership is a choice.

Leadership is the highest of the arts, simply because it enables all the other arts and professions to work.

Leadership is a choice that lies in the space between stimulus and response.

You can’t change the fruit without changing the root.

On Learning

Admission of ignorance is often the first step in our education.

Almost every significant breakthrough in the field of scientific endeavor is first a break with tradition, with old ways of thinking, with old paradigms.

Education the heart is the critical complement to educating the mind.

On Synergy

If two people have the same opinion, one is unnecessary.

Most meetings are a waste of time, because they are so ill-prepared and there’s so little opportunity for true synergy in producing better results.

Most entrepreneurs have a tendency toward independence. They like to do things on their own. But if you go to the Entrepreneur of the Year meetings every year, you’ll see that those who win consistently win as a team. (Credits: Steven Covey)

5. @ Frothy Mouth
    Good collection of cliches…
    Who pays the bill….?

6. If we read the story on page 5A of today’s Sunday Sun we can substitute another question:

Who pays the bill of the Transport Board?

According to the story 50% of the fleet is out of commission with opening schoolday tomorrow.

7. Hearing the pit bull minister of water resource in a DLPTV broadcast refer to mwansa as Johnny,I said to myself this JA minister does not spend sufficient time on this portfolio,like Mia would,to challenge anything any of those BWA management people including the dribbling old duffer Atlee Braffitt who at 81 should be in the geriatric ever since Adam did a lad.I said to myself that pit bull doesn’t have a clue about this portfolio and so Johnny can tell him any crap and he going run with it.To cut to the chase,remove pit bull, Braffitt and mwansa from BWA and you would see change for the better.

8. One day historians will tell us: It began with water shortage and ended with a failed state and massive emigration.

9. What is up with the several job vacancies being advertised?

Director, Projects Manager, Internal Audit Director, Finance Director, Engineering

10. @David

I think these new positions are intended to get around the bandit crew of Mwansa, Marville and Lindo. These 3 blind mice have been confusing the Minister and frustrating the BWA’s efforts to improve the service.

11. What is the plan for the 3 blind mice as you have described them?

12. @David

I don’t know. I am merely repeating what people are saying.

13. @Past Zone September 11, 2016 at 2:01 PM
    And to hear Lindo feebly trying to justify the utilisation of Bizzy’s desalination plant in relation to salt water ingress into some wells on the West Coast.
    No wonder that in todays ,Sunday Sun we see the BWA advertising a number of high level jobs, and what a pity that a Minister of Water, and a Chairman were not included.

14. Tron September 11, 2016 at 9:02 AM #
    Massive emigration? Where to ? .. Dodds , Black Rock or Westbury?

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah…Unfortunately, the other countries have so many problems of their own that they do not want to add to anymore social problems, so therefore emigration is now a thing of the past, unless people are blessed with dual citizenships.

16. @Colonel Buggy

… or to Butch´s sweet eh… sweatshops around the Caribbean.

17. The water problem will not stop as long as the ministers have enough water in their swimming pools and for their golf courses and the polo club.

Imagine: You know that you drop out in 18 month – end of political career. Why should you care about the masses? For the common good? That won´t be politics as we are taught in handbooks about developing countries. That would be first class politics.

18. Tron September 11, 2016 at 10:25 PM #

he Barbados Water Authority manages all private water wells ,why not this?

http://i.imgur.com/qt4fuOv.jpg?1
    (Photo compliments of Flickr user)

19. TINGS DAT RING BELLS Avatar
    TINGS DAT RING BELLS

I can tell you who is paying for all the wasted water…US… THE ONES WHO HAVE WATER.

Last year I left the shores of Barbados for a lengthly business/holiday trip. Locked up the house turned off the water, left the electricity on for obvious reasons such as refrigerator. Up until then my bill at the BWA for water usage was always fluctuating between $30 and $50 as I am the only one living at these premises for the last three/four years.

Lo and behold two months into my being abroad, a bill for $950 came from BWA. My landlady, bless her heart, ran down to BWA and asked for an explanation, not even with other tenants had such a bill come in. She was told there was a leak. She was told she had to get someone to check it all out.

She did all of the above. There is no leak in or out.

Best part is that if there was a leak, how come the bill ent gine up by this amount every month. Well the answer is simply – because there is no such thing as a leak, BWA just decided to hit whatever idiot lives in that particular townhouse with a huge bill as they have done and perhaps continue to do today with other premises.

BWA have used every excuse in the book except that they are sorry for lying to myself and my landlady, and have refused to move this amount off my bill. Why is there no recourse for this idiotic type of behaviour from those who work at BWA….dem leaking water all over the dyamned place and sending out bills like this to people who are very careful with their usage of this valuable commodity. Add this to the shameful disgrace of no water – taps dry like BWAs brain – in many parishes and they can be termed a disgrace to the country. A real disgrace.

To say that I am vexed is…well you know. Bunch of crooks.

20. You need to bring the matter to the attention of the Public Counsel. Not sure how soon remedy will come but you need to begin the process.

21. These people at the BWA are clearly a bunch of damn idiots.
    No one doubts that there are challenges with reduced rainfall, but to have persistent outages in the same areas for two years now – with no sign of relief, while other areas continue as normal is downright shameful.
    Additionally, if you are having such challenges, why take this arbitrary, confrontational position with customers with respect to billing? …while displaying a cavalier approach to fixing your own leaks…?
    Buncha jackasses….. just like the shiite minister.

Something CLEARLY dishonest is going on up there besides the shameful and reckless decision to spend a fortune building a palace on Pine Hill while customers suffered drought.

Just a few years ago, many customers had no meter and were billed a fixed rate. Eventually it became clear even to the jokers at BWA that they needed to have information on usage for routine management purposes….and simple mechanical meters were installed.

In short order, we are hearing about ‘accuracy’ and they are spending MILLIONS of dollars installing new ‘accurate’ meters …..with batteries. What happens when these batteries die?
    …or do we worry about that when the time comes next year…?

brass bowls to the left of us
    ..brass bowls to the right
    Brass bowls in front of us
    …and a pack of bullers behind.

22. Some impression of the state of water resources can be gained by viewing the imposing edifice on St.Barnabas Hill and then contrast it with the condition of many of the island’s reservoirs.

23. https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosToday/videos/10154064245693191/?hc_ref=NEWSFEED

Barbados Today

1 hr ·

Members of the Fair Training Commission were greeted by a group of unhappy residents of St Joseph at a town hall meeting at the Grantley Adams Secondary School yesterday. The meeting was held to discuss standards of service from the Barbados Water Authority. The disgruntled residents vented their frustration over dry taps for about a year now.

That’s what people complain about constantly, BWA lying to customers that they have a leak…..hike their bills astronomically, when there is no leak…that is theft.

Colonel…I always hear Cow is stealing water from the people, when dumb government ministers are not allowing Bizzy and Cow etc to steal money from the treasury, they allow them to steal resources.

It’s the greedy ministers and politicians to blame.

25. David September 12, 2016 at 8:08 AM
    All the sweet talk we have been hearing recently of the replenishment of the Castle Grant Reservoir, this facility is still in a deplorable and insecure condition. To put it mildly, I’ve seen outhouses in better condition.
    Once upon a time these misfits at BWA would convey their nonsense to the public via Joy-Ann Haig, who it seems is no longer prepared to blindly bid their lying, twisted callings, and they have to struggle themselves,when fork- tonguing it to the public. I salute Ms Haig.
    Almost 6 months ago, the lying bastards told the people of St Joseph, to bear with them for at least two weeks, and they will have all the water they need, as the recent yankee discovered well at Sweet Vale,in St George, was connected to Castle Grant and was then at the testing stage. A bare face lie ,when the new line was not even in place between Blackmans Plantation and Branch Bury, almost half a mile. Now it appears that the well the Yanks were paid for discovering, with what the Minister of water Resource , described, no bragged, of having 100 feet of water has now dried up.
    A fellow on the block said that the Yanks like they found a wet Centipede.

http://i.imgur.com/ba0ZQeC.jpg?1

26. @TINGS DAT RING BELLS

You wonder about the high water bill. Ha! Our masters in their gated communities with their swimming pools and other ammenities, they pay FLAT RATE. I ask you: Why should a minister, who exactly knows, that he is out in 18 months, and lives in such a place, care about you, about the citizens, our have any conscience?

As I said before: Only Saint Bussa can save us now!

27. @ Tron
    General Bussa or General Election

28. Yea. Bussa was a genius. Prima vista, his rebellion failed in a tactial sense. However, the price for the Brits was soooo high that he actually won in a strategical sense.

Bussa had also balls big enough to pay with his blood. Who whould do that today? Who? Nobody, exactly. Men like him should serve as role model for whole human mankind. He fought for freedom, for private autonomy, not for the present welfare state, not for big budget deficits financed by Credit Suisse. What came after him? Shadows in villas and Mercedes, no true leaders.

29. Yea. Bussa was a genius. Prima vista, his rebellion failed in a tactical sense.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    According to the recent historical re-enactment at the Golden Grove Plantation in St Philip, Bussa failed because he refused to listen to the mulatto boy …who suggested that they immediately start killing whites…
    Had he listened, he would have been another Toussaint L’Ouverture, …and Barbados would be another Haiti as we speak….as the albinos extract their well known everlasting revenge….

Blacks have been made to suffer in this world in order to bring us to the realisation that material wealth and money means nothing… and are not ends in themselves.

Just when it seemed that we had gotten the message and were about to focus on ‘people -development’, ‘quality of life issues’ and hopefully, on the MEANING AND PURPOSE of life, ….along came a cadre of “Charlie Uniform November Tango”s – otherwise known as ‘economists’ (whatever the hell THAT means) to convince us that ‘success’ is some kinda economic game of having lots of money as easily as possible….

Now we are back to being ‘parros’ and prostitutes, …having sold out birthrights to strangers for BMWs, and reduced to defining our value by the amount that strangers are willing to pay to pleasure themselves on our personal spaces…

No wonder we cannot even provide ourselves with as basic a commodity as water….

30. Bush Tea September 14, 2016 at 10:36 AM #
    Had he listened, he would have been another Toussaint L’Ouverture, …and Barbados would be another Haiti as we speak….as the albinos extract their well known everlasting revenge……….
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Wait ,Skippa , thanks to this present administration we ARE another Haiti, and although we did not kill any ‘albinos’ . they never the less are extracting their revenge,

31. This water problem continues to escalate. The hotspot appears to be St.Joseph. No water, no empathy.

Recommend the Cabinet of Barbados watch a movie called Rampage. It is one where ordinary people revolt after being shafted by the elite class for years.

32. Denis Johnson is a BOSS!!!

The licks that he just put in ‘Arthur’ stupid ass just made Bushie’s day…
    ha ha ha ha ha ha
    Any bets his real name is Arthur C******* (AC) for short…

DJ for PM!!!

33. @Bush Tea

Heard him, spoken like someone who has felt the pinch. Some thing many lazy Bajans have been spared.

34. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy September 14, 2016 at 1:09 PM

LoL !! That’s a nice depiction of the treatment being meted out to the poor folks of St. Joseph.

That loud-mouth uncouth brute really has it in for those beleaguered people.

You mean to say that after the ugly big guts pit bull gone and
    “Pull a gun on their Representative,
    Cut off their water supply,
    And shut down their sugar factory”;
    he has now up and bite out the piece of the rock the same people barely surviving on?

But leave the Stuartie lap dog to his own karma as time is sure bet longer than the water mains from Groves to Castle Grant.

And like Banquo the ghost of Sir Grantley will soon pay him a visit.

35. heard the tourism statistics and the news was exceptionally good in all areas including spend and long stay

36. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ ac September 14, 2016 at 7:39 PM
    “heard the tourism statistics and the news was exceptionally good in all areas including spend and long stay”

What a paradox! Yet the foreign reserves are dropping like a full empty bucket down an empty well.

Which is more important to a prostitute? The amount of johns she services in a night or the amount of money she takes home (unless she is of ac variety trading as Naked Departure)?

There is a little book called “How to Lie with Statistics” by Darrell Huff. I have a copy which I can lend to you on condition you do not make dog ears or use it as a mouse pad to type the crap you do on BU .

We only hope you are as exuberant about the pending privatization of the BWA as you are about the erection of Hyatt.
    It’s going to be the first privatization matter on the order paper when the IMF comes a calling rather soon.
    Why have a fully-owned State commercial entity under the Fair Trading Commission that is in itself a State-controlled agency answerable to a Minister?

37. Btw miller as a prostitute i prefer the” erection” of Hyatt i believe Hyatt will be of better service and the pay will be good

38. Miller,
    You say:…”What a paradox! Yet the foreign reserves are dropping like a full empty bucket down an empty well.”
    Simple explanation one way is by the purchase of too many Mercedes and BMWs, and Nissans and Mazdas etc, etc. Remember these have to be paid for with foreign exchange. Even the money you spend at Massy stores; remember you and Allan Fields etc, sold BS&T to Massey? ) these have to be paid for with foreign exchange, because you and your friends refuse to cultivate the land. You prefer to build car racing circuits etc on the land that could be productive. Do you know Jamaica exports Ginger Beer? Do you know they export June Plums (Golden Apples) Do you know they export Breadfruit? Do you know they export plums (what they market MINI JUNE PLUMS)? WHAT DO WE EXPORT? YOU TELL ME.
    Yet you get here and spout your negative vitriolic rhetoric. And some people actually believe you, based o the responses written.
    “Why have a fully-owned State commercial entity under the Fair Trading Commission that is in itself a State-controlled agency answerable to a Minister?”
    Remember how hard you fought against this entity being put under regulation by the FTC? I remember. and it was a battle royal, which you lost.

39. WHY SHOULD GOVERNMENT HAVE THIS DAM TO FEED WHO? GOVERNMENT HAS MORE MONEY AND EQUIPMENT THAN THE PERSON THAT BUILT THIS DAM. THAT IS ALL RAIN WATER THERE ABOUT 70 MILLION GALLONS, COULD NOT THE SAME GOV. DO THE SAME AROUND THE ISLAND? INSTEAD THEY SPENT THEY TIME LYING, TEETHING, INSULTING, BLAMING, SINKING THIS COUNTRY DEEP OWN IN THE MIRE