Michael Carrington is challenging the media to reveal the names of politicians who have dealings with criminals. And this challenge is coming from Carrington who wilfully with-held his former client’s property for a number of years.

The Speaker knows the main stream media is spineless and weak when it comes to exposing individuals from certain sections of the Barbadian society. The media, especially the Advocate and CBC, gave him a “free pass” relative to issue between him and former client Griffiths.

Despite having the necessary evidence, the Nation refused to expose Denis Lowe and no media house bothered to investigate the conflict of interest allegations levelled at him and Michael Lashley.

However, if John Browne from Deacons Farm found himself in trouble with the law, the Nation would take delight in dedicating 2 pages to publish, in chronological order, his alleged crimes and events leading to his arrest, as well as interviews conducted with relatives and friends.

Michael Carrington should throw that challenge out to BU.

(posted as a comment to Barbados Underground by Artaxerxes)

There is an interesting story unravelling in Britain where British Member of Parliament (MP) Keith Vaz who holds the influential post of Home Affairs Committee is being pressured by the Opposition political parties, media and members of the citizenry to resign. His ‘crime’: the married father-of-two paid for the men to visit him last month at a flat he owns in London. BU’s read of the situation is that although he committed no crime there is a moral code being applied by members of civil society.

Here is what Vaz’s political leader Prime Minister Theresa May opined on the issue.

Prime Minister Theresa May said on Monday that British Member of Parliament Keith Vaz should make his own decision about his future political career after claims in the Sunday Mirror newspaper about his personal life.

What is important for people is that they feel that they are able to have confidence in their politicians and that’s what we all have a duty to provide for those who elect us,” May said when asked about the report.

What Keith does is for Keith and any decisions he wishes to make are for him but I think that overall what people look for is confidence in their politicians,” she said

Reuters

The BU household anticipates Vaz will have to resign although to date he has been trying to stave off the public outrage and has referred the matter to his lawyer. Could it be Vaz received legal direction from Freundel Stuart the lawyer to ‘to get a lawyer’?

What is the point of this blog some of you are wondering?

The Speaker of the House Michael Carrington – to use one example – was ordered by the High Court of Barbados Justice Cornelius to pay thousands of dollars to a client he immorally withheld funds for several years. The only reason it was not deem to be criminal is because it was filed as a civil matter.

To add insult to injury many civic minded Barbadians have had to endure hearing Carrington last weekend at his constituency branch meeting express outrage in response to concerns raised by the Reverend Joseph Atherley about the voters list. The cheek!

Unlike our supine and moribund local media rest assured the British equivalent will exact its mandate to ensure the concerns of citizens are highlighted and public officials are held accountable to a code of behaviour deem fit by wider society.

121 responses to “Michael Carrington Expresses Outrage, the CHEEK!”

1. Estwick also made the point that should the BNTCL be privatized, the prices of petroleum products would increase as a result.

“You understand….. and what is even more ridiculous about the discussion is this……… right now….. the BNTC imports diesel, kerosene…… we sell any oil that we produce locally….. we send that oil to Petrotrin in Trinidad, and it comes back….. the BNTCL gets a rate of return on investment of 1%……. and that 1%, is so as to keep prices down. You tell me any business man in Barbados that is going to take over the BNTCL and get 1% rate of return on his investment. You tell me…. show me any of them…….. right. And what it means is that from the time those companies are put in private sector people hands, that they will be looking for highest returns for their shareholders, and you can rest assured that what would end up happening, is (1) DIESEL prices gine STRAIGHT UP in the AIR, as well as GASOLINE prices, as well as KEROSENE, etc. And it bothers me that an individual, who is supposed to be an economist, does not seem to understand how inflationary that would be in a small economy that imports majority of its inflation via oil and other products.”

We all know Estwick is a member of this DLP administration’s Cabinet and would have participated in the decision to sell BNTCL.

Rather “huff and puff” like the “big bad wolf” and bark like a “pit bull” as he usually does when dealing with “parochial” issues, perhaps Estwick should EXPLAIN to his CONSTITUENTS and BARBADIANS the REASONS why he is now SUPPORTING the sale of BNTCL.

Estwick should be dismissed by the electorate as just another boisterous, loud mouth, weak and spineless politician, who is afraid to represent the people who elected him.

2. @ WW&C

Forget the stupid yard-fowls, they are attempting to cast aspirations on the character of Mottley in the ABSENCE of the Court deciding, based on the evidence presented, if the allegations leveled against her are true. Even town character “Ninja Man” knows this a weak attempt at political posturing.

On the other hand, the FACTS are, based on the court’s decision in the case of John Griffiths vs. Michael Carrington, Justice Jacqueline Cornelius ORDERED Carrington (defendant) to surrender nearly a quarter-million dollars to John Griffiths (plaintiff), funds RECEIVED and WITHHELD over two years ago from the sale of a property as well as various bank deposits and that he render an account of all sums belonging to the particular estate within 28 days. He was also ordered to “pay interest at the rate of per annum” from May 13 until the entire sum is paid, and legal costs of over $7 700 incurred by the plaintiff.

As you know, WW&C, the mare fact Justice Cornelius RULED in FAVOUR of the plaintiff, she had to be satisfied the evidence presented was enough to hold the defendant LIABLE for RECEIVING and UNLAWFULLY WITH-HOLDING the funds without the plaintiff’s consent. Hence, the reason why the defendant had to repay the entire sum, inclusive of interest, as well as the plaintiff’s legal costs.

Therefore, “it is unbelievable and (highly) unacceptable that anyone can ask for the confidence of (Michael Carrington) by the nation when (his) character reflects symbols of irresponsibility, indifference and DISHONESTY, which are NOT a directive and a guide to leadership, (especially for an individual who is an ELECTED member of parliament and OCCUPIES the POSITION as Speaker of the House of Assembly).”

3. @AC,

you are really sick, when you can’t identify what is truth , but very soon, you will be treated one way or the other

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art….what I said more than likely went way over the heads of ALL the ACs….but the politicians who are lawyers understood quite well.

Politicians from both parties have for decades either sued each other, the newspapers or others with glee and maliciousness for libel because they spoke the truth about the politicians’ corrupt behaviors and they used the archaic libel laws which both governments refuse to remove from the statute books, because those antiquated laws protects them in their corruption and crimes against the people. …while making them additional money.

The yardfowls have no shame in allowing themselves to be used as the ACs are currently being used to paint Mia as corrupt. ..when both sides of DBLP divide have found themselves stuck in the same quagmire and can only make accusations of corruption against each other…..but though true, both political parties are unable to take it to the next level to end or reduce the corruption, like other countries…

…….though the ACs are accusing Mia, Fruendel cannot lock up Mia or take that active case to the DPP to press charges…..it is left to see if Mia will also continue the trend of giving this government a pass after she sees what is left if the people’s treasury.

They will both…DBLP…have to continue on that path of destruction until they implode. They have bith spent decades weaving a very tangled web.

The wheelchair bound client of Michael Carrington, should have filed criminal charges and Carrington would not now be so uppity, arrogant and cocky.

5. @ Artax
    Rather “huff and puff” like the “big bad wolf” and bark like a “pit bull” as he usually does when dealing with “parochial” issues, perhaps Estwick should EXPLAIN to his CONSTITUENTS and BARBADIANS the REASONS why he is now SUPPORTING the sale of BNTCL.
    Yuh hear the man is a shiite-hound!!!
    All bark and no damn bite….

he just happens to have a good “imitation pit bull” bark….

6. bush tea
    not only is he a shit hound HE IS A SARDINE TOT RETRIEVER LIKE MY BUDY MR PD

7. @ARtax

You see these last comments of yours? This is how you add enormous value to the blog.

8. Not Bushie and your PD war bozie…

But Estwick is a PERSONAL piss-off….
    Bushie actually thought that the man had balls….
    ..The lotta BIG talk…
    ..de RED shirt after Thompson’s death..
    ..The ‘alternative’ economic plans..
    ..The lotta big talk about Sugar reform; Wave energy; water solutions….

….and all like now poor people in St Andrew can’t get water for a whole damn YEAR….
    …He taking us back to the 1940s with his shiite ‘stand-pipes….

…and his sorry ass still smelling ’bout behind Froon and Stinkliar like a pot starver…

Steupsss..
    Sardine tot retriever shiite….
    Man …he is one breed below that GP…..

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Wait..the ACs never came back, I 6yhought they were going to post evidence of Mia’s corruption on BUZ and take the evidence to DPP Leacock, so he can arrest Mia…and I am here waiting and waiting.

10. @ Enuff
    Aljazeera is doing a documentary called ‘Stealing Paradise’ about government scams in the Maldives with hotel enterprises, to steal 1.5 BILLION dollars from the treasury.

Seems that they had a good auditor general too…

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Easiest way for government ministers to steal money from the treasury…contracts for this, contracts for that. …all awarded to the same thieves….decade after decade.

If ya really want to steal huge amounts from the treasury…collude with the same thieves to build hotels and use the old tourism excuse to involve taxpayer’s money, even if tourism is npt bringing in enough foreign exchange to cut diwn the deficit or run the economy efficiently, or pay the country’s debts….but it’s a cakewalk, blink and ya will miss the next sleazy plays.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/85340/water-political-issue

Is Estwick getting senile, isn’t he the minister responsible for setting bad policies, that is resulting in lack of water. ..that makes him the one to blame.

The ministers want to collect salaries but no blame.

13. I remember this fellow Estwick on CBCTV at a meeting in the Ivy in 99 screaming in the microphone to the crowd “We want power,gih we power”.Now he has it he misuses and abuses it.He is an example of the bottom feeders who rose to the top because of EWB and some of his misguided policy decisions.Barbados must recognize its not a communist country.Estwick like all his fellow DLP ministers should be sensible to recognise and comprehend the old saying….the apple don’t fall far from the tree….he’s nothing but a lowlife scumbag gunslinger whose license to own and carry a firearm should have been taken away since that incident in Parliament.In the bad old colonial days his ass would be up before the magistrates before he could blink.

14. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ ac September 8, 2016 at 1:02 PM #
    “Sir again you spew half truths an innuendos to validate your argument of dishonesty against Carrington .However i will keep reminding you that the court ruling says different and until such time you can produce documentation supporting your argument of theft attributed to Carringtons conduct i would continue to present my argument on the court’s ruling
    On the issue of Mia’s conduct although their was not a legal decision made the evidence presented has not been refuted publicly by Mia which means that inconclusive of any other evidence presented by her to refute .. her silence gives consent to beliving the evidence giving by witness is true”

Ac and co, you see why we are not too perturb in putting you in the same category as Naked Departure (ND). Not even a pinch of snuff or a smidgen of dirty dust can get between you and Sherri V. The only difference is that Sherri V is much better looking than you even with your false weave on.

We shall never forget how you treated Ms Lisa Marshal here on this blog; a woman just like you like to claim to be. But here is the rub of blatant hypocrisy and hog-pen of dishonesty in which you like dip and wallow your character of deceit.

After waging a sustained campaign of character assassination and verbal abuse (long enough to make War & Peace look like a comic strip) against MAM and other women like Ms June Fowler of the CLICO debacle fame who dare to put their heads above political parapet to expose the dirty dealings of the current goons in control of the DLP, how could you now in all honesty make on another blog the following claim to support women?

From ac September 10, 2016 at 9:44 AM
    “For too long women did not have a voice on matters of concern to their personnel well being. Women were supposed to keep silent in a male dominated enviroment of rules and standards defined by men.Now that the plaster is removed from those sores that were allowed to fester what has been revealed are deep cuts of pain and heart break reminders of a yesterday when women were told yes you can get the job”but first”
    Now that woman has band together for a cause of enlightment through legislation there are still some who have a commonality with a persistence embolden with pretense misrepresentation that woman should be faulted and all gains that women have acquired should be abandon..”

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Ac and co, you see why we are not too perturb in putting you in the same category as Naked Departure (ND). Not even a pinch of snuff or a smidgen of dirty dust can get between you and Sherri V. The only difference is that Sherri V is much better looking than you even with your false weave on.”

Lol..lol.

16. Miller what kind of criminal are you to down play the signifince of woman’s right and attached them to your political asgenda of a tale of sordid allegations pointed in the direction of the blp leader by one of her members
    You need to hang your head in shame

17. The wheelchair bound client of Michael Carrington, should have filed criminal charges and Carrington would not now be so uppity, arrogant and cocky@@@@

Well Well , the fraud squad nor the DPP will not charge/file any kind .never fraud/ criminal charges of any Minister in Barbados, If that was the case we all need not be so deep in crime, The lack of going after lawyers and Ministers for crimes reach us to where we are now,when the government is removed these post must be cleaned out, Then all things must be looked at again,

18. Five days ago, I posted an explosive Aljazeera documentary called “Stealing Paradise”. It documented in detail the relative ease required in transforming an idyllic tropical paradise (The Maldives) into a mafia state.

The story of The Maldives mirrors closely that of Barbados.

The above documentary exposed to the world media the scale of corruption within The Maldives. One year ago, Brother Bush Tea stated that Aljazeera were present in Barbados. I have heard nothing since. One wonders if they were on the verge of creating a similar documentary that would have exposed the endemic levels of corruption on our beloved island. Perhaps the authorities got wind and chased them off the island. Who knows?

Barbados remains the poster child of the eastern Caribbean. It is an image that it has guarded obsessively since her independence. I have watched the above documentary several times over and believe firmly that someone in the international media will eventually expose the real Barbados – very soon.

This may be our only hope for salvation.

http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2016/09/al-jazeera-jordan-corruption-maldives-160907134237007.html

19. This man the DPP keep cropping up all the time.The man is a Guyanese and is known to throw his weight around because he boasts of a direct line to the GG the person credited with grooming him and treating him like a favourite child.There is more in the mortar than the pestle in changing that retirement date that was taken to the House for amendment.Froon got embarrassed by the folly of big ups.As usual he did not do his homework.Leacock is mr arrogant himself.He has screwed up once more.He will pay for what he did to young Nicholls.