Bridgetown

Barbados, BB11157

robertd.lucas@gmail.com

2nd September, 2018

Barbados Underground

Bridgetown, Barbados

West Indies

Dear Sir/Madam,

There was an article by Dr Frances Chandler under the caption of “Blowing Hot and Cold” which appeared in the Nation newspaper of the 13th.July 2016. The article dealt with the nutritive value of chicken wings. In paragraph four (4), Chandler cites the Australian Chicken Meat Federation (ACMF) findings that wings consisted of a high proportion of “fatty skin (31%) and bones with very little Lean meat (7%) and probably one of the least nutritious parts of the chicken….”

In muscle biochemistry, animal appendages that are engaged in physical activity such as flying as is the case with wings, under normal conditions (in the wild e.g: the common yard fowl) have very little fat and a very high percentage of the meat pigment myoglobin, than breast meat for example. In the former case energy for physical activity is derived from aerobic metabolic processes. When kept under the deep-litter system as broilers are, there is little physical activity; as a result, there is an accumulation of fat in the wings and a reduction of myoglobin content.

Chandler seems not to understand that fats are essential ingredients that are required for the nutritive well-being of humans. Firstly, fats are needed for proper utilization of fat soluble vitamins (A and D). Then, there are the essential fatty acids that are not synthesized in the body but are required for the prevention of adverse effects on the normal functioning of humans. There is also the gastronomic effect of fat. The aroma of cooked meat is primarily associated with the volatile derivatives of meat fats such as aldehydes and ketones. Additionally, fats are responsible for the succulency of meats. It is counter-intuitive to assert that wings are probably the least nutritive parts of chicken, since the genome (chromosome number) of cells in wing meat is the same as that in breast meat. It therefore follows that if wings are not nutritive, breast meat must also be the same.

In an article to the Nation newspaper of the 19th.March 2009 entitled “Truth about wings” I presented the following data. “The data which are now presented are based on the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)-SR-21 for 2009 Nutrition Data base (National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference).

1).Chicken, broilers or fryer wing, meat and skin, raw. 2).Chicken, broiler or fryer, breast, skin and meat, raw. All cuts are boneless.

1).Serving size for wings is 29 grams. Calories per serving: 64. Calories from fat: 42: Percentage Daily value (DV). Total fat 5grams (7% DV) Saturated fat: 1gram (6%DV). Cholesterol: 22 milligrams (7% DV).Sodium: 21 milligrams (11%DV).

2).Serving size for breast is 29 grams. Calories per serving: 49.5. Calories from fat 24.1. Total fat: 2.64 grams.(3.9% DV).Saturated fat: 0.66gram(3.9%DV). Cholesterol 18.5 milligrams (6.3%DV). Sodium: 18.2 milligrams (0.66% DV). Protein 5.9 grams.

As can be seen, there is little difference in the nutritive values of the two products; especially when daily values are compared.

Chandler is guilty of speculation when she uses the word “probably” in connection with the nutritive value of the wings. She is also guilty of linking the fat in wings with the proliferation of chronic non-communicable diseases in Barbados. She also displays a sloppy attitude towards the dissemination of scientific data in an objective and dispassionate manner she also overlooks the notion of consumer preference as she seeks to save the consumers from themselves and dictates what they should and should not eat. We live in a democracy and people have the right to choose whatever they want to consume. To prevent the proliferation of chronic non-communicable diseases in Barbados, people should consume less food and exercise more.

Sincerely

Robert D. Lucas, PH.D., CFS

Food Biotechnologist

42 responses to “Dr. Robert Lucas Explains the Nutritive Value of Chicken Wings”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Eating smaller portions helps.

2. Wunna people too damn lickrish ! Instead of eating 2 chicken wings wunna gine eat 10 and belch hard.

3. Everything in moderation, as I’ve said before. I don’t like the taste of chicken wings so I don’t eat them but I leave the skin on the breast otherwise it is dry and tasteless. People tend to go from one extreme to the other. Now they believe you should have no salt, no sugar, no fat and as far as I can tell no taste. All they need to do is exercise moderately and eat everything in moderation. The centenarians would tell them that.

4. I am tempted at this point in time to be skeptical of the findings and comparisons of Dr. Lucas’ analysis and especially going back to a 2009 column in the Nation News by Francis Chandler on the non nutritious value of chicken wings. The good Dr. has stated in his third and fourth penultimate paragraphs “As can be seen, there is little difference in the nutritive values of the two products; especially when daily values are compared”.

Therefore, I do see a great difference in the nutritious value comparison. Take also into account that most of the cage birds are injected via the wings and as a recent US analysis stated, there is some relation to breast cancer in women as a result of the injections via the wings and the consumption thereof.

The good Dr. is accusing Francis Chandler of being “guilty of speculation when she uses the word “probably” in connection with the nutritive value of the wings”. Isn’t that what Dr. Lucas is himself attempting to portray? Take a look at the last paragraph and assess if this does not smack of something sinister. We can take the very last line to heart as it reads …. “people should consume less food and exercise more”.

I recently viewed a clandestinely taped video (not in Barbados) of whole chickens being injected with a liquid substance in the wings, thighs and breasts and packaged for human consumption. Will the Dr. advise the people if we should/not consume chicken of that description?

There was a very serious accusation in the US of experts being paid to use their expertise to mislead the public in favor of certain business establishments to boost their sales. It is known that some experts do change the rules in mid stream to suite certain requirements…..

Considering the recent ground breaking ceremony for a fast food chain that will be selling the commodity to Bajans, It leaves one to wonder if it could at all be possible that this could be the case in this instance.

5. the punch line of the article above is of course “there is little difference in the nutritive values of the two products; especially when daily values are compared.”

re now they believe you should have no salt, HOW WILL YOUR NERVES AND MUSCLES WORK OR YOUR Na+k+ ATPase pumps throughout the body

no sugar, where WILL YOU DERIVE YOUR ENERGY FROM

no fat WHERE WILL YOU GET YOUR LONG CHAIN FATTY ACIDS FROM AND ALL THE PRODUCTS DERIVED FROM ACTYLCOA……..LIKE
    CoQ
    SEX SALT AND STRESS HORMONES
    BILE SALTS AND ACIDS ETC

6. He contends we live in a democracy so people should eat what they like and end up at the QEH to be a drain on Minister Boyce’s already tight budget.Sound advice indeed!

7. GP,

I don’t know where they get theirs but I know how very wrong they are so I’m not eating cardboard.

8. Well who is not guilty of Speculation kindly check out the BU comment box .. BTW i love chicken wings also the necks and the feet i am told that the feet has plenty nutritive value true or false do not know but i love the taste of the chicken feet anyhow never gave much thought to the nutritive. value of wings value is in the taste and that is good enough for me

9. What really is the point of Bob’s articles? …Just to say that he disagrees with the methodologies of some other researchers?
    What value is there in arguing about the relative nutritional contents of ‘wings’ and ‘breasts’?
    BOTH are shiite….

How many people eat yardfowls? (perhaps AC can say… 🙂 )
    As Abajanhowe says, these birds are injected with hormones, antibiotics and Lord-know-what-else in order to meet profit targets …and then offered as food to brass bowls… ??
    ..and we are arguing about if the wing is as ‘good’ as the breast?

ANYBODY who eats that shiite should be prepared for the obvious consequences… and the argument about people’s “democratic right” to eat shiite is not even worthy of comment….

This all goes to self-image and self-value ….that drives what food we allow into our bodies… We would not put questionable fuel or lubricant into our shiite cars, but have little qualms about consuming questionable foods….

10. look Professor brass bowl you can save you derogatory comments for some of your affluent friends ,,how dare you talk sh,te about food that many a poor household had to digest when trying to make ends meet nutting wrong with eating chicken wings any poor households back in the day rather than starve eat chicken wings and survive many of todays adults eat plent plenty chicken wings and they not dead even so some of these adults are today’s doctors and lawyers so professor brass bowl hurry back to yuh grass hut and leave the rest of civilization to decide what they want to eat dunderhead

here have some to stuff yuh big guts

http://s345780157.onlinehome.us/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/chicken-wings2.jpg

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Another sudden death…people need to watch what they put into their bodies.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/09/03/untimely-death-leaves-weekes-family-in-shock/

ACs…your post looks like a pile of death, I woukd not eat that, but it looks perfect for yall.

12. Dr. Robert Lucas, agree with him or not, is always willing to share his views with the public. It is good to hear from independent sources such as Dr. Lucas because we have too many columnists and talk show gurus , who often put things out there that go unquestioned. Example: One day a caller on Brasstacks stated with great voice that “no country in the world exports or imports garbage…” This was during the noise about Cahill. The moderator, a journalist of nearly forty years standing, did not say a word in response to the caller’s false statement. Garbage/waste/trash is a huge export and import business. An informed moderator , would have at least said he was not certain about that outlandish statement or just quickly google garbage export/export industry and correct the caller.

13. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Dr Lucas is perfectly correct. If the fat in wings is contributing to NCDs then you can blame it as well on the marbling fat found in beef which has a higher acidic pH than that of chicken. You can attribute blame without concrete evidence to support your claim. Other factors must be brought into the equation before a relevant conclusion is drawn. Pay attention to the levels of stress and environments that are raising blood pressure levels before you talk chicken wing problems. Good discourse Dr Lucas.

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

oops that should read..you cannot attribute…

15. We assume the discussion is about food or edible substances.

Based on where most ‘chicken’ comes from it cannot properly qualify as food.

This Lucas, does not talk about the process of preparation either.

We now know that any food that is ‘browned’ from preparation is carcinogenic.

Acrylamides represent the changing of the structure of edible substances.

Bajans love their deep-fried chicken wings, uh

But like bum-bum, are eating themselves to death.

Lucas has not dealt with this. His, is to protect industry at any and all cost

So when writers above run to congratulate him they should put their critical thinking caps on, if they have any.

16. Dr Lucas is entitled to his own opinions.He is not entitled to his own facts.Bajans should wake up to the truth that traditional slave-food-bottom-end dishes such as black pudding and souse,salted meats,cured meats and fish,steppers,are all injurious to the human body.That man is a vegetarian seems to have been lost even to the “educated”.

17. Why Even he likes Chicken wings

18. Robert Lucas is a pompous pedant. He specializes in “correcting” other people in public.

19. Why the need to get personal? Critique what is has posited in the public space.

BTW, Obama is a smoker.

20. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

First, I beg your forgiveness 🙂
    I read the article and was surprised that the learned doctor did not know that the nutritive value of chicken wings is doubled when consumed with beer and tripled if a good game is on tv at the same time.

(I may be wrong, but there may be an article (somewhere) that supports my theory. Get googling, folks.

21. Why take everthing so personnel that is the problem with the world everybody so dam angry. So what if the president eat chicken wings or smoke as an individual that is his right of choice which the video portrays. We need to stop being so angry

22. And in the case of Barbados the NCD and amputation capital of the world who pays the bill for the bad decisions of the population?

23. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Pachamama September 4, 2016 at 8:42 AM #

We now know that any food that is ‘browned’ from preparation is carcinogenic.

Acrylamides represent the changing of the structure of edible substances.

This statement is not exactly correct. The factor that associates the formation of carcinogenic elements in food comes primarily from deep frying the food in various cooking oils inclusive of olive oil. What research has found is that deep frying, particularly potato chips, produces the carcinogenic compounds polycyclic aromatic hydro carbons and acrylamides. These harmful components of cooking are produced at high temperatures needed to cook chips and stir-fried foods. Thus it is not the food that is directly contributing to the production of these carcinogenic agents but the oils that produce the airborne particulate matter that if inhale constantly over time, increases the risk of cooks (in households) and chefs contracting various cancers due repeated exposure. The recommendation is that when frying with oils ensure that the area is well ventilated and that vapours produced in frying can be syphon off quickly with a vacuum base stove system.

I also wish to point out to you that the browning effect that takes place in frying and grilling only increases the risk of cancer formation if they are fried at temperatures of 300 degrees celcius for long periods (practically towards charring and burning). Thus pan frying and grilling over long periods at these temperatures increases the formation of these cancer-causing compounds. Slight browing is fine but when it goes over towards burning or charring you increase the mutagenic tendencies that meat undergoes during high temperature cooking and long cooking time to from Heterocyclic Amines and Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons and acrylamide.

24. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Gabriel September 4, 2016 at 9:16 AM #
    “Dr Lucas is entitled to his own opinions.He is not entitled to his own facts.Bajans should wake up to the truth that traditional slave-food-bottom-end dishes such as black pudding and souse,salted meats,cured meats and fish,steppers,are all injurious to the human body.That man is a vegetarian seems to have been lost even to the “educated”.”

It would ‘more’ accurate to say that man has become an omnivorous animal rather than being a vegetarian. Without this evolutionary transformation into an omnivore there is no way ‘he’ would have exploded in population and expanded to almost all habitable parts of the planet. Just look and see what has befallen his gentle giant cousin the gorilla.

But the cost of this omnivorous habit has been an increasing susceptibility to a wider range of diseases not necessarily found among vegetarian.

You do have a point there about the slave food having injurious effects on the health of modern black Bajans as manifested in the extremely high incidence of NCDs. It might have been a fitting diet for an extremely physically active slave population but certainly not for the office-bound sedentary modern-day sluggards.
    Now that King Sugar (which once required many physically active black hands) is dead, maybe the black Bajan is heading for the same demographic destination as his increasingly disappearing white counterpart.

25. SSS
    Proof that meat is intended to be eaten in its raw state.

26. LOT A BULLSHIT ABOUT NCD’S AND FOOD.

BUT NO PROOF

ARE NOT NCD’S RELATED TO AUTI-IMMUNE FACTORS?

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs….so because Obama likes chicken wings everyone should be a glutton over it….have you seen Obamas size, he obviously burns off everything he eats right away compared to some obese looking, swollen ankle people I have seen taking up 2 bus seats…obviously his metabolism is active.

Besides, too many people on the island eat the chicken skin…google the poiskning effect yaself.

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Gabriel

Long before fire was discovered meat was eaten in its raw state. Indigenous tribes of the pygmy kind, some Eskimo groups, and the Nenet tribes of Siberia are known to be still eating meat in its raw state. Many Americans prefer their stakes rear or medium rear.

29. http://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/risk/diet/acrylamide-fact-sheet

http://www.omicsonline.org/open-access/acrylamide-in-food-products-a-review-2157-7110.1000344.pdf

Any careful scholar, like a smart lawyer, does not ask a question or make a challenge unless he or she cannot be bested, already knows the answer.

You always like to pretend to win an argument by challenging people to provide proof but you yourself never seem to demand the same from yourself.

As if you are some standard.

We have provided 2 pieces of evidence to prove our point. However, there are tens of thousands of scholarly articles, and others, supporting our contention.

Should you have access to any of the scholarly journals you will find many, many more.

Now, when are you going to ever become more sophisticated, intellectually?

30. PACHA

I DONT HAVE TO ever become more sophisticated, intellectually

WHAT IS THE POINT? I WAITING TO GO HOME NOW.

I AM NOT ARGUING WITH YOU OR NONE OF WUNNAHON BU

I DONT HAVE TIME FOR tens of thousands of scholarly articles.
    TO PROVE WHAT? THAT I CAN GOOGLE?

YOU DONT NEED THAT TO TALK SHITE ON BU

ANYONE CAN COME AND TALK SHITE ON BU

WHO SOEVER WILL MAY COME AND SPEW THEIR BULL ON BU

I HAVE STOPPED TRYING TO BE SERIOUS OR SCHOLARLY ON BU

I SPEND MY TIME STUDYING THE RAPTURE AND ESCHATOLOGY

NOW YOU CAN GO BACK AND JOIN YOUR FATHER, THE DEVIL John 8:44

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/85190/-collapses-dies-home

Another sudden death.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/85185/smoke-scream

Why is the government using these chemicals for fogging, that are BANNED in other countries.

Caribbean and African governments love to use deadly chemicals in their countries and source them from the same countries in which they are banned….what is wrong with these leaders….you mean other doctors and environmentalist did not have this information all these years to speak out about it……I can imagine how people with allergies suffer during and after the fogging.

So tgat means no one in the ministry of health keep an updated database to monitor the chemals which are banned worldwide. ..what use are these people to the population.

32. YOU SIR ARE OBVIOUSLY WORKING FOR SOME ONE OR SOME COMPANY. DOSENT THE HORMONS THAT YOU FOLKS PUMP INTO THOSE CHICKENS IS INJECTED VIA THE WINGS?? HIGH CHOLESTEROL IS ONE OF THE ILLS THAT IS PLEGUEING THE PEOPLE IN THIS COUNTRY. WHY WOULD YOU WANT TO ENGORAGE THE WIDE SCALE CONSUMPTION OF FATTY CHICKEN WINGS,DONT YOU THINK WE HAVE ENOUGTH SICK PEOPLE IN THIS COUNTRY AS IT IS.CHICKEN WINGS IS MORE FAT THAN LEANE MEAT.

Sent from Windows Mail

33. “Gabriel September 4, 2016 at 9:16 AM # Dr Lucas is entitled to his own opinions.He is not entitled to his own facts.Bajans should wake up to the truth that traditional slave-food-bottom-end dishes such as black pudding and souse,salted meats,cured meats and fish,steppers,are all injurious to the human body.That man is a vegetarian seems to have been lost even to the “educated”.

You mekkin bare sport Gabriel. Bring the evidence. Pure speculation

What you think the centenarians and octogenarians raise pun and eat all their lives.

34. dennis gibson September 5, 2016 at 11:19 PM #

can you tell us how we get cholesterol from eating chicken wings?
    please educate us Sir

35. @ Gabriel
    …you aint tekking that low blow from balance @ 1.46 PM…. are you?
    Wuh..
    balance can eat any shiite and still live to 130…..cause only the ‘good’ die young…

36. Whenever the GG ask those centenarians what they ate they most often say Cassava,sweet potato,yam,eddoe,injun corn dumplings okras,mango,papaw,coconut and pap wid nutneg grateinit,flying fish,grunts,chubs Ning nings.I never ever hear them say chicken,black pudding and souse,chicken steppers,beef,lamb.Many of them say they fire a grog ever now and then.Doan mine balance.

37. GABRIEL
    THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH STEPPERS–AINT STEPPERS COMPOSED OF THE PROTEIN COLLAGEN
    DONT YA PUT SWEET POTATOES IN “BLACK”PUDDING
    WHAT IS WRONG WITH CHICKEN
    THE OLD FOLK COULD NOT SAY IT WAS A FAVOURITE OF THEIRS CAUSE WE FIRST STARTED EATING NUFF CHICKEN BACKS IN 66

38. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Seconding GP
    For some, chicken was a luxury.

39. “Gabriel September 9, 2016 at 5:12 PM #

Whenever the GG ask those centenarians what they ate they most often say Cassava,sweet potato,yam,eddoe,injun corn dumplings okras,mango,papaw,coconut and pap wid nutneg grateinit,flying fish,grunts,chubs Ning nings.I never ever hear them say chicken,black pudding and souse,chicken steppers,beef,lamb.Many of them say they fire a grog ever now and then.Doan mine balance.”

As implied by some; leghorn chicken was indeed a luxury and when chicken backs came on the market( saw them in the supermarkets in Grenada and Carriacou dog cheap last week and was thirsty Bushie to bring back some for you) tasty fried chicken backs or chicken backs boiled down in soup with dumplings and assorted ground provisions became part of the staple diet for the poor man. Just because the centenarians did not mention black pudding and souse and touched pork chops did not mean they did not eat them. Any one in their sixties would tell you that growing up under the union jack the consumption of black pudding and souse and other pork dishes like cracklings from the sow or boar pig anchored to the tree in the yard and fed with scraps and swill were par for the course. Those teachers at Bay Street like Mr Arthur and Mr Cuffley couldn’t wait till Hot and sweet come out on Friday to savour the nutritious delicacies emanating from the white meat.

40. Balance
    I bet you Arthur and Cuffley gone to glory long time.Pudding,souse,breadfruit,hot pepper,fried pigs liver,pickled tripe,ear,tongue,maw along with fried SeaCat,Mount Gay,Cockspur,Old Brigand,ESAF white are all Saturday delicious delights.I am familiar with the old planters added delights of Alleyne Arthur,Ince,Doorly,Goddards copiously consumed on Saturdays with the aforementioned local fare.I don’t recall any of these guys reaching the age of the card and visit of the GG.But they all had a raucously enjoyable weekly eat up and drink up.
    Speaking of Grenada,River Antoine with lime juice was a lovely drink,probably 150 proof with a distinct fragrance and not for the uninitiated.

41. “Gabriel September 10, 2016 at 2:56 PM #

Balance
    I bet you Arthur and Cuffley gone to glory long time.Pudding,souse,breadfruit,hot pepper,fried pigs liver,pickled tripe,ear,tongue,maw along with fried SeaCat,Mount Gay,Cockspur,Old Brigand,ESAF white are all Saturday delicious delights”

Arthur and Cuffley lived to ripe old ages in their eighties but like quaka yaya I stil hey quite contented to be nearly threescore and ten and still consuming all of the above and you left out pork cracklings which is a staple diet in Cuba and which I take the opportunity to consume upon when I am there and I still in the saddle minus Viagra so what is there to quarrel about other than to sit back relax and enjoy myself in a world in which I am a mere cog in the wheel.

42. @ balance
    “..saw them in the supermarkets in Grenada and Carriacou dog cheap last week and was thirsty Bushie to bring back some for you..”
    Thanks for the kind consideration skippa.
    ….but did you not say that these were ‘poor man staple diet…’?
    What made you think of Bushie then…? Why would one of BBE’s adopted boys be eating the kind of foods provided by old plantation owners from scraps to their slaves?

Shiite man!! ….that is like having the queen down for the 50th ..and offering her some reheated cook-up rice with pig feet and some sweet water…
    ..probably why she sending her wild son instead….