The following was extracted from Facebook and shared on Barbados Underground at the request of Kammie Holder.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

THREE HOURS & FIFTEEN MINUTES TO RENEW A DRIVERS LICENSE.- A WARNING. THE SHORT STORY: To the Pine Office, The Oistins Office and back to the Pine. Standing in line, Oistins 2 hrs; Sitting in line, The Pine 35min.; Driving, 40mins.

FOR A ‘SHORT-STORY read on… it’s a bit long but so was our wait.

I WENT WITH MY WIFE TODAY TO RENEW HER DRIVER’S LICENSE. We went to The Pine office as usual but that, we were told, was under renovation so we have to go to Oistins. Not ever having been to Oistins to pay my license I went to the Government compound to the East of Oistins … Law Courts, Police Stn., Library etc. O.K. My Bad/Ignorance. Finally we find the Revenue office around the back of the Massy Mall through a doorway that proudly proclaims it to be the entrance to a Gym. We see a line of over 20 people waiting and we enter and join it. I notice that of the 7 windows only two are manned/womanned. 15 mins later the line has not moved and there are now 8 people behind us. A large man appears and proceeds to divide the line into two and sends the newer half outside to wait. “In here is get too hot and crowded and people does faint so go out and wait and I will call you in.” So said, so done and they line-up outside the glass wall. He sits a while vetting new arrivals and then leaves. Two people leave the room so the others outside feel that two of them should come in. Two of them do and they are followed by all the others because Mr. Man is not at the door.

The room is full again.

We finally begin to inch forward very slowly and Mr. Man returns. Loud shouting, big argument and he finally gets some of them back outside. 45 minutes later and we are now half-way up the line. A third cashier has started to work. I am seriously thinking of going back out to the car to get folding chairs for Hetty and I. A lady with a child in her arms comes in. I not sure what transpired but suddenly she is at the cashier having bypassed the line. Who tell she do that? Big noise… “No. No. It won’t be dat. I was hey all mornin’ an she jus walk in so?” from the man next in line, backed up by all and sundry… Mr Man jumps in “People wid children can move up so you gotta wait.” Fortunately she was not there long. An expat lady in front of us who has been quiet all along says it is not bad today. She was here yesterday and was in the outside line-up which had doubled back on itself and had extended around the corner of the building. She had waited over two hours and then was told she had to bring a photo to get a drivers License and was returning today wondering why there was no ‘reception’ to explain requirements before the line-up. A guy in front of her explained that we Bajans “Like it so. We too polite.” And then started in on the banks and their ‘service’. I am now in a position where I can read the numerous computer ‘print-out’ signs which seem to be contradictory and despite the reassurance of others in the line around us, am now wondering if we are in the right place.

Optimistically, I remember from last year, that there was a sign on the only door at the Pine office, where everyone had to enter, which boldly said ‘No Entry’. One and a half hours after joining the line we got to the cashier. It took her no more than 5 minutes to fix us. I do not know what services the others before us required that could have taken so long. Having paid and now wondering how we were going to get the actual license card I asked her for the next step… “Ask the guard.” She said. I asked the guard and he said “Wait dey. Somebody goin’ come out and take de cards.” “But the sign on the door says to comeback tomorrow.” I replied. “Doan mind dat, Wait dey.” He instructed. All the chairs but one in that section were taken so Hetty took that and I joined the other standing guys behind them. Half an hour later the lady from behind the door had come out once and taken the receipts and expired license cards from about four people. A lady beside me said “I gone. I can’t wait any longer. That lady in de blue dress been waitin’ for uh hour. I live ‘bout hey so I goin’ come back early tomorrow.” I explained that I didn’t live ‘bout hey’ so I’d have to wait. “You got a car? Why you don’t drive down by the Pine and get the card from dem? They still taking the pictures.” Thank You lady! We had to go that way to get home anyway and although there was no guarantee that the line would be any shorter I remembered that they had more chairs so the wait would be more comfortable.

We drive to the Pine. Quite a few people waiting but there are empty chairs and a reception desk. The guy takes our receipt and the expired card and asks if we want to use the old photo. “Sure.” Anything to save time. He takes them inside and we sit. Like at Oistins there is a digital electronic sign that says “Now serving No. ……..” but it’s not. After about 5 mins. A guy comes from behind the wall with a book, rests on a shelf and calls some names. About five people get up and receive their cards. Great, it is working! He then sits in a nearby chair and falls asleep. Seriously. I know because his eyes close, his head slips to a side and his hands that were clasped together in front of his belly fall to his sides. I show Hetty and the guy sitting next to us laughs. After a few minutes he wakes with a start and ambles back behind the wall. He comes back out with a few more cards and repeats. This happens about four more times. It appears that this is all he does all day. No wonder he falls asleep. Finally Hetty’s turn comes. Standing in line Oistins 2 hrs; Sitting in line The Pine 35min.; Driving 40mins. What has Barbados come to? Are we not supposed to be improving productivity? So much for our new and streamlined Revenue Authority and Civil Service.

Do you think that the Minister of Finance or any of the other members of the cabinet go through this to renew their Drivers License?

70 responses to “Barbadians Need to Take a Day Off from Work to Renew Driving License”

1. Back by request the idiotic manipulation of the voting for equally idiotic comments notwithstanding.

2. @ David
    You have to be the nicest, most considerate man alive….
    Boss, do NOT let brass bowls push you around in your own house…

It is obvious that the AC gang of political parasites and fleas have launched a new policy of using multiple devices to give ‘thumbs up’ and downs in their childish games (or which they have been hired – (SAME AS WE FOUND OUT IN GUYANA UNDER JAGDEO… AFTER Granger won the last elections).

Bushie would just arbitrarily delete some of their posts when they do shiite like that…
    …and remember they get PAID based on the number of posts they make…

Another option would be to edit their posts to correct the grammatical and logical errors (in which case their political masters will doubt that the posts came from the idiots that they pay a pittance…) LOL ha ha ha

You got options Boss…. 🙂

3. @ David,

“You have to be the nicest, most considerate man alive.”

Agree with Bushie. lol

4. Is Online Renewal an Option??????

5. \Why a driving license cannot be renewed at any Post Office? Why every year, why not every five years? Why not by Post? In the UK we only renew at age 65, once you obtain your license first time, there is no renewal for years unless you lost it for a motoring offence.

6. Some battles not worth it.

7. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

It is obvious that the consortium are experimenting and becoming more social media savvy. The last initiative was the ‘thumbs-up/-down’ posse.
    It will be interesting to see what else comes down the river.

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

They are simpletons who believe that thumbs up give them traction or social currency through their actions here on BU.

This Clickjacking exercise while useful on Facebook is not applicable or wise for this Specific Blog

Barbados Underground is not Instagram or Facebook

It is not based on likes but on content.

Let be ole man explain.

On Facebook, the number of likes for an item indicates popularity.

It may be an image or a Vimeo/video but people examine either and in the case of the graphic click based on the superficial graphic and in the case of the latter, must view it rather should view its content before voting it up.

A blog is absolutely different since you must submit material for mental consumption prior to being up voted.

WHEN AC s submissions are up voted people read one or two of them AND, once having viewed the horrific English, the incoherent sentences and the palpable idiocy a buzzer goes off in the head.

They do it twice more max, and immediately it becomes obvious that the writers AC are 95 percent cretin mixed with inbred alpine goat.

They DO NOT UNDERSTAND HOW THE INTERNET RATHER A BLOG WORKS!!!

Each hit on BU carries a specific “signature” by that I mean both a weight euphemism for following and a pattern of review I.e. What a blogger does when he or she visits

So when Bush Tea posts or Donna or specific persons each of them has a following based on the currency of their customary content.

So for example Chad of the many nines is seen to be a woman hater at worst and a male chauvinist pig at best.

Simple Simon has a pattern of review which seems prescribed by specific hours that suggest a shift or an availability to read at particular times like Angelique only posts on weekends or Come Sing a Song posts once.

The Honourable Blogmaster can give mor in depth statistics on either namely whose posts are high attraction items I.e. The real weight metrics and whose heat signatures are dense that is whose submissions are read from beginning to end.

Some WordPress plugins give you that type of info.

There are some anomalies per the above and I give you AC.

She is “read” because she is the face of the oppression and all that is bad in Barbados.

She is “reviewed” because she embodies the idiocy that characterizes the DLP simply put since she is a combination of Pigrim, and Kelly and that lady with the Braids on Facebook, she is reviewed purely because it is “the face of evil – the demonic Labour party ”

Their puerile click jacking confirms that the DLP are concerned about the impact of the site.

9. This must be registered as one of the funniest comments for the year.

10. islandgal August 29, 2016 at 9:30 PM #
    Contrary to popular belief, Bajans do have a not -so -short -memory
    http://i.imgur.com/UsLuZ1e.jpg?1

11. Why is it that tourists can get a driving permit within ten minutes?

12. Hi there PDYR i have given you a like “up” never thought that the bee hive would have become so distraught over
    “likes” for ac. But it is like them to be hateful and begrudging

13. ac gets a few “likesup”and it pisses off David so much he cuts off the button Unbelievable. Never thought that anything i said had any kind of ramifications in that it would change any ones mind about anything. Some grown ups are so childish like kids in the sandbox hating to lose.some of yuh need to grow up.

14. It was obvious by the consistent number and the immediacy of the thumbs up and the persons who were being thumbed down (myself included no matter WHAT I SAID) that it was the same persons manipulating the system. That is what made it soooo hilarious. Comic relief! Thanks for returning my laughs, David.

Thumb away!

Tee-hee!

15. What is obvious is that you and others are so used to having things your way that the lightest detection hurt your guts and you become boiling mad as exemplified by the comments attacking my persona and stupid name calling
    PDYR does not have a clue but he rattles on about who I am and all kind of bull sh.t as if it gospel truth
    My getting numerous likes seem to have hurt wunna belly real bad just a bunch of unconscionable bastards only wanting everything for self even a friggin like..boo hah.dealwith it

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

One of you is Pigrim doah

As Donna will say tee hee

17. Sagicor General customers get their licenses renewed free by the company. Contact them.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David Alleyne

As does CGI.

Suffice it to say that certain of the insurance companies have access to a quasi automatic electronically supported renewal facility.

The fact is that e-enabled transactions abound internationally and CAN BE HAD LOCALLY, were it not for “pre-existing enablements” with local interests euphemism for bribes with certain providers and cuntsultants WHO ARE NOT INTERNET SAVVY and are incapable of provisioning appropriately specified software and hardware.

Let de ole man explain.

Police Certificate of Character. Simply put, police checking their records to confirm that you ent teif $5 million dollars and put it in you mudda account or similar illegal activity.

With an integrated criminal justice system, if you applied online on September 2nd and had any convictions up until the 2nd in an integrated Justice Information System, similar to the one tha David Simmonds got a mobaton uh money from the IDB and this administration also got money for, an both wasted, you would get your certificate online, THE SAME DAY.

But Simmons was no brainiac ergo the $6 million incompatible computer that the Royal Barbados Police Force sourced from IBM that has long since been thrown away, and Adriel Nitwit Bratwit, and his predecessor Fumbles, well they are special female rabbit hairs.

You have to have the will, have the knowledge, and the money AND NOT BE BOOTLICKERS AND POOCHSUCKERS who are trying to get money in your mudda accunt.

“Come leh we wuk up and have a good time”

The next wuk up is at Independence then it is Christmas ….

19. you still have to go in to get the card with photo…..

20. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

pieceuhderockyeahright August 30, 2016 at 4:55 PM #

Almost missed it.
    Made my day.