Submitted by Anthony Davis
Richard Sealy - Minister of Tourism
Richard Sealy – Minister of Tourism

Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy is hitting back at critics of the decision to build the multi-million dollar Hyatt hotel on Bay Street, the city. “In his contribution earlier this evening to the debate on the 2016 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals, Sealy defended the international hotel chain, which he said would enhance the island’s tourism product while generating employment. “I know the Member for the City  (Jeffrey Bostic) doesn’t agree with that (opposition to the hotel); he is the biggest supporter of Hyatt and I am the second biggest supporter. I am all for jobs, I am all for tourism coming to the people of St. Michael – page 6 of Barbados TODAY dated 17 August, 2016

Dear Mr. Minister of Tourism, it is said that the last shall be the first, and the first shall be last. So, let me start with the last paragraph of your noise first.

I find it a puerile reason for wanting a hotel in St. Michael, just because there are hotels in the two parishes which you mentioned. It reminds me of a child who asks for something just because his parents have given his sister/brother something. Also, Mr. Minister, for your information, there are already three hotels in St. Michael, and all within walking distance of each other. They are: the Island Inn, the Radisson and the Hilton – which is a Government entity – and so you should at least know about that one. The Hilton is on Needham’s Point and I don’t think that that has moved. The Island Inn and Radisson are in Aquatic Gap.

Re your ” he (Jeffrey Bostic) is the biggest supporter of Hyatt, and I am the second biggest supporter” statement.

Mr. Bostic himself has declared that he is for Hyatt, but there’s a fundamental difference of your attitudes towards that project. You want it at all costs, whether it would be detrimental to the environment or the social fabric of this island, whereas Mr. Bostic is of the opinion that progress should not come at any and every cost. He stated that in his position on planting of that monstrosity on Browne’s Beach., he wants various things looked into first – including an environmental impact assessment, and a social impact assessment.

As far as I know, it is no longer good practice to build hotels on the beach, but on the land opposite the beach, which is being practised in the USA, and other tourism-oriented destinations. That is why I would like to know why Hyatt is coming here to plant a hotel on one of our favourite beaches, and one to which those tourists who return year after year go.

How do you start building if you have no planning permission?

How can such a 15-storey twin-tower colossus blend in with the Bethel Methodist Church, and the St. Paul’s Anglican and Catholic churches?

Would Hyatt be allowed to build a hotel on any beach in the USA now?

Why are we allowing a hotel conglomerate to build here, if all of the top personnel will be foreign?

That smacks of bigotry.

How can you allow that to happen, Mr. Minister?

Seeing that Barbados is a water-scarce island, and so many people are being already deprived of that commodity – although paying high water rates –  from where will all of the water come?

What about the waste?

Will it have it’s own water source, and waste disposal?

It is a sad state of affairs when any government can railroad such plans for the benefit of a foreign entity.

UNESCO is very strict when it comes to the stipulations which it gives to those countries which have World Heritage sites. I fear that if the stipulations for maintaining Bridgetown and its Garrison as a World Heritage site are breached then it will revoke the World Heritage site designation of the above, and we will be left without an important tourist attraction!

Also, Barbados is one of the most expensive tourism destinations, and it will now be more expensive since the tax collector has added a new levy to his taxes which in effect brings the VAT to 20% when, as he hiked it to seventeen and a half per cent, he promised to return it to 15% within a year.

However, promises mean nothing to this Government.

WE, the populace of Barbados, DO NOT WANT THIS HOTEL, NOR ANY OTHER, ON BROWNE’S BEACH!

The beach belongs to the populace of this country – not to any government!

113 responses to “Minister Sealy, No 15-Storey Hyatt Hotel On Dah Beach”

1. That is the problem with the so called intellects like Enuff they have this high volume of presumptuousness arguing that their voices are the only ones that knows what is best or right , Unfortunately the silent voices always keep quiet living within a shell of anonymity being fearful of anything they might say would be tossed into the waste basket of stupidity

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It all goes to show how viciously deceitful to the island and people Maloney, Bizzy, Cow, Bjerkham, Simpson…etc are….the wasteland of the 4 Seasons blight, filled with degrading, rusty metal, is the perfect located for four..4 Seasons hotels. ..it’s 16 acres, with a very long stretch of beach, no issues for space and equally in close proximity to Bridgetown, but are they utilizing it for Hyatt…no, makes ya wonder whose land they stole for the Hyatt project.

Commissiong should force them to move the Hyatt project to the 4 Seasons location, the usual thieves of Bizzy, Cow, etc used 4 Seasons project to steal from NIS pension funds…let them pay the price for that scam now.

3. it is almost laughable to think see or imagine that a socialist Comissiong with no known credentials as an engineer or an architect is making tidal waves against a corporation whose building credentials has been designed by some of the best known architect and structurally produced by some of the worlds best engineers having a stellar record for giving impeccable concern for the environment
    Many outsider investors looking in on this topsy turvy enviromment of noises are taking full note of a nation whose outlook for themselves now falls below the level of gawdawful confusion.
    A nation on the verge of taking up a piece of Cuba remnants

4. Gabriel August 28, 2016 at 7:53 AM #

AC

Patriotic Bajans don’t object to any brand name hotel setting up here.However it will not be at any price.Respect and adherence to our laws and norms are not for sale like you sold to that pot bellied,abrasive red man butch Stewart of Sandals.Why even the IMF warned you asses that giving away tax concessions is not a recommended solution and simply put,it doesn’t add to revenue gained.A few low level jobs will not sway patriots.Go to the ant thou sluggard.Consider his ways and learn wisdom.

like what laws are being broken ?Do you really believe that a billion dollar corporation would risk its reputation at the hands of a debited nation for securing a few jobs ,,,,do mek me laugh do

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Billion dollar hotel chains do not like scandals attached to their names either and that is exactly what this is, created by the idiots in parliament and the crooks for business people.

Calling big figures is a sign of a dumb depraved mind.

I had one hell of a weekend, blurry-eyed and seeing double, even in that condition I can see the stupidity in everything yall say you pimps…ACs

Hyatt should be built at the 4 Seasons location, the scam artists that are Bizzy, Cow, Maloney, Bjerkham etc…, should not be allowed to con their way into the treasury, NIS Pension Funds, the banks, or the credit unions to disenfranchise and exploit a whole black nation of people…..ever again.

6. Has not Maloney already approached NIS for a loan/investment in the Hyatt project??

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I would not be surprised if the jackasses for leaders in parliant are considering to allow another run by the crooks Bizzy, Maloney et al on the Pension Fund again, they should all be in prison.

A good idea would be to find out..who is frontman Maloney using as the lawyers are for Hyatt hotel.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Excuse me folks, as I said, bleary eyed and seeing double, so the editing of errors is sketchy.

9. Prime Minister Stuart you are a strong leader you ignore a daily flood of personal attacks from detractors. You are not swayed by the flavor of the month crowd. We urge you to again resist the messengers of evil and give approval to a project that will change the face of Bridgetown for the national good.

Maloney isn’t Mother Theresa yet still Hyatt is a game changer an enterprise that must go ahead. Jobs, tourists, upgrades to decrepit Bay Street , a jolt to restart life in Bridgetown are but few of the positives. Barbados is an attractive spot for investors , a low crime rate, a culture of getting results, and an educated population are some of its qualities.

Often though because of petty politics ,self centered elites and activists Barbados loses valuable FDI to competing jurisdictions. The St. George Medical school, who can forget Gabby’s ‘cadavers’ that ran the medical school investors straight to Grenada, the ARC across the Atlantic yacht race and the Jazz Festival , now in St. Lucia are a sample of the projects frightened venture capitalists took to other jurisdictions. These now rake in millions annually in revenues for the respective governments and people.

This is not to indict the islands that spread the welcome mat to the spurned investors. Its a national disgrace to have allowed those investment opportunities to go elsewhere . A handful of noisy egotists misleading sections of the community ruined chances to boost GDP ,provide citizens with jobs and create wealth.

We cannot repeat those mistakes the Commisiong’s and Peter Stevens of this world don’t walk in the shoes of the urban poor. Therefore PM Stuart stand up for the silent majority and give Hyatt your blessing. In time the people of Barbados will thank you for your foresight and strength of character.

Former PM Owen Arthur’s vison for Carlisle Bay was a promenade fronted by high rise hotels and condos. He knew as do most patriots of every class and race that all will benefit from an enlightened exploitation of the our natural resource the beach.

10. Passing thru
    Why not publish Owen Arthurs plan/drawing for the Pierhead project.Are you privy to the Pierhead Project published by BS&T in the early 90’s?If so,can you share with BU.

11. PM Stuart cannot do anything other than given Vision Development and its front man Mark Maloney permission, he probably has done so already. Do you guys know who is really behind this Hyatt deal, it is not Mark Maloney? There are some very rich and power up north whites behind this and FS and the DLP owes them for the 2013 election victory. You feel um is two cents it took overturn the will of the people?

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Passing thru….Yall full of crap…this is another scam to raid the pension fund and treasury….what patriotic what, patriotic is making sure the treasury is not raided by crooks,…..

Fruendel should be protecting the people, not letting them be vulnerable to ever scam Cow, Bizzy, Bjerkham, Maloney et al devise…..not entertaining or picking up taxpayer’s money to pour into these crooks self-serving, self-enriching schemes.

Yall are too dumb to be alive.

Let Maloney & Crooks find their own money to fund Hyatt and every scam they come up with…going forward.

13. @WW&C every friggin word come out uh mouth is scam yet you find no problem with your maniacal demonic friend sheri veronica scamming the people of barbados with her hog wash articles from which she derives commercial benefits

As for the Hyatt location which you gave the advice you are so daft that you cannot even realized why such a location and purpose.s yet you open you jac,ass mout talking about locating the Hyatt on the site where the Four seasons would be built what a load of crap