Submitted by Kammie Holder
Run4theCoastFrom: Run4 TheCoast [mailto:Run4theCoast@state.gov]
Sent: Monday, August 22, 2016 11:48 AM
To: Guardian Life
Subject: The U.S. Embassy Presents the “Run for the Coast”, September 17, 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

The U.S. Embassy to Barbados, the Eastern Caribbean, and the OECS, and the Bureau of Diplomatic Security, are proud to announce the “Run for the Coast” taking place on International Coastal Cleanup Day, Saturday, September 17. The event will begin at 6:30 a.m. at Barclays Park.

The “Run for the Coast” is a 5K walk/run with all proceeds benefiting the local environmental NGO The Future Centre Trust. In addition to the 5K, Embassy Bridgetown will participate in the “Clean Up Barbados” campaign by collecting rubbish along the coastal area between Barclays Park and Morgan Lewis in conjunction with community groups organized by The Future Center Trust.

The “Run for the Coast” will highlight three important milestones: (1) The observance of International Coastal Cleanup Day; (2) The 100th anniversary of the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Diplomatic Security; and (3) 50 years of diplomatic relations between the United States and Barbados.

Registration for the “Run for the Coast” is now open! The deadline to register for the race, and receive the official 5K t-shirt is Wednesday, August 31. The registration fee is $45 BDS. Please see attached flyer for further information, and email Run4theCoast@state.gov to register today.

The U.S. Embassy hopes to see you at Barclays Park to participate in the “Run for the Coast” and beach cleanup as we work together to keep Barbados beautiful!

Best regards,

U.S. Embassy to Barbados, the Eastern Caribbean, and the OECS

49 responses to “Cleanup Campaign – Run for the Coast”

1. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

The Marines would make more money if it was a run to clean up the Government , They would be running much more than 5k

2. A clean up campaign, without any provision to maintain the cleanliness of the island, is like bathing a pig in a bubble bath, only to see it make a dash immediately afterwards for the nearest pool of mud.

3. Violet C Beckles August 23, 2016 at 7:50 PM #
    And with bayonets attached.

4. Colonel Buggy, you going get Verla Depeiza talking bout sedition now lololol

5. Why not a plan of civil action against the government for its ineptitude in this and other areas as opposed to continously bathing the pig in bubble bath as opined by the Col.

6. Not just the Government takes blame here this time around.We got some nasty, and I do mean nasty suckers bout Barbados.That a person can feel comfortable bringing their garbage from one neighborhood to dump it in another is simply just unconscionable. That someone would use a car or bus window to dispose of their garbage is common place bout Barbados. We too effing nasty

7. @ Hamilton Hill
    While you are 100% correct @ 7:43AM, you should extrapolate your analysis to look into WHY a nation of people who have had BETTER educational opportunities than practically ANY OTHER NATION ON EARTH …EVER…. would suffer from such a basic shortcoming…

Why is there such a national lack of PRIDE?
    Why would intelligent, employed, upstanding citizens display such behaviours?
    Why would they ‘jam’ down to Spring Gardens dressed like whores and behaving accordingly?
    Why are they condemned to selling all their valuables to strangers – like ‘parros’?

If we could answer these questions then instead of following the US Embassy to throw painkillers at the SYMPTOMS, we could focus on addressing the ROOT problems.

8. It brings into focus how are we educating our people. Those countries with citizens who are sensitive to the enviroment and have implemented efficient waste management systems – what separates them?

9. I have always said that we got some NASTY Bajans and Black Bajans I mean.

A few months ago I was by the tyre shop opposite the airport having my tyre fixed. There was a small restaurant /rum shop nearby. A taxi man driving a small bus was parked in front of the restaurant. He had a Chefette cup in his hand, he opened the window and threw the cup out onto the ground. I got so annoyed and went up to him saying “NO NO NO!”. I told him I can’t believe he is driving around Tourist on this island and littering; that he should be ashamed of littering. He then got out and picked up the cup and left the spoon. I went up to his vehicle and tapped on the window and asked him to give me the cup to dispose for him. He said he will dispose of it himself and that he the scavengers won’t have any work to do. I asked him how many scavengers he has seen around the shop. I told him he better not throw the cup on the road. He then sheepishly waved goodbye and went his way. The men in the rum shop shouted “tell him lady he got no right doing that”!

10. Just wondering – Why does US Embassy have to spearhead the cleanup of Barbados “pristine” East Coast?

Maybe in anticipation of Canadian runners who win free trip to Run Barbados December 2-4, 2016.

http://www.canadarunningseries.com/crs/crsROADTRIPS-barbados.htm

11. islandgal August 24, 2016 at 9:53 AM #
    I have always said that we got some NASTY Bajans and Black Bajans I mean.

The men in the rum shop shouted “tell him lady he got no right doing that”!;
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    We need more than a physical clean up.We also need a mental clean up. Many Bajans see no harm in littering.
    If you had wait around a bit longer by the rum shop, I do not think you would be so eager to offer to lend a hand when you saw some of the same men flourishingly disposing of their saline water in full view.

12. Due Diligence August 24, 2016 at 10:13 AM #
    Just wondering – Why does US Embassy have to spearhead the cleanup of Barbados “pristine” East Coast
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………….
    They have to start somewhere. East Coast, South Coast, Palmetto Street. We have become a people who cannot initiate anything for the good of ourselves. We are still back in the Plantation era, where we expect Massa to feed us and then wipe our arses.

13. “If you had wait around a bit longer by the rum shop, I do not think you would be so eager to offer to lend a hand when you saw some of the same men flourishingly disposing of their saline water in full view.”

Colonel I saw a man pissing on the side of the road with his male member in full view. I shouted to him to hide that puppy!

14. I do wish that we would stop playing this ‘Best educated in the world ” card. Education is much more than holding a few bits of papers ,and bragging about which older secondary school you attended.
    The close brethren, I am told hardly complete secondary education, but dominate many successful businesses in Barbados , thanks to a lot of educated Bajans.

15. We are a country full of education but devoid of common sense……has anyone noticed how the UWI card has given very little returns…….someone should realy investigate the reason why our educational system has stagnated and failed us.

16. Why do we see White individuals and businesses spear heading environmental issues/initiatives?

17. David August 24, 2016 at 11:30 AM #

I would suggest that your above should read ……why do we see people with common sense…..

18. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

@David 11:30
    Let me be the devil’s advocate.
    Could it be that many black Barbadians do not feel truly vested in the island economy; they do not own property or are not employed in the tourist industry.

This is not an excuse for a lack of pride or care for their environment.

19. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

Not a litterer, but yet I feel islandgal’s eye watching to see how I will dispose of my Cheffette cup.

Perhaps, the island need a few more islandgals.

20. @ Bush tea…..I have long said that there needs to be a serious reeducation program for my people. If the authorities slap a serious fine on anybody for dumping we immediately pull out the”poor black man” card.These same people would travel outside of Barbados and accept that not even a cigarette butt they can dispose of improperly. When the Minister responsible for our environment can use the media to spew verbal garbage about piles of waste in New York, and it goes unchallenged it is allowed to make connection with the inference that what obtains in Barbados is acceptable…..Don’t get me started on my soapbox where Kadoment and Foreday semi nudity is now paraded as We Culture. Once it was started elsewhere it good for Bim…that’s why the Jamaican influence flourished so successfully. Those who now admonish”de young people” about their lascivious actions never had a difficulty with the filth that Lil Rick served like pudding and souse every Saturday…cause filth makes money…that is but one instance.

21. Anonymice – TheGazer August 24, 2016 at 11:48 AM #

With the demise of sugar(many factory and plantation workers had small holdings producing cane and mixed crops) and manufacturing(the foundaries were a saviour to small people in esuring their machines worked) the average person felt left out of the future of Bim.

22. de pedantc Dribbler Avatar
    de pedantc Dribbler

” If the authorities slap a serious fine on anybody for dumping we immediately pull out…” and that is it sum. There is no strong ongoing effort from on high. The drive to clean comes in fits and starts. There have been many beautification programs over the years with well placed advertisement wrapped refuse-collectors, but folks will yet drop the garbage on the street.

A few serious fines and we can drag offenders screaming to a place of better refuge management.

And anytime a ‘puppy’ marking his territory like that we should shoo it away. Bad dog… LOLL.

23. Bush Tea
    Last night on DLPTV news,there was a presentation featuring Pinelands Workshop and as usual there was the sensual dancing by little children and by young women….it seems that that is what passes for the culture Bajans called the wukkup culture.No dog can compete for what passes as culture.It is planting seeds of wuflessness early in children’s minds,then they go on to school and give teachers lots of cheek and even say to some teachers”Wuh I kin wukkup beta dan you,you en know”..

24. Unfortunately de ole man ent to environmentally “friendly” like wunna and, unlike island girl246, ent really given to talking bout menses exposing dem make believe stretch limousines which are in reality wheelbarrow tingses.

Smartphone Cameratime for The new page at “Future Centre Trust and Thrust” called “Nasty (little) Menses and Womenses Who Exposes Dem Private Parts in Public” and can’t piss at home”

And page Two “Garbage Offenders”

This Collaboration of Righteous Indignation will be hosted here on Barbados Underground and will be the practicuum for the “Keep Our Island Clean” program at the top of this page

Future Centre Trust, Mr Kammie Holder would approach Digicel and Lime for sponsorship on the “Free minutes for A Cleaner Barbados”

So when IslandGirl246 sends in her picture of my full frontal gaza massive self peeing in Amen Alley when I get publish showing my big guts and peeny appendage, IG246 gets 5 free minutes added to her cell phone time.

And similarly when we see illegal dumpers all concerned citizens get free time.

That would end all the nasty pissing and shitting and illegal garbage disposal activities island wide.

Dat be an idea from a black man and not de US Embassy one time start and stop effort.

Shame wunna Scvunts forever pun de Internet!!

Whu wunna tink?

25. Vincent Haynes August 24, 2016 at 11:14 AM #
    …….someone should really investigate the reason why our educational system has stagnated and failed us.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Education also includes taking practical lessons from those were not that fortunate to have had a tertiary or even secondary education ,but who possess a wealth of practical experience. But such people were blanked by the Degree and Diploma class, so we end up with cooks who can read and write glowing recipes, but are unable to boil an egg.
    And this has manifested itself in all spheres of life in Barbados, and especially so in Agriculture, Transport and traditional Barbadian business.

26. I believe that there is more than one clean up happening that weekend. There is one being co-ordinated by the Cruise Club that my partner and I are a member of. I agree that there needs to be a long term plan, but we have to start somewhere. Lead by example!

27. The littering dilemma will be the least of our problems if we continue to disenfranchise the Bajan Negro of his/her birth right. The Bajan Negro is currently underemployed and will become surplus to requirements in a modern-day Barbados.

Is it any surprise that so many of them care little for their environment? Perhaps they have made the rational decision that Barbados cares little for them. We all know that the quality of life for your average Barbadian is in decline.

It will take the introduction of car-jacking’s, muggings, armed robbery, kidnapping and other heinous crimes for us to demand a seismic change in how our society is governed.

28. Yes periodic spot cleanups must be supported and the BU Household fully support all and sundry to participate. However, the issue of education, enforcement and wastemanagement policy/strategy must be a priority.

29. Thank you Exclaimer for hitting the nail directly on its head.

30. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

David August 24, 2016 at 11:30 AM #

Why do we see White individuals and businesses spear heading environmental issues/initiatives?@@@

Because the DBLP is a nasty , just NASTY IN ALL THAT THEY DO,, A bunch of nasty can never clean up . The white people see and know them for what they really are, , Its time the blacks see them also and remove them,
    The DBLP have this Nation Stuck and Stink.

31. “Is it any surprise that so many of them care little for their environment? Perhaps they have made the rational decision that Barbados cares little for them. We all know that the quality of life for your average Barbadian is in decline.’

Exclaimer if eating at Chefette and KFC is an example of a society in decline then I wonder where dem getting money from??? If Reggae pon de hill is also an eample of a declining society tell muh why dem does be sold out ? At $120.00+ a pop for tickets?

32. Sorry slightly off message!

Is Heywood’s beach a private beach? Take a look at the extraordinary detailed plan below. You can zoom in closer if you like. I have also noticed that there are an enormous number of private swimming pools on the island. I thought we were meant to be experiencing a water crisis.

Please take a good look at these aerial shots as it will reveal what damage is being carried out on your island. Pay particular attention to the destruction at the Arawak cement factory.To be forewarned is to be foreaarmed

http://www.maphill.com/barbados/saint-thomas/edge-hill/detailed-maps/google-hybrid-map/

33. Clean up Barbados Avatar
    Clean up Barbados

Anyone know who owns a skip truck registration MF501? It was allegedly seen dumping scrap metal in a cart road. Police apparently informed but nothing has happened.

34. Really ! it is a dam shame that any govt should have to roll out a clean up campaign , who do you think is going to foot the bill , all the money that will be directed toward the clean up campaign could have been well placed in others areas like in housing the homeless health care or other areas that is in dire need of financial support
    This is a sad indictment of our society that when even probe or threatened to keep the environment clean would still carry on and do as they dam please throwing garbage and littering in broad daylight
    If govt wants to put an end to this nastiness govt must enforce fines and or stiff penalties against the callous and lawless litter bugs. the monies collected can be of benefit in helping to keep Barbados enviroment cleaner and much friendly.

35. De jackasses we fuh health inspectors refuse to lock up persons caught littering. Sorry but it’s a waste of time until de clowns in government lead by example other than bribery.

36. @AC, wha you expect when de jackasses in guvament ain’t leading by example. You are such ah stuck political yard duck I hope fuh Bubadus sake yah epitaph is soon written.

37. Why does the Government not ban all the disposable plastic material from the island, a la Antigua or Guyana, or tax it to kingdom come?; plastic bags, plastic straws, plastic cups, plastic cup covers, plastic forks, styrofoam boxes, etc. etc. If the businesses of Barbados were all to revert to paper, card, or the numerous other biodegradable materials, then even if these items did end up on a roadside, on the beach, or in the sea, then they would over time breakdown into vegetable matter – rather than remain as unsightly litter EVERYWHERE.

I was amazed that when Gov employees (no idea what department they’d be attached to) spent days “de-bushing” a short stretch of road near the highway by the entrance to our gap, back when it was dry and the vegetation couldn’t hide what was beneath, that they left all the litter that was exposed by their “de-bushing” for all to see – guess picking up litter wasn’t in the their job description! There’s also an informal bus-stop at the end of same gap, which is constantly littered with empty bottles and Chefette paraphernalia (we’re walking distance from a Chefette) – is there such a thing as a public litter bin on this island, that would be emptied by the Gov on a regular basis? And we wonder why there is a proliferation of vector borne diseases on island, can’t think where those pesky aedes aegypti be breeding?

Everytime my wife takes our kids to the beach, she will take a refuse sack or re-use a carrier bag, and spend the first 10 -20 mins walking the beach and picking up all the litter that she finds – plastic straws, cigarette buts, plastic cups, etc. etc.. Quite often she will get encouraging comments from other users of the Beach, to which she will respond “why aren’t you doing the same?”.. Again, there is never anywhere to place litter in public places like beaches or parks, so often people feel they have no choice but to litter, rather than take their crap home with them, My family aren’t from Barbados, but we seem to have more pride and concern about the environment that we live in than the average Barbadian, or tourist.

38. The Chase Files

11 hrs ·

Good Morning #realdreamchasers!. Here is your daily newscap. Remember you can read full articles via Barbados Today Online (BT) or Midweek Nation Newspaper (MWN)

NO DEVALUATION – DEVALUATION OF THE Barbados dollar is not an option. Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler made this clear yesterday in response to concerns over the potential impact the Central Bank of Barbados’ financing of part of Government’s deficit on the country’s foreign exchange reserves, could have on the value of the Barbados dollar.Sinckler said: “There is no imminent or perceivable conditions under which a devaluation of the Barbados dollar will be allowed to happen, or be chosen as an option by the Government.“This is established, long-standing Government policy and the cornerstone of the county’s social, economic and political stability. It will not change.” While conceding that the Central Bank’s accommodation of Government’s financing needs – termed “printing money” – was not the preferred option for a small open and foreign exchange-constrained economy, Sinckler said the occurrence at this time had not directly impacted the reserves as was being promoted, and definitely had not put the value of the local currency at any identifiable risk in the short or medium term. (MWN)

1991 ALL OVER AGAIN – Economist Ryan Straughn said the new tax announced last week by Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler and a pending salary increase for parliamentarians had triggered memories of 1991 when Government ministers received a ten per cent pay rise, while public servants wages were cut by eight per cent.In resolutions yet to be debated in Parliament, Government has proposed a ten per cent hike in pay for all Cabinet members, Members of Parliament, Parliamentary Secretaries, and Senators. Straughn, who just two days before the budget presentation had predicted Barbadians would be burdened with more than $120 million in additional taxes, said the heavy tax burden imposed during the current Democratic Labour Party administration had not helped to turn the economic or social situation around. The Opposition candidate described the budget as a theatrical play without any specific, substantive measures that Barbadians could “take to the bank, have some faith in, or can articulate that would truly make our lives just a little better”.

MURDER ACCUSED REMANDED – MURDER ACCUSED Dwayne Omar Chase was remanded to prison after appearing in the Bridgetown Magistrates’ Court today. The lorry loader of Valery, Brittons Hill, St Michael, was not required to plead to the indictable allegation that he murdered Kadeem Joseph on June 10, this year when he went before Magistrate Douglas Frederick in Criminal Court No. 1.The 34-year-old accused was remanded to HMP Dodds and the matter was adjourned until September 20 this year. (MWN)

INFANT BOY FOUND DEAD – A TWO MONTH-OLD baby appears to be the latest sudden death in Barbados. The Tichbourne, Ivy, St Michael neighbourhood was plunged into mourning just after 8 p.m. on Monday when the body of the recently born boy, who had not yet been christened, was reportedly found lifeless in a bed.Details were sketchy, but the MIDWEEK NATION was informed that the child was sleeping in a bed next to his mother when the discovery was made.Both parents, Samuel Johnson and Kenisha King, are non-nationals and were heard arguing and blaming each other for the child’s death in the presence of police officers. Johnson has been living in The Ivy for more than ten years and King for about three. (MWN)

MORE PARENTS SEEKING HELP – MORE PARENTS ARE approaching the Salvation Army and asking for assistance in preparing their children for the start of the new school year which begins in another three weeks. Major Sinous Theodore, divisional commander of the Salvation Army, spoke to the issue yesterday during the army’s back-to-school drive held at its Reed Street, The City headquarters.“This year there were more people coming out,” he said. “There was a change in the administration so we were kind of late in our planning, so many of them are not here today, but they will receive the necessary help. We usually use a registration system, but will not turn away those who come asking for help.”

HEARING EQUIPMENT FOR QEH – Babies born at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) can now be screened for hearing problems within hours of birth, thanks to a new Natus Hearing Screening machine donated to the Paediatric Department by St Nicholas Abbey and the Rotary Club of Barbados South.The machine, estimated to cost $45,000, can confirm suspicious cases with a secondary, more sophisticated test.Head of Paediatrics Dr Clyde Cave said the approximately 2,500 babies born in Barbados annually would be screened, and while the equipment has a lifespan of five years, about 10 000 plus babies would likely be screened over that period.The funds used to purchase the machine were raised through concerts staged by both donors – St Nicholas Abbey’s annual carol concert last December and last year’s Classical Best of Youth concert organized by the Rotary Club in collaboration with the National Cultural Foundation.The World Doctors Orchestra which performed at the youth concert had requested that the proceedings go towards a children medical charity. (BT)

TROUBLE TREE – RESIDENTS OF ST MATTHIAS Housing Estate, Christ Church are frustrated as a result of two overflowing wells in the area.Netta Williams, who lives obliquely opposite one of the wells, said she was annoyed having spoken to several health officials, only to be told “the truck ain’t working”. The problem, she said, had persisted and got worse over the last two months. “Since last December out here like this. Many mornings we wake up and out here like a swimming pool. Just the other morning we had to help a woman and she lil’ children over because the water was high. The trench they dig ain’t making it any better either,” she said. (MWN)

HALL’S ROAD RELIEF – Halls Road residents who had expressed frustration that a bushy, dirty canal in their community was serving as a breeding ground for mosquitoes, say they have finally got a measure of relief.But they are calling on the authorities to ensure that it is not a short-term solution.Personnel from the National Conservation Commission de-bushed the canal over the weekend, less than two weeks after Barbados TODAY published residents’ complaints that they were living in mosquito hell and their health was being put at risk.Barbados TODAY understands that the plan now is for the canal to be cleaned every six months. Residents said they were hopeful that will materialize. But they also expressed concern that because there was no clear path for the water to flow in the canal, stagnant water would again build up and provide the perfect conditions for mosquitoes to multiply in their neighbourhood once again. (BT)

YACHTING FEE – Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy is anticipating new economic opportunities and a number of jobs from Government’s decision to make owners of yachts pay a flat annual fee for docking in Barbados.In his presentation of the 2016 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals last week, Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler announced that over the years the imposition of a duty on visiting yachts had simply not worked since many yacht owners would visit the island and then leave before the allowable six-month period was up.As such, Sinckler said the duty requirement would be removed for yachts staying in the island longer than six months and would be replaced by an annual fee of $2,000 per boat. (BT)

NO PERMIT – The situation regarding the multi-million dollar Hyatt Centric Resort on Bay Street, St Michael got more curious today as Barbados TODAY investigations cast doubt over whether the 15-storey property had received planning permission.Barbados TODAY examined the physical official state register in the Town and Country Planning Development Office, and it revealed that a final decision had not been taken on an application for permission to build the hotel.Furthermore, an official of the Town Planning office said that as far as he could see from additional data, no permission had been granted for the construction of the hotel, pointing out that the application was still being processed and awaiting information from an international agency.He did not name the agency or specify why such information was required.The state register, the official record for physical developments in Barbados, revealed that the application was submitted by Vision Development Inc of developer Mark Maloney on March 30, 2015 in care of Edghill Consulting Inc, Port St Charles, Heywoods, St Peter. However, nothing was there to suggest that the project had been approved. (BT)

CITY MAY LOSE OUT – BUILDING A 15-storey hotel in Bridgetown could cause Barbados to lose its UNESCO World Heritage inscription. President of the Barbados National Trust Peter Stevens warned yesterday the World Heritage listing “could be taken away”, as the proposed hotel would overshoot any other existing building in Bridgetown.The agreement to start construction of the multimillion-dollar Hyatt Centric Resort on Lower Bay Street was signed by local developers Mark Maloney and James Edghill and Hyatt’s senior vice president and head of corporate development and construction Pat McCudden in the presence of Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy last month.Stevens told the MIDWEEK NATION yesterday: “We are very concerned that it could ultimately lead to our delisting. (MWN)

STARCOM IMPROVING SOUND – STARCOM NETWORK continues work on upgrading its station networks and is relocating their transmission operations, which may affect the sound on its fleet of stations (Life 97.5FM, Hott 95.3FM, The Beat 104.1FM and VOB 92.9FM) over the next few days. Today, Life 97.5 FM is scheduled to go off air for approximately two hours starting from 9:30 a.m. This is to facilitate critical work on the transmission equipment. Listeners can expect a clearer sound on all the stations when the relocation is completed. Starcom Network sincerely apologises for any inconvenience caused during this time. (MWN)

BODY BUILDING – EXPERIENCE DID THE TRICK at the All Max National Bodybuilding & Fitness Championships at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, over the weekend. Rugged 35-year-old Coast Guard member Stevenson Belle towered over his rivals to capture the Mr Barbados for a third time while the durable Ramona Morgan, the face of body fitness competition for several years, captured the overall title.It was not a cakewalk for either by any means. Belle had to be at his best to defeat a vastly improved Shaquille Lavine in the grand posedown of champions while Morgan survived a stern challenge from comeback kid Tamesha Lewis in the battle for the overall crown.When the dust had settled, though, Belle prevailed with mass and muscle while Morgan brought grace, style and poise. (MWN)

RICHARD STOUTE TEEN TALENT – ON SUNDAY NIGHT, the second preliminary of this year’s Richard Stoute Teen Talent contest belonged to Tahirah Gibbons. The nine-year-old wowed the crowd as she swept aside eight other contestants – some twice her age – to gain 684 points and seal a place in the semi-finals of the 40-year-old competition.Gibbons was a little shy initially but when she got going – singing From This Moment and You’re My Flashlight – she set the Divi Southwinds Resort alight with her dynamism.Second place went to Danielle St Hill with 628 points while Javin Johnson, 598 points, was third.(MWN)

INDEPENDENCE STAMP EXHIBITION – THE BARBADOS POSTAL SERVICE is diversifying its activities to remain relevant in light of the declining demand for social mail services. Postmaster General Margaret Ashby said yesterday that technology had forced the postal service to chart a different path away from the traditional mail service “in an age of technology when messages are sent and received at the click of a mouse”.At the opening of a postal stamp exhibition in honour of Barbados’ 50th anniversary of Independence at the General Post Office in Cheapside, Bridgetown, Ashby said the 164-year-old postal service was now launching out into areas such as tourism promotion and expanded business facilitation.She said Barbados stamps had been used over the years to advertise the island as a tourist destination, a measure that had attracted many a stamp collector to the country. (MWN)

3D DINNER – Columbia University is working on a new 3D food printer that can produce and cook a variety of dishes from frozen base ingredients.They also want to introduce an element of design to home cooking that could turn cooking into an open source hub of innovation that unites people around the world on social media.In an interesting twist, though, the researchers at the heart of this project say that the printer cannot and will not replace traditional cooking.This will be an addition to the kitchen, not a complete replacement. (MWN)

That’s all for today.Have a great day. Shalom! #thechasefiles

39. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

David August 24, 2016 at 2:25 PM #

Yes periodic spot cleanups must be supported and the BU Household fully support all and sundry to participate. However, the issue of education, enforcement and wastemanagement policy/strategy must be a priority.
    @@@@@

Fraud of the DBLP is Number ONE , ON THE GROUND EVERYDAY MISSION THAT NEEDS CLEANING UP,,, RULE OF LAW AND JUSTICE WILL HELP ALL THINGS TO FALL IN LINE,

40. memories of my elementary school days are reminders when it was mandatory for each class to have a day to clean the school premises a goal with the objective of teaching cleanliness to the surroundings which was introduce as part of the school curricular costing govt nothing , well needless to say those days are done and over and any such effort to reinvent the wheel in such a manner would be met with holy fire and repudiation
    M point being that our society has reached such a level of what serves individually that the real concerns are simply left to slide by for others to worry about ,In other words most simply does not care

41. Exclaimer August 24, 2016 at 2:17 PM #

It will take the introduction of car-jacking’s, muggings, armed robbery, kidnapping and other heinous crimes for us to demand a seismic change in how our society is governed.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Even these things will not spur our Bostick arse governors into action. Just a few weeks ago when bullets were flying about Barbados like Egrets, our illustrious leaders held a couple -of-hours round table meeting, on the subject of increasing violence, only to reach the conclusion the Guns do not fly, or Guns do not swim. And that was the end of the story,and since then we have had a number of gun related killings, without any reaction from the same leaders. The message, I believe, that they are sending to us, is that we better get used to it as the Jamaicans, Guyanese , Trinidadians and Kittians has done.

42. @
    ac August 24, 2016 at 7:07 PM #

” MY MOTHER DONT SEND ME TO SCHOOL TO PICK UP LITTER”
    This is what is wrong with Bajan morality today. We tolerate and DEFEND this attitude.

43. barbadians like to copy other countries moral values and act upon them in ways that can hurt and dampen the long term progress of this small country , as a small country we are limited in how much we can do and most likely would benefit from a comprehensive approach of working together where there is a need necessary in resolving issues that would not require govt funding
    the environment is an area where the private sector should be willing to play an important role with roadside advertising campaigns which would encourage and educate the citizens , every thing should not be left up to govt

44. Whu happening heah doah???

All of a sudden, AFTER SAYING THAT THE DLP GOVERNMENT ENT GOT NO BACKBONE PUN A NEX BU BLOG, Legion now advocating that the private sector brek de law!!

“…the environment is an area where the private sector should be willing to play an important role with (arbitrary??) roadside advertising campaigns…” dem is she words of anarchy.

De Ole Man speaketh to De Town & Cuntry Act Cap 240 Chapter IV Section 32 (b) Without affecting any provisions included in regulations made under section 31 by virtue of paragraph (d) of subsection (2) of that section, any person who displays an advertisement in contravention of any of the provisions of the regulations is, subject to subsection (4), guilty of an offence and is liable on conviction thereof by a court of summary jurisdiction to a fine
    of two hundred and fifty dollars and, in case of a continuing offence, to a further fine of one hundred dollars for every day after the first day during which the display is continued.

It is noteworthy that a Cermes study on Litter was done 10 years ago see http://www.cavehill.uwi.edu/cermes/docs/technical_reports/raffoul-2006-roadside-litter-in-bdos.aspx and other studies have preceeded and possibly followed AND THEIR RECOMMENDATION WERE, GIVEN THIS US EMBASSY INITIATIVE, POSSIBLE NEVER ACTIONED, beyond some cunsultants billing the government for the respective reports.

The more things change, the more they remain the same

45. What is Barbados coming to? Empty garbage trucks parked in Warrens yet we have uncollected garbage all over Barbados, SSA using open back trucks and bobcats to collect garbage.

#amazing

Image result for barbados jose jose garbage trucks rent

Disgrace in Dover | Barbados Today

Disgrace in Dover

46. David i have prompted you from speckled fowl to full pledged Yard fowl you have truly earned your wings