Submitted by Heather Cole

The Oxford Dictionary defines fear as an unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous and likely to cause pain or a threat. There are two groups to be feared by black Barbadians. They are the two p’s the police and politicians. The former chase them while the latter strives to maim them in a tight embrace. Both actions have produced fear.

The fears of black Barbadians did not begin on this island. Those fears began in West Africa, when the Europeans started the Slave Trade. For one hundred and eighty years or five generations the people of West Africa were living in fear of being captured by slave traders. Little did those Africans who lived on the Gold Coast know that those dreaded steps to Elmina; that wretched castle by the sea with penthouses that accommodated the wealthy and dungeons that would hold them captive, would somehow transposed the fate of the black man in the in the Western Hemisphere. The journey into the unknown was just beginning. For the Africans who survived the perilous journey across the Atlantic Ocean, the worst was yet to come because fear came to dwell by their side.

The Barbados Slave Codes

Let us examine the origins of this fear of the police in Barbados. We must go way back to the year 1661. It was the year that the repressive Barbados Slave Codes came into existence. The Barbados Slave Codes were laws set up by the British to justify the practice of slavery, racism and legalize the planters’ inhumane treatment of their slaves. Under these codes, the slaves had the status of farm animals or chattel and had no human rights. The Barbados Slave Codes allowed the planters to control the slaves by any means they felt necessary without repercussion. The only positive aspect of the code to the slaves was a guarantee of a change of clothing once a year. The planters were given the authority to beat, whip, brand, maim, mutilate burn or kill a slave with no risk of punishment. The slaves became a people without the rights guaranteed any person under English common law. Fear became part of everyday life.

The Codes were so successful that they were adopted for use in the other Caribbean Islands an on the mainland in the Southern States of the USA.

The Slave Patrols

By the 1640s, Barbados had a formal military structure which included white males, indentured servants and even a few free blacks. However, with enactment of the Barbados Slave Codes, slave patrols were created to enforce the slave codes. The aim of the patrols was the surveillance and control of the slave population while imposing and upholding colonial law mainly through the use of force and coercion. The mere presence of the slave patrol drove fear into the heart of every black person. “Though there be no enemy abroad, the keeping of slaves in subjection must still be provided for.” – Barbados Governor Willoughby.

Dr. Karl Watson noted in Slavery and Economy in Barbados that during the last two decades of the 17th century, that the planter class exercised “greater social control over the black enslaved population, using for this purpose the large lower class white population as a police force. Over 60% of Barbadian whites were poor and some 35% of these did not own any slaves.” This must reference the police slave patrol because the precursor to the Royal Barbados Police Force; the Police Force of Barbados came into existence in 1835.

The paucity of research done on slave patrols seems out of proportion to the large role they played in the perpetuation of the slavery system in the Barbados. Although these patrols had many functions within the community, their one basic job was to act as the first line of defense against a slave rebellion. They caught runaway slaves, enforced slave codes, discouraged any large gathering of blacks, preserved the racial hierarchy and generally perpetuated the atmosphere of fear that kept the slaves in line. There were several rebellions in Barbados so the slave patrol must have played a dominant roll on the island in the 17th and 18th Centuries.

Rugemer in his book Making Slavery English: Comprehensive Slave Codes in The Greater Caribbean during the Seventeenth Century noted that in Barbados, “slave catchers were to bring runaways to the owner, if known, or to the Provost Marshal of the Island, who was made responsible for their care and imprisonment until redeemed by the owner. And if a servant brought in a runaway slave, he or she would be relieved of all future service their trouble.”

Slave patrols also began Southern USA. All white men aged six to sixty, were required to enlist and conduct armed patrols every night which consisted of: Searching slave residences, breaking up slave gatherings, and protecting communities by patrolling the roads. A more graphic picture has emerged as USA Historian Sally E. Hadden, notes: “In the countryside, such patrols were to visit every Plantation within their respective Districts once in every Month and whenever they thought it necessary, to search and examine all Negro-Houses for offensive weapons and Ammunition. They were also authorized to enter any disorderly Tipping-House, or other Houses suspected of harboring, trafficking or dealing with Negroes’ and could inflict corporal punishment on any slave found to have left his owner’s property without permission. Slave patrols’ had full power and authority to enter any plantation and break open Negro houses or other places when slaves were suspected of keeping arms; to punish runaways or slaves found outside their plantations without a pass; to whip any slave who should affront or abuse them in the execution of their duties; and to apprehend and take any slave suspected of stealing or other criminal offense, and bring him to the nearest magistrate.

The slaves lived in a state of trauma and paranoia due to the terror that these patrols instilled in them. Below is a graphic description of an encounter with a slave patrol in the USA.

“[A runaway] was with another, who was thought well of by his master. The second of whom… killed several dogs and gave Messrs, Black and Motley (patrollers) a hard fight. After the Negro had been captured they killed him, cut him up and gave his remains to the dogs.” – Jacob Stroyer (Neal, 2009).

The Royal Barbados Police Force

With regards to the police, the fear is in essence fear of police brutality. The Royal Barbados police force originated from slave catching patrols to become an instrument of oppression and control. Present day the officers are no longer white but the institution is still racially focused and concentrates its oppression on poor blacks and on poor black neighbourhoods. It is supposed to be modelled after the Metropolitan Police Service of London. I have not seen the similarities only differences. Their evolution was not the same and the British police do not carry guns.

A name is a unique identity that is designated to a person or a thing. With the name “Royal” Barbados Police Force one would expect a certain level of esteem or distinction that comes with this designation. There is however nothing “royal” about a police Department that brutalizes and executes the citizens of its country. It is a name only and not a title to a claim of divine right as of the medieval kings. I have wondered many times why it is called a force as opposed to a department. Do they believe that this endowment of “force” in the name gives them the authority or a divine right to commit brutal acts on a section of the population in Barbados?

The written motto is to serve, protect and reassure. One can query whether this statement is still in regards to serving, protecting and reassuring the interests of the descendants of the planter class, white entrepreneurial class and those in positions of power in Barbados. This motto is certainly not directed at those who live in policed neighborhoods where the descendants of slaves live.

• The Force is legitimate proof of the existence of two Barbados.
  • The Force sensationalizes the poor black man who commits crimes as armed and dangerous but never investigates the acts where the elite in society blatantly disregard and break the laws, commit murder or illegally finance elections where sums of money are offered for votes.
  • The Force has evolved to become an oppressor of petty crimes, taking black persons to court who can only afford to buy a spliff, while the persons who can afford to bring drugs into the country are given a blind eye.
  • The Force is always out on patrol in areas like the Pine, Haynesville, Deacons Farm and Silver Hill. The force picks up young black men for questioning.
  • The Force does not pick up a young white man for questioning.
  • The Force does not police white neighborhoods.
  • The Force has never exhibited any tendencies to protect young black men.
  • The Force brutalizes and kills black men.
  • The Force has never brutalized or killed any white men.

Is it true to state, as in the case of what is unfolding in the USA that the police in Barbados are now a monopoly of legalized violence against blacks as occurred in the days when the Barbados Slave Codes were on the statute books?

Brutal Beating of Nazim Blackett

Nazim Blackett is no different from any other black young man in Barbados; caught in a system that is not giving him a chance at actualize his dreams, there are thousands like him without hope. The policies taken or not taken by the government has left them to their own fate which is hopelessness. He was brutally beaten while in police custody but the police have not even offered any proof that he committed a crime.

I wrote an article a few weeks ago asking persons to sign a petition among other things to demand justice for Nazim by ensuring that the policemen and woman who were responsible for the brutal acts against him be punished. Fear is all I can blame for the lack of respondents to the petition.

The Acting Commissioner said that the officers would be punished but maybe that statement was to pacify us all because several weeks have passed since he issued that statement and has not taken action. I have not forgotten because what happened to him was the realization of every mother’s fear since the inception of the slave patrol.

Related link: The Brutality of the Royal Barbados Police Force, with video

Execution by Firing Squad

Recently an unarmed young man named Romario Lashley who was branded as being armed and dangerous was executed by a police firing squad. It was alleged that he had shot a police officer. I was horrified to read in the Barbados Today newspaper that it was only after the insistence by his father that the Acting Commissioner of Police stated that an investigation into his death would be held. Had his father not publicly cried out, would that statement ever have come? It has left me with so many unanswered questions. One of which I hope the promised investigation will reveal is why did the deceased shoot the officer in the first place? The sequence of events that unfolded from the day prior to his execution does not portray law enforcement in a positive light.

If the slave patrol was responsible for imposing the Barbados Slave Codes during slavery, the Court of Law in a post-Independence Barbados exists to determine who is innocent from who is guilty. The actions of the police to harm any unarmed individual are therefore unacceptable. He should have been arrested and charged.

Perhaps the reason why the police have been doing all these brutal acts over the years is because they know that the people of Barbados fear them. Yes we need the police to be strong and to be respected but also to carry out their duties in fairness and on moral principles. However, the people of Barbados must no longer allow traditions that cause discrimination to flourish in their country. The actions of Royal Barbados Police Force have again reduced the lot of black Barbadians to people without rights as occurred in the days of slavery when our forefathers were chattel. It leads to the question of who will police the police. What counter mechanisms will be put in place to deter police harassment, use of excessive physical force and aggressive tactics that escalate encounters?

Instead of instilling fear, the police in Barbados in the 21st Century should be instilling the audacity of hope into every black young man on this island, building positive relationships in communities’ not just outposts. In our 50th year of Independence and 182 years after the proclamation of Emancipation, the majority black population should not be exhibiting such fear and lack of trust of law enforcement? This is the exact opposite of what is occurring in the USA where a minority black population lives in fear and display lack of trust of law enforcement. It is not comforting that there is evidence to support the existence of the former slave patrol.

To the Acting Commissioner of Police, how can we as a people move past slavery when the police force serves as a constant reminder of the brutality of our past? Have you exposed your officers to the history of the formation of your institution? Don’t you think that it is time to destroy every remnant of the Barbados Slave Codes that is still in existence? What occurred in the two cases mentioned implies a systemic failure in training, in policies and is a severe criticism on the top brass of the force. One can only conclude that law enforcement in Barbados is in dire need of serious reform. We cannot go back; we can only change the narrative of our history going forward. If we saw the need to correct ignorance by heavily investing in education early in post independent Barbados, why can we not see the need to end the functions of the fear instilling slave patrol?

Notes

1.Hadden, Sally (2001) Slave patrols: law and violence in Virginia and the Carolinas. Harvard University Press.
2.W.E.B. Du Bois. The Suppression of the African Slave-Trade to the United States of America 1638 – 1870 A Penn State Electronic Classics Series Publication. 25 Dec. 2011.
3.Parenti, Christian, (2003) The soft cage: surveillance in America from slavery to the war on terror. New York, NY: Basic Books.
4. Potter, Gary (?) The History of Policing in the United States, Part1. EKU Online: Police Studies.
5. Watson, Karl (2011) BBC History -Slavery and Economy in Barbados

31 responses to “The Audacity of Fear – Part 1”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Heather

Please spare us part 2. Let me start by saying that I am an unashamed supporter of the Royal Barbados Police Force.

The members of the police force come from among us and will reflect the society. As in any organisation there will be good and bad; the police force is no different. I too have had my experience with officers who I felt should not be policemen, and I have had bad experiences with nurses, doctors, bus drivers, trade unionists, politicians, judges and the list can go on. All of whom, I thought were out of place in their chosen professions. That is not to say that everybody in each of those categories is bad.

You cast the police in very poor light with your interpretation of your version of the evidence. You claim that Lashley was unarmed. I am not going to be so bold until I hear all the evidence. I was not there and neither were you. And in any event, if an unarmed man was killed, at most it would have been a few policemen not the police force that would have done the act. Again, Nazim Blackett would have been hurt by a few members of the force and not the force itself. You seem to want to stir up hatred against the entire police force.

I am all for weeding out the bad officers but I can assure you that there are many good police officers (men and women) that I have encountered. They are not all bad as you would have us believe.

2. Heather:
    Another excellent post; Fear ??

When statements are used as in, “heads will be cracked or people shot!”, by politicians.

‘Words’ from the mouths of people in authority. Heather, You are familiar with the kind of politics being played out there/there in the USA. Words do matter.

Compliant, obedient; don’t ask questions, just accept; sheeple?

RESPECT is earned!

3. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Heather, re “…Is it true to state, as in the case of what is unfolding in the USA that the police in Barbados are now a monopoly of legalized violence against blacks as occurred in the days when the Barbados Slave Codes were on the statute books?”

A predominately White police establishment in the US cannot be compared to a police establishment composed entirely of Black officers enforcing laws for a Black population. The dynamics are completely different.

And our ‘modern’ police officers equated so glibly to ‘slave patrols’… with “how can we as a people move past slavery when the police force serves as a constant reminder of the brutality of our past”. Surely you are being very simplistic.

There are many Bajan brothers and sisters at high and low levels who display other depressing aspects of the slave era and create havoc by their anti-social behavior. To single out the police is jarringly off-key.

There are problems within the RBPF surely but as Caswell noted these folks are from within our communities. They are not ‘aliens’ brought from a distant land to police us.

We definitely need better bridges between police and community but this equation of the brutal slave era and our police force is not one of them.

4. […] The Audacity of Fear – Part 1 – The paucity of research done on slave patrols seems out of proportion to the large role they played in the perpetuation of the slavery system in the Barbados. Although these patrols had many … […]

5. @Caswell

The challenge is that we have a defunct Police Complaints Committee and no real independent body to investigate complaints against the Police, it self-regulates. We need to deflate the emotive arguments by having independent bodies involved. Even to have Guy Mayers as head of the PSC does not help. It is in the interest of the police hierarchy and the Home Office to make the business of policing more transparent. Until they do they will be fair game.

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable BlogMaster

And that “…We need to deflate the emotive arguments by having independent bodies involved…” is the crux of the matter.

The 50 or so “bad cops” are a sore on the long arm of the law, one that the RBPF itself wants to get rid of. These are the ones that have tarnished to reputation of the force and whom officers themselves “fear” (i) fear to leave their property un-secure when they go to work (ii) fear to share sensitive information about police investigations of criminals with (iii) fear to conduct conversations on their cell phones because the wiretapping is not directed by or overseen through any regularized process but arbitrarily implemented by an overzealous, above the law internal hierarchy

Caswell is correct, there needs to be a mechanism to weed out the bad apples.

As usual this is a rehash by its author, “notched up” in the usual emotive styling to incite comment.

Never let it be said that any of the substantive articles were “augment” by the author but rather, in the inimical vampiricist styling, cull from other articles already here, append some footnotes from the United States, noticeably not one of which comes from Barbados or previous Barbadian studies, all to give the article an appearance of “research skills” like one would do for a university paper and post it.

It is dribble to try to tie slavery and acts of enforcement to the RBPF but then again I am not a person that is easily impressed by the author which is a euphemism for “I am suspect of anything that the author writes”

“There is nothing that is new under the sun” but there are a few things which are an original “spin” on what is already here like the orange rind mix that concentrates water in the soil cover and will revolutionize drought affected land.

http://countercurrentnews.com/2015/04/police-originated-from-slave-catching-patrols/

So for me I will look at an article and examine originality and the sincerity of authorship and to what degree the eclecticism of an article speak to our own experience.

Or in other words “what the ef does that got to do with us???” and once i can answer “a lot, some thing, a little, nothing or WTF” then I assign degrees of waste foopism to the article.

What would be the role of the Commissioner of Police, post cadet training being responsible for “… expos(ing) your officers to the history of the formation of your institution?”

This is nothing more than a cut and paste that is fixated on the author’s promotion of that Petition that she wanted to be signed.

More and more one is seeing the attempts to secure email, secure group efforts and contributions towards a seeming objective of “what??” but time is longer than twine…

7. @Piece why did you waste time reading the article and responding to it.

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, you have prosecuted Ms Cole quite aggressively on this issue of “…the author’s promotion of that Petition that she wanted to be signed. More and more one is seeing the attempts to secure email…”.

Initially I thought you were being too harsh but using the oft repeated mantra here of the importance of making a careful analysis of intentions and words I have since dismissed any thoughts of your harshness.

As much as I still believe Ms Cole is a genuine social activist (I give everyone the benefit of any doubt until clear evidence says otherwise) her line of reasoning is absolutely too convoluted.

And that alone gives one caution as to her ability to see the forest and tress and the paths to get in and get out or forge well new paths as needed but not leading those who may choose to follow her smack into the liar of poisonous snakes.

She can be an ‘unwitting agent’ of the enemy as former CIA director Mike Morrell said of Trump. Now you make see that as a ‘waste foopism’ reference but…but… (lol).

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

BTW, Mr Pieces with your professorial hat on head, care you to provide an analysis of the ‘etymology’ of that word ‘foop’ and too ‘rasshole’. Where and how did they become part of Bajan vernacular?

I don’t recall ever hearing any Trini, Jam or Antiguan friends use the word but then again I don’t recall ever having that ‘type of conversation’ with them either. Yet I believe they would immediately understand the word.

Is it a ‘bad word’ because of what it describes? If to ‘foop’ meant to speak in parliament with meaningless words intent to delay and prevent like to ‘filibuster’ for example, would it still be a ‘bad word’.

The only times I have seen this word is on the wall on my secondary school bathroom, sadly at primary school too, and then here really. I have heard it even less.

As a wordsmither in the class of Senor Cumberbatch maybe you have done some unique research on this word and others like ‘rasshole’ ….do share when you have the time. Later.

10. There is no stopping a self-promoting, attention-seeking narcissist with the bit between her teeth.

11. @ Caswell the Commissioner is doing nothing about the rouge element in the police force. Nothing here has been fabricated even if you label me as a trouble maker. The police never charged Nazim Blackett for committing a crime, the Commissioner has not disciplined, demoted or tried to have anyone dismissed with regards to that incident. He is sitting on the out come of his findings. If there is an investigation into Romario’s death it will produce evidence whether he was armed or not.

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Heather

Like all people, while I was younger, i had a fear of the shadows, be they Dark Shadows, as in Barnabas Collins and his Vampire victim Angelique, or things that loom in the “shadows”.

The Assinine Cretin made a wise observation, a superlative oxymoron i.e. wise and AC in the same sentence, when she opinioned as to the your submissions, and suggested that you “loom”.

I never really read you before that and then, i started reading your submissions closer.

It is the nature of a “serious BU-ian/blogger” really, to read, to assess, to challenge, to assimilate, to seek to understand, to propose, to speak, (sometimes while not knowing the subject) AND HOPEFULLY, to come away wiser for the encounter.

Look at Jeff Cumberbatch, the man who challenged you on your “changes to the constitution” of Barbados and whom you “engaged” thereafter (with a ferocity akin to “hell hath no fury…”)

Each time he blogs a new subject. Or Pachamama. Or Dr. G. P. or Whomever

Newness, Novelty, New Thought, Depth…whatever, but food for thought.

Washed over soup? no, that is not expected from writers here on BU but then again this writing thing seems to attract that mediocrity of expression. It is as if you search for previous blogs here and then rewarm the item and blog to secure kudos and comments. To seem pertinent.

Let me give you a parallel for your consideration – the practice of “thumbs up” and “likes” here on BU.

“Thumbs up” speaks to a simple approval of a perspective by another blogger/reader but “like” says “for right now, I am so impressed by what you just said, my behind going come out of this anonymity thing and say to the other BU-ians I feel that this thought is deep enough to put my name to it.”

That is why 9 “thumbs up” for AC DO NOT MEAN ANYTHING.

She and her team are playing the numbers game BUT AT NO TIME DOES SHE GET A NAME TO CONFIRM THAT WHAT SHE IS SAYING IS OF VALUE.

That is, unless it is me, being sarcastic AND THE Assinine Cretin does not realise that.

I am NOT stalking you Heather but I am going to prosecute any of your submissions here which are emotive or nonsensical or calculated to secure email addresses.

A few fellows going write here and give you a free pass “cause your picture is attractive” and most uh we foolish bout dem sorts uh things, but de ole man ent come to BU to find a wife or a woman or, as Pornville say, “to mek friends”, but to be part of the fourth estate’s community which is trying to make positive change.

UP YOUR GAME and stop this “playing it safe thing” that currys readership and is noticeably devoid of any *** remarks (you know what the asterices are for)

13. The bigger issue is that the COP should not have to investigate these matters, our advocacy should be directed at the Attorney General and government.

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Frankly, Honourable Blogmaster, it is a series of “non-working gears” in the machinery.

Everyone, after being appointed to a position, is a law to themselves.

They become disillusioned by the salary that they have agreed to be remunerated and seek additional compensation via (a) bribes (b) kickbacks of assorted types (c) sexual favours (d) securing honourary doctorates or, as in the case of the paling fowls here (e) an infrequent invitation to Llaro Court or the American Embassy, to rub shoulders (or other body parts) with the Minister

It is endemic now and IF YOU DON’T DO IT, “something is wrong with you.”

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Heather

My problem is that you present opinion as fact. I have no doubt that there are police officers who do not live up to what is expected,and who should not be in the force but you paint them all as such and that is definitely not so.

If you have evidence against individual officers, present it but what you are doing is setting up all officers to ridicule and hatred. When you do so, and the police become the targets, what will happen when I need them to protect me.

16. It’s never a good idea, when you embark on a lengthy written argument, to get a basic fact wrong in a very early sentence. To do so makes everything that follows look foolish.

The author: “Those fears began in West Africa, when the Europeans [sic] started the Slave Trade.”

A slave trade had existed for eons in west Africa before anyone in what is now known as “Europe” knew that Africa existed, just as a slave trade had existed in what is now known as Central America for eons before the Italian guy turned up with his Castlians on what the Mayans now know to be horses.

You shouldn’t even try to base a lengthy written argument on a factually flawed premise.

If you’ve made that basic mistake, then you shouldn’t compound the error by trying to dress it up in some feeble academic apparatus.

Most importantly, you should never think that your number of echo-chamber Facebook “likes” is somehow a substitute for the long, hard slog of reading actual books. If you read enough, you find that that your thinking is persuasive enough that you don’t have to dress it up with feeble academic apparatus. And you never make the mistake of thinking that people who agree with you on Facebook somehow comprise a proxy for reading a book. Hence, you wil never be surprised or disapointed if people don’t sign your petition on Facebook.

Smiley face, exclamation, frowny face, exclamation.

17. It’s also a bad idea (see what I did with the apostrophe there?) to be so preposterously self-dramatizing. The Bajan police are beating up half-wits because of SLAVERY? Are you serious?

18. @Sam Clarke it is never a good idea of trying to criticize what is written without bringing an argument to the table.

19. “It is never a good idea of trying to criticize”

You just made my point.

Gaww bleahhhh!!!!! said Bonny Peppa, memba o de BU fambly. De eldas in de village got ma bawlinnnnn bout dat ded joo ya heah???!!!!!!!!

20. I forgot, Heather: smiley phace exclamationexclamationexclamation. Like me!!!! I has red a book since I leff skool. Like me on Facebook exclamation exclamation exclamation (and the list of that ilk goes on).

21. You have painted a very ugly picture of the Barbados Police. A description more applicable to the 1970 disbanded B-Specials of the Ulster Special Constabulary.

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Sam Clarke.

Welcome to the “What I have Written, I have written” crew and “how dare you, or Jeff Cumberbatch” decry my edict!!

Slowly but surely the real colours of the party are coming to the fore for all of you to see.

Ironically AND UNBELIEVABLY, it was one Assinine Cretin (AC) who saw her characteristics first.

But now wunna see the nature of the beast I guess that de ole man representations now starting to mek sense.

This is a Mugabe soldier and I will stake my life on that.

It is in the gene and it cannot be retracted.

Anything that is “male” is decried because of *** but i will not carry my conversation there tonight.

They must truly hate people who see them in the light of day and wonder WTF? how can they see me so?

And to think that this actually might have a part II, whuloss!!

If you think that things bad now that she ovah and away, imagine whu um going be like when Mugabe get in powah and she get she pick tuh come bak heah!! smiley, smiley, two more exclamation marks (a blogger dun tell me dat you cant use 3 exclamation marks together but I dun practicing internet lingo to the max!!!)

23. You have painted a very ugly picture of the Barbados Police. A description more applicable to the 1970 disbanded B-Specials of the Ulster Special Constabulary.” and the Trini police

24. I totally agree with Caswell. In terms of our police force, I don’t think they unfairly act as Heather suggests. Our police force is quite a professional.

25. Maybe no one was executed then or very badly beaten. If this is so the Commissioner is well within his right not to conduct investigations or issue any reports. I would then be forced to withdraw my comments.

26. Piece o’ shite,

Please stop agreeing with me. Clearly, you’re an idiot (or, as the Facebook fanboys say, “your an idiot”) with a bizarre Rambo fixation and a disturbing inner life of gunplay and monstrous grammar.

Ya heah!!!???? Gaw bleah as Bonny Peppa say.

Smiley face and exclamation.

27. Surely you mean “rogue” policemen and not “rouge” policemen.

28. Many police officers in Barbados like to apply a little rouge before they begin their patrols. It gives them that healthy-looking skin we all admire while they’re beating the shit out of us. I believe the fashion for rouge among cops was because of SLAVERY.

29. Heather, you seem to have lived in the U.S so long that you are trying to equate the Jim Crow AWS OF THE AMERICAN SOUTH WITH THE ACTIONS AND ACIVITIES OF THE BARBADOS POLICE FORCE; A DISCIPLINED FORCE THAT HAS SERVED AND CONTINUES TO SERVE OUR COUNTRY WELL. WHEEL AND COME AGAIN. YOU ARE WRONG IN YOUR ASSESSMENT.

30. Thanks very much to Heather Cole for submitting an enlightening piece of historical reality. I look forward to Part 2.