Submitted by George Brathwaite

youthIt was back in 2012 that the current CARICOM Secretary-General re-affirmed his commitment to the region’s youth. Since then, the people of Barbados, and those in the region, have heard numerous Heads of Government, including Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, voicing their support and encouragement for the implementation of youth programmes and providing adequate spaces for the young people of the region. These national leaders all say that the youth must thrive while becoming empowered socially, politically, and financially. Who would disagree?

As this writer traverses the country, and particularly in the rural districts of St. John, it is evident that there is a fairly high level of discontent among the youth. Our young people have been robbed of several opportunities, particularly over the last five years. While they are eager to become involved in several nation-building and personal development activities, the youth are frustrated due to a lack of genuine involvement at decision-making levels.

The disconnect between the youth and civic leaders are pronounced as drop-out rates continue to baffle programme managers in the areas of education, sports, and even community projects. The persistence of lawlessness has become both a rural and urban phenomenon, and persons in Barbados consistently say that they feel less safe today than a decade ago. Parents, teachers, government, and the private sector have all been challenged to commit greater efforts for helping eliminate poverty and joblessness as a means for encouraging the youth into wholesome activities.

It is my contention that the key platform for this nation’s social transformation must be built on prioritising our youth, but within the scope of sustainable national development programmes. There should be greater focus of attracting investments and finance, specifically with a vital commitment to create lots more jobs to make high unemployment among the youth a thing of the past. Barbados’ youth must get work.

Those young persons that have been feeling the pains of writing application after application without even getting acknowledgements must be given real chances. New opportunities will surely enrich the lives of our young people. That is exactly why it is heartening to see that in recent months, both the ruling Democratic Labour Party and the opposition Barbados Labour Party have addressed several of the issues affecting young persons. Some emphasis has to go on enhancing the school curriculum to address current deficiencies which have been said to be structural in nature and fail to lend potency to the transition from the classroom to the workplace.

In addition, the country has to take a firm grip on the services that are created to support our youth, while demonstrating the responsibility and goodwill necessary to have youth involved in the decisions that will have direct implications on their livelihoods. We have to find and/or develop avenues to utilise and maximise the skills that our youth possess. In months to come, the fruits of our labour ought not be in vain. There should be no dejection for reinstituting free education and giving the young people of this country voice, visibility, and a chance to develop and succeed.

(Dr. George C. Brathwaite is a researcher and political consultant, and up until recently, he was editor of Caribbean Times (Antigua). Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com )

31 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – Reach Out Give Youth a Chance”

1. Thank you for this very timely article. Well said.

2. We focus a lot on political solutions but are out NGOS, youth groups and others doing enough?

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It has become clear after 50 years of political independence that politicians only use the buzzwords “the youth and poor people” when it’s time to be elected, they are not seen as humans but voters and taxpayers who should be content in those roles and with their lot in life.

I have never seen a time when the youth in Barbados and the Caribbean were not viciously stagnated by the older, selfish and greedy leaders….thousands have fought to leave those shores to help their families because they know that once elected, the leaders have very little to no use for them, until next eleftions.

4. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Very insightful article and very relevant. A program that does not include the input of the youth is doomed to fail. We as adults need to know what the young are thinking, what are their fears, what is it that they really want out of life. Our concerns are not necessarily their concerns. We need to listen not to preach. They usually know more than we. This is a good programme. Youth matters.

5. WHAT!!??

Our young people have been robbed of several opportunities, particularly over the last five years
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Steupsss … five years shiite!!

The BLP, under Arthur, ARTICULATED a national policy of BYPASSING Bajan youth in favour of FDI initiatives in their pursuit of ‘first world status’.
    Land was OFFICIALLY pegged to fetch its highest possible value – with open invitations to the world’s billionaires, drug dealers, scam artists and international pimps to compete DIRECTLY with Bajan youth for ownership of the lands of their ancestors – these ‘fields and hills beyond recall…’

Over the last eight years the DLP-monkeys merely continued to do what the BLP-monkeys started … the only difference being that the DLP-monkeys seem to be slightly more retarded.

NONE of these idiots even understand the PRINCIPLE of ‘freedom’ as espoused by Bob Marley… where our YOUTH are meant to be groomed and DEVELOPED to their maximum potential…beginning with free MINDS…..
    THAT is what national development is all about…

Instead, these political idiots and their academic lackeys (like George) have enhanced the block culture; the ZR culture; removed incentives for ownership; frustrated education; wasted resources on shiite-eddykashun and brassbowlery at Cave Hill; while pandering to massa, massy …and any overseas albino who passes through with a few dollars…. and even some “clarely” without…

…and now George tries to tell us that this is only a recent ‘five year issue”?
    Steupsss…

6. How vibrant are the cubs, guides, cadets and the other youth groups.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

That is the Nature of George C and Angelique the Vampire.

A focus on the emotive.

Blame the DlP for all things that have even happened.

But take no blame for $500 M BDS in the IDB sponsored Edutech under Mugabe Mottley

And these are the people that Mugabe is looking to rely on when she comes to power.

So here we have a Leader-to-be, previously a leader who misspent 1/2 a billion dollars at least, while mekking mock sport in the HoA and giving he assets at $3 million, tasked then with a responsibility for all of the island’s youth, mekking a dy a national holiday to bring schoolchildren to the Garfield Sobers Gymnasium to see Edwin Perform.

Now Mugabe, who did so much to make self rich, at the expense of taxpayers, is being touted as the saviour of Barbados, having been cleansed in the blood of OSA’s constant admonishments and these platitudes by one George C Brathwaite “a researcher and political consultant…”

So here we have WeJonesing of “the chilrun are is reading well” in the Blue corner and Mugabe, erstwhile Minister of Education, and flitterer away of 1/2 billion dollars leading the charge for our nation’s education system aided by one Lil Caesar Lashley, the Grandmaster of Grand Kadooment performances leading the task of integrating our youth into mainstream social/economic activity.

And then we have those who will come here and say that this is a timely article that “speaks to the issues and gives pertinent solutions”

Steupseee

Waste foops befitting of the sin of Onan

8. Bushie,

Alvin Cummins says it is my nature to denigrate everything. I wonder why he bypassed you and picked on me. He probably is afraid of you.

Sooo….. the BLP did not forget the youth. They built a lovely accommodation for a thousand of them on a sprawling property in St. Philip. And now the DLP is making sure that as many young men as possible take advantage of the accommodations.

9. Piece,

Alvin like he frighten fuh you too.

10. We need to create more robust and relevant mentorship programs. It seems we have a larger appetite for punitive measures.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84313/babies-born-microcephaly-qeh

This is what happens when accurate information is not immediately and promotly shared with the public…, they said it could not happen in Barbados…thiugh it’s happening everywhere else.

This will be a huge drain on healthcare should more babies be birn with the illness.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Mentorship to too many adult males and females mean introducing young children to early sexual experiences and pimping them out.

These meetings would have to be supervised by others not so inclined…the island has a bad track record for abusing children. The whole Caribbean as well, it’s like an epidemic and blight.

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

“Relevant Mentorship”

That is an oxymoron for both the DLP and the BLP.

I am going to show you what I mean by that with 3 questions.

What is a relevant program?

Why is it relevant?

How can mentorship be integrated with that relevant program?

You gave me a definition test that I failed a few days ago. The BU family/BU household lolol

Let me see how you do with this test

In fact let me open it to anyone even the “researcher and political consultant…”

They have their orders.

“DNE – DO NOT ENGAGE…HE DOES NOT TAKE PRISONERS and seems to have an arsenal of materials which will harm our political campaigns so DNE.”

The person that they need to fear is GP hahahahaha

He does tek out your jugular heheheheheh.

But you know something Donna.

They fear you too.

You don’t cuss nor swear. Nor are you into personal diatribes. Nor rumour mongering, nor ranting, nor hallucinating, in short you are not like de ole man.

You talk softly but after you write your five or six lines, every single time, it is clear what you are saying.

AND NOT A MAN JACK, INCLUDING LEGION, doan attack nuffin dat you say other than Chad de “male chauvinist pig” or whatever de ladies heah does call him

I going wait pun de answers

14. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

I have reread George’s submission after reading the comments above and it concurs with my observations. Yes we can quibble about when the rot commenced but we still have to deal with the discontent of the youth and very soon. Any job market survey will show that unemployment is highest in the 18 to 25 age cohort. The level of non participation in the political process is very high in the under 40 cohorts. There is a need to revamp the present youth programmes and policies.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece…lol

They can be as upset and in denial as they want, but unless they get the child rapists/pedophiles and pimps off the landscape and keep them out of any programs associated with children and young people….they will continue to produce sexual degenerates generation after generation…destroying young lives, self confidence and ambition.

Then they will continue to wonder why young people have NO RESPECT for politicians or the older generation. ….while making the same mistakes with the young and expecting different results.

That is the reality…deal with it.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/timea-lashay-batts-shot-dead-11-years-old-tennessee-a7180866.html

This is what happens in the real world when a child is shot, there is no explanation and the father is suspect in the shooting death….can the same be said in Barbados, we should ask the DPP.

17. Minister of Labour admitted some time ago unemployment among the youth is upward to 35%? A very dangerous indicator.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Neither government in the last 50 yesas have ever put youth employment first, the acquisition of jobs are still never based on merit, but on political affiliations, pimping, yardfowlism, sex…and as we saw recently with the Denjis Kellman move……nepotism in stealth mode.

They have disadvantaged the youth, generation sfter generation for decades…it’s a trend across the Caribbean…of course the jackasses like Alvin will tell ya it happens everywhere…no it dont, it only happens in low class societies that dont value progress or their youth.

Young people should never have to sit at home and wait 5, 10, 15 years for a job after graduating from school or university unless they are connected politically or otherwise, there is no balance in that nasty practice.

Many use thrir creative skills and always meet road blocks or have their ideas stolen by the same people who should protect and give them a helping hand.

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Since no one plans to answer the ole man question I like I going have to answer meself

The first thing that i am aware of is that the inept and indolent that write these articles come here to harvest the ideas of people on BU for their manifesto and for their cunsultancies

You can AND WILL NEVER SEE THEM CONTRIBUTING one idea to any question that they have asked

So I do not fool myself regarding their competencies or capacities to engage at any level

THey need to make themselves RELEVANT in the most common use of the word.

But I digress.

“Relevant” has a twofold perspective.

Relevant to what is going on and what can be addresses by pertinent programs.

AND

Relevant to what will be the direction of the future, what has yet to be experiences and has to be charted via anticipation.

e.g. the insidious nature of smart phones that can and will self activate and create BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING YOU, and the systems that we perforce must deploy to defend ourselves against this imminent threat.

So what would be a relevant to what is currently going on? and what programme could be used to address it. and more importantly how can it be properly mentored?

Pokemon Go is the craze among these young people and pokemon Go is the new Google Earth and it is the data that the Lands Surveys Department has been hoarding for all of these years that is now rendered useless by Pokemon Go.

A relevant programme which can be “mentored” by the bevy of architects all over barbados would be based on the development of Detailed GIS maps for the counry

These detailed GIS assets would be used by the police, the Post Office, the MTW, Water Works, Emergency Services and all GIP dependent agencies

I would use the waypoint data that all of these youth would collect and simultaneously train them on how to create GIS enabled apps to be used across Barbadian Agencies.

The idea would be to sell the output via the Apple Playstore and Google App stores

Anticipated Learning Curve – 2 months for introductory GIS, one month additional to create first iteration rather simplistic mobile app interfaces

I would add a component where they would learn to “adapt” the Apps and sell the product in “downstream applications”.

I would then go to the Wukup Sponsors euphemism for Digicel and Lime and RBTT and ask them to support an exchange among youth in the islands as opposed to putting money into the Foreday morning .

Of course we can be assured of failure of this idea sing we are not truly about anything serious with regard to the youth as long as Lil Caesar Lashley can wuk up pun somebody daughter trembling pooch LIKE PPK.

20. Piece,

One does not wuk up on a pooch anymore. One administers “BLOWS”. Lord, I cry for my daughters of Barbados!

21. ”””””Steupsss … five years shiite!!

The BLP, under Arthur, ARTICULATED a national policy of BYPASSING Bajan youth in favour of FDI initiatives in their pursuit of ‘first world status’.
    Land was OFFICIALLY pegged to fetch its highest possible value – with open invitations to the world’s billionaires, drug dealers, scam artists and international pimps to compete DIRECTLY with Bajan youth for ownership of the lands of their ancestors – these ‘fields and hills beyond recall…’””””””””””’

@Bushie

When are people going to stop the acceptance of the most popular narrative as truth?

Reading has to be about, amongst other things, knowing what is not written in the piece.

It must be informed by the biases of the writer, the reader, and the etymology of words used.

To us GEORGE BRATHWAITE is merely flying a trial balloon for possible inclusion in the BLP manifesto.

If the BLP was a worthy 80 year old real organization, approx, it would have the internal capabilities to commission a proper study.

Always doing studies about public perceptions.

That poverty tell us that that party, not unlike the DLP, is merely a vessel to be used and abused by the corporate elites.

A training pony

From such a place there can be no hope for the young. It has never been committed to such.

Let George tell them we say that regardless of what they come wid it would cussing and more cussing from this writer.

Licks like fire!

22. Further, we are not even sure that George has his own mind

At times, we read the intention to ghost write for someone else. LOL

23. “While they are eager to become involved in several nation-building and personal development activities, the youth are frustrated due to a lack of genuine involvement at decision-making levels.”

Thats the problem in Barbados unspecific to the youth.The solution is land reform in use and distribution.

“There should be greater focus of attracting investments and finance, specifically with a vital commitment to create lots more jobs to make high unemployment among the youth a thing of the past. Barbados’ youth must get work.”

You dont need to attract anyone from anywhere to bring anything.The answers are all here.Pivotal on land reform on use and distribution.The youth dont need jobs, they need something to do.

24. @ SuckaBubby
    You dont need to attract anyone from anywhere to bring anything.The answers are all here.Pivotal on land reform on use and distribution.The youth dont need jobs, they need something to do..
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Profound words…
    But you surely don’t expect George or his handlers to understand such a focus…
    They are certified ‘house niggers’…able to see only how best to please massa….while finding minimum wage ‘tasks’ to keep their field kin out of massa’s hair.

25. David August 9, 2016 at 3:04 PM #
    Minister of Labour admitted some time ago unemployment among the youth is upward to 35%? A very dangerous indicator.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    And no wonder , when we heard a few days ago that the Transport Board, and by extension the Government of Barbados, brought in some “Diesel Engine Experts” from T&T, who are working out of Mangrove to put the buses right.
    From the inception of the Barbados Evening Institute , the forerunner of the Barbados Technical Institute, the forerunner of the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic, we have been training men in the operation, repair and maintenance of Diesel Engines. The Caterpillar company and the same Transport Board, have trained many a young man on Diesel Engines. The older mechanics, who joined the Transport Board on its formation in 1955, and who were primarily versed in the Petrol Engine, soon mastered the Diesel Engine.
    Recently we saw one construction firm advertising for work permits to bring in Carpenters and Masons,and now we have discovered that our mechanics are not up to standard. What has become of our Apprenticeship and Training systems? After 50 years of independence, have we regressed to a period reminiscent of the early 1950’s. We have fell down on Agriculture, now we are doing the same with Technical and Vocational Training.
    We have let our youth down,in every sphere. Those mothers, god bless their souls, who were so instrumental in ensuring that their sons ” learn a trade”, must surely be turning in their graves.

26. It is Jean and Dinah, Rosetta and Clementina round the corner posing bet yuh life is someting dey selling. If yuh catch dem broken you can get it ALL FOR NOTHING……

Either house niggers or prostitutes bereft of ideas selling their very selves for money to buy a cheese cutter and a Coke.

27. If SuckaBubby thinks that any future government will ever put such a topic as land reform on the agenda, there is another thing coming.

But land reform is a necessary precondition for genuine improvement in the lot of youths.

Sagicor, for example, uses its economic position to hold large tracks of land in order to maintain the squeeze on the youth, Black landlessness.

And this is and will become, not just a youth problem, but a problem of survival for Black people.

With climate change people will need more natural resources to live

But neither the BLP nor DLP will ever contemplate a comprehensive land reform

Not house spots, real land!

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I have come to realize that the power of Social Media and its ability to influence in fact, to change the public’s perception of a (a) a matter (b) a person (c) a Political party, is absolutely lost on stonehenge DLP and to a great degree, BLP researchers and political strategists.

If you do not understand the nature of this medium, you cannot plan for it, nor engage with it, furthermore benefit from it and ultimately will be frustrated by, and probably, destroyed by it.

George C Brafwit starts a topic which, as its first comment solicits the response of another luminary in this space? which reads “Thank you for this very timely article. Well said.”

We are now at 27 comments for a “well said” item which the author, a researcher and political cuntsultant, (my Ipad acting up again) closes with “…while demonstrating the responsibility and goodwill necessary to have youth involved in the decisions that will have direct implications on their livelihoods…”

Any meaningful and serious campaign or social media initiative CANNOT FEED on 27 comments.

If its author is absent from the fray it will die, in fact, even when the author is present, the initiative can die, unknown to all and sundry

Do any of you know who the Iron Lady of Manipur is? Do you care?

From November 2000 Irom Sharmila has not eaten a meal voluntarily. Sharmila started her hunger strike, sixteen years ago, to protest against sweeping powers for the army in her remote north-eastern home state in India. “The Armed Forces Special Powers Act” much like the Immigration Act of 2005 and its implementation earlier this year, allows the Indian army “to search and enter properties, make arrests and shoot on sight…” like the police did with nazim Blackett and the 4 men on Friday proceeding Kadooment

What do you know or care about Sharmila?

So too with the 27 comment item which shows the intent and interest of its author, to talk fancy bout Youth Programming, and lef um to EF where it is…

29. pieceuhderockyeahright August 10, 2016 at 2:46 PM #

Chuckle……..why should any one offer comment when the answers lie in the various ministries gathering moss and covered by cobwebs for the last 50 years with updates every 10 years or so.

We have suffer from an implementation deficit disorder.

30. George,
    tell me you did not write”……”reinstituting free education…” When did “free education stop, and by which government? As far as I know parents have not been having to pay for their children’ education from primary school to University. Students at university have been asked to pay PART of their TUITION fees, and in cases where there have been difficulty provision has been made for scholarships, loans, and financial assistance. The youth of today have NO AMBITION; in the breach rather than in the main. People are hypocritical and refuse to speak the truth. The young people prefer to lime on the block rather than use their creativity to make their own employment. They can use their creative energies to volunteer, become interns, help tradesmen, even for “lunch money and bus fares and use their inventiveness to create things. There are many young people who are doing this, creating objects for sale, developing computer apps, learning, and studying. That is what brains are for, and EVERYONE has brains. I have seen young people with autism working and helping in fast food restaurants, and other types of about. Loitering under a tree for a whole day or more never brings work to anyone. It encourages laziness. Some of you will say I am from a different era, but people of my generation, my younger brother’s generation, and even later had ambition, and the thought of begging or laziness never occurred to them.
    And Donna I am not afraid of anyone, least of all Bushie. a

31. Piece,
    Sharmila has called off her hunger strike.Why do you people like to lie so? “Your words: ” like the police did with nazim Blackett and the 4 men on Friday proceeding Kadooment” Who did the police shoot? The laws allow for the detention of persons the police suspect of being a “threat” to the peace order and goodwill of the nation. They were detained but they were not harmed. Don’t tell lies in the pursuit of excitement and ill will.