David Comissiong, Citizen of Barbados
David Comissiong

Does the erection of a 15 storey American-owned Hyatt Hotel in Carlisle Bay, abutting Barbadians’ beloved and world famous Browne’s Beach, constitute “development” for the nation and people of Barbados? That is a crucial question that we Barbadians need to grapple with and answer in this 50th anniversary year of our national Independence!

There are some Barbadians who believe that the best way to “develop” Barbados is to invite foreign companies to “invest” in Barbados by either buying up and taking over existing local enterprises, or by setting up their own new business enterprises in Barbados and extracting profits therefrom- profits that they are entitled to transfer to their home countries.

It would appear that the writer of the recent Nation Newspaper editorial entitled Comissiong off target on Hyatt is one such Barbadian. He or she argues in the Editorial that “foreign direct investors” are critical to economic growth in Barbados, and that foreign investors should always be welcomed since they “provide much-needed jobs” and “generate foreign exchange”. The Editorial-writer therefore welcomes the idea of the American multi-national company setting up their towering 15 storey hotel on or near Browne’s Beach.

I, on the other hand, have advanced a very different concept of Barbadian national development! In my recent article entitled Bajans Wake Up! You Are About To Lose Browne’s Beach!, I expressed this concept as follows:-

“We (Barbadians) have been operating hotels in Barbados for over 200 years now, and we know about the hotel and tourism industry. We don’t need any foreign tutelage! Let us therefore resolve that future hotel and tourism development will, as far as possible, be based on the construction of locally owned hotels, guest houses and related facilities that radiate the unique culture and hospitality of Barbados and Barbadians. Thus, if there is to be any further tourism related development along Browne’s Beach, let us ensure that it is owned by and evocative of Barbadians. And let Browne’s Beach always remain a place where Barbadians feel at home!”

And so, these are the two philosophically different concepts of “national development” that we Barbadians need to think about and discuss in this 50th anniversary year.

The “development by invitation to foreign investors” model is most associated with the Caribbean territory of Puerto Rico – a country which, despite its privileged access to the American market, is suffering worse unemployment and economic crisis than Barbados or any other English-speaking Caribbean nation! Too late have the Puerto Ricans learnt that the road to dependence on foreign investors is the road to even greater national dependence, lack of self-reliance, and poverty of spirit!

The alternative to the Puerto Rican model is a nation that strives to base its development on a population that is committed to thinking for itself, doing for self, and being its own unique self — a nation in which the people are encouraged (and facilitated by their Government) to get busy and produce for themselves, rather than to depend on some “foreign investor” to come from “over in away” to set up a potentially “alienating” enterprise to employ them.

No doubt, there are circumstances in which the establishment of foreign owned business enterprises in Barbados would be welcomed: namely, when the foreign enterprise would be introducing Barbadians to desirable new and advanced technology, skills and structures of production, and at the same time would not be doing any significant damage to our cultural heritage and identity.

Let us , for example, be prepared to seek out and welcome new “clean” high technology manufacturing enterprises to Barbados: but, so far as tourism is concerned, let us resolve to refine and perfect the beating of our own uniquely Barbadian home drums!

316 responses to “What is “National Development”?”

1. 0I said until next time, MR. Brain. Nice comprehension skills you have there!

As to being biased – I have loathed that Trump scum from long before he started his campaign for president. But if you check that Political murder on Pen Ave. blog you will see that I did not agree with Pacha that the only interpretation for Trump’s latest “second amendment mouthing” must be that he was trying to incite Hillary’s assassination. Knowing his tendency to crazy mouthings I believe he was thinking precisely that but one CANNOT state that with any certainty because he could have been referring to other means. Therefore it is doing him a disservice for the media to portray it in that light. The most they should have done is to ask him what he meant by that.

If I can be fair and unbiased to Trump scum I can be fair and unbiased to anyone. In fact, people who know me are sometimes outraged at me for ” PROVIDING PEOPLE WITH EXCUSES FOR BAD BEHAVIOUR”. I tell them that the solution lies in the reasons. I am so unbiased that I can assess my OWN SON dispassionately, something that his father cannot do.

” So you’re telling me that MY SON is no good at….?” ” Well, he isn’t”.

“Man, if my son had the right teacher he would be getting 90-100 percent!”

” Not really! His capacity in that area is more 75-90 percent.” ( And ninety will be more of a rarity than the norm.)

” At least one of my sons must be a doctor.”

” Well you need to work on one of the others because this one is not going to be it.”

I tell my son that together we will discover what he’s good at and then we will work towards that. And whatever that is I will be satisfied.

I’ll admit that you can “educate” me if you admit that I can “educate” you. Otherwise you are back to being the pompous braggart and more biased than any of us. Conversation with you would therefore be pointless. And after that final revelation – watch me disengage!

2. Trump has NOT shared his tax returns and it AGAIN has generated a lot of discussion.

Clinton on the other hand has shared her tax filing.

On Sat, Aug 13, 2016 at 3:05 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

3. The problem is that Hilary has exposed her pisspoor Track record over 40 yrs for those willing to see! How many times has she proven disdain for Black people?
    Loves illegal Mexicans so they can vote for her and take JOBS from who?
    Check dis

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4wo9nqWrwE

Loves the KKK! Remember that Arkansas is a Southern State.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3BUUy1C0_4g

4. Cheating lying slurring and disinformation is only way Turd Trump can win any states
    Scapegoating fearmongering race baiting is all cheating in case you didn’t know.
    Do the right and not the wrong. Take good care

5. 555

Not at all surprising is that you are among the Brainwashed!!!

Dems got wunna fool bad but it is alright with me as I wont be guilty of keeping people down!

Feed the masses, keep them stupid and they have to vote for their masters. They have no option!

6. Donna,
    Of course, any open minded person can learn from others even if it is a negative lesson about human behaviour.
    I am always learning but when I come here it is not to a receptive group, so I must become a tad rough to show I am not frighten of anything that some choose to bring.
    How does anyone learn here by agreeing to slack thinking?

7. Money Brain you are a mindless bore for a change
    Parroting Murdoch biased white right propaganda is unoriginal brainwashed trash programming and copying it onto BU is not clever or even worthwhile replying to. It’s like when you tell everyone how clever you are and no one is impressed by your smartness and can’t be bothered to talking to you. you are self deluded and still a C-word

https://youtu.be/jfyPcpQmzCk

8. 555,
    So you are a brainwashed in defunct Leftist excrement! Never works, always fails after screwing up those innocent people ensnared!

Fox is wrong and the Clinton News Network is right? Dreaming in brown excremental colour?
    At least try to think, have some self respect nuh!!!

Why dont you to the correct thing and gather like minded people and go live in Cuba or Nth Korea? Cant say Russia or China because they already said that Commie is a failure!

Venezuela would be a great Socialist adventure, when do you leave? Those dumbasses cant even feed their people. hahaha . Sorry for the people—poor victims.

Maduro and HuGone Chavez are/ were dunces leading the brainless!

Boring? You should be forced to listen to one of HuGone’s 5-6 hr diatribe speeches to really have the gist of BORING! I would prefer 5-6 days of diarrhea because at least I might loose some weight.

9. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dcHozKw5Yok

Thug or boyscout?????????????

But black lives matter. Even those who are willing to take the lives of others, indiscriminately. “We contend the police-orchestrated escalation led to an avoidable killing,” Black Lives Matter Cincinnati wrote in their press release.

“Police-orchestrated escalation.” A man puts a knife to another man’s throat and threatens violence. Then the police are called. I’m not sure I see the escalation, unless it involves the police actually arriving on scene, doing their jobs.

“No efforts were made to get mental health professionals on the scene and no serious effort was made to subdue/contain, rather than kill Jawari Porter.”

“No serious effort was made to subdue/contain” Porter because Porter was on top of an officer. He’d pinned him in the car. He had a knife. In situations like this, there is very little time for adequate containment, and no time for mental health evaluations.

10. I am not brainwashed enough to talk to smarmy scum like yourself bitch
    typical white boy bully smart ass wank
    https://youtu.be/Qno9fJbwxf8

11. Anonymice - TheGAZER Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGAZER

”Just enough’ was a favorite
    Good memories

Thanks 555dubs

12. Not even close! You haven’t admitted ANYTHING! You really can’t, can you?

Out!

13. 555
    You keep coming back to be beaten like a redheaded step child!

Not a thug? Never assume that you can win with me by conning it has to be cunning.