The following letter was delivered to the Barbados Transport Authority to protest overcrowding of PSVs on certain routes .

Observant Barbadians may have noticed the proliferation of public service vehicles on the south coast that has occurred over the last year. The word on the street is that is that a permit may be obtained from the Transport Authority for a ‘consideration’ without regard for the requirements of the travelling public. Whether B or D political party holds the government, the common outcome – especially as a general election approaches – has been the sale of PSV permits. Just ask Johnny Tudor and Gline Clarke.

The more things change the more they get worse.

Transport Authority_Redacted

44 responses to “PSV Permits Being Sold”

1. Some of the members of the same Transport Authority ,most likely, have issued themselves permits to run their own PSV’s on this route.
    Bribes and Kickbacks , the new motto of Golden Jubilee Barbados.

2. Ask P8857 the guy in the black SUV who collects the bribes for Michael Lashley

3. @ Colonel Buggy

Once again the names of those issuing the licenses are well known and tomorrow when people singing in church you dun know that a certain young fellow gine be singing real loud

And Monday morning coming into work charged up to do the work of mamon

4. The reality rings true here again that suggest we get the government we deserve. Under both political parties the selling of licenses has flourished – what has remained constant you ask? The behaviour (willingness) of the people to engage in corrupt behaviour.

5. Once again the name Michael Lashley has emerged in illegal activities and the boy can’t seem to help in keeping himself out of these activities.

When he was Minister of Housing he was caught at the airport attempting to leave the country with over a million dollars. It was in the news once and we have never heard anything more of that.

What about the Bobcat that went missing from the MTW depot in St. Lucy, and to our knowledge has never been found in little Barbados.

When the time came to account for being found out a while back, the name of the Masons (family members and the Appeal Court Justice) from St. Philip was invoked. So there will be no justice for ordinary Bajans.

Corruption abounds among the politicians and it is the norm in Bim and will continue unless Froon rein in these people and let justice prevail.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Walter…do yiu now see why I am not imoressed by any of the ministers or politicians in parliament…..they NEVER fulfill their manifesto promises to the people but ALWAYS engage in crrruption that is detrimental to and undermines the progress of people and country.

It is impossible for them to fulfill any promises to the people with all that corruption. Their last 50 years of leadership have been mediocre at best and only gets worse….I mean DBLP governments.

7. Walter now finds himself constrained to use his great intellect to defend people like Lashley; to justify the illegal activities of the Transport Authority; and to defend Froon’s inability to deal with such CLEAR dishonesty in public office.
    Bushie is just waiting to hear his NEW take on CLICO…now that he has joined the thieving DLP camp as their brain-in-chief.

THERE IS NO WAY THAT ONE GOOD APPLE CAN FIX A BAG OF ROTTEN SHIT.

8. I hope that the Chief replies as i sent him 2 letters – one delivered by hand & the follow up by registered mail 2 years ago – and have not had the courtesy of a reply as yet.

9. Me old Granny tell this. A man is known by the company he keeps. I will discard that thought the evening that Walter stands on a DLP platform and repeats the feelings he has espoused relative to David John Howard Thompson.

10. Curious whether the local media followed up on the luxury vehicles leased from Transtec by Lashley and Lowe. How does the government define conflict of interest and what is the disclosure code for ministers of government.

11. David wrote ” How does the government define conflict of interest”.

If you are conflicted they are not interest ed.

12. I know for a fact that Abdul Pandor is walking around selling PSV permits.
    Somebody please get him on tape.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Is that not the same Abdul Pandor who is allowed by government to also sell street vendors licenses to whom ver he pleases and withhold licenses from vendors who need them…what is wrong with the dummies in parliament they can get nothing right…….they are just too corrupt.

And Fruendel refuses to stop the corruption.

14. What’s new about this? PSV permits should not be transferable. It is a perverse incentive. As the system stands, it is a free ticket for gangsters and crooks. Maybe that was the original intention.
    Those of us who remember he formation of the Transport Board remember a much better organised system than that which existed before.

15. These are new permits that Pandor is selling

16. Under both B and DLP governments PSV permits have been sold. The civil servants at the ministry largely remain the common factor. The implication is that they have to be involved.

17. Posted to Facebook by Dale Marshall M.P.

Dale Marshall
    5 mins ·
    Dennis Kellman, is the lady who was given the job of Human Resources Manager at the NHC married to your nephew or not?
    Is she married to any relative of yours?
    These are both easy enough questions to answer.
    Is the Minister now to be our Donald Trump equivalent?
    If she is related, it is doubly incumbent on you to make clear the basis on which she was hired and to satisfy all stakeholders that in no way could the decision have been tainted by nepotism. And even then, you should ensure that the NHC revokes the appointment, simply because even the slightest hint of bias should tell you that in such circumstances, the hiring was wrong.
    This administration promised transparency in Government when they got elected in 2008. The very opposite has happened.
    How much more must the Barbadian people suffer?

18. As a frequent user of public transport, I would say bring more permits please!!!!!! I bet all the commentators on here does have there own private transportation. When school is in you could hardly get a zr that got room.

19. @Kenvin

You are really a DLP yardfowl and jackass. The issue being highlighted is the sale of PSV permits. It is about the overcrowding of profitable routes as a result.

JA

20. David have some class, name calling should be beneath you. Why you brining politics into this? I voted twice for the BLP and twice for the DLP, so I am confident I’m more bi-partisan than you! Yes, Route 11 is very lucrative and profitable BUT my point is when school is in you can hardly get a route 11 ZR. So its not to overcrowded if you cant get none…. So much people does traverse that route.

21. @Kevin

To repeat, you are a jackass. Instead of dealing with the issue of corruption you come with facile position that more permits want issuing. It is people like you that give wings to the corrupt system killing us. Which is worse, you responding with your idiotic comment or BU calling you a jackass.

#sickofhignorance

22. David, I see no mention in the letter of corruption.

23. @Kenvin

Why do think the Transport Authority would be inclined to issue permits that only have the effect of overcrowding the South coast route?

24. David you should ask why PSV owners are so keen on getting permits for south coast know that at times it can be very saturated. Why would they seek to go on this route knowing that a ‘mobatonne’ of PSV’s are there already! Why not a Market Hill? Why not a Bathsheba? Why not an Edey Village?

25. “Kevin

NO, you should ask why people close to the Barbados Transport Authority are selling permits.

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

But looks me crosses doah!!!

Ent dis Dale Marshall dat holding Kellman Lucy son of a ….de same BLP politician who administered a cuntract to VECO? to build Dodds at $100 million and it end up at US $300 million?

He ent got no shame doah?

Talking bout decisions tainted with nepotism he ent frighten dat a lightning bolt singe he bald head and left he 475 teetses “ray back” like a dead dog?

Dese politicians really feel dat Bajans foolish doah…

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Under true freedom of information policies every name of every holder of a PSV licence would be known by the public

Additionally one should be able to go on a website and see the number of buses that service a route, wunna gots to ask Alex at the Transport Authority if dat system was did ever installed if wunna see he at church pun Sunday

Thirdly wunna gots to axe Dr Robinson if, after David Thompson pay he all uh dat money to conduct that transportation survey all them years ago effing he ever produce one shy**te for the hundreds of thousands of dollars paid and effing the routes dat Pandor selling, ef dem mek any effing sense given their variance to that transportation harmonization survey.

We are truly effed

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Wunna peeple know what “fisting” is?

Top Definition. fisting. the act or art of putting a fist in an as* or vagi*a, a very popular practice among more …

As crude as this word seems to our delicate sensibilities this is what our society has degenerated to, us Bajans being fisted every day by these public servants, AND QUIETLY LOVING IT!!!

29. Some of the Transport Authorities ‘s faces. How did these persons qualify , other than being the holder of a party membership card, and probably in the case of Linton, giving financial support to someone , during the election campaign.
    http://i.imgur.com/2hGcUjj.jpg?1

30. The current minister increased the number of Zr by 50 from Zr 320 to Zr 370. This does not include an increase in the number of minibuses. This has never been done by any previous administration . Why would u increase the number of psvs in a recession so significantly?

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Mottley wants discussion on economy

Opposition Leader Mia Mottley has reiterated calls for a meeting of all stakeholders on the status of the local economy.

Addressing a press conference at her office in the West Wing of Parliament Buildings, the City, this morning, Mottley suggested that rather than rushing into a budget, Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, Chris Sinckler should call a round table meeting and allow for an honest and frank discussion on the economy.

She contended that the finances remain in the doldrums even after the Freundel Stuart administration introduced plans as far back as 2010 to improve the country’s fortunes.

Mottley told reporters that despite implementation of these plans, Governor of the Central Bank Dr DeLisle Worrell revealed that at the end of June this year, Barbados’ foreign reserves stood at $883 million.

“When this government began its second term in office in 2013, the foreign reserves stood at over $1.4 billion. However, in spite of borrowing Bds $450 million from Credit Suisse and in spite of oil prices dropping from US $140 per barrel to US $40 per barrel, the foreign reserves have continued to drop at this pace,” Mottley said.

IMG_8672
    Opposition Leader Mia Mottley

Mottley pointed out that the printing of money by the Central Bank is now government’s primary source of financing.

She noted that when the Barbados Labour Party left office in 2008 the National Insurance Scheme held $1.4 billion in government paper, but this figure has jumped to $3.6 billion under the current administration.

The St Michael North East MP added that government has accumulated substantial arrears to the private sector, with over $200 million owed to the University of the West Indies; in excess of $250 million outstanding in rent to the NIS for the two government buildings, plus the CXC headquarters in the Pine.”

And the corruption continues unabated, despite Fruendel and his fools have the island sinking like a stone.

32. And I wonder how many of these permits were sold to Indians, who seem fit and set to take over the entire privately owned PSV operation in this country. With their underground , home- ported banking system, they are able to backraise any Bajan seeking a permit, who does not have political connections.
    Beside blatant corruption, you know when a country, like Barbados, is beginning to go “haitian”. The leaders ,when addressing members of the diaspora, always slip in the words , “Charity” and “Remittances.” Brass Bowls with Begging Bowls.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece….you will notice that the new pre election buzzwords from both political parties is “poor people”..the same people who are in the majority and severely disrespected and ignored by the politicians when they become government ministers fir 5 years at a time, the same “poor people” whose numbers both political parties now need to be elected/reelected…their friends Bizzy, Maloney, Cow, Bjerkham, Harris, Parris et al whom they gift with all the taxpayer funded contracts, but they are in the minority, they dont number enough to elect or reelect any of the politicians……

The intent is now in mamaguying the “poor people” once again, fooling them into believing that politicians actually gives a rat’s ass about any “poor people” outside of using them as voters so they can be elected/reelected amd be elevated to their pretensive status of being above the law….to once again restart the same 30 year cycle of corruption with the minorities….to disenfranchise the same “poor people” who elected them.

34. @ Colonel Buggy

In defence of Pandor, he is selling to all races.

35. Or to put it another way, he is pandering to anyone with the right amount of dollar bills.

36. If you give New Barbadians the levers to important national institutions it is high risk. What proportion of Indians own PSV permits? Why are these permits transferable? Why are the routes and the permit owners not a public record?
    We reap what we sow.

37. The permits are not transferable however there is accommodation by the Licensing Authority. The other item that needs attention is that the beneficial owner can be a registered company. Make it that the owner must be an individual who can own only 2 or 3 buses.

38. What is meant by transferable? Is it the paper transaction between the present holder and another party? Or is it when another party buys the PS vehicle itself, and the Permit , which is the prime objective ,comes with the purchase.

39. Hal Austin August 7, 2016 at 2:15 PM #
    If you give New Barbadians the levers to important national institutions it is high risk.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    As was ably demonstrated by the last two administrations, re the Cement Plant,BNB and ICB.

40. I guest Glyne Clarke never sold any permits?????

41. Yes he did, several.

42. Boom, right there! A foolishly partisan question. We smart ones have moved beyond that.

43. South coast passenger Avatar
    South coast passenger

I was searching for something relating to the sale of psv and now come accross this but i am totally shocked that only 42 comments so far. So i know that the people that comment on this don’t catch ZRs at all but does drive. soo much vans on he south coast it aint funny. But the logic is to force the small man out of the business and those that got a whole fleet will control that section of the island. When an owner cannot meet the obligations to pay the tax when that time come off the road he gine and he number gine get sell to the next person. Fifty eleven vans on the road running up and down behind one another and cannot make the lease money for the owner after starting work at 5:30am in the morning and finishing work at 7:00pm or there after. These drivers does work more hours than the Transport Board drivers and have to hustle for the owner money, diesel money and if any money for the conductor. The Barbados Transport Authority purpose was to regulate the PSV industry so that it run properly but all it has done is make it mandatory that operators wear uniform and quadruple the amount of vans on the road. How the france that will control the misbehaviors of some. The operators will have to rebell more to carry home bread. That don’t make no sense. This is the government and its representatives that we elect so we gotta teck wa we get.

44. Isn’t there a PSV Association to address issues in the sector in a structured way? Divided they are, divided they will fall.