Submitted by DAVID A. COMISSIONG , President, Peoples  Empowerment  Party
Hyatt Hotel hotel coming to Bridgetown?

On Tuesday 26th July 2016 — Barbados’ “Day of National Significance” — notorious Barbadian businessman Mark Maloney, Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy, Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, and one Patrick Mc Cudden, senior Vice President of the American multi-national company known as Hyatts Hotel and Resorts staged a so-called “signing ceremony” and informed  the Barbadian people that in two months time Hyatts Hotel and Resorts will be commencing the construction of a massive fifteen (15) storey hotel at Carlisle Bay, Lower Bay Street, within the precincts of the UNESCO designated world heritage site of historic Bridgetown and its Garrison, and abutting Barbadians beloved Browne’s Beach.

The foreign businessman, Patrick Mc Cudden, also informed the people of Barbados that all senior management positions at the new hotel will be filled by “expatriates” ! (Apparently, we Barbadians are only qualified to hold low level jobs in this Hyatt hotel!)

In addition, the notorious Mark Maloney advised the Barbadian people that this massive 15 storey hotel is just the beginning of a proliferation of new hotel development in Carlisle Bay!

Well, this is the social disaster that I have been trying to warn  my fellow Barbadians about over the past four and a half years!

As long ago as the 20th of February 2012 I issued a Press Release entitled “After Skeete’s Bay, Browne’s Beach Is Next“, in which I tried to warn Barbadians about an impending plan to construct a number of foreign, “brand name” hotels up and down the length of our beloved Brown’s Beach.

In the public interest I now offer the text of that Press Release for re-publication:–

“As a result of a protest launched by Mac Fingall, Stedson Wiltshire, and other residents of St Philip, the eyes of the Barbadian people are fixed on Skeete’s Bay!

But the Peoples Empowerment Party (PEP) wishes to warn the citizens of Barbados that an even more prominent and culturally important beach is in danger of being taken away from native Barbadians and turned into an enclave for wealthy, white North American and European tourists! We refer to none other than Brown’s Beach – the world famous Brown’s Beach that extends across the length of Carlisle Bay in the parish of St Michael.

All Barbadians know Browne’s Beach. It is reputed to be one of the finest beaches in the world, and, along with Brandon’s Beach, is the beach of choice of the black, working-class people of Barbados.

It is also a beach that is famous in the native literature of Barbados. Our very own national poet laureate – Kamau Brathwaite – virtually grew up on Brown’s beach, and was so shaped by this experience that Brown’s Beach became the spiritual and cultural source and centre of a number of his most important poems.

Go to Browne’s Beach any time of the day and any day of the week, and you will find hundreds of black Barbadians communing with each other, and enjoying this magnificent and priceless component of their birth-right. Indeed, many Barbadians will tell you that Brown’s Beach is their health spa and doctor combined together, for it is the place where they escape from the stresses of life and rejuvenate their spirits.

It is against this background that we in the PEP were recently shocked to learn that one or more business consultants are currently engaged in developing a plan to offer up Browne’s Beach as the location for a number of foreign, brand-name hotel companies to construct opulent five star hotels on this most loved of Barbadian beaches!

The President of the PEP has actually spoken to one of the consultants, and heard the same type of unedifying and self-serving rationalizations that the Canadian capitalist – Paul Doyle – has advanced in relation to the Skeete’s Bay project. According to these people, we Barbadians should be willing to let go of national assets like Brown’s Beach because we are dependent on foreign exchange, and foreign companies are well equipped to market their properties internationally and to bring additional thousands of precious tourists to our shores.

All of these capitalist businessmen talk as though the people of Barbados only exist on the material plane – as though we Barbadians are similar to pigs whose only purpose in life is to be fattened! They all seem to overlook that we are human beings with spiritual, cultural and psychological yearnings and needs!

Well, before this private sector driven idea of turning over Browne’s Beach to “foreign brand-name hotels” gets any further, the PEP is hereby firing a warning shot across the bow of our Ministry of Tourism, and indeed, across the bow of the entire Cabinet. And we are telling them that Browne’s Beach is much too sacred to the native people of Barbados for us to stand idly by and permit it to become an alien zone that is effectively off limits to us.

As it is, we Barbadian people are already sharing Browne’s Beach with a sizeable number of North American and European tourists. And we are happy to do so. But a balance must be maintained, and Browne’s Beach must never be permitted to become one of your typical West Coast beaches – beaches that native Barbadians feel no longer belong to them!

Furthermore, the time has come when we Barbadians must consciously set out to take firm control of our nation, and mould it in accordance with our own ideas, needs and predilections.

We have been operating hotels in Barbados for over 200 years now, and we know about the hotel and tourism industry. We don’t need any foreign tutelage! Let us therefore resolve that future hotel and tourism development will, as far as possible, be based in the construction of locally owned hotels, guest houses and related facilities that radiate the unique culture and hospitality of Barbados and Barbadians.

Thus, if there is to be any further tourism related development along Brown’s Bay, let us ensure that it is owned by and evocative of Barbadians. And let Browne’s Beach always remain a place where Barbadians feel at home!”

192 responses to “Bajans Wake up! You are About to Lose Browne’s Beach!”

1. “Topcat July 31, 2016 at 11:09 AM #

Owen Arthur took away the beach behind the Hilton Hotel from us as well as block our path from Brown’s beach to Graves End beach by allowing the owners of Grand Barbados to build a structure across the beach into the sea. The bajans did nothing about that. I used to enjoy walking from Brown’s beach to Accra without having to leave the beach. The owners of the Barbados Cruising Club tried to stop that by building a wall across the beach and the then Prime Minister, Errol Barrow made them take it down. The issue came back up in 1982 after a change in government. Once again the Prime Minister of the day put them in their place and the Mighty Gabby pen the song Jack. The modern day politicians have sold Barbados out I am sick of them!!”

Absolute nonsense. Why do you not check your facts before posting such erroneous information. The structure from Grand Barbados to into the sea was there long before Mr Arthur perhaps dreamed of becoming a politician and was called the Aquatic club. It bordered Graves end beach which we now refer to as pebbles beach on one side and the segregated yacht club on the other. The swimming area was the established home of water polo in Barbados and the established schools held their swimming competitions there. The references to the cruising club and the purported intervention of Mr Barrow is but a figment of the writer’s imagination.

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dear Lord,

On the right side Legion the weathervane champion of the vacillating DLP and to the left side Sand Nigger the champion of capitalism

Where can one hide? for, not content to kill the topic “Vote B or D”, now one must find another victim

Indeed proof absolu that there are other ways to close down a blog than pass draconian Data Laws 2005 and amendments to such regarding information that can be compelled from service providers

all you have to do is enlist the services of donkeys, aceys and sand niggers and soon, even sages and bush wackers, retire from the fray

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Balance

Me fears that I might be having a senior moment with regard to Topcat s remark

I remember thar there was a limestone wall that extended out from the Barbados Yacht Club? wall into the sea but I am older now and the recall engram for a beach I only went to once in my youth is not as easily retrievable as Brandon, Brighton, Bats Rock, Paradise Fitts Village the latter was mostly rock and not beach so we had to swim past it.

But there was a wall right to the sea to Bay Street Esplanade s side

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…yall successfully muddled that comment so only yall knows what it means….I can asure you that the Fruendel lead government giving the conartist Clare Cowan of Cahill scam fame land at 6 cents an acre does not even qualify as selling land to wealthy foreign investors….she had no money, Fruendel and his Idiots knew this.

Why dont Fruendel try letting the black majority people have access to land at 6 cents an acre….so much land in the country is just bush growing.

5. To long have the people in Barbados sat back and let non bajans come in to the island and buy up properties and such and nothing has been The people of Barbados need to realize government cares absolutely nothing about them and it is time to take action and stand up for what is right and the best interest for BARBADOS.
    And it all starts at the top with government ,
    The high officials care only about themselves and getting rich and keeping the less fortunate down they have to be a big change in Barbados and the people need to come together
    BOYCOTT THESE OVERSEAS INVESTORS
    How long have Barbados been able to stand on its own
    Government has sold Barbados out and it’s only a matter of time before it comes to pass
    Wake up people of Barbados and take this beautiful island back
    God help you if you don’t things will only get worse .

6. and barbara can you honestly state that you have made a genuine effort in the investment of barbados economic development . i can bet that you have spent more money on shopping trips forex that have benefit outside foreign interest .

7. Freedom Crier
    Here’s some advice to you, when you’re a suspected propagandist don’t quote articles from known propaganda rags. Who can take the Express seriously when among the “list” of 27 countries are current members of the EU, current members of Caricom and Venezuela–a country that can’t even afford food far less a trade agreement. Fact: The UK will not get better trade deals than the EU has and will get–64m v 445m market.

8. balance July 31, 2016 at 4:09 PM #
    The bajans did nothing about that.
    ……………………………………………………………….
    Not only did we do nothing about it, but the same Owen Arthur, and he had no apologies to make,allowed CO Williams to take up Heywoods old road, which was the high water mark,evidenced by the frequent deposits of sand and beach stones on this road, when he was building the Port St Charles Marina, furthermore he was also allowed him to block the continuous path along Heywoods Beach, by the erection of an inlet channel to the marina.
    And we thought that the Royal Barbados Yacht Club restricted beach access was a thing of the past?
    Paling cocks we are, flap our chops and keep a load of noise , while others thread us.

9. Barbara July 31, 2016 at 5:03 PM #
    By now you have your answer to to why the leaders of this country treat the masses with such utter disrespect. They know that to stay in power,they can depend on their ISIS like followers , who make up about half of the electorate, to back them to the hilt, even when they know that wrong is being done. And if the percentage does not look favourable, a couple thousand Sir Grantlies, compliments the white shadows, on pooling day should bring home the bacon.

10. T@ Balance and Topical.
    I was born in Wellington Street was brought up in Jemmotts Lane, learned to swim at the Harbour Police Jetty and spent all my young days on Browns Beach, played on the beach at Grave’s End, swam at the hot pot there, and learned to swim long distance, because we could not walk from Brown’s Beach to Graves End. We could not even swim between the piles at the Aquatic club; they threw hot water on you so we had to learn to hit off from the esplanade and swim around the aquatIC CLUB AND COME TO SHORE AT GRAVES END. IF YOU WANT TO KNOW THe HIStory OF THOSE DAYS ASK ME. THE CRUISING CLUB WAS FORMED BY ERROL BARROW AND FRIENDS, IN ANSWER TO THE PREJUDICE THAT DID NOT ALLOW BLACK PEOPLE TO BECOME MEMBERS OF THE YACHT CLUB. AS A MATTER OF FACT THE YACHT CLUB WAS KNOWN AS THE ROYAL BARBADOS YACHT CLUB. BARROW MADE THEM REMOVe THE Royal after Independence and made them accept Black people.
    You young people think it was sweet in those days?
    The beach you see now, stretching to the PIERheaD WAS NON EXISTENT. FROM WHERE “LOBSTER ALIVE TO THE PIERhead WAS ALL ROCKS THERE WAS NO BEACH, ALL the area from the Esplanade tp the old Fish market was all rocks. The beach that people want to profit from was the accumulation of sand over the last ten to fifteen years

11. @Alvin

Which is the correct spelling Brown’s or Browne’s Beach.

12. David Commissiong,
    Don’t forget that the PROPERTY, ENCOMPASSING THE LAND NOW EARMARKED FOR THE hyatt, was owned by a group of Black Businessmen, who bought it and built a number of tourist oriented structures on it; including restaurant, boutiques etc. For years the businesses were not doing any significant business and the owners eventually decided to sell. Why could the business establishment in Barbados have gotten together and pushed the idea of the hotels as noe proposed? Becsuat they wanted Barbados to fail. Why could you not have posited the idea of Beachfront development? No Vision. If others had the vision; no doubt encouraged by nature’s “building” of as substantial beach front, does not matter. What matters is the need for the government to establish “by constitutional change” the right to access by all Bajans to free and unfettered access to ALL beaches. It must be done quickly, not just put in a manifesto for the next election, IT MUST BE DONE NOW. ANY POLITICIAN WHO VOTES AGAINST IT SHOULE NEVER BE ELECTED TO PARLIAMENT. A TWO THIRDS MAJORITY NEEDED FOR CONSTITUTIONAL CHANGE SHOULD BE GUARANTEED.

13. @Alvin

You always miss the point, conveniently or otherwise. A large part of the problem is that there is a ack of transparency how these transactions are done. When the public gets to learn about the deal it is signed seal and delivered. How did Maloney hear about the deal with Hyatt? When was the EIA done? Why is a small group of White or high yellow people getting all the work after your DLP promised that 30% will be given to small contractors?

14. “I remember thar there was a limestone wall that extended out from the Barbados Yacht Club?”

There was indeed a wall separating the Yacht club from Burkes beach where the Burkes of sailing fame lived. Entrance to this section of the beach was the track next to the Police boys club. This section of the bathing area served as a small fishing facility as well for people from the other side of the Bayland and the Beckles hill and Chelsea road areas.

15. Another wall, fifteen stories high, to block Barbadians further from their sea and further obliterate islanders behind more consuming concrete. How dreadful little Miami is becoming, as if the awful assault on the West Coast,…. was never enough.

16. There are a few pulp novels written about the Caribbean that tell the story of a foreign businessman who falls in love with an island, and who then bribes a corrupt local politician to secure approval for a hotel project, only to run into a rabble-rousing political activist, usually described as a handsome, British-trained mulatto lawyer. In the novels, the local lawyer mobilizes local opinion against the hotel project (and usually seduces the hotel owner’s wife or girlfriend).
    In other words, we find ourselves in a familiar situation that is as old as the post-war tourist industry in the Caribbean. Predictably, the threat to local use of a beach is being overstated to achieve ‘political’ objectives. Predictably, the government looks bad because it’s public relations strategy will be Too Little, Too Late.
    However, the facts are that (1) Barbados has lost traction with North American tourists since the 1970s, when Canadians formed the leading market segment, (2) given the uncertainties generated by Brexit, it is perilous to depend as heavily as we do on tourist traffic from the UK , so (3) it makes sense to build large (I.e., efficient) US branded hotels that will strengthen the island’s appeal in both the US and Canada. Case closed.

17. As a Political Scientist from the Hill would say, “I ready fuh de Revolution”. Who wid me?

18. I think Grenada had a Revolution. They ended up killing their own leaders and then kissing the behind of the very conservative Ronald Reagan.

19. For your info no I do not take expensive trip as this is not possible when i am trying to make ends meet .
    I am not taking out a loan for a trip .what ever small investment I have is right here in Bim.
    And NO I have not made a big investment in Barbados economy how can I when Goverment have made it this hard for the people of Barbados to have the basic needs
    Goverment is making back door deals with these investors(for a kick back) So call improvements in Barbados and then the people can’t find work as these companies has all power to hire who they want ,and if a bajan gets a job it’s at the bottom of the barrel for minimum wages PLEASE
    So as I said before BOYCOTT OUTSIDE INVESTORS
    SAY NO TO THE POLITICANS WHO HAVE DONE NOTHING FOR YOU BUT SHOW UP AT ELECTION TIME HANDING OUT CORN BEEF AND BISCUIT WITH ALL THE PROMISES AND THEN THEY FORGET AFTER YOU ELECT THEM
    GOVERMENT NEEDS TO BE RESTRUCTURED AND BAJANS WOULD NOT KNOW THEY POTENTIAL THEY HAVE UNLESS THEY MAKE CHANGE

20. ” We could not even swim between the piles at the Aquatic club; they threw hot water on you so we had to learn to hit off from the esplanade and swim around the aquatIC CLUB AND COME TO SHORE AT GRAVES END. IF YOU WANT TO KNOW THe HIStory OF THOSE DAYS ASK ME. THE CRUISING CLUB WAS FORMED BY ERROL BARROW AND FRIENDS, IN ANSWER TO THE PREJUDICE THAT DID NOT ALLOW BLACK PEOPLE TO BECOME MEMBERS OF THE YACHT CLUB. AS A MATTER OF FACT THE YACHT CLUB WAS KNOWN AS THE ROYAL BARBADOS YACHT CLUB. BARROW MADE THEM REMOVe THE Royal after Independence and made them accept Black people.
    You young people think it was sweet in those days?”

Except for the above I generally support the other comments in your post. However you had to be a damn good swimmer to unnecessarily hit off from the esplanade and swim around the Aquatic club to Graves end when Burkes Beach. When we played in the esplanade after Sunday school in the fifties the water was so rough that it flowed over the embankment and the edge was always slippery. It was good night nurse if the ball went into the sea. I recall the aquatic pier to be off limits for us unless engaged in swimming sports but you were not prevented from swimming between the piles provided you kept your distance from the Yacht club The cruising club was formed by snobbish professional negrocratic black people including Mr Barrow who thumbed their noses at less well off black people and got a rude awakening when they discovered that the colour of white and not position was the passport to membership of the infamous Yacht club; and speaking subject to correction I believe Mr Barrow’s cousin was the first commodore . We always attributing things to Mr Barrow that he did not do. Your comment that Mr Barrow made the Yacht club remove the Royal charter from its name and made them accept black people is nothing more than pure speculation. To this I ask when was the Royal charter added to the Barbados police force? Finally I do not know whether those days were sweet or sour because though devoid of the materials which children take for granted nowadays since my thought processes did not dwell on such things at the time but I cannot remember going to bed hungry one night for lack of something to eat.

21. @Balance,&David,
    David first,
    “small majority” ??? Surely you jest.
    Balance,
    You say:”I cannot remember going to bed hungry one night for lack of something to eat.” I certainly can, because as a poor boy there were many nights like that, and days when I went to Browne’s Beach to help fishermen haul up their boats, to get some of the fish to assuage our hunger. You were indeed fortunate. that is why ou would not have been one of those prevented from swimming between the piles at the Aquatic club. We ever indeed good swimmers; we lived days on end playing and swimming at Graves End Browne’s beach and behind the HaRBOUR POLICE STATION. I USED TO SPEAR FISH, LEAVING FROM THAT SAME SPOT AND SWIMMING AND DIVING ALLL THE WAY DOWN TO PELICAN ISLAND. When I visited behind the Pier Head a few months ago I was astonished at the accumulation of the sand and the beach there, because as a boy there were caves full of fish, and huge blocks of coral limestone forming them in that area. Now it is all beach. the proposed Marina Beach development would have to be built half way out in Carlisle Bay now
    … the colour of white and not position was the passport to membership of the infamous Yacht club;” It also applied to everything else, and continues still. It is what prevented Blacks from becoming prominent business men, no access to financing.
    Barbara: BOYCOTT OUTSIDE INVESTORS. That is a stupid statement. NO country ever boycott outside investors. Foreign exchange is needed to buy goods from outside the country. IF YOU BUY A CAR, IT HAS TO BE PAID FOR WITH FOREIGN EXCHANGE, WHICH HAS TO BE BROUGHT INTO THE COUNTRY. WHERE ELSE WOULD IT COME FROM BUT FROM FOREIGN INVESTORS.We need to open our eyes and understand the world around us and how it operates. The idiots in England who voted Brexit are now understanding the implications. They are now understanding that they will not, among other things have unfettered access to all of Europe. They may have to get visas to travel to certain countries, for instance. All agreements will have to be renegotiated. This happens when people are insular and uninformed. Like so many in Barbados.

22. But barbara what a stupid and nonsenical statement
    Needless to say you have deliberately pointed blame attributed to six years of goverance claiming “hard times” while overlooking those years in which you could have made a difference for betterment

23. @David,
    How could you expect Hyatt to finance the building of 4 seasons a rival? You well know how business operates. What transparency you talking about. Since when have any business deals; especially in the Private sector been transparent? We only knew about the sale of BS&T when the proxy war, to drive up the price of the shares, took place . Why would you expect the decision to build the Hyatt be revealed until it is finalized? or close to being finalized. Even now I don’t thin the sale of the land across the road,by the church authorities, has been completed. Nothing has stopped those with vision, who owned the property from doing what the new investors plan to do. Mrs Ram bought the property that was a former bond house and thaT HAD BEEN ADVERTISED FOR SALE FOR A NUMBER OF YEARS, but which has been kept as a bond house. Why was Casa Grande not constructed there? Because the beach had not yet been formed.

24. @David,
    Ask for the EIA study.This is what should be agitated for. I’ll bet that none has been carried out.The concessions will be granted because it fall within the ambit of the Special Development Areas Act.

25. Citizenship by investment programmes may be considered as economic development strategies, designed to achieve the objective of enhancing a country’s attractiveness to INTERNATIONAL ENTREPRENEURS and INVESTORS and to create more favorable conditions for FOREIGN DIRECT INVESTMENTS.

On January 7, 2016 an article entitled: “St Lucia’s Citizenship by Investment Programme Officially Opens for Business,” was posted to BU by “caribbeantradelaw.”

The same consortium of yard-fowls who are now supporting foreign investment, wrote the following in response to the above mentioned article:

“ac January 10, 2016 at 9:15 AM #: Citizenship by investment for small islands are short term solutions with inherent long term problems with a cause to question a massive turnover of a countries wealth in a inappropriate manner for secondary citizenship. Although the program in its purest form of distribution (contains) or stems much need economic instability, The negatives for long term fall out are real and cannot be overlooked as the natives become more aware of callous wealth taking political and financial leverage eliminating the influence or political interest of the native. It requires a balancing act which most small island govts does not have the vision or wherewithal to undertake.”

BEWARE OF YARD-FOWLS!!!!!!!

26. To get more information about the Hyatt done deal speak to Stuart Layne

Render unto Caesar the Things that are of Caesar and unto God the things that are of God

But Sunday I gine be high up in de church pews singing lustily…

I dun wid dat…

27. I have just viewed this extremely informative two-part documentary entitled: People & Power report, written by the veteran African journalist, Sorious Samura. It touches on the discussion that we have conducted on this subject. The second part of the report is revelatory as it cites one African country as being a trailblazer to all developing countries and what may be achieved when a country has at its heart visionary leadership.

http://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/peopleandpower/2014/08/battle-africa-201482713847903369.html

28. “Nothing has stopped those with vision, who owned the property from doing what the new investors plan to do. Mrs Ram bought the property that was a former bond house and thaT HAD BEEN ADVERTISED FOR SALE FOR A NUMBER OF YEARS, but which has been kept as a bond house. Why was Casa Grande not constructed there? Because the beach had not yet been formed”

You can be as sure as night followeth day that Mrs Ram is going to build a hotel there too as soon as construction for foreign development in the area is approved.

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Balance

I hope she doan build one dat look like the one near de airport.

I was carrying some people for an island tour when I used to drive heheheheh and I almost introduce dem to that place as the new Dodds Prison.

Serious my man!!! If I could not still hear the planes I would have told a lie!!!

30. a political knucklehead is when a desperate blp yardfowl goes to an extreme to reference commentary from an article on citizenship which does not in anyway correlates to building a hotel by foreign investment who are not seeking citizenship as a guaranteed offer for their investment .
    Any how suffice to say such desperation is taken right out of the pages of the despot Mia Mottley book who also tried to hoodwinked the nation into believing that the Minister reinstatement of wages was a pay hike

31. IN THE NUT-SHELL, “THE WHOLE PURPOSE OF THIS DEBATE ON THE CHARSLILE BAY DEVELOPMENT…

LEARN FROM THE GENTLEMAN WHO UNDERSTOOD THE IDEOLOGY OF THE ENEMY OF HIS TIME AND OUR TIME!!!

https://scontent.cdninstagram.com/t51.2885-15/s320x320/e35/13118332_1622406098080018_76632674_n.jpg?ig_cache_key=MTI0NzA4MjY1MjY5MDI2NjI3Mg%3D%3D.2

32. […] a letter to BARBADOS UNDERGROUND under the headline BAJANS WAKE UP! YOU ARE ABOUT TO LOSE BROWN’S BEACH David Comissiong wrote, among other things: “The foreign businessmen, Patrick McCudden, also […]

33. Imagine that, the most ignorant set of yard-fowls who “CONTINUOUSLY” and “CONSISTENTLY” post SHIITE to BU, calling someone a “political knucklehead.”

It is a known fact that you at first write to support or disapprove of an issue, and then subsequently support or approve of it according to how your POLITICAL MASTERS view that issue. This is demonstrative of being a “POLITICAL HYPOCRITE,” or more precisely, a “POLITICAL PROSTITUTE.”

Jackasses, I have told you on numerous occasions that comprehension and logic continues to elude you. You cannot dispute the fact that foreign investment, in whatever form it is presented, is foreign investment, irrespective of being based on citizenship or not.

You cussed Owen Arthur’s foreign investment policies and now write in support of similar policies undertaken by the DLP, because it is politically expedient for you to do so.

34. Any how suffice to say such desperation is taken right out of the pages of the despot Freundel Stuart’s book who also tried to hoodwinked the nation into believing that Michael Carrington is an honest man who did not steal his client’s funds (although the court case proved otherwise) and all he needed to do was get a lawyer.

35. “I certainly can, because as a poor boy there were many nights like that, and days when I went to Browne’s Beach to help fishermen haul up their boats, to get some of the fish to assuage our hunger. You were indeed fortunate.”

Well perhaps then I was fortunate because my next door neighbour was a fisherman and my cousin used to do fishpotting and my great grandmother used to sell pudding in souse from buckets one with souse in her hand and the other with the pudding skilfully balanced on her head. I used to drink lots of black pudding water. we normally ate after we came in from playing on ympc or notre dame pastures.

36. pieceuhderockyeahright August 1, 2016 at 5:59 PM #

@ Balance

I hope she doan build one dat look like the one near de airport.

Whatever she builds you can be sure it would be cheap and within budget

37. […] a call to mobilize. Yet the people heard the unwritten call and responded with a testament of over 1000 shares on Facebook from Barbados Underground […]

38. lots of beach fronts got close off, I think the hotel owners, and the people with money coming into the country and buying up the beach areas, along with the property. The government doing nothing about it. Sooner or later, bajans will have no beach to go too

39. Cheap, within budget AND a health hazard!

40. […] advanced a very different concept of Barbadian national development! In my recent article entitled Bajans Wake Up! You Are About To Lose Browne’s Beach!, I expressed this concept as […]

41. Frederick Moses Osadjere Avatar
    Frederick Moses Osadjere

Bajans ought to know by now that their little rock paradise cannot remain the way it is forever. The whole talk about preservation, conservation and access for black Barbadian s to beaches around their island makes sense in a way but Barbadians only need to look at an island like Malta and ask themselves how come an island of similar size and population is growing and their beloved Barbados is in economic stagnation. Honestly Barbadians need to be grateful that anybody still wants to invest in their island at all. Hyatt should take their business elsewhere and leave black Barbadians to enjoy their Browne’s beach. Funny is the word!

42. Can oyu even visualize a 15 story building at that site?

On Wed, Aug 17, 2016 at 10:16 PM, Barbados Underground wrote: