Hal Gollop, Chairman f the ERT
Hal Gollop, Chairman of the ERT

The long-awaited decision in the case of the National Conservation Commission (NCC) workers, who were unceremoniously dismissed on April 30, 2014, was handed down by the Employment Rights Tribunal (ERT) on July 15, 2016. That is a day that will go down in infamy in the local labour movement, even if some of the major players don’t realise it as yet.

The fact that this matter has taken over two years to complete does not speak well for the reputation of the ERT. The displaced workers experienced untold and unnecessary hardship while the matter languished as though no one cared if they suffered or not.

The Prime Minister was quoted in the press as saying that he regretted the amount of time it has taken but given the quality of the decision, he thought that it was well worth the wait – spoken by someone who has been able to pay his bills and had not missed any meals. I was able to obtain a copy of the decision, and after reading it twice, I am of the distinct impression that the PM and I read two different documents.

See ERT DecisionEmployment Rights Tribunal 2014 064 Cutie Lynch and NCC Decision, with document

Around the middle of 2013 Government embarked on a major retrenchment exercise in order to bring its expenditure to a manageable level. By the time that exercise was over the following year, the Government’s workforce was reduced by approximately 6,000 persons. To this day, however, the Government is only prepared to admit that 3,000 persons were released from its service. Mind you, this was after solemnly promising, during their election campaign a few months earlier, that there would be no job losses in the Government service.

Thereafter, Cabinet approved a policy that set out the criteria for the release of staff. Most importantly, Government directed that the retrenchment exercise should generally be done on the basis of “last-in-first-out” (LIFO). Despite that clearly articulated policy, several statutory corporations, including NCC, carried out the exercise in defiance of the Cabinet’s instructions.

Workers at NCC, through their unions, challenged their dismissals as being unfair, before the ERT, on the grounds that the statutory corporation did not follow Cabinet’s policy of LIFO; and that they breached the Employment Rights Act by not consulting with the workers or their accredited representatives, prior to making the workers redundant.

To my mind, after considering the evidence, in its extremely prolix decision the ERT came to the only logical conclusion that the workers were unfairly dismissed. Remarkably, after setting out the reasons why the workers should not have been terminated, the ERT refused to order their reinstatement or re-engagement. Instead, the tribunal strayed from its mandate and invaded the realm of Government policy. It said at page 35 of the decision:

“It was clearly demonstrated from the evidence taken in this matter that the practicability of reinstatement or re-engagement of the complainants at this time is too remote given the reason for the implementation of the redundancy measures in the first place; it is our view that there would have to be an adjustment to the policy articulated by the Government through the Circular No. 1/2014, M.P. 6205 vol. 1T3 for re-instatement (sic) or re-engagement to be practicable”.

That is not the tribunal’s business and to my mind, it is an irrelevant consideration. The ERT went on to state that an order for reinstatement or re-engagement would be nugatory (useless). Useless for whom? Certainly not the workers! An order for reinstatement would mean that the employer would have to pay the wages of the workers from the date of their dismissal until the reinstatement took effect, in accordance with section 34 of the Employment Rights Act. In this case, it would mean that the NCC would have to pay the workers their wages for two years.

No wonder the Prime Minister is singing the ERT’s praises; if reinstatement were ordered government would have to look for double the amount that it is now required to pay under this flawed award.

99 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Unfair Dismissal by NCC, Unfair Decision by Employment Rights Tribunal”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/07/26/social-demons/

Now Fruendel is waxing philosophical about the Social Demons in the society, maybe he coukd exorcize those sicial demons in his cabinet by firing them, exorcize the social demon that is the DPP…, that woukd be a oublic service that he is already being paud a salary……and while Fruendel is ridding the society ofvthe social demons, he can also…explain this….

“He also took a shot at the Prime Minister’s stewardship since assuming office in October 2010, saying: “He has almost brought the National Insurance Scheme to its knees; he has completely destroyed employment and the economy of this country because there is absolutely no confidence in him.”

Dies Fruendel know that intelligent people are totally fed up with him and his weak state.

2. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

Well Well & Consequences July 26, 2016 at 5:54 AM #
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/07/26/social-demons/

He has accurately identified the symptoms of the problem, when he’s brushing his teeth this morning he will clearly see the problem.

And the rest of us will continue to follow the civil services’ example and do nothing until Fumble and his Fools are gone.

Fumble and his Fools have not only destroyed local and foreign business in Barbados, they have also destroyed the way we do business. Going forward there will be no gov’t that could depend on corporate or small business tax revenue. Not a food van, landscaper, one-truck operator, hairdresser, tradesman will ever pay taxes in this country again and any accountant reporting income for large business will likely lose his job.

50-year Independence legacy indeed.

3. Frustrated businessman

Fumble teeth are place on a night stand, no need to look in a glass to brush them and see his very ugly demon face

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Where is Piece with those Social Demon posters…lol

5. When common sense dictates that fools like Stuart are a waste of time and people become cynical,the excuse by Sir Roy,a card bearing member of the DLP,in today’s Nation newspaper claiming that he didn’t know of the political dimensions in the NCC dispute is threatening the society with a brand of lunacy, going beyond cronyism and cynicism bordering on contempt.
    To be sure,this is not the response one would hear from Caswell or Comissiong.

6. @ Well Well

De grandson is working on the demons thing, lololol

I dun tell wunna dat Fumbles AND RICHARD UNCLE LOOKUP CEILING does see hovering demons and spirits!!!

I guess that now wunna goin believe me

This General Election in January going be so much fun.”

Looks Kelly dun start

“ST. LUCY HOUSE SPOTS – HOUSE SPOTS ARE soon going to be available for the people of St Lucy. Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development and the parliamentary representative for the constituency Denis Kellman said on Wednesday the agency was trying its best to accommodate those in need of property. He identified Cluffs and Colleton as the two areas where lots are to be made available and said that the chief land surveyor visited the parish last month. However, the lots would not be selling at the $5 a square once touted by the state. Kellman was speaking during the Broken Trident welcoming ceremony at the St Clement’s Centre, St Clement’s Anglican Church.”

Wunna doan listen to de ole man doah

You kin hide and buy land but yuh cyan hide and wuk um

General Elections are in January 2017

7. Piece
    Can you ask the grandson if it’s going to be a chicken-wings-funded election?and if this is what James Paul hinting at when he say chicken wings still coming in through the bhana sorry through the back door?

8. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

Gabriel July 26, 2016 at 9:17 AM #
    When common sense dictates that fools like Stuart are a waste of time and people become cynical,the excuse by Sir Roy,a card bearing member of the DLP,in today’s Nation newspaper claiming that he didn’t know of the political dimensions in the NCC dispute is threatening the society with a brand of lunacy, going beyond cronyism and cynicism bordering on contempt.
    To be sure,this is not the response one would hear from Caswell or Comissiong.

Or maybe Akani? The recent assault on his leadership was by DLP yardfowls within the NUPW whose only job has ever been to prop up bad DLP governments.

9. I am back today on this PM calling the BLP spineless………he is the only PM who we can truly call spineless and ineffective. All the other PMs Barbados was privileged to have were leaders, even Sandi………he certainly does not exhibit any leadership skills.

Eleven members of his party, most of them members of his cabinet were planning a palace coup behind his back and he did nothing.

His minister of finance admitted that he was the ring leader, the man he allowed to act as PM was another coup leader………..and all he could say was that if it were true, heads would roll. The coward did nothing, all of them are still members of his cabinet to this day……….

His problem was that he loves so much being PM that he could not touch one of them other wise his sweet life as PM would over. He was so afraid to act against any of them that he begged OSA not to join with them to bring him down.

And how did he repay OSA, who saved his sorry ass?……….By gross betrayal.

He waited until the election of 2013, copied and pasted OSA’s note to him in which he, OSA agreed not to join with the plotters to bring him down and he used the part of the note where , according to OSA, he jokingly asked him while he is at it to take MAM off his hands. What a man!

And he has the gall to call the BLP spineless because they refused to be bullied by him……….

Spineless coward………

10. At WW&C the Grandson is at work at the *** Bank so he apologized for the lateness of this necromantic book called “Demons & Spirits”

Copies are available for a short time only since in 2017, January to be precise all of the copies WILL BE GONE!!

PERMANENTLY.

This is truly a “limited edition”, limited to the next 6 months.

http://imgur.com/a/sUHR6

11. By the way WW&C if you take ook in the bottom left cover you will see that there is even a ghost of the Fatted Calf.

Things is really bad if the Fatted Calf is now a wraith….

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol..Piece..ya rocking..lol

13. Spineless Cowards Ouch ! that really hurt but correctly drive a hot fork through the hearts of demonic forces that have invaded the blp
    signed
    Legion

14. @AC

The Barbadian people kick the great EWB in his ass in 1976, what you think going to happen to Fumble, an ugly man, in every from and fashion, who is fascinated with breastfeeding and sore nipples,you still have time to try your wings and fly out the fowl yard.

15. “He identified Cluffs and Colleton as the two areas where lots are to be made available and said that the chief land surveyor visited the parish last month. However, the lots would not be selling at the $5 a square once touted by the state. Kellman was speaking during the Broken Trident welcoming ceremony at the St Clement’s Centre, St Clement’s Anglican ”

What about Pickering where Prime Minister Thompson turned the sod with Mr Kellman smiling from ear to ear at the great developmental prospects envisaged for St Lucy when this project came on stream. Notice Mr Kellman threatening action -he stopped short of legal action and I guess he knows why- against persons using Government land/property without permission. I hope he includes himself in the condemnation as he continues to use without permission the Government facility in Moontown for his own entrepreneurial purposes according to Mr Kerrie Symnonds and others.

16. “Watchman July 26, 2016 at 9:38 PM #

@AC

The Barbadian people kick the great EWB in his ass in 1976, what you think going to happen to Fumble, an ugly man, in every from and fashion, who is fascinated with breastfeeding and sore nipples,you still have time to try your wings and fly out the fowl yard.”

Not nice. Mr Stuart is quite an affable gentleman politics aside.

17. @Balance

who Mr. Stuart are you talking about, that is an affable man, you have to be clear with the name, please spell it out ,

18. @Balance

Just in case you think I mean the man face that can be seen, then you don’t really know what ugly means

19. listen up after given the green light by attorney of lawlessness to fight for reinstatement of jobs the NCC workers say no dice “give me my money”

20. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

balance July 26, 2016 at 9:59 PM #
    “He identified Cluffs and Colleton as the two areas where lots are to be made available and said that the chief land surveyor visited the parish last month. However, the lots would not be selling at the $5 a square once touted by the state. Kellman was speaking during the Broken Trident welcoming ceremony at the St Clement’s Centre, St Clement’s Anglican ”

What about Pickering where Prime Minister Thompson turned the sod with Mr Kellman smiling from ear to ear at the great developmental prospects envisaged for St Lucy when this project came on stream. Notice Mr Kellman threatening action -he stopped short of legal action and I guess he knows why- against persons using Government land/property without permission. I hope he includes himself in the condemnation as he continues to use without permission the Government facility in Moontown for his own entrepreneurial purposes according to Mr Kerrie Symnonds and others.

Maybe the Fools have finally realised that the main input driving up the cost of land in Barbados is the BDS Gov’t itself due to the false scarcity and multi-year carrying costs created by the inept and corrupt chief town planner and minister of planning.

Anyone remember when the Fools won the election in 2008 and went driving all over people’s property around the country picking out land to acquire for the poor people of BDS? Then spent the peoples’ money acquiring land (even though Gov’t is the largest land-owner in Bim), developing said land and building houses only to find out they were more expensive than the houses the free market was already providing? And still lying idle because, once again, the gov’t and civil service had no clue what they were doing!

Naive is a word that should be reserved for young people, grown middle-aged people have to make a special effort to be ignorant. Fumble and his Fools are just plain stupid.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s stupid Fools.

21. It would be an interesting exercise to list all the projects promised by government since 2008 and filter those completed.

22. Looks like the NCC workers will be pushing back against the ERT decision. Not a good side heading into an election. Most Barbadians appear to be on the side of the workers. They have been shafted in law.

23. @AC

your brain capacity should think about where these votes will go, 300 workers, each have 5 dependence voting age +15 other family members,= 6000 votes the DLP will lose plus the rest of Barbadians that are not a yardfowl like you

24. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

To many lawyers are head of this and that , They will never disagree with self, lawyers are to stay outside off all things and called in to help when needed,
    If you look at Barbados lawyers and Ministers in many Union,Companies in Bim and some times in more than one Business or Company selling out the workers and people in need,
    They can be a lawyer for the business or company but not the head , leader nor ruler , Its a Selfish shell game on the people,

25. @ Watchman

They don’t really care which side the votes go.

They KNOW THEIR END IS NEAR and like Satan, they run about trying to be busy.

They did their years to qualify for their respective pensions and while it will take Barbados ten years or 15 years to recover from their public manipulation and masturbation with the public coffers, they do not care.

Maybe all we can hope for is like the ole people used to say “dem going dead bad”

The Democratic Labour Party is the single worst government Barbados has ever had, bar none

Not one effing seat!!!!

26. McDowell says the union has been advised that the reinstatement is an option to take to the law courts however the length of time to get a hearing,placed at 3 years,( justice delayed is justice denied)when added to the existing 2 years it took for this JA government to give a “prioritized”decision,it might be foolhardy to pursue the route of the courts,notoriously now deficient and no better than what passes for courts in Zimbabwe.How the mighty have fallen,even the Roman Catholic bishop is passing judgement and sentence on the Freundel fools for a cabinet.
    Btw,notice how Bishop John Walter Dunlop Holder is saying to the likes of Durant the fraud,that the Anglican Church is not for sale to this or any government and further,it is not about grabbing headlines like Durant and all the other frauds walking bout Barbados fooling only ignorant people.All wunna going straight to that place known as hell.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dont worry Piece…they cant pay a dime to anyone when the strokes, heart attacks, diabetes, high blood pressure, brain tumors, aneurysms etc, rage out of control, they will die and leave every penny stole from the taxpayers, bribes they took from the minorities and scams they have in the works…no escape for “social demons”.

28. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

David July 27, 2016 at 6:47 AM #
    It would be an interesting exercise to list all the projects promised by government since 2008 and filter those completed.

The purpose of gov’t is to create the legal, human, institutional and physical environment necessary to stimulate an economy through business activity, financed by taxes raised from said activity which also pay for social services. Contrary to what some Bajans might postulate, social services DO NOT come first, business activity to pay for social services must come first.

But not in Bim. We passed that obviosity like a full bus. Except the reason the busses are over-crowded is that, once again, gov’t proved that the Transport Board doesn’t run as efficiently as private busses which don’t get the benefit of tax-free inputs.

So gov’t sets itself up in open markets to compete against tax payers who it relies on for tax income needed to pay for social services, but then unfairly competes against said tax-payers due to its own tax-breaks and the lack of requirement to actually operate at a profit. Technically, every statutory corporation in Bim is insolvent except BNOC and that is being sold to Kyfin to pay back the money the other useless statutory corporations owe him because they are insolvent.

Eddy Murphy or Monty Python couldn’t make this shit up.

So the NCC, which shouldn’t exist at all to begin with, ironically, will now be instrumental in bringing down the idiots that shouldn’t have supported it at all. All because the gov’t of Barbados is the employer of last resort and pays employees just enough to exist in an environment in which they can hardly advance, better themselves or otherwise contribute to our nation in any tangible way.

Welcome to the Barbados zoo. Please don’t pet the animals!

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s useless zoo-keepers.

29. @ Piece

Most of the DLP past MP were brain dead before they die, and the present MPs are in a state of extreme confusion, poor Walter PPK, his senses of wanting to make a difference in the DLP got wacked

30. @ Well Well
    Dont worry Piece…they cant pay a dime to anyone when the strokes, heart attacks, diabetes, high blood pressure, brain tumors, aneurysms etc, rage out of control,….
    Not exactly true WW&C…. They will spend it ….BUT in vain…

One would have thought that after living through the karma meted out to their former leader just 7 years ago, these morons would have been taught a valuable lesson about ill-gotten gains…

But apparently they did not!!!
    Typical.
    A fool usually has to feel it personally …to know it….

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Karma Bushman….Karma, they never see her until she is right there.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/83679/19-royal-westmoreland.

All their lies are immediately revealed…here is Brexit NOT affecting the island, as Sealy said.

32. Gabriel July 27, 2016 at 7:50 AM #

Allwunna going straight to that place known as hell.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………
    Man wake up! We there already.

33. Three years to fight an appeal by the sacked NCC workers for reinstatement, but ever so often we can see less significant cases being fast tracked through the court system.
    The Dipper ,as always was right. “If you want justice keep away from the law courts.”

@ac. The NCC workers is opting for their money , are choosing the better of two evils. They have been shafted by this Government. They,and others in the same boat , will get their own back in s 2018.

34. Colonel
    Read the tea leaves…..Sam Lords photo op turning the sod.Hyatt photo op,signing the paper work,out of court settlement a la Maloney and the Rock Hard fiasco,Solar plant start up after NCC meeting(read Denis Lowe and Cahill like caper)employing 300..Four Seasons re start after paper work signing …….we can listen for more crap and Worrell placing unemployment at 4% next.

35. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Donville Inniss is pushing for the newly ,or yet to be, established Caribbean Court for Arbitration and Mediation (CCAM) to be home ported in Barbados.
    We are really suckers for punishment. We cannot get Caricom to work. We cannot sell the CCJ to the majority of Caricom member countries. We cannot get member countries who are benefiting from LIAT to buy into it. We have a massive back log of cases in our own court system, with the on-demand population of Dodds outnumbering the convicted population. It took an haphazardly appointed Kangaroo court , two years to reach a decision on the NCC unfair dismissal case. And now we want to throw another elephant into the mix.

36. Trinidad set up an Industrial Court to cater to the high repeat infringements in employee/ employer relations.Antigua set up a similar Court some years ago.I would think any experience in dealing in matters of Arbitration might more appropriately be domiciled in either TnT or in AnB.Just saying because Barbados is not benefitting from the useless UWI graduates to be found in the Parliament of Barbados.The colonial government taught us something that the homegrown breed don’t understand upwards of practicing in the 50 years of ‘dependence’.

37. The fact that the President and General Secretary of the NUPW are not reading from the same script should be of concern to workers. Further, that workers at the NUPW Office have been affected by having their wages delayed is embarrassing.why in this day an age workers are being paid by cheque anyway.

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The President is showing the staff that he has the power.

39. @Caswell

What would be the motive to alienate NUPW staff?

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It is just a fool showing that he has the power. He does not need them now. If there is another attempt to remove him, he is assured that MAM would summon the party faithful to defend him.

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Caswell

There is something that you mentioned in your 3:39 post that is interesting for the specific Union(s) and is frightening

Recently during the City of Bridgetown Credit Union elections, a place where the BLP operatives now abound in the body of one Holder, a few bus loads of members were off loaded on the AGM, with predictable results.

What you are alluding to, very strongly, is that the so called institutions that are there to represent workers concerns, have been so infiltrated by political parties that they are really just extensions of the party in power

Would you care to comment on if this worrisome configuration is of concern to you and whether you see that this will change anytime soon?

And more importantly if something can be done about it

42. @PUDRYR

James Paul is a part of the CoB outfit as well.

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Remembrance will make me recall James Paul upstairs that shanty building just East of the Jewish Cemetery and in the same complex with the sports shop. I remember James well so I shall say no more that an apple cannot fall far from a tree unless it is up a hill.

@ Caswell Franklyn

De grandson started a poster about you.

It is titled “only three lawyers in Barbados ”

David Come Sing a Song, Jeff Cumberbatch and you, yes an though many will say you doan have no LRC or whatever Mugabe Mottley is supposed to have, you are on the list.

Barbados has 1100 lawyers yet the only three who put their necks on the line for the underdog are the three of you.

It is truly a shame that we have come to repeat how Horatio kept the Bridge, in living colour here at these shore of Bim

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Piece

The major trade unions have long been taken over by political parties. The NUPW was an organisation of mostly DEMS and now Akanni, Asokore and Fabian are charting a course to Roebuck Street. That fight is ongoing. BWU became DLP country from the time Grantley Adams refused to put Frank Walcott in his cabinet. It is alleged that Toni is only one BEE in the midst of DEMS so she can’t change the course of BWU just yet.

After the credit unions started to become influential the politicians began to take interest. You are right about that particular COB election. As soon as the elections were approaching the numbers in the hall started to grow. Apparently a bus load of people accompanied by Mia Mottley joined the meeting and as a result Lynette Holder emerged victorious. Thereafter, COB took a decidedly BLP stance in hirings and sponsorships. As a matter of fact, one of the BLP operatives landed a job there and almost immediately started to steal credit union funds. When she was discovered, the board tried its best to cover it up. Unfortunately for them, I was elected to the Supervisory Committee and I insisted on police involvement.

The DEMS have fought back and now COB is firmly in control of DLP operatives.

In the case of Public Workers’ Credit Union, the DEMS managed to infiltrate that organisation to the extent that that it was used in the CLICO corruption debacle. Thompson wanted money to help bail out CLICO and he turned to that credit union. He manoeuvred a loan from NIS for them to purchase Clico Mortgage Finance Company, now Capita. NIS money was laundered through Public Workers Credit Union to try to save CLICO. In exchange, Thompson was able to get the police to stop the investigation into embezzlement of Credit Union funds.

Piece, I am afraid that it is going to be extremely difficult to stop the rot. The Financial Services Commission that now regulates credit unions is completely useless and political. The Co-operative Principles no longer guide credit unions in Barbados. The rules have been changed to allow politicians to take over credit unions.

Imagine, the Government levied an illegal tax on credit unions and not one credit union decided to fight against it.

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Caswell,

Men like you and Bush Tea does frighten me.

After wunna does bring the facts bout Carol to the fore I become so dismayed about whether this whole struggle to do the right thing and to fight for change, I wonder if it is futile and why bother.

I mean just look at them!! Brazen thieves up front and lording it over the rest of the world, it make you ask, what is the point?

46. @Caswell

Is that what Donville is saying?

Our takeaway is that he has challenged the BA to take ownership given their key role as officers of the Court. It is a call BU has been making from Tales of the Courts.

47. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Piece

The crooks want us to give up. Nothing would please them more.

48. @Caswell

Do not understand what you are saying. If this lady did a wrong why are we listening to her being a leading light on the airwaves in the early morn?

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This is Barbados the Sicily of the Caribbean.