Marston Gibson, Chief Justice of Barbados Designate
Marston Gibson, Chief Justice

The BU family will be interested in the outstanding decisions of the High Court for 2016 recorded on the attachment. Of interest is the column labelled ”LAST HEARD”. If readers have formed the conclusion that the BU household is unforgiving in our criticism of Chief Justice Marston Gibson, please go to the top of the class. BU trumpeted the arrival of Gibson – the man selected from outside the inner circle – to bring needed change, several years later the judiciary appears to be in the same state he found it, even worse.

Did someone whisper arbitration?

2016 OUTSTANDING DECISIONS – July 2016

46 responses to “Barbados High Court Outstanding Decisions for 2016”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

This is beyond ridiculous. One case I noticed from 1998, no surprise former cj David Simmons did not think it important enough to bring closure and current CJ will let it linger…some decisions are 16 years old….and still pending, with some judges long dead.

What are these judging for their money.

2. The Chase Files

Good Morning ‪#‎realdreamchasers‬! Here is your daily newscap.

BILL FAILS – GOVERNMENT failed yesterday to secure support from the opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) for a change to the Constitution to correct “an oversight”. The Freundel Stuart administration needed a two-thirds majority to bring into law the Constitution (Amendment) Bill to adjust the retirement age of the holders of the office of Auditor General and Director of Public Prosecutions from 62 to 67. The failure of the bill was decided by a division, when individual votes are registered. Seventeen MPs, including the two independents Owen Arthur and Dr Maria Agard, voted “yes” with the Government, while the 11 Opposition members present abstained.Stuart had minutes earlier said that he was consoled by the fact that “the Director of Public Prosecutions and the Auditor General and the persons in their respective offices . . . would have listened to this debate.

ARTHUR RAPS BLP – FORMER PRIME MINISTER Owen Arthur delivered a further blow to the Barbados Labour Party and its leader in the House of Assembly yesterday. In a no-holds-barred contribution, the independent MP accused Mottley and other Opposition members of engaging in a “juvenile and jejune exercise” unworthy of a Parliament.He launched the scathing attack in response to their stance on the Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2016.Arthur, the Member of Parliament for St Peter, who parted ways with the BLP two years ago, charged that the Opposition had brought an argument to the House of Assembly that had no bearing on the matter before the Parliament.

MORE TAXES LOOMING – The local business sector is predicting even more taxes as Government attempts to reduce its fiscal deficit.The Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BCCI) is also warning that the “paralyzing recession” that has been squeezing Barbados would linger in the absence of clarity in the Freundel Stuart administration’s policies.BCCI President Eddie Abed said failure to have meaningful dialogue with the social partnership would “add to the fog and further uncertainty will prevail”, and would result in “delaying the end to this paralyzing recession and a return to growth”.“I’m only too aware that the Government’s estimates showed increases in both their revenue and deficit for fiscal 2016-2017; and rightfully, I can only assume that there will be an increase in taxes, levies, surcharges, fees and the like, once the budget is passed in Parliament,” Abed said in this month’s BCCI newsletter.

COLLISION COURSE – GOVERNMENT SEEMS HEADED for a showdown with the local business community over the imminent but unexpected squeeze on foreign exchange leaving Barbados. In the wake of a $43 million fall in the island’s international reserves between January and June, and projected reduced inflows for the rest of the year, Central Bank Governor Dr DeLisle Worrell revealed yesterday that “foreign exchange outflows will be tightened by the measures to be announced in the forthcoming Budget”.But Worrell’s surprise announcement has left Barbados Chamber of Commerce & Industry (BCCI) president Eddie Abed “absolutely outraged” that the private sector was neither notified nor consulted about such a major policy change.Abed said any move to restrict foreign exchange now was “extremely worrisome”.

PAY UP OR LOSE LIAT – A local banker who was instrumental in raising nearly BDS$50 million through a regional bond issue to ensure LIAT’s survival over a decade ago is advising shareholder governments to withdraw service from Caribbean countries that refuse to pump cash into the struggling airline. At present, only Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica and St Vincent and the Grenadines contribute financially to the cash-strapped carrier.Some Caribbean leaders, including Dr Keith Mitchell of Grenada and Dr Timothy Harris of St Kitts and Nevis have made it clear they would not invest in LIAT.The St Lucian prime minister Allen Chastanet recently joined that list, making it clear his country would not put a dollar into the regional airline.

MINUTE’S SILENCE FOR MARA – Both sides of the parliamentary divide found common ground today when a minute’s silence was observed as a gesture of respect for the mother of Member of Parliament for St John Mara Thompson. Cicely Monica Giraudy, 82, died in St Lucia on July 1 and was cremated following a funeral service on July 8. Thompson, the widow of late Prime Minister David Thompson, is St Lucian by birth.The House of Assembly stood in silence at the beginning of today’s session.Speaker Michael Carrington also announced that a letter of condolence would later be forwarded to her Giraudy’s surviving relatives in St Lucia.

AG GIVEN DEADLINE TO FILE – THE ATTORNEY GENERAL was given until August 19to file and serve supplemental affidavits when the Arch Cot lawsuit came up for hearing yesterday in the No 6 Supreme Court. This after the AG’s office applied to have the judgement which was awarded by Justice Dr Sonia Richards overturned.It was back in March that the judge had ordered Government to pay damages to the ten defendants involved in the multimillion-dollar lawsuit after she found that no defence to the suit had been filed or served by the Attorney Generals’ office. That ruling was swiftly appealed.The case involves one of the most horrific incidents in Barbados in which an apartment building at Arch Cot Terrace, Brittons Hill, St Michael, collapsed, killing a family of five who included Donavere Codrington, his wife Cassandra and their three children.

RIGHT TO STAY – ARLEIGH HECTOR JAMES is still in Barbados. And his attorney says he has all rights to remain in the island.James, who is now living with his sister at Lowlands Park, Christ Church, was released from HMP Dodds last Tuesday after spending 22 years for hacking his wife Deborah to death in 1994.Since then, his release has been the subject of much discussion, with reports suggesting that immigration officials were caught napping in relation to the Vincentian farmer’s release and were moving to deport him to his homeland. Calls to Chief Immigration Officer Wayne Marshall to find out the status of the Immigration Department’s proceedings against James, were not returned.

LAST RIDE – A 69-year-old man who collapsed and died Tuesday morning while riding his bicycle along the Graeme Hall stretch of the ABC Highway suffered from high blood pressure and heart disease, family members have revealed. While it has not yet been determined what killed Chalmer Jones of Maxwell, Christ Church, his wife and children said the former Government employee had been diagnosed with a heart defect. Lashley-Jones also said her husband had recently complained of tightness in the chest.Jones’ youngest daughter Nicole was the first family member to find out about the man’s passing.While driving past the scene she saw the body and immediately felt it was her father.Upon checking with the police officers present, she was told that the officers were travelling in a vehicle behind the elderly man when his bicycle started to wobble. They said he got off before he collapsed.Ambulance personnel responded to the incident but he was dead by the time they got there. Police say no foul play was suspected.

CROP OVER WATER – CROP OVER WATER could have been made anywhere and by anyone. That is because the two words most commonly used to brand Barbados’ biggest cultural event are not registered.The National Cultural Foundation’s (NCF) chief executive officer Cranston Browne told the DAILY NATION that the NCF was told by the Corporate Affairs Department that it was not possible to register the words Crop Over.This being so, the NCF was powerless to stop the production of Crop Over Water in Trinidad or any other country. “We were told we can’t do it. It had to be done as Crop Over Festival, in a particular font and in a particular way. That’s what we have registered, but the two words saying ‘Crop Over’ can’t be registered,” Browne explained.

MISS CROP OVER – STANDING AT 4 feet 11 inches, Tanya Hinds dazzled the judges with her dancing, stage presence and confidence to be crowned Miss Crop Over 2016. Before a small but supportive audience at the Queen’s Park Steel Shed on Saturday night, the passenger service agent looked like a winner from start to finish in what can be described as a low-cost production which had nothing indicating there was a connection with the country’s premier national festival – apart from the name.To go into details about the production would take away from what was a deserving victory for Hinds who was the shortest of the six contestants vying for the title. She was also contestant number six.Suffice to say the producers/organisers could do so much better to improve the show and make patrons feel as though they were attending a pageant from the moment they entered the venue to the actual show.

That’s all for today. Have a wonderful Wednesday. 🙂 Shalom ‪#‎thechasefiles‬.

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Look we might as well stop dwell on the CJ. It is an establish fact that being a political appointed Chief Justice does not come with any real commitment to changing what is wrong with Barbados accustom justice delayed is justice denied. We saw that with Simmons, and now we see it with Marston. The judicial system is made to appear impossible to fix when all it requires are decisions to be made. Instead, Marston has established his name as a man for functions and ceremonies with a poor track record to show in improving the sorry ass state of our judiciary. Does not his tenure bare a striking resemblance to the administration that hand picked him? Look, people, carefully, and you will see birds of a feather. As I have said before, the CJ must not be a political appointee. He must be selected by the people to work on behalf of the people. In that way, he pledges no allegiance to party or their political aspirations. CJ Marston is failure and time have proven him so. What next?

4. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

It is long past time we started hiring professional civil servants from UK.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Frustrated..you mean Bajans who worked as civil servants in the UK, cause if dont…ya adding more problems to the landscape.

It’s problems ya trying to get away from not add more, anyone can tell you that the UK has it’s own problems with civil ans social services corruption…..that would make a third problem for Barbados.

6. Professional civil servants from where???????????

7. Can we get some comments on the list? It appears to be incomplete, why?

8. Can we get some comments on the list? It appears to be incomplete

9. Why would the Opposition abstain from a Bill amending the Retirement age for two Civil Servants?

Either you agree or disagree but to abstain is as Arthur puts it “juvenile”.

Hey! I see another man died “suddenly”, how long before another FB post reports that he died after getting hit by a “lead pipe”? if only the Police knew that those things were lethal Gwen W would have spent her adult life in Glendairy.

10. One wonders if the motive behind the Opposition voting against the Constitutional amendment yesterday is about hurrying Charles Leacock out of office. Unfortunately the Auditor General is caught in the wash.

Can we get some comments on the list? It appears to be incomplete > >>

11. BTW

Send the convicted murderer back to his homeland.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donna….I hope Frustrated is not hinting that the black civil servants in Barbados do not onow what they are doing and white civil servants from the UK do….I have one word for frustrated….Brexit.

Lol

How quickly he forgot. …and don’t suggest civil servants from the US either.., there is enough of a gun problem on the island.

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

That is all it is.

The DLP want Charles and the BLP don’t

Leigh Trothman is caught there in that little tingy

14. I thought the DPP was a member of the PIP i.e. “Party in Power” wasn’t he DPP prior to 2008?

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It’s wonderful watching that one play out, there should be term limits on the DPPs post.

Looks like this DPP knows more dirty thinks about the current ministers than the former ministers, except Owen.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It’s very insulting to taxpayers that the government sees this as more important than the pressing legislations needed to upgrade standards in the society….it’s shameful that Fruendel et al still dont see the need to get rid of DPP Leacock.

Unfortunate that the Auditor General got caught up in another mess created by government.

“All wrong
    Marshall takes issue with Govt’s priorities

Added by Barbados Today on July 20, 2016.
    Saved under Local News, Politics

inShare
    Extending the retirement age of two public officials pales in significance to the issues affecting Barbadian society, says Opposition Barbados Labour Party Member of Parliament Dale Marshall.

And for this reason, he served notice today that his party would not support the Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2016 that was before the House of Assembly.

The Bill, which was eventually defeated, was intended to move the retirement age of the Director of Public Prosecutions and Auditor General from 62 to 67.

“It is an amendment that comes at a time when my constituents are undergoing a level of deprivation in their personal circumstances hitherto unseen in this country, at least of post-independence Barbados,” said Marshall, the MP for St Joseph.

“[It] comes in the context of operating tables collapsing at the [Queen Elizabeth Hospital], people having to run down to pharmacies to buy medication, some days the hospital does not even have toilet paper. [It is coming] at a time when our societal fabric is falling apart and when there is virtual mayhem on our streets,” he added.

He further questioned: “How does the retirement age of two public officers rank in priority standing alongside the 3,000-plus Barbados public servants who will not get the benefit of any retirement age because they have been sent home?”

He therefore warned the Freundel Stuart administration that until it chooses to confront the people’s priorities, it would not be able to demand the support of the BLP.

“Until that happens the Barbados Labour Party will withhold its support, even if only in protest at the wrongheaded perspectives that this Cabinet has set for itself,” Marshall stressed.

In further criticizing the move by Government to adjust the retirement age for the current DPP Charles Leacock, QC, and the Auditor General Leigh Trotman, he said his constituents were more interested in last Friday’s ruling by the Employment Rights Tribunal on the National Conservation Commission (NCC) case, which he said affects them.

“They feel no better off. They don’t know still how they will pay their bills.
    And to be told that they will get a year’s pay is barely a little dressing on the sore that they have been festering with for the last two years,” said Marshall of the decision by the Hal Gollop-led tribunal to award the NCC workers 52 weeks in compensation.

“My constituents still can’t get water, and I am supposed to go and tell somebody that the reward for my day’s labour in Parliament is the extending of the retirement age for two public officers,” stressed Marshall.

He further questioned: “If constitutional amendments are such a big issue then the Government should explain to the people of Barbados why it is that we have two constitutional amendments laid as far back as 2014, and in 2015, that are festering like carbuncles, not receiving the attention of this Parliament?”

Urging Government to get its priorities straight, he said, “the people of Barbados couldn’t care less about what we are in here debating today.

“Gird your loins and let’s deal with the fundamental issues that are eating away at the foundations of our society.””

17. @ WW&C
    ..there should be term limits on the DPPs post.
    Not only term limits, ..but compulsory independent forensic audits of decisions made during the term…. with full disclosure, and serious consequences for any malfeasance found.

Of course that would only apply in a serious society ..with mature people …who had a sensible focus on honesty and transparency…. NOT WITH BRASS BOWLS.

As it is, Charles just wants to enjoy five more years playing golf with the rich and famous… who are willing to pay to be untouchable.

18. Arthur must be getting senile …or punch drunk, to have spent his time criticising such a stand of the BLP… as articulated by Marshall…
    Bushie would have actually voted AGAINST the shiite bill.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman….the government is even overlooking the fact that because of Leacock and his unethical practices in the Hawkesworth failed extradition and set up, the government is now being sued, but what do the useless ministers and Leacock care…it will be the taxpayers have to pay for Leacock’s other bosses trying to get rid of their competition.

20. same spit different day.

no solutions to the myriad of problems.

21. The Leader of the Opposition was not unreasonable nor out of place in championing the cause of the poor and defenceless,protecting their rights and freedoms.The suffering NCC staff and the suffering BIDC staff have not been protected by this administration nor by their unions.If the Leader of the Opposition is using her good office to make this administration and the unions to look bad,I say well done Mia.
    Sorry for Leigh Trotman if he has been caught in the melee.He is without doubt an efficient public servant.

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

These are the things that are important to the DLP. They are more important than anticorruption legislation. You people really understand the type of shite-hounds the people elected to office, though? They push for tax increases but sleep on ITAL. They pushing for a restoration of their 10% but telling people that they cannot pay others. They support and justify 7 million for one year of celebrations, yet they say they cannot buy a single garbage truck to collect the island-wide pile ups. Again I say, wuhna people really understand wuh running the island? And let us face it, Owen Arthur has his axe sharpen for Mia Mottley. Anyone expect him to say any different? I agree with the Mottley clan not to support a bill for two single civil servants to have a five-year extension to their current retirement age. These are the mindboggling priorities that the DLP piss poor brigade see as important.

23. Some one should tap Arthur on the shoulder and remind him parliament should be about doing the people’s business and not be coloured or given priority based on whether the change is driven by constitution. The consideration must be always about people.

Owen Arthur needs to stand the hell down and they all need to remember, particularly the government ministers, that the money belongs to the taxpayers, it’s not theirs to do whatever they feel….or to dish it out to the likes of Leacock, when they feel.

25. I don’t know where else to post this and it is off-topic but I just received my water bill and there is a flyer announcing that BWA is conducting a survey of all customers. They will require the following:
    1. Name of legal owner of the property
    2. Email address
    3. A contact number
    4. Identification (passport, driver’s license, national registration number)
    5. A photo ID is also required for certification
    6. The name of the tenant/occupant (if the property is not owner occupied) and contact information
    7. The property agent and contact information
    8. Property information and photos
    9. Invoice receipt preference (email, sms, post office)
    10. In the case of registered business (its trade name, registration number, telephone number, and email address of the owner of the business).

Everyone happy with the new intrusion into your life in order to continue receiving a water supply? Lucky they haven’t asked for fingerprints and a DNA sample. Pray tell what any of the above information gathering has to do with the delivery of water? Will CBC be the next to require this extensive and intrusive information in order to get the nightly government propaganda? How about FLOW, BL&P and Natural Gas – are they next? Big brother wants to watch us!!

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What’s really troubling here is, a relative of mine visiting the island had not seen Speightown for many years, took a trip to that area last week and was horrified at the dilapidated condition of the place.

I thought that was Owens constituency St. Peter, how come it’s sadstate and condition does not bother him and he is more concerned about the DPP getting another 5 years and taxpayers dollars for creating more problems in the society and in the judiciary….and collect a pension…. just like David Simmons.

The politicians and ministers are being paid a salary to solve the myriad problems. …these are creating more problems.

27. The sad part of this drama played out yesterday in Parliament is the two positions when declared vacant in accordance with the Constitution,makes way for two junior public servants to enter the Public Service out of that pool of over 3000 just out of school/varsity.
    These are two professionals highly paid and maintained by the privy purse already,one driving a high end Benz that he doesn’t want to give up.I say to the two,ride off into the sunset,Barbados is appreciative of the public service contribution of Leigh Trotman.The other man is Guyanese so I don’t know anything about him other than he is notorious for substituting manslaughter for outright murder,the one case that sticks out was the murder of the young 16 year old Russian born resident involving a Guyanese murderer and the case of 2 notorious Guyanese named Singh whom he sent packing after accepting a fine in the magistrates court for a huge amount of ganja they were caught with red handed and the most recent case of Philip Nicholls and his family being subjected to what looks like false arrest and harassment and the discontinuance of the case after about 5 or 6 years.All these and other matters have to be paid out of the privy purse because of the ineptitude of that office whereas Trotman’s office sought to save money,the DPP office wasted it and OSA of all people cannot see the foolishness at play here.Stuart has repeatedly demonstrated his unsuitability for public office.

28. Fearplay,

You have got to be kidding! If my bill is current are they going to be turning off my water supply when I refuse to comply? Is this shit legal?

Com-sing-a-song like he will soon have a new song out. Are they trying to distract him from something? We may soon have to put him on retainer and speed dial..

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

To abstain IS NOT TO VOTE AGAINST!!

There is a subtlety which de ole man shall explain in the following hopefully short lines.

“Will no one rid me of this Thomas Beckett? I could easily have said Nazim Blackett whose police brutality matter is now giving the top brass there serious problems to get “go away”

Those words got Beckett slaughtered at an altar according to history books.

Leigh Trotman has been and continues to be the bane of the DBLP administrations for time immemorial

So to abstain means that he will in one flail swoop be ousted for the two appreciative teifing government administrations.

But since both have benefitted from the incredibly outlandish decisions of th DPP it would do them all well NOT TO BE SEEN AS SEEKING TO OUST THE DPP WHO IS THEIR FRIEND IN TIME OF NEED.

Listen to the dissembling speech of Dale Smiley Teets.

It is misdirection at its highest and a gamble that Trotman is relieved of that position while leaky cock may survive if (a) his birthday falls later and (b) such date will permit the incoming BLP government and its Default Prime Minister to recall the allegedly compromised prosecutor

Wunna does play chess?

Dis is a huff you move ooops dat is from draughts right?

30. @ FearPlay July 20, 2016 at 2:32 PM #

I don’t know where else to post this and it is off-topic but I just received my water bill and there is a flyer announcing that BWA is conducting a survey of all customers. They will require the following:

………………………………………..

I had heard “Tall Boy” speak about this some weeks ago on Brasstacks and heard the ad from GIS,

Later for them, they are not getting anymore information from me…..when I applied for a water supply I gave them my info, go find it, not again. Sick of this invasion of my privacy.

31. @ Donna & prodigal

Apparently, you only have to give them the info if you want a chance to win an ipad.

It sounds like a childish, pie-in-the-sky scheme to put together a new database.
    How will they even be able to verify the new information collected?
    steupsss…
    Sounds like another hair-brained ‘Carl Moore’ scheme to Bushie….
    LOL….

32. @ Gabriel July 20, 2016 at 3:21 PM #

The sad part of this drama played out yesterday in Parliament is the two positions when declared vacant in accordance with the Constitution,makes way for two junior public servants to enter the Public Service out of that pool of over 3000 just out of school/varsity………………
    ……………………………………………………………..

This, another unwarranted attack on Mia and Santia has left me very sad. As you well know, I was an ardent supporter of OSA and I just cannot understand why he does not let it go and move on where Mia is concerned.

I am in agreement with their position, Dale and Kerry made excellent contributions against the bill and he did not attack them.

You cannot get this government to do right by poor Barbadians but they can find time to bring a bill to extend the years for the DPP and AG. I agree with the AG not this DPP. What was so hypocritical of the PM was that he had a lot to say when the BIDC sent home workers who had or were nearing 60 years but now had the nerve to extend two public servants’ retirement age. Look at how the NCC workers were treated by him and the ERT.

How hypocritical can he be!

This was not a matter of opposing for opposing sake, the Opposition has supported the government when it made sense.OSA knows that he cannot say the same for the Thompson led Opposition during his 1994-2008 tenure. Case in point, the decision to appoint David Simmons to be CJ……..I heard the same OSA said that he discussed the matter with Thompson who agreed, told him he was in agreement and would support Simmons ………..then when the motion was put in play, Thompson went out and lambasted OSA and the decision. He made political hay of it. Thompson opposed OSA in and out of Parliament so I do not know what OSA is going on with.

What damage he is doing to his legacy!

33. LOL, Bush Tea!

What’s up with Carl Moore and our identity? All he has to do is…..do not read our posts!

34. Cuh dear Prodigal, Carl has found a niche …after 70 years of trying to match up to Ossie…. give him a chance to shine nuh!!
    He tried journalism; he tried quiet; he tried BEING quiet; …. and was mediocre at best so far in all areas … not even able to match his famous cousin.

Can you blame the fella for hitching on to David’s fantastic Blog?
    He won’t get any serious exposure in the shiite Nation….
    …and based on his history, you CERTAINLY cannot expect him to put up any original thoughts or concepts….
    Hence… he wants names and addresses (like the Water works …. LOL)

Much like our other friend ‘Jack Boremann’ don’t you think…?

35. LOL….Bushie…………it is Crop Over, let’s laugh!

36. I am not aware that the Auditor General is near retirement age. Can anyone shed some light?

37. @Heather

The government wants to regularise the pensionable ages in to two offices to 67 based on objections raised by the incumbents.

38. Today’s Front Page story in the Sunday Sun is a damning indictment on the system, players, decision makers.

When BU was narrating the litany of woes we had the political partisan JAs preaching that BU was about doom and gloom.

Just have a visit to our Tales of the Courts

39. 13 years we read a human being is on remand at Dodds and counting.

40. If the local protagonists have no conscience,we are bound to hear from the US and the ICHR on this poor state of affairs existing in our judicial system.These are the matters Amused should be using his ‘good offices’ to resolve.After all I am sure Amused is a taxpayer and although a brief or two or three might come the way of the practice,it does not help that this special breed of Bajan professional is included among those who will have to pay the piper when the time comes.Its against the law to falsely imprison anyone.

41. David July 20, 2016 at 9:28 AM #

“One wonders if the motive behind the Opposition voting against the Constitutional amendment yesterday is about hurrying Charles Leacock out of office. Unfortunately the Auditor General is caught in the wash. ”

If the Opposition is using a motive as you imply to run Mr Leacock from office as the Government did to Mr Dottin then the methods are equally unfair. The retirement age of the Auditor General was constitutionally set at 62 when the required age for government workers was was 60. Notwithstanding the amendment to the pensions act which harmonised the retirement age bringing it to 67 in line with the National Insurance Act and regulations the retirement age of the Auditor general remained at 62. I see nothing wrong in trying to redress the imbalance.

42. Heather July 22, 2016 at 2:30 PM #

I am not aware that the Auditor General is near retirement age. Can anyone shed some light?

Far from it. He is a relatively young man.

43. Both of them are not yet 60.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The DPP should be in prison, not trying to get an extended pension age.

The government is too dishonest. .they are tryig to reward Leacock, who is not doing his job.

45. WW&C
    I can’t believe his advice is also costing the government millions of dollars in charges of false arrest and imprisonment as people believe to be the case.I hope he did not advise OSA to pursue the case against Al Barack.

46. “David July 20, 2016 at 1:23 PM #

Some one should tap Arthur on the shoulder and remind him parliament should be about doing the people’s business and not be coloured or given priority based on whether the change is driven by constitution. The consideration must be always about people.”

Mr Arthur seems to have this incontrovertible belief that all else must dislike Ms Mottley because he does and this seemingly paranoia has caused him to lose many of his trusted colleagues in its wake. He should be the last to criticise Ms Mottley for her stand on the constitutional change when he and he alone is responsible for the change not having been done when the previous amendment to the pensions act to move retirement age to 67 was made. I wonder what mirror image does the drunkard and thief as he was so disparagingly referred to by his political opponents and the Acs now partners in profit does he see of himself and portray to his beautiful young daughter as he sits there like humpty dumpty behind -not among- those who launched upon him one of the most despicable assassinations of character not seen in the history of political campaigning in Barbados since the days of Eric’Fly’ Sealy.

It is really heart rending to see a man who did manage the economy well during his term in office in such a sad and broken state.