Ideas & SuggestionsFollowing the Referendum on Brexit, I would imagine the entire outward bound tourism industry in Britain has gone into overdrive to mitigate the effect – both short and long term – that it will inevitably have on their businesses and market share. I have already seen opportunities that ‘we’ as a destination could potentially piggy-back onto to maintain our UK arrival numbers.

For instance a company called Fresh Horizons Travel, has almost, in anticipation, spent the last 18 months investigating how the payment model, popular in other retail sectors, could be applied to the travel industry. They have launched a ‘0’ per cent finance for travel’ scheme, where customers’ can book their holidays and pay with 12 interest-free payments.

According to their Managing Director, Leslie McCann, ‘this will potentially revolutionise the way UK consumers buy their holidays’.

He quotes the retail company, DFS (formerly Direct Furnishing Supplies) who have grown from single store location in 1969 to currently dominating the upholstered furniture sector with a GB Pounds 3 billion annual turnover and 25.7 per cent countrywide market share and who have applied the concept very successfully to their products. Extended finance for holidays is of course nothing new to the UK travel industry, but the magical word in this particular case is zero interest. Perhaps ‘we’ as a destination could study the feasibility of smart partnering with Fresh Horizons to see if there is any way that we can pass on the obvious financial advantages to our visitors from Britain.

Another area where we could possibly influence is credit and debit card market. Currently users get a near perfect exchange rate from most card issuing firms, but then up 3 per cent non-sterling exchange fee is added. This effectively devalues the visitors overall disposable spending.

According to the Money Saving Expert website, there are exceptions and identifies several card products including Halifax Clarity (www.halifax.co.uk/creditcards/clarity-card/), The Creation Everyday (www.creation.co.uk) and The Aqua Card (www.aquacard.co.uk).

All these do not charge exchange fees and in the case of the last one mentioned which even gives a 0.5 per cent cash back on all purchases, albeit there is a daunting interest rate if the balance is not paid on time on this particular card. Again, is there some way we can work with these institutions to result in our cherished visitors reducing the final cost of doing business with Barbados, whilst on holiday?

Thirdly, one of the single largest component parts of a holiday to Barbados from the UK is the flight cost, especially for non-tour operator independent travellers. From time to time both legacy carriers, British Airways and Virgin Atlantic, reduce the mileage requirement for those passengers who have amassed miles or points.

This is especially helpful in the softer low season periods and it can make all the difference in destination decision choice.

10 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Offsetting Brexit”

1. A buyer coming promised for Paradise Beach aka Four Seasons.

David posted: “Following the Referendum on Brexit, I would imagine the > entire outward bound tourism industry in Britain has gone into overdrive to > mitigate the effect – both short and long term – that it will inevitably > have on their businesses and market share. I have ” >

2. In addition to holding down the price of travel to Barbados for UK tourists, we must improve the quality of the tourist experience. That means more and better tourist attractions, a higher standard of restaurants and entertainment, more special-interest activities for tourists to participate in, based on our customer research.
    We are fortunate in that we are NOT France, the Middle East or Mexico where terrorism, the drug trade, food poisoning and language barriers have created problems for British tourists.

3. @ David we need a “cropover” blog with some of the latest music.

4. Colonel Buggy Avatar

chad99999 July 18, 2016 at 6:09 AM #
    But we have created a major problem of our own,which many Barbadians now take for granted .

5. Colonel Buggy Avatar

http://coscap.org/musicusers

6. @ David,

I am listening to cropover music on youtube. Ignore my previous suggestion. Coscap might get yuh. lol

7. We know travelers that start making provision for their next overseas holiday as soon as they get home from one by crediting their VISA card with an amount every month that is reserved for their next holiday spend. Destinations like Barbados do well by advertising in credit card magazines and brochures.

8. From: Peter
    Sent: Friday, July 22, 2016 3:13 PM
    To: Adrian
    Subject: Air Canada Winter 16/17 Capacity

Hi Adrian: 

Hope you are well!  

Pleased to let you know that Barbados will be on the receiving end of additional capacity from Air Canada for the coming Winter 2016/17 season. 

·         Air Canada will re-introduce 767-300 Rouge equipment (280 seats) on the Toronto (YYZ) route initially on Saturday November 5, 2016 and then fully on Monday November 7, 2016 through April 2017.  As a reminder, during November 2015 and December 2015, Air Canada operated varied Mainline equipment on the route with capacity varying daily between 120 seats, 146 seats and 211 seats.  The 767-300 Rouge was originally introduced on January 7, 2016.    

·         Starting Saturday December 19, 2016, double-daily service will be introduced on the Toronto (YYZ)/Barbados (BGI) route utilizing A319 (Rouge) aircraft (Capacity 136: 12 Premium Rouge/124 Rouge).  These rotations will operate on Mondays, Fridays and Saturdays.  

·         The double daily service will be suspended from the week commencing Monday January 9, 2017 through Saturday February 11, 2017. 

·         Double daily service will resume week of February 13, 2017 through April 29, 2017.

Flight times for the second service are as follows:

·         Southbound AC Rouge 1716

Depart YYZ: 10:45

Arrive BGI: 17:05

·         Northbound: AC Rouge 1717

Depart BGI: 18:00

Arrive YYZ: 22:45

Essentially, there will be an additional forty-two (42) flights – equating to 5,712 seats – thanks to the double daily introduction.  

Additionally, pleased to formally advise that our seasonal Montreal service will move from three (3) weekly flights as enjoyed past winter to four (4) weekly commencing Thursday December 22, 2016.  For this coming winter, we will enjoy service on Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday.     

For ease of reference, the below table reflects the capacity on both routes being provided by Air Canada for the November 2016 – April 2017 period.

ROUTE

W14/15

W15/16

W16/17

ABS CHANGE

% CHANGE

Toronto (YYZ)

Montreal (YUL)

Thanks for your continued support and do advise any queries!

Regards:

Peter Mayers

Director

Visit our new website: http://www.visitbarbados.org

110 Sheppard Avenue East

Suite 205

North York, ON M2N 6Y8

Canada

PBX: 416 214 9880 | Fax: 416 214 9882

Email: peterm@visitbarbados.org

9. Adrian, have just booked my usual annual flight to come to Barbados in November same price as ever, around £500 from Newmont. Yes, it will be 10% more expensive to shop when I get there so I’ll just have to shop more frugally! It’s going to be Popular and Shopsmart for me!

I don’t usually go to places where I might be seen as a target by Muslim extremists but I’d avoid Mullins (not that I go there) so many lobsters in one place. One can’t help wondering about Holetown Supercentre either.