GrantsnippetOn July 8, 2016, a Court decision made on June 23, 2016, some 15 days earlier, commanded less than 120 words on the Court pages of the Nation newspaper and barely a few seconds on the Voice of Barbados. In April 2012 the same Court matter was trumpeted far and wide by the Nation newspaper, Voice of Barbados and Barbados Today. The paucity of and delay in coverage regarding the dismissal of all charges against the Grants, has attracted the attention of Barbados Underground.

When it was first reported in April 2012 that medical doctor Malcolm Grant and his wife were charged with stealing 1/2 million dollars from Sandy Crest Medical Centre, BU’s immediate reaction was NO WAY! For those who do not know, Dr. Grant and his late wife solely established the parent company of Sandy Crest Medical Centre in October 2003, before inviting others, including Dr. Brian Charles, to participate in its ownership.

In the less than 120 words, the Nation newspaper editors committed to the story on July 8 (captured above) it caused alarm bells to go off in the BU household. The penultimate paragraph of the report states:-

When the matters came up for a final time last June 23, with a representative from the medical centre present, the Court heard that the money had been paid back. Magistrate Douglas Frederick then dismissed the charges.”

The traditional media, formally labelled the fourth estate, plays a very important role in sustaining an orderly society. Any sign that the traditional media has been compromised in its mandate must be prioritized by Barbadians. BU is satisfied the local media is compromised. We have seen the local media surrender to the advertiser and the political ruling class. For those who doubt BU check the CBC TV archives to view an interview with former president Emanuel Joseph of the now defunct Barbados Association Journalists. Coincidentally, Joseph is a reporter at the Peter Harris controlled Barbados Today.

If a member of the BU household was not following the Grant case closely, the less than 120 word report by the Nation newspaper and 10 second Voice of Barbados newscast would have passed unnoticed. Dr. Grant did not pay back money to Peter Harris and Sandy Crest, the case was dropped, end of story. It would be a worthwhile exercise in determining how and why the Nation Publishing Group of Companies reported that the money was repaid? Was this primarily intended to embarrass and compromise Dr. Grant? We already know why Barbados Today will not be motivated to be prolix about the outcome of the case.

186 responses to “Peter Harris and Sandy Crest Medical Centre Forced to Drop Charges Against the Grants”

1. Help, the PM of Barbados who is the leader of the Demonic Louse People, is awake after wrestling with his demon conscience and would like consultation,

2. “Harris born in India
    Leacock born in Guyana
    People come from wherever they come from and are allowed to disadvantage Barbadians and a government of the people for the people by the people,instead of representing the people’s interest allow furriners to come here and do as they like with impunity.”

Gabriel can you answer the following questions ?

Where was Michael Carrington Speaker of the House born?
    Where was Leroy Parris born?

Where was Dennis Lowe born?
    Where was Michael Lashley born?

Where was Dr Grant born?
    Where was Mrs Grant born?

@BushShite

what is a typical Guyanese???
    What is a typical Bajan???

Keep waiting for a spiritual intervention people instead of getting up off wunna rasses and doing something about the situation in Barbados. Talk is effing cheap !

3. Where you from again Islandgal….?

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Where was Dr Grant born? St. Vincent

Where was Mrs Grant born? Trinidad

The other mentioned born in Barbados are just nuisance crooks preying on the people who voted then in and pay their salaries.

Peter Harris got taxpayer funded education at Combermere….and his repayment to the island is to steal from policyholders and injured people…under the guise of providing jobs…ask the people who work for him the price they pay

Bajans, everyone need to get up and do something about them all, elections is coming up, you have the power….get rid of Fruendel and Adriel Nitwit, particularly if they dont get rid of DPP Leacock…send a message to both political parties who have enabled, condoned and participated in demoralizing and disenfranchising the voters on the island who elected them.

Five minutes after being elected, they all, the newly minted ministers conveniently forget that it’s the majoriy put them there and they get ready to sell you out for 5 years, they then remember you just before elections…..when they need your votes again….send them a message this time.

5. https://www.facebook.com/sheri.veronica/videos/966018476828891/

BushShite this is the typical Bajan

6. de pedantic Dribbler July 14, 2016 at 2:58 PM #

“From memory the owners of Rocklyn Bus comp ran an operation – with some success – and were not articled MBAs or industry ‘experts’. But they were good and competent in their ‘management’ and gained expertise as they progressed.”

@ Dribbler

Yes, I agree that “the owners of Rocklyn Bus comp ran an operation – with some success.”

However, I hope you are not trying to compare Mrs. Rock operating a bus service in the 1960s with TB’s operations in 2016.

Let us engage in “practical and reasonable discourse.”

Whereas Rocklyn Bus Company’s [RBC] fleet comprised of about 25 buses, their market segmentation and target market were confined to St. Andrew, hence the company serviced St. Andrew routes only, TB has a fleet of over 200 buses, which service the entire island.
    Additionally, in those days the “passenger traffic” much smaller as compared with today, and the last bus, in some cases, was at 6pm or 8pm.

In TB’s Princess Alice terminal, for example, has to allocate buses to service routes such as Eden Lodge, Holder’s Hill, Cave Hill, Grazettes, Wansted, City Circle, St. Albans, Speightstown, Connell Town, Josey Hill, Boscobelle, Indian Ground, St. Lucy’s Church, Sturges, District D and St. Andrew’s Church, every hour.

RBC’s buses were used to service particular routes. For example, anyone seeing A336 would know that is the St. Simon’s bus or A65 is the White Hill bus. Hence, there was no need for management to know “demographics.”

7. @ Artax
    You have a natural talent for trying to enlighten the hopeless….
    Perhaps you could be a politician after all…. 🙂

8. @ Islandgal
    What is it that you are trying to say…?
    That Bajans are brass bowls?
    That the typical Bajan is no better than the typical average idiot anywhere…?

What is your point?
    Steupsss…
    Where um is you come from again…? …and why have you CHOSEN to live among us again..?

9. @Artax July 15, 2016 at 10:12 AM “Whereas Rocklyn Bus Company’s [RBC] fleet comprised of about 25 buses, their market segmentation and target market were confined to St. Andrew, hence the company serviced St. Andrew routes only>

A Simple Response: Not quite factual. The Rocklyn Bus Company ran at least one route that is identical to that now run as the Transport Boards’s Rock Hall route. That is the bus left Bridgrtown (directly in front of St. Mary’s Church) which was then the bus stand, but is now a public park, and travelled out of town and along Eagle Hall, Green Hill, Warrens, Redman’s Village, Orange Hill, Westmoreland, Bakers, Black Bess and to Rock Hall and back along the same route to Bridgetown

@Artax July 15, 2016 at 10:12 AM “Additionally, in those days the “passenger traffic” much smaller as compared with today, and the last bus, in some cases, was at 6pm or 8pm.”

A Simple Response: Where is your data? When the Rocklyn Bus Company was in business very few Bajans cars. I recall those buses being jam packed with housewives, hawkers, store and government clerks, firemen and policemen, and school children, country children who were being educated at the Modern, the Federal, the Wakefield, the Cooperative, Lynch’s Secondary (Green Lynch) and other private secondary schools which catered to working class Bajans.

10. @David July 14, 2016 at 6:48 AM “in fairness to Harris we have not given life to the allegation that he supplied former BLP ministers ‘below the counter’ with viagra.

You mean to tell me that there are Cabinet Ministers too cheap (or too bashful) to buy their own Viagra?

In which case those fellows don’t deserve any sex.

None at all.

11. @Artax
    Whereas Rocklyn Bus Company’s [RBC] fleet comprised of about 25 buses, their market segmentation and target market were confined to St. Andrew, hence the company serviced St. Andrew routes only
    +++++++
    We know that DPD’s argument doesn’t hold water but yuh don’t have to beat down on DPD anymore yuh aint see he promised to return to the discussion but he missed the bus and is “rambling’ bout the countryside. The Rocklyn buses also plied the Gall Hill and St. Patricks routes, e.g. The Gall Hill bus journeyed from the Fairchild Street bus stand travelled up Collymore Rock, through Wildey, Sargeant’s Village, Vauxhall, Kendal Hill, Maxwell Hill, Cane Vale to Gall Hill and ended its journey at the Lodge Road and Water Street junction.

The St. Patricks bus covered the same territory up to Vauxhall then it continued through Kingsland, Montrose, Water Street and along Lodge Road to St. Patricks.

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Sageant, LOLL. I didn’t return as events of other importance took over and I anticipated you folks had moved on. But I have no problem completing this journey. You guys are on a path that skews the entire body of knowledge of management and leadership to a direct contradiction of your previous writings here so I am comfortable watching you slide further into the abyss. LOLL.

@Artax, bro you know your buses. Wow. I couldn’t give you the nos. for any of those I caught fo my neck of the woods far less of those steaming through on their way to St. Andrew.

My friend the fact that Messrs Rocklyn ran a 25 bus outfit with some success whether only in St. Andrew or not is the point. The simple world is LEADERSHIP.

The technical knowledge from ‘professional managers’ is always necessary as we grow the business but skillful leadership is still the alpha and omega.

Undoubtedly technical skills can make a load of difference when it comes to financing dipsi-doodles, accounting rules to get the best tax breaks, avoiding HR head-aches etc etc. . Who questions that?

But if you, Sargeant and Mr Top-Management-is-paramount-10 point-plan himself the BushTea are gong to argue with me that a true leader who starts his own transportation company with the vision to grasp the logistical realities of moving buses and people around one parish does not have the basic leaderships skills and energy that are needed to LEAD a team to run an island wide system then I step off that impractical discourse.

So @Sargeant this time I would not offer to come back. No need to beat my head against the wisdom of management study and the realities that inform our knowledge of the leaders who took their ideas from rum shops, garages and their bed-rooms to become successful operations employing hundreds of people…before they employed the ‘articulated professionals’.

Appointees – competent or otherwise – who fudge up Statutory Corps which themselves are rife with politicization have absolutely nothing to do with real management and leadership and why we are even commingling the two is beyond me.

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Incidentally, @Artax re “However, I hope you are not trying to compare Mrs. Rock operating a bus service in the 1960s with TB’s operations in 2016.”

Ehh! You not serious, right. I would turn that question around on you.

‘I hope you are not trying to compare a modern day TB manager WITHOUT all his/her excel sheets, dbase analytics et al trying to operate Mrs Rock’s bus service in 1960.’

It is my estimation that pound for pound a true entrepreneurial businesswoman/man then would beat her/her comparative competitor today. Take away the tech and some modern folks are absolutely lost…literally and figuratively.

14. @The Gnome July 13, 2016 at 11:49 AM “Dr. Grant will not tell you but you can also ask his present lawyer. T is starnge that go to bat for this criminal…”

Dear Mr. Gnome: Why are you calling the gentleman a criminal when he has NEVER been convicted of anything?

Doesn’t our legal system operate under a presumption of innocence?

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….Simple…there is a method to the madness, when the demon Harris and his lackey employees/lawyers lose a case in the court system that they have manipulated for decades, with the help of David Simmon and the DPP….they float lies across the island to further ruin the reputations of those they set up…and could not lock up.

Harris cannot put such information in his online newspaper barbadostoday about Dr. Grant, he would get sued up the wazoo… so he is trying a ting on BU…see if he could get the blogmaster to do his dirty work…

What neither of them are aware of is that Harris stepped in some doo doo some years ago and he is being watched since that time, thoroughly investigated and those he pissed off are just waiting for the right time to offload his nastiness for the world, he does not know the minute or the hour and because he has done such evil things on the island to so many people, aided by vicious lawyers….he does not know who..lol..ha-ha.

16. @ de pedantic Dribbler

I don’t want to prolong this “discussion,” but perhaps you should admit you are a bit over your head on this one. I purposely neglect to mention a few things as it relates to the operation of Rocklyn Bus Company and the Transport Board

While TB operated depots/terminals at Haggatts, St. Andrew; Speightstown, St. Peter; Lower Green, Fairchild Street, Weymouth in Bridgetown; and Mangrove in St. Philip, in addition to the associated personnel, in house workshop and security overheads, Mrs. Rock’s buses were parked on a pasture with little or no security and she did not have similar operational overheads as TB.

But more importantly, what EVIDENCE do you have, other than assumption, that RBC and other private concessionaires were SUCCESSFUL OPERATIONS, especially taking into consideration they were taken over by government, or are you presenting this argument just to “score points?”

You contribution should be dismissed based on that the fact you are suggesting management skills can be acquired in a rum shop where a number of “arm chair theorist” come out and talk shiite about how they “feel” something should work without presenting any definitive substantiating evidence.

I’m sure an analysis of the managerial operations of Rocklyn, Elite, Yonkers, Progressive, etc, would reveal a number of inefficiencies.

Additionally, you did not consider the existing industrial climate during the 1960s, at a time when autocratic management was the norm, and workers deliberately worked below full capacity. Operations during that period were simply inefficient, unsystematic, and uncooperative in nature. There were not any work performance standards for workers; therefore, “a fair day’s work” was arbitrary. Hence, bus drivers and conductors worked under adverse conditions because they had no other option to provide for their families.

Also, RBC would have been managed on a personal family-like basis and employees would have been loyal to individual supervisors rather than to the organisation.

Do you know if management selected workers who possessed the skills and abilities that match the needs of the task?

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Artax, I really do not know how you have taken this discussion in the specifics of Rocklyn operations and the industrial practices of the 1960s and expect to validate this discourse of the inefficiencies present then as compared to supposed efficiency present now.

With that line of reasoning if you want me to say I am over my head then so be it.

Your position and that of your cohorts speaks to a view that does not conform to my experience or my reading of management literature and case studies. Obviously your experiences and readings support your views.

The original discourse was – if you allow me to get us back there – about effective leadership/management, (2) required management skills to be successful and (3) can Bajan companies (egs TB, LIAT) expand without ‘articled’ CEOs at the helm.

My view – certainly not original – is simple. A good leader who has the ‘balls’ to start and direct a going concern and make what we accept as a decent go of it would surely have as much chance for success in the 1960s or the 2016s.

The second point was also as simple. Given the natural vagaries of life and business it is also rational and reasonable based on evidence of others to expect that a good leader would employ management specialists as her business grows and she drives for expansion in a competitive environment.

This is NOT about Rocklyn’s success per se. It is about leadership. Hers was an example. Pick another that meets your criteria if you find Rockly unacceptable.

Good leadership is not bound by times or eras. Good leadership and good management is about being adaptable. Leaders either handle the issues or the company fails or is bought by a bigger T&T/global company!!!

The use of rum-shops was for local context. Ideas are discussed many places and initiated in garages aka Microsoft or a garage in Warrens.

Let’s agree. End the discourse. This is absolutely too simple and basic to prolong with claims of ‘scoring points’ and invalid comparisons to 1960s industrial practices as if in 2016 the industrial issues are so much more impossible to decipher or resolve.

18. @ Dribbler

You were the one who introduced Rocklyn into the “argument” and I asked how you could compare an operation with about 25 buses in the 1960s to an operation where TB has to concentrate on allocating buses to services multiple routes.

I find that you are a very arrogant, sanctimonious individual who thinks you are always correct. Then you use pejorative, condescending remarks to “put down your opponent” as being stupid.

You need to come off your “high horse.”

19. @ Dribbler

I have now come to understand why Bush Tea, Pachamama and many others in this forum are always on your case.

20. Artax,

Lord knows I have put many licks in this administration and will probably have cause to so again. But in this situation I have knowledge that there is far more in the mortar than the pestle. You asked me before if it is sabotage and this time I will answer you frankly- YES! An already bad situation is being made far worse by an individual who has been heard to boast proudly of his intention.

21. Hence the Trini mechanics.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donna….that’s why the people havr to apply pressure on them from now until the day of elections.,..the people have the numbers to apply the pressure required….the minorities, cockroaches that they are, have no such power and are in the dark waiting to see which idiot politician to pay.

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Artax July 17, 2016 at 9:48 AM .. I would absolutely have to agree with your post there….

Someone must be sanctimonious to push hard at a stated position. And of course they must think they are ‘always correct’ because they state their case based on their interpretation of the facts. Surely they must use “pejorative, condescending remarks to “put down [an] opponent”” simple by restating facts to make a point.

Throughout the discourse with you I surely must have done all those things…the fact that they would only have come AFTER YOU said I was talking shiiittte does not in any way make this a case of mirrow-viewed name calling. LOLLL. Surely not.

My friend. let me share: like all others here I have strong opinions. I believe that I state them with decorum and decency. Right or Wrong.

I would say to you sir that ALL of the folks here who have strong opinions and get very snarky at times (you included) absolutely clash with me…. I tend to push back hard and generally use their snark right back at them.

Very few, none actually, of the posters who generally do not use snark ‘clash’ with me. We state our views disagree amiably at times and move on.

So lesson to the wise, if you can see me as so “sanctimonious … pejorative [and] condescending” it may do you the world of good to have a tad bit of introspection.

And for the record I will reread our exchanges…I really need to see where I crossed the line from opinion to holier than thou disparaging criticism which belittled your views.

Discussions on BU never fail to amaze.

24. @ Dribbler

You have not failed to amaze or deliver.

Your contribution verifies my opinion that you are an arrogant, sanctimonious, condescending individual.

And, thanks for the lesson. I took your advice about the “tad bit of introspection,” and realized that I am out of my league when compared with a man of your immense ability and superior intellect.

Hence, before engaging you further on any topic, I will remember the futility of such an attempt.

So I will stay at my level. “Egg ent got nuh right at big rock party.”

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Peter Harris is becoming so insignificant, he only got 175 comments…and he and the idiots he owns in Barbados actually believes him to be some kingpin or other…lol

26. Donna July 17, 2016 at 10:00 AM #

“But in this situation I have knowledge that there is far more in the mortar than the pestle. You asked me before if it is sabotage and this time I will answer you frankly- YES! An already bad situation is being made far worse by an individual who has been heard to boast proudly of his intention.”

You claim to have a source in whom you have expressed a level of confidence and believe the information they provide. I also know many workers of UCAL who I respect and in whom I have a similar level of confidence, since they have not given me reason to think of them otherwise. When I speak to them INDIVIDUALLY, their INFORMATION is SIMILARLY CONSISTENT.

And as the saying goes “1,000 French-men can’t be wrong.” Unless of course you would want me to believe they REHEARSED their stories.

In situations such as these it is highly likely that one individual may exhibit a particular bias and would interpret a situation to suit that bias. And as such, why should I believe one individual over numerous others?

According to information received, there are FOUR Trinidadians, comprising of one electrician, two specialists in engine repair and transmission rebuilding and a consultant, who were also provided with accommodation at a location in St Patrick’s, Christ Church.
    Perhaps your source would care to explain the rationale and justification in paying these Trinidadians as much as $1,400 per week, while Barbadians are paid approximately $720 weekly.

Another reason why I have great difficulty believing your “version of the events” is, while Simpson Motors Ltd. is contracted to repair and maintain the 2006 Mercedes Benz OH Marcopolo Torino buses and Trans-Tech and another service provider [who I cannot remember at this time], are responsible for the other buses, UCAL has been limited to undertaking specific types of maintenance of certain buses.

Unfortunately, saying you have “knowledge” and not wanting to reveal it, questions the credibility of that knowledge and its source.

At the end of the day I will respect your views on this issue.

27. I am sorry that I cannot fill you in on my source but I have know him for forty-seven years and our relationship is such that he couldn’t tell me a lie even when he wanted to.

28. Hmmmmmmmm!!!???!!

29. Please note, I NEVER asked you to “fill (me) in on your source.”

30. oops – have known

31. Notice that Leslie Haynes aka The Gnome is still conspicuously absent from BU. This is after his initial foray onto BU, he has certainly taken an about turn. Quite emblematic of his character. He is currently taking in the action from the “safety” of his IP address. LOL!

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dont think Peter Harris and the Gnome feel comfortable with all that dirty laundry airing, but they will not stop their dirty deeds, wicked actions in the supreme court against policyholder and injured claimants, he is greedy….., so between now and next March…..all they will get is online exposure, all the nasty things done to injured people by Harris will be out there, because he does not want to pay compensation to victims, because he wants to see them suffer and dont get needed treatment. …it will all come out in the wash.

By the way…I hope someone is making sure to find out who is involved in bad drugs entering the country from Guatemala and India…this is something being talked about for the last 2 years…people better stay on top of this and expose the names of those involved or ya will have only dead people.

Make sure it is common knowledge worldwide…get international agencies involved.

33. @ Well Well

Is Peter Harris’ name also being implicated with the importation of bad drugs? Where are these drugs ending up? Pharmacies, clinics, hospitals? What type of drugs? Are others involved? Doctors, pharmacist, government officials? What does the GP on this thread have to say about this?

If this is true, God help us with some form of divine intervention.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…..they need to investigate who is importing these inferior quality drugs, these kill people, those who own clinics and doctors offices and have skin in the game are the ones to benefit the most from selling inferior quality drugs to bajans…the sick, elderly, small children and the injured are the ones most likely to die.

If people have information on this it should be exposed. The greedy and their corrupt partners in government will not care who lives or dies as long as their bank accounts look fat…that’s what they live fir.

35. […] know why Barbados Today will not be motivated to be prolix about the outcome of the case – Peter Harris and Sandy Crest Medical Centre Forced to Drop Charges Against the Grants – Barbados […]