corruptionAustria’s highest court annulled their recent presidential election. In delivering the decision the head of the court said:

“The decision I am announcing today has no winner and no loser, it has only one aim: to strengthen trust in the rule of law and democracy”.

That quotation set me thinking about this country’s elections that are constitutionally due in less than two years.

Over time there have been many calls by well-intentioned persons to change the electoral laws to ensure that elections are free and fair. My view is that their focus is too narrow. There are more than adequate laws to ensure that the system of electing the government is fair and transparent.

The obstacle to achieving fairness and transparency, in this regard, lies in what I describe as a system that is designed to be corrupt. The fact that no one has been prosecuted for corruption so far is testimony to the ingrained honesty of Barbadians or that the system has worked well to cover corruption.

It might have been unintentional, but the first steps in the process to where we find ourselves came with the passage of the 1974 constitutional amendments. Those amendments gave the Prime Minister the right to recommend the appointment of judges, after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition; and the right to be consulted on the appointments of permanent secretaries and their deputies, and heads of department and their deputies. But, from inception, the right to be consulted has been misinterpreted to mean that the Prime Minister recommends the appointments. In essence, the Public Service Commission has abdicated its role. Persons who have experienced the Public Service prior to 1974 lament the dramatic decline in today’s standards and output and trace the genesis to those amendments.

It is now widely accepted in the Public Service that an officer does not reach those grades unless he/she has some connection to the party in power or some other relationship to a political operative. A person who obtained an appointment this manner might find his/her impartiality compromised, and be less inclined to be apolitical as the Public Service Act requires.

While in power both political parties have complained that persons who were appointed by the “other side” have given less than their best when called upon to do so. This might be the reason why persons who were acting in senior posts, when the government changed in 2008, continue to act to this day.

To my mind, the Government might be using acting appointments to ensure the loyalty and compliance of those officers. A situation like this would lead to an officer giving his Minister the advice he wants rather than the best possible advice. Failing to give the Minister the advice he requires would result in the acting officer being reverted and replaced with someone more amenable to the Minister’s will.

The corruption in the system ensures that the politician always gets his way on important matters, whether awarding contracts or the appointing staff.

The political contamination in the electoral system is as bad or worse than the infelicities in the general Public Service. Under our laws, a politician can imprisoned, lose his seat, or disqualified from seeking future political office, if he/she is found to have overspent, bought vote, or filed a false return. The problem with the system is not that there is an absence of laws to regulate the process: it is that there is little or no enforcement.

Again, this lack of enforcement comes from the fact that politicians are required to select the persons who are required to regulate the same politicians who selected them in the first place. If that is not a recipe for corruption nothing is.

To strengthen trust in the rule of law and democracy, those well-intentioned persons would be better employed, campaigning against the entrenched corruption that is the Barbadian way.

119 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Corruption is the Barbadian Way”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Colonel

The average Bajan’s eyes are wide shut to these things.

2. @Caswell,
    What is your specific definition of “corruption”?
    You wrote…”there is little or no enforcement.”
    Enforcement can only be carried out when there is evidence and charges made. W can ensure that an offence does not occur by eternal vigilance. The most important thing, however is the integrity of the individual entrusted with the task. Persons reaching the upper level of the Civil Service, would have, based the merit system, and eternal vigilance, proven that they are persons possessing high degrees of integrity.

3. Watchman,
    You are one to watch. Why did you remove one item, retake the package and leave it on the desk. You had something to hide. No doubt.

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy

I pun de road now but jes tuh leh you know that I am going to use your 10:34 am post for one of the unlawful posters

It going be titled Pass

Report card. Teacher s comments. Grades. Pass mark. DLP forbidden public pictures in background

Yesireee ammmm you got a lawyer?

De reason I axe is becausing the idea is yours and it liable to “stir up social unrest, leading to violence as they are subject to wrong interpretations…..” So you liable tuh get lock up too

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

“The journey of 1,000 miles begins with the first step…”

While this may only be “half” of the journey to rid ourselves of this corruption REMEMBER WHEN THE BELL RINGS, NOT ONE EFFING SEAT!!

Give them a message unlike any other message they have ever heard.

http://imgur.com/qqrILM8

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
  7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
  8. Colonel Buggy Avatar

For Minister Lowe
    https://www.youtube.com/watch

9. @pieceuhderockyeahright ,

did you mean them or DEM? lol

or “them” mean all two both parties?

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hants

You remember that years ago the DLP used to be called Dems. So I was using it that way but now you mention it….lolol

I have a picture for you and I will post it in the Diaspora Corner when I get a chance and get home later

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

And when you actually thought that “summer was safe”

Maybe this is what the country really needs Bush Baths and GhostBusters

http://imgur.com/QkOMd2G

12. @Caswell

ERT, victory?

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I was in meetings all day and have not read the decision as yet. I would therefore have to wait and see before I comment.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/07/15/unfair-dismissal-3/

Caswell election is around the corner and the government pimp and fraud ministers can now see what is unfair….every votes counts for them now that they need the poor, unemploed voters to be reelected.

Kick them out…the politicians did not think they would need the majority again, or that everyone would forget the way Fruendel, Adriel Nitwit et al ignored the people, felt themselves too filled woth self importance to speak to the people, told lies, ran scams….kick them out.

15. @ David
    This was SO clearly done CONTRARY to the AGREED policy of ‘last in first out’ …that even a lowly legal light like the Froon was moved to PUBLICLY accept that it was done BADLY.
    Shiite man!!!
    It would have taken a legal decision of unprecedented idiocy to rule otherwise…. and Gollop is in enough shit as it is already…
    Wuh he recently came out and said that the government did not know what they were about with the finger-printing gaff…

What a thing nuh!!!

You can always confirm that idiots are running things by the way they tend to keep digging in attempts to get themselves out of a deep hole….
    Now …when Froon DOES NOT fire the jackass Lowe, you will know for sure that they are using explosives in the hole….

16. @Bush Tea

There is a decision handed down, now where is the money!

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol..

No money required, just votes will suffice and promises of jobs and this and that..lol

18. AC,

Please inform Bushie, so he can tell David&BU family that the NCC workers money is coming, the M of F waiting for a cheque from BNOC and Sealy waiting for a cheque from T&T

19. AC

The voters waiting too