Submitted by Angela Alleyne

chefetteAnother Rally Barbados which was held at the various venues across the island has just concluded.This yearly event continues to prove that there are indeed two Barbados’. Imagine SOL ,CHEFETTE and DIGICEL can sponsor not one, not two, but three cars to be driven by the Mayers brothers, two cars to be driven by Roger Skeete and his son Dane Skeete (who are also sponsored by FLOW) and then there is Rhett Watson and Roger Hill.

Note these are all white Bajans drivers.

BUT these major sponsors cannot see it fit to find any funds to sponsor ONE BLACK Barbadian driver and car. Is it any wonder that a black Bajan driver will find it extremely difficult if not impossible to finish in the top 10 of the rally. BUT maybe this is the plan. Not only that but we have competitors coming in from overseas who are being sponsored by LOCAL companies .Can this be right?

What is also quite ironic is that the overseas winners can be congratulated in FULL PAGE ads by their sponsors in the local media which I am sure cost more than the TOTAL sponsorship money which most of the local drivers get for a whole year. And then Roger Skeete can comment that no one is stepping up to the plate to take over the mantel in local car rallying.

I would like to inform Mr Skeete that if HALF the sponsorship money and suitable cars were available to certain local drivers that this would not be a problem.

On another note the rally marshals (99% of them black),who give of their services year after year, FREE OF COST, and who are said to be indispensable by the Chairman of the rally club, have to stand in the sun and rain doing their job and watch two marshals from overseas (white) get FREE trips and accommodation to watch Rally Barbados but no reciprocal offer is made by the said rally club to the local marshals to witness a rally overseas.

One of these days Bajans will wake up and understand how they are being used and what is really happening in this country.

149 responses to “Car Rallying in Barbados the Playground of the Whites – No Sponsorship for Black Bajan Drivers”

1. @lindsay … so you show your true face .I never said you cursed anyone .But your agenda is clear.

2. @lindsay … and don’t you know talking to yourself is a sign of madness

3. @farmz

What gentlejim is trying to say, is that because u dont use “words” like “gaw” and “c” and “caw bleh” and many other words synonymous with Bajan dialect (and possible illiterateracy) you talking like a white man!…..

4. Let us try to answer the question asked by the submission and leave the personal slurs at the door. Any feedback about how Marshalls brought into Barbados were treated compared to the locals?

5. There we go again on bending knee begging the white people to help us participate in an expensive sport they fashioned for themselves having the wherewithal to support it and we expect them to respect us -black people seem not to learn anything from the past but stupidly like martin luther king dream for the day when black people and white people would sit down together at the table of brotherhood- if it were meant to be so – all people would be black and all people would be white- we have our own niches- they have theirs- we can work on ours and be proud of and successful in what we do- we have stood idly by and allow one of our greatest attributes to fall on the wayside- we should return to playing beach cricket on our Sundays and allow the white people to indulge in what I always considered a folly which has been kept alive by us black people as spectators- when will we learn- I glad they can’t get sponsorship-

6. @balance

In other words you condone a segregated society.

7. @ balance
    Bushie agrees with you 100%.
    Let the damn people enjoy their shiite sport nuh? Wunna expect them to compete against blacks in REAL sports?
    Those blacks who cannot help but hang around them are not complaining – probably happy just to pick up some scraps. The ‘happiest’ Bajans were always the house niggas…

Who are complaining?
    This whole blog is an oxymoron.

8. @Bush Tea

Your view is myopic and perhaps meant to be provocative. What is happening in the world of motor sports is a reflection of what happens in wider society. So you view is to boycott all White business; banks, retail outlets etc. There goes the goal of building a harmonious society. Too far east is west.

9. “David June 28, 2016 at 5:17 AM #

@balance

In other words you condone a segregated society.”

Yes I do other wise white would continue to be right

10. Ask Mark Maloney who in eight years could be buying land in Mayreau out of my hard earned taxes.

11. Bush tea your response to (balance ) serves well with your intolerant and isolationist self serving agendas In as much as i would agree with the philosophy of barbadians cutting a path for self protection living by a rule “we can do it better ” i would be hard-pressed to agree that in this day and age when most countries seek to work with cohesiveness that barbados /barbadians should partition themselves as the vanguards of isolation setting standards and putting in place particulars that only serve self ,Self serving agendas have been the death nail of many dictatorships ask Castro even he had to crawl from under his rock of isolation seeking assistance of those who would rather enraged and participate with the majority

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

You do not need a harmonious society, the minorities in Barbados are hateful, nasty and racist and d8 not want one, so why do you..

Ya need black people to keep their money within the black communities and build their empires, before there is nothing left to build……why does anyone want to give a shit about minorities who ALREADY enriched themselves off the backs of the majority….and do not care about the majority.

That harmonious nonsense is a myth.when will black people learn.

13. @ David
    There goes the goal of building a harmonious society. Too far east is west.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    You continue to miss the difference between a marriage and picking a fare.

In a marriage, persons of equal status, (but with other differences) voluntarily enter a relationship.
    You are asking Bushie to spend money in pursuit of a relationship with someone who wants nothing from the bushman except his dollars? ….a damn ho?

You serious?
    Bushie is not that ‘hard-up’!!!
    This is what black Bajans have been doing now since independence …and all we have got is screwed….. a la COW, Bizzy, Maloney ….

14. @ AC
    why don’t you go and have a crap nuh…?
    …instead of bringing it out here on the pages of BU?

15. @Bush Tea

You are correct we should not pick fares. However don’t be hypocritical. The SUV you drive supports White establishment so don’t come with your provocative bullshite BT. It will not work!

We need to support the Rubis company who is asking our Black government why do they intend to sell a strategic asset to one company. Why not democratize the ownership. We gave away EMERA,BNB, BS&T; only conglomerate and the list is long. Let us focus on the macro picture and forget this bickering between groups which is a learned behaviour. MLK et al fought the good fight to bring us to where we are, let us not disappoint.

16. @ David
    The SUV you drive supports White establishment so don’t come with your provocative bullshite BT. It will not work!
    Wrong….
    Black as shiite…. and the yellow people that made it.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Let me break this down to it’s rawest element. Forget the minorities, forget whites and harmony and all that love soaked rubbish, you are still dealing with a group of people, whites, bajan whites, whatever you want to call them, whose DNA has for centuries been marked and coded with savagery, stealing from and hatred for black people, they train their chldren and grandchildren to carry on the tradition, always control blacks, always steal from them, cause they are dumb asses who want harmony and no money, they like being slaves, so let’s give them our version of harmony, until they got nothing left but the thought of and wish for harmony. .what next must these people do to black people…so they will learn.

Ah guess ya will soon find out, cause now there is Brexit, did I mention in that DNA is coded hunting and survivalist skills…stop living in a fantasy world, this is reality, the lives of your future generations are at risk…..presuming ya care anything about them or care more for whites who give not a shit about you.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And may I remind ya..this is a much different time from the 60s and civil rights…but look at the condition of the US….blacks, including black children are still hunted as a sport and murdered, by the police, no less….how well did it work out…

ya better wake up before half the population on the island gets wiped out, unless UK can find better use for them….as dumb as ass Fruendel is now awaiting.

Ya know black people love being used by anyone outside their race.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The AC pimps will always be asswpies for politicians or anyone need yardfowl and pimping services…useless.

20. No professor brass bowl! Bush tea ..you need to release yourself of that contained constipated bowel movement of isolation one that you have been holding onto for years and which has hinder your sense of reality.Isolation was and will never be the answer . Cuba has some of the best baseball players in the world and an isolationist mentality has all but taken away anyone interest in the Cuban sport except on their home turf ….leaving open cracks in the system for other countries to steal some of cubas best players.
    Your ignorance of exuberance directing barbadians to be selfish and shut themselves out from others is indicative of the mouthings of world renowned dictators like Castro who seem to have finally grasp a sense of reality now willing to invite his enemies exhibiting a semblance of common sense to sit at the table of participation and eat
    To you professor shit hound i say it is never too old to learn.Guess what !for all that Castro has done to isolotate his country and deprived his people a stake at worlds opportunity it is not happen stance but circumstance that have made him to appreciate the errors of his ways. Good bye jas you never too old to learn

21. “i would be hard-pressed to agree that in this day and age when most countries seek to work with cohesiveness that barbados /barbadians should partition themselves as the vanguards of isolation”

not Barbadians only but the black race in general-

22. “That harmonious nonsense is a myth.when will black people learn.”

I operated a business down Bath beach for a number of years- down there was a recreational haven for the white folk on weekends particularly Sundays when they took turns in socialising at each others Bay house- when the white children were few in number they would join the black children playing cricket on the beach- as soon as they numbers swelled that they could play by themselves they stopped playing with the black boys- not complaining but very instructive-

my grandmother was the cook for some white and not so white folk- as a boy they accommodated me and I felt they were nice- my grandmother took sick and the lady for whom she worked passed by my house and asked when clarkia coming back to work- not a word about her illness- I lambasted her in cuss and that was the end of me and her-

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

While blacks are waiting for harmony, they may remember or not that just as whites and semi whites are DNA coded and socialized to be savage to, hate blacks, steal from blacks, hunt them down, enslave them…etc

So too blacks are DNA coded and socialized to be docile, slave like, accepting of these criminal acts against themselves and their people, the black leaders have also for centuries been encoded and socialized to sell out their people, lie to them, deceive them…black majority societies have been socialized to be dependent and wait on anyone, any group of people outside their race..except themselves.

Just look at Fruendel, black leader of a majority black country, chair of Caricom and what can he do to push for progress in caricom….nothing, he can only sit on his ass and wait for the UK, even if there are plans afoot to enslave his own people…that’s all he is good for..nothing else, except deceive the people about the Brexit situation.

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Arta

I did not respond to your comment because I am just tired. Even on here, where there is more talk than action, you would find some of the most constipated ignoramuses squabbling for a position of supreme writing skill and bragged about education. I just want change. I do not like a lot of talk and jostling for first brag.

I am on a mission to posterize facts about the ills in our beloved country with the intent that black Barbados can wake up and see where the real wealth lies. This nonsense about wealth is in the white man’s hands is bare shite. What is in the Whiteman’s hands is that he has provided the infrastructure, created the jobs, and hire us black people to make him richer.

Why can’t blacks create the infrastructure, provide a catalyst for employment and support their black businesses with their money? Must they continue to prove the whiteman right that black unity only happens when they are herded like sheep?

25. David,

We always make things more difficult than they are. If the spectators want to see a black boy why don’t they pool their resources and sponsor him. Start small and grow. That’s the way it works.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And while ya waiting for harmoney and keeping the present lot of parasites, remember when ya keep them, they will still own and control you, your children and grandchildren , their children and grandchildren. ..for generations, because they will still be parasites….will always be parasites

Any questions…read the previous posts.

27. Balance what is instructive from your last comment is a real sense of commonality attributed to both groups. The whites boys and black boys recognized and embraced the willingness of participation a directive absent of seperation….even if both groups had already set their own rules and agendas what is evident is that both groups prefer comradity for a few minutes by engagment rather than a distance of interference derived from influence towards separation mean while endorsing an appreciation towards the same goal
    To me the message sent that it dies nit matter volor or race people rather a direction towards cohesiveness there would always the few square holes but in time they can be fixed

28. My last sentence .The message sent it does not matter race or color ..people rather a direction towards
    cohesiveness..there would always a few square pegs but in time they can be fix

29. We could also argue that white people are not seen playing road tennis, first division cricket, football, basketball or actively participating in primary and secondary school sports or athletics.

It reminds me of the days when black people were “profiled” before being allowed to enter the “Harbor Lights” night club. And those who were “lucky” to be allowed entry would exhibit a “smug” sense of superiority over their black brothers and sisters who were not as “fortunate” as them. They felt proud being able to tell their friends; “Oh, I was in the Harbour Lights last night, yuh know.”

Or, yuh know the white people don’t want yuh ‘bout duh place….. yuh brek….. yuh en got nuh yacht, yet you gone wid a “MOSES” and arguing to join the “Yacht Club.” Then yuh gine argue ‘bout segregation when yuh can’t get nuh sponsorship.

As Bushie would say: “A lotta shiite, Boss.”

Black people formed the “CRUISING CLUB” to more or less rival the Yacht Club and allow blacks to perhaps experience what they believed the whites were experiencing in their club. While the Cruising Club is now DEFUNCT, the Yacht Club LIVES ON (and probably with the HELP of black people too).

In my PERSONAL opinion, this rally nonsense is a non-issue. Sponsors have the right to sponsor whomever they want because, at the end of the day, it’s their money.

Also, and more importantly, sponsorship is seen as a marketing/advertising initiative, from which the sponsors are hoping to realize some type of return on that investment, and would want those who have excelled in the particular sport to be associated with and advertise their products.

WHY SHOULD I CRY AND FIND EXCUSES TO BE WITH SOMEONE WHO CLEARLY DOES NOT WANT TO BE WITH ME?

30. @Artax …. All good points .And add to them when blacks applied for membership of certain clubs they were “blackballed”. I was one ,maybe a bit before your time.
    But question for you :How do you excel if you are not given the opportunity?

31. We can re_ construct the narrative in all shapes forms and size infusing rememberance.however the days of separation has been dealt (with ) replaced with a narrative if tolerance .The town criers of the same ole narrative has become the problem not the solution. At this point i much rather take my que from an assigment peppered with tolerance

32. gentlejim June 28, 2016 at 10:43 AM #

“But question for you: How do you excel if you are not given the opportunity?”

@ gentlejim

If your question relates to rallying, are you suggesting the ONLY method an individual can be given an opportunity to excel is through SPONSORSHIP from WHITE PEOPLE?

Are you also suggesting if black people DECIDE to join the “racing fraternity,” “SOL, CHEFETTE, DIGICEL and FLOW” are OBLIGATED to SPONSOR them?”

If black drivers know the odds are against them, what is there to prevent them from ESTABLISHING a CO-OPERATIVE type organization among themselves, market their abilities and seek COLLECTIVE SPONSORSHIP from, for example, “black businessmen and businesses” such Rawle Brancker (Brancker’s), Anderson Cherry (Jose y Jose), Everson Elcock (Exclusive Lighting & Electrical Supplies Ltd.); Chicken Barn; FYS Distribution Inc.; Dennis Tull (Golden Sands Hotel) or Trans Tech Inc., pool the resources and allocate disbursements accordingly.

These are types of initiatives that we could undertake and develop, rather than continually gripe about white people.

“When the NEED for something becomes IMPERATIVE, you are FORCED to FIND WAYS of GETTING or ACHIEVING it. In other words: “NECESSITY IS THE MOTHER OF INVENTION”

33. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

Our ancestors had refused to seize the moment of taking back from the white man when they became freed. OK, let’s forgive them, their weren’t too bright.
    You mean now that we have become educated we still letting the white man ensalve our minds – Still?

How many white people do you see in our churches? Do you see white people shopping in Cherish or Popular? – sorry, gottah laugh at this one – Lol! You have poor black women in Barbados with four and five children, shopping at Lime Grove and buying Michael Kors bags and shoes and sometimes have no food to feed the kids – TALK BOUT IGNORANT!

STOP GOING TO THE PEOPLE THINGS!!! The time you as a Marshall spending standing up in the hot sun (FREE OF COST – Sometimes for hours or a whole day) mind you; could be spent at home with your families. The BLACK MAN is missing from the homes.

OUR ANCESTORS HAVE FOUGHT IN VAIN – These things really make me go hum!!

34. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Perfectly correct Artax and well stated.

The white man is not the darn problem; ignorant black people are. We have nothing and seem to think that in nothing is where we must remain. When we have something and try to aspire towards making it better, the same black people come with their pull down mentalities and demonise it. Who then do they turn to, thinking that whatever they do is always well done? The same white people. Black people are slack and weak business persons because they like short cuts and do not understand that to make money you got to spend a lot of it. Imagine that the parable of the barrel crabs has been spoken (to them) time after time, yet they continue to live the parable every God picking day.

Black people support your own – Not for shite they say
    Black people build your businesses – Too much hard, let someone else do it they say.
    Black people establish your networks- Not for shite they say, don’t get much out of it.
    Black people unite – What for, to get rob!

35. “MLK et al fought the good fight to bring us to where we are, let us not disappoint”

to where weare what – a pipe dream on the red hills of Scotland district

36. “WHY SHOULD I CRY AND FIND EXCUSES TO BE WITH SOMEONE WHO CLEARLY DOES NOT WANT TO BE WITH ME?”

i have been trying to make that point ever since seemingly without success- Glad to ve you on board Artax.

37. So after all is said and done the article is a mis representation and absence of truth ..as all along i got the impression that the white boggey man was a hindrence to black sucess. But after reading the comments it appears that most are in agreement that blacks are there own worst enemies. A truth which most on BU dare not admit.
    But on the issue of separation it is a fallacy to belive that any black society can achieved successfully without integration

38. @Donna

Do you recall why Barbados and a few other countries enjoyed a good relationship with Europe when we operated under the preferred LOME agreement?

39. I did understanding de argumentation dat blacks gotta stand up and the shout ‘Amandala to We’ and den tings went topsyturvy. Dis in got a ting to do wid ” ignorant black people” but eva shitte to do wid ‘ignorant people’.

It is ignorant to go to de Harbour Lights to enjoy yourself in de white people place and den complain you can’t get in because you black UNLESS yah intend to carry dem white ass to court and say that colour discrimination can’t happen pon dis rock. Unless you plan to shut down Bay Street eva weekend. Otherwise yah just an h’ingrunt’ johnny.

It is ignorant to go and race cars unless you got the effing money. Nat a fella in pull a gun and put it to nobody head and demand dey drive or dem family dem gine get kill. Lotta BS. Yah racing because you is man and love speed and revving engines.

If the white boys driving too and dem friends or neighbors or some fella who wife or sister dey banging come and beg for some money to operate de car, how you expect dem to give money to a black fella so tho. Steeupse. Wanna love to talk folly.

Now, I don’t know bout wanna but black people ain’t nah slacker nor weaker in business than whites. That is hurtful as shiitte. Mek me want to cry or cuss.

Mussee that only black people does write pon this site cause I sure that de lotta white peeps I know would brek down in laugh to hear that only black people does pull down dey one-another. Lovely hogwash.

I handstand all the conniption but Get a grip.

Don’t go where nobody din invite yah. Go and mek you own shittte. And if dat don’t mek one iota of sense pon dis small rock den get some real balance ( and stop talking BS because yah gran get diss) in yah head and do as MLK said. Learn to live wid de whites dem. Cause trying to live totally separate and equal lives gine be real impossible as we blacks interested in social class association. Colour is only part of that

We is big enough to be a partner at the table. We don’t have to beg for one ting. We is propa partner material now. Let we act that way,

Flush the foolish black and great white (dem aint sharks) talk in the outhouse. Fah real. Always room for serious talk bout blacks and whites but dis ain’t it.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

First and foremost blacks must unshackle their minds and stop being slaves to anyone, particularly to material things. Focus on building instead of spending. Again, keep the money in your black communities.

Other people only get rich off your backs and from your labor because you continue to spend all your money with them, even when you do not need to spend…if ya keep ya money and only buy necessities…your money will grow…for sure.

41. “Well Well & Consequences June 28, 2016 at 3:57 PM #

First and foremost blacks must unshackle their minds and stop being slaves to anyone, particularly to material things. Focus on building instead of spending. Again, keep the money in your black communities.

Other people only get rich off your backs and from your labor because you continue to spend all your money with them, even when you do not need to spend…if ya keep ya money and only buy necessities…your money will grow…for sure.”

If I follow the blogmaster’s line then you are practising segregation as well. Welcome to the club.

42. balance/// do not pay that two face bold faced hypocrite WW&C any attention avoid taking the blabber mouth seriously on many occasions she blamed slavery and the white man for all the black problems , WW&C mouth is so twisted as if affected by several strokes

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Balance….call it what you want, you however dont accuse Bizzy et al of segregation…that is why they wipe you and not me out financially…consistently and will continue to do so for decades and when they die, their children and grandchildren will continue the legacy of controlling your children and grandchildren, not mine. ..while you stay on BU complaining and crying, as you deserve.

The AC pimps…black people like you have only themselves to blame for their predicament, as we clearly see the slave minded Fruendel sitting waiting for UK to tell him what to do next….and you standing in the shadows to wipe the ass of anyone who tells you that’s ya job…ya nuisance.

44. “Well Well & Consequences June 28, 2016 at 3:57 PM #

Other people only get rich off your backs and from your labor because you continue to spend all your money with them, even when you do not need to spend…if ya keep ya money and only buy necessities…your money will grow…for sure.”

This post mirrors exactly what I have been saying so you seem to be calling yourself a nuisance as well .

Salt and sand and a mass of iron is easier to bear than a man without understanding so it is written in the Apocrypha

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Balance…do not blame me if you exposed yourself as an idiot, I have rarely lived in Barbados, from a child I only visited, spend extended periods when I felt like it, so I was never too close to the situation to be blinded and wish any harmony with minorities who are considered nothing but trailer park trash in other more knowledgeable jurisdictions…but who have a firm grip on local blacks who cannot think for themselves.

So you will have to assert your wishful thinking on some closer to your environment.

46. Farmz …. Now reading your post of June 27th .You realize that this only proves the point made by the author of the article that no persons of colour can qualify to be sponsored by these main sponsors. And you do know that Jamal Brathwaite is the only person of colour on the committee of the Barbados Rally Club as secretary.

47. “I have rarely lived in Barbados, from a child I only visited, spend extended periods when I felt like it, so I was never too close to the situation to be blinded and wish any harmony with minorities who are considered nothing but trailer park trash in other more knowledgeable jurisdictions…but who have a firm grip on local blacks who cannot think for themselves.”

No wonder you write what you do not seem to understand. You have been marginalised most of your life by virtue of having lived in an environment which deem you to be second class. I therefore empathise with you.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Balance…and just which environment might that be, now ya grabbing at straws, I will always be considered a worthwhile citizen by any society, even by the wannabe nuisance minorities in Barbados…can you say the same about yourself….anywhere.

Remember before you answer, minorties on the island are considered 2nd class citizens outside of Barbados…particularly in the metropolises.

I never considered myself second class anywhere to anyone…so no one can either…can you say the same about yaself…second class has never been part of my vocab and is ancient to me, guess you have had a lot of experience with that type of degradation.

I understand the situation on the island better than you, the reason why you cannot move on.

Watch the changes going forward and weep.

49. The car parts are available, the perfect methods I have ever seen and generating the great thoughts as well,keep it up. This blog is always making the wonderful thoughts and preparing for essential car wreckers.Luxury car rental