Submitted by Wayne Cadogan

roadtonowhereWhat an inept West Indies Cricket Board and a bunch of jokers for selectors on a road to nowhere. I just happen by chance while turning around in the kitchen, to hear one of the selectors say that hardly anyone was at Kensington Oval watching the cricket and that it was very disappointing.

Well, what do they expect? Bajans are very knowledgeable about their cricket and if the selectors continue not to select the best team regardless to whom they are playing, even if we qualify as a minnow like the current West Indies team; then West Indies cricket will always be at the bottom of the ladder.

How can you be playing One Day Cricket against teams like Australia and South Africa and not be playing your best players like Gayle, Russell and Simmons because of a dumb archaic rule? You are playing at home and have the advantage of calling up other players to fill the void such as opener Kraigg Brathwaite, J L.Carter or the Barbados wicket keeper S O. Dowrich who scored runs against the same Australians and yet the selectors continue to play the same team, game after game.

How can you say that you select a team for the first four games? What happens if you lose the first three, are you saying that you are not changing the team? No wonder the West Indies Cricket Board continues to do as they like because they are not accountable to anyone but themselves. One thing for sure, I know that I am one person, who is not going to watch West Indies cricket or breakup my nights rest to listen to commentary about a bunch of second rated cricketers.

I have not gone into Kensington Oval since it has been remodelled because of the poor standard of cricket, and I cannot ever see myself going to watch the West Indies, unless the high standard of cricket and cricketers that I grew up watching, return from those glory days when cricket was cricket. It is sad to see that my boycott in 1992 at Kensington Oval against the board and its selection policies improve has gone to nought.

126 responses to “West Indies Cricket Dilemma”

1. @GP

We know you like Jason. We too

But at the end of the day we’ll bet that he is destroyed by the WICB.

We had estimated that within 2 years, and we said so 1 years ago, Jason will be a has been.

Watch it!

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PACHA
    I DID NOT SAY THAT he can’t be helpful to the team.
    I AM SAYING HE HAS TO BE ABLE TO HELP HIMSELF IF HE IS TO HELP THE TEAM
    UNLIKE LLOYD HE DOES NOT HAVE THE FOUR PRONG ATTACK

3. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David thanks for the invitation but I didn’t weigh in earlier simply due to the fact that BU has covered this ground quite extensively before and on several of those occasions my two-cents was spent all over the blog.

Now it’s different actors (eg Holder) but same deficiencies and management culture so really no new view or solutions to offer from those not already posed personally or by others.

I would only offer a different interpretation to the T20 statistical analysis of our ‘best players’. But this is a MINOR point as the rest of analysis is well stated: A T20 average of 22.13 or 31.25 with high scores of 63 and 89 not out are absolutely respectable. Add a strike-rate of 140+ , brilliant fielding skills and ability to bowl four overs at around eight runs per and that total product turns a Test minnow pauper into a T20 Jaws shark millionaire!

But of course therein lies the root of the WI problems. Calypso cricket at its ‘limited’ best and calypso management at its ‘test level’ worst.

An aside or two: No unnecessary argument on players of different era but Pollard is Collis King: ODI _HS 86, Ave 23. Of course he also played nine tests and had a century there, but in a different environment sans globe-trotting T20s Pollard would have played a few test matches because he would have been successful year after year at the regional level for T&T.

So exactly what’s new other than the now worst man-management by the WICB executives!!!

And, I completely agree with your point that “The ICC at the stroke of a pen may determine how money is allocated between members just like how FIFA and the IOC do it to keep less financial members afloat.”

I read the first words of caution on that subject from Tony Cozier, Tony Becca et al since now at least 25 years…it was identified as a major problem in the hey-day of WI. In fact one can argue it was done by the ICC powers to pull the financial rug from under our feet.

My two-cents. I gone.

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

the sardine tot retriever aka dribbler takes so long to say nothing lol lol
    typical of the dunce he is!
    such can at best re-einvent the wheel and seek to contradict genuinely brilliant and accomplished practitioners in their field; people who earned their spurs
    but can they bring any in depth analysis? lol lol

5. @GP

Dee Word is entitled to post comments on BU without your constant flaming. BU will allow leeway for the usual banter but too far East is West. Other comments which dogg Dee Word will be flushed.

Here endeth Chapter 1, verse 2 if the Gospel according to BU.

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

But he is allowed to flame me with his pdeudo psychological babble
    When he does it , it is banter. When i give it back it is flaming.
    What have I said that is not false?
    What has he said about me that is true. He does not know me.
    I was called Dr Death constantly. Was that flaming.
    The ass spoke of my bed side manner which was impeccable

I AM NOT FLAMING IM BANTERING OK lol

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Your bias is VERY clear AND YOU ARE INSULTING ME BY DECIDING THAT I DONT KNOW A SARDINE TOT RETRIEVER WHEN I SEE ONE. DONT YOU LIKE BANTER?.
    SINCE WHEN IS BANTER FLAMING

only WHEN THE BANTER IS DIRECTED AT YOUR FAVORITES?

8. @GP

Final warning.

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

OH LORD
    I HAVE LOST MY SCHOLARSHIP AND PROFESSION AND JOB

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

OH LORD i have lost my place in heaven
    I have lost my salvation
    OH LORD to whom shall i go now?

11. @ David

Why is GP proscribed from saying what is true?

Anything about an ‘ingrunt’, pedantic, dribbling, driveler as a self-confessed, small-minded fool is difficult to show as incorrect.

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Pacha
    You and Miller and Donna and others have disagreed with me, but yet I respect you all.
    I can detect a wannabee from a mile off.
    But here you dealing with a man who has attacked me with his pseudo psychiatric drivel from the time he came here. That is allowed.
    He wants to speak about my bedside manner. A man that nurses have asked “what it is you told her, she has been in pain all afternoon and has responded to nothing.”
    He wants to challenge my care for my people to warn them about parasitic offshore schools.
    He has always had something nasty and erroneous to say as he seeks to challenge a thorougbred.
    What he did is called banter. But when I return it, it is flaming.
    He is said to be a valuable member. He can not be touched.

WE LIVE IN A WORLD WHERE YOU CAN NOT SPEAK THE TRUTH
    EVEN BAJANS CANT ADDRESS FELLOW BAJANS IN OUR VERNACULAR

13. de pedantic Dribbler June 23, 2016 at 9:02 AM #

“I would only offer a different interpretation to the T20 statistical analysis of our ‘best players’. But this is a MINOR point as the rest of analysis is well stated: A T20 average of 22.13 or 31.25 with high scores of 63 and 89 not out are absolutely respectable. Add a strike-rate of 140+, brilliant fielding skills and ability to bowl four overs at around eight runs per and that total product turns a Test minnow pauper into a T20 Jaws shark millionaire!”

@ de pedantic Dribbler

Interesting perspective, especially when one takes into consideration that T20 is only 20 overs, and the shorter version of the game is becoming more and more popular, attracts more sponsorship and fans, hence the pay would be more. It’s entertainment, hence, I would have to agree with your comments within this context.

Stats can be manipulated, and with you presenting the argument Pollard having a strike rate of 140+, I can argue that having such a strike rate, but averaging 31.25 in 312 20/20s clearly demonstrates Pollard consistently have scores of, for example, 7 or 8 runs in 2 balls, 4 runs in 1 ball, or even 20 in 6 balls. Surely with a strike rate of 140+, rather than averaging 9.984 per game in 312 matches, he should have been averaging 50.00+.

However, my argument was mainly focused on tests and ODIs. Although Pollard has the ability to walk into any T20 team, does he have a similar ability to walk into any test or ODI team, especially where the level of discipline and thought process are a bit higher, where his skills, as you describe them, are terribly lacking.

On the issue of thought process, during my last trip to St. Vincent, I watched the WI women’s T20 final against the Australian women. I was impressed with the opening partnership between Hayley Mathews and Stephanie Taylor, especially how they rotated the strike and scored runs. These players assessed the game and executed a well thought out plan.

If the WI men were to follow that example, the first four batsmen would not “fall cheaply” and there won’t be a need for the likes of Pollard, Russell, Sammy, Carlos Brathwaite or Bravo having to come to the crease to “swipe” hoping to win. Hence, they averaging 140+.

14. @Pacha

Make your comments and be done with it.

The BU household is sick and tired of the crap some of you engage in on the blog. Make your sport but stop when it degrades the blasted blog. Guess who has to read all the shit some of your post to make sure the blog is not taken down. Who has to ensure security is managed to avoid harm to BU household. GP and you have made your points, you don’t agree with Dee Word, fine, move to hell on, why every comment you repeat the same shit?

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, leave the gentlemen to their wondrous commentary. I believe that over the years you have encountered man here and these esteemed gentlemen are likely no worst.

On the one hand an avowed atheist. On the other hand an avowed Christian. Oh my lawd. I am an equal opportunity critic!!!LOLL In fact I have to do my own psychoanalysis to understand how I achieved this so ‘imperfectly’. Maybe my BS meter is not working too well.

Both piss on me because I prod with vigor. But respectfully. In short I do what blogging is all about.

They respond just as vigorously but go for the personal attack. That speaks to a certain type of person.

They come here to BU like we all do: to see our views in print and argue/discuss. But they have to be the first among equals and because they have studied these things so deeply their views cannot be wrong or questioned by lesser lights.

David this movie plays daily and has for centuries.

One of these guys called you a liar already and left the blog…but he came back and now has a new target for his angst. I can follow his lead …and still enjoy the blog.

Let these two little, insecure boys play with their sharp intellects and crisp vocab like:

“Anything about an ‘ingrunt’, pedantic, dribbling, driveler as a self-confessed, small-minded fool is difficult to show as incorrect”.

And oh yes I did certainly call the other Dr. Death. AFTER, he REPEATEDLY denigrated the Disney ‘dead chile’ in his facetious way.

They can dish but as is usual with that personality type CANNOT take it back.

The retorts of “very secure, well-read” men who know 100 ways to cut my backsides to threads. This is a Trump world so how can anyone not embrace both of them! LOLLL.

I gone. Leff de fellas do.

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Artax June 23, 2016 at 10:40 AM #
    re I watched the WI women’s T20 final against the Australian women. I was impressed with the opening partnership between Hayley Mathews and Stephanie Taylor, especially how they rotated the strike and scored runs. These players assessed the game and executed a well thought out plan.

I AGREE WITH YOU 1oo% AS I OBSERVED THE SAME THING
    WE WERE VERY LUCKY TO WIN THE MEN’s VERSION BECAUSE OUR GAME WAS NOT AT ALL CONSISTENT

” the issue of thought process,” is not something that most on BU can fathom.
    EVERY VOCATION GAME PROFESSION WHAT EVER HAS INDIVIDUAL COMPONENTS THAT MUST BE MASTERED
    ONE MUST MASTER THE COMPONENT PARTS TO MATER THE WHOLE

THIS IS THE ISSUE I HAVE BEEN STRESSING HERE WHETHER IT IS PASSING CHEMISTRY OR HISTOLOGY EXAMS OR MASTERING PHARMACOLOGY OR PLAYING CRICKET

As children we just had a ball as we played in the hot sun. We had no television to see the games, nor did we have the analysis of great players to break things down

Our players do not play the amount of cricket as those of former years, and they dont seem to have the cerebral ability to be outstanding.

Watch ROOT KOHLI SMITH WARNER ETC they have all improved since thy came on the scene. What I have noticed as I have watched over the last 4 years on Willow tv is how they BUILD AN INNINGS

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

de pedantic Dribbler June 23, 2016 at 10:59 AM #
    Re Both piss on me because I prod with vigor. WHO DE HELL YOU TINK YOU ARE? PROD WITH VIGOR MY TAIL GO PROD THOSE OF YOUR KIND

But respectfully. In short I do what blogging is all about. I DIDN’T COME HERE TO BLOG I CAME TO EDUCATE IN MY AREAS OF EXPERTISE. HOW CAN ILLITERATES PROD THOSE WHO REALLY KNOW?

HOW CAN AN ILLITERATE PROD IN AN AREA IN WHICH HE HAS NO EXPERTISE? YOU ARE AN INTELLECTUAL NUISANCE NOT A PRODDER.

Re They come here to BU like we all do: to see our views in print and argue/discuss. NO NO I DON’T COME HERE TO SEE MY VIEW IN PRINT. MY STUDENTS SEE MY VIEWS MY AUDIENCES HEAR MY VIEW
    WHEN I GET UP TO SPEAK ANYWHERE I AM ACCEPTED BECAUSE I AM LOGICAL AND FACTUAL
    I COME HERE WHEN I AM BORED

I DONT COME HERE TO ARGUE/DISCUSS WITH THOSE OF YOUR ILK YOU ARE WAY BELOW MY INTELLECTUAL STATION. AND YOU ARE SO CONCEITED THAT YOU TINK THE BS YOU SPEW IS ARGUMENT/DISCUSSION ABOUT MEDICINE?
    WHAT KIND OF FOOL ARE YOU?

But they have to be the first among equals and because they have studied these things so deeply their views cannot be wrong or questioned by lesser lights.

ONE IS FIRST AMONG EQUALS BY EARNING IT NOT BY BEING A WANNABEE
    YOU NEED TO LISTEN AND LEARN AND ASK QUESTIONS WHEN YOU ARE NOT SURE

WHEN YOU HAVE STUDIED THINGS VERY DEEPLY AND CONSULT THE OPINIONS OF THE EXPERTS AND KNOW HOW TO READ THE LITTERATURE IN YOUR AREA OF EXPERTISE YOU STAMP ON THE STUPID ERRONEOUS VIEWS OF NOT LESSER LIGHTS BUT DARKNESS

And oh yes I did certainly call the other Dr. Death. AFTER, he REPEATEDLY denigrated the Disney ‘dead chile’ in his facetious way.
    YOU LIKE TO JUDGE WITHOUT THE FACTS
    AND HOW MUCH DEATH HAVE YOU SEEN UP FRONT?
    WHAT THE HELL DO YOU KNOW ABOUT DEATH?

ONE LIKKLE BOY DEAD SO WHAT? HOW MANY DEAD P
    EOPLE HAVE I SEEN ?
    MY AMBITION WAS TO BE THE “DUPPY DOCTOR” IN bIM
    YOU CALL FOLK BY OXYMORONIC NAMES FITTING WITH YOUR MORONIC STATUS BUT I AM NOT ALLOWED TO CALL YOU WHAT YOU DESERVE

YOU ARE ONE OF THOSE FOOLS WHO THINK YOU KNOW BUT KNOWETH NOTHING

18. @Dee Word

If time allows BU will post emails received from the late ROK (Rosevelt King) about favorite treatment meted out to GP. You can’t make this stuff up.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DAVID TELL YOUR FRIEND WHEN HE IS PRODDING TO PROD THOSE OF HIS INTELLECTUAL AND SOCIAL CLASS AND FORGET ME. HE IS NOT IN MY CLASS

ROK WAS ANOTHER GP HATER BECAUSE HE LIKE DE PEDANTIC COULD NOT MATCH MY INTELLECT OR PROGRESS IN LIFE

ARE YOU STILL GETTING THOSE EMAILS DAVID?

HE WAS ONE WHO SAID HE WAS NOT WILLING TO LEARN ANYTHING FROM ME ABOUT DIABETES

BARE SPORT IN DE RUM HOP

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, the problem is that the honesty you offered @ 10:47 AM is not the honesty neither of those two gentlemen can accept.

I have disagreed with you and others several times here and agreed with you and the many others exponentially more too. I even made one disagreement with you into the creation of a new moniker.

That is strong, respectful banter. You got my point as did any others who followed that particular blog but it DID NOT bring your blog into any disrepute.

Yet you have intelligent, experienced men who are so puerile in their ‘banter’. That is annoying, ridiculous and absolutely childish.

I do not know the man. And all my remarks about “bedside manner” or “offshore schools” were framed in the context of his words and actions here on BU.

It is therefore further shocking for him to try to validate his crass response to comments which were BASED on HIS direct remarks here on BU.

Anyone reading his comments here could NEVER perceive a warm-heartened bedside manner….and that was the simple context of which such an analogy was made.

But this brings us right back to the fact that he can speak with impunity to reality and thus impute an ‘illogical’ reality to the situation.

Due to his popularity we can easily call that the Trump circle of argumentation: What I say is right. Forget the facts. You are wrong

@ Artax: I agree with your overall analysis and the key points in the 10:40 AM post. Again my differences are on the margins.

T20 cricket is obviously the be all and end all for any young-man looking to make money in cricket. And remember in T20 a 140+ strike-rated 7 or 9 batting as he sometimes does at over 18 or such will WIN matches.

So from a stats perspective an avg or 23+ with that strike rate makes you a T20 champion. Obviously it also makes you a nothing in Test cricket and an also ran in ODIs.

Yet I would still say that Pollard would (could have) walk into any ODI team of recent vintage. I base that on the comparative analysis that Collis King would have too.

Now, as you remember you know that DESPITE his heroics at the ’79 World Cup, Collis was as explosive as Pollard and essentially just as inconsistent.

Anyhow, another time for more of this.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE I do not know the man. And all my remarks about “bedside manner” or “offshore schools” were framed in the context of his words and actions here on BU.

It is therefore further shocking for him to try to validate his crass response to comments which were BASED on HIS direct remarks here on BU.

Anyone reading his comments here could NEVER perceive a warm-heartened bedside manner….and that was the simple context of which such an analogy was made.

THAT IS WHY YOU ARE SUCH AN ASS
    YOU JUDGE WITHOUT POSSESSING THE FACTS
    YOU JUDGE ON APPEARANCES ONLY

I DO NOT SHOUT IN REAL LIFE
    I LOWER MY VOICE OR DONT SAY ANYTHING WHEN I AM ANGRY
    I ALWAYS MADE MY PATIENTS AND STUDENTS LAUGH

I JUST HAD AN EX STUDENT WORKING IN THE CAYMANS TELL ME THE LOVELY THINGS ON OF THE BAJAN POLICEMEN THERE SAID ABOUT ME WHEN I ASKED

WHEN I VISITED THE PRISON THE INMATES WERE HAPPY

I DONT HAVE TO PROVE ANYTHING TO YOU OR DAVID OR ANYONE ELSE ON BU ABOUT WHO I AM

LEAVE ME ALONE YOU DO NOT BELONG TO MY CLASS IN ANY WAY
    IGNORE WHAT I WRITE
    FORGET ME
    I DONT WANT TO ARGUE OR DISCUSS ANYTHING WITH YOU

22. @ David

We were not aware that we said the same thing/s all the time.

We were not aware that we engaged in crap. Unfortunately we do not consider what most would call abusive language as abusive. We see no standard higher than the English dictionary.

We certainly have not characterized anybody in ways not previous used or by using a language Bajans would normally find a facility with.

Thanks for duly informing us.

Yes, we console with you on the thankless job done. Understanding that, we have tried to assist where possible.

However, like I made an intervention for AC, sometime ago, we intervene for GP as well. That is the thing with free speak, GP should be allowed to speak.

People who continue to change their moniker could only suggest ill will.

Let GP speak!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Look at the way Zoe has been treated here on BU. All he has done is RIGHTLY DIVIDED THE WORD OF TRUTH. But David has allowed all sorts of folk to malign him.
    I came here seeking to share the Word and Medical knowledge, and I have more or less given up. I dont have the right to speak without being maligned and pseudo psychologically pissed upon by a medical illiterate, but he must not be flamed.

I came here to teach not argue! I discuss with humans. But it is indeed true that ——————–do exist among doctors.

24. @Pacha

BU last time we checked has banned only Jack Bowman and it is for spamming BU almost in a daily basis. David, the face of BU, receives more vitriol from commenters than others, occasionally we respond by labelling an ac a yardfowl but that said all continue to post by observing a minimum level of blogging etiquette. We will not accept that commenters running from blog to blog ranting and raving repeated scripts. Cuss somebody and be done with it!

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Dr GP, I am sure that one of the reasons that you and Pacha find me so repulsive is because I go to the core of your hypocrisy and push.

In the last few weeks YOU YOU YOU have followed my remarks around the blog like bee seeing its honey.

Yet you come now and say “LEAVE ME ALONE YOU DO NOT BELONG TO MY CLASS IN ANY WAY…IGNORE WHAT I WRITE…FORGET ME…I DONT WANT TO ARGUE OR DISCUSS ANYTHING WITH YOU”

Follow your OWN advice and we would be cool. I do not follow you around Sir.

The other more hypocritical and impossible to understand remarks from you are:

THAT IS WHY YOU ARE SUCH AN ASS…YOU JUDGE WITHOUT POSSESSING THE FACTS
    YOU JUDGE ON APPEARANCES ONLY… I DO NOT SHOUT IN REAL LIFE…I LOWER MY VOICE OR DONT SAY ANYTHING WHEN I AM ANGRY…I ALWAYS MADE MY PATIENTS AND STUDENTS LAUGH

What you represent on BU is the BU REALITY. Oh man of great scholarship and mental acuity. I do not know you beyond that.

Thus I am not jumping to any facts based on ‘appearances’. This persona you present here is the sum total of the FACTS. This is the reality here.

You shout here EVERY DAY. You are rude here every day. And don’t tell us about patients and students we never see. We heard/saw the student who you called a moron when they sought clarification. THAT is your reality.

Wrap your sensibilities around the fact that you present a completely different persona on BU to what you do in real life and so scholarly want to interchange as needed to suit your purposes.

I’ll leave the psychiatrist analysis to you because surely I would not want to play doctor when there is a real one here masquerading as an out of control sociopath!

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

de pedantic Dribbler June 23, 2016 at 1:11 PM #
    Dr GP, I am sure that one of the reasons that you and Pacha find me so repulsive is because I go to the core of your hypocrisy and push.

keep on pushing man keep pushing LOL LOL LOL

In the last few weeks YOU YOU YOU have followed my remarks around the blog like bee seeing its honey.

THAT IS WHY YOU ARE SUCH AN ASS…YOU JUDGE WITHOUT POSSESSING THE FACTS
    YOU JUDGE ON APPEARANCES ONLY… I DO NOT SHOUT IN REAL LIFE…I LOWER MY VOICE OR DONT SAY ANYTHING WHEN I AM ANGRY…I ALWAYS MADE MY PATIENTS AND STUDENTS LAUGH

THIS IS THE TRUTH

Re What you represent on BU is the BU REALITY. THATS RIGHT BU IS A REALITY RUM SHOP WHERE I INTERACT WITH MORONS LIKE YOU

RE Oh man of great scholarship and mental acuity. I AM SO SORRY THAT IS TRUE LOL

do not know you beyond that. AND YOU WONT lol lol

re Thus I am not jumping to any facts based on ‘appearances’. This persona you present here is the sum total of the FACTS. This is the reality here. LOL WHAT REALITY

You shout here EVERY DAY. You are rude here every day. And don’t tell us about patients and students we never see. We heard/saw the student who you called a moron when they sought clarification. PIECE WAS ABLE TO ANSWER A SIMPLE QUESTION THAT THIS PEST COULD NOT THAT WAS THE POINT AND THE reality. APARENTLY WAY ABOVE YOUR HEAD

Wrap your sensibilities around the fact that you present a completely different persona on BU to what you do in real life and so scholarly want to interchange as needed to suit your purposes. THEN I AM A SORT OF GENIUS THEN

I’ll leave the psychiatrist analysis to you because surely I would not want to play doctor when there is a real one here masquerading as an out of control sociopath! LIKKLE BOY USING BIG WORDS OF WHICH HE KNOWS NOT THE MEANING

I HAVE A CLEAN RECORD HERE IN BARBADOS AND WHEREVER I GO

YOU ARE A LIKKLE WANNABEE
    KEEP PRODDING lol lol lol

27. @David

We can’t but accept those positions as fair.

You know there are others who run blogs as dictatorships. No such charge can be made of you.

But, Lord have mercy, that pedantic is a perfect clown.

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Pacha
    He thinks he is smart. He thinks he can correct me or rein me in. He does not know that I will just mock him.He does not know that I relentlessly posted for three years to close a medical school.
    Next week is Wimbledon

29. Georgie Porgie June 23, 2016 at 12:15 PM #

I DO NOT SHOUT IN REAL LIFE
    I LOWER MY VOICE OR DONT SAY ANYTHING WHEN I AM ANGRY
    I ALWAYS MADE MY PATIENTS AND STUDENTS LAUGH
    //////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    SHOCKING HEE HEE HEE

On that shocking note i noticed there was serious and interesting debate concerning the the woes and perils of West indies cricket until GP put his two cents worth of indiscipline outburst similar to that of a brattish cricketer who wants to punch the umpire in the nose because the call was made against his team
    GP it seems that wherever or whenever you turn up for the game ,the game becomes a blood sport ,unfortunately you cannot be fined or suspended but u should be called out for your bad manners and poor timing irrespective of those who wants to play and win fair and square

30. “Georgie Porgie June 23, 2016 at 8:57 AM #

PACHA
    I DID NOT SAY THAT he can’t be helpful to the team.
    I AM SAYING HE HAS TO BE ABLE TO HELP HIMSELF IF HE IS TO HELP THE TEAM
    UNLIKE LLOYD HE DOES NOT HAVE THE FOUR PRONG ATTACK”

and unlike Lloyd he can’t command respect because he cannot command a place in the team. Respect has to be earned and in his case he has to do like other Captains like Graeme Smith , Angela Mathews Alistair Cook and Steve Smith thrust into similar positions and prove himself. Nothing short of that will suffice.

31. The whole philosophical idea of “bringing in a young captain” goes against the grain of common sense, but has been adopted across all areas of modern life.
    Leadership is much too important and critical to success, to be used as a grooming tool. Leadership is the responsibility of the wise, the experienced, the proven, and the dependable.

The whole cricket shiite started when they decided to shaft Haynes in order to ‘highlight and groom’ a young upstart. Then they moved to Lara …who was more suited to be a DJ or band leader….
    …then we are surprised that our cricket is shit.

Same thing with education.
    In the old days, the school principal was a long-term fixture at the institution, who would have spent DECADES at the school as student, young teacher, form head, deputy and then principal. Now the jackasses in the Ministry of Eddykashun are shuffling their lackies around like cards – in their efforts to highlight their friends, yardfowls and pimps.
    The OBVIOUS results is that the school culture now changes every few years – depending on who gets the pick, and all of the schools have sunk to the same low pissy level…in the long term.
    …then we are surprised that our education results are shit…

Brass bowls will foul up ANY system – no matter how robust the initial arrangement; no matter how talented the participants; or how much money is poured into the arrangement.

32. @Bush Tea

Same thing with the politician who had a record of public service especially in the area. The village doctor priest/pastor etc.

33. Exactly David.
    It is like shooting ourselves in the foot, again and again, in our efforts to try to run faster.

Barrow started the foolishness by his policy of centralisation. putting his DLP cronies in control of every shiite – and selecting them based on party loyalty. then Tom out-did him when the BLP took over and Arthur outdid them both with his policy of ‘inclusiveness’ (bribery of opponents). Instead of having multiple small systems where true talent had the opportunity to demonstrate itself BY RESULTS, we had ‘leadership’ imposed by idiots who thought that they would rule forever.
    Steupsss…

If we don’t learn from cricket
    …we don’t learn from education
    …we don’t learn from politics
    …we don’t learn from the public service
    …we don’t learn from our own personal lives
    …and don’t even talk about the damn ‘priests’…

What the hell is BBE left to do …but put an end to play…?
    Shiite man!!
    It will be the KIND thing to do….with brass

But here is the REAL joke…
    We are so dense, that look as we may, we cannot even see the ‘close-of-play’ happening before our very eyes….
    EVERY CHOICE AVAILABLE seems to be a Hobson’s choice
    ..BLP vs DLP
    ..Nation vs Advocate
    ..Hilary vs Trump
    ..BREXIT vs BREMAIN
    ..Life vs Death

It is exactly like being on one’s death bed…..yet we fret about Holder’s future; about the financial markets; about the inefficiency of the courts….

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

YOU GOT IT BUSH TEA
    IT COULD NOT BE CLEARER
    SEE THE CHAOS WITH THE MYRIADS OF PEOPLE MIGRATING ALL OVER EUROPE………..AND ELSEWHERE

THE SAD THING IS THAT AT THE RAPTURE THEY WILL GO ON THE SAME WAY UNTIL THE MIDPOINT OF THE GREAT TRIBULATION

35. GP,

Thank you for your respect. I do agree with you, as I have said before, about certain people being allowed to attack whilst others are not. I have both observed and experienced this on BU. David says that some of us are held to a higher standard because we know better. Others (not David) ascribe onto some special privileges because they are supposed to be sooooo much smarter than the rest of us. Then there is also some sort of old boys’ club as well.

You and I have had our unpleasantness here and I am thankful we have moved beyond it. It is good to leave our disagreements behind and not bring them into a new day. When De Dribbler crosses your path kick his tail appropriately but after that just give him a few gentle prods in between. I call it my malicious sport.

PS. Don’t get angry with me I am only making a suggestion! I’m not trying to bully you! lol.

Dribbler,

Just take a spoonful of sugar and let the medicine go down. (lol ) Sometimes the doc may overreact but he does have a point.

36. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Bush Tea I have always marveled at your ability and ease with this thing we call language. You are comparable to any historical figure who swayed millions with their persuasive prose.

Thus, there can be no accident that like all others I notice that your posts have a very distinct tone in recent weeks above and beyond your prophecies of the coming rapture spoken over these years since I first entered the BU cauldron .

So, as I surely may hasten along to eternity well before you do, I take the opportunity to say: fare de well.

Now sir, I can’t fault your posts that too much change and too young a leader can create many problems but of course the opposite can also be a good and true thing. So as in all things in life there must be an excellent and judicious moderation of both processes with a strong system underpinning everything.

And to your point we have not been judicious and our systems have been weakened.

We all are figuratively, “… like being on one’s death bed…..yet we fret about Holder’s future; about the financial markets; about the inefficiency of the courts….”.

About so much meaningless stuff!

Upwards ever…on and on.

37. Here comes GP trying his darnest to chsnge the game play. You need to be thrown out of the game. What s with you. Cant you not read the article with understanding. The article is about Cricket and not about you. Now one can fully grasp why the cricket board is at a lost on making good decision important to the West Indies cricket.i will bet that on the cricket board there are examples of your intellect who stiffle and choke differening opinions making it very hard for cohesiveness in agreement creating dreadlock and chaos in the name of being Correct

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Donna

RE Thank you for your respect. YOU HAVE EARNED IT.

You have cussed me. BUT i LIKE YOU BECAUSE YOU NOT ONLY SPEAK YOUR MIND……..YOU HAVE A BRAIN. AND YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE, WHERE YOU HAVE COME FROM AND WHERE YOU ARE SEEKING TO GO.

YOU ARE NOT TRYING TO BE SOMEBODY OR MOVE UP IN SOCIETY OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT OR TRYING TO RUN WITH THE INTELLECTUALS.

YOU , WW, SSS HEATHER SIMPLE SIMON ARE STRONG DECENT WOMEN WORTHY OF RESPECT IN MY VIEW.

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Donna, this is not to start another nonsensical palaver but I would ask if you could kindly explain your juxtaposition of various concepts in your 8:55 post. You ended with “Just take a spoonful of sugar and let the medicine go down. (lol ) Sometimes the doc may overreact but he does have a point.”

Am I to take from that, that his point is definitively right and thus I must back-down because of his being a doctor? And on what point is he right that I should back-down? The point that I am pedantic? That I questioned his medical training? What exactly?

Blogging is about opinions. Bloggers by their nature have strong opinions Donna. Bloggers are the gals and guys who often pushed their hands up highest in class to be heard. But you know what, it’s also the mousy students who always also wanted to be heard with their great ideas but were too shy.

Can you explain to me how someone shouting continually and calling others venomous names unnecessarily and continually raises him or her to being RIGHT in any environment?

I would ask you to recall that YOU are the person who ascribed to BU the ‘boys club mentality’. I had attacked comments from Bushie and other that I thought were misogynist long before your moniker started to appear on BU , so I had already realized that there was no boys club pr se but just guys talking lots of drivel when they felt like it.

And I knew that because persons who identified as females gave as good as they got and eviscerated men as the men did to women.

I would ask you to recall that I disagreed with you on a blog matter and you went off on me for treating you as if you were a fawning female. I was shocked. I went back and reread my posts to you several times and could not for the love of me see where I was sexist. Yet there you were using that old tactic.

So Donna, I appreciate your remedy ‘a spoonful of sugar’ but I must respectfully say I really can’t understand why you are offering it to ME and not the good doctor.

We have to be honest on the blogs. State our views. I think however you are a bit overboard when you state: ‘When De Dribbler crosses your path kick his tail appropriately’.

If I cross anybody’s path (like here now) it is based on a differing opinion of facts. There is no room in life or blogs that to ” kick [my] tail appropriately” should devolve to what has transpired in recent weeks.

Is that the Christian philosophy you teach at Sunday School?

40. The late Tony Cozier was a cricket commentator par excellence.Andrew Mason by comparison is a poor rakey commentator,given to garrulous exchanges of piss poor observation and delivery.The man should be taken away from the microphones.I for one will
    not listen to his drivel.I know I am not alone.His favorite “and ee’s drivin” is so hackneyed,not to mention that he has no pride in his pronunciation of consonants.It says a lot for a country that calls itself ‘literate’….

41. Because a husband would go to work and take care of the household all that said does not give the husband a right of correctness on all matters including verbal or physical abuse within the household
    GP with all his knowledge and expertise is a glancing reminder of one who belives he has superior intellect and would inact his form of abuse to anyone who challenges his opinions. Who in there right might would subject self and be injected with that kind of intellectual snobbery just to be in agreement and be securily placed on GP scorecard as being right .Could nit careless if GP is right i would not allow GP to insult abuse or stomped on myself esteem to be in his graces.

42. Dribbler,

When I first came to BU some people were lambasting Dompey in a very nasty way. When I asked why I was told it was a rum shop not a Sunday school. I was advised that maybe I wouldn’t be comfortable here. But being flexible I decided to relax in the spirit of a hot Bajan style debate. I do love a bit of witty banter but I try not to go overboard. So, no! This is not the Christian philosophy I teach at Sunday school and though I may slip occasionally this is NOT what I mean by “kicking [your] tail appropriately.” The operative word there was “appropriately.”

Now the doc has an acid tongue and a tendency to accumulate insults like an elephant but what he says to you is NO MORE than what used to be said to Dompey EVERY TIME he dared to comment.

Make up your minds! Is this a Sunday school or a rum shop?

Enough said.

GP,

I like visiting the Ivory Tower occasionally but I prefer to live on the ground floor. After thought and talk should come appropriate action. I prefer to be a foot soldier.

And now back to regular scheduled programming.

43. @ Dribbler
    “….I notice that your posts have a very distinct tone in recent weeks above and beyond your prophecies of the coming rapture spoken over these years since I first entered the BU cauldron”
    It is highly unlikely that you heard Bushie speak of ‘the coming rapture’. However your observation of recent changes is possibly very perceptive- as it has become clear to the bushman that we have all recently passed the last possible exit from the highway of chaos and pain.
    Whereas before, with great national effort, and with resort to extreme actions such as ‘sackcloth and ashes’, Caswell, Jeff, and others of like mind may have been able to significantly turn our fortunes around, …it is now clear to Bushie that we have passed even that point.

When the whacker was last turned in for regular service, it was not returned to the bushman, on the grounds that ‘there is a time for everything – and the time for the whacker has now passed….”.

You will have noted for example, that when GP hurled a vicious bouncer on the leg stump recently about Geneses 1 and 2 on Jeff’s blog, Bushie simply ducked out of the way and took new guard….
    Boss, ….Had the whacker been in hand, it would have been cat piss and pepper on that blog….despite PODRYR’s pleadings… 🙂

For your information, after Bushie’s recent medical checkup, the doctor opined that barring unforeseen events, there is no medical reason why the bushman should not celebrate his 130th birthday… and this from a top doctor, who went to a top school…. LOL ha ha ha

Bushie’s advice to you Dribbles, is to spend some time reflecting on your will. To think beyond the transient, the fleeting, and the frivolous… and remember that like all living things, our beloved Earth also has a time to die….

You may want to start by reclaiming your old handle …”Dee Word”….

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Gabriel June 24, 2016 at 9:37 AM #
    Andrew used to say since he started cerca 1984 that he was the heir apparent…..he and Barry Wilkinson.
    He and Fazir do not know who they are. They try to be Tony or Reds instead of being themselves…….and they mess it up.

Donna
    I understand exactly what you mean.
    When I became a doctor I rebelled against people telling me what I could not do (like playing cricket in de road wid de village boys, or stirring concrete, or sweet talking the girls’ and where I could not go. I maintain that I have been GP since 1952, and passing an exam should not change me.

We did not dislike dompey but he deserved what he got. He was often off point and off putting and like dribbler came over as a social climber. There is an ethos on BU ABOUT “CHALLENGING”

A MEDICAL ILLITTERATE CANT CHALLENGE ME ABOUT MEDICINE. HOW CAN HE? I WILL CRUSH HIM EVERY TIME.
    I LEARNED MEDICINE IN MEDICAL SCHOOL
    I LEARNED MORE MEDICINE TEACHING MEDICAL SCHOOL

THERE IS AN ESTABLISHED AETIOLOGY FOR SPINAL CORD INJURIES IRRESPECTIVE OF WHAT “OTHER DRS” SAY. WHEN A MORON “CHALLENGES” ME ON WHAT I KNOW I LOSE ALL RESPECT FOR HIM PERMANENTLY!

THERE IS AN ESTABLISHED AETIOLOGY FOR PROBLEMS IN THE LABOUR WARD THAT LEAD TO CAESAREAN SECTIONS. YET I HAD SOME STUPID STAISTICIAN TALKING SHIT AND THE BLOG MASTER SAYING I DONT KNOW WHAT HAPPENED. LOL AFTER ALL THE HOURS I SPENT IN THE LABOUR WARD, I WONT KNOW WHAT HAPPENED?. how many different things can happen to warrant a “C” SECTION. Have they altered the list?

since when has the structures in the spinal cord changed that I will tolerate a medical dummy ‘CHALLENGE ME”

I tell my students MEDICINE HAS TO DO WITH LEARNING LISTS RECALLING LISTS KNOWING THE FACTS TO APPLY LISTS AND TO DIFFERENTIATE BETWEEN THINGS ON THE LISTS.
    IF YOU GO ABOUT THIS IN A CONSISTENT PRACTICAL WAY YOU WILL ME RIGHT

but some stupid semi ilitterates come on BU to challenge. HILARIOUS

CRICKET ON TV TODAY
    NOT SEEING MANY FOLK I KNOW AT THE CRICKET

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BT
    re when GP hurled a vicious bouncer on the leg stump recently about Geneses 1 and 2 on Jeff’s blog, Bushie simply ducked out of the way and took new guard….
    DID NO SUCH THING
    I JUST SHARED MY OPINION ON A FEW PASSAGES ACCORDING TO MY UNDERSTANDING OF BOHR THEORY AND PAULI’S EXCLUSION PRINCIPLE etc FROM MY DMIN thesis written 15 years ago. I also shared the Basics of what the Biologists call the FOOD PYRAMID, starting with plant material at the bottom etc as well as very very basic TAXONOMYc

46. You again, Luci? I will agree when I agree and disagree when I disagree. I do not fear Bushie’s barbs, Huckleberry’s blanks, G.P’s venom…. er… medicine. Or your perennially poor attempt at psychoanalysis. (LOVL – at the patient running the madhouse!)

Now on to another form of mismatched battles! When is the cricket match starting?

47. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DONNA
    ARE YOU CALLING HIM LUCIFER? YOU FORGOT THE GET THEE BEHIND ME PART? LOL
    YOU DO KNOW THAT SOME VENOM IS USED AS MEDICINE, RIGHT? LOL
    KEEP SWEET GIRL

MY SON WHO IS ALMOST 40 SAID TO ME RECENTLY
    DADDY WHEN I LEAVE of SPEAKING TO WOMEN I FIND MYSELF SAYING WHAT I USED TO HEAR YOU SAY……….”keep sweet” LOL LOL

48. Well, it was either the Rapture or the Reaper we gathered you were awaiting.

49. GP

Luci can’t keep up with me. He shoots his arrows from behind. I do seem to recall that bit about the venon/medicine. Dompey was a bit annoying but I still felt sorry for him. After all, he who knows not seldom knows that he knows not these days. It just isn’t fashionable any more now that everybody is an expert on everything. It takes at least half of a brain to figure out what your capabilities are and a secure knowledge of who you are (self-esteem) to accept yourself as you are.

PS. Last time I went to Kensington last year the stands were almost empty. That is simply no fun.

Leave a Reply to DonnaCancel reply