The management of Arawak Cement Limited in the attached document dated June 1, 2016 has accused Minister Donville Inniss of not responding to a letter sent to him on April 18, 2016. The thrust of the communication is to complain that the Barbados authorities have been incorrectly classifying imported cement by Rock Hard Limited as “other hydraulic cement”  and not “hydraulic cement”. The benefit to Rock Hard Cement Limited is that the imported cement attracts 5% CET and not 15%. Further, Arawak Cement Limited posits that the the chemical composition of the cement imported by Rock Hard Cement Limited is the same as that produced in the region and therefore deemed ineligible for exemption based on COTED mandate. It is highly unlikely theatPrime Minister Fruendel Stuart has responded to Arawak Cement Limited given the sloth at which he has built a reputation.

Is this the same Minister Donville Inniss who today [16 June 2016] invited disgruntled stakeholders to pursue established government channels to solve problems and avoid the traditional and social media?

149 responses to “Donville Inniss Ignores Letter from General Manager of Arawak Cement Limited Pointing Out Incorrect Classification of Imported Rock Hard Cement”

1. No Well Well…………the Cows, Bizzys, Maloneys, Bjerkhams, Parris’ and Harris’ will have no uses for them after they loose the election………

These morons will be of no use to them and they will not use the billions they acquired over the last eight years to pay them any a cent in salary.

The deceitful sob’s made enough on the side so they should be set for life. I well remember a certain minister’s wife complaining during conversations at PTA meetings when our children attended the same school that they were struggling to pay rent some months as the husband was not making much and most of the burden was on her. Now they are flying high with many high end luxury vehicles, luxury homes, businesses and my girl flies the world.

Talk about politics paying well…….only in Barbados …..DLP fatted calf sweetly shared among a few!

2. Kudos to the police officer holding the young man found with a high powered gun in the courts precincts.The officer is holding the prisoner in the old time manner..one hand on the man’s arm and the other in the waist of his pants.This way he can’t pull and run.Further in the old days part of the perp walk was to hold the back of the pants waist at the spine and pull it up tight so the prisoner must of necessity walk on his toes and this added to his discomfort and embarrassment.These guys who think it cute to shake hands and smile at their young girlfriends would be most embarrassed to be walking tippy-toe like a toddler.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Prodigal…they use their deceitful smiles and lying mouths at election time to deceive the people, those actions gain them the status they require to acquire the positions of trust, access to the treasury, access to their bribers and thats all they need to start their nasty practices of bribetaking and corruption….there is never any intention to enrich the population or achive progress for the population as a whole, it’s always the intentions of politicians to enrich themselves and a few.

Let’s see how this turns out, all the money in the world can’t stop them from acquiring the diabetes, blood pressures, strokes, heart attacks, cancers, brain tumors, aneurysms etc…and I can go on all night….most people when afflicted would give up every penny to be healthy again…let them carry on smartly, driven by greed.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Prodigal Son June 17, 2016 at 10:07 PM #
    No Well Well…………the Cows, Bizzys, Maloneys, Bjerkhams, Parris’ and Harris’ will have no uses for them after they loose the election………

Of course the minority parasites will turn immediately to the ministers who have direct access to the treasury and government contracts…the very next day after am election loss, they will pretend that Fruendel, Dumbville, Lashley, Boyce, every one one of the existing ministers….never existed.

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Donna

Girl, I am not into that innuendo, gossip, slander or trumping up claims to add bad to those that are already bad. I stated the allege gossip because my source said it is a talk but not substantiated. As per Inniss matter, there might be some truth in that, but my peep will validate things for me. I might be perceived as not so nice, Donna, but I won’t go around spreading lies about anyone even if they are the DLP Lie lie train.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Here is a prime example of a very dumb black man….Brathwaite, who has no useful, intelligent reasoning skills, allowing himself to be used as bait by Maloney, to keep a job, instead of making himself independent of that type of usage, by finding ways which will enable him in creating his own wealth….whenever he is fired by Maloney, ya will hear him sing a different tune….presuming he will not be too ashamed to say anything at all.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/06/18/maloney-makes-exit/

7. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David, Piece, SSS, Caswell, DPD et al

I’ve been trying to find a reasonable explanation for the disparate happenings of the last week or so re. Maloney and the CTP as well as Freundel Stuart ceding his authority re. TCPD to Darcy Boyce and it suddenly hit me this morning that the only thing which explains them is that a sleeping giant has now awakened and set in train a series of happenings that first and foremost seeks to assuage his conscience from the realisation that he is responsible for much of the rot in the country through inaction and looking the other way on the less than honourable actions of some Ministers.

The upcoming train wreck is designed to clean out the augean stables by forcing the perps to do much of the cleaning themselves.

I think that someone realised that he could no longer ignore the wide swath of infelicities that were exposed into the public domain by the Mia Mottley No confidence Motion and uncharacteristically threw all caution to the wind in taking asymetric action which has so far resulted in a number of cracks in the facade of the DLP cabinet when the perps recognized, by the vigour of the anti-Maloney actions, that someone meant business.

The glimpse into the mind of Maloney as evidenced by the removal of all the plants left by the CTP action and the suggestion that perhaps they were stolen is most instructive. The reactions by the Hon. Donville Inniss can only be described as akin to seeing the writing on the wall and taking the necessary corrective stances to position himself for the likely fallout.

These events may well portend the beginning of actions similar to those which saw the fall of the Sandiford regime but in this case absent of altruistic input by many of the combatants.

8. @ AWTY
    Correct.
    The shit is hitting the fan.
    So far, we are just seeing the farts and some soft jobby being impacted….

There is a time for everything….
    There was a time to bribe and to be bribed…
    ….there is a time to pay…
    There was a time for secrecy…
    …there is a time for exposure..
    There was a time for brass bowlery
    …and the time is coming for its consequences.

9. SSS,

I don’t believe you are into that sort of behaviour. I just believe in giving EVERYONE a fair hearing in my court. That requires evidence and an examination of such. The politicians usually convict themselves with their own words but in this case I can’t figure him out. I need evidence.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman…as has happened for centuries, humans continue to make the same mistakes and expect different results.

In this case it’s the same nasty practices over and over and over by politicians and business people, but they do not expect the same nasty practices that they have indulged in on the island against the people for decades….will one day no longer work.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences June 18, 2016 at 6:27 AM
    “Here is a prime example of a very dumb black man….Brathwaite, who has no useful, intelligent reasoning skills, allowing himself to be used as bait by Maloney, to keep a job, instead of making himself independent of that type of usage, by finding ways which will enable him in creating his own wealth…”

Now you can see why the Bussa rebellion failed. Bussa was sold out by his own black slave brethren for a plate of food from the Massa kitchen.

Not only Brathwaite but also the other black political jokers backing Maloney in his flagrant disrespect for the law. I guess (unlike the Speaker) he has taken the PM’s advice to heart and gotten a lawyer to justify his illegal acts.

But you must admit that Mr. Brathwaite does make a salient point about ‘indiscriminatory’ (wholly confusing) treatment being meted out by the T&CP. Shouldn’t the T&CP also remove the obviously more dangerous death trap at the Coverley egress?
    Shouldn’t the same Bussa statue be relocated like the Sir Garfield to its more relevant place in either Heroes Square to be in an imaginary eternal battle with Nelson the poster boy for British imperial slavery of blacks and brainwashing colonialism?

The Lears roundabout is just a red-herring of a mere distraction. When you see the removal of the Coverley death trap and the ‘detumescent’ flattening of any of the other of Maloney’s illegal ‘erections’ then you could argue the T&CP does not ‘discriminate’ in its exercise of building rules and regulations.

But right now it is merely ‘screwing-up’ Maloney, in a roundabout way, with a limber prick of a dickhead called the Knight of Obstruction to Privateer Business in Barbados and who would soon be canonized as the beheaded Saint Mark betrayed and traded in the grand game of political chess by his Lord Fumble king of Corruption Land.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donna…evidence is nice if you are a lawyer or judge….dead bodies as evidence is even better….particularly if it’s yours…lol

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller….from the track record of that Maloney town planning issue….where it took 5 years for the process to remove the useless hut from the roundabout…, I don’t know how long ago Maloney built the illegal coverley obstruction, but maybe the slothful process to remove it and the illegally built gas statoon, is not yet over….again, the government is culpable in sloth….when their ministers are not taking bribes from these same people…the sloth in the government departments prevent any useful action to stop illegal practoces from idiots like Maloney,

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And Maloney et al knows this.

Why do you think another arrogant jackass like Peter Harris misuse and abuse the court system….he knows the sloth and refusal to change laws and procedure by the slothful government….allows him to do so indefinitely…corrupt business people count on that, are all aware of it and will not stop their dirty unlawful practices until the sloth is removed….which is not likely under either the D or BLP political parties….but who knows, we may be one day, very pleasantly surprised.

15. Mia Mottley and the BLP on pun a winner with this Mark Maloney business. I just can’t wait for the PAC’s report to Parliament on NHC and the Auditor Generals Special Audit of High Rise Housing Projects.

16. Pieceuhderockyeahright June 17, 2016 at 7:25 PM #

You have outdone yourself with that one.

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Donna

I hope you understand that the burden of proof is not easy to obtain. Most of what is developing in Barbados is because a few whistleblowers decided to leak information to expose particular scams. Some have called Donville Inniss all sorts of names; I have alluded to him like the mouth of the south who need a bridle. However, if Donville Inniss is a politician with a modern day conscience and ounce of integrity, then it is safe to say that Freundel Stuart is a leader of exemplary skills, and Dennis Lowe is what we always needed as environmental minister.

18. Why thank you Due Diligence

I shall inform the grandson of your endorsement

And here be more of the Fatted COW sorry Calf sorry Fatted Bovine

http://imgur.com/xWsLuUp

19. @WWW
    It seems as if Mark Maloney is doing more than stopping foreign investors from coming to Barbados. Like the petulant child that he is, he took up his plants and signs.

Seems as if they are two Barbados; the Mark Maloney Barbados and the rest of us. In the Maloney Barbados, that statue of Bussa has to go. Maloney’s PR lackey in equating Maloney’s hut to Bussa’s statue made an asinine statement and is now pretending to be a contortionists as he tries to clean up his idiocy.

Guys, i understand that you need the checks, but try to always ‘act like a man’.

20. “Is this the same Minister Donville Inniss who today [16 June 2016] invited disgruntled stakeholders to pursue established government channels to solve problems and avoid the traditional and social media? A few months past, there was a female lawyer whose support of causes was conditional on victims not going to the media.

It is hilarious watching individuals trying to drag Barbados back to a time before the advent of social media. They want to buy land and to hide and wuk it.

One only has to watch the recent development within Barbados and note that where once those in authority would have covered their eyes, ears, and mouth so as to remain unresponsive to the concern of citizens, we see that there are now cracks in the wall. Cahill no longer appears to the be the done deal that it was. A structure which was in defiance of the laws of Barbados for years was demolished in a matter of hours. It is as if levers which were in the hands of politicians are suddenly beginning to work.

Donville Innis has been sending strange signal these past few days. Some has interpreted his words as a pre-resignation speech; perhaps, they were just a signal to his ‘sponsors’ that a different model for doing business is now in effect and that he will be unable to deliver the goods as he did in the pre-social media days.

Whilst BU did not take any credit, only a fool would be unable to see that BU is changing the way business is done in Barbados.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gazer….ya can guarantee that no honest investors will get involved in Barbados as long ss the Maloneys, Bizzys, Bjerkhams and Harris’ et al are the ones poisoning the place with corruption, greed and selfishness, they are now famous worldwide as being less than honest snd sided by greedy politicians, the government ministers would do well, to cut ties and their greedy losses.

The only investors the island will attract because of those now well known crooks are scam artists like Del Mastros and Clare Cowan…unles the politicians clean up their dirty acts.

22. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Piece

Your poster depicting the fatted calf is precious.

23. “Prodigal
    You said the Dems fooled people that they are Champions of the Black Man.That reminds me of Bharatt Jagdeo former president of Guyana.He was named by the UNIA as a Champion of the Earth and walk about boasting that he is such.What they have found since he is out of office now is that he gave away practically the whole of Guyana forest to the Chinese company Baishilin who destroying that country with a vengeance,chopping down all the trees and shipping them out to China.If Barrow was alive,Jagdeo couldn’t land in Barbados.”

Didn’t Mr barrow give away Paragon to Bull. Big gun testing missiles to kill the black people in South Africa and Namibia and no recourse to the law for the disadvantaged property owners.

24. “Donna June 17, 2016 at 1:55 PM #

Hants,

It is not just civil servants who suffer from this. I have noticed that many, many people enjoy frustrating you by telling you that – “It cyan do so” or “It cannot be done” and similar disappointing responses. I suspect that it gives them a feeling of power, perverse as it seems, because in many cases their jobs depend on your patronage. But how many people do you know who act rationally? I have met many more who don’t.”

Very instructive post. Only yesterday we were discussing the same and came to the same conclusion that it must be a sense of power that drives a service provider to say no without even examining or offering alternatives or advice to the person seeking service. This behaviour is particularly prevalent in some Government departments and kin the banking sector.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82360/bushy-park-lease-jeopardy

Here is Maloney breaking the law again.

26. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

I hear dying with laughter at the fatted calf poster. But you know that ain’t no ordinary calf. That is one of dem cowtocalf. A rear breed of heffer that can only be found in the Lowelands of Denniss.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82363/nupw-lowe

They need to do more than just say time for Lowe to go, apply real pressure on Fruendel to get him out he is useless and could cause disease to destroy the island.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/06/17/any-lessons-from-spate-of-sudden-deaths/

12 sudden deaths in one month, according to this article is serious, the air is unhealthy when garbage pikes up in neighborhoods.

28. Colonel Buggy Avatar

One of the things that I will advise all Barbadians to do , is to sanitise all canned and bottled items which they purchase, whether from the corner shop or from the upscale supermarket. As the island is now overran with food embedded garbage, the rat population has increased tremendously,and nowhere is safe from their sneaky incursions, open market or distribution warehouse.
    Barbadians for a long time have been drinking soft drinks straight from the bottle, now we have adopted the habit of necking beer straight from the bottle as well. These botlles/ containers could very well be contaminated.
    Then there is the matter of open -handed handling water coconuts which have been left exposed overnight.
    We need to be more conscious of the hygiene,or lack of it, around us.

29. The baloney business model is to maximise the linkages in government by negotiating favourable leases of land

with the expectation that baloney constructed buildings are categorised as permitted development unless the CTP files an objection or sues,

with the reasoning that the average case in Barbados courts take years to complete.

30. “This time, the Ministry of Housing, Lands and Rural Development has threatened to terminate its lease to the Barbados Motoring Federation, which is operated by the Bushy Park Racing Circuit Inc., headed by Maloney for alleged breach of contract.”

After creating an exciting race track with great potential as a “niche industry” surely a compromise will be negotiated.

31. Minister Donville Inniss the public deserves an explanation?

US LNG breaks into Caricom market; Barbados now importing LNG from United States

Date:

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Trinidad and Tobago’s close neighbour, Barbados has become the first Caribbean country to begin importing Liquified Natural Gas from the United States.

This is according to a report by the US Department of Energy’s Office of Fossil Energy, which also shows that the prices paid by Barbados are in some cases more than double the amount of which this country is exporting LNG.

The report shows that six shipments of domestically-produced US LNG left the port of Hialeah, Florida between February 5th and April 29th, 2016, bound for Barbados.

The shipments totalled 7.4 million cubic feet of LNG that fetched prices as high as US$15.78/mmbtu, with the lowest price being US$10/mmbtu.

In comparison, the highest price Trinidad and Tobago has fetched for LNG exports to the United States this year, was US$6.70/mmbtu.

All annual reports dating from 2015 go back, have shown no exports by the United States to any other country in the Caribbean, making this year the first incursion by the United States, into T&T’s traditional Caricom market.

T&T now the only LNG supplier to US

The DOE report which tracks LNG import and export data for the US for the first four months of 2016, also shows that Trinidad and Tobago is now the only country in the world that exports LNG to the US.

A total of 34.8 billion cubic feet (bcf) was exported by this country between January and April this year.

Other competing nations, including Egypt, Nigeria, Norway, Qatar and Yemen, have not exported any LNG to the US this year.

The report shows that Trinidad and Tobago exported 12 billion cubic feet of LNG in January.

However, that figure dropped to 9.6 bcf in February, 8.5 bcf in March and 4.7 bcf in April.

Overall, this still represents an increase of 1 billion cubic feet over the corresponding period for 2015, during which 33.8 bcf was exported.

The report shows two short-term shipments from this country in January and February amounting to 2 bcf, that netted US$6.70/mmbtu per shipment.

A total of 15 other shipments over the period netted prices ranging from US$5.83/mmbtu to US$1.45/mmbtu.

Trinidad and Tobago exported a further 15 billion cubic feet of LNG to US territory, Puerto Rico during the same period.

The most valuable of those shipments netted US$6.96/mmbtu.

CNC3 Digital

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

oops sorry David, that was not meant for here

33. The LNG story is unbelievable.

Is it possible that the Trini LNG exported to the US is being re-exported to BIM.

Of his recent promotional seminar in Toronto Donville said:

“We saw a keen interest in Barbados and how Barbadian companies have been helping Canadian companies to go global, and I’m satisfied that once we keep at it, this sector will grow leaps and bounds.”

Is this an example of how Barbados is helping US LNG exporters to go global?

34. @DD

It would be great for the minister to issue a public response.

35. I recall reading about 4 to 5 years ago,that financial gurus in the USA were forecasting that investment opportunities in ships transporting LNG from the US is the recommended market for investment.This was as a result of the take off of ‘fracking’ and the US becoming self sufficient in oil.

36. @ Gabriel

This “Inspirational Quote” is from you

Remember share it as a blind copy with friends.

To do so and not “be caught” create an email address called e.g. ProdigalSonBarbados@gmail.com then copy and paste all the email addresses of your friends in the “bcc” segment of the email and add the picture and send it

The only way the campaign to oust these incompetents is going to gain momentum is by you and every one of us tekking the time to broadcast the message that we want them out the House of Assembly.

Every effing one of them.

Clean Slate and then we deal with the Troika and them empty “Covenant of Hope”

“Make Integrity Legislation Law, Make Freedom of Information Law and make The Power of Recall Law, OR WUNNA ASS IS GRASS”

By that time a 3rd party will have arisen BUT THE DELP WILL NEVER EVER GET IN POWER AGAIN

http://imgur.com/6rMzdhv

37. Constitutional Rights, invasion of privacy, ILLEGAL !!!!!! Violation of Human Privacy !!!! INVASION OF CIVIL CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS !!!!

38. Needs to stop invading human rights of privacy !!! by secretly spying on people in their bathroom, bedrooms. Especially when someone is not committing any crime. Such waste of resources when they should be investigating big corporations, and insurance companies that’s committing many organized crimes that is making people suffer and taking people money, pensions, everything they worked hard for … or the ones that are killing innocent humans, like in Florida.
    Stop this illegal invasion of privacy of innocent civilians that been hurt enough!!!! And go after the real criminals…

39. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Were are the so-called Technocrats when these dumb ministers go abroad and sign away Barbados’s future?

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Clean Slate and then we deal with the Troika and them empty “Covenant of Hope”

“Make Integrity Legislation Law, Make Freedom of Information Law and make The Power of Recall Law, OR WUNNA ASS IS GRASS”

By that time a 3rd party will have arisen BUT THE DLP WILL NEVER EVER GET IN POWER AGAIN”

Now that’s a forward thinking plan….oh thee of vision.

41. David. I have a fundamental question regarding Ministers going overseas and negotiating on behalf of the Government and signing off to millions of dollars without any checks and balances. We had Water Resource ministry going and finalising loans inclusive of funding for restructuring the economy. This action should have been the responsibility of the Finance ministry. Finalising negotiation on the importation of LPG should have been discussed with Finance, Energy and Commerce together as a team, this is why we keep making stupid decisions, but again, both administration allow individuals to beat their chests saying “I did it” and when blatant mistakes are made “Silence, more silence and sealed lips”.

42. @Tell me Why

Perhaps T&T government cannot sell Barbados in small quantities and it makes sense to sell in bulk to the USA.

43. I have no sympathy for Arawak as last year this time I was paying $28 per bag. NowI buy the said cement for $17

44. @Kammie

With respect the issue is about transparency, leaking forex and good governance. The cost of the cement is just an outcome.

45. @ Kammie
    Yours is a very simplistic view.

Consider this.
    You are a member of an extended family (or cooperative, or country), and one of your members takes on the responsibility of producing all the milk that the family needs.

Now due to economies of scale; lack of experience; lack of facilities, and other predictable factors, it is OBVIOUS that such a member CANNOT compete with external suppliers who may enjoy bigger markets, government subsidies, state-of -the-art facilities and more experience.

What do you do? …..force that family member to compete directly with some outside stranger so that you can save 10 cents per pint?
    …OR DO YOU WORK WITH THAT MEMBER with the intent of building his efficiency and capacity to the point where he IS INDEED competitive? …and where he is then in a position to STRENGTHEN the family /coop /country by becoming a resource himself?

Supporting Chinese cement makers over less efficient Bajan BROTHERS, is cutting your nose to spite your face…

Don’t blindly follow those selfish albino-centrics …whose ONLY interest is the amount of profit they are able to grab for themselves from every pound of concrete that they dump around Barbados in their various scams…..

46. Isn’t the BNSI suppose to carry out some sort of destructive testing on both Arawak and Hard Rock cement products,used in building and other construction , to ascertain that the required standard, provided that we have one, is being maintained ?

47. @David @ Bush Tea, I do share the same sentiments. Arawak has also robbed us for years and is very arrogant about the Fugitive Dust concerns.