Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

After reading reports of the Prime Minister’s recent press conference, I am convinced that he somehow thought that he was speaking to a gathering of his party faithful. He appeared as though he was doling out propaganda for them to disseminate.

His position on the the 10% increase in pay for parliamentarians betrayed a level of selfishness, and an uncaring attitude that is inconsistent with what is expected from a leader, whose people are suffering untold privation. The Daily Nation of Monday, June 6, 2016 reported the PM as having said:

I don’t think that this is any increase for parliamentarians. I asked members of Cabinet, I asked parliamentary secretaries, in fact I didn’t ask them, I ordered them, to give up…that ten percent of their salaries. The time has come for the restoration and for me it is no longer an issue of dollars and cents, it is a moral issue.

I can agree that it is a moral issue but not one that would bring any credit to him.

Government is claiming that the economy is starting to show some signs of recover. Presumably, it is on that basis that they are seeking to increase their own salaries. Why must they be the first ones to benefit from this alleged recovery? They were not the first ones to have suffered any loss.

The salaries of ministers and parliamentary secretaries are set out in the schedule to the Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries (Remuneration and Allowances) Act. The minister with responsibility for finance, consistent with section 5. (1), made an order setting new salaries for that category that was published as S.I. 2014 No. 9 in the Official Gazette on March 6, 2014. Section 5. (1) states:

The Minister responsible for Finance may, by order, amend the Schedule by increasing or decreasing any of the emoluments specified therein.

Nothing in that order even remotely suggested that it was for a limited duration. If that were the case the order should have said so. It did not. More importantly, as far as I can recall no such mention was made in the parliamentary debate.

The PM went on to liken dropping the Consolidation Tax and the credit union tax to restoring MPs salaries. That is a bit disingenuous since from inception those two impositions were implemented for specific periods.

In the case of the credit unions the tax was implemented retrospectively making it an illegal imposition. Didn’t Mr. Stuart think that having taken money out of credit unions illegally, he should first act morally by restoring it since Government had no right to it? Also, wouldn’t it have been moral to return the tax that is being taken out of the travel allowance of court marshals on a continuing basis since 2011.

Normally, public officers who have to travel in the performance of their duties are reimbursed for such travelling. Officers like postmen and court marshals have potential do almost unlimited travelling in the performance of their duty. In the case of marshals, government pays them a monthly travel allowance of $553.85 rather than allowing them to claim commuted travel.

In 2011 Government made travel allowance that was paid as a perk taxable. Marshals must travel to carry out their duty of serving court documents and their allowance should therefore not have been subject to tax. Section 3. (b) of the Income Tax (Amendment) Act 2011-11, states, in part:

…where an officer is entitled to be reimbursed for any amount of travel in the performance of the duties of his office or employment, that amount is not taxable.

Initially, that tax was applied to both postmen and marshals. When the error was discovered, they ceased taxing the allowance of postmen. To this day, five years later, the Government continues to illegally tax marshals. Wouldn’t it also be a moral issue to return the money to marshals?

It is not illegal for Government to take care of themselves first but it is certainly immoral.

70 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Prime Minister’s Money and Morals”

1. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the cunt AC

Let me remind you; I supported the DLP all the years that I was eligible to vote. The moment that this arrogant person became PM, and his bunch of ignorant talkers started showing little regard for suffering Barbadians; my mind turned completely. I would give Mia Mottley my vote or spoil it first before I vote for these piss poor brutes. You, on the other hand, have to go down with the ship. After all, if you take the money, you got to support the honey. You can talk til your udders run dry and a pooch droop, even more, I gine posterized in protest against the nasty and dirty doings of the DLP administration. Liars need a good memory, and these particular cheats do not do a good job covering their tracks. I want them to lose every single seat, as much as I detest the BLP corrupt scum, right now a change of wicked is needed.

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Furthermore @the cunt AC, the corporation I work for is responsible for money amounting to 20 Barbados GDPs. What I do is far greater than the role of the Prime Minister, because I have to deal with people who change millions of lives in the stroke of a pen. Keeping them happy always means being on top and ahead of the game. I would provide more details, but there is a warrant out for the SSS arrest. Can’t divulge too much now. Not that going to jail with all dem horny women would not be quite entertaining. OOOOOOOOOPPPPPs sorry promise that I would be a good girl this year. Apologies for letting my bitch out. Real sorry.

3. Why is all so overworked and sounding mad as hell because mention of the piss poor posters that distract rather than add any thing of importsnce to the blog.Then outcomes BU number 1 Poster queen cussing and carrying on like a scalliwag
    Bitch just be careful which ac u tangled wid cause David would have to close the blog#2 cunt when i finished wid youh black a.ss
    Let this be your first and only warning

4. ac have no intent of disrespecting Bu but if David does not have any influence in the way others choose to be disrespectful of other bloggers i would have no other choice but to follow suit in my language and approach to any blogger who belives that they can be abusive

5. Mia Mottley dodges the million dollar question But what was her answer still waiting

6. Mia Solutions to social and economic problems highlighted in the Covenant of Hope

7. Whu is going on here?

A fellah cyan go to court to get he case postpose again causing dem cyan find he file and come back to Piece and Quiet?

And who is the culprit?

I have examined the evidence and, given that posters of posters are at the centre of the controversy, I will rule that the person(s) who do not like the posters, nor the posters of posters, is wrong.

Why?

because the last time I checked, Bulbados is a democracy and this entitles me and my childrun and their thrilllrun to be abul to speak freely, about the physical deficit, the inability of the Minister of Finants to place a decimal point properly, and Fumbles’s associations with lepers, liars, and cheats.

@ AC

If de man name is NOT FUMBLES, why do you reply?

If there is no Minister of Finants, called Stinkliar, why do you become incensed?

And you see this cussing thing? I gots to stop? Wunna has got to follow de ole man example

Now let me show wunna what i mean.

“effing”

Effing is not a curse word.

Effing wunna gots to cuss, we are going to give you flintlocks and have you meet at dawn, at the garrison.

Effing is bajan for if” it can be a conjunction, adjective or a noun. So in the above sentence that is a conjunction

When I say Fumbles is no effing use, that is a noun because, and here is the thing that you etymologists did not know, I use “effing” there like how we bajans say, bull cow, ram goat.

Now I know that a few of you might thing that it was an adjective, but you must all accept that I am an illiterate, and i use words wherever my illiterate self likes

So in this sentence “effing de blog master was to block AC” effing is a conjunction

Fumbles and Stinkliar ent no effing use, a double emphasis noun. Remember refer to rule 2 above

Now if I say Piece uh de Rock is talk some effing &*#@e that is an adjective and a bad word too.

So AC, I want you to promise me that you going behave like a good girl and not talk too much (badword) cause effing you, (not to be confused with “ef you”) want to get a knighthood or ladyhood this November during the 50th use of bad words as you are threatening will damage your chances.

I will have some words with my girlfriend SSS on this matter in private, effing you doan mind (your own business) and caution her that calling you a (badword) 3 times in one post is not necessary (two is sufficient)

Now cant we all jes get along?

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC..ya got told off. If ya would just rise from the filthy, murky depth of yardfowl status…maybe we could summon up some respect for you, but until then….YUUUUK.

9. Piece tell yuh filthy mout girlfriend that deh aint no bigger cunt hole than she. And you piece ought to be ashamed to having trash talking filthy mout friends like that.you got to be a very lonely ole man in desperate need of companionship
    For your information you can buy better sh.it than dat for company.

10. Here is a piece of advice to a few of you. When you post a comment read it over and ask yourself how has the comment added value to the discussion. If it doesn’t get lost.

11. WW& you better stay clear cause you dont know which ac you talking wid u hear Just get out my face before i tell yu where the hell to go ole fart. Use exit door to the left it is easier and faster no one would notice and do not stop cause the door would hitvu in your fat a.rss ole goat

12. Caswell
    What is the status of the ERT and the NCC laid off staff who have not yet been paid their due after almost three years of being assured that the PM will fast track the solution via ERT.

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Gabriel

The ERT still hasn’t delivered it’s decision but that is not a matter of dollars and cents for me, it is an immoral issue.

14. @ Caswell

Sincerest Apologies to you and BU

Sometimes one just wants to release the tension/frustration of these games at the Law Courts with a little levity

You will note that I have used your seminal remark “It is not illegal for Government to take care of themselves first but it is certainly immoral.” to create this poster

Since the poster is about you I wonder if brathwaite will allow me to call it a Brand Name Poster?

Casswell, Please do not sue me like led Zeppelin of “stairway to heaven” is now being sued for publishing this without your written permission.

Look how all these ramgeorge years dem fellows being sued. You do know that tunes have 100 years of protection?

http://imgur.com/pXcTKVq

I however expect that the BLP will put their graphics people to work on replication rather a variant for their campaign.

The irony of this nuh, “the enemy of my/our (the nation’s) enemy, is my (and probably our) future enemy” lolol

Did you see the empty Covenant of Hope Speech?

Bringing in the stalwarts.

Just like Hitler did, get Tull and everybody deah to talk nice and bout history and bout why Grantley Do it brek my heart really

Steupseeeee

But you hands tie ent dem anyways, I know an Entity whose hands ent tie.

And GP befo you start it is not the entity that the preacher who open de prayers for the Covenant of Hope session it ent the party he was praying to.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Piece

I like the poster. Feel free to quote me anytime.

I am afraid that I did not see or hear covenant of hope speech. I have better things to do with my time than to listen to discredited politicians.

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the cunt AC

Thank you for the compliments, however, let me remind you that I have turned a new leaf. Prior to turning that new leaf I would have already lambasted your scaly ass in cuss and told you that it was time to wash out your,,,oh la la la so close, but I would only dissappoint a few on this forum whom I respect to the fullest. The bitch in me is itching to confront your wobbly ass, though, but I must tame the beast that lurks within. So I will let you have the last say and simply leave it there. However, just for the record you wannabe cross eye bad ass, the old me would enjoy the pleasure of tormenting your fish scales for months in language that you would not find too flattering. Calling me all those nice names so you can influence my sweet piece to the fact that he is dealing with thrash. What a laugh, you ain’t know how happy you made me feel calling me those names. Girl come with something a little bit stronger. Piece knows thrash when he sees it that is the reason why you are hardly acknowledged on here. Now carryon smartly and find some creativity in your next lambast of my character, your first attempt was pathetic is shite.

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ my boo Suzanne

You doan even have to doubt that I got your back.

She can irritate a lot but you know what?

The Blogmaster has greater patience that both of us together and his gentle hint is all it took to refocus me.

Let me say something Suzanne.

Your posters are awesome.

Therefore you are absolutely disliked and feared.

My strategy if I were them would be to “disrupt your train of thought” and offset your talent to generate show stoppers to the degree that you, and others, are caught up in (justifiable) expletives which, while good for our easement, dilutes our application to “the initiate” to oust their donkeys which is awakening virtual passers by to the BU pages about “Fumbles the Hopeless”

You pixelated that graphic just enough to distort his physihog to create that balance between lack of focus and recognition of the subject but the single word “Hopeless” speaks volumes.

I have seen that naughty side of you in the past and you don’t ease up when you encounter female rabbits but like the Honourable Blogmaster often pauses to tell us, it is sometimes hard but try harder NOT TO ENGAGE THE JAs

Remember the Blogmasters words “Their Hignorance knows no bounds”

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

Though you have drawn quite an interesting observation of the last poster, you have failed to see the significance of the subtle colour tones used in the depiction of the controversial make believer. Their are meant as well to convey a more decisive picture of the articulate one, one that I can only say is not at all flattering. As to the rise of this new AC wannabe bad ass, if she is game then I playing. The only person on here who can stop me from diving into its crutch is the people I respect on here. If they say nothing, her, it, he, whatever the shite it is will get a serious taste of my type of bad.

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

Ok, for you and out of respect for David, I will not engage the scruffy ass DLP suckadee. You have my word, unless, unlesss……….