Submitted by Afra Raymond
Muhammad Ali
Muhammad Ali – 1942 to 2016

Cassius Clay, later Muhammad Ali, was an iconic, irrepressible example to us growing up in the disputed diaspora…We are now hearing that Ali died last night, Friday 3rd June 2016, although my mood had shifted to a sombre, reflective space a few days ago with the news of his hospitalisation…To me, Muhammad Ali epitomised the vogue expression ‘out of the box’, even before that phrase was invented…He represented a kind of constant restless wrestling with destiny and possibility…he showed us the limits of possibility and, in overstepping those, showed us the importance of dreaming and the necessity of trying to break out of the boxes of racism, imperialism and the many overlapping isms with which we are beset…he used his fists, his fine mind and his exquisite lyrical ability to rank with the best…Ali’s autobiography ‘The Greatest’ (authored by the late Alex Haley of ‘Roots’ fame) remains one of the top-ten non-fiction epics I have read since its publication almost 40 years ago…it ranks with ‘The Black Jacobins’; ‘Capitalism and Slavery’; ‘How Europe Underdeveloped Africa’; ‘Bury my Heart at Wounded Knee’…those are all true epics for the ages, so that is some measure of the man…The movie of the same title also remains a classic, with the title song by George Benson ‘The Greatest Love’, remaining in my top-three of contemporary music of sheer beauty and power…

Finally, I have to say that Ali always seemed to me to be one of those Midnight Robbers of Yore, telling it like it was in outrageous, unmatchable verse…here is a short one from one of the many effusive obituaries published this morning –

I done wrassled with an alligator
I done tussled with a whale
Handcuffed lightnin’, threw thunder in jail
Only last week I murdered a rock
Injured a stone, hospitalized a brick
I’m so mean I make medicine sick

Ali, the Diasporic Boukman!

Note from the BU Blogmaster – Cassius Clay, later Muhammad Ali suffered from Parkinson’s Disease. Here is a presentation from Dr. GP to take the opportunity when we will have an increased focus on this ailment.

194 responses to “Tribute to Muhammad Ali”

1. Muhammad Ali’s mortal body and flesh died. His SPIRIT didn’t die neither did his SOUL die. They live on for ‘We’ shall put on Immortality and according to the works that Ali has done he has surely put on Immortality. He does not have to sit around and wait for some Rapture only the vile at heart has to be raptured.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah..Alvin and none of that changes the fact that you are an emptyheaded yardfowl who lacks credibility and a pimp for Clare Cowan…Cahill and DLP who tried to rob bajans and destroy the air quality on the island with your destructiveness…which can all be proven.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

4. The memorial service for the late and greatest Muhammad Ali. He was a great boxer and he used his fame to make the world a better place. This unfolded at time when Blacks were regarded as chattel.

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Nothing has really changed

6. And in one corner we have the light weight contender,Bim, punching above its weight. In the other corner is the Freundel Stuart administration,who have succeeded in knocking Bim,into a stupor, to the floor.

7. Tributes flowing from Whites and Blacks alike.

https://twitter.com/Nightline/status/741391608269012992

1. westindies@westindies 16m16 minutes ago Saint Kitts and Nevis

TRIBUTE TO ALI: Windies put boxing gloves on the stumps during today’s training session to remember Muhammad Ali

Jason Holder, Ballr and Muhammad Ali

8. Muhammed Ali was giving a heroes sends off befitting of royalty . A black Messiah was today put to his final resting place thousands of people lined the streets in his home town to say good bye to man who had a reason for living May he rest in Peace

9. In Memory of the Greatest

10. G.P. I am disappointed in you. There is a flaw in your character for even though you have reached a higher plane, through education and experience, you still have such built in biases and prejudice; yes prejudice, that even not you find it diffuclul, or refuse to , call Mohammed Ali by his right name. You are aware, or should be, of his history, his character, and his courage, and yet you refuse to give him the respect due. Say it loud and clear:MOHAMMED ALI It would be good for your psyche.
    Well Weii,
    I WATCHED THE service. I have known and admired Ali since 1963, through the enthusiasm of a young white girl in Binghamton who was enamoured with this handsome young black man called Cassius Clay, who had the courage to throw his Olympic Gold medal in the river his hometown, because he could not eat at the lunch counter of his choice. That takes courage; a courage demonstrated by a young lad.I have admired him since then till now. I watched his funeral service, and shed a tear, for theses types of men come once in a lifetime. I shall not live long enough to see another one, and I give thanks that I witnessed it. He was far above the pettiness, spite and bitterness displayed by some on this blog. Displayed by persons wh will never understand the greatness that was Ali. They are too shallow. Let not your heart be troubled by my “yardfowlism”, for I am not bothered by any of the epithets you throw my way. I am above them. I know who I am, and I am comfortable with who I am. And I will always be the person I am.

11. By the way GP. You have never seen “your” Jesus. You worship and revere, and you await the coming of the “rapture” so that you can be “with him; not again, because you have never met him, except in your mind, in paradise. (Whatever that means).You have seem Muhammed so you should understand the ability to achieve perfection.But you cannot pay him the respect he is due.

12. I propose that AC change his name to BC (Broken Clock)
    He was right twice in one day.
    Seriously. Good job, AC.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins June 12, 2016 at 12:11 PM

There is absolutely no difference between the likes of GP and those Islamic fundamentalists who under the guise of Jihad would kill thousands and themselves just to get to heaven to bed 70 virgins (virgins that both Mohammed and Jesus have already deflowered).

The only difference that can be gleaned is the name of the ‘stars’ playing the part of the special or last and ‘only’ messenger of some desert god. It just takes one back to the story of Abraham and the feud between his sons Ishmael and Isaac except in reverse birth order to fit in with the timeframe of the two major faiths of myths, lies, chicanery, and bovine excrement aka bullshit.

14. Please forgive me for being silent. I was busy mourning. MUHAMMAD ALI (caps intended) meant much to me. Tony Cozier meant much to me. They were mortals with flaws I am sure but I have NO IDEA what they were. I will always mourn them BOTH! I have no problem with white people in general, just the racist ones. I have no problem with Moslems in general, just the extremist ones. I have no problem with men, just the sexist ones. I have no problem with people in general, just the bigoted ones. I have no problem with atheists or non-Christians, just those who call me a fool for believing what they have no way of disproving. (Just as I have no way of proving.) I choose not to respond in kind. But I must say I have a problem with someone refusing to call a man by the name he chose for himself! Is a man not allowed to name himself? Why the disrespect? What exactly has this man done to deserve it?

MUHAMMAD ALI, thank you for being sooooooo pretty!

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Alvin Cummins June 12, 2016 at 12:11 PM #
    By the way GP. You have never seen “your” Jesus. You worship and revere, and you await the coming of the “rapture” so that you can be “with him; not again, because you have never met him, except in your mind, in paradise.

i peter 1:8 Whom having not seen, ye love; in whom, though now ye see him not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory:

The Anglicans have a hymn of which the first verse refers to this verse It is sung to a lovely tune with a sweet sweet tenor

O Savior, precious Savior,
    Whom yet unseen we love!
    O Name of might and favor,
    All other names above!
    We worship Thee, we bless Thee,
    To Thee, O Christ, we sing;
    We praise Thee, and confess Thee
    Our holy Lord and King

Re You have seem Muhammed so you should understand the ability to achieve perfection.But you cannot pay him the respect he is

I AM SORRY SIR I ONLY HAVE ONE HERO……..THE LORD JESUS CHRIST WHO DIED FOR MY SINS

CASSIUS CLAY WAS A MAN WHO BOXED

and no I AM AM NOT AWARE NOR DO I CARE ABOUT his history, his character, and his courage,

SURELY I HAVE THE RIGHT TO DECIDE WHOM I WANT TO GIVE RESPECT TO

Re Say it loud and clear:MOHAMMED ALI It would be good for your psyche.
    COWS WALLOP HE IS NOT JESUS MY SAVIOUR

re . I watched his funeral service, and shed a tear, I WATCHED THE LONE RANGER INSTEAD AND ROY ROGeRS

. I too know who I am, and I am comfortable with who I am. And I will always be the person I am. AND I WONT BE BULLIED BY ANY ONE ON BU

16. Some went overboard in attempting to elevate a mere mortal above human status and others went overboard in attempting to degrade him below the inherent status due to every human no matter how unremarkable. Nobody wants to bully you. You are just sooooo mean- spirited it hurts to see it! Is it necessary to pull down everybody so that Jesus can stand tall. He really doesn’t need any help from us in that area. He is ascended and seated at the right hand of the Almighty God and attempting to pull us up with Him. Will you help Him? That is the assignment He gave! You may have the last hateful word.

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Miller, …”There is absolutely no difference between the likes of GP and those Islamic fundamentalists who under the guise of Jihad would kill thousands…”

That is a serious bit of rhetoric. You are suggesting that this scholarly gentleman is just like a Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi. A learned Imam or religious scholar who uses his faith based script as a cudgel to beat us who do not share his views.

Moreover, though you are further suggesting that we BUers are a party to his spiel of hate as we embrace his religious mantra in the name of free speech and his invocation that ‘he will not be bullied’ although he repeatedly shouts at us, disrespects us all and yet hails himself as a true acolyte of a man with a message of peace.

Hmmmm. I never thought of him that way before. You sir may be right.

Alas, he is a Bajan scholar – one of our best and brightest- and has saved lives with his gifted doctor hands. We cannot dismiss that, now can we. How can he be terrorist-like with a cold heart that would take heads. Impossible. We over dramatize.

He is just a regular guy who likes to get his way and has the brains to demand it. Nothing terroristic or ISIS like about him in the least…who cares if a few ‘bullers’ get killed and how can this Christian soldier pay homage to a apostate who choose to call himself Mohammad Ali.

Surely we over dramatize. This man is a doyen of peace, love and togetherness. All hail the power of free speech.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler June 13, 2016 at 6:40 AM
    “Alas, he is a Bajan scholar – one of our best and brightest- and has saved lives with his gifted doctor hands. We cannot dismiss that, now can we. How can he be terrorist-like with a cold heart that would take heads. Impossible. We over dramatize.”

There are also many so-called intelligent men- some of them medical doctors of greater scholarship and career achievement than GP- and other knights of humanitarianism who are indoctrinated members or supporters of ISIS.

You certainly underestimate the power of religion on the human psyche. When religion comes knocking on the minds of the weak and vulnerable, rationality and commonsense disappear.

“He is just a regular guy who likes to get his way and has the brains to demand it. Nothing terroristic or ISIS like about him in the least…who cares if a few ‘bullers’ get killed and how can this Christian soldier pay homage to a apostate who choose to call himself Mohammad Ali.”

Oh yeah, a regular guy alright! Which regular guy in his “right” mind would want to believe in or promote a god that instructs human beings to commit mass murder and the raping of virgin girls?

“They fought against Midian, as the LORD commanded Moses, and killed every man……..Now kill all the boys [innocent kids]. And kill every woman who has slept with a man, but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man.”~ Numbers 31:7,17-18.

“Kill everything that“breathes” from humans and animals!” ~Deuteronomy 20:16

19. Even though the DEVILS wrecked your muscular system and called it Parkinson’s, believing that they could Park you in a corner until you withered away and died, YOU defied them.

For this GREAT man refused to be held down. He travelled the world spreading his Goodwill message of Peace, Love and LIGHT. Some were just contented to touch the hem of his Garment while others needed to touch the flesh of this great soul. As a Great Soul who cultivated and fashioned his heart in the Light, it was quite possible for your other organs to shut down while your HEART continued to beat on, for only a Clean and Pure Heart lives on…………a mystery to the ignorant, low frequency, five-senses one-dimensional beings whose western trained minds are light-years behind SPIRITUAL medicine.

A Great Soul who loved those things which were below him and was beloved by the beings above him. Foggy air never disturbed the direction of his attention and the dense earth was no obstacle to his work, no depth of water however great, impaired his view. He was all things and was the same everywhere. His intelligence was endowed with consciousness for it was that consciousness that raised and sustained his intelligence. You Great Soul existed in Ousiodes. Having been formed of Divinity and Matter, you descended to the earthly realm, completed your mission, and you’ve shed that earthly body and returned to Divinity ….So travel on Great Elder, for the Light Ones, the Neteru await you.

Like that Butterfly you are now free so float on with the beautiful lyrics of Earth Wind and Fire.

https://youtu.be/r58GQYFZeLE

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

O soul, are you weary and troubled?
    No light in the darkness you see?
    There’s light for a look at the Savior,
    And life more abundant and free.
    Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
    Look full in His wonderful face,
    And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
    In the light of His glory and grace.
    Through death into life everlasting
    He passed, and we follow Him there;
    O’er us sin no more hath dominion
    For more than conqu’rors we are!
    His Word shall not fail you, He promised;
    Believe Him and all will be well;
    Then go to a world that is dying,
    His perfect salvation to tell!

21. “The world is waking from its phantom dreams,
    To make out that which is, from that which seems.”

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

AND SO THE MOCK GOD DIES BUT CAN RISE AGAIN UNTIL THE GREAT WHITE THRONE JUDGMENT
    LET HIM SAY HE IS THE GREATEST THEN LOL

23. Muhammad Ali’s Matter stays in the material grave but his DIVINITY returns to that from whence it came. SPIRIT TO SPIRIT MATTER TO MATTER. He does not have to wait for some ‘racist’ great “White” throne for he did not descend from a great ‘white’ throne for there is NO Great white throne.

24. The important point is that so long as we are alive our well being is stoked by those who would inspire us to be the best that we can be while in the temporal arena.

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

i agree David THAT IS WHY THE LORD JESUS CHRIST INSPIRES ME SO

26. And that’s why Muhammad Ali inspires me and countless others. He definitely had and has more impact than JC who is not the LORD.

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

poor likkle hopi , he think he bright
    poor likkle hopi , he talking shite

wuh loss murdah

28. Georgie Porgie………….The virtual fly has landed! Finally you have nothing left to say but spew bilge. Typical of your kind. You are one pathetic entity. You truly are a christian. You call yourself a doctor but I find that hard to believe for a ‘man’ who spends most of his time in BU rum shop looking for attention and validation and look….. the only manner in which you can attain that attention is NEGATIVE. There’s absolutely no way that you could be in the business of healing because your frequency is just too damn low, nasty in nasty out. Prescribing toxic pharmaceuticals is more like your specialty.

You are pitiful just like the Pharisee “Thank God I’m not like other men” “O thank god I’m a ‘doctor’ because that makes me ‘smarter’ than other men’ “o thank god I’m good and they are bad…o thank god thank gawd’ Nigga your aura is putrid.

SO ‘PHYSICIAN’ HEAL THYSELF for you are nothing more than a Spiritual Leper.

You are NOT Muhammad Ali and you will never be like Muhammad Ali so go elsewhere and seek attention.

29. Watch the full Billy Crystal’s eulogy for Muhammad Ali

http://boingboing.net/2016/06/12/billy-crystals-eulogy-for-mu.html

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Georgie Porgie June 13, 2016 at 5:26 PM #
    poor likkle hopi , he talking shite

31. Its open season on Muslims today so she just got on board. Jesus never owned slaves because Jesus never existed. Ali left Christianity and took up Islam and she left Islam and took up christianity to tell black people to free themselves. Oh the folly! Pot calling the kettle black! Did Muhammed Ali preach hate? She obviously doesn’t know the history of Christianity. How does she know that Ali’s heart was full of hate? O yea she’s a christian so she would know. Woman go free ya blasted mind please because you are obviously domiciled in a vitreous place.

https://youtu.be/i3dozKBIGgQ

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

poor likkle hopi , he talking NUFF shite

33. Good Morning Dr. Misery…this one is for you…

https://youtu.be/erZmWwDKwrU

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

poor likkle hopi , he STILL talking NUFF shite

35. Wait, that is a prayer?!!! Aaaaaaamen.