e_hutchinson_gorilla_cincinnati_blackThere is a joke that made the rounds sometime ago about this fellow who woke up one morning and discovered that a gorilla was on his roof. It is arguably in sufficiently good taste to bear repetition even in a Sunday family newspaper such as this.

So the fellow looks up the yellow pages and, sure enough, there’s an ad for “Gorilla Removers”. He calls the number, and the gorilla remover says, “I will be there in 30 minutes. The gorilla remover arrives and gets out of his van. He’s got with him a ladder, a baseball bat, a shotgun and a huge, ferocious looking dog of uncertain progeny.

“What are you going to do?” the homeowner asks.

“I’m going to put up this ladder against the roof, then I’m going to go up there and knock the gorilla off the roof with the bat. When the gorilla falls off, the dog is trained to grab the gorilla’s testicles and bite them. The gorilla will then be subdued enough for me to lock him in the cage in the back of the van”, says the gorilla remover, and hands the fellow the shotgun.

“What do I need the shotgun for?” asks the homeowner.

The gorilla remover replies, “If the gorilla should knock ME off the roof, you must immediately shoot the dog.”

There was no need for a gorilla remover on May 29 this year at the Cincinnati Zoo when a three-year-old child fell into the enclosure housing Harambe, an imposing 17-year-old silverback gorilla. Rather, the call would have been for a child remover. In these days of the new journalism, where every incident becomes immediate fair game for social media communication, a video of the event went viral.

The outcome was the shooting of the gorilla by the zoo authorities in order to protect the boy from possibly being mauled to death by the gorilla who, it was claimed, could crush a coconut with his bare hands.

One aftermath of this outcome is that this ostensibly sensible decision proved not to be the popular one, as some of those who had no problem with this majestic animal being held in captivity for populist entertainment, nevertheless wondered about the lack of value placed upon its life in the incident.

Some argued that the child was in no clear and imminent danger, given similar previous incidents between gorillas and small children and the almost maternal treatment ostensibly displayed by Harambe towards the child here on some occasions during the episode.

This, alas, is a non-starter. The gorilla is classified in law as an animal “ferae naturae” (wild by nature), a categorization that makes the owner strictly liable for any harm that it causes, whether the animal has previously exhibited such a propensity or not. I am not aware that the law in Cincinnati differs from this. Thus, circuses and zoos are liable if one of their wild animals should be the cause of injury to an individual. We may surmise therefore that the zoo authorities may have acted out of a sense of avoiding possible liability to the parents of the child and the consequential negative reputational damage to the establishment as much as out of a desire to avoid the nightmare scenario of such a frightfully strong animal rending an infant from limb to limb in full view of horrified onlookers.

Indeed, those moments when the animal suddenly dragged the child through the water by his feet were far from tender and drew an audible collective gasp from the spectators. This merely served to demonstrate further the unpredictability of an animal of this classification and, hence, that too of a probable happy outcome to the entire affair.

Confronted with the argument that it was a straight contest for the primacy of a life between that of a human and that of a magnificent specimen from an allegedly endangered species, those against the destruction of the gorilla naturally turned their attention to the mother and her “negligent” supervision of the child. Last Friday morning, I watched an intriguing discussion on CNN between two female lawyers who held contrasting points of view on this matter.

Over the years, I have had consciously to warn first-year students of the law of negligence that liability for harm should not be presumed as established simply because there is the existence of harm to an individual. The victim must still establish that the elements of the tort are severally satisfied in order for there to be liability. One of the discussants appeared to have committed this elementary error, being prepared to attribute culpability to the mother simply because the child fell into the enclosure. She would not be swayed from this view by the fact that the mother was also simultaneously attending to her other children and sought to confirm her assertion by relating the fact that such an incident had not occurred in 38 years, assumedly the period for which the zoo had been in existence.

It is clear that if the mother is to be held civilly liable at all for anything. It would have to be to the zoo for causing the death of its gorilla through a failure properly to control the wanderings of her son. This determination is likely to involve complex issues such as whether the “chain of causation” between the mother’s negligence of not keeping a proper lookout and the death of Harambe remained unbroken despite the zoo’s meditated decision to shoot the gorilla, or whether this action on the zoo’s part was constrained by the consequence of the mother’s inadvertence in the first place, leaving the zoo without a free choice in the matter.

Criminal liability of the mother, on the other hand, would be based on some statutory provision to that effect, but this should also require that the mother acted without due care and attention for the safety of the child. I have not discovered such legislation in Cincinnati, but that in Tasmania is apposite. The Children, Young Persons and their Families Act 1997, provides, by section 91:-

(1) A person who has a duty of care in respect of a child must not intentionally take, or fail to take, action that could reasonably be expected to result in –

(a) the child suffering significant harm as a result of physical injury or sexual abuse; or

(b) the child suffering emotional or psychological harm of such a kind that the child’s emotional or intellectual development is, or is likely to be, significantly damaged; or

(c) the child’s physical development or health being significantly harmed.

Penalty:

Fine not exceeding 50 penalty units or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 2 years, or both.

(2) Proceedings for an offence under subsection (1) may only be brought after consultation with the Secretary.

(3) A person may be guilty of an offence under subsection (1) even though the child was protected from harm by the action of another person.

205 responses to “The Jefferson Cumberbatch Column – “The Gorilla and the Boy””

1. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Some years ago we had a similar incident at Bloomsbury Plantation where a little boy dropped into a field of potatoes, and to protect those potatoes, the little boy was shot dead.

2. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Property, Sarge, is merely the legal right to exclude others from dominion over the object in question. That is why a man cannot OWN a woman and vice versa. But while animals are sentient, they may be mastered, tamed and hence legally owned, even if not morally, as you suggest.

3. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Colonel Buggy, simply a matter of historical priorities!

4. Toronto Zoo.

SUPERVISOR RATIO
    In order to ensure a safe and enjoyable visit, we require that groups maintain the following minimum supervisor to student ratios for the duration of their visit:

Grades K-3 1 supervisor per 5 students
    Grades 4-8 1 supervisor per 10 students
    Grades 9-12 1 supervisor per 20 students

I will leave it to you all to decide if the perception of “safety” at a zoo is correct.

1 supervisor per 5 students age five.

5. Somebody sent me a picture of an albino gorilla with the caption, “You think they would have shot him?”

6. aren’t you guys the same people paying for monkey tails,

7. @ Sargeant

You are quite right. In fact, that school argues that there are no differences amongst, all, living creatures.

There are more and more studies pointing in that direction.

JC is stating the current state of affairs but we live in hope that a higher consciousness will arrive

And all living things include plants, as well.

There are studies that prove that when music is played for plants and they are keep in caring environments they do significantly better.

Soon from now, if we, the worst of the animals don’t destroy all life, the notion that a zoo or a human could own another living creature is going to be akin to a human owning another human.

8. Chuckle, chuckle, chuckle.

@ Jeff Cumberbatch

Thou hast committed the cardinal sin as wast comitted by Caswell Franklyn and administered by Heather who rewriteth the Constitution and whom, you in your innocence, tangled with when thou didst ask her laymanship (a) what part of the Constitution needeth rewriting and (b) doth she know the elements involved in writing a Constitution.

See wunna bright fellahs does extemporize pun dese tings cause wunna does use logic and ting but de ole man is a watcher of humans and all dis is, is “I gine hunt you down and shoot you verbally, for mekking me de laughing stock of BU”

“Who you feel you is? Looking as dapper as you do in and out of court, the picture of legal competence?”

Here I is promoting Mottleyian agenda as being the one for Change and dat she will listen to me to rewrite the constitution and you put me down and ting?

I’ll be yah Huckleberry!!”

Man looka I feel dat as man you should send a confidential message to Heather and apologise tuh de woman and tell she you gine do de cunstitution fuh she and let de bygones be bygones yuh remember dat Hell hath no Fury…speaking uh which whu become uh she?

@ Chad 5 9’s = 45

Man I ent even know whu to say bout you man I speechless…Between de two uh we you used to tek one uh Jeff Classes right?

Dat is whu i does tell people heah, remember when you got dese chilen as students do not poit out dem idiocy nor repeat de words “Bobo shoot de effing dog” while looking in dem direction. Dese fellers does hold a grudge long and, based on his brilliant reparte bout Hilary and Trump, only does be showing whu dem did want tuh tell you long

@ Jeff.

Pray that you do not live so long as to be confined in an old peoples home for you will not only be beaten with a book in your head but should that establishment have a dog, you may suffer the same fate

9. if of course certain people wukking deah as nurses or male health care givers

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gabriel…the zoo’s argument is week, they claimed the gorilla had the kid for 10 minutes, she could have ripped that kid anytime in those 10 minutes and they did have the time to tranquilize the animal…given their own statement here…

” The idea of waiting and shooting it with a hypodermic was not a good idea. That would have definitely created alarm in the male gorilla. When you dart an animal, anesthetic doesn’t work in one second, it works over a period of a few minutes to 10 minutes. The risk was due to the power of that animal.”

The gorilla had the same power in those 10 minutes to kill the boy, they were weaseling out of a lawsuit…and all those greedy zoos need to release those animals except the ones that are being kept for breeding purposes like the panda who do not breed well in the wild..to lazy… or the ones who need medical monitoring and care.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

*Weak…although they claimed the anesthetic would have alarmed the animal….I have my doubts.

12. if animals can be legally owned then the protection to create an environment from which that animal is in no position to harm hurt or mane a human being or itself is solely designated to the owner of the animal ,
    As in the case of the child the rationale which all seems to take towards negligence cannot be solely directed towards the parent although plenty blame can be apply
    In that the Owners of the animal cannot be totally exempted from probable cause of negligence on a framework of protection which would suggest that any animal living in a confined environment might have to cross those challenges that require quick access for its survival and remedy to correct those challenges in case of emergencies can become problematic. The incident where the child slipped through the railings for lack of being attended by the parents gives a clear cut view that those railings might have been designed with an intent solely to rescue the animal in the event normal procedures failed which could impact on the life of the animal leaving vulnerable and helpless.
    The question now becomes should those rails have been more secured to avoid such an incidence or would making the rails much more secured be an impediment of some kind in cases of emergency where the animal well being would be compromised
    Yes there is sufficient evidence of culpability pointing in both directions but the owners inability to secure a better or safer protected environment for people and animal should be of more scrutiny than the parents actions,

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

None of yall are applying US law to this situation with the child.

Just imagine if the same thing had happened in Barbados…we can be thankful it did not, given the incompetencies abounding.

I am sure some have visited the Bronx zoo and seen the giraffes, polar bears, bears, elephants etc…none in enclosures, but ya have to keep ya distance even if there are rails or fencing.

I remember one zoo I went to some giant snakes were slithering around in the trees, no enclosures, even in Coney Island fish museum….giant white killer sharks and all types of dangerous creatures in huge tanks, I too walked with small children, ya have to be vigilant…..and keep ya distance.

Small children are known to be curious and yes would find a way to strangle themselves with cotton wool., my daughtet stuck toilet paper up her nose and it came through her mouth….one must always be vigilant with children, turn your head for one moment and your small child could end up dead…that is your responsibility as a parent.

14. @Gabriel

If we missed the tongue in cheek a full apology extended to the Annuki.

15. the fact being that zoos are classified as dangers environment that is why animals are kept cage and locked the laws need to address if the acceptance of locking and caging animals for entertainment are justifiably to animals who cannot vocally expressed themselves when situations like that of the child takes the well being of the animal survival away and the decision to kill the animal becomes the viable option.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Only arrogant beasts like mankind would put in the bible that THEY have dominion over animals…lying man would only have dominion over animals and each other if they put them on earth, man has no such power….it was all manufactured using greed to drive the deceptions.

17. @ Fear Play. You are seeing the light. Thanks. I will waste no more time on Jeff or Piece. Time is of essence.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That is how mankind was able to successfully create a human animal farm on earth….lies and deception….smoke and mirrors, politics and religion.

19. @Hants

To your point about adequate supervision. Here is an extract from Jeff’s column:

She would not be swayed from this view by the fact that the mother was also simultaneously attending to her other children and sought to confirm her assertion by relating the fact that such an incident had not occurred in 38 years, assumedly the period for which the zoo had been in existence.

The above brings into question how the mother would have been able to deliver adequate supervision.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Good point…given all the child predators abounding in the US…particularly where children go for recreation, playgrounds and zoos….an overwhelmed mother should have better supervision for her children when visiting these places….the older children always have supervised school trips to zoos, amusement parks etc….some parents volunteer to supervise….this mother is lucky it was the gorilla and not a child predator out on his or her weekly stalking spree grab the child and fled.

21. i am certain no would equate a similar situation as the one sarge allude in one of his coments to that of a hostage standoff if in an instance an uninvited guest attend dinner and the guest wanders out of site into the domain of the pit bull ,,certainly one would not thing the dog was responsible for the guest actions

22. i am certain no one would equate a similar situation as the one sarge allude in one of his comments to that of a hostage standoff if in an instance an uninvited guest attend dinner and the guest wanders out of site into the domain of the pit bull ,,certainly one would not think the dog was responsible for the guest actions but the owner should be held responsible if harm or danger came about to the guest and the animal

23. @Jeff

The BU household suspects the basis for some expressing frustration to this gorilla article has more to do with the lack of scholarship being demonstrated on the Opposition side in Barbados. There is a high expectation from you given the fruit you have produced.

24. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Understood, David. But there are some good legal brains in the Opposition -LOTO, Toppin, Dale, et al…

25. one now suspects that the led BLP operative Heather is very frustrated after the dirty soils of Mia under pants was exposed in broad daylight in St,lucia for all to see , Naturally the lead supporter of the BLP would have angst towards those who would implant any article that serves no political purpose but regulates in mind a different discourse and screws up the expectations and the long lasting effect of poisonous words that blp operatives have grown accustomed and liking

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, you can ague the law as Jeff did but you can’t also argue proper parental guidance and control with that legal logic. Whether the mother was legally liable or not is a technical discourse. She FAILED miserably as a parent.

One does not know how many children she had in her care at the time but ANY parent with children in a potentially dangerous situation or environment must be ‘held’ responsible if their judgement is shown to be impaired…because bad things happened because of bad planning.

If this lady was properly prepared for her zoo trip then we would not be having this discussion.

That lad could have died from the fall into the enclosure. He could have drowned in the water. All because his mum went to a zoo with him and was distracted by other kids.

In a similar vein Tamir Rice’s mother & father will forever question themselves at his senseless death. Did they admonish, guide and instruct him enough about use of guns in public places. As a black kids in a city with quick trigger cops that is as real as it gets. I am not dumping on their tragic lost but these are harsh facts.

As a lad I too loved guns and cowboys and Indians and all that. Yet I recall that as an adult I saw a friend graciously refuse a gift which a work colleague offered her for her son. She had a no gun philosophy and the item was one of those convention giveaways that shot a company knick-knack. It was the furthest things from a real gun imaginable but she said, thanks but no thanks.

Her son would not have died in that playground under the Tamir circumstances, at least not from any play gun from her home.

And what about the mother who was crossing the street at a cross-walk legally with the walk-signal but was several feet – 3+ paces – in front her child. It is reported the daughter said ‘mummy that car coming’. She was struck and killed by a driver turning.

The law is certainly on her side but to what ‘benefice’ is that when you child is dead.

I have always admonished my yuts: ‘Don’t walk behind me’. I do not allow it. So either both of us would have died in that cross-walk or I would have plucked her to safety.

Harambe would have been alive and a four year old would not have defied logic with a fall several feet into a Gorilla enclosure had his parent exercised better judgement and planning for her zoo trip. She deserves ever criticism she receives.

There is the law and then there is parental lawlessness.

27. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

DPD, the law does not differ from “parental lawlessness” as you put it above.

Indeed, it is such lawlessness that might incur criminal liability for child neglect.

But if you were on a jury and the judge had instructed you that the mother should not be found guilty unless you were convinced beyond a shadow of a doubt that she failed to exercise due care with the child, knowing what you do now, would you vote for a conviction?

Remember, the occurrence of injury foes not necessarily mean liability for negligence!

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh dear Jeff, that jury thing is dangerous. I went pon de people jury several years ago and my fellows voted me as foreman and I get giddy headed …LOLL…and almost catspraddle a rape conviction..true dat.

But that comedy apart – it was serious den – I am deliberately distinguishing the two things of ‘parental lawlessness’ and the law very carefully. As you advise there can be a real nexus between the two but in the examples I noted there really was a wide chasm…difficult to action legally.

In the situation you mentioned I would be guided by the judge (I SHOULD be, surely) because her lack of due care was really a result (in my humble opinion) of her poor adult skills rather than negligent lawlessness.

Should she be sanctioned. Yes. A legal conviction/record. No.

There are a lot of poor parents or rather I should say people who are not ready for the role of parenting. Of course those who are really lawless, negligent and abhorrent need to be incarcerated away from the children.

This lady just used very poor judgement which could have ended the life of her child. She needs to question herself very, very deeply about her actions on that day. And as this is the US likely the police and Child Welfare agencies will pry into her home life…at least they have an excuse to file a report.

So to answer your question another way. I would completely agree that both agencies should interview her and her family. Sorry for her conniption but her son could have died due to her carelessness – let me avoid the word lawlessness!!!

29. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

A clear answer, DPD. Merci…

30. 1 supervisor per 5 students age five.

That is what is allowed at the Toronto zoo.

So the Zoo management and the Supervisor are endangering the lives of children.

31. Lawrence James Bauer Avatar
    Lawrence James Bauer

If they’re going to prosecute someone, they should prosecute the dozens of women who kept screaming. Their screams — from a large hostile female group which are not part of the male gorilla’s group, made the situation much much worse. That caused the silverback male to be challenged, excited and confused. That added greatly to the danger.

32. There is a security breach that the Zoo needs to address concerning this incident before a re-occurence of the same magitude happens again ending in a human fatality
    Say what anyone likes about the parents negilence the Zoo as owners should and must provide efficient security in avoidance of these mishaps

33. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

“All’s well that ends well”

No charges will be filed after a young boy crawled over a barrier at the Cincinnati Zoo and fell into an enclosure with a gorilla, Hamilton County, Ohio, prosecuting attorney Joseph Deters said today, explaining, “this could happen to even the most attentive parent.”

Deters said an investigation by the Cincinnati Police Department determined that “none of the witnesses interviewed described the [boy’s] mother as anything but attentive to her children. Our information is that the mother turned away for a few seconds to attend to another one of her young children and that is when the 3-year-old was able to climb into the gorilla enclosure.”

He added: “I am very sorry about the loss of this gorilla, but nothing about this situation rises to the level of a criminal charge.”

34. @Jeff

The issue stands, should a responsible zoo management impose controls on how many children a parent is allowed to enter the zoo in their charge.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/aq3g300YJ7m

See the lion and the boy.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Or a lawsuit against the Cincinnati zoo either…win, win,…..big loss for the gorilla.

37. @ Jeff,

My dear old sparring partner. I hope that you will put some flesh on the bones in your next column. I trust that it will explain the significance of this cryptic “The Gorilla and the Boy” post.

If there is a hidden message, i have yet to see it. However, you must bear in mind that i am not the sharpest tool on the block!

38. then it bodes well to say in lite of the fact no criminal charges will be filed against the mother. The unveiling of such a revelation can be a basis by which the mother can filed a lawsuit against the Zoo on the grounds of inefficient security and unprotected safety factor which led to the boy falling into the gorilla pit

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

And therein messrs AC lies the true nature of our human-kind: “… then it bodes well to say in lite of the fact no criminal charges … can be a basis by which the mother can filed a lawsuit “.

Another MacDonald hot-cup of coffee all over the lap, in your mind.

Spoken like a true opportunist. Can’t fault your acuity and desire to get over.

Dean Cumberbatch has already suggested that he does not believe a civil suit will succeed but I am sure there will be several lawyers who will be keen to test that with this parent.

@David at 2:59 PM…I didn’t know you were a sucker for big-brother providing us with pampers, wet wipes and holding our hands while we changed the diapers too.

Are you suggesting the zoo can erase all avenues for future liability law-suits by establishing some arbitrary measure on span of control. Yes that type of rule does exist in some areas like this zoo but how many are too many kids to control,

If she has two rambunctious kids and in attending to one the other slips into the enclosure…is the zoo’s liability covered?

This lady should be absolutely grateful she is free and clear of any issues.

As AC suggests…now she can go on the attack. And if her and the husband’s personality is anything like that of their go-getter son then that’s quite likely.

40. Yes filing a lawsuit win or lose would bring more focus on security at all Zoos across the nation resulting in the effect of having to take a sledge hammer to move a mountain.

41. @Dee Word

See BU’s comment and others in the context of a US environment/culture.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

She cannot now file a lawsuit, there are no criminal charges being filed against her, the animal is dead, the child is unhurt…why and what is she countering with, when she is not being charged with anything…..that was the reason to kill the gorilla in the first place…end of story, not even a case to close.

43. i would state as evidence that child fell in an unprotected area in which the gorilla was housed .
    i would also suggest to you than harm or danger does not only go to physical but psychological as well in the form of trauma ,
    i would also suggest to you that the boy was treated at a hospital for injuries i would also suggest to you that with adequate protection syrrounding the housing of the gorilla the boy would not have fell into the gorilla pit . i would also suggest to you that on all of the above findings the parents have every right to litigate on ” a cause” due to culpability brought about from the lack of proper safety and protection by the owners of the ZOO
    The focus should be centered on safety procedures and those procedures that worked best initially towards prevention

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…you would state all of that and get laughed out of court. Lawyers can be greedy, but they know when a case is a dud…you would have to file that yourself and represent yourself..I would pay to watch that….even by American standards, it would be a nuisance suit and you will more than likely end up paying the Cincinnati zoo cost…which would runn into some serious thousands….for that greedy idea….lol

45. The mother is on record that the family will not be filing a lawsuit, the boy received minor injuries and judging from the reports they just want to get on with their lives. Of course people can change their minds but why are people here speculating about a lawsuit?

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC wants a lawsuit…she is a US attorney…lol

47. Well isnt Speculation the order of the day on BU so whats new ?

48. @DPD
    In a similar vein Tamir Rice’s mother & father will forever question themselves at his senseless death. Did they admonish, guide and instruct him enough about use of guns in public places
    ++++++++
    How did you meander onto that slippery slope of apportioning blame to Master Rice’s parent? First the “gun” that you mentioned was a toy and since it is legal to purchase toys why didn’t you write that perhaps toy manufacturers should not make realistic looking toys that can be mistaken for weapons? How about deficient Police background checks that allowed a Cop who was cashiered out of another force because of emotional problems to waltz into a job with another PD? How about substandard training that taught a greenhorn to roll up in a car and begin shooting before the car even came to a stop?

49. How about zoo ownership that should have provided adequate safety methods
    Furthermore the parents made comment of not wanting to sue while they were investigated
    Several days later they have been exonerated making the possibility of a lawsuit more probable against a background of mitigating circumstances attributable to a lack of safety procedures
    In america the statue of limitations gives sufficient lead way for a person to litigate within a specific time period within months or years
    This turn on events can be most troubling to the Zoo who have even made statement of needing to improve the safety conditions which lead to the child gaining access to the pit
    Question being Why would the Zoo find it necessary to go ahead with improvement if they felt that barriers as constructed did not play a part in the child falling into the pit
    In my opinion the Zoo has all but admitted negligence on their part as a contributor due to a safety failure which has now led the zoo owners to believe that corrective measures are necessary
    leave to me i would sue their backside for exposing me and my child to such a horrific night mare attributed to their protective failures

50. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@Exclaimer,

There is nothing to explain really. It is, simply, that my broad teaching and research interests lie in the area of civil obligations -the duties that citizens and institutions owe to each other in a civilized democracy.Matters such as defamation, occupational safety and health, occupiers’ liability and nuisance.

An integral aspect of this area is the obligation of entities not to act in such a way was to cause harm to others. This incident for me therefore was more than the tawdry gossip about a boy falling onto a gorilla enclosure or the nature of a mother’s supervision of her son. It was an opportunity to use my learning to critically analyze the issue from a technical perspective.

I am aware that the discussion of legal issues does not usually create great interest on the part of the uninitiated who may feel a bit overwhelmed, and especially now when Barbadians seem interested in little else other than discussing partisan politics and bashing the present administration.

I am sorry if my effort was not to your taste yesterday. As I advised another contributor of similar persuasion here on Sunday, there is, however, a panoply of readings to choose from on Sundays. I sincerely hope that you will appreciate next week’s essay more!

Kindest Regards

Leave a Reply to Colonel BuggyCancel reply