Submitted by Anthony Davis
Denis Lowe, Minister of the Drainage

Members of the public are being encouraged to wear green this Friday in celebration of World Environment Day, which falls on Sunday, June 5. Schoolchildren, Government officers and all citizens are encouraged to wear green T-shirts, green ribbons or green articles of clothing on Friday. “This will also form part of the Ministry of the Environment and Drainage’s activities to mark Environment Month, 2016, themed Living Sustainability is …Celebrating 50 years of Environmental Stewardship. “Environmental Education Officer Donna King-Brathwaite says all those who wear green on World Environment Day ‘will be demonstrating their commitment to environmental stewardship – Barbados TODAY dated 30 May, 2016

Please tell me, Mrs. King-Brathwaite, do we still have a Minister of the Environment?

If so, where is he, and what is he doing?

Is it possible that he has been removed by some black ops?

That’s the way things are done these days – clandestinely.

This invitation to wear green sounds very hollow as it seems that the Minister of the Environment has gone AWOL. The last time I heard anything from him is when he said that he hasn’t seen any garbage in Bridgetown. I however surmise that he was in his high-end vehicle which is being paid for by the taxpayers – wearing sunglasses with the windows rolled up – when he passed through!

I’m not delusional therefore I cannot take part in such an exercise.

There are diesel vehicles spewing so many particulates into the environment daily that they are surely contributing to the rise in CNDs in our country. These particulates go directly into the lungs, because they are minute. People are still burning all kinds of garbage at will with scant regard for their neighbours, or anyone who is passing through. Some people who suffer from asthma or some other lung problem are then at risk, but the ones burning the garbage couldn’t care less. This also contributes to the rise in the number of CNDs in Barbados.

There are also some who drive around with music blaring, and those who drive around with modified exhaust pipes, pretending that they are Lewis Hamilton. All of this contributes to the rise in CNDs – not only what we eat, and whether we exercise or not.

Green isn’t my favourite colour, and I won’t be buying any band to show that I love the environment, because nothing is being done about its sad state in Barbados. I’m an environmentalist, but I’ll only join such action if and when the relative legislation is passed to protect it.

The CEO of Sandals butchered the environment in Christ Church, and Dr. Watson is the only prominent person who objected to it. I don’t remember hearing any objections from the Minister of the Environment.

We were promised such legislation since last year, but it has turned out to be nothing but long talk.

Are we again seeing black ops re the issuing of the contract to the person who is to collect the garbage in this country?

It seems that Massa day isn’t finished yet!

Everything seems to be going to a select few!

What’s this about “Celebrating 50 years of Environmental Stewardship”?

Are you insinuating that as far back as 1966 there was environmental awareness in Barbados, when there isn’t much of it up to this day with people dumping everything in our gullies?

I’m tired and fed up with all of these fair weather promises!

47 responses to “Paint the 15 Garbage Trucks Green”

1. Kammie Holder Avatar

A waste of time giving Dr Denis Lowe any ideas for the only person he listens to is Mr Stuart. He is deliberately avoiding the promotion of recycling, compostng and upcycling for reasons he knows best. Man is just a bold empty talker who acts globally but never locally. UNEA obviously did not take into consideration his local stewardship.

2. @Kammie

Tek dat!

Barbados minister new Vice President of UN Environment Assembly

CARIBBEAN360MAY 31, 2016

denis lowe

BARBADOS’ MINISTER OF THE ENVIRONMENT AND DRAINAGE, DR. DENIS LOWE WILL SERVE AS VICE PRESIDENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT ASSEMBLY FOR TWO YEARS.

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, Tuesday May 31, 2016 – Barbados’ Minister of the Environment and Drainage, Dr. Denis Lowe, is the new Vice President for the Latin America and Caribbean region on the Bureau of the Second United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA).

He was elected during the just-concluded global environment policy-making forum in Nairobi, Kenya.

Lowe will hold office for two years, and join his colleague, Minister of the Environment of the Government of Costa Rica, Dr. Edgar Gutierrez Espeleta, as the new representatives for the Latin America and Caribbean region group (GRULAC).  Espeleta has been nominated as President to the UNEA.

The Forum of Ministers of Environment of Latin America and the Caribbean was established in 1982 by the United Nations Environment Programme as the political forum for Environment Ministers of the region.

It analyzes and reviews critical issues on the international environment agenda and seeks to develop regional strategies to address them. It acts as the region’s environment policy-making body.

Barbados served as President of the Forum from 2000 to 2002.

Read more: http://www.caribbean360.com/news/barbados-environment-minister-new-vice-president-un-environment-assembly#ixzz4AkqhK0bh

3. The UNEA is clearly unaware of the disastrous oversight of the care of the Ministry of the Environment particularly in respect of garbage management by this poor minister Denis Lowe.One is reminded that Bharrat Jagdeo was declared Champion of the Earth by the UNEP in 2010 and his record in raping the forests and lands in Guyana are there for all to read and see.In cahoots with Chinese logging co Baishailin,Jagdeo has overseen the destruction of the Guyana left by the PNC President Hoyte in 92.
    The irony of Lowe’s appointment is that there is now a UN body to whom one can name and shame Denis Lowe.This appointment has a sting Lowe and Stuart will regret down the road.

4. Sigh

Wendell Callender

9 hrs ·

The sons of two now deceased BLP Members of Parliament carrying the name Brathwaite are under fire for receiving payment for services rendered to the current DLP Government. Yes the one currently in the news for renting the equipment for the dump is the son of Roy Brathwaite former MP for St. Lucy; the other who repairs, sells and leases vehicles as well as sells vehicle parts is the son of Lloyd Brathwaite former MP for St. Andrew who also contested unsuccessfully under double-member constituency in Christ Church. I know both of these gentlemen have struggled to be where they are. I will listen on to see where the truth lies. Is it because of who they are that they are being paraded in public? Let’s know the real facts.

5. Kammie Holder Avatar

Heard about the offer from a source months ago. Congrats to him but he still a pretty talker who speaks globally but never locally.

6. Kammie Holder Avatar

Perhaps he will remove the ban on communication he issued last year against the Future Centre Trust and its proxies.

7. Colonel Buggy Avatar

The Anthem of Minister Lowe and most of his fellow Ministers.

The Red Flag (bajanised)

The working class can kiss my arse,
    I’ve got the Minister’s job at last.
    I’m can’t find work and on the taxpayers dole,
    You can stuff the Bajan voters up your hole.
    The working class can kiss my arse,
    I’ve got the Minister’s job at last.

8. Colonel Buggy Avatar

And perhaps we should also paint the mounds and piles of garbage everywhere green , then we will be able to pass it off as grass.

9. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Barbados is proud of you,Mr Minister
    http://i.imgur.com/QKVsVB3.jpg?1

10. These people do not know of this man’s track record because if they did there is no way he should be appointed to become any Vice President for the Latin America and Caribbean region on the Bureau of the Second United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA).

Maybe we on BU should forward all of the posts we have on BU on him. We could ask his siblings to write and tell them of the unaccounted millions in an account and for good measure copy that letter to the DPP as Lyin Fumble and ac recommends.

This would make him shame when he turns up for meetings!

11. Oh….. I just thought of what we should do………just email pictures of all the garbage aound Barbados…………oh that would be priceless!

12. Colonel Buggy Avatar

There is yet hope of Stephen Lashley to becoming the Vice President of UNESCO World Heritage Site Committee.

13. Stephanie wrote: "Good Morning #realdreamchasers! I hope that everyone had a wonderful weekend and that you are ready for a productive week ahead. Here is your daily newscap.

GAS PRICES – Barbadians will pay more for gasoline, diesel and kerosene, and less for liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) from midnight, Sunday.The retail price of gasoline will move from BDS$2.79 per litre to BDS$2.85, an increase of six cents per litre.The price of diesel will rise from BDS$1.88 per litre to BDS$1.99, an increase of 11 cents.Kerosene will now retail at 92 cents per litre, an increase of eight cents.Meanwhile, liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) will retail at BDS$140.31 per 100 lb cylinder, down from BDS$152.99, a decrease of $12.68. The price of the 25 lb cylinder has dropped from $43.35 to $40.18, a decrease of $3.17 cents, while the 22 lb cylinder will now cost $35.52, down from $38.31, which is $2.79 less. The new price of a 20 lb cylinder is $32.29, which is $2.54 cents cheaper.“These adjustments in retail prices are due solely to changes in the CIF (cost, insurance and freight) of these refined products., “ the Division of Energy said in a statement issued by the Government Information Service.

MTW COLLECTING GARBAGE – UNDER PRESSURE because of a severe shortage of garbage trucks, the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) is once again depending on loading trucks and skid steer loaders (Bobcats) from the Ministry of Transport and Works to help in collecting garbage.In addition, because of the backup of garbage on the streets, sanitation workers were busy at the weekend trying to collect refuse which has been piling up in several communities.Last week householders as well as businesses complained about the non-collection of garbage which has been going on for several weeks. The SSA is faced with a critical situation where several of its trucks are in the workshop and this was hampering its collection since only nine trucks were said to be available to service the entire island.

GOVERNMENT NOT BOUND TO CAHILL – THE GOVERNMENT has not locked itself into any agreement with Cahill, the Canadian company behind the controversial plasma gasification solid waste plant mooted for St Thomas. In explaining his administration’s involvement in the proposed project, which has attracted sustained criticism, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart said the genesis of the discussion came out of the need to manage the island’s growing solid waste problem.“We in Barbados have a very limited landfill area and so we will have to look at ways to manage our solid waste problems,” he told journalists at a media luncheon at Ilaro Court last Friday.

INDAR IN WITH 48 VOTES – Travel agency operator and Barbados Labour Party Public Relations Officer, Indar Weir, tonight secured the nomination as his party’s candidate for St Philip South. At a branch meeting at the Hilda Skeene Primary School, Weir earned 48 votes, to defeat challengers Mona Alleyne with 17 votes; Sylvan Greenidge, seven votes, and Ahmed Proverbs with eight votes. In his acceptance speech Weir wasted no time in attacking government’s claims about increased tourist arrivals expected for Crop Over.He declared that bookings have not gone passed the figures of last year.Weir vowed to help a BLP government take Barbados’ tourist arrival figures to the one million mark. Calling for change in the style of political leadership, Weir said, “Representation of a constituency can no longer be an ‘I’, it has to be a ‘We’.“The solution must come from you,” he told party supporters.

SUE SPRINGER TO DEMIT OFFICE – CHAIRMAN OF THE Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA), Sunil Chatrani, has announced that Sue Springer, the association’s chief executive officer for the past 15 years, will be demitting that position by year end to pursue other career opportunities. However, Chatrani explained that Springer will play a key role in the recruitment drive for her successor as well as with the orientation and handover process. He said a Search Committee was in place to fill the position during the coming months, allowing adequate time for a smooth transition before Springer leaves. The veteran hotelier of some 35 years sits on several statutory bodies. She is a board member of the Tourism Development Corporation (TDC) and the Barbados Conference Services Ltd (BCSL), a director of the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association (CHTA) and a member of the Hotel Catering Industrial and Management Association (HCIMA). She holds a Master of Science in Tourism and Hospitality Management and has lectured at Guilford and Plymouth College of Technology in England, in various disciplines including Front Office, Housekeeping, Sales and Marketing and also at the Barbados Community College Hospitality Institute. The mother of two daughters and three grandchildren, Springer is also a past president of the BHTA and the Caribbean Society of Hotel Association Executives (CSHAE) and has held management positions at the Sandy Lane Hotel, Discovery Bay, Almond Beach Village, Cobblers Cove, Turtle Beach, Colony Club and Tamarind Cove Hotels.

MAIL ORDER PRESCRIPTIONS – PRESCRIPTION DRUGS by post. This is the newest service being offered by the Barbados Postal Service as it adapts to the changing mail and packet environment on the island.This was revealed yesterday by deputy postmaster general for international postal affairs and business development, Margaret Ashby. She was speaking as the Christ Church Independence Committee launched its community project at a church service at the Kingdom Life Assembly Church, Inch Marlow.Addressing the congregation, Ashby said the new service came about because postal officials recognised there was a need for the service as people might not have time to wait in a line at a pharmacy.

MAN FOUND DEAD – A 63-YEAR-OLD MAN was found dead early yesterday after emergency services responded to a fire in a room at his home at Wavell Gardens, Black Rock, St Michael. Police were last night trying to unravel the whole affair. Food vendor Reynold Jemmott was described by neighbours as a very private person and as someone who worked very hard. DOCTOR PASSES AWAY – One of Barbados’ leading advocates in the fight against diabetes has died.Noted physician Dr. Oscar Jordan passed away on Saturday. He was a former chairman of both the Barbados Diabetes Foundation and the Maria Holder Memorial Trust.Dr Jordan, a Barbadian scholar, was also a director of Sagicor Financial Corporation for almost 20 years.

MAN PULLS GUN ON CHILDREN – A MOTHER of two wants to know why police have not arrested and charged a man who pulled his licensed firearm on a group of children playing in a rural neighbourhood more than a month ago. The woman, who came to the NATION’s offices to complain about the situation, said she was not satisfied with how the police were dealing with such a serious matter.Requesting anonymity, the woman related how on April 26, around 5 p.m., her 12-year-old son and nine-year-old daughter were with other children in the Arch Hall, St Thomas neighbourhood playing road tennis, when a man drove towards them in a van.“The children went to move the wood which was in the road when he accelerated, so they moved away. The man waited and the children moved the wood and he drove forward slowly, stopped by them, pulled his weapon on the children and told them, ‘I can kill all o’ wunnah’.”

AUSTRALIA BEAT WEST INDIES – Spinners Nathan Lyon and Adam Zampa took three wickets each, and David Warner hit a run-a-ball 55, as Australia romped to a six-wicket victory over West Indies on Sunday in the second match of the one-day cricket international tri-series.Sent in, the West Indies were skittled for 116 off 32.3 overs at the National Stadium. Leg-spinner Zampa took 3-16 in 5.3 overs, while off-spinner Lyon claimed 3-39 from 10 overs and earned the man of the match award. Left-arm quick Mitchell Starc supported well with 2-37.Opener Warner then guided the Australians to a bonus point victory as they coasted home at 117-4 off 25.4 overs. The in-form left-hander, fresh from captaining the Sunrisers Hyderabad to the IPL title in India, hit an undefeated half-century, which included three fours and a six. West Indies went from 50-1 to 116 all out as Lyon and Zampa took advantage of helpful conditions and some loose stroke play.

CDB FUNDING MUSIC SECTOR DEVELOPMENT – THE CARIBBEAN REGION is known and celebrated for reggae and dancehall, soca, zouk and other genres. Yet many regional artists, performers, their managers and publishers do not earn a sustainable living from their craft. The Caribbean Development Bank (CDB), noting the challenges facing the region’s music sector and affirming its support for the creative industries, has committed funding for a workshop series designed for Caribbean music sector stakeholders.The Business of Music in the Caribbean Developmental Workshops will run throughout 2016, and aim to improve participants’ skills in the business aspects of the music sector. The learning events are being piloted in Barbados, and will be replicated in Belize, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, and Trinidad and Tobago—selected based on their potential for export earnings from the music sector. A Women in Music Workshop kicked off the series in Barbados on May 13. Twenty-six participants attended the one-day event, which highlighted the issues affecting women’s participation in the music sector, and how to address them. Data from the Association of Caribbean Copyright Societies (ACCS) suggests only three out every ten participants in the music sector are women. The majority of these women are performers, and few engage in the more lucrative areas such as publishing, songwriting and production. The seminar schedule covers Fundamentals of the Business of Music: June 29 – July 1, 2016; Managing Negotiations and Contracts in Music: August 15-17, 2016; and Accessing International Markets: September 30 – November 4, 2016.

ONE LOVE – When international award-winning Barbadian star Rihanna took to the stage at the One Love concert last year, it was the crowning moment for organisers Volume Entertainment Inc. Now, they are facing the daunting task of topping that, a challenge they are promising to meet.But they are not letting the cat out of the bag just yet, only confirming that international soca star Machel Montano will be the headline act for the 2016 edition, with the Sugar Rush man Hypasounds and King Bubba among the local entertainers.Creative Director of Volume Entertainment Inc., Lia Gajadhar said that unlike last year which focused on the stage performances, the July 31 show billed as the ultimate Crop Over climax event, will centre on patron experience. A launch party was held Friday night at the Concorde Experience, attended by business partners, tourism officials and others involved in the entertainment industry, among them Hypasounds and King Bubba. Gajadhar promised more regional artistes will be in the 2016 line-up and said they will again partner with a telecoms company to provide the live stream for the Caribbean audience, most of whom accounted for the more than 40 000 viewers last year.

KRAVE LAUNCHES IN NEW YORK – FOR CROP OVER 2016, it’s a case of “kuality” over “kuantity” for Krave. After the band was voted best party band of Crop Over last year, band director Avery Hackett has revealed how the band has continued its evolution, moving the band launch overseas this year. Hackett said that last year the band had recorded around 600 to 700 revellers, but this year they would be scaling back the total to about 500.He noted that this year there were at least seven new Crop Over bands joining the Kadooment ranks which meant that there would be more bands drawing from the same pool of revellers. As a result, the band had moved the launch to New York, allowing them to tap into a new market.

WHITNEY HOUSTON AUCTION – AWARDS, COSTUMES and memorabilia from the estate of the late Grammy-winning singer and actress Whitney Houston will be sold during a two-day auction in California later this month. Heritage Auctions said highlights of June 24-25 sale in Beverly Hills will include Houston’s 1986 Emmy for her performance at the 28th Annual Grammy Awards, which is expected to fetch $10 000, and her personal script for the 1995 film Waiting to Exhale, which could sell for $1 000. More than 100 pieces of memorabilia will be included in the sale, which is part of the company’s Entertainment & Music Signature Auction."We felt that it was time to give something of Whitney to the people who loved her and her music and, conversely, who Whitney loved back with all of her heart and soul," Pat Houston, the singer’s former manager and president of the Whitney Houston Estate, said in a statement. Well that’s all for today folks. Know that you are destined for success. Believe it and you can achieve it. Have a Magnificent Monday. 🙂 Shalom! <3 Steph."

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gabriel…they give jackasses like Lowe these titles and awards to highlight thrir uselessness, these people travel and would know the nasty garbage situation Lowe has developed in Barbados with his bribetaking…if the electorate, who live on the island, cannot see for themselves and vote his ass out of a seat, that is their problem, if they want to remain dazzled by shit titles and not concerned with disease csrrying garbsge pileups, they deserve what they get….the UN does not have to worry about Lowe having any powers in and over their jurisdictions…they would not give him any.

Prodigal…great idea, send the UN council weekly photo updates of Lowe’s nastiness…they might not know how consistently nasty and corrupt he really is…send them the evidence.

15. Well Well; Fat child would like to get all the work like he used to before.Tough!!Bajans are too nasty to begin with. Lowe does not generate the garbage, Bajans do. Government should put a charge on every plastic bag that is so freely given to every person wh shops in th supermarket, by every store, and by every shop. That would generate millions of dollars. See the BLP connection that desires to be reconnected? Tough.

16. @Alvin

Your interventions do boggle the mind

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…you need to restructure your sentence to,,, politicians of the D and BLP are too nasty to begin with, unfairly distributing taxpayer funded contracts…ya should ask Christpher Sinckler why, instead of divvying up the construction jobs evenly among contractors in Barbados, they were given to his brother instead….so you see, both political parties practice nastiness, nepotism and favoritism,,,, that is what needs to be gotten rid of….

you live in Canada, as do I, you see anyone throwing garbage out of car and bus windows, throwing garbage everywhere in Canada…..no, because there are strick penalties for such and the laws are enforced for everyone….again the nastiness of bajans and their politicians. ..

Mark Maloney had thousands of gallons of 20 year old decayed molasses belonging to Seale which was sitting in the port….thrown and dumped all over the island in neighborhoods and none of the DLP politicians had him charged…the nastiness of your politicians.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And further….the nastiness of your DLP leaders made sure Bizzy got to rip off the taxpayers, again, with the SBRC contract, why was the contract not evenly distributed making a difference and deviating from BLP practoces. ..instead Bizzy sits on his greedy ass waiting for garbage haulers to pay to collect garbage and deliver to him so he can charge the taxpayers.

That arrangement was conceived by Bizzy out of Dennis Lowe’s nasty, bribetaking common class mentality, the mentality of a slave politician.

19. The price of petrol at the pump has moved from $2.58 per litre on 7th March to $2.85 per litre today.It is still one of the greatest mysteries of the governance of Barbados that John Public remains in ignorance at how the Fair Trading Commission allows this to happen.Dog bite yuh Jeff!The cost of goods sold in accounting is skewed as a result of this present day Robin Hood approach to Price.

20. What is the government planning to do with garbage collection in Barbados. Obviously no private contractor will import 15 garbage trucks without an ironclad agreement to justify the purchase.

21. @ David
    Alvin, Your interventions do boggle the mind
    WHY?
    You expected exactly what …from Alvin C?
    Boss…
    The two most abundant things in the universe are hydrogen and stupidity.’

It often takes a wise man to play the fool, but while Alvin may look like an idiot and talk like an idiot, don’t let that fool you. He really IS an idiot.’

Creatingminds.org

22. LOl, Bush tea…….omg! Include the local ac’s too.

23. But that Wendell Callender post boggles the mind too and says a lot about the “political class”. $23,000 per week to rent a bulldozer is ok because someone’s father was an MP or because they struggled? I here flummoxed!!!

24. @enuff

What Wendell saying is that he knows both Brathwaites and by dint of hard work they have achieved. He is therefore as curious as the next person to hear about the $23,000 payment explained.

25. David,
    I agree with you. I agree with Bushie too. I am an idiot. But Bajans still nasty.
    The Ontario Government charges ten cents for every plastic bag that is obtained at the supermarket to put groceries in.As a result almost everyone goes to the supermarket with their own containers, or use boxes from the supermarket; destined for the garbage bin, to put their groceries in. I guess the people there are also idiots. But Bajans prefer to bury themselves in the garbage. It is easier than recycling, for which we do not have a culture. All the complaining is not going to create land for any more landfills. All the trucks were of no use if there is nowhere to place the garbage. Wh generated the garbage pile show in the picture above. Not Alvin the idiot, but lazy Nasty Bajans.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin….get it through ya thick yardfowl head….the Ontario governments are not nasty like the Barbados government they do their jobs, they saw the problems…re garbage and disposal….they fixed it, I too when shopping at Loblaws carry a shopping bag….it’s cleaner.

Why is your DLP government doing nothing to implement and enforce garbage disposal laws….and reduce the use of plastics.

Ya on BU waxing advisement….why ya not telling it to ya political masters.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And when in Barbados, shopping at Pricemart….take a shopping bag, cause they do not provide or sell plastic bags for packaging.

When in NY or Miama…..anywhere in the continental US and shopping at Costco or BJs….take a shopping, bag, they do not provide or sell bags for packaging, so you get my drift….

So, in Barbados’ case it’s the government to ban the use of plastics or make the supermarkets charge a fee and the supermarkets have to comply….what is taking the government so long Alvin.

Theu need to start doing their jobs and stop the long tLk.

28. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

The Stephanie news briefs are valuable research tools. Could you put them all in one blog for easy reference?

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The DLP political bribemongers do not want to fix the garbage problems on the island, unless they can get a 700 million dollar scam to skim from…right Alvin.

30. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Well Well & Consequences June 7, 2016 at 8:11 AM #
    ……………………………………………………………………………………..
    Perhaps because the plastic bag manufacturers are ,as the Prime Minister, so boldly put it, part of the Political Class ,who must be protected,and Truss-ed

31. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Whats the latest on who brought in the 15 Garbage trucks?

32. Colonel Buggy Avatar

While we are focused on our internal garbage, importers everyday are bring in deadly garbage that more than likely has long been banned in the United States, and not a fellow in the Ministry of Health seems to be bothered about it.

Contain petroleum distillates,may cause skin,nose,throat,and respiratory tract irritation.Known in the State of California to cause Cancer,birth defects, or other reproductive harm.

http://i.imgur.com/nMVSeAM.jpg?1

http://i.imgur.com/yWMlXj6.jpg?1

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/nyc-shoppers-february-paying-plastic-bag-tax-article-1.2665119

Colonel. ..ya have to keep beating it into the politicians’ hard ass heads that they are being paid to legislate, implement and enforce rules, laws and requried legislation, in they and their yardfowls backwardness, the people should just do it without enforcement or laws. ..it boggles the mind that these same ignoramuses live, worked, went to school in the bigger countries and know better, but dont think the same procedures to affect positive change, should be applied to the small islands.

To do so, a bribe or some other self-serving greed must apply….it’s a blight they carry along with the nastiness living deep within their very souls.

34. @ Well Well,
    Why do you think that you cannot find a plastic soft drink bottle anywhere? Government imposes a 10c per bottle charge on soft drinks to cover the costs of the bottles. That is why people collect these bottles and sell them to the recyclers. The something needs doing on plastic bags. I also remember the noises that BLP yard ducks made when the environmental tax was imposed. See what happens when you try to impose that type of discipline on this society. Same thing will happen with a charge on plastic bags. Why do you think a tipping fee was imposed; or at least included in the costs when SBRC was given the contract to build the plant. What was the reaction when it was imposed? This problem has nothing to do with politicians. If everyone refused to take plastic bags and took their own bags to the shop there would not be so many bags in the dump (landfill) Visit Mt. Stinker any day and see for yourself. Where would bribery come in to encourage YOU to take YOUR OWN bag to the store. Instead of criticizing the politicians, tell me what YOU are doing to help solve this problem? What do YOU do with your garbage?

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…the tipping fee was imposed to steal from taxpayers and disadvantage the garbage haulers to pay Bizzy via bribetaking Dennis Lowlife…do not try to cover it up.

The government need to do their jobs re enforcing laws for garbage collection on Bizzy, since he gets 1 million dollars of taxpayers money a month for doing nothing and expect garbage haulers to pay to collect garbage and bring to him…what kind of stupidity besides corruption, resides in Lowe’s head thst he would contract with SBRC to facilitate such a scam…what is wrong with you…..besides the obvious.

The onus is on government to deal with the wasteful plastics issue and stop taking bribes for taxpayer contracts from Bizzy and Maloney.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins June 8, 2016 at 9:47 PM
    “If everyone refused to take plastic bags and took their own bags to the shop there would not be so many bags in the dump (landfill) Visit Mt. Stinker any day and see for yourself. Where would bribery come in to encourage YOU to take YOUR OWN bag to the store.”

Alvin, what you are proposing is nothing new and is standard practice in more enlightened and environmentally aware jurisdictions. Bajans like to brag about how well educated they are compared to the rest of the world. Why can’t they adopt some of the good habits of their so-called less educated brothers and sisters?

What is required is the legislative backing to ensure retailers do not issue plastic carrier bags or are required to charge a fee of a sufficient deterrent proportion on those shoppers who insist on having plastic bags.

Same thing should apply to the use of Styrofoam containers for takeaway food. As you appropriately pointed out the effectiveness of the [20] cents deposit on plastic containers for beverages can be replicated and it would offer an additional opportunity for those who provide an ‘itinerant’ collection service to earn a little money from the dirty habits of those nasty fast-food eating Bajans.
    This certainly would be in keeping with a very important principle of conservation and environmental protection methodology: Make the polluter pay directly even if the charges have to be imposed and collected at the point of production, or in the case of importation, distribution.

So Alvin, what is required at this stage is the political will to implement and regulate such a programme instead of trying to import chicken wings or onions or operate a farm. Whom are you going to blame for this lack of political will and determination? The BLP?

Now get on with the People’s business by fulfilling your commitment you made to them as outlined below:

“Why environmentally sound? We all have to
    live, move and have our being in the protection
    of the environment. Daily, as we interact with
    one another we also interact with nature. The
    contest with nature which characterized man’s
    relationship in earlier times, has now become a
    contract with nature in our times. A degraded
    and unhealthy environment is a threat to man’s
    very existence on this planet; and this Manifesto
    recognizes that important fact.”

37. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Come 2018
    http://i.imgur.com/8jgWhe1.jpg?1s

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy June 9, 2016 at 12:02 PM

Lol!!
    Brilliant, Colonel! They say a picture is worth a thousand words. But the above can be put in the category of Tolstoy’s War & Peace.

Just can’t believe that is the sorry state Barbados has descended to. This country is certainly playing Russian roulette with its public health system.

Carry on smartly, Bajans. The place will soon be slapped with a cordon sanitaire to warn visitors from Europe that Barbados is a no-go place because of the high risks to health and safety.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

There should be more than a cordon sanitaire for what Dennis Lowe has done.. Miller

How could ministers be so corrupt as to allow that level of degradation to the environment.

Then ya have a greedy pig like Bizzy jumping in the media and boasting that whether the garbagevhaulers pay to bring him garbage or not, he still gets paid over a million dollars of taxpayers money every month for doing nothing.

Dennis Lowlife should be hung.

40. Privatisation is underway, everyday and in everyway. These boys selling everything before them get booted out of office.

41. The one sure way of getting Denis Lowe’s attention is what would be done in most Caribbean islands……find out where he lives and take your garbage and leave it on his doorstep then take a pic of it and put it on all social media platforms.Dont forget to send a copy to UNEA now that he say he is a VP in there.

42. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Bridgetown and Beirut
    http://i.imgur.com/f59lLxT.jpg?1

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That is what citizens/taxpayers do, hold governments accountable.

Dennis Lowe should never be allowed to get away with this type of nastiness..he gets a salary…with perks.

44. @Denis Lowe

Follow That Tractor

The Documentary

Each month in a flat piece of English Fenland a site the size of 40 football pitches hosts the biggest second hand farm machinery auction in the world. It is both uniquely British and international – buyers from four continents arrive by truck, taxi, or hire car with their tractor shopping lists and hopes. Presenter Susie Emmett meets some of the remarkable people in this extraordinary supply chain that deal and distribute these mighty tools and spare parts from field to field.

On auction day there is anticipation before the bidding begins and high hopes of bidders – whether Portuguese first timer or Sri Lankan old hands – once the eight simultaneous auctions are underway. Amongst more than 2500 gleaming or rusty lots in lines, Susie hears how a group of Kenyans are building farming community fortunes with the tractors they buy. Somalis talk about the power of tractors to rebuild a nation. A Sri Lankan explains his favourite tractor of all and why he bought an incredible 86 of them on one auction day.

Bidding over, Susie learns about the bang-crash logistics that start the tractors’ next journey. She meets the much-respected tractor dismantler whose job it is to cram as many tractors into a shipping container as he can. Susie also hears tips on how to be a better bidder, why old machinery is better than new and reflections on how the rise and ebb of conflict affects the tractor trade.

(Photo: A trusty Massey Ferguson awaits a buyer. Credit: Susie Emmett/Green Shoots Productions)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p03x9wgp

45. Colonel Buggy Avatar

We could bring in all the tractors and Caterpillars we like, new or used, If we continue the trend of not maintaining equipment, we will find ourselves back in the same sorry position in double quick time.
    Once the government had a fairly efficient mechanical workshop in the Pine which was quite capable of maintaining these caterpillars, but over the years the government has decentralised the maintenance, placing the onus of repairs and maintenence, into the hands of the operating departments. And as a result we have seen a build up of such scrapped equipment at the Pine, Soil Conservation and SSA.