Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart it is reported held a four hour meeting with members of the local press corps and addressed several issues that have been stoking national discussing in recent weeks and months. It is reported he addressed the Cahill Energy issue and that  he confirmed the government has pulled the plug on the project, however, contrary to what some have opined, he rubbished the view that government is exposed to being held financially liable for doing so by Cahill Energy. He expressed the usual rhetoric about concerns highlighted by the Auditor General in his 2015 report. Of interest to BU was his lack of confidence in the laws of the land which permit those charged with heinous crimes to be released on bail. To quote the prime minister ‘’it struck him for six’’. He touched on several other issues during his surprisingly lengthy press briefing and only time will tell if this was a sincere leader addressing his people or whether it was about espousing the rhetoric one expects at the start of the political season.

To be honest the calling of a press briefing by the Prime Minister flummoxed members of the BU household. This is a man whose period of stewardship of the country can be characterized by the words taciturn, silent and aloof. The BU household must be given the benefit of a huge doubt about the true motive of the Prime Minister’s press briefing. How many press briefings has Stuart held since the mantle of the office was thrust on him? He has refused to honestly communicate with Barbadians except when he does it on his terms usually at constituency meetings. For those who believe BU is harsh in our assessment he needs only to refer to a few of his Cabinet minsters who have echoed a similar few.

When Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart invited members of the local media to Llaro Court yesterday it was the perfect opportunity for them to have declined and send an unequivocal message to this government that the Fourth Estate must be respected. Instead they all seemed to have been intimidated by the Office of Prime Minister or were directed to attend by the bosses.

What does the Prime Minister mean when he hints that an increase in public servants salaries is in the offing if the economy improves? On the other side of his mouth he communicates rationalizing of statutory corporations will be implemented shortly. One does not have to be a rocket scientist to appreciate that there will be job cuts.  Are we not living in a country where banks are paying .25% in interest yet the Central Bank of Barbados is paying a savings bond rate of 7.5% and engaged in the printing of money based on the most recent Economic Review. Did he say he will defend the issue of the return of the 10% for parliamentarians?

Who will hold the government accountable? This is a local media who refuses to share the Cahill Energy documents with the wider public. We have posted the Ionics Freshwater Agreement and local media again has refused to share with the wider public. We have asked for full disclosure of the SBRC agreement while local media remains silent. We are aware that Bizzy William’s companies are major advertisers with local media houses. BU has taken the initiative to send links and messages to senior reporters on Facebook. Yet daily we have to listen to representatives from FLOW, DIGICEL et al being given easy access to the public airwaves. What we have is a commercialization of media products. It is only news if it fits a definition of their making.

What is a known is that with the advent of social media the traditional media will have to reform or become irrelevant, it is only a matter of time. What is known is that our politicians will have to become more transparent in policy making or bear a tarnished legacy to the embarrassment of kith and kin.

130 responses to “The Day the Local Media Blinked”

1. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Seen in today’s Nation

“Speaking at the opening of the new Fusion Centre at the Regional Security Services (RSS) base at Paragon ,Christ Church,yesterday evening,Stuart said ……………………..the opening of the US $4.5 million centre,which was funded by the British Government……”
    ……………………………………………………………………………………..
    Celebrating 50 years of independence, and our leader is quoting a project carried out in Barbados ,in US dollars,and not even in British Pounds ,the currency of the donor.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…Are we there…I dont have time to make up crap, that is best left to political pimps and yardfowls…read my post again…I said someone whispered to me about a downgrade…I googled any recent downgrade by Moodys and only saw a mention of statistics for June 1, 2016.

Do not post what I did not say.

3. are-we-there-yet Avatar

WW&C

Sorry!

My mistake. I didn’t read your post carefully. The “made it up thing” was purely “tongue in cheek”. I did not seek to misrepresent what you said.

But I am still a bit confused as to exactly what you said. Old age perhaps!

4. @ Colonel Buggy who wrote “in US dollars,and not even in British Pounds”

The math is easier. 1 US = 2 BDS.

5. David,
    Did you expect these positions etc to have remained static over this period?Has not the country, the total population, requirements for services and demand for services and intricacies of government and governance grown commensurately with the passage of time?

6. A stupid yard-fowl wrote:

“You have been getting a salary for 5 years. Your boss decides to cut $100 from your salary while the rest of the employees’ salaries remain at the current level. The boss then returns the $100 two years later and a**holes like Prodigal and Mia will run around the country and say – look they getting an increase for themselves.
    Give me a break.”

Over 6,000 were retrenched 3 years ago, with the former NCC and Beautify Barbados employees yet to receive their severance.

These politicians sacrificed 10% of their salaries for TWO YEARS, as opposed to civil servants sacrificing EIGHT YEARS without salary increases, as well as enduring increased and additional taxes. Over 6,000 civil servants paid the ULTIMATE SACRIFICE by being retrenched 3 years ago, with the former NCC and Beautify Barbados employees yet to receive their severance.

And a jackass yard-fowl pimp, coming to BU to write shiite. “Give me a break.”

BEWARE OF YARD-FOWLS!!!!!!!

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Are we there yet…happens to me as well, dont sweat it.

Alvin…soon you DLP yardfowls will be a mere footnote, then quickly forgotten. hopefully, there would be some new movement in leadership, leadership styles and a better more forwardthinking constitution to work with going forward..leave all you stagnant mentalities behind.

This messy stench yall leave will not do going into another decade.

8. Buggy
    I know how you feel but the youngsters haven’t a clue about £ stg.They know about dollars whether Guyanese,Jamaican,EC,TT or BD.Pounds?Thats Latin to their fragile thinking.

9. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Gabriel / David:

Which candidate for that job did Barbados back?
    Was it Baroness Scotland?

I forgot.

10. Mr AWTY, I does love to come pon dis blog and look around. Lots a bright people here and like me a few bothersome gadflys. hehehe.

Now you is in de bright boy category. As if you didn’t know aready.

So let me gadfly this. “Ya will always find the Cozier link, which I refused to comment on because of his very public disdain for blacks,”

And gadfly this “I said someone whispered to me about a downgrade”

This is blogging bro. We gadflys can say whatever the eff we want to say.

In the real world that sorta thing would obviously damage a journalist reputation but bout pon a blog it’s all bout likes. The more de merrier… and to hell with anything else. Wha reputation we got to protect.

Oh btw we gadflys ain’t supposin to say nutting but sweet praise bout other gadflys so don’t tell nahbody bout this otherwise my coney gine get a mobaton a licks.

Looka just tek eva shite pon dese blogs wid two grains a salt and dash a black peppa unless it’s one a dem name branded posters. Dem sure got nuff reputation to protect.

11. Well i have to stay mounted on my high horse and talk more sh,it about influence a word which was used to categorized certain political operatives a few days ago with derrogative connotations however what cannot be overlooked and denied is Angelo Dundee influence which provided the necessary credential of class added for good measure which took a little black boy and reformed and structured his life into a story of endless accolades and world wide respect not only did Angelo provide guidance to Ali professional but taught him and surrounded Ali with the best and brightest brains in the business world
    Today many would rather frown and denied Angelo Dundee influence in Ali life and rather look at the final result of a well sculpted and groom man that Ali became and to give respect where it is due

12. And to my gadfly friend Well, Well and Consequence don’t feel nah way that I tag you. I love yah real bad but yah did squirting far and wide wid dat ‘whisper remark’. A whisper offered quietly and revealed on a blog becomes a shout. You and I know that.

I didn’t hand-stand dat Cozier ting. Cause I made a few gadflying comments pon he blog and I recall another person saying that the man was piece-a racist and lots of other foolishness which I thought had been cleared up.

Somebody talked about his long friendships with dem WI black boys dem and someone say how he was instrumental at Wanderers to get black boys in de club and all that. So any personal racial problems you got wid Cozier should stay that way because in general he passed that exam with good colour. cheap pun dat.

Awright my friend let’s gadfly away and do we ting. I hope to come back to this blog as often as I can and gine agree wid you much more than I disagree. We good,

13. @Are-we-there-yet

Was there public disclosure. The key point is that they all eventually lined up behind Scotland.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

All the house niggas aspire to do is gain pimphood titles and use pretentiouness and corruption to get what they want. I was wondering why Sanders did not get the Commonwealth position..

Let’s see how this investigation proceeds, imagine in the 21st century, a big hardback black woman of Caribbean descent no less is bowing before this beast, a descendant of beasts….when you give up your soul to beasts, they can strip ya bare at anytime.

And for the house niggas calling themselves Caribbean parliamentary representatives, well of course names will be called during the british investigation, as they all deserve…. ..lol

Caribbean governments give away those diplomatic passports to freely.

Let Scotland suck some salt now, only in the Caribbean house niggas believe they can treat the people as they like.

15. Awty
    Sir Ronald Sanders was the other Caribbean diplomat in the running for SG but the Telegraph did an expose’ of him and that derailed his campaign.As I recall Barbados supported the Baroness.Bear in mind that the Baroness has lots of baggage firstly when she served as AG in the Labour Government and lately her name was linked to an unsavoury person in Eastern Europe.There is also some report linking her to financial shenanigans involving expense and salary matters.The lady has more than her fair share of finger pointing.

Capitalism seem to drive many to corrupt practices and the below report on recent occurrences in Brazil,besides its shameless money grabbing highly placed white politicians,all male at that,made Dilma refer to the colour question in the decision to impeach her.

http://gu.com/p/4tf6z/sbl

16. HA! HA! man brathwaite you sound a lot like the cartoon guy HA! HA! and see that u wutless too

17. Bro AC, what’s wid you and this Angelo Dundee nonsense. The man was a part of Ali life good stuff. But what is the continued point.

If not for Ali’s superior talent Dundee would be just another trainer/promoter. If not for Dundee, Ali would still be the superstar he was.

You went and do a lil yahoo research and now want to show off that you got a riff that no one else running. hehehe. You is one smart cookie, fah trute.

Play yah tune. Yah way outta key and de crowd really ain’t bobbing to yah mix as it really ain’t got nah rhythm or soul but scratch yah rap do.

18. Ahhhh Brathwaite

I like your style.

In the military chevrons worn during war are not the shiny ones, you know why Brafwit

“It is a deterrent to what is quite simply called “kill the officers”.

We on BU now can be assured that once you have been drawn to the fray that we have become irksome “gadflies” and we MUST BE SWATTED , BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY.

So de ole man gine run some interference for de other soldiers that your command has said to frustrate and destroy their efficacy.

For you to be effective you have to be

(a) many of you (one is not enough
    (b) employ bajan as a tool of “familiarity” but even in that exercise use enough familials to Agitate, frustrate, denigrate and discredit

You are a brighter fellow than the others, a supporter of the BLP obviously because, in all of your posts to date, AC has not drawn and fire, just the people who are proposing serious considerations of alternatives to the Troika.

Well wunna dun know dat de ole man cyan get frighten my wunna tactics.

Here is one of the 3 dogs that wunna get rid of

http://i.imgur.com/OFnRc9p.jpg

Maybe now de people bout heah who like you like these little pissy games will wake to ef up and get serious about our future.

I like Martin Luther King have not been slated to participate in having a Piece uh De Rock cause I am the owner of one of them Name Branded Posters that you have started your broadsides with but Brafwit any effing night I wake up and you or any of your ilk in my house, mek sure tuh kill de ole man swiftly CAUSING I GINE KILL YOU, yah site.

And you can throw all de salt and peppah over all two uh you shoulders pun dat shyte or rub it in you coney, bless you sweet soul

19. Dear BU-ians forgive the picture of the animal, it is one of three pictures that I took to show how they were killed.

Dumb beasts whose only sin was that they guarded and/or barked when “they” came too close.

So you got these Brafwits coming here to jeer us and talk bajan to us, to dilute and deflate the gadfly BU because it is becoming a thorn in the side and MUST BE QUASHED.

This is the true enemy that we are now facing, make no mistake about this one, the battle lines are drawn so dem gine come fuh we Jews, and artists, and dissenters, but pretty soon dem gine be at wunna door too.

I’ll be yah Huckleberry

Here’s hoping that that was Bajan enuff fuh yuh Brafwit, killers of the nation.

20. Brathwaite or better yet Piece i post the comment on the wrong page but you can have seconds on the Tribute to Mohammed blog where it is repeated
    BTW i beat to my own drum never like bunches of any thing

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Brath….lol…I did not appear on Cozier’s blog for several reasons, one being it was his memorium and if he had done something as distasteful as the politicians tend to do…I would have lambasted him..but I thought it a waste of energy as well, hsd better things to do.

Given the bajan mentality, I am not surprised that whether true or not, they would think that black players could not get into a club without a white person…or a cinema, or a school or anywhere on earth or in Barbafos, without a white person….more often than not, that is a fallacy and lie alwsys perpetrated by blacks on the island….that is their weakness and curse and why they cannot rid themselves of blight….most bajans only found out in the last couple years that there are less than 10,000 some less than 8,000 minorities on the island and that they themselves are the black majority….centuries of lies and misinformation has weakened their strengths….so when I hear stories about Cozier or any other minority…I take it with a pinch of salt because they are quite capable of spreading those falsehoods themselves with the help of black people and if the stories are true…it just proves my point about black weakness….that blacks take delight in cultivating for themselves and their future generations, no sense of self, no strenghth of spirit, no Ali spirit.

We are on the blog to shout whispers…lol

22. PUDRYR-meister you ain’t serious right. I disagree wid you about a matter and I is de enemy that kills dogs. I speak in my Bajan patois and I is an enemy plant. I describe myself as a gadfly – which in I feel I is – and I jeering and laughing at de name brand bloggers dem.

Brother I uses to read de blog from time to time and den one day recently decided to tek de plunge right in de deep end.

Much sorrow to burst dat real attractive subversive balloon you floated but I am just another idiot offering lotta long talk as a escape to lack of sex, lack of social intercourse and a bunch of other lack of shiiteee.

What is more important tho is that you either got some serious effing problems or need a new brand of dog food.

It is one thing to be pon here talking shiiitte and playing tic-tac-toe games with udder bloggers but when people killing yah dogs yah walking bout in some serious, serious cow-shiite.

I ain’t pon heh to attack no-body yah hear…I does see enough a-dat already so why add to that bull.

I am just another idiot PUDRYR-meister. I wouldn’t know where to start to try to squash you bro.

Better yet riddle me this. If I am a subversive why would I start to build a FB page wid all dem posters dem you created. I haven’t published it yet but its created and I just need to close dat out.

I hand-stand your paranoia and wid this ting we call the net everyone should be an effing enemy until you can confirm dem wid a Mafia style blood oath. So until we mek that connection cuss my coney as you like..but I is no dog killer awright.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Given the amount of weakminded people we have all encountered on this blog, for me, over the last 3 years and as being currently advertised on US channels…..It takes strong people to make strong people…in contrast, weakminded people make others around them, who are not strong…..equally weakminded. Just imagine what happens to the children and grandchildren of the weakminded.

24. NAME (Caswell, Jefferson Cumberbatch, Walter, Grenville) branded posters. Dem have to watch dem reputation. How you get a name branded poster bozie. Who know who is you wid dat PUDRYR handle.

Well now yah posion crew know but as that was not me nor any peeps I know I ain’t nah wiser.

I know it hard t say get a grip when people killing yah dogs and de police can’t help as they may be part of de problem I assume but still, GET a grip.

And WTF you mean that talking Bajan dilute de blog. You really frustrated and mekking sport wid dat one right.

25. In the euphoria over the election results in St Lucia,bearing in mind a Bajan contingent played no mean professional role in its outcome,today the ruling Dominica Labour Party triumphed over the UWP there in retaining the Soufriere seat by an almost 3:1 margin.
    Denise Charles of the DLP got 1342 votes and Higgs Adams of the UWP 560.
    Peter Wickham is in the Antigua Observer newspaper today lamenting the story of bribes and other inducements being offered to Dominicans based in Antigua to return home to influence the outcome of the bye-election.I am too,not in favour of overseas based nationals flying in to vote in the likes of Stuart and his Duncy Lying Pharts and then flying out and leaving the country to the mercy of Moody’s and Standard & Poors to become the downgrade capital of the Eastern Caribbean.Look wuh buhbaydus come to neh!

26. Let me be very clear Brathwaite.

Contrary to what you may think kind sir this BU site is not a “get some steam of my chest thing” as you have suggested by your own words.

Many of us who come here do so at great peril to jobs, well being, social standing and in some cases life ergo the nom de plumes that we use, which the Blogmaster zealously guards.

Unlike the other place(s)

You need to step back a few steps and since you say you have been reading the blog for a while there is something that you may have noticed – Jack Bowman the Goader.

It is not my blog but one thing that you might have seen is that this is not a Facebook spurious commentary about some “Like me or dont like me”

When most people come here to blog we do so, not because it is an alternative to sex, or verbal flagellation, it is because many of us fear where the cuntry is going, when we sit and do the facebook thingy.

Your style was distinctly like a Bowman variant, since it targeted certain posters.

We dont play that sort of game or at least I dont. Things are too dire in Barbados now my man to “play” with people’s submissions

That you have posted the various posters is interesting “for the enemy of my enemy is my friend” but for several of your entries, you were “goading” individuals and as for me, well the rapid sensitization that I employ, seeks only to say to “cyber-strollers”, THIS IS NOT A GAME.

We all going die, this is true, and dogs will not live long like humans, but what I want you and others here to realise is that we doan come here to talk pretty, we are a part of Barbados that is tired of the DBLP shennanigans and seek to discourse how to change it.

This BU is not about me, Brathwaite. If i should fall tonight, by these foul means, what I would hope that it does is to show where we MUST NOT GO, and that younger men like you and younger women like Hopi continue the fight until you dont have to hide your name brathwaite.

Baptism by fire, you are a young mind that is pretty agile, but direct that skill set to solutions not goading old fools and menses who doan have long here.

We seek serious men/women who can take us into the next 50 years and do not have time for the games while our cuntry is being junk bonded, and our nation is led by Fumblers and liars and visionless men.

Do you feel me young Brathwaite?

Believe me, when you get on their radar, you too going have to guard agains their terminate with extreme prejudice mindsets.

Welcome to BU.

27. lol Ha! HA! much belly demons walking in the dead of nite talking to themselves Ha! Ha!

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I am reading comments in other forums Piece…and even folks who say they always vote DLP, want all the ministers gone from the people’s parliament, they do not want another DLP minister managing their affairs ever again…let them go eat their taxpayer fubded pensions and give the balance to doctors for their various upcoming ailments….useless blights.