bstu26th May, 2016
BSTU’s Response to the directive to Secretary Treasurers re Salary Deductions of some BUT members.

It is with great consternation that the BSTU was made aware of the contents of a letter to the various Secretary-Treasurers from the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, dated 6th May, 2016 and captioned Salary Deductions. This correspondence constituted an instruction that the salaries “ of those officers, who attended without permission, the Barbados Union of Teachers Meetings held on April 29th and May 4th 2016, respectively should be proportionately abated for the month of May, 2016.” The authority quoted for such action being based on General Orders section 3.3.2. This section states that “the pay of an officer or employee may be proportionately abated for any part of a day or period of absence from the job without permission or without satisfactory explanation for such absence.” It is my understanding that today, 26th May, 2016 some teachers in the system received pay cheques reflecting one day’s deduction with the second deduction to occur in June, 2016.

Read full text oBSTU’s Response to the directive to Secretary Treasurers re Salary Deductions of some BUT members.

53 responses to “BSTU’s Response to Directive from Ministry of Education to Dock Salaries”

1. With regard to De Word’s submission at 6.46 am as such relates to the obvious contributions that these two stalwarts would make to other governance matters de ole man respectfully suggests that Caswell already does such and so does Jeff.

It might be that on specific topics either of the two gents may oft times NOT COMMENT as they have here on this topic.

Caswell ent fear a fellow and will talk to anyone anywhere.

Neither does jeff but, whereas Caswell operated in an environment that is “outside” the sanctum sanctorum, Jeff’s substantive position is within those walls and therefore he is not a free to debate or debunk many of the topics pouted here on BU lest, in years to come, they be construed as his “bias” on a matter yet to be heard, or worse still, “reason for his exclusion from a position yet to be established”

Some men are patient in their decisions, as patient as Job, and not impetuous and quick to fly off the handle, like me.

You would think that I would learn wouldn’t you?

But some uh we ingrunt as badword

2. @jeff
    Great contextual elaboration.
    One question from prior posts, does paragraph 15 render section 3.3.2 as “spent”?

@caswell
    The key in all of this is “permission”
    Who grants permission? How? On behalf of whom? Who “verifies” the reason? What proves that it has been granted?

All loopholes in a loopholey system.

The Union misled their members (again) by telling them to “pick up and leave” or “come straight to Queen’s Park”. All in the absence of a clear dispute, grievance or national need. Only bout hey.

As I said earlier some voices of reason/sense/logic are desperately needed.

Just observing

3. I see you don’t monetize your site, don’t waste your traffic, you can earn extra
    bucks every month because you’ve got high quality content.
    If you want to know how to make extra bucks, search for:
    Mertiso’s tips best adsense alternative