Empire Theatre RestrationBU readers will recall the fight by the artistes (Creatives) a few years ago to have the Empire theatre restored. The Beat Foundation tendered to government to have the property transferred to them to drive the restoration process and ultimately to provide a home for the Creatives. Without warning Minister Stephen Lashley on behalf of government announced that a Mark Maloney led company was given the job to restore the Empire theatre to part theatre part brewery. As they say the rest is history.

From the Facebook Page of the Beat Foundation.

ON THE WAY TO THE EMPIRE…we will encounter many characters in the epic quest to unite the community, and save and restore the EMPIRE, an iconic heritage theatre in Barbados.

Every epic story has it’s heroes and villains. At this point in the journey we put the spotlight on the cast of characters who at this juncture have a critical role to play in the unfolding story.

Our hope is that these characters will all become heroes, and will be seen to join the cause, and to help defeat any villains we encounter in future.

In time history will record their role… On the way to the EMPIRE.

18 responses to “Mark Maloney is Empire”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/05/29/inniss-says-auditor-general-report-must-not-be-taken-lightly/

There is Dumbville in true CYA style, blaming the civil servants for the extremely troubling report from the auditor geneeral, because he knows due to the secrets act, they cannot defend themselves, even if a few are involved in stealing from taxpayers.

But Donville..it’s the government minister’s sign off on giving away the taxpayer’s money to the business people….it’s the government ministers sign off on giving away ALL the taxpayer funded contracts to only one very small clique of minority business people….read the above article and you will see as you already know that it’s the government minister Michael Lashley signed off on giving the pox Mark Maloney the contract for the empire theatre, more taxpayer’s money will disappear without explanation. ..it’s government minister’s signed off on Cahill….it’s the docile and subservient government ministers allowing the likes of Maloney and Harris to break all of Barbados’ laws because it’s the government ministers allow those 2 pox to believe they are above the law.

It’s the government minister’s. …the government minister’s. ..it’s the government ministers who were elected by the people to protect them, their money, government business and the island, instead yall allowed a few nasty little businessmen to take over the island and do as they like while you reduced yourselves to errand boys and yardboys for bribes….it’s the government ministesr to blame.

So it would serve you well to stop trying to assign all blame to civil servants, stop trying to cover your own ass and start telling your fellow government ministers to end the corrupt practices of bribery between them and the minority business people, that is the root cause of all the problems in the government and why taxpayer’s money is disappearing and cannot be accounted for…because of docile, subservient, corrupt and greedy government ministers….start doing your due diligence, start doing your jobs, you are being paid by taxpayers.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And AC…what has DBLP government ministers done with the taxpayer’s money in the treasury, who stole all that money and why are they still giving away taxpayer funded contracts to the conmen Maloney, Cow, Bizzy, Bjerkham etc…why are government ministers stealing from taxpayers to give to minority crooks….AC.

And when will the government ministers do something about the other threat to the island and people….Peter Harris.

3. The BU household commends the people at the BEAT Foundation and others for keeping the Empire issue on the front burner. We have a tendency in Barbados to turn all issues into political banter. Pushing against an ingrained culture of lethargy and cynicism which has taken root will call for serious dialoguing to persuade those who are happy to sit on the fence to join the struggle. This is where the quality of national discourse on this and other issues need to improve.

4. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

Everyone in Barbados knows Michael Lashley is the biggest gangster this island has even known, along with his sidekick Bounty. Where is the mystery? You think the rest of the world doesn’t know these things as well?

You think the rest of cabinet doesn’t know who among them is teefin? Even the PM and AG know who the teefs are, they are complicit.

You have to pay to play in Bim.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s teefin Fools.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Isnt Bounty one of the biggest drug dealers on the island bringing in drugs by the container loads and closely aligned to the David Thompson family, as is very well known to everyone in St. Philip…then the ACTING Commissioner, instead of locking up both these animals and the minorities who also import illigal substances and guns, have the nerve to pretend he dont know who is responsible for the guns and drugs entering the island, or how…and…the taxpayers have to pay them all a salary….every month.

….what have these low level intellect government ministers reduced the island to…and as if that is not enough….hundreds of millions of dollars unaccounted for in the treasury, money given to corrupt business people, by corrupt government ministers to facilitate scams and never repaid to the taxpayers…..

MoneyB… did I not tell you that is all the local business people and government ministers are capable of…that is the extent of their intelligence, none are genuises, creators or inventor….all are scam artists, liars and corrupt thieves….that is all they are best known for….. empty, useless vessels.

6. WOW!!!! This is explosive knowledge. Too far above my head, I ain’t goin’ no Dodds fuh ah fella……will read and observe this Academy Award motion picture…. “How to make Funds disappear – The Houdini way”

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

With this type of scandal where taxpayer’s money just up and disappeared….here is where Mia should be applying pressure, making sure the electorate clearly understands the meaning to the auditor general’s report and that their money is being stolen as they are simultaneously being overtaxed.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I repeat:

Well Well & Consequences May 30, 2016 at 11:57 AM #

What is very telling…the prime minister has not opened his mouth to say whether their will be an investigation of the ministers or the business people, he refuses to tell the people why the taxpayer’s money is being used as a piggy bank for corrupt government ministers and equally corrupt business…that is quite telling.

A real prime minister and a real attorney general would immediately order an investigation based on the auditor general’s report, all the discrepancies, unaccounted money, distribution of money to crooks etc, with police involvement and leading a criminal investigation, this clown and his sidekick the attorney general are not saying a word.

A very questionable prime minister, a very suspicious government.,.where has over 1 billion dollars gone and cannot be accounted for and the prime minister and his attorney general are mute.

9. Well Well

The PM opened his mouth a few weeks ago and said that if anybody have evidence that any of his ministers are corrupt, they should take the evidence to the DPP.

He forgot that when evidence was presented by no less a person than a High Court judge that his speaker had held onto a client’s monies for over ten years, he backed the corrupt speaker and told him to find a lawyer. Then we heard that a hat was passed around and those of like mind put up the money.

The PM can keep his mouth shut as far as I am concerned, he is just as guity as the rest of them and corrupt to the bone.

Just look at the fact that he signed the Cahill agreement first. When Mia was in the House lambasting the ministers and asking whether he the PM knew that these ministers had signed the disastrous piece of junk, he let the ministers take the heat and said nothing. They poor weaklings who want to keep the power they have could not even defend their lost honour.

The man is untrustworthy!

10. WW&C
    Prodigal
    It is now common knowledge that this PM,this Speaker and this AG are among the poorest ever in the short post independence history of Barbados.All the Dems can put that in their fatted calf pipe and smoke it.
    All three are supposed LEC approved lawyers.Not one of them can boast of appearing in a court in Caricom outside Barbados and based on their track record of placing laws before parliament and having to recall/amend them within a short time,would tell you we are saddled with three of the biggest nitwits ever to oversee our affairs.
    Like Tom is alleged to have said of Edwy….”am err um,mr speakuh suh,I look forward to meeting the new um ah attorney at law on his first case in court”.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“The PM opened his mouth a few weeks ago and said that if anybody have evidence that any of his ministers are corrupt, they should take the evidence to the DPP.”

Prodigal ……..if Fruendel was looking for proof of corruption in the government, he has it jn the form of the auditor general’s report which he can deliver to the DPP himself…it’s proof of theft of taxpayer’s money by his minister’s. ..I am sure Fruendel knows where to find the DPPs office…the fraud.

Gabriel…the only difference between AC, Fruendel and Adriel Nitwit Brathwaite…is that the later 2 have law degrees, how they got them is a mystery, because long before David Thompson saddled the taxpayers with those 2 mediocre specimens, I knew they were inept attorneys.

Without a law degree…AC is just a bottomfeeding yardfowl and a disgrace to the human race.

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, in the context of our ongoing debate of the ’empires’ created by White Bajans and the apparent continued Black subjugation this rant from a popular US rapper Snoop Dog is an interesting one (even without the colourful language):

“I’m sick of this s—. How the f— are they going to put ‘Roots’ on, …? They going to just to keep beating that s— into our heads about how they did us, huh?”

He poses a a good point. Should we be enthralled in the story of Roots in 2016, in the days of a Black US President? Is it even topical( as a mainstream TV series) in a purposeful way or simply a vehicle for folks to make money and remind us of a harsh past?

Will Bajans today have any interest in this mini-series as we were glued to our TV sets back in the 70s.

Unlikely….but the Bizzys and Maloneys still are very topical locally certainly about who really controls Barbados.

It seems that many of us are indeed deeply rooted to the specters of that past but ‘Roots’ would definitely not be desired viewing.

13. @Dee Word

Can recall reading the book, all several hundred pages in small print and the pleasure derived.

On Mon, May 30, 2016 at 11:33 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Fruendel is patting himself on the back for the economy, but saying nothing about the auditor general’s report and all thise missing millions from the treadury, kinda hard to explain away, cant say that the opposition stole the money, so to him, it’s best to say nothing, so it will all go away on it’s own….what a bunch of lying, dishonest politicians. ..the people should never allow them to get away with these blatant insults to their intelligence.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/05/31/pm-and-inniss-at-one-on-economy/

15. BEAT Foundation – Building Capacity for The Creative Arts

Sponsored ·

ON THE WAY TO THE EMPIRE…we express gratitude to the Honorable Prime Minister for his role in approving our town planning application, and thus elevate him to the role of "HERO" in our story.

Our hope is that Prime Minister Stuart will now persuade his Cabinet colleagues to join with him in the unfolding story…on the way to the EMPIRE.

BEAT Foundation - Building Capacity for The Creative Arts's photo.

16. @Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. May 30, 2016 at 7:00 AM “the biggest gangster this island has even known”

What is the point of being the biggest gangster and yet a medical institution had to order him to take home his old man before they dropped his swibbly ‘rass in beckles almshouse.

What is the point of having nuff, nuff money if you can’t or won’t look after your old man and old woman)?

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….Simple, ya hear Alvin, the useless yardfowl in Cansda, says yall will get sued for slander.

Who is surprised that a greedy politician like Lashley would abandon his father, he abandons the taxpayers who elected him and they pay him a salary every month, he was elevated to status because of those who elected him and he still sells them out to the highest bidder…what old father what…some are ungrateful from the womb to the tomb.

18. EAT Foundation – Building Capacity for The Creative Arts shared Barbados Today‘s post.

20 mins ·

"The Devil is at work and the Devil gine deal with the people that want the Devil”, Maloney said, stressing he was no villain.

– MR MALONEY we invite you to be a HERO in our unfolding story. No need to play the role of "VICTIM" (your words) or "VILLAIN" (your words)

“I don’t care, they can say I’m a so and so and I’m a this and I’m a all kind of things. It doesn’t matter to me because I know who I am. I know I’m an honest, decent, hard-working person that wants the best for every person in Barbados and this here got to stop, has to stop. But it ain’t gine stop til someone takes drastic action.” (Mark Maloney)

– MR MALONEY we appreciate your protestations that you want the best for every person in Barbados. The Grinch gave Christmas back to the Who’s in Whoville and his heart grew three sizes. Please be the "someone" to take drastic action and use your influence to see EMPIRE returned to the Bajans in Bim and let the wider community get on with it while we celebrate your evolutionary status to HERO.

MR MALONEY…on the way to the EMPIRE…what ROLE will YOU Play?

Barbados Today

6 hrs ·

Out of control! | Barbados Today

Out of control!