Some say a picture is worth a thousand words. We take no pleasure posting the following pictures which reflect our decaying physical infrastructure. We go further to opine that it is a sad reflection of our inability to effectively and efficiently manage our tiny country. For partisan political reasons many will not want to admit it but it is the truth. If we love our country we need to pull it back!

It is not about the quantum of taxpayers resources allocated to build stalls near to Golden Square to accommodate the displaced vendors from Fairchild Street market, it is about the lack of management to ensure it was efficiently executed.

The three pictures of the dilapidated erection meant to shield the public’s view of one of the most beautiful vistas on our coastline must be described as a ‘sin’.  Do we need to remind the country that Bridgetown and its environs is categorized as a world heritage site?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

110 responses to “It is a Paradise – A Decaying Physical Infrastructure”

1. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Gabriel May 29, 2016 at 5:55 PM #
    What I liked about these experiences was that there were average bajans who taught us to use these guns.Guys were carpenters,masons,messengers etc but sharp and disciplined and they exacted the same from you.No mollycoddling.”when I tell yuh move,move it man”
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    And these same guys were in no small way responsible for the discipline that was instilled in our mainly young men ,not just in the Regiment ,but in their respective civi.lian work places. Discipline was more effectively disseminated among the population then, than today with the ‘closed shop’ Defence Force. it was often overheard, ” Boy he is in the Regiment, ya don’t want to mess with him.”

2. @ Dribbler
    The Cadet Corps of old suffered the same fate that the education system has suffered.

Initially targeted at moulding leaders and role models (not just from the brand name schools, but the best of the best of those schools) the cadets were converted via the expansion program into an second-rate appendage of the army.

The schools system was initially configured to funnel the specially talented student through HC; to the best universities in the world; … and ready to meet the challenges of leading the country. We converted that into an “all-is-one” degree factory, aimed at getting a UWI degree into every home….firmly in the hands of a brass bowl.

Education system dead
    Cadet Leadership scheme dead
    Country soon dead.

Skeete, Brown and that lot were products of one of the greatest teachers ever to set foot in a Bajan school ….. one HD Maynard.
    They were just doing what they were programmed to do….

3. @Bush Tea

Some forget he was an excellent English teacher. Look at his success with the hockey program. They don’t make them like him any more.

4. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Bush Tea May 29, 2016 at 8:52 PM #

As a former Cawmere Cadet,I agree with your above.

What baffles me is that this post has given us a mirror image but weekly you get posters like WILD COOT,telling us where we are at but no one listens and as he has rightly stated in his last sentence,all we want to do is waste money on costumes or lack thereof.

https://shar.es/1dQH1w

“Ignoratione rerum bonarum et malarum, maxime hominum vita vexetur” (The inability to tell good from evil is the greatest worry of man’s life). – Cicero.TRADITIONALLY…

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ Bush Tea May 29, 2016 at 8:52 PM …senor, you say some glib, sweet-sounding things that completely befuddle and rubbish significant social theory and practice.

Which “The Cadet Corps of old …” are you talking about. The one that Caswell experienced or the one that Skeete ran as a BDF officer?

When did the talented and bright stop being channeled to the best universities in the world?

Where do those who attend the elite HC you acclaim go if not into leadership of Bajan institutions/governance?

And pray tell how does a university degree in every home dumb-down the country to your neologistic status?

Rhetorical all…so no need to update one of your well-worked education screeds! LOLL.

Just wanted to highlight that your remarks provide lovely words that skim the surface ever so sweetly.

And you know of course that Col Maynard taught and ‘programmed’ a lot of others too.

I could be wrong but as my friends dem relate he would have done his influence thing with an entire generation of labor leaders like Murrell et al, for example. Clearly their programming code would have been error-ridden it seems. LOLLL.

Wait Vincent, you were a cadet too. Fah Trute, Wha lawd!

6. Part of my happy experiences in the no 3 Company was at camp at Fortescue,St Philip.A group of us from the 3 Companies came under the tutelage of full time soldiers who were stationed in Guyana and were brought to Barbados to train us up to cadet officer standard.They were of the Black Watch and the Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders Regiments.Some of them were huge in stature and looked like giants to us little teenagers.

7. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

de pedantic Dribbler May 30, 2016 at 9:02 AM #

Chuckle…..yup and a labor leader at one time and no Maynard never taught me,although I attended during his time and he was in charge of the Cadets.

8. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Gabriel May 30, 2016 at 11:07 AM
    The Argyle and Sutherland Highlanders. A great Regiment .One of its Battalions ,in Aden was commanded by Lt Col Colin “Mad Mitch ” Mitchell,who defied the orders of his Generals in Whitehall, while he was leading his battalion ,complete with bag pipers, on an operation through a notorious part of Aden.

9. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Yards from the imposing General Post Office. Inches from the Jubillee Bus Stand. On the Fontabelle Main Road. Not far from the Bridgetown Port. A hundred yards from Broad Street. A crying Shame!
    http://i.imgur.com/3MmBuw5.jpg?1

10. I love Barbados. I have visited many times since the 1980’s. The above picture saddens me. The previous one of that great historic house is wonderful, but please do some maintenance Gov of Barbados. Be proud of your Island. It is such a babe, don’t let it die xx