Pedro Shepherd, Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT)

The government of Barbados has been quick to issue the order to dock the pay of teachers who responded to the call from the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) to attend meetings during school hours between April 29 and May 4, 2016. The ministry of education has pointed to Section: 3.3.2 of the General Orders to support their decision. It will be interesting to observe the response by the BUT for several reasons. Are the former presidents Jones and Best of the BUT uncomfortable in the role?

Teachers_Salaries_docked

29 responses to “Government Docks Teacher’s Pay”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Again the teachers set a bad example to kids, yes you have grieviances, but you also knew the rules and procedures and so did Redman.

Here is the opportunity to handle the major issues like adults.

2. Proportionately abated!!!!!

Never heard that one before!!

Sounds like the phrase “Endeavour to Persevere” from a favourite Western … “The Outlaw Josey Wales”

3. Errol Barrow handled a similar protest in the early 70’s in a more intelligent way from which those who have not learned from his experience will remain unenlightened.When the BSTU led I think by Earl Glasgow withdrew their labour over the issue of salary differential in secondary schools and the fledgling BCC,EWB went on CBC to casually inform the nation Barbados that according to the General Orders of the Public Service,those teachers can lose their pension rights.They returned to work forthwith without further sanction.Note it was EWB the Prime Minister,leading from the front.He did not leave it to the Minister of Education,neither did he raise his voice a la Bishop Jake or would that be Crack Head Jones.That is how born leaders operate.Barrow was a born leader.Stuart is one upon whom leadership was thrust.He cannot lead even if he tried.As a matter of fact,none of this cabinet of the DLP show natural leadership habits.Not one.All pretenders.
    Meanwhile,Darwin Dottin should be still at his post of Commissioner of Police weeding out the undesirables in that body and OSA should be sitting in Bay Street,overseeing the fortunes of Barbados,reducing unemployment,bringing in FDI,putting more disposable income in the peoples’ pockets,protecting the NIS from collapse and Dr Clyde Mascoll,the Governor of the Central Bank.

4. The Permanent Secretary should go back to school, her punctuation is terrible..! The comma should be after “who attend,” “…without permission,”

5. Anthony Davis Avatar

This is one time that I agree with the Ministry of Education. Why should the children always be the ones to suffer? Their parents/guardians are among those who pay the said teachers.

6. What else do we do other than blame the other party?

Today it is the MoE.

Tomorrow it will be the unions.

7. Government must also remember to adjust

George Brathwaite shared his post.

George Brathwaite's photo.

9. Shiite!!
    We ded!!

10. @Bush Tea

Why the consternation?

11. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR

Looks like George Brathwaite needs your poster creation skills, especially re. the text.

12. Consternation en trute. This bro got some rather unfortunate personal history before the courts – for which wid he already fulfill he obligations is true .

He better be ready for the nastiness tho.

13. @ Are We There Yet

1] They do not understand Succinct Messages.

2] They do not have any message to bring so whatever they print will be empty

3] He has used a poster to put a scutch-up message of his political campaign in 8 point font on a sheet for people to read – that is disrespectful of his audience BUT it is also indicative of his thinking – which is – “I dont care if you get to read the fine print this is not about you ANYWAYS’

4] then, to encapsulate it all, he enjoins “ST JOHN AH COME FROM” to the poster in BOLD FONT.

Are we there yet do you know something?

Right now, if honest men and women were to stand for election as independents with messages of

1] I am a competent candidate – see how i have done a, b, c etc and i have not teifed anything. I have the skills needed to jumpstart this economy

2] I will make Freedom of Information mandatory

3] I will make Integrity Legislation a part of our laws for politicians and public servants and anyone brekking those laws gine get lock up

4] I will make politicians accountable to the people and institute the power of recall and finally

5] I pledge Allegiance to my country Barbados and my service to the country will be in this way and form through doing the job that you have elected me to do, without any benefit other than the $17,000 you are paying me a month

The disillusioned population and sheeple that the electorate is will, even though they would NOT vote in this better option, at least have had a choice between the inept DLP, the megalomaniac BLP and people who truly love the country.

But given my whole rant above, it would appear that I have already started using the medicinal marijuana that all those people were advocating for and which Amused has recommended that i partake in

14. @ Bush Tea

“And he said, Oh let not the Lord be angry, and I will speak yet but this once: Peradventure TEN shall be found there. And he said, I will not destroy it for ten’s sake….

Imagine we cannot find 30 men and women who love this country more than self and therein lies our predicament

15. The idea of blanking out the names on the letter dated the 6th May 2016 (after the names were seen) is beyond comprehension..! Closing the stable door after…

16. @Shaft

Just comment and hush.

17. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR

Excellent post at 2:51 pm. All the prospective candidates should read, learn and inwardly digest your sage advice.

18. @John,
    I don’t have the ability to edit videos, but I see that you need some help in determining what is a good western. The voices are different but from what I hear on TV but from 18:44 is sheer poetry.
    “I’m a lwaman Hack, I got no choice”

19. Hamilton A Hill Avatar
    Hamilton A Hill

Seems as if the Donald Trump style has taken,or dare I say is about to take root in Barbados.”If you don’t accept my point of view,I will berate you, belittle you and then remind you of my superior intellect.

20. Stephanie wrote: "Good Morning #realdreamchasers. Here is your daily newscap. RECOVERY UPHILL CLIMB – ECONOMIC ADVISER to the Opposition, Dr Clyde Mascoll, says the International Monetary Fund’s view that the Barbados economy appears to have turned a corner does not mean recovery “but rather the beginning of a tough uphill climb”.This connotes images of the economy being at a roundabout, in which case, the turning is a matter of degree,” Mascoll told the SUNDAY SUN yesterday.Following its May 9-19 Article IV Consultation, the IMF staff based its view, essentially, on real GDP having grown by 0.8 per cent in 2015, underpinned by a surge in tourism arrivals, relative to 0.2 per cent in 2014 and an average of -0.3 per cent in 2008-14. PAY DEDUCTION FOR TEACHERS – JUST WHEN IT LOOKED as though the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) and the Ministry of Education were close to solving their differences, there is now another controversy that could divide them even further. A mere hours after the BUT indicated it was no longer at loggerheads with Minister of Education Ronald Jones, membership was thrown into a tailspin with the news that the ministry will be taking action against teachers who attended two specially convened BUT meetings.The ministry has advised that teachers who attended meetings on April 29 and May 4 during school hours will have their pay deducted for being off the job on those days. AUB TO OFFER FREE HEALTH CARE – BARBADIANS SHOULD SOON have access to totally free medical attention. The lone offshore medical school operating here, the American University of Barbados (AUB), is only awaiting word from Government to start such clinics.AUB president Meesam Ali Khan said the clinics were delayed because of certain permissions needed from Government, for which the process was ongoing.“AUB is also in talks with the Government for placing super-specialty doctors in their polyclinics for specialised medical care in the field of medicine, pediatrics, orthopedics, surgery, and so on. “The benefit of this will be that the Government polyclinics will have super-specialty doctors without the Government having to pay for it. “It will also benefit the patients because they won’t need to wait for an appointment at the [Queen Elizabeth Hospital], which is already overworked,” said Khan. LET C.O.WILLIAMS BUILD A BRIDGE – ANOTHER TEMPORARY ROAD built by C.O. Williams or maybe even a bridge.This, said Member of Parliament for the area, George Payne, should be the consideration of officials now, after the temporary road built at White Hill, St Andrew, less than six months ago disappeared into the gully in the last two days.Lambasting officials for “just putting marl on mould”, Payne said he thought it was time the experts in road construction be brought in.“I believe if you are doing a temporary road you should put people who are experts on roads. I think the time has come when you look at COW Williams for the temporary road and I believe that temporary road can be done while they decide what they are going to do or where they are going to put the road. SOLAR PLANT – THE SUN WILL BE CONTRIBUTING to the electricity in a number of homes as the Barbados Light & Power’s solar panel plant comes on line by the end of next month. The 42-acre, 44 000-panel site is projected to save the electricity company $10 million in fuel costs annually, said director of operations, Johann Greaves. He gave an update of the Trents, St Lucy project.He said the project, started in 2015, was budgeted to cost $43 million, $11 million of which will be spent on local labour, contractors and materials. He said at least 70 per cent of the solar panels have so far been installed and the remainder would be in place in about two weeks’ time. PARK GETS SPRUCED UP – QUEEN’S PARK was given an $80 000 facelift yesterday. The names of its three gates, which had all but faded from visibility and from social memory, and new interpretive signage will be there for all to see.Yesterday, executives and staff from CIBC FirstCaribbean gave the facelift to the more than 200 year-old green space, which dates back to the 1780s when British soldiers used it as a garrison. It was done under the watchful eye of officials from the National Conservation Commission.Managing director of retail banking, Mark St Hill, revealed that the refurbishment project cost CIBC $80 000 and entailed not only repainting, but new interpretive signage as well. MOTHER VISITS DAUGHTER AT ROSEVILLE NURSING HOME – THE LAST TIME Barbadians saw Jasmin Hall she was crawling on the floor clearly in distress from a confrontation with care worker Arielle King caught on video which went viral last week.The SUNDAY SUN was at the Roseville Nursing Home on Friday when Barbara Daniel-Goddard visited her mother who suffers with dementia. Jasmin, affectionately called “Jazzy” at the home, was walking and moving around as she usually does, according to staff at the home.“She likes to climb. She likes to dance and she likes to relax over here in this chair. If you don’t keep an eye on her she would get away,” Daniel-Goddard said of her “active” mother, who has been resident at the home for the past three years. MOTHER DEFENDS DAUGHTER’S ACTIONS – AS FAR as Yvonne Lorde is concerned, the video which went viral last week showing her daughter allegedly hitting an elderly nursing home resident does not demonstrate abusive behaviour. She told me she was only skylarking with the old woman,” an upset Lorde said even as her daughter, 37-year-old Arielle King, a nursing auxiliary, stands charged with assault.The video, which attracted over two million views in one day, was removed from Facebook on Thursday. Lorde believes that her daughter was “set up”, saying King only “tapped” 84-year-old Jasmin Hall on her head and on her foot with two sheets of paper. “People are saying it was a Bible and some saying it is a diary. She look like she could take a lash with a Bible?” King said. ANOTHER CASE OF ABUSE – SHOCKING PHOTOGRAPHS of an elderly woman in an emaciated state, her frail body consumed with bedsores, hit the Internet last week, one day after the video of Jasmin Hall being ill-treated in a home for the elderly. The woman who posted the pictures pleaded with the authorities to intervene.She wrote on her Facebook page: “Another elderly woman in Barbados that is badly malnourished, being beaten every day, this lady is legally blind. Authorities have been called in several times on this case and did nothing . . . These pics are again disturbing; some seen with the lady left in her own faeces and a video of her saying the family member hitting her in the back.” TWO CAR SMASH UP – At least one person has been injured following a two-vehicle smash-up along Black Rock, St Michael this evening.Details are still sketchy. However, eyewitnesses say the driver of the hired vehicle, a Suzuki Jimny, had to be transported to hospital for medical treatment after crashing into a minibus.Police are investigating. MADURO HEADED TO JAMAICA – Jamaica House has confirmed that the embattled Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro is expected in the island for a working visit on Sunday.A media advisory released by the Office of the Prime Minister today said Maduro will be in the island for a working visit.The Venezuelan leader is scheduled to meet with government officials, including Prime Minister Andrew Holness, at Jamaica House Sunday morning before he is hosted at a luncheon in the afternoon.The two leaders are expected to host a press conference at Jamaica House before Maduro visits the Simon Bolivar statue at the National Heroes Circle and the Simon Bolivar Cultural Centre in downtown Kingston.Maduro’s visit coincides with increasing pressure in his home country as inflation rises and locals become increasingly agitated about the decline in basic social and other services.The visit also comes months after Jamaica took a deal to get a huge discount on oil payments to Venezuela by paying up front cash before it’s due. PATRICK HUSBANDS WINS QUEENSTON STAKES – Conquest Enforcer, with Barbadian champion jockey Patrick Husbands in the saddle, left the field choking in his dust in the $150,000 (BDS$228, 718. 50) Queenston Stakes at Woodbine on Saturday afternoon. And suddenly, everyone is talking about how the Mark Casse-trained bay may be the favourite to win the $1 million (BDS$1.524 million) Queen’s Plate on July 3 — that is if Casse decides to enter the Conquest Stables three-year-old in Canada’s most important race this summer. Just a few days ago, Casse said it was doubtful that Conquest Enforcer would make it to the Plate. But after Saturday’s dominant performance in the Queenston Stakes, Casse may have second thoughts. Conquest Enforcer absolutely crushed the four-horse field in the seven furlong race for three-year-olds foaled in Canada. Conquest Enforcer set slow fractions of 24.08 and 47.69 seconds but began to draw away early in the stretch, and coasted home to win by 73/4 lengths, earning $94,500 (BDS$144,092) for the trip. Songs and Laughter finished second, and Ultraflame checked in third after a wide trip. The final time was 1:23.73. MANCHESTER UNITED WINS FA CUP – Manchester United came from behind and survived Chris Smalling’s sending-off to beat Crystal Palace and win the FA Cup at Wembley through Jesse Lingard’s extra-time strike.As Wembley was awash with growing speculation this this would be Louis van Gaal’s final match as United manager – based on reports that he will be replaced by Jose Mourinho next week – he was able to add English football’s most glamorous cup to his honours list.United looked on course to end the season empty-handed as well as missing out on Champions League football when substitute Jason Puncheon’s powerful far-post finish put Palace ahead with 12 minutes left.It was harsh on United, who had hit the woodwork through Marouane Fellaini and Antony Martial, but they responded within four minutes with a brilliant run from Wayne Rooney that ended with Juan Mata scoring from close range.United lost Smalling to a second yellow card for hauling back Yannick Bolasie in extra time – but Lingard took the trophy to Old Trafford when he lashed home a first-time strike from Damien Delaney’s half-clearance after 110 minutes. When his expected replacement with Mourinho is confirmed, the 64-year-old Dutchman can at least take pleasure and credit for returning United to trophy-winning ways for the first time since the retirement of Sir Alex Ferguson in 2013.And this was another performance in a manner that has become their FA Cup template this season, driving on through periods of adversity to eventually come out of the other side victorious, something for which Van Gaal deserves praise.They won at West Ham in a quarter-final replay then survived a comeback from a resurgent Everton to win the semi-final with Antony Martial’s late winner.And here they shrugged off Smalling’s red card to show real resilience and character.It was a victory that clearly meant so much to Van Gaal as the normally impassive manager raced from his seat in the technical area to celebrate Lingard’s winner.In what appears to be his last act as manager, it was one that illustrates he will leave on a high. LOW-KEYED CALVACADE – It was billed as the “mega cavalcade”, but from all reports Crop Over 2016 got off to a low-keyed start on Friday night, as the first event on the official calendar came off at the Briar Hall playing field in the heart of Minister of Culture Stephen Lashley’s Christ Church West Central constituency. Well past 9:30 p.m. patrons were still strolling into the event, which attracted a much smaller crowd than last year’s heavily patronized event in Queen’s Park, The City. This led many on the night to question the wisdom of the move to Briar Hall. Nonetheless, those patrons who came early were treated to the sweet sounds of the Harrison College Steel Orchestra, a performance from Dancin Africa and a display of costumes from three Foreday Morning bands. The new artiste segment this year consisted of three artistes Stathis, Cheniceand Rhea. They performed well and should be commended, especially Chenice, who was a joy to watch and listen to, displaying much confidence on the stage. Definitely one to watch for the future! The Energy Band, one of the backing bands on the night, also performed creditably even though their frontline, which includes Kirk Brown, Imani and new addition, Sanctuary, lacked some of the chemistry that was very evident last year when they thoroughly impressed with former two-time calypso monarchiWeb as part of their line-up. He was noticeably absent this time around. It was therefore left to the stalwarts to hype up the show, including Don Trent, Damien Marvay, Leadpipe and Saddis, King Bubba, Stiffy, Hypasounds, Lil Rick, Edwin Yearwood and Peter Ram who brought the event to a close just after midnight. On a positive note, there were no disruptions on the night as police kept close watch of the proceedings. MEDFORD CELEBRATES 100 YEARS – Barbados’ newest centenarian Francis Medford Clarke has lived most of his life at sea.Growing up in Foul Bay St Philip, his love the ocean was not at all surprising, neither was his decision to pursue a career as a fisherman at the tender age of 16. By then it was a family legacy – his father and brothers were all fishermen.In all, Clarke’s mother had 11 children.At 100 years old, his close-knit clan now boasts of nine surviving children, 14 grandchildren and 14 great-grandchildren.Determined to mark today’s milestone with a “bang”, the family launched a week-long “Medford Not Out” birthday jamboree. That’s all for today folks. Have a wonderful say 🙂 Shalom <3 Steph.."

21. Samuel E. Clarke Avatar
    Samuel E. Clarke

Headline: “Government docks teacher’s pay.”

Which teacher had his or her pay docked? Who is the teacher with the docked pay?

Can you even begin to grasp the importance of having some minimal understanding of the most basic punctuation? Should we send people like you to Geneva, to engage in mind-bendingly complex negotiations about intellectual property rights?

What punctuation what?

Which teacher had his/her pay docked?

You, who can’t even put an apostrophe in the right place, you’re the tool with the fambly with the 10-point plan fo’ we, er, “governance”?

May the big, the boss, and indeed the engineery deliver we from all this hideous shite.

Poster boy pieceoshite jus’ ROCKIN dem posters.

But to get back to the point in the headline … WHICH teacher was docked pay?

22. The following policy is now in effect
    (1) The article goes to David
    (2) he proof reads it and correct obvious typos
    (3) it goes to a grammarian who corrects the grammar and send it to the
    (4) publication committee (PC), which then approves/rejects the post.
    (5) On approval the post is sent to the IT department for posting on BU
    Please let us know if you agree with this policy and point out any errors as we are seeking members for the PC.

23. The letter featured in this blog was sent to a (individual) teacher.

Will this issue create more tension with the unions?

On Mon, May 23, 2016 at 10:58 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

24. @ The Blogmaster

Imagine that it has come to this that you Blogmaster are now required to engage the requisite staff to edit we inept grammar submission and mek we look lik effing we went to school and learn (not learnt) english

Hahahahaha

From the time the item was posted with the denuding it became apparent that while several letters were sent out to respective schools that the one you had, “fell of a truck” and had a specific individual’s name and the corresponding reference number.

It would have been inconsistent with your accustomed practice of protecting the identities of your sources to have published that document in and other way, but others here don’t seem bright enough to understand that.

@ Samuel Clarke

I thank you Kindly for you compliment both as to my posters and my elevated name Piece of shyt* you were kinder than others who called me the part of the body two inches removed on the female anatomy and related to a female rabbit. Much appreciation for your gender sensitivity.

I would however hope that an no time while you blog here that you go so low as others have and use the spurious diatribe an call me Piece of DBLP yardfowl for that sir would be the most unkindest cut of all and I would have no choice but to demand flintlocks at 20 paces with my SPAZ

25. Barbados Today is reporting that a respected retired trade union leader is saying the the BUT cannot demand the withdrawal of the MoE letter docking the pay of teachers who absented themselves from duty to attend their union’s call for a meeting during school hours.The retiree says the MoE as employer has a right to ‘shut them out’.
    Barbados Today is reporting that “A well respected retired trade union leader dismissed the NUPW wage demands of 23% as “hot air”.
    There are 3 recently retired veteran trade union leaders namely Sir Roy,Clarke and Maloney.Given the reported language used by the veteran……”I doan see dem getting no moe than 2%.”…….”the demands could lick up the country”….”as far as I concern”…… the veteran got to be Clarke whose language skills are zilch.Clarke is clearly a member of the Fatted Calf Brigade,a Dem,one of those people if he cannot be in charge,nobody else can,a workplace bully.He should just shut up and ride into the sunset unless he is singing for his supper.What respected trade union leader what.This man is void of class and full of shoite.Good riddance.

26. The NUPW has put 23% on the negotiating table.The BWU has put 16% on the table.Clarke would accept no more than 2%.We wait to see if he sits on the government team for these wage negotiations.The bell has rung.

27. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

This is a serious legal issue –

‘Mr Goudie submitted that the real question was whether a teacher was entitled to be paid for the period of 35 minutes that he or she had not worked. Pay for that period, he said, had not been earned. In my judgment, this approach is fallacious. It involves regarding the teachers’ salaries as accruing minute by minute. There is no legal or factual justification for that view of the salaries. Under the contracts, the salaries are based on a yearly scale but are paid by monthly payments. Each month a contractual right to a salary payment vests in the teacher. By reason of section 2 of the Apportionment Act 1870, the salaries are deemed to accrue day by day. If a teacher’s contract were, in the middle of a month, to come to an end, by death, dismissal or some other event, section 2 would entitle the teacher, or his estate, to an apportioned part of the month’s salary payment,. So the salaries may be regarded as accruing day by day. But they do not accrue minute by minute.’

I will probably write on it this weekend.

28. What matters more – apostrophes or DECIMAL POINTS? Hmmmm….

29. So teachers leave for two half days and lose two days’ pay; but, for years, every single Tuesday, BAPPPS (Barbados ASSocaiation of Principals of Public Secondary Schools) meets at Harrison College (used to be Lester Vaughan until the big guts jackass at The Lodge could not get his belly behind the buffet table) for meetings to drink rum (during the working day, on government property) and to plan evil for children, parents and teachers, and not a cent deducted. What good are they doing for education? Nothing, just talking people’s names, planning nastiness and eating catered food paid for by taxpayers – EVERY SINGLE TUESDAY. They have never had a cent taken out, in fact, they steal most of the funds that should be cleaning mould from our children’s classrooms, providing text books, upgrading aging plants to gorge on.