Submitted by June Naime
June Naime
June Naime

The Spirit of Independence means to me that ‘each individual have been given talents and abilities and should strive to magnify those gifts in appreciation of having received them’. The more we do so our awareness becomes sharpened and embellished as we excel unto perfection in our own unique way. This is the true Spirit of Individuality and Independence!

A good example of the Spirit of Independence and Self-Reliance is a Barbadian gentleman named Mr. Paul Bynoe the Managing Director of B‘s Recycling Barbados. Barbados Recycler B‘s Recycling promotes a cleaner environment, B‘s Recycling Barbados.

A very good friend once taught me, “Humility is Our Friend”. Mr. Paul Bynoe certainly appreciates his humble beginnings, and with persistence and hard work he has forged ahead helping himself and others to be Self-governing. Through his Determinations and Struggles, Barbados is well ahead and a leading example thanks to the vision of Mr. Bynoe who cares not only about the environment but encourage others as well to be conscious of their surroundings. Mr. Bynoe is aware of the importance of raising individuals to higher standards as exemplified by his work ethics and his encouragement of those who work for him. And he is only one example. Nobody handed him his fortune on a silver platter and from what I understood it was by ‘the Sweat of his brow that brought him his Increase’.

What is happening with Barbadians is because of fewer Opportunities that stems from the Fact of Government Overreach? Big Governments are always very inefficient and because of pandering to the people and corruption we are in the position now where 2/3’s of Government revenue is paid to Service Debt. Imagine 2/3’s. The Nursery Rhyme comes to mind, where the little boy down the lane, meaning us” only receive 1/3”s of our increase. The rest is through legalized extractions of the peoples labour. Lots of people believe they’ll be getting free stuff. However a few people actually ARE getting free stuff, at the expense of others. Do you understand what happens when a nation defaults on its loans? Never has a society prospered from taking from someone else by force via uncontrolled Taxation. Society always prospers when the Entrepreneurial Spirit of each individual creates wealth. Collectivism, on the other hand is a scourge on humanity while Individualism is a boon to all humanity. We should always promote individual responsibility, virtue and respect for others and to beware of Envy (It breeds all manner of discontent).

5 Truths You Cannot Disagree With:

1. You cannot legislate the poor into prosperity by legislating the wealthy out of prosperity.
  2. What another person receives without working for, another person must work for without receiving.
  3. The Government cannot give anybody anything that the Government does not first Take from somebody else.
  4. You cannot Multiply Wealth by Dividing it.
  5. When half of the people Do Not Have To Work because the other half is Going To Take Care Of Them; and the other half gets the idea that it does no good to work because somebody else is going to get what he worked for, That is The Beginning and The End of A Nation.

A Casual Observation…
We have a drought of money in Barbados because of over- reaching Government through high taxation and endless bureaucratic regulations on the people. The result is that businesses are drying up and struggling to meet Payroll. Presently in Barbados we have a drought from the lack of rain fall and many are still experiencing water Shortages Island wide!

We also have a drought Of Leadership and to quote a famous Labour Union citation from the Scriptures, “Where There Is No Vision The People Perish”. In Ancient Days as is recorded in Holy Writ, people turning away from God caused these catastrophes. Do you think God is speaking and we are not listening?

Venezuela what you are experiencing is because of a Socialist Government Rooted in Communism (A Godless Conspiracy) who has now declared a State of Emergency in the Country to complete the Plunder of its people without their Consent! “Now What Liberty Can There Be Where Property Is Taken Away Without Consent”. –Samuel Adams 1772.

Socialism Is Socialism. There are different Degrees of Socialism, but it is All Socialism with guaranteed results of failure. People Voting-in this System of Governance is wilful suicide. Socialism is when you are forced to take money from yourself and give it to a Bureaucracy who promises to give you back a little if ya lucky! However I do not believe in Luck, I believe in making Correct Choices and allowing the consequences to follow!

We must be able to have a System of Governance that allows Free Market Enterprise without all the burdensome regulations and heavy taxation’s.

“Free-market Capitalism is a network of free and voluntary exchanges in which producers work, produce, and exchange their products for the products of others through prices voluntarily arrived at….

Man has rights because they are natural rights. They are grounded in the nature of man: the individual’s capacity for conscious choice, the necessity for him to use his mind and energy to adopt goals and values, to find out about the world, to pursue his ends in order to survive and prosper, his capacity and need to communicate and interact with other human beings and to participate in the division of labor”…

The lifestyles of Barbadians have improved tremendously in the past years. The big picture is not reparations due because of our forefathers were denied an inheritance; it is Opportunities we should seek. I should know, as both sides of my Ancestors were Slaves. I speak as half Barbadian and half Arab “sand negro”. I can relate in both instances, of a great heritage my husband John and I both share.

I was Born in Barbados in the parish of St. John, and lived in Messiah street as a child. My mother was a Reid of Barbadian Irish Ancestry who married Isaac Abraham from Syria. The spirit of Tyranny oppressed both sides of my Ancestry. One side fleeing an oppressive regime leaving the Middle East, while the other side travelled on Slave Ships bound for Barbados.

My husband John was born in Trinidad of Syrian decent. His parents immigrated to Barbados when he was seven years old. Both our families fled Syria as Christians many years ago under similar circumstance as to what we are witnessing now. In the late 1800’s the Ottoman Empire, controlled the Region, Syria, Lebanon and Jordan, were not separate as they are now. Our fore fathers land and valuables were stolen and they were made Serfs because they were Christians.

When the Ottoman Empire started to break down, many fled to The Americas in hopes of Freedom and a better way of life. My Father and my husband’s family were the latter generation who were left of this mass migration which started back then. They worked very hard and overcame many barriers including language, culture, reading skills & education while adapting to their new environment, often in rural and inhabited territories. The Inheritance our forefathers received were the Values and Morals that instilled in them the fortitude to overcome at all odds what ever challenges their circumstances presented.

Both John and myself were not born with silver spoons in our mouths. John worked and provided for his family giving me the opportunity to be a stay at home Mom while providing me the chance to develop many skills and talents, to which those that know me can attest. People often say that they are ‘self taught’, I prefer to say ‘God Inspired“ as Steve Jobs attest too, “listening to ones inner voice, and having the courage to follow your own heart and intuition”. Steve Jobs was half Syrian also.

“Your time is limited; so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary”. Steve Jobs

My Husband John was responsible in part for the Legacy of Chefette. He and his brother had a Restaurant back in the day called Cococabana in Fonatbelle and Roti’s was the signature item on the menu. Cococabana would be remembered by the older generation that morphed into Chefette in 1972. John would bring Roti’s from Cococabana to school for me and my classmates. I was seventeen and in attendance when the first Chefette opened 1972. The New generation does not know the origins of Chefette. I know because I was there Oh How History Needs To Be Re-told Least We Forget Our Origins! John helped to build the Company for 31 years, however that is another story yet to be told!

Challenges make Champions was a virtue that we taught our Son Nathan from young. Because of unforeseen circumstances our lives were challenged when John was in his 50’s and as a result we had to start over with very little.

As a result Big John’s was born and was also known for taking Roti to a whole different Dimension of Flavor, Size and Quality, including making their own Dal Pouri Roti Skins. I know because I assisted John in developing and perfecting the Recipes. Because of lack of finance to support the business during a tanking economy and because of outside forces working against us, caused the closer of this unique brand in the quick service industry with tremendous potential of healthier alternatives including more grilling and less frying.

After two years of closure, Nathan said to his Dad, who he calls BIG JOHN, “let us open a Bar & Grill”, which he had desired for some time. Nathan created a whole new concept to Chefette and Big John’s with our assistance. Yet another entirely new concept to what we had previously, now it would be a casual sit-down service concept, rich in hospitality including great food and drinks with generous portions at reasonable prices.

The moral of that story is, although others through their influence and money may take away your livelihood, no one can take away the substance and experience gained of a man. He is what he is and his knowledge can never be taken away. That is why it is so important to build strength of character and to learn as much as we can in this life on all levels possible, because when we depart this life, all material possessions we leave behind and we stand naked before God in the nature of who we have become, whether Good or Evil!

God created each individual uniquely different with gifts and talents to develop according to their desires. We are all given talents according to the law of the harvest or the parable of the Talents. We are each to use our own initiative to grow those gifts given to us. If you remember the person that was given only one in the story, buried theirs and had no increase. That which they had and did not use was taken away and given to another that used their talents.

Failure does not mean that you are a looser; it means getting up and taking your best shot once again with the opportunity to learn by your mistakes. By having learned life valuable lessons gives one with the incentive to do better next time round. In life we can be beaten down or take the opportunity to rise in spite of our challenges.

“I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed”. Michael Jordan.

What about the poor, the disabled, and… – The Objective Standard

How do they fare under laissez-faire? … With this in mind, let us consider the position of the poor, the disabled, and the helpless in a truly capitalist system. What about the poor, the disabled, and the helpless? How do they fare under laissez-faire?

To answer this question, we must bear in mind that very few people are genuinely helpless or unable to support themselves; the great majority of people are capable of acting as their life requires. And if a person chooses to live and is capable of supporting himself, he has a moral responsibility to do so; if he refuses to support himself and, instead, steals, begs, or seeks handouts, he is acting parasitically and immorally.

With this in mind, let us consider the position of the poor, the disabled, and the helpless in a truly capitalist system. But we must take them one at a time, for they are not necessarily one and the same.

As to the poor: Free Enterprise (Capitalism) leaves each individual free to think, work, and make as much money as he is willing and able to earn. No other social system on earth does this. In a capitalist society, if a poor person wants to work his way out of poverty—as countless poor people have done—he is fully free to do so. Of course, if he doesn’t want to, he doesn’t have to; the choice is his to make, and no one can force him one way or the other….

We can all make a difference in making Barbados Great Again, starting with the importance of Individual Responsibility and using our God Given Talents and Abilities To Improve Our Lot!

96 responses to “Making Barbados Great Again: Self Governance Means Self-Reliance”

1. Ahhhhh now you dun wid dat stuff. when i started my spiel the last entry was GP’s anyways i gine lef you to Pachamama

2. Actually, it bodes well for Barbados that someone like June feels comfortable to enter the BU fray and to open herself to the music of down-to-earth frankness.
    Obviously her’s is not the perspective of the majority…. nor does it have to be, but it is only by frankly sharing ideas, honestly listening to each other, and exchanging perspectives, …that consensus positions can be arrived at….

Your BU platform has come a LONG way in a few short years David….
    You continue to forge new ground in demonstrating the role that a genuine national communications media SHOULD play in Nation building…. sharing knowledge, rooting out corruption, educating all who are interested and giving voice to the voiceless.

In Bushie’s humble opinion, your BU is one of the very few things that we can genuinely celebrate as a Nation after 50 years – in terms of our intellectual development as knowledgeable, thinking, and independently-minded people.

May BBE continue to bless you.

3. June Naime:

No, we have no job. Now, you didn’t ask whether we own a group of companies or was just living off residuals. But we are to have a job. This is exactly what is wrong with that Bajan elitist mentality. A mental frame informed by more than a modicum of ignorance.

But yuh wrong again. Merely having a job does not make one a capitalist. There are millions of people who do jobs for which no payment is ever made. Like how we are trying to educate your under-developed mind.

When your ancestors sold the Slavic peoples into bondage they had jobs but weren’t capitalists.

Can’t bother with you nuh more, we send somebody to ‘inject’ some common sense into yuh.

4. @Bush Tea we have to demonstrate tolerance for different views. We all benefit if we have the capacity to do so.

5. @ Pieceuhderockyeahright May 20, 2016 at 4:15 PM,

“…….. up your game as such relates to the intellectual food that you cooking or get out de effing kitchen.”

That is a pretty brutal but in my opinion a very objective assessment of Madam Naime’s article and her replies to date.

BU is the media equivalent of the brutal bare knuckle fight game prior to the introduction of the Marquess of Queensberry Rules. There are many fine bare knuckle fighters in this arena. Pachamama being, perhaps, one the finest exponent of this savage art form.

I feel that Madam Naime has been unfairly exposed in this ring. The bloggers on this site are not prepared to doff their caps to so called names. Even Jeff Cumberbatch has struggled in this arena. Let’s hope that the lady in question gains some knowledge from her experience.

My advice to Madam Naime would be: “know your audience”.

6. Pieceuhderockyeahright , thanks for the welcome haaaaaa, if such is a welcome, Lord preserve ma!

To quote you, ‘I am in short the average Bajan male, full of them stupid self”. I can’t agree with you more, your Inflated Ego Speaks ‘VOLUMES’ of your Persona. You should be the last one to talk about being long winded. I think you open your mouth just to hear yourself perambulate endlessly!

I have not see a provision here for submitting a link, hence the reason I posted the Article in its entirety. But you and the rest like you who support your Confabulations and theirs, prefer to detract from the content of the post by your Bait and Switch Tactics. I am Very Accustomed to Leftist Mentalities and your Curve Ball Strategies, so bring it on.

Let me further reiterate that the BU posted my Article is “Because The Content Is Worthy”. I choose to stand for Truth and what is Right even if I stand alone. I am quite accustomed and do not fear you and your Collective Mentalities in the least.

You are correct when you say “We Is Serious Doo Doo”, your words not mine, yes I agree with you once again on this one, You Are So Full Of It!

As for your Intellectual Food, all I see is a Trough Of Conceit Spewed by a Fermenting Bile Of Retch! I will call you Doo Doo from here on in, you earned your name.

As for you Bigmama the same applies for you. “Two Peas in a Tainted Pod”!

7. Wow! Look June Naime swinging. Good stuff!

8. @ David,

She’s probably getting some advice from her corner man/woman in the boxing ring! LOL.

9. @ Pieceuhderockyeahright,

Yuh see why I does spend my time watching Fleur and other musical talents?

Dah red woman attackin and David laughing at you!

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JUNE
    EASE UP PUN PACHY MAMA
    YOU ALREADY GOT HE BALLS IN TOO TIGHT A GRIP
    HE ALREADY HAS A TWISTED BRAIN & BETZPAENIA
    YOU GWINE GIVE HE TORSION NOW WITH SUBSEQUENT TESTICULAR ATROPHY?

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PACHY MAMA
    HAVE YOU PAID UP THE CHILE MONEY YET………..FOR THE PICKNEY YOU GET NAMED WRONGLY FOR?
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/81445/maintenance-funds-collected-tuesday

12. @ David can you help June Naime who wrote “I have not see a provision here for submitting a link,”

left click, right click, copy, paste.

13. @ Georgie Porgie,

YOU WATCH THE TEST MATCH TODAY ? 2 TO 1 POSSIBLE IF NO MORE RAIN.

14. Wait! That is Bushie and the Dribbler QUARELLING?!! I thought I was the only one who used to do that! I know I wudda catch wuhnuh! To be fair Dribbler, you did attack Bushie first.

Ha ha, and Pieces like he meet he own Huckleberry!

Murdah!

15. Socialise the poverty and misery but privatize the stolen wealth.

16. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

“Even Jeff Cumberbatch has struggled in this arena”.

Precisely how, Mr Exclaimer? Is does not take great intellect to disagree or to tear down!

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hants May 20, 2016 at 7:57 PM #
    @ Georgie Porgie,

YOU WATCH THE TEST MATCH TODAY ? 2 TO 1 POSSIBLE IF NO MORE RAIN.

no i did not
    its not on willow
    i dont tend to watch if england is winning
    i love to watch them lose and here the ex cricketers groan and moan

18. @ Jeff
    Is does not take great intellect to disagree or to tear down!
    It does not take ANY intellect to disagree or to tear down nonsense.
    Anyone can see when a tree is not bearing fruit…. except apparently the roots, stems and leaves….and as a great bushman once said, …

“A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit. Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. So then, by their fruit you will recognise them”

What takes great intellect is the cultivation of ‘good trees’.

19. @ Donna, lord you are being naughty lololol, she’ll be my huckleberry hahahaha.

@ BigMama Naime.

I prefer Foo Foo.

Doo Doo has a certain sexual connotation and ammmm since I am into the “smaller model vehicles” I must unfortunately decline.

Article 1.

Let me start your edification.

You the poster DO NOT HAVE THE OPTION TO POST OR TRUNCATE AN ARTICLE HERE ON BU. ONLY THE BLOGMASTER HAS THAT OPTION!!

Dis is David King ting not yours and you were granted a “latitude” because it was your first post.

Article 2.

I reiterate that you are an insulting woman who, mayhaps because you accustomed talking to black people at your establishment in that BOGOLORD fashion, felt that you could come here and lord it over the BU audience.

Wrong effing answer,

You spewed shyt*e here in our ears that is an exact copy and paste of the article titled “http://www.bullshitexposed.com/scandinavian-socialism-debunked/”

After having shared about personal achievement and self actuation and all the other effing dribble you then went from introduction into plagiarism and that showed that Pachamama’s comment about you being an in intellectual wimp to be true.

Nothing that i write here is any effing body’s ideas Big Effing Mama, I am the author (rather the conduit) of these things short or long, that is my effing choice

You are a fraud not only for the above reasons of cut and effing paste but because when you could not get your way with your dribble you then went the route of personal insult and asked if Pachamama had an effing job!!

Yet you came in sheeps clothing rather in the clothing of a sand nigger, talking to real nigggers seeking a fvckvng pass.

DAT SHY*E DUN.

any idiot of which you seem to lead the pack BigMama, can cut and paste and AC, of legion fame does not do it, and she is an idiot supreme for 25ths of the embodiment of Legion, so you, WILL NOT GET A PASS.

Article 3.

Jeff Cumberbatch is a brilliant man AND WHEN HE FIRST CAME he was given a baptism of fire which I recall almost caused him to retract his national service here.

Georgie Porgie erroneously focused on this matter as it being consistent with sharing your Sand Nigger background, but he was wrong and will see now why he was wrong because after 2,702 words that the blogmaster allowed you you enhanced it with dribble.

You are a dufus who, after so called sharing, sought to insult the BU community with other peoples ideas AND when it was time to revert to your own utilized the only way that you know personal denigration of the niggers who can talk back to your elitist crap.

Finally, the tainted pod of which you speak is “the Castle of my Skin, and that is an insult of the highest order to the “collective Mentalities” that you speak of.

I dun wid dis Bigmama shyte and with you.

20. Piece you got nerve to be offended by how and what people subcribe on BU after all that political cartoon crap you put here .why even bother to be an insulting ole goat.anything that should be cut is your a.sss and pasted on a urinal

21. Still love you AC

GOD BLESS YOUR SIMPLETON SOUL

http://imgur.com/t3P9lgW

22. Piece did you march were you one of the few simpletons that march behind the pied piper. God bless your soul .all for naught

23. Why are some of you distracted by appears brain who is not even on the ground to know what is happening. The concern by the public stopped Cahill?, the solid waste tax?, possibly the 10% restore?. There is a place for citizen protest in our democracy. Look at how the Vincentians hav out of run on RBC in St Vincent. People power!

24. @ AC

No my dear de ole man did not march, but thank you for asking.

My “march” is in cyberspace with the “stupid cartoons” of the grandson

And as you have undoubtedly been seeing my count is up considerably

Just in case you wonder about the extent of my statistics I have 45,000 views in my cyberspace marches.

That number is probably equal to, or severely exceeded by, your own count of “dislikes” on this blog.

As i have shared with your AC before this, the impact of the campaign against you and your ilk is NOT TO be measured in people in white shirts marching along Broad Street to Browne’s Beach.

Those are skirmishes.

Where you need to see the impact of the “stupid” cartoons is in the bye ways and trenches and at the ballot box.

Then speak to me of stupid ok?

25. I may have complimented David more than once, so he is probably asking himself “what does this man want?” The answer is “nothing”.

Just surprised at the diversity of folks and ideas that you have attracted to BU. Hoping you can continue in this direction and with greater strength. Your “All are Welcome” sign is working well.

26. @The Gazer

Thank you, we have swallowed hook line and sinker into Bush Tea’s cooperative principles 👍🏿

@Piece

June passed the test ease up man!

27. On a lighter note…
    I think PUDRYR may have grossly underestimated the number of thumbs-down given by ac.

28. I probably lack the tools to dismantle these 5 trutsh that are being spread through the blogosphere, but they strike me as nothing more than right wing lunacy being peddled as commonsense.

You cannot legislate the poor into prosperity by legislating the wealthy out of prosperity
    —- Pray tell me, who is legislating the wealthy out of prosperity? The real truth is that the rich are getting richer as a select few manage to get their hand on a greater share of the wealth; the middle class is shrinking . This is the real truth in capitalist and socialist paradises.
    Are you talking about welfare? Corporate welfare probably consumes more wealth than the paltry sum handed out to those in need.

What another person receives without working for, another person must work for without receiving.
    – I don’t know what this means; but as I peruse the various blogs on BU it seems as if the rich are getting the bulk of the cake by networking. Is networking considered as work?
    And some are working their ass off and being underpaid as a fortunate few reap the benefit (not of their own work but) of their capital. We do not envy them this, but let us not confuse having capital as working tirelessly.

The Government cannot give anybody anything that the Government does not first Take from somebody else.
    ——- The rich probably gets more out of government than the poor does. It is easy to point at at an individual and say “the government just gave him a a check”. It is much more difficult to identify corporate welfare. 2006 – “The final totals are $59 billion, 3 percent of the total federal budget, for regular welfare and $92 billion, 5 percent of the total federal budget, for corporations. So, the government spends roughly 50% more on corporate welfare than it does on these particular public assistance programs.”
    http://thinkbynumbers.org/government-spending/corporate-welfare/corporate-vs-social-welfare/

You cannot Multiply Wealth by Dividing it.
    — Can you multiply wealth by concentrating it in the hands of just the rich? Silly, what you are doing is increasing (spreading) poverty.

When half of the people Do Not Have To Work because the other half is Going To Take Care Of Them; and the other half gets the idea that it does no good to work because somebody else is going to get what he worked for, That is The Beginning and The End of A Nation.
    ——Sounds good, but what on earth does it mean? The premise is false. The statistics is false. It sounds good saying it, but it is false. Let’s keep it real. I doubt that there is anywhere on earth where half of the people do not have to work.

Like I said.. I probably lack the tools to properly refute these truths, but they are nothing more than right wing nonsense. This seem to be the mantra of a selfish rich people trying to get more of the cake by explaining why others should get less or none of it.

I enjoyed your personal story

29. Let me state that I admired and enjoyed your personal story, but when you wander off that reservation your writing is serious flawed.

Perhaps it is because your personal struggle lacked the depth of poverty that others have experience that you are unable to differentiate between truth and fiction. A light complexion in Barbados can often open doors that are closed in the face of a black man with money.

“As to the poor: Free Enterprise (Capitalism) leaves each individual free to think, work, and make as much money as he is willing and able to earn. No other social system on earth does this. In a capitalist society, if a poor person wants to work his way out of poverty—as countless poor people have done—he is fully free to do so. Of course, if he doesn’t want to, he doesn’t have to; the choice is his to make, and no one can force him one way or the other….”

Sounds good, but it is almost utter nonsense. We do not live in a vacuum. We live in a real world where others conspire to deny other their rights or even their lives., You may be willing to work hard, but getting a job may not be that easy. You may have ideas for enterprise, but you may lack the seed money to start that enterprise. Regardless of how hard some work or how much they want to earn, for them, the goal will not be reached. In an ideal world, things would work as you see them; brought up in a world where skin can open more doors than money can in the hands of others, you will see things your way;; the fate of each man would be in his own hands.

Sadly, it is a vicious and complicated world that we live in. Sometimes words have to be more than just words.

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

YOU MIGHT GET MARRIED TO A FOOLISH BITCH!

31. Who really cares about thumbs up and thumbs down here on BU neither can match the thumbs up of approval twice given to govt at the ballot twice box and just for the record on both occasions to be on the winning side

32. Madam June Naime stated yesterday evening “………….Let me further reiterate that BU posted my Article “Because The Content Is Worthy”. REALLY!

David, did you vet the above writer’s column prior to publishing it? In your opinion, June “passed the test”. If so I would be fascinated to know why you have decided to publish June’s article. Frankly, I found it to be highly subjective and incendiary. Her portrayal of capitalism and socialism were so extreme that it did not merit discussion. Secondly, it was clear to me that the writer was aiming a broadside at Barbados Negro population.

Are you so desperate Mr Blog master that you are prepared to dumb down BU editorial policy by entertaining such an individual? There are many on this blog who bristled at the content of Madam Naime’s article. Some would interpret her words as that of a racist.

There is a good reason why many have refused to pass comment on this article. Like me they have no desire to engage with this woman.

David, if you want to see a well written and an objective article on capitalism may I suggest that you read the link below.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/article-3601896/PETER-OBORNE-fear-one-greatest-scandals-recent-times.html

33. @Exclaimer

We all have a story to tell. Do you have the capacity to be tolerant of differing views to yours?

34. David is the Capo di tutt’i capi of Barbados Underground.

He allows all and sundry to write whatever they like with extreme tolerance and the bare minimum of censorship.

Nuff said……but but but before I forget.

He post tings that are really important like de Nik West video that mek me go on youtube and listen to her music which was awesome although my numero uno is still Fleur East.

35. @ac
    I am not commenting on the number of thumbs-down that you get but rather on the number that you gave. I suspect that you may have even given yourself a few.

36. Tolerant of a half-Arab; born, bred and residing in Barbados, who takes pleasure in mocking my Negro brothers and sisters? With respect Sir, Not me!

37. @Exclaimer

Please point to the mocking.

38. Exclaimer

Sure right! Some people have the patience to deal with this submission. Me? I didn’t know where to begin so I left it right there.

Surely you recognize Mrs. Naime’s popular theme song of “Stop your whining and get on with it, nigger!”

Gazer,

Spot on about the over- simplifying of the capitalist and socialist systems. Also total disregard shown to the way colour affects the opportunities open to people. The idea of a level playing field is preposterous. The level of this submission reminds me of Grenville’s school project.

39. @Donna

Isn’t her message the same as others on this blog who are Black?

40. Yeah! The house niggers.

41. David,

Seriously speaking I do believe we have the capacity to move forward. But not as individuals though a few may beat the odds. Somehow, someway we have to understand that we can’t beat this system alone. That understanding can only come when we appreciate the magnitude of the inequalities stacked against us. We mustn’t pretend they don’t exist. But we mustn’t get stuck in the mire of our complaints. Yes, there is hope if we really want it but yes, there is a humongous obstacle to be overcome.

42. LOL @ Exclaimer & Donna
    It is not mocking.
    Clearly you two have not yet brought into Bushie’s theory of ‘albino-centric’ orientation.

If you had, you would better understand that people like Money Brain, Lawson, John and June are GENUINE in their inability to comprehend how we blacks can sit back on such talent and remain poor as shiite.
    They HONESTLY mean well when they express indignation at our general failure (with VERY FEW exceptions) to take advantage of quite ideal circumstances to accumulate wealth.

We would do well to listen … for many reasons.

Here is the theory in a nutshell…
    Some people in this world are born (and nurtured) with a natural capitalistic predisposition to accumulate wealth at any cost. This motivation drives their very existence.

Black People are generally lacking that specific level of drive. Our genetic orientation, and traditional nurturing have been around the goodwill of the family, the village, and the tribe.

In the clash of the two cultures, it was (probably naturally) the capitalists who won the arms race …and subsequently dominated and controlled the global agenda that defines ‘success’.

Blacks (as is the wont of empty vessels of the brazen brand) have internalised the ‘albino-centric’ philosophy … and we have failed badly at it …for now-obvious reasons.

It is like going into a battle of global cultures and choosing to use the weapons with which the enemy have practiced all their lives – rather than refining and honing OUR natural weapons of battle….. and seriously expecting to win….

Our BU friends are NOT mocking. They just cannot comprehend how anyone can prefer to ‘party’ and ‘fete’ with family and friends and ‘show-off’ to gain status within the tribe – rather than ‘scrunt’, save and accumulate money in the bank …and power of control over others via companies and businesses…..

43. The problem BT is every time one of you lemmings sticks its head up and grabs for the brass ring all the people who would rather party and fete treat them as a pariah. They all of a sudden, morph into more of a white man than sticking with the tried and true methods of the tribe …not liking to work wed. because it screws up both weekends. I can remember hearing nasty thinks said about RiRi because of her success years ago. Success is a group endeavour and until you stop treating your women as 50 ft of intestines with lips at both ends you will never really get your act together down there.

44. …and YOUR problem Lawson, it that you have no idea of what is the REAL “act that needs to be got together”.

You PRESUME that it is the accumulation of wealth and power.
    THEY presume that it is having a ball and waiting for handouts…

As is the case with ALL religions, Everyone is wrong, while judging everyone else by their flawed standards. The resulting (and growing) chaos around us confirms Bushie’s diagnosis….

45. I read the post and somewhat agrees with the writer. Some Barbadians are spoilt because they were socialized to expect freeness at every turn and they do not trust each other. They do not want to get up and earn a living. As I walk around St. Michael on early mornings, all I can hear are people with foreign accents on the way to work or on the job.
    Talking about having their priorities wrong is an understatement. The Saturday Sun has a story which said that all of the makeup artists are fully book for the remainder of the year. They will make up their faces for all events but complain that they could not get free paracetamol tablets at the hospital although they are sold cheaply at pharmacies. Kadooment band sections are selling out from $450 US and up on the first day while those different races are investing and looking to make money.
    Where are the suffering people of Barbados? I know what the reply would be.

46. You are probably right that they mean well but they need to understand that they have not had our experience and therefore cannot judge. What riles me up is the somewhat condescending manner in which they tend to ignore our experience and minimize its damage to our psyche. The ‘albinos’ have done a number on us and they have done it well. Some of us are thinkers and have unraveled their web of lies whilst others are not as able to grasp the concepts and so rather than “hurt their heads” become escape artists. We must help them along even as they frustrate us. These things take time and a lot of patience.

You are also correct about our communal instinct. I personally can attest to that longing within my soul. I haven’t bought into the Eurocentric idea of success and cannot really imagine what anyone would want with all that money other than to share with those of us in need.

I agree with your submission. It is most succinctly and clearly put and sums it up quite nicely.