Submitted by Brian Frederick
Royal Barbados Police Force under the spotlight

WE see quite often soldiers out with police officers on patrol sometimes in Police vehicles or BDF vehicles.   One has to assume that the soldiers have a legal support role with the Police.   One also has to assume that as a former squadie the BDF soldiers are trained in counter insurgency, security and defence.   One also assumes that we have trained marksmen and that the BDF has night vision glasses.

So my suggestion is that the BDF carries out some night exercises which would include camouflaged  snipers with night vision glasses and rifles suitable for tranquilizer darts and radio communications to a police officer a mile or so away .   The  snipers could lie hidden in soon to be harvested crops likely to be targeted by thieves.    The thieves would be shot with the darts and rendered unconscious until the police arrive to arrest them.

WE shoot wild animals to save them with the same darts  with no ill effects.    The thief may have a puncture wound which is better than dead but at best he/she was trespassing and worst  they would steal something that has taken time and  care and ready for market.    Net result, practice for the BDF, arrest of the thief and jail or fine, crop saved and immediate reduction in further thefts due to the uncertainty of who is lying in wait in the darkness  and ready to shoot.

23 responses to “Solution for Praedial Larceny Minister Estwick”

1. how come there are no comments yet this is a serious issue that affects the financial stability of farmers, but this i would like to know how will all of the suggestions articulated in the article be financially feasible or maintained

2. Good plan…but
    Cannot work.

So what would happen when they go and catch “somebody’s” wife’s cousin …or “somebody’s” Lodge brother…. or some politician’s esteemed friend…?

The very basis of ‘law and order’ in Barbados revolves around having systems that ensure that no white people; no Lodge members; no friends (esteemed or otherwise) of politicians, of Lawyers, of policemen, or of ‘big-ups’ in society ….can be guilty of any shiite…

Nah boy!…. you can’t just CATCH criminals red-handed just so….. you is a idjut?!!
    What then would be the excuse to delay trials for 10 years..?
    How could excuses be found for ‘bail’ like Wilkinson? …and then for mysteriously ‘dropped’ charges?
    Did you not see the ‘problems’ caused to the system when that policemen shot that father dead and injured his son in broad daylight….for chasing a thief…?

This is Barbados Boss…. anybody that the police want to catch …can be caught in a few days max….THAT is not the problem…. The problem is our need to have the opportunity to ‘go easy’ on friends, family and untouchables as determined by dark forces…

It is not just the crooked speaker and the esteemed thief Parris that enjoy high level protection…. the ‘family’ of simple policemen are able to benefit from ‘lost files’, incorrect charges being laid, missing evidence, and even from witness harassment… by the ‘authorities’ no less…

You need to understand the underlying brass bowl ‘culture’ in order to to appreciate why not one shiite works bout here anymore….

3. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Minister Estwick has already indicated by his action the ultimate solution to praedial larceny. KILL AGRICULTURE ALL TOGETHER.
    But before we start shooting darts, we must ensure that there is adequate legislation in place. I would hate as a lowly paid squadie to be sued for the government’s khaki shirt on my back.
    Some years ago an Attorney -General announced to the Barbaidian public that it was illegal for the police to set up random road blocks on the highway and search vehicles. We have never addressed this short coming, with the proper legislation, and vehicles are relatively free to traverse this country,especially at nights, probably carrying the spoils of praedial larceny, as well as an arsenal of firearms.
    Today in the Nation, we read that the police has no power to hold on to vehicles which have been caught on our roads without the required road tax, insurance cover or the appropriate license by the driver. The vehicle is released to the owner as long as he/she can show proof of ownership.
    Why involve members of the BDF in a simple police operation? On BU recently , we heard that the police force is in possession of Remington 700’s ,and M16’s , according to the men in Airy Hill,St Joseph, in a Nation story today. Let them do their own work, if need be.
    Neither the police nor the BDF are there to set up ambushes , or waylay crop thieves. The job of the police is to prevent crime ,not to watch it being committed and then shoot someone in the back side , dart or no dart. I am quite sure that you are also familiar with the need to shout a challenge to your intended target before firing,

4. Colonel Buggy Avatar

What ever became of those mostly red- skinned plantation watchmen, who were very skilled in stick licking,and a close relative of the pitbull. These watchmen were some of the best detectives Barbados had, they like Brian suggested, knew where on the plantation a crime, mostly the theft of canes, was most likely to be committed,and sat in the middle of the cane field in their old hand -me -down black suit jacket,and as soon as a fellow finished cutting a Frozen Joy cane , he would feel the watchman’s hand on his shoulder. This was preferable , than feeling the ball bearing end of his gauva stick on your skull.
    The more clever of these watchmen, facilitated praedial larceny.

5. @ Colonel B
    Neither the police nor the BDF are there to set up ambushes , or waylay crop thieves.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …and why not?
    What if it is the best way to deal with a situation?

You are using the exact argument that he idiot King made when he stopped the highly effective practice of setting up checkpoints (ambushes) and doing routine vehicle checks.

If we were SERIOUSLY interested in combatting crime …. and if we were not hamstrung by these idiotic, low-intellect, lawyer-types, then all these options would be on the table in our attempts to rout crime….

Instead, we twiddle with shiite laws while Rome burns…..

6. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Without a market praedial larcency would surely come to an end. We have always concentrated on the production fields, perhaps we need to change our strategy and focus on the following end users/retailers , Supermarkets, regardless if they are locally owned , Trinidad or United States owned. All markets and wayside vendors all across Barbados, including coconut and peeled cane sellers.
    Two weeks ago a small farmer lost two cows and a sheep to thieves who butchered them ,most skillfully on the spot. Do you know that that special Sunday dinner you had at a that upscale restaurant, might have ,wittingly or unwittingly , included some of that stolen beef and mutton? Or that Saturday morning meat bargain in one of the markets , might have been the spoils of that theft.
    Daily I see a vendor set up a stall in the village. This vendor has not one square inch of land, owned or rented. But his stall is well stacked with the spoils of his raids on people’s property during the night ,and sometimes in broad daylight. The police past by him multiple times each day,without challenge . And he has customers, who could not care less where his goods originate from, as long as they get what they want.

7. Surely the business as usual approach is not working and commonsense dictates other more disruptive approaches must be used.

8. Going after the unlicensed illegal vendors would bring out the naysayers of talk about stopping a poor man from making a living
    the farmers needs to be more proactive collectively having an organization where they can pooled some of their finances to buy security equipment or hire security guards the idea that taxpayers money should be a place of first resort is unsustainable
    Personally i would invest monies in electronic fencing and a couple pit bulls

9. @ The Blogmaster

Yes “disruptive” yes but, as the Colonel said, deleterious no.

You can imagine if the subject in the cross hairs at the time of the shot, tripped on a yam and fell and instead of getting the tranquilizer in his behind, gets the shot in an eye, or worse his ***is, and that part of his anatomy, thusly anaesthetized, falls NEVER TO RISE AGAIN?

You know the lawsuit that Adriel Nitwit is going to be faced with when the praedial tief get Douglas trotman to desue de guvment??

Speaking about Douglas, you remember how DT (not the fatted calf fellow Trotman successfully defend the necrophiliac who was interfering with a corpse at the morgue at the QEH?

Imagine Doulas defending that man with the deleterious wound in court.

DT: “Your honour I wish to present my case to the jury and refute these spurious charges by DPP Charles Leacock”

Justice Marston Gibson: “Defend? Defend? how can you do that sir, your client was caught with a big pumpkin in his hands! The charges here are clear. The man was teifing”

DT: Your honour, respectfully sir the charges are wrong and spurious for, in actual fact my client was not tiefing the pumpkins, he was having sex with the pumpkin”

MG: “SEx with a pumpkin?”

Trottie “My clients are generally deviants and was in actual fact acting out a Cinderella related fantasy when this happened and … according to section III of the Legal Act of ’69 sir that is 1969 sir, lest the court think i am being salacious, yes according to that Rule “if a citizen be brught to court for one charge and it be proven that that charge is incorrect, then you have no choice but to dismiss these charges against my client, the pumpkin lover”

MG: Case Dismissed

@ Brian Fredricks

I feel that shooting them is too drastic (albeit worthy of serious consideration) but in addition to charging the receiver of goods like the Colonel says (it makes classic sense, somebody got to be receiving the goods) we need to do something about this matter

What you think about “Drones against Crop Bandits?”

Instead of shooting them you could still “shoot” them and once the laws changed you could present the evidence in court and show that Douglas’ defence was flaky.

A drone only has 45 minutes of life @ today, but some speakers round your field broadcasting that “kerpeller” sound blish to run way a teif whu you tink?

Finally, in addition to the usual punishment for the crime, de ole man feel dat making the man fork your beds for a good month from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. INCLUDING SUNDAYS, would be a good deterrent especially if GIS cud come and tek he picture pun a day and at 7.00 during de news, instead uh showing Fumbles we could show how far he get in he wuk.

Whu you tink?

10. @PUDRYR

A big challenge is that our farmers are small medium and large and financial circumstance therefore a one size fits all is not practical.

11. Citizens pay taxes on the understanding that LAW entities will deal with such criminality.

What are we saying now? ….that individuals have a responsibility to enforce the law in cases of praedial larceny? Perhaps we need to be chasing down speedsters, arresting loiterers and going after political bribe-takers too…

…OH WAIT …. perhaps THAT is what Mia is doing tomorrow!!!

Count Bushie in dat!!!

12. @Bush Tea

These are extraordinary times.

13. @ David
    These are extraordinary times.
    Boss, you don’t even know the half of it…..
    …and the REAL trouble ain’t even start yet…

14. Colonel Buggy Avatar

As previous experience in a certain British city has taught me , I would not be too eager to hand over an unconscious thief to the police, without receive a ‘Live Body Chit” from them ,at time of hand over.

15. Colonel Buggy Avatar

How one of the harshest regimes in the world, North Korea, deals with Crop theft.
    http://www.dailynk.com/english/read.php?cataId=nk01300&num=6936

16. Colonel Buggy Avatar

No electronics. No pit bulls. No poison darts. No snipers . No Drones. When our people are successful in any enterprise in Barbados, we Bajans usually cast them as Men who deal with the Devil. I know of one successful farmer who has been branded as such,and this has work to his advantage,as he has no trouble with crop thieves. They keep well clear of him, and the Devil.

17. well let me tell you something bro an electronic fence would keep them at bay fast . after a well placed warning explicitly stating the dangers that would accompany any individual that trespass on my property without permission you really believe that some clown would dare come close to my property
    So you might ask what are the repercussions for self if an incidence occurs which cause harm to an individual who did not take the warning seriously bro i can guarantee that there would be none as the culprit was giving full warning before trespassing and entered at their own risk
    Asking the govt to protect private property long term can be unconstitutional unless the owner has agreed to reimburse govt for full or any cost during the time of the protection’

18. Colonel Buggy Avatar

But at what costs! in Barbados your lawyer would end up owning the same property which you were , quite rightly, trying to protect.

19. I held back on commenting on this for a number of days. Firstly, there was a period when no one made any comments and I thought that the phrase that I found objectionable had the same effect on them.

‘WE shoot wild animals to save them with the same darts with no ill effects.”.

Cat food and neutering may be good for cats, but I suspect the author would refuse my offer for a free neutering and a year’s supply of cat food.

I am always queasy when some think that if it is good enough for animals that it is good enough for humans. And then they are those who like to consider some of us as animals.

20. And suddenly, I have a better understanding of bookworm’s comments on another post. I thought that bookworm was being petty, but I see we all have our triggers (and at times others may consider them as petty).

21. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Praedial Larcency or Robbing the cradle/nursery
    A woman , a vegetable farmer was charged for the theft of cucumber seeds, melons seeds, and hybrid cabbage seeds among others, from a popular hardware store.