Submitted by Heather Cole
Independence, 1966

We all know the story of what happened on November 30th 1966 in Barbados. The island became independent. The Union Jack, the flag of Great Britain was lowered and a Barbadian flag was raised as a symbol of national independence. However, some of the relics of colonialism were not folded up and tucked away like the British flag.

The Bible says that a man must leave an inheritance for his children’s children. Therefore whatever we store up in wealth is to be left for our grandchildren who are our second generation. The vast majority of Barbadians do not have enough for themselves to live comfortably on, far less have savings to set aside for their grandchildren. A generational inheritance is a blessing that allows young men and women to start their early adult life with less difficulty than their grandfathers. This inheritance could be used to pay for university tuition, build a house or even start a business. We have a generational inheritance problem in Barbados.

There was no inheritance to be left during slavery. At Emancipation, the British government compensated the planters for their loss. Nothing was given to the former slaves to start a new life. The British Government did not put any mechanisms in place for the economic, social and political development of the ex-slaves and they became second class citizens in their own country. However, a very small percentage of the black population, mainly the early entrepreneurs like the fishermen and blacksmiths were able to buy land which they were able to pass down to their children.

The harsh social and economic reality of the early 1900’s stalled the process of generational inheritance. The Moyne Commission recommended reforms to alleviate poverty after the Riots but did not address the lack of wealth or changes in government. It only pacified the people by recommending that they be allowed to vote. The Planter/Upper Class still owned the means of production and maintained a tight control over the legislature. This meant that the masses had no power to solve their economic, social or political problems.

It took an entire generation to witness change after the reforms that were recommended by the Moyne Commission. It came as Independence in most territories. What was meant to be freedom from outside control, freedom to make political decisions that were beneficial to the people, freedom to respond to the needs of the people, freedom to allow the people to acquire wealth, now appears to have been an illusion. All of the people should have benefitted economically from independence. The poor have not benefitted; indeed only a select few in Barbados have. One of its main goals should have been the creation of generational wealth for the masses.

The poor have not benefited politically from independence either. The Upper class still maintains control of the government. They now finance political campaigns and some of their funds are used to buy votes. Lack of governmental reform as a recommendation of the Moyne Commission has led to the creation of a self-servient Political Class in Barbados whose intent is to get rich serving the Upper Class while they pacifying the masses

Even Errol Walton Barrow, the father of Independence, great as he was has perhaps done to us the greatest disservice in the modern history of Barbados. Perhaps he thought that the conditions that led up to the riots of 1930’s era would never occur again. However hind sight is not foresight. He has lived and died not knowing of his greatest misgiving. It is that the Constitution of Barbados does not contain a single clause that allows for the empowerment of the masses if they were ever faced with the social, economic and political turmoil again that existed in the 1930’s. There is nothing in the Constitution that allows redress for ills when they are created by those that govern the people.

No thought was given to the meaning of the 1930’s riots that occurred only one generation earlier. There is no grandfather clause in the Constitution to protect the people. His independence did not create a government for the people or by the people; it was government of the people. It was as though our owners changed from the planter class to the political class. Even the role of the Governor General does not serve a meaningful purpose. That role should be one of a mediator between the ruling government and the people. At present the Governor can only take the side of the ruling government and is absolutely no help to the people. Had it been contained in the Constitution that the people can appeal to the Governor General with good cause that the government be removed, that position would be relevant today. The Constitution needs to be re written.

The tenure of this present government has exposed all that is wrong in Barbados. Political corruption, poor governance, lack of confidence in the political system, lack of justice, a floundering economy, continuous down-grades by international rating agencies, high inflation, high unemployment, , the escalating activity of trade unions fighting to preserve the rights of a dwindling labour force, rising crime levels, an increase in poverty, sub-standard levels of health care, an education system now in turmoil both at the tertiary and secondary levels and the inability of the masses to acquire wealth.

Realistically all the evidence that is before us supports the point of view that the Constitution created at Independence is flawed with more rights to the government than the people. The entire country is at risk of systemic failure which can lead to a total collapse because the ruling party has failed to meet its obligations socially, politically and economically and the people can do nothing about it except wait until their term is up or engage in protest action. There is no power of the people to recall.

The country needs change, revolutionary change. Almost two generations after Independence there is no generational wealth for the vast majority of Barbadians to pass down. Yet the present government is bent on securing generational wealth only for their children’s children. Why else would they be seeking to restore a 10% salary increase at this time when they have already fattened their pockets and the treasury is bare?

In the final analysis the two biggest failures of independence are staring us right in our face. It has not created wealth for the masses; if it did no man or woman in Barbados would be inclined to sell their vote. It did not empower the people to have a voice in the decisions that affect this country. We no longer need masters, or to be allowed to speak with a vote once every five years. We can think for ourselves. The Internet has given us a collective voice to partner with government to seek solutions for Barbados. We as a people must come together to rewrite the wrongs and correct the errors and create a new Constitution that is of the people, by the people and for the people. Seventy Nine years after the 1937 Riots and fifty years after Independence we are challenged with the same problems. How can we be celebrating 50 years of failure? Since we now have the ability, it is high time we resolve the problems and not pass them on to the next generation; leaving them to wonder why this present generation did nothing to prevent the country’s demise.

233 responses to “Independence: A Blessing or a Curse?”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pedant…sometimes I do not have patience for stupity, both you and Jeff could have done the same research, found the same information, why do I have to make it easy for you…I read the whole damn article, you should do the same, it provides a lot of insight into how grandfather clauses can be used.

la prochaine fois ya essayer de remettre en question , faire de la recherche en profondeur d’abord.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pedantic…law makers are PAID, to intuit what constitutional legislation needs amending, grandfathering or what the taxpayer’s need amended to effect smooth governance, the public only get demanding when the lawmakers are not doing their jobs.

I am not going to spoon feed you, maybe you can ask Jeff to do so, he might have the patience….I would prefer just put you out of your misery…lol

3. Dribbler
    You will just say that you did not study law and revert to Jeff….. so why not just do so nuh…?

If you write a new constitutional law that defines the criteria for local land ownership; and you intend to allow a specific set of persons who will not, in future, meet those criteria, then the easiest and best ‘amendment’ is a grandfather clause as suggested.

Trying to write something that only applies to ‘new entrants after the said date and not affect those who had been legally entitled before that.” would be as clumsy as that sounds….
    …although that is exactly what the likes of Hal would do – so that it sounds complex and convoluted …and open to various interpretations…

You probably do not even see that the creation of a new class called ‘approved aliens’ is the first step in a fair but discriminatory taxation scheme designed to make the same grandfather clause redundant….. do you?

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Of course as we can clearly see the lawmakers in Barbados are of the variety who are incapable ofnseeing beyond the next title, status or big salary and as the Bushman said would drag their asses on eveything for the next 3 decades just aiming to live long enough to collect that big pension.

The lawmakers are unable to intuit the necessay changes and amendments to constitutional legislation required in any democracy to drive a country forward…they are too self-absorbed for that level of intelligence.

The population, being programmed to believe their trust lies in what lawmakers and politicians do because they think they know best, are incapable of demanding the necessary changes to the legislation…they do not know what to demand, because they do not know that they do not know….and that is what the lawyers on the island depend on to continue their decades old rotating sloth…while pimping for reelection, status and titles.

Hal is a useless jackass for a lawyer, he could not sit in any congress or senate outside of Barbados without being thrown out on his ass, he is just like all the useless politicians on the island.

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Bushie come on bro, you can’t misinterpret my remarks that badly to get to your thesis @ 7:25 (Jeff has stepped off so I am left to parse my own way here).

I am not ‘arguing’ with you on the fundamental soundness of your amendment rather I am agreeing that in amending the ownership of lands by foreigners as at Dec 1 it does nothing more than many other amended laws do.

Every amendment of a law MUST create a situation where there is a pre and post status. Either all classes of citizens are governed by the new law regardless of status or there is a situation where there is a class governed by the old law and another by the new law. There is ABSOLUTELY nothing strange about that.

So to reiterate your example does not create any special circumstance to justify a deep discussion of its classification as a grandfather clause (my DISTINCTION).

— ** A new law creates a tipping fee for all deposits at landfill. Everyone, commercial or private now pays the fee. The law also stipulates that all Not-for profit groups doing community service garbage cleanup will continue to deliver that garbage free of charges. That is also a simple grandfather clause. The concept is very straight forward.

Where it starts to get precise and ‘problematic’ is in the case where in the example above the law stipulated that specifically Not-for-profits created before Jan 1, 1990 will have all fees waived and all others after that will pay the fees.

I am not arguing whether your proposed amendment was effective or addressed all possible messy problems. I simply pointed out what would have made it truly a change to invoke discussion around its grandfather status.

These type issues are some of the reasons there are so many damn lawyers. People make lots of money in nickle & diming legislation and who and when it is effective.

So let’s move on. Enough of this.

@Well, well. You have put me out of my misery. Thanks. You also put yourself in a category of the one who cries ‘fire’ in the crowded room. Unintelligent noise….

How else to describe your remark to a Dean of a Law school that : “…sometimes I do not have patience for stupidity, … Jeff could have done the same research, found the same information…”

Telling ME that as you did is ok but you cut and paste irrelevant data which did NOT clarify the simple point and now also found time to question the legal knowledge and research ‘nous’ of said law Dean on a most BASIC aspect of law.

FIRE…..See folks rushing to the exit.

Incidentally the professor asked you and Heather a very simple series of question, at some point maybe you can enlighten him…I’ll just look on as I am too stupidee to discourse with your genius!

6. @ Dribbles
    So to reiterate your example does not create any special circumstance to justify a deep discussion of its classification as a grandfather clause (my DISTINCTION)
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    it creates a new class of person called the ‘approved alien’…. This class is ‘grandfathered’ wrt land ownership by locals…. which they are not.
    Are you sure that Jeff needs your help…?

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pedant…we are too smart to answer or entertain Jeff, unlike yourself, we understand the predicament in which Jeff has put himself.

Like I said, it’s easier to just put you out of your misery….lol

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I could show you a Dean from the Faculty of Harvard Law that can explain in great detail how a grandfather clause can be applied to amend or ratify changes to Barbados’ constitution…he would not be asking me what amendments to grandfather, he would be telling me, because he knows what to look for….constitutional law is not my speciality, he would know that and apply his speciality.

Did I mention that it’s easier to put you out of your misery. You at least did the electorate in Barbados and Canada a great service by not getting involved in politics or law..

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh lawd, Jeff needs MY help? But of course. I advised I had to struggle on my own sans the expert. Maybe you are a lawyer. I am not.

Again I do not dispute your assertion. You refuse to accept that in so much as your new class of citizen now exists that of necessity that was a specific function of the amendment and in that ‘narrow’ sense its nothing extra ordinary. Why would it be.

What would have been of impact – to repeat- is that class of citizen retaining the right to own land outright for any new purchases THEY made. In effect retaining their prior status despite the change of law. That sir is where the grand father bassa-bassa would be.

Education is an interesting thing and parsing the English language to monetary benefit is why lawyers abound!!!

I am not one so you get the right of being absolutely right here.

10. David,
    You mean re-introduce Civics at school. When I was at Combermere, we were taught Civics in the second or third forms taught by none other than Sammie Tudor. I agree it is necessary in today’s Barbados. They should also be taught about the Judicial system and how it is supposed to function.

11. @Hants May 17, 2016 at 12:07 PM #
    “Heather Cole is a good writer.”
    Thank you.

@ Peter Lawrence Thompson May 17, 2016 at 6:33 PM #
    Although the grandfather clause has its origins in the past, it is used to protect present and future social business and political undertakings. It the banking industry they are used to offset risk.

@ de pedantic Dribbler May 17, 2016 at 8:45 PM #
    “Your conviction to right wrongs is applauded Well Well but to what benefit is offering impractical and impossible to achieve fluff. How would a constitutional amendment to allow for the redistribution of wealth be done?
    That is a fundamental absurdity.”
    An exercise of re writing the present will prove you right or wrong. Let us find out what can be created.

@Alvin Cummins May 17, 2016 at 9:56 PM #
    This is the year 2016. So many things have changed in the world since 1998. Even the two tablets that God gave to Moses were destroyed and they were set in stone. Why can’t a Constitution that does not embody the Commandments be changed?

@ chad99999 May 17, 2016 at 11:10 PM #

“For nearly all of its life as an independent nation Barbados has been governed by lawyers.There are now too many of them on the island, and most have developed an attitude of entitlement, which is to say they confidently assume that their training has equipped them to guide the decisions of state, especially if they are constitutional lawyers. Every problem facing the country is analyzed as if the best solution is some adjustment to the laws of the land. That is all they know how to do.
    That kind of thinking may make sense for an advanced society like the UK, but not necessarily for a backward developing country like Barbados. The narrow training of a lawyer, who usually has no deep understanding of the technical literatures of the sciences and engineering, no ability to read and understand research papers in economics, no training in the business disciplines – finance, accounting, management, and marketing – means that we are stuck with ruling elites who are proud and sure of themselves, but have little know-how. They are utterly incompetent at providing the practical leadership a place like Barbados needs.
    Stop tinkering with the laws of the land. That won’t solve our problems.”

I was with you till you wrote the last sentence. Some laws need to be removed from the statute books of Barbados , others amended and new ones created.

12. @ Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. May 18, 2016 at 6:55 AM #
    “ BDS Gov’t is the largest land-owner in BIM, those properties belong to the majority black population.
    In addition to those lands, BAMC, a statutory corporation, controls through long-term lease a further 40% of privately owned agricultural land that was indebted beyond its value in 1992, also controlled by proxy by the mostly black taxpayers in Bim.
    Further, there are over 3,000 more acres of agriculture land in St. John owned by CLICO. If Fumble gets his way and bails out his friend Leroy the taxpayers will also own that.
    Further to that, BAMC worked out a system for leasing privately owned agriculture land for $200 per acre so just about every inch of the remaining agriculture land in BIM is available for lease to the entrepreneurial spirits among our population at prices less than the interest rates on mortgage payments, never mind the principal.

So, once again, the issue isn’t one of land or opportunity, working in agriculture has been demonised by every leader we’ve had since independence. What you really need to strive for is the entitlement created by two generations of socialism. What you really mean to say is that you would like to sell the land and put the money in the bank accounts of Bajan citizens. That is an entirely different thing.”

How did Government become the biggest land owner or even an owner of plantations in Barbados?

@ David May 18, 2016 at 11:49 AM #

“A country of nearly 1000 lawyers should make it easier to test many of the challenges we are experiencing in court. The outcomes from those challenges would inform advocacy for change to the Constitution.”

1000 and none of them would take Violet Beckles’s case?

13. “Heather

There are several sides to a story.

On Sun, May 22, 2016 at 11:04 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Heather…..Governments do have powers under eminent domain worldwide, to acquire land for purposes of certain developments, roads etc…I dont know if it’s just called land acquisition in Barbados, but from what I understand, from back in the 60s, governments, bot, have been using those powers to pick up people’s land, dont pay them a cent for it and have built up quite a land bank to sell to the highest bidders…preferably white and non bajan…..the description of that criminal act escapes me.

There was a case in the newspapers some time ago, where the landowner died while waiting to be compensated for his property, 20 years later, his beneficiaries were still fighting the government to get paid.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I would never hold my breath that there would be positive constitutional changes in Barbados any time soon….it will have to be forced on the politicians, in doing so, it would more than likely be the wrong changes, which they will deserve, it’s the innocent people who would pay, unfortunately.

That’s why I tell my family to stay clear, there are people who can see where all of this is headed.

16. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Well Well & Consequences May 22, 2016 at 7:25 PM #
    There was a case in the newspapers some time ago, where the landowner died while waiting to be compensated for his property, 20 years later, his beneficiaries were still fighting the government to get paid.@@2

In some cases the person who died or even to leave in the will, at time never owned , just used it, Had someone at land tax to add their name to a land tax bill which they show for ownership , Land tax numbers are being transferred but no land is being conveyed , Like Leroy Paris , these government workers have been paid and so have deeds written and lodged by lawyer they help pulled titles for land as a payment, full face , bold face for most dont even know or heard and about the procedure of finding out who own what, Even then you cant trust who you send the search, They may find some thing you dont know about and hand it over to a lawyer, Still have to be vary care full to what you sign , Most lawyers in Bim thing because they work for you they feel the have FULL POWER OF ATTORNEY to do as they please , While banking your money and never paying at all , A client for Life to feed of like and in house Vampire,

17. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Further, there are over 3,000 more acres of agriculture land in St. John owned by CLICO. If Fumble gets his way and bails out his friend Leroy the taxpayers will also own that.???

BAMC, a statutory corporation,????@@@@@

Before moving forward All CLICO so called land will have to be checked for CLEAR TITLE , TO MAKE SURE ITS BELONG TO CLICO, , LEROY PARIS CANT NOT EVEN PROVE HE OWN WHAT HE SAY HE OWN IN COURT PAPERS?

BAMC ,??/ Another question for them also, prove you own it and dont bring long talk and tax bills, in dealing with land a clear title is first then a tax bill, even if the tax bill is right a deed is wrong you still wrong not the owner, The Deed is first and 2nd is the tax bill, tax bill dont not trump the deed.

This is why Barbados s stuck with the help of Mia the crook with her PM Owen ,He leave the BLP Party for he knows I am on him like white on rice they way he likes it, He must have told Mia to fix her mess my old Attorney General,

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Violet…ya hear I told ALL my family to stay clear of Barbados, do not buy any property on the island. I did so for a very good reason, no one knows who owns what property, nor do they care.

Many years ago I rented a house in St. James for a short time, the owners were elderly back in the early 90s, with younger relatives living in the US a couple years ago, I met a beach operator who asked me who owns the property, I told him as far as i know the older people had passed and their relatives live abroad, he allows me to know that he will go to land registry and do a search cause there were tourists who were always interested in buying the property and he will get it sold cause he would get a finders fee……I told him to carry on smartly.

I want nothing to do with properties in Barbados, I would buy property in the Yukon territories first.

The place is a trap, the lawyers, the ones who are known thieves, are disgusting.

19. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Well Well , We tell people dont buy nothing until maybe after the next elections, Who ever wins better deal with this mess,
    Lawyers think its a jokes and they have their own board game called “Land Fraud” even the board game “Monopoly” would go bankrupt using Barbados lawless rules ,just thinking of rolling the dice on a game like that might make my hand jump. The Brain knows its wrong and my hand knowing i am about to get into fraud from the start and yet these skinback lawyers will run to the table fast to get the money,Some will take the $1500 to start the game and never roll the dice,, never enter the game and charge you just for sitting at the table per hour,

20. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Independence: A Blessing or a Curse?

A Blessing for the lawyers, Ministers , and the whiteman

A Curse for the People

21. @VCB &WWC
    A client for Life to feed off like an in house Vampire,

The Deed is first and 2nd is the tax bill, tax bill dont not trump the deed.

Some will take the $1500 to start the game and never roll the dice,, never enter the game and charge you just for sitting at the table per hour,

You guys taking writing classes? Sheer poetry.

22. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

TheGazer May 23, 2016 at 7:16 PM #

I see your education comes from lies on blogging, When you do your own homework , then come back , check with others , or you will end up on the wrong side of truth, This is not a word game ,, This is Barbados in a mess that have to be cleaned up, By Law, By People that knows better stepping forward to help,

Do not get this twisted, Many people wake up different time , You are still a sleep.
    in other Nations their maybe a WAR or chopping of lawyers or the other ways done to crook lawyers as in TNT.

The Gazer , We hope no one is paying you to act like AC , If you own land in Barbados tell us how you became a land owner and what came first , the tax bill or the deed?

If you are in America or any other place on Earth tell us all what came first, What did you buy? and how,

23. Was meant as a compliment and not an attack.
    Genuinely, thought there were beautiful sentences.
    I will ignore the above ,, but the ac part… stings

24. Short bio
    << Not the huff and puff type
    << Take a delight in nice writing
    << Made myself a pledge to never exchange volleys
    << Family owned land in Barbados over 80 years
    << Bought home in USA

25. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Boy this post sure got cut fast,

26. […] months ago, I wrote an article entitled Independence: A Blessing or a Curse. The next week, it was my intent to write an article on how the banking sector fits into the […]

27. Independence should be a blessing one that free and removes obstruction a cleansing of the mind .
    Uprooting those devilish ties of commitments to any one putting self on a pathway of self determination.
    Those goals can be hard in achieving but nevertheless are highly achievable by first letting go of the past that bound and tie the hands and feet to servitude
    In the past fifty years barbados has wrestled and fought against all odds to be fully independent keeping one foot in the door of new found masters just in case we do not achieve those goals necessary for success a having the other foot dangling in the cross hairs of a tactical mechansim of survival incase our goals towards success flounders and fails with increasing talk of selling the family jewels
    The jury is still out on what and how much we have achieved and self owned in our fifty years .
    How much we self own is highly dependable on how hard we are willing to work and what sacrifices we are willing to forgo
    Hopefully in the next fifty years a newer generation will arise with a presence of mind to reinvigorate the EWB philosophy of having a mirror image of a barbados that looks and is identical with a cluture and its people a representation of a barbados that cannot be removed or erase from the hearts and soul of a people.
    A proud barbados a barbados that not only can punch above its weight but a barbados that can carry the weight of a country on its shoulder and still remain strong and proud in all that it has achieved
    God bless barbados

28. Independence was a blessing.
    The DLP is a damn curse.
    AC is a female rabbit.

29. So called Independence from the Mother County is a man made construct. What makes us feel pride in nationhood is defined by KPIS many Bajans are ignorant.

30. Is there anything on these baskets that you are thankful then you should celebrate

http://happythanksgivingday.us/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/Thanksgiving-2016-2.jpg

31. WOW B and D all celebrating

32. “My mother’s small island taught me what independence really means
    Gary Younge

Barbados is nearing its 50th anniversary as Britain, its former coloniser, enters uncharted waters. But what does independence mean in a globalised world?”

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/nov/26/mothers-small-island-independence-barbados-50

33. I have noticed you don’t monetize your blog, don’t waste your traffic,
    you can earn additional bucks every month because you’ve
    got hi quality content. If you want to know how to make extra $$$, search for: Ercannou’s essential tools best adsense alternative