The Nation Newspaper clipped the last sentence of Caswell’s column, here is the unedited version.

On Tuesday May 10, 2016 debate on the Opposition motion of no-confidence against the Government started in the House of Assembly. I must confess that I did not listen. However from reports in the media, except CBC, it is my understanding that the Leader of the Opposition, Mia Mottley, levelled a wide-ranging set of charges to justify her call for the removal of the Government.

She was on her feet for five hours outlining her case which in my view was overkill. To my mind, there was one allegation that if proven to be correct would more than justify the Government’s removal from office. She revealed that the Government proposed to increase the salaries and allowances paid to parliamentarians by ten percent.

The following day, I heard a news item on Starcom Network news quoting Minister Stephen Lashley as saying that they did not get an increase in salary. My first reaction, to those seemingly contradictory reports, was that they cannot both be telling the truth. At this stage, I was not prepared to allow anyone to prove anything to me. I had to find out for myself. I logged onto Parliament’s website only to find out that both were correct.

The website revealed that there are resolutions before the House of Assembly seeking approval of two orders made on April 15, 2016 by the Minister of Finance to change the salaries of parliamentarians. So far, Miss Mottley is truthful in this regard.

Section 5.(1) of the Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries (Remuneration and Allowances) Act, Chapter 8 of the Laws of Barbados, empowers the Minister of Finance to make an order to increase or decrease those salaries. Section 5.(2) states, among other things that the order is subject to affirmative resolution. That simply means that before the order can take effect it must be approved by both Houses of Parliament and assented to by the Governor-General.

In our system of governance, a member of Cabinet must support anything that the Government brings to the House or resign. So unless there are resignations from Cabinet in the offing, the thirteen members of the House who sit in Cabinet must vote “yes”. In order to defeat these resolutions both Mara Thompson and James Paul would have to vote with the members who do not support the Government. It can happen but that is hardly likely.

The next step in the process would be Senate approval. Government holds twelve of the twenty-one seats in the Senate. I therefore do not forsee a rebellion among Democratic Labour Party members in the Senate to defeat these resolutions.

Since the resolutions have not been approved in the House and Senate and assented to by the Governor-General, MPs would be unable to draw their new salaries. So in effect, Minister Lashley is also telling the truth.

Since 2013 Government has reduced its workforce by approximately 6,000. To date many of those workers have not seen one red cent in severance pay. In addition, Government has not seen it fit to even give vacation pay to former workers of Beautify Barbados. Mind you, if those workers were in the Private Sector, the Chief Labour Officer would have brought the employers before the court for failing to pay holiday pay. Incidentally, legal proceedings in such matters must be filed within a year of the holiday pay becoming due.

In light of all the suffering and deprivation that Government has inflicted on the most vulnerable in this society; How can they muster enough gall to even consider a proposal to increase the salaries of parliamentarians? This administration has deprived 6,000 public workers of 100% of their salaries and then made a token sacrifice of 10% of theirs. They are now seeking to reclaim the 10% that they lost. What about the 6,000 who went home? Does this Government even care?

127 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Does Government Even Care?”

1. This government is like the unjust Shylock. It must have it pound of the taxpayers flesh, bone, blood, skin, sinews and all.

http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/284400.html
    The pound of flesh which I demand of him Is deerely bought, ’tis mine, and I will haue it.

Pound of flesh:
    Something which is owed that is ruthlessly required to be paid back.

Origin:
    Derives from Shakespeare’s Merchant of Venice, 1596. The insistence by Shylock of the payment of Antonio’s flesh is the central plot device of the play:

Pound of flesh:
    The figurative use of the phrase to refer to any lawful but nevertheless unreasonable recompense and dates to the late 18th century.

2. Okay, Caswell, take a bow……… I cannot fault your analysis of Fumble.

3. @David May 15, 2016 at 8:16 AM “What does the Bible say about fornication as a lifestyle?”

It feels good, but in the long term it ain’t so good.

4. @William Skinner May 17, 2016 at 2:03 AM “I want to know if he (Arthur) considers Mia Mottley a national security risk…”

National security risk what.

Nobody care about that stuff anymore.

Except perhaps us, here isolated on this rock in the Atlantic.

If Owen really felt that Mia was a national security risk he would/could/should take his concerns to the Minister responsible for defense would/could/should he not?

5. If I felt that someone was a national security risk and I failed to report it would that not be treason?

6. I am absolutely certain that NONE of our honourable members are traitors.

7. @Bush Tea May 17, 2016 at 7:51 AM “Appointing a bunch of her pissy girls to head important Boards.”

I hate to point out to you that men are more likely to suffer urinary incontinence than women, hence much more likely that women to be pissy.

If you doubt me ask the medically objective Dr. GP.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“@ Braff and WW&C
    Owen does NOT owe us one shiite. He could simply have gone home and played with his grand children. It is up to us to look, listen, think and reason for ourselves. When we ignore such advice or kill a messenger, we are only fooling ourselves… and wunna know the saying about ‘hard ears yuh won’t hear…..”

Then Owen should keep hos skinny little ass out of the people’s parliament and stop collecting taxpayer’s money, since he is still keeping Mia’s secrets….which means he is still loyal to Mia, not the taxpayers,

9. Somebody needs to tell the accountant Kellman that a 10% cut of $350 per week hurts much, much more than a 10% cut of $10,000 per week.

The first cut means struggling to pay for clean drinking water.

The second cut means only being able to save $5,000 USD per month in your bank account in Miami.

I hope that Kellman understands now.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Simple…the restoration of the 10% cut is designed to guarantee a heftier pension, the cut itself is measley, but apparently the politicians only just realized that their pensions will be much lighter if they dont restore the 10%….so the greedy punks are rushing to restore it so they dont lose out on the big money to pay their doctors for heart attacks, strokes, cancer and all the other treatments they will need when their old asses start falling apart….never mind that they have not created any jobs to replace the ones of the people they laid off or that civil and public servants have not had a raise in nearly a decade…or that the roads on the island are so bad that people’s cars are dropping in holes and breaking their shocks……none of that concerns them…….Fruendel and Co are throwing a 7 million dollar party for the idiots and making sure their own pensions are secure….so there….lol

11. So the civil servants who haven’t had a raise for 8 years, won’t their pensions also be affected by stagnant wages?

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Caswell Franklyn May 17, 2016 at 5:50 PM #
    FUMBLE IS BATZPAENIC
    HE HAS A LACK OF FUNCTIONING BRAIN CELLS

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Simple…read Caswell post, the politicians were too busy thinking of when the 10% will be restored to think about how the cut would affect them to begin with, remember it was done under duress, but when they finally realised the effects, desperation set in…lol

Caswell Franklyn May 15, 2016 at 6:48 PM #

“All along I thought that Dennis Kellman was an honest politician but just a bit silly, well more than a bit. Now I have come to the conclusion that he is just another dishonest politician that is looking out for self interest, like most of his colleagues.

There was never any indication to the public that the cut would have been temporary. If it were so that fact would have been noted when the resolution to cut salaries was passed and the 10% would have been restored automatically, without the need to come back to the House. The real reason behind the increase is that they misread the legislation with respect to their pension entitlement. Civil servants’ pensions are based on the average of their salary over the last 36 months of their employment.

The politicians thought that the same applied to them and wanted to boost their average. According to their misinterpretation, ministers who served for three terms would gain approximately $800 per month every month for the rest of their lives. That was too much to give up in their estimation. That is why we are seeing this duplicitous behaviour coming from the DLP.

They didn’t realise that the base for calculating their pensions was different from that of civil servants. While civil servants’ pensions is based on the average of their salaries for the last three years of service, the pension for politicians is based on the highest salary they ever received over a three month period.”

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

So ya see Simple…at least 30 lawyers in the house of parliament and they all misinterpret the laws…that’s why they all say the constitution cannot be amended, they dont even understand the shit themselves…lol

15. “The two of you could REALLY hush with that stupid criticism of Arthur. Were it up to Bushie, for THAT advice alone, Owen should be knighted….. and even those of us who are now praying that she will kick the idiot Froon to the curb, KNOW that Arthur will be proved to be 100% right when she does”

As far as I am concerned bushie it is not a criticism but a simple request for Mr Arthur to come clean and prove to me that he was not misleading the public when he acclaimed her as the best thing since slice bread.

16. The point about the restoration at this time makes sound sense per the calculation of one’s pension which may even shed some light on the timing of the general election.

These varmints WILL NOT CALL IT BEFORE THE INDEPENDENCE CELEBRATIONS they are too vain for that, no siree but with some Kadooment in we as(h)es and Independence throbbing in we behinds and Xmas pun de horizon well I wud do a reduction in the VAT, restore a few niceties tuh de peeple and whaplax, it all ovah General Elections pun we

They cannot linger too long with Moody’s etc pun dem tails AND THE BLP GAINING TRACTION it ha to be soon

17. Bushie sometimes you do behave like Ac in trying to defend the indefensible. Some years ago i got warm licks in a DLP camp for disagreeing with DLP apologists probably in the know who were suggesting that Ms Mottley’s transfer from Attorney General to the Ministry of Economic affairs was a demotion which on second thought could be construed as accurate judging from those holding the post in recent times. Nevertheless Mr Arthur dismissed such suggestions in the press and revealed instead that he was preparing Ms Mottley for higher office. Well as fate would have it. the BLP lost the 2008 election and Ms Mottley became opposition leader when Mr Arthur relinquished the leadership. In the interim, Mr Arthur publicly questioned Ms Mottley’s leadership and her suitabilty through thinly veiled references to her lifestyle. in all of this Ms Mottley remained silent. Mr Arthur subsequently regained the ledership of the party with the help of a coup and led a divided party in the 2013 general elections this time losing by a narrow margin. During the campaign Mr Arthur again acclaimed the positive attributes of Ms Mottley to the electorate of Barbados and the world. If the positive things said about Ms Mottley by Mr arthur were lies do you not think the public has a right to know? Do you not think that Mr Arthur needs to clear the air on this seemingly conflict of utterances?

18. @ balance
    Please explain what ‘saying nice things about a person’ have to do with judgment about their suitability for absolute leadership.
    Could you possible want a nicer person than the dribbler? the fella is a gem….
    Would you elect him as a political leader…? …NAH…the fella is lukewarm…. 🙂 ha ha ha

19. @ Balance

This is not a difficult thing to understand.

(a) President Obama and Hilary Clinton fought a really rough battle for the Democrat nomination and once President Obama won, he gave Hilary a significant position, did he not, and not, as he demits office, he supports and will support another Democrat, probably Hilary.

Theirs is a common enemy the Republicans and consequently the face they put up to the world is one of solidarity, but make no bones about it Obama and Hilary ent busom buddies and what Hilary tried to do during their contention for that Oval Office would still rankle Obama.

(b) Owen has seen Mia come through the ranks and what he sees, AND KNOWS, rubs him the wrong way but, here is the thing.

To win a GE as a conjoint BLP he wisely endorsed Mottley irrespective of all his insights.

Expediency caused him to consort with the demon/despot/deviant or whatever we wish to call mottley BECAUSE OSA is a politician.

(c) Saying “I endorse one of the most popular of my politican colleagues in public DOES NOT MEAN THAT I LOVE HER!!

I have been privy to much as Prime Minister that I dont come on VOB or brass Tacks and air my mouth about.

When I say what evil things she got up to in every single ministry that I put her in, what is the best thing to do? demand her registration? as i have done on a few occasions? and risk alienating the people? and supporters of the BLP? or bring her ass close to mine and give her a useless ministry, or one where I have to sign the cheques in?

Then I go on the news and say whatever the shy*e i like about grooming her, because you and other sheeple are easily duped.

Mia did not win the LoE seat, Owen in a fit of despondency, gave it to her.

Now here we are in the shadow of the DLP, the most inept government this cuntry has ever seen.

Does the man expose his hand and let the DLP scvunts ef up his home forever? as is clearly playing out? or does he hope that the despot, appeased, by the seat, would stop her megalomaniac ways?

Damned if you do and damned if you don’t!!

This is what peeple like my ole ass pray for a Damascene Moment that moves mottley from that Me, Me, Mine, I psychology that would make her ravage her own Maria Agard, EVEN WITH THE VERY PRIZE OF PRIME MINISTERSHIP 2 years away.

Do you understand this now?

Why would you like piranha seek to devour your own blood?

And the answer comes back like Owen said, “Mia Mottley is a despot” but without a third party as a viable alternative, IN THE FACE OF THISES COLOSSAL BVHKVNTS, you choose the lesser of the two evils and keep quiet.

If there is one thing that can be said of Owen Seymour Arthur, is that he loves his country.

Had he been younger and in better health I believe that he would have fielded a third party and, contrary to all belief about third parties in Barbados, OSA would have won.

But then again, I does have dem “moments” that are not induced by the substance that Amused encourages me to use. And no this is not a contact high.

20. Balance a right to know what..? His mouthings was representative of the growing blp yardfowl support for Mia. In other words he was being a politician caught up in the euphoria of political speech of encouragement and felt comfortable saying all the right words the blp yardfowls wanted to here about Mia
    But being no longer goaded and guided by party politics he was free to speak the truth about Mia and her tenacity to do gawd awful things that does not represent and is contrary to the blp party practices and principles
    What Osa has said about her about her faults and failures has been so forceful that it has literally sent her on a high wire act of trying to reimage and rebrand herself under the guise of morality
    Well we shall wait and see how many bajans would buy that snow job.although i belive not many

21. @ AC

A broken clock is right but twice a day

22. Colonel Buggy Avatar

About six weeks ago we heard the Minister of Water Resources and his professional side kick squakeress, thumping their chests asking the people of the water scarce Scotland District, to hang on for two weeks or so and they will be rewarded with and abundance of water from the new found well at Sweet Bottom.
    Today, six weeks on, we heard an advisory of radio, that “due to its mains laying program the road along Coffee Gully in St Joseph will be close from May 18 until May the 24 ,” to facilitate the laying of that section of the main from, Sweet Bottom to Castle Grant.
    Does this Government and its ministers ,intend to fool all of the people all of the time?

23. “Bush Tea May 18, 2016 at 12:16 PM #

@ balance
    Please explain what ‘saying nice things about a person’ have to do with judgment about their suitability for absolute leadership.”
    You are indeed correct for it does say a lot about not only Mr Arthur’s judgment but credibility as well.

24. Bush Tea May 18, 2016 at 12:16 PM #

@ balance
    Please explain what ‘saying nice things about a person’ have to do with judgment about their suitability for absolute leadership.
    Piece you could only be joking in trying to link the two scenarios but for the record all those who dealt with Mr Arthur in public life ( His economic skills notwithstanding) regarded him as a despot.

25. Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make running a blog glance easy. The entire look of your website is excellent, let alone the content material!

26. You have got one of the better web sites.|