Posted by Sargeant
tony-cozier1
Tony Cozier

I haven’t listened to cricket on the radio in decades but the passing of Tony Cozier has stirred some long dormant memories.

I can’t remember when I first heard Cozier on the radio but my first memories of listening to cricket was the WI tour of Australia in 1960-61 when as a sapling I was able to stay up late at night to listen to Johnny Moyes in a colourful Aussie accent on ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corp.)

Later during the WI tour of England in 1963 we were treated to the dulcet tones of John Arlott whose descriptive commentary of Cricket as well as the surrounding countryside provided a picture as vivid as any contemporary movie scene.

Cozier came on the scene sometime after that tour and I recall his voice on the radio as one of our own and that voice although lacking the timbre of some of the other commentators was very informative. I also remember his reports in that other media- newspapers- I believe he came from a media family as his family was involved with the Daily News (now defunct) and I seem to recall a column by his father EL Cozier which appeared under the byline ELC. The immediacy of TV has diminished the importance of the radio voice but those of the generation which came of age in the 60’s remember radio as our connection to the outside world and we relied on the eloquence of the person behind the mike to fuel our imagination and Cozier fit the bill.

An innings well played.

282 responses to “Tony Cozier, the LEGEND”

1. MoneyBrain,

It had nothing to do with DNA. It was sheer force of numbers. The odds of finding eleven black boys who could play in Barbados would obviously be higher considering the demographics. This as also true in the West Indies versus Australia, England situation. There’s more of them than us. What happened before was an anomaly.

2. MoneyBrain,

You are falling into the same trap into which some black people fall. I never said white people can’t play cricket.

But do not try to fool me that it was not a blacks in whites out exodus. It happens in ALL sports in Barbados. They run to another sport. Don’t like hanging with us.

3. @ Money Brain,

“Third, many Whites appreciated that they had good prospects in terms of career so they invested time in becoming lawyers, businessmen etc instead as at that time Cricket did not pay well. Correct decision for them.”

Your above assessment is 100% correct. What a pity that their black contemporaries at the time did not have the same access to these very same privileges. Sadly, Barbados remains a country were potential remains shackled. We are all losers.

4. Sorry. That should have read – they don’t like being beaten by us.

5. @ Donna,

Don’t worry the day is coming when the negro will start playing polo. They will probably take the game to a higher level. It would be very interesting to see which other sport that they (Money Brain’s people) will run to. No doubt it will be another sport which has a high monetary entry level. Has it not always been thus?

6. Donna,
    I notice U did not dispute the Psychological battering that several black boys at HC, Lodge etc executed on Whites in the post Independence/ Black Power days.

It was justifiable given history BUT I never benefited from that history, only the payback.

That was an overwhelming majority situation too. Personally it was great for me because I was determined to WIN and did! It contributed to my success in life as it provided proof that no one could deter me when I decide to reach my objectives.

7. @ Money Brain,

It is a pity that you did not pursue your pace bowling skill sets at a professional level. By your description of yourself you probably would of made the the Windies first eleven team. You probably could have broken down a lot of those barriers that existed at the time. What a shame.

8. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

MB

A serious question….can you identify other former colonies with a mindset on pigment and its variations like some bajans on here?

9. Vinni

There can be NO doubt that some White Bajans were / are very racial and dominant in approach. This is probably due to the fact Bim is small and was over populated early on, hence those in control knew that there were few alternatives for black people (or poorer whites) to make a living. (NB Gwyneth Paltrow’s great grand mother, a Stoute, left Bim for the USA because of a lack of prospects, same was true for my eldest Aunt who went to USA in 1924, many other great Uncles/ Aunts too in early 1900s)

Bdos is therefore somewhat unique as a result of small size (where are U gin run to Cockpit Country in JA.), great success early on with Sugar/ rum, the fact it was always British, only had 2 racial groups versus more diversity in other islands, the darker people benefited from education earlier and education institutions were generally of a high standard etc. these factors created the very complex relationships that is Bim. Traditionally this all lead to Black Bajans being more subdued than those in other islands/ countries.

Certainly among Afro Cbeans the Bajans are very different. Jammies can be absolute nut jobs, although some are very good people.

10. @Exclaimer

Who said that my strength was in pace bowling???–I was a much better Off Spinner.

11. @Exclaimer wrote

It would be very interesting to see which other sport that they (Money Brain’s people) will run to.

MB’s people are Bajans! Yes, Bajans are clever enough to gravitate to higher pay.

Ex, there is no doubt in my mind that Black people have sporting ability BUT in terms of our sport , Cricket, there are people of various racial groups that have performed well. Sir Gary is obviously very mixed, Kallis is White, Imran Khan is brown Pakistani—-ALL excellent Cricketing All rounders. Go through every aspect of the game and Black people do NOT absolutely dominate historically. Closest would be Pace bowling where Windies has produced many of the greatest like Marshall, Garner, Holding etc however the other nations produced greats like Waseeem, Shoaib, Lillee/ Thompson, McGrath, Truman, Tyson,Stein.

So while I would never be surprised at the capability of Black people to produce great sportsmen in any sphere, I know of few sports besides Basket ball and Running, where other racial groups stand little chance. black people have the advantage in Basket Ball because black people can jump higher, more spring, which has been proven biometrically. Even in BB a few White fellas have been excellent like Larry Bird. Right now a whitey called DRAGIC is giving TO Raptors nuffty trouble, although I trust my brothers Lowry, Joseph et al will prove superior this afternoon. DeRosen has been it tad disappointing, although I have always believed he lacks the determination required and Coach Casey is really NOT awake with certain gents on the bench who should have more time Brazilian Nogueria and James Johnson. The Brazilian would add the option for higher passes versus the Heat without really tall players.

12. MoneyBrain May 15, 2016 at 11:00 AM #

@Exclaimer

Who said that my strength was in pace bowling???–I was a much better Off Spinner.

I can vouch fuh dat!!!

… one ball!!!

I was a pace bowler …. up to the other day a school friend (black) told me they could never understand how I got so fast!!

I was never let into the secret at school so I never knew how fast I was!!

I just bowled my heart out and enjoyed the game.

I never played competitively in Barbados but enjoyed my time at university in intra mural games.

Mostly, I just worked and walked about.

I can still make a few BU bloggers distinctly uncomfortable though!!

A different kind of pace!!

13. Vincent Haynes May 15, 2016 at 10:11 AM #

MB

A serious question….can you identify other former colonies with a mindset on pigment and its variations like some bajans on here?

Indians and Blacks in Guyana!!

14. Not only Guyana, Trinidad too!

Humans love to hate other humans, it is made easier by skin colour differences. In the UK historically they were class divisions, town/ regional differences.

15. Some of you can continue to post shite about the reality that is Barbados today. Whether it was Ship Inn, Harbour Lights Kendal and the others, White people will seek leisure in cliques (understandable?). They support the other’s business and create opportunities for the clan. When Blacks forge on their liming spots or seek opportunities like them they shift or block.

On Sun, May 15, 2016 at 3:39 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re David May 15, 2016 at 11:48 AM #
    Some of you can continue to post shite about the reality that is Barbados today. Whether it was Ship Inn, Harbour Lights Kendal and the others, White people will seek leisure in cliques (understandable?). They support the other’s business and create opportunities for the clan. When Blacks forge on their liming spots or seek opportunities like them they shift or block.

I AGREE WITH YOU DAVID–100%
    I CAN NOT UNDERSTAND WHY BLACKS WOULD WANT TO GRAVITATE TO PLACES OR PEOPLE WHO DONT WANT THEM TO BE AROUNDTHEM

17. @GP

It must be a complex thing rooted in how we are being socialized. We are a 90% Black country for crissakes.

18. @ GP
    Vincent grew up snooping around plantations in the 70’s and 80’s. You have to understand his perspective… (pity it…. but understand it)… It would have been fostered by those like John….

When he now has to depend on Money B to explain to him that “There can be NO doubt that some White Bajans were / are very racial and dominant in approach….” then we understand the dilemma faced by those blacks who were ‘given keys to hold’….

…and when Money B says that, … you done know that what he REALLY means to say is that “..there can be NO doubt that MOST White Bajans were / are very racial and dominant in approach…..” 🙂

19. Bushie
    U too loves to place words in my mout!
    Actually, I might write more like that but I have to take up a more balanced perspective to increase the fun!

David, U focus on the White side of the spectrum but neglect that most black people dont give a rodents rectum about associating with whites. Those that want to associate with Whitey probably do at Durants, Car Racing/ Rallying etc. I am sure that those who want to have White friends can, seen plenty interaction at The Carib and other spots.The reality is that those that want to isolate themselves on a racial basis are within their rights to do so, regardless of what we think.

GP that is a good point. My dad never wanted to join the Yacht Club. My sister and husband joined the Cruising Club and were friends with The Dippa and did help a lil to keep him Skippa.

20. Some of you can continue to post shite about the reality that is Barbados today. Whether it was Ship Inn, Harbour Lights Kendal and the others, White people will seek leisure in cliques (understandable?). They support the other’s business and create opportunities for the clan. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So I can’t be white!!!

I have never been to Kendal …. you don’t mean the plantation do you because I have been there?

I have been the Ship Inn precisely once in my life

… and the Harbour Lights …… just once, went to a party for my cousin who was due to be married which ended up there.

… and I had to leave early as one of the group had consumed too much and ended up collapsing.

So I took him home, puking his guts out thru the window!!

Why would I want to go back?

I got better things to do with my time!!

21. David May 15, 2016 at 12:03 PM #

It must be a complex thing rooted in how we are being socialized. We are a 90% Black country for crissakes.

Could be more simple than that ……. no common sense …. grew up among a lot of other children and never learned to be adults.

22. … so actually, you could be partially right … it was the socialization thing.

The best many of the bloggers can say is … one day on my way to school!!!

School is their only major reality from the days of childhood.

It is really sad because in becoming independent we have torn down the most basic of systems that actually made us great!!

23. @John,
    Please clarify this for me. U are one of the Johns of 1966 intake to HC, they were 4 in the 1st Stream that i remember surname ending as follows M, K, D, and H which was the one of the twin ( who is a distant relation of mine). I am missing some info and a lil confused, which are U —I suspect K but had thought M.

24. K!!

25. The D was Jonathan

26. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@MB, if he entered in 1967, there was also R, but I think not!

27. So now, for several years we have had children begatting children.

It is easy, nobody has to learn you how!!

Even if in some miraculous way you could arrange it for the parents to get more time with their children, what wisdom could children pass on to other children?

We got a serious problem in Barbados and not many realize just how serious!!

28. … nope, 1966!!

29. I remember in the late 60’s the chauffer I knew as Mum giving Mrs. Fields, the math teacher from QC a lift home.

We passed a stream of pupils by the zillion coming out from Springer Memorial and all Mrs. Fields could say was imagine, they will have children one day.

Sitting in the back seat crushed up between siblings, cousins and friends I paid it no mind, all I could think of was that it is only a shot time to drop her off and ease the squeeze.

But I think a lot about her words today, most days.

We just have not created the bigger pie we need to create to provide the opportunities for all of our citizens and it doesn’t help to have a lot of tiefing loser politicians leading us.

Somehow we need to throw off that yoke.

30. John, Thanks, U are correct on JD, the youngster that asked Tank if he could take Divinity and Physics at A level so he could become an Electrical Priest! lol

I knew U were a plantation fella but did not realise U had connection to St Andrew. Knew your family were more Ch Ch.

Jeff, JR would never write like JK.
    I think JR would have difficulty assuming my perspective here as Devil’s Advocate and Senior Shit Disturber, but not due to a lack of ability just lack of desire.

31. I got to know a lot about Barbados by walking about and talking with all sorts of people who knew more than I did.

My family is a Ch Ch. family, never lived in St. Andrew, but walked all over it … and St. Peter, and St. James and all the rest!!

Richard Goddard started the Hike Barbados program in 1983 and I joined in 1988 and spent the next 20 years, more or less, hiking all over Barbados on a Sunday morning.

Made some great friends, went on overseas hikes in the Caribbean and South America and generally enjoyed myself … and learnt alot.

Still learning!!

32. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

MB, agreed re JR. This must then be JG! If I am correct, just whistle!

33. Jeff, it is JK of 1966 intake and 1974 Scholar.

34. Richard Goddard started the Hike Barbados program in 1983 and I joined in 1988 and spent the next 20 years, more or less, hiking all over Barbados on a Sunday morning.

….. so I confess I didn’t get to church much ….. but I went to a different one …. saw God’s glorious handiwork up close and interacted with some of his children

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

jOHN
    DID YOU EVER LEAD THE “HERE& THERE” group on the walks
    ROUND FACE WITH WHITISH FLOPPY HAT?

36. Mr Dribbler let me make it abundantly clear that I applaud Mr Cozier for using the opportunity opened to him because of colour and pedigree to effectively market his craft but he was not superior in achievement to all others in my view. Those referring to the outstanding gentleman as a legend might very well know of what they speak because the word legend connotes ‘myth’. In my view Mr Coziers’s articles were comical and not intellectually stimulating.

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David thank you for that realty check. After reading MB’s post about “… it was common for some Black kids at school to do whatever they could to discourage Whites from playing Cricket/ Sports” I didn’t know if to laugh or cry. Anyhow MB subsequently said he loves playing devil’s advocate so going forward I will know to laugh heartily!

MB it is really very interesting to hear you represent a white perspective here. It is amusing.

Donna is absolutely correct of course when she spoke about whites retreating from cricket etc. You yourself admitted as much when you spoke of the many whites who made WI teams previously.

Surely you know this (so let me play a little devil’s advocate back to you)….Do you think that John Goddard, for example, made the WI team the match after Andy Ganteaume’s maiden test and maiden century, because he was a superior player or because he was white?

So when them fellas wouldn’t let you be on the team at HC it is was all payback…LOLLL.

Racism is never good but heh into every life some rain must fall. We got a deluge. You got a sprinkle,

And back to this talent thing. Come on be honest. After Geoff Greenidge there were white players who performed but bottom line most of the white athletes left the scene and took their talents – as you said – to surfing and golf and other areas. Thus it became a numbers thing in cricket.

Farmer played for years and as good as he was he was not test awesome. Or maybe in another earlier era he would have made a team based on skill AND being white. Who knows.

As I recall back then (80s forward) Mark Sealy was the only Caucasian whose name was mentioned at the Bdos level. But as YOU suggested career opportunities were greater for him other places so he apparently lost his motivation and dropped off the radar after lack of success initially. I have no idea how things have evolved in recent times.

So to your point if white folks can be representing Barbados at golf, surfing – and some years back – field hockey (girls) surely the talent and skill is there….but as noted they don’t want to play wid we too much so they gone to other skill areas.

In the same context are we to assume that no white folks (across the Caribbean) are any good at football…I think not. But do we really expect any white fellow to interact with the virtual hooliganism of our regional football. Let’s get serious MB. LOLL.

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Now before I get lashes for that John Goddard comment let’s just remember how things went back then. Ganteume was dropped because Goddard had to be accommodated as captain.

Thus after his Boycott style maiden century Ganteume never played for WI again.

39. Georgie Porgie May 15, 2016 at 4:41 PM #

jOHN
    DID YOU EVER LEAD THE “HERE& THERE” group on the walks
    ROUND FACE WITH WHITISH FLOPPY HAT?

I led the medium group, not sure if it had a name, just remember “stop and stare” and “grin and bear”!!

By elimination I guess that must have been the name!!

40. Colin had the whitish floppy hat.

My hat was usually green although sometimes it may have been white.

My chauffer used to get her church buddy to custom build because I could not find a hat to fit my big head!!!!

41. David thank you for that realty check. After reading MB’s post about “… it was common for some Black kids at school to do whatever they could to discourage Whites from playing Cricket/ Sports”

But it was true … I saw it.

It did not bother me because I concentrated on my studies and just did the best that I could.

I reckoned there were only so many places on the form team, 11, and the form had 30 and so not everybody could play.

The ones who got to play were nothing spectacular but they could talk up a storm.

I spent some lunch times playing cricket and I realize I now I ran a few other boys with my pace

…. and some lunch times in the library studying and putting forward homework.

I had forked up and rolled a pitch at home from the time I was 10, probably before I reached HC, and just bowled to my heart’s content as and when I wanted!!

I had a ball at school but I could not wait to get back to the plantation I belonged to and cricket after school hours would only have kept me away from my other deeper education on the plantation!!

I might miss a cane fire or something really exciting if I played cricket after school.

I worked hard at university and played in the intramural cricket matches around exam time when they took place.

I loved every minute of those matches but I also loved studying and learning new things.

By exam time I was in cruise mode, I had done my work and had a good plan as to how to use my daylight hours preparing for the exam … and I stuck to it rigorously.

I played cricket sometimes till 9:30pm and then I went to sleep!!

In hindsight I believe I was blessed, I did not need school and its extra curricular activities to fill any voids created by a deficient home life.

I think there were some of my classmates who were far less fortunate than myself and I bear them no grudge.

42. Dribs, quoting MB

it was common for some Black kids at school to do whatever they could to discourage Whites from playing Cricket/ Sports” Dribs wrote” I didn’t know if to laugh or cry”.

Dribs U should have cried at the racism against white kids at HC and Lodge in the late 60s early 70s, it was payback time plain and simple, especially in Cricket/ Sports. (not in swimming as many darker fellas were not into that) My cousin at Lodge was told bluntly not to bother and he folded, I never did. My cousin was a good sprinter but tore his hamstring, he was deterred from playing Cricket by certain darker students. FACT. (this is late 60s-70s, NOT 50s early 60s.) Personally it was only a few jokers trying to put me down as most of my friends were dark and they liked to be around me as I was plenty troublesome and comedic. I stand by my explaination/ elucidation.

Dribs, it is more what I saw and experienced, it sure was not fun to be on the receiving end of pure racist thinking especially when I was not a practicing racist at any time. I understood the mentality, history and situation very well BUT have always been very determined once I have interest and set my objective.

John G was way before the late 1960s, he was managing Rendezvous Supermarket by then and quite an old chap. Whether, he should have played Tests or not I dont know as I did not see the competitive field in Regionals. He was a decent stock bowler who had a few good batting performances from what I understand. I will state clearly that upto the late 1950s it was felt that a White Capt was a must, which Frankie sure disproved.

Farmer was very good AR in 1st Div( stats wise he was up their 2nd to Holford?) BUT regionally was too high for him based on what I saw. However, how much of that was a lack of preparation due to studying Law? I certainly dont know.

Like I said things change and while some may not want to play for their own racial reasons that is not the key reason. Many whiteys were still playing Cricket when I was a teenager, although far fewer than the 1950s, when I went out to bat at various grounds the race card was played as in” I ent see a red boy bleed for awhile”.

So start crying! lol

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

John May 15, 2016 at 7:47 PM #
    Colin had the whitish floppy hat. I KNOW. i WALKED WITH HIM FROM 94-98 IN THE STOP AND STARE GROUP (sometimes I went to the evening walk) then I quit to go to church
    I learned a lot about Barbados on those walks< and learned the island in and out, as we went places very few Bajans ever go.

OK I KNOW EXACTLY WHO YOU ARE
    CHUBBY FACE WITH A READY SMILE
    NICE PERSON

i HOPE THE WALKS ARE STILL POPULAR
    ONE OF THE BEST ORGANISED ACTIVITIES IN BARBADOS (complete with the man who sold the Sunday papers, snow cones and the Plus afterwards)

I HAVE SPOKEN ABOUT THE WALKS WHEREVER I HAVE GONE

44. Dribs

So why did Charlie Davis play so few Tests? What about Tony White? There are many others that are debatable on the spectrum including Indians of course. Do Afro Cbeans give the respect to Chanderpaul that he very much deserves? Some yes but too many dont!

45. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Bush Tea

Chuckle…..always thought you were a youngster.I went to Cawmere in ’64 on arriving in Bim and lived at the Factory and Left Bim in ’68 and lived at the Antigua sugar factory.

I find this conversation very enlightening and must agree with all who decry my ignorance………possibly it is due to not being born here and socialised from birth with church and an inferiority complex……one is never to old to learn.

I would like to hear more about the Bim in the time prior to the ’70s as I obviously viewed it through rose tinted lenses.

Thanks MB,John and the dribbler for your points.

46. @ Vincent
    Bushie will always be a youngster at heart…. 🙂

Your problem is that you do not know enough of what you speak when it comes to Bajan relationships between our various shades of citizens.
    What you should therefore do, is spend more time listening to those who do…. and less time chuckling at John’s attempts to put HIS rose coloured glasses on the gullible.

Why Money Brain had to go and identify John on BU (and why David allowed it) is beyond Bushie, cause now that Bushie knows the person, it is VERY difficult to cuss his red ass – being the nice person that he is…

Life was soooo much simpler when he was just ‘Johnny’….

47. Bushie, shyte man, U could NOT get that right!

MB did not identify anybody, the gent being of sound and brilliant mind, decided to elucidate his own identity.

Wha ‘appen the wacker in the shop?

48. I was in and out of Barbados a lot from about 2007 so I decided to stop and let someone else lead rather than have people depend on me and let them down.

I still go with small groups of friends as and when the opportunity presented itself.

I went back last year February and could still do the medium which had progressed in speed.

Saw a lot of old friends and enjoyed myself.

I am sure we talked a lot on the hikes I went on before but it seemed as though the decibel level had risen and it had become non stop …. I seem to remember more time for quiet thought with some good interaction.

In 2011 seven of us found human remains in Farmers Gully.

Never had that happen to me or heard of it happen to any of the other groups before …. and then I heard it happened again when I went on the walk last year in February

Barbados sure has changed.

49. @ money B
    Skippa … you think Bushie just born…?

After your scientific and surgical analysis what the hell choice did John have…? Wuh by the time you were finished even AC could have come up with a ‘K’…… 🙂

…and de whacker perking…. ha ha ha

Leave a Reply to Money BrainCancel reply