Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader

Today (10/05/2016) a No Confidence Motion brought by the Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is scheduled to be debated in the House of Assembly. The motion is anticipated to discuss government’s mismanagement of the economy – the several downgrades, Sandals, Cahill Energy among others. Not many except the overly optimistic BLP supporter expects the government to demit office as a result of the motion. However the Opposition gets the opportunity in the glare of public view to articulate concerns for the general public to draw conclusions.

233 responses to “No Confidence Motion”

1. No members of the opposition are in parliament now for the gov’t reply to the no confidence motion

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ya know Dumbville ain’t too bright and would condone criminality, he is of the type to lock up the people who expose criminality and not the criminals themselves.

But what Donville is missing…..this is the real world and there are actually citizens and politicians with ethics morals and the sense of right doing, besides he has no power to control how investigations re how Panama Leaks are handled and should he take a closer look at the amount of real known international criminals some already convicted, whose names appear in the leaks, that would tell him there were grounds to investigate everyone of those shell companies.

Donville is not suitable to be a dog catcher, but is a minister and have the nerve to want to be prime minister.

The problems in Barbados and ither small Caribbeans islands originate from all those secret acts and legislationsvthat permit politicians to commit crimes without fear of repercussions. Then they in turn creste this secret Acts to protect those who commit crimes within small island jurisdictions.

If he had done his homework he would know that Mossack Fonseca was under investigation for a long time and they do create shell companies for very shady characters..if Donville had a gram of commonsense, he would lose sleep, but he just said he cant cause he dont.

3. Minister Inniss

May we have your comments?

Offshore Expose : Canadian companies using Barbados to avoid taxes

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….Andrea Mullins- Henry knows very well that her law license can be pulled in Canada for that underhand scam, bajan lawyers dont have to worry.

Exclaimer…but Loblaws got a nerve, it’s not like their food is even cheap in Canada, but they are hiding profits in Barbados…have you checked out their location at Bayview Mall, better walk with real money.

Hope Donville can sleep tonight…lol

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And if what the lawyers in Barbados were doing is so legal and legitimate. ….Mullins-Henry would never run from CBC Canada, ya hear that Dumbville..lol

6. OK….
    We can see now why the BLP had to eject Maria Agard.
    The damn woman is at a different level altogether as a politician.

If this speech is ANY indication of the woman’s general character, then she has no business in any of the crooked political parties in Barbados.

Bushie is uncharacteristically impressed…… and by a damn woman too..!!??

The end MUST be near…. 🙂

7. @Bushie
    Please. What else you expected Dr.Agard to say? A rehash of BU talking points and jabs at Mia, who will ignore her just as she did and continues to do to Arthur.

8. It would seem that Maria Agard is really bitter.

Maria, being bitter is a wasted emotion especially for a woman in your condition. Let it go and move on. You were led astray by people you trusted to give advice but you did not know that they were using you to achieve their own agenda.

Now they still are in the party and you are on the outside……..bitter and spewing hateful rhetoric which you claim you are above!

9. Fractured BLP Avatar

The quote of the debate so far
    ” You could wake up a sleeping giant…..but you could NEVER sanctify a DEMON…..even if you dress in white”

Thank you Dr. Maria Agard

10. WW&C

If you shopping at Bayview Mall, you must got some real money

11. Why dont this stupid woman shut to hell up?

This woman is an embarrassment to Parliament………..thank you St John.

12. Is what our Parliament has come to? Issues which affect all Bajans were put on the table and the Government’s response is to make mock sport of where people live and were brought! I am shamed of these men! How do we expect he country to go forward under this government!

13. Did anyone ever told this idiot, Steve Blackett that it is better to keep his mouth shut and be thought of as an idiot but open it and confirm to all and sundry that he is not only a fool but an a$$hole?

This is a man who got lucky and won a seat when there was a hue and cry for a change and only got back last time because he gave away $40,000 on election day…………my oh my. You spoke the truth, people of your ilk should never be in Parliament, you have brought nothing to it.

14. Kris,

All I can tell you is what my spouse says……….we have to grin and bear it and one day coming soon they will be kicked out! They are a disgrace to Parliament!

15. @Artax and Miller

What can be done to the governor of the Central Bank if it is later proved that the millions that were used to buy votes came directly from the Central Bank?

16. Fractured BLP Avatar

The wicked bitch in white (MAM)…..cannot even go back in the House to face the truth to all the lies she told on Tuesday.

She is bare sleaze
    A female predator
    Barbados deserves better

17. With all the millions Mara Thompson is sitting on which her husband got from CLICO under the pretense of legal work, she sure does not look good………drab, ugly ill fitting clothes, a hairstyle that does her no favours and now she is playing that she can be as sarcastic, nasty, vicious and cankanerous as her lying thiefing dead husband.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Due…not really, I have an address in North York and Bayview Mall is across the street, cant ask for more convenience than that.

19. DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV Avatar
    DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV

Ummm….@Fractured DLP…(im sure that is a typo) how do you assess the character of the (now dead) King David who conspired with a Leroy to teef $3m from CLICO…..is he a sleaze too??? or just a bold face blasted criminal posing as the nicest thing to hit politics…….How do you assess the character of a particular speaker who cah way money from a disabled person…another blasted thief…..how do you assess a PM who categorically said to public servants “NO ONE WILL BE SENT HOME” to only have 3000+ people sent home 9 months later…is he not also a sleaze???? …a proven LIAR!!!!!!…..You said Barbados deserves better…i agree…..we deserve better than this BLASTED PM..who has as much leadership qualities as a topsy…we deserve better than these PISS POOR GOVT who now think that they can do as they like….want to govern by stealth..and has disconnected themselves from the reality of ordinary bajans…Fractured DLP….wake up and smell reality…cause you ..like the PM… talking a ball of shit while still sleeping

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/05/10/vote-buying-too-is-a-form-of-corruption/

And that is why Fruendel has no credibility and no one can have any confidence in him, he opened his mouth yammering about vote buying in 2013 , why did he not take the evidence, him and the attorney general claimed they had to the DPP, as he is now taunting and calling the public’s bluff to do, it’s been years now….that is wickedness.

21. Fractured BLP Avatar

DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TVMay 12, 2016 at 6:48

All that you said in your post above….
    you were saying before February 2013…when the time came……the DEMS and the sleeping giant bust in the BLP arse!

Next time around Owen Arthur and Maria Agard gine lick in the BLP arse again!

The DEMS will still be in charge……yuh jackass!!

Tek that…

You wicker leader at this time is in some young woman home…rather than in Parliament facing up to the nasty lies she told on Tuesday.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

How is it the offshore companies….1,000 Canadian companies…that does not even include the other couple thousand from other jurisdictions. …can hide 60 billion dollars in Barbados and the dumbass, self-serving politicians cant charge these companies enough in taxes, now that their countries and other countries worldwide have them under a microscope, to help the island out of it’s deficit crisis and huge debts…what are the local politicians good for, is it only to line their own pockets, what about the local economy., what about the people.

I will tell them something, the big countries affected will not allow this to continue, they are losing too much in taxes…in Canada those companies would have to pay 25-30% in taxes, in the US up to 35% in taxes, and the jackass leaders in the Caribbean are making sure their islands dont benefit significantly from billion dollar tax evasion.

And Dumbville the buffoon talking about he spoke to this foreign secretary and that person and asking them “what’s the big deal”, like name dropping will impress sensible people, it can only impress emptyheaded yardfowls…he only succeeded in showing them all what a corrupt little small island buffoon he really is…I can just imagine what they thought of the idiot after.

23. Lowe de krupt has been speaking for 30 minutes and not a word on Cahill.Lowlife summabeech.He’s giving a list of direlect houses demolished!Lawd have mercy…..the emperor was beautifully cladded.

24. What is Parliamentary procedure coming to. Here we are suppose to have response from the myriad of accusations as stated by the opposition in the No Confidence Motion. Instead, we are seeing and hearing personal attack on leader of the Opposition. Not one minister spoke about Cahill. Minister Lowe should be the person to response, but instead, he talking about legal papers which have nothing to do with rebuttals. Oh what a pooraky response.

25. Lowe has given the impression that because of problems with the untried technology of GTE in other countries and the objection of the people of Barbados,the Govt being sensitive to the concerns expressed is not going with this proposal.The emperor is beautifully “cladded”.
    I thought Minister Jones was in a conciliatory mood and sought to give an account of his stewardship.

26. DLP (formerly CBC) TV and Radio Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV and Radio

I t is so sad how so many persons that support the DEMS has lost grip on not only the economics of Barbados but the simple harsh realities of life that Barbadians are facing..And want to come to an electorate in 2017 – 2018 to asked to be reelected to a 3rd term..”TO DO WHAT!!!!”…Why will people want to reelect an administration that all it has done is increase their suffering!!!!…everything now in 2016 is worst off in 2013 which is worst of than in 2008…This govt is so eye wateringly bad in the context of Barbados it affecting the Richter Scale, causing earthquakes off the North East coast of Barbados…..(God probably said that Barbados don’t get a lot of natural disasters so they brought this DLP “administration” on to us!!!!)….it is an 8 year disaster that Bajans BEGGING, PLEADING that they want to end!!!!..I just want the giant turds on this blog including Ass Clown (AC) and Fractured DLP understand that in Barbados, the electorate don’t vote in Oppositions……they vote out Gov’ts…i.e….they focus on the gov’t performance PRIMARILY!!!!..So wunna ASSHATS could continue to look at the BLP when it is wunna backside that yuh should be looking at!!!!…. The electorate came soooo close in 2013…but they probably though that the cost of throwing out that garbage was too much!!!!!…..Not next time as even with the implementation of a hefty tipping fee….the cost of throwing out the DLP will be small compared to the cost of the damage this “govt” is causing Bdos…(ORRRR they will just throw them in the gullies!!!!) …..

I just can’t imagine how this DLP Administration will start off an election campaign facing the people in 2017-18….how are they going to put a positive spin on 11 economic downgrades down into junk, a spin on how the NIS has billions of dollars but cant get the benefits to the relevant persons blaming it on a computer system that always like it brek down (people ain’t want to hear THAT!!!!)…..how are they going to spin why the reverse tax credit is now only $650 when it was $1300.00 when they took office in 2008….how 3000 people they sent home cant get their money when these bastards in parliament want to reinstate\increase their salaries by STEALTH. How are they going to spin why oils prices have dropped from $140 a barrel to $30 but vehicle and factory owners can’t see a reduction in gas \ diesel prices…How are they going to spin the fact that they championed transparency and accountability in 2008 can now only hear this PM at branch meetings (i thought he was PM for all B’dos but like he is the PM of the DLP only!!!!)

I mean all i could see is this DLP getting hurt the next elections!!!!….All this talk about disasters…the DEMs need to prepare for one….called a landslide that will come tumbling down on their George Street Headquarters!!!!

27. Amen, my brother, well said!

28. Politics is becoming vicious with violent language which is sending a strong message to our young people. I have been listening to the many speakers who overlook the subject and find pleasure in going below the belt. Why focus on Mia. Her speech was compiled by her colleagues and she was just the spokesman. Did Maria compiled her speech….I say NO. The language is not hers, the voice I say yes.

I was impressed with Stephen Lashley, Richard Sealy and the brilliant presentation by Donville “PM in waiting” Inniss. His masterly expression was outstanding and he spoke like a professor lecturing to his students. His political oratorical skill placed him in a position of Prime Minister material. Probably, he would be a better PM. The worst speakers in my view were Kellman, M. Lashley, Lowe and the rest know who failed to respond to what is within. the No Confidence Motion. The BLP will not win this contest, but the populace got food for thought. Take a bow Donville.

29. I found it hard to listen to Kellman, Jones, M Lashley, Lowe, Mara and Blackett……my gosh, he was despicable!

30. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Of the ones I watched tonight, by far the best was Donville Inniss. Dr. Estwick was OK but his presentation was distracting and he made nary a mention of his colleagues.

I missed practically all of today’s speeches, but from what I heard reported, Maria Agard was excellent except for the last few minutes; Mara Thompson’s was predictably sub standard as was Adriel Brathwaite’s. Steve Blackett was very agitated in a presentation that did not collide with any of the main charges; Denis Lowe spent less than 2 minutes on the Cahill issue.

None of the speakers seemed to have substantively addressed any of the charges laid by Mia Mottley on Tuesday.

It appears that Mia Mottley was absent for much of today. Anyone knows the reason? Seems strange that she would have absented herself from hearing the responses to her own no-confidence motion.

31. Lowe’s comments are not consistent with the signed agreements !!!!!!!!
    Has he taken advice on the language he used ???
    I think he has left the door open for the crazy Cahill bitch to sue for damages ????
    Or will she be paid off under the cover of darkness to make this all go away.