Submitted by Anthony Davis

The Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) today put Minister of Education Ronald Jones on notice for industrial action if he does not meet with members by next Wednesday. “BUT President Pedro Shepherd sounded the warning following a more than  three-hour long meeting with scores of teachers who were summoned to a 1 p.m. meeting at the Garfield Sobers Gymnasium … On announcing the meeting  on Wednesday evening, BUT president Pedro Shepherd said the union had issues to discuss with the teachers but he did not ‘think the issues can last us for the entire day – Barbados Today (22 April, 2016)

You are very right, Mr. Shepherd!

You did not think period, Mr. Shepherd, because you are being paid to do a job from which you and others are going AWOL without the slightest care about that said job, nor those who will suffer from your dastardly absence. Both of these actions were wildcat strikes.

If you have “no dispute with the Ministry” why did you walk out on the students?

Is that the type of conflict resolution which you are teaching the students when you give Government an ultimatum  to meet with you, instead of asking for a meeting?

Pray tell me Mr. Shepherd why you called out  your members for a meeting at 1 p.m. on Friday 22nd April, 2016 when you knew full well that the students were preparing for the exam of their life?

Couldn’t you have met after school, or is the welfare of your charges irrelevant to you and the others?

Don’t you get enough time off during the year?

Don’t you get about 3 months holiday plus about 3 teachers’ days?

How come there are no:

Police Officers’ days?

Immigration Officers’ days?

Customs Officers’ days?

Prison Officers’ days?

You don’t seem to know anything else but strike, thereby interrupting our children’s education!

Every time they have important exams coming up you seem to think that that’s the best time to strike.

You and Mrs. Redman are being paid by the parents/guardians of the said students whom you are depriving of their education.

I wonder how you can have the gall to pick up a cheque for what you did.

It’s time the nonsense stops.

If one doesn’t work, one should not be paid.

Therefore you shouldn’t be paid for the time you wasted Friday April 22 and Friday April 29, 2016.

How many days do the primary school children have to study for the exams now, Mr. Shepherd?

You stole two from them which means that they didn’t have any tuition on two out of five days before such an important exam, leaving parents/guardians in limbo as what to do with the children.

That was the epitome of callousness!

“Children speak in the field what they hear in the house.” – Scottish Proverb

147 responses to “Crisis in Education”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hants

Cuffs and kicks and rending of garments.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

At that same school a part time teacher was caught having sex with a child. They sent him on sick leave and the child was transferred to HC. Instead of firing his donkey, they gave him a full time job.

Beating patients at QEH is nothing new. Some years ago, I went to the hospital to visit one of my brothers. It was way passed the start of visiting hours and the door remained closed. I reached up an looked through the window to see an orderly cuffing my brother, who was having a seizure, in the face. I pulled open the door and rushed in. Needless to say, all hell broke loose and they called security to remove me. Fortunately, the guard came and sought to find out what was the problem and I was not evicted but directed to make a complaint to the Director.

To make a long story short, the orderly apologised to my brother who had no memory of the assault and the hospital spent thousands of dollars blocking up the windows on every ward and cutting new ones higher up.

3. ” Oh how we long for the day when Tom Adams ruled beautiful Barbados . Deportation papers would be served post haste”

Or Errol Barrow- ask Jamaican journalist Carmen Bailey or Trinidadian Stokely Carmichael of Black Power Fame

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Jeez Caswell. …

5. trade Unions are setting the stage for anarchy and mayhem , Words that are threatening . words to the effect that are highly flammable .words that are sending messages to trigger upsurge and turn this country social and economic fabric upside down

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And the useless government ministers are helping Bizzy et al rob the taxpayers, hundreds of millions od dollars over many decades….which is worse AC

7. Stephanie F. Chase

2 hrs · Instagram ·

😳 This Circular has been sent out via social media. Well this will either work to agitate or intimidate teachers into submission or rebellion. I’m going to sip some tea and see how the BUT or BSTU responds to this recent development. Clement Payne told the masses back in 1937 "WE MUST AGITATE BUT DON’t VIOLATE." ‪#‎trouble‬ ‪#‎yuhpaygingetdock‬ ‪#‎teacherswillgetscared‬ ‪#‎scaretactics‬ ‪#‎legitimateconcern‬ ‪#‎slaveryaintdone‬ ‪#‎houseniggas‬ ‪#‎massaisnowahousenigga‬ ‪#‎bewarned‬

Stephanie F. Chase's photo.

8. At QC we had a Bellhouse man who boasted of being able to get any of the girls he wanted. He ran into trouble some time later. Think he went back to Australia. Don’t recall him being locked up or anything. This thing has been going on for ages and some still want to paint all teachers as beyond reproof.

Keep the info coming, Caswell. We need to clean up the teaching profession. They want deviant children expelled. Fair enough. But we want deviant teachers fired. Fair is fair.

9. Quite a simple solution to mistreatment of patients. Make it impossible to observe the problem when it occurs, No more reports.

10. One has the right to take industrial action. One does not have the right to be paid for such time. Maybe the teachers’ pay is going to be docked. Nothing wrong in that. Fighting for rights is always costly.

11. But on the other side of the coin Toni is no fool she knows he muscular language would re-energize bringing and moving other members from other unions to BWU, What an interesting ploy
    Quite noticeably silence has been the word of the day coming from NUPW in regards to what toni said yesterday with an emphasis on support .. Toni has never failed to support NPUW in their causes

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And is it not wonderful that not one of the aggrieved teachers will be inclined to vote back in the present government, now how does that feel….real good right.

13. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

Mary Redman is a menopausal nuisance period, i pity the man who is in relationship with that bully.

14. Wait, bosie! That teacher fight is common knowledge to students in other schools. Just asked my son who is well aware of all the details that Caswell provided. Great move, teachers! That will get you respect!

15. Sexist alert! And what are the bombastic male politicians suffering from? And do you pity the women who get involved with those bullies? Why must everything be reduced to that? I do not appreciate Ms. Redman but couldn’t we just assess her in the same manner as we would assess men?

16. Donna May 3, 2016 at 11:02 PM #

“Sexist alert! And what are the bombastic male politicians suffering from?”

Are you referring to the arrogant and bombastic Christopher Sinckler who uses “pejorative connotations” to describe women that dare challenge him?

17. Artaxerxes

I don’t know when last I listened to him so I don’t know what he says. I leave you to give me the run down because you always bring evidence to support your claims.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It’s that teachers who are supposed to act as responsible adults are bringing their sex lives into the schools to display before the students, their personal conflicts into the schools to display before the children and Redman then has the nerve to blame it all on the students, but in saying that, it took many years, maybe even more than 2 decades since it happened, since the day a male teacher was arrested for raping a child and ALL the teachers gathered around him in support, revictimizing that child.

Come out things.

19. Donna May 3, 2016 at 7:52 PM #
    At QC we had a Bellhouse man who boasted of being able to get any of the girls he wanted.

A girl told me that them was (as the market vendor would say nayhbours) and when one day, inquisitive as she was, hearing plenty activity coming from apartment, knocked on door in pretense with some excuse, man hisself open door draped in nowt but a towel.

And behind him in apartment plenty young school lasses (I assume A Level age i.e. above age of consent?).

Sorry skip, but iffin I had a daughter and twas mine in there wid a teacher, he an me would have a lil friendly chat (with no repercussion on her grades).

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And oh yeah, do not pay those teachers a dime in salary for the days they go on strike, let’s see how they make those mortgage payments, car payments, etc…without taxpayer’s money.

Let Mary Redman pay them.

21. It appears ALL the unions, even the BWU, are targeting the bullseye located in the direction of government.

22. I remember one Sardinia girl that he troubled. She was still in overalls at the time but she could still have been sixteen. However, as a teacher at her school I believe he should have at least lost his job and his status in Barbados. I will have to check with my best friend to refresh my memory as to the exact circumstances of his return to Australia but it was a public affair at the time.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Government deserves the antagonizing, when you sow the wind, you reap the whirlwind, lying to the people consistently, none stop over 8 years…..qualifies.

On another note, but very, very important. I understand, from 3 people who were present, that someone was standing at the entrance of Massy stores Warrens last night waiting for a cab, and saw a child about 4 years old approachibg in tears, a little girl, the child was looking for her parents, frightened out of her wits and afraid to talk, she then went to a car, attempted to open the door and then went around to the other side of the car, opened that door, got in and after a short while, came back out crying inconsolably.

The person she approached, having no children was scared shitless, since ya get locked up for little children in other jurisdictions, so in trying to calm the child, found out that the parents apparently left the child sleeping in a car, with no child lock engaged, child should not have been left in the car to begin with, sleeping or not, 9 o’clock at night…to go into the supermarket….should not have happened in the day, for that matter.

The child obviously having woke up and disoriented was cognisant enough to head for the supermarket and an adult….a smaller child not being that cognisant could have headed away from the supermarket, under someone else’s car wheels or some predator could have been prowling around at that same time, how frightening for small children to be having negligent parents.

The person took the child to customer service, let’s hope all ended well and the child was not beaten for being “hard ears”…when it’s the adults should be beaten for being negligent.

In saying that, security at Massy can be very resposible, so they need to make periodic checks inside the cars parked on their compounds to make sure parents are not leaving their children alone and or asleep in the vehicles to go grocery shopping.

The authorties, in Barbados, for want of a better word, have been condoning the raping of students in the island’s schools…..for decades, children are always subjected to open season on the island…and are then blamed for being victimized, so why is everyone surprised, including the authorities, that the society has degraded to such a very low level.

25. Well Well,

Their mortgage payments are taken care of by the lessons they give after school. Some of them are just trying to help the children. But others I understand allow the children to fail in class so that extra lessons would seem mandatory. Otherwise known as extortion.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It’s sad Donna May…that some teachers have stooped to that level to enrich themselves. I remember when the gems for teachers actually cared and gave lessons, some for free to encourage and develp those so inclined….I cant help but to name one such gem and genius…Madame Lahigh, retired from Combermere.

How disgusting these fly by night teachers will now see it only as a money making venture, where if they fail the kids, parents will have no choice but to pay for lessons….but, now that many of them are involved in striking, robbing the children of an education, the parents too should withhold paying any lessons money, since their children are also being affected. I know personally that private lessons does not cover the whole curriculum, if it did, you would not need schools.

quand vous semez le vent … vous récoltez le tourbillon

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

TWO SIDES TO THE STORY
    IN SCHOOL YEAR 97-98 I TAUGHT A PHARMACOLOGY CLASS AT THE BCC
    THERE WAS A LASS IN MY CLASS WHO WAS NOT DOING VERY WELL ACADEMICALLY
    SHE WAS INTO BODY BUILDING AND CAME IN SHORTS ONE DAY AND TRIED SOME SWEET TALK ON ME

MY ANSWER WAS “SWEET HEART I KNOW ABOUT WHAT EVER YOU HAVE BELOW YOUR EYES, BUT MY ROLE AT THIS SCHOOL IS TO ASCERTAIN WHAT YOU HAVE ABOVE THEM”

ON THE EVENING OF THE FINAL EXAM, SHE CALLED MY HOME TO ASK ABOUT HER GRADE. I TOLD HER SHE HAD GOT 30%. SHE ASKED ME TO PASS HER AND OFFERED TO PAY ME FOR DOING SO…..ALTHOUGH SHE DID NOT SPECIFY THE CURRENCY

WHEN I REPORTED THE MATTER TO THE SUPERVISOR, I WAS TOLD “I AM HERE CORRECTING TWO OF HER EXAMS AND I AM FINDING IT DIFFICULT TO GIVE HER ANY MARKS.

SPEAKING IN PHARMACOLOGICAL PARLANCE I DID NOT INTERACT WITH ANY OF HER RECEPTOR SITES. MURDAH

28. GP,

We know of those cases as well. I know of a young and handsome male teacher at a secondary school who had constantly to tell the girls not to try to sit in his lap. My advice to these teachers would be to quickly put it in writing to the principal to cover themselves.

29. An outsider reading some some of these stories would think that barbados school system is comprise of a bunch of degenerate school teachers
    Yes i went to school and had some of the most wonderful and caring teachers.i never heard or met any teacher who was a degenerate that prey on the sexual vulnerabilities of the student
    Everytime slme here open mouth there is always a negative comment or opinion
    Clearly some here has or lived a life of negativity and cant seem to let go or is determined to wallow in self pity till kingdom come
    Ghee say something positive at times

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

AC
    WHEN YOU WENT TO SCHOOLS THE SCHOOLS WERE NOT CO-ED
    MALES DID NOT TEACH GIRLS THEN- EXCEPT IN THE HIGH SCHOOLS OF THE DAY

MANY MALE TEACHERS IN OUR SECONDARY SCHOOLS FLED WHEN THE SCHOOLS BECAME CO-ED

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…by your comments, seems like you are one of those degenerates helping cover up crimes against children/students, no one here would put it pass you as you are not above covering up crimes against the electorate by politicians or covering crimes against the people perpetrated by the bribers of the politicians, as long as you consider them weslthy wealthy.

Should have kept your mouth shut on this one, welcome to cyberspace, no more coverups…is it not refreshing.

32. “her daughter had been subjected to a teacher’s actions which caused the 13-year-old to miss an entire term of school”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/80840/mum-action-teacher#sthash.XXLVt1Dv.dpuf

33. It is all coming out now.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…that certainly explains why for many years, there were so few male teachers in the schools, not all but many hormone filled teenage girls can be fast.. however, one would find that sexual predators tend to target the more innocent and shy students, not the fast and forward ones….those do not display a victim profile but can be predatory themselves.

35. Crisis in Education – What Crisis?

Canadian college students go all the way to Barbados to study.

CRIME PREVENTION in Barbados needs a new strategy, says criminologist Yolande Forde.

She insisted there needed to be greater focus on implementing and funding activities and programmes that addressed the many factors that predisposed people to criminal behaviour.

She was speaking recently on the topic, The Importance Of An Integrated Approach To Crime Reduction, during a lecture to a group of visiting Canadian students in the police studies degree programme at Georgian College in Ontario.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/80805/forde-crime-prevention

36. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THIS IS THE LATEST FROM THE MORON JONES
    Looking abroad
    Jones prepares to welcome outside students

Added by Neville Clarke on May 4, 2016.
    Saved under Local News

Three more offshore medical schools are coming to join the American University of Barbados in providing medical training here.

Minister of Education Ronald Jones made this disclosure today while leading off debate on the Caribbean Accreditation Authority Education in Medicine and Other Health Professions (Incorporated) Bill, 2016.

While noting that there were currently over 31 offshore medical schools operating in the Caribbean, Jones told Parliament Government had already granted permission for two more such institutions to be located here.

The Member of Parliament for Christ Church East Central explained that one of these schools— the Queen University Medical School of Barbados — was likely to commence operations in September, to be followed by the International School of Medicine of Barbados.

The Minister of Education further disclosed that another application was under consideration for the establishment of the Washington School of Medicine of Barbados and pointed to the economic benefits to be derived from having such institutions domiciled in the Caribbean.

In this regard, he said the St George’s University in Grenada, which began as an offshore medical school, now provides about 30 per cent of the country’s gross domestic product.

He also expects that with the addition of three offshore medical schools, Barbados could be playing host to over 2,500 medical students at any given time, in addition to those studying medicine at the Cave Hill Campus of the University of the West Indies.

It was back in 2010 that the American University of Barbados was granted permission to set up at Wildey, St Michael, and later at Landsdown, Christ Church.

Jones noted that the institution had started out with 25 students at its Wildey, St Michael location, but it was forced to move to Landsdown as its numbers grew to just over 150.

He said the school’s intake was expected to increase even further to 200 medical students by September, while the first group of graduates from the five-year programme prepared to leave. (NC

QUESTION besides the benefits of what I call long term tourism< what is the benefit of offshore medical schools to any of the islands with these schools?
    Compare this with the development of services at QEH that Medical teaching there has brought to Barbados since 1967.

QUESTION Yes there are now about 31 offshore schools in the islands. Most of the students do not graduate. Those who reach 5th term (referred to as MD5) do not pass USMLE step 1 exam far less Step 2 , CS etc. Very few will get residencies in the USA today as the rules for obtaining residencies in the US are 1 US STUDENTS AT US SCHOOLS, 2 OTHER STUDENTS AT US SCHOOLS 3 US STUDENTS AT OVERSEAS SCHOOLS 4 NON US INTERNATIONAL MEDICAL GRADUATES

QUESTION Because over the course of 38 years the St George’s University in Grenada, provides about 30 per cent of the country’s gross domestic product., does the betzpaenic Jones expect these new schools to do the same in Barbados? At what cost?

Fortunately none of these students will practice in Barbados.

37. Ac,

The topic is “Crisis in Education” after all but if it makes you happy – I had great days at school also. I never wanted to stay home and since I wasn’t sickly I probably never did. My particular teachers, though not perfect were professional, knowledgeable, interesting and interested in getting the best out of us. They were seldom unfair and when they were the Principal set things straight. Extra lessons were not the norm and we passed our exams easily. If any of these teachers were absent we KNEW there was a very good reason though I I’d be hard pressed to remember any such thing. And Bellhouse was the ONLY teacher I ever knew that had sex with his students. That is a good record. Wish we could turn back the hands of time , but alas! We must now deal with things as they are. We bless the good teachers (of which their are still many) but we wish to help the bad ones either to reform or be gone.

Maybe somebody could do a blog about those good teachers. I have already sent a message to my son’s wonderful form teacher which she much appreciated. We have applauded her as parents at a meeting. And I have told my son that the form needs to buy her a gift for going above and beyond the call of duty.

38. @ GEORGIE PORGIE,

YOU GOING BACK AN MAKE SOME EASY MONEY ?

“Two New medical schools will be setting up campus in Barbados by year end.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/80842/medical-schools-card#sthash.Ih10FnAW.dpuf

39. Have been lectured by Ms. Forde. She is very knowledgeable and her words should be heeded.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The disrespect for the people starts at the top, with the government ministers and all politicians, we are hearing about it because it’s also now negatively impacting politicians as well..

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/80841/hinkson-jones-quit

41. @GP

That Jones spiel is PR to deflect public pressure on the MoE.

By the way didn’t the DLP oppose offshore centres setting up in Barbados when it was in Opposition?

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WW
    There is the story of the poor young inexperienced female teacher who feinted in class when the “waters” of one of her students “broke.”
    One of her students who had seen it many times before at her home when her mother and sisters went through this process said “WUH WRONG WID SHE DOAH…..SHE CANT SEE THE GIRL WATERS BREAK?”
    I was a 4th year med student in my first Obstetrics rotation when the midwife did an artificial rupture of a patients membranes in labour ward. I was shocked seeing this sight for th first time, so I can imagine the way that young properly brought up inexperienced teacher felt.

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

A list of the very best teachers can be called at any time, many now deceased , many from both public and private schools who deserve their kudos because they were or are, real teachers…but the few parasites parading as teachers just to collect a salary, teach lessons for extra money or just to satisfy their sexual appetites at the expence of students…also need to be listed and called out.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….GP, reality in it’s most stark form, if you are not previously exposed to or prepared for it can be frightening and intimidating, to say the least.

45. Gp so wrong when i went the schools were co-ed

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

David May 4, 2016 at 10:17 AM #
    @GP That Jones spiel is PR to deflect public pressure on the MoE.

I THINK YOU ARE 100% CORRECT HERE.

By the way didn’t the DLP oppose offshore centres setting up in Barbados when it was in Opposition?

IT IS KNOWN THAT THE CAMPUS COUNTRIES ALL WERE AGAINST THE SETTING UP OF OFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS FROM THEIR INCEPTION IN 1978. MY COUSIN WHO WAS IN THE FIRST CLASS AT ROSS WAS REFUSED DOING INTERNSHIP IN BARBADOS

[In fact at a meeting in JAMAICA IN 78, THE GOVERNMENTS ALL RESISTED THE IDEA OF OFFSHORE SCHOOLS. PATRICK JOHN AFTERWARDS WENT AND ACCEPTED ROSS’S OFFER.

THEN BIRD TOOK THE CHARTER HE HAD GIVEN TO THE MAN WHO STARTED THE SCHOOL IN GRENADA AND GAVE IT TO AN ALLEGED NIGERIAN CROOK ……..AND ST GEORGES WHICH COULD OF BEEN IN ANTIGUA IS HISTORY }’

Jamaica was the first to lift this ban with the starting of AAIMS in Black River in 2011. There has been another school since; although this is probably not really offshore.

None of the 10 students I taught in the first two semesters at AAIMS have got into a residency yet. Only a handful have passed step 1. Many Jamaican AAIMS students have fled to University of Guyana or cheaper offshore schools in Guyana.

THE BARBADOS GUVMENT IS LOOKING FOR ALL MEANS OF RAISING MONEY SO OFFSHORE SCHOOLS WITH THE MAIN BENEFIT OF LONG STAY TOURISTS IS ONE WAY.

NONE OF THESE SCHOOLS OFFER ANYTHING ELSE TO THEIR HOST COUNTRIES

47. “Every time slme (????) here open mouth there is always a negative comment or opinion…..”

I hate yard-fowl hypocrites.

You wrote some of the most “NEGATIVE comments or opinions” about Jeff Broomes in your effort to DEFEND/JUSTIFY this inept DLP administration’s DECISION to conduct a commission of enquiry into Alexandra. You castigated Broomes, even before the Commission gave its “verdict” because it was politically expedient for you to engage in such behavior.

When BU was focusing on the “candy wrapper fiasco” at Springer Secondary School, you SUBMITTED the MOST contributions, in which you wrote scandalous, negative comments and opinions in a consorted effort to vilify the student involved and her mother, in the absence of any personal knowledge of both individuals. The purpose of your contributions was to justify MoE Jones’ decisions in that matter, again because it was politically expedient to do so.

Surely “an outsider reading some of (your comments) would think that Barbados’ school system is comprise of a bunch of degenerate school teachers (and children).”

From the time Jones was appointed MoE he came out swiping almost daily, using pejorative remarks to describe school teachers and principals. I remember hearing him “blocking” like a village whore during a news broadcast, telling principals “the schools ent belong to wunnuh.”

The reason you wrote the above comments was to “camouflage” the fact that your conscience acknowledges education is indeed in crisis because Ronald DaCosta Jones is by far the worst Minister of Education Barbados ever had.

His track record speaks for itself and none of you DLP yard-fowls can point to any NEW initiatives/policies he has introduced to enhance this island’s educational system, except that his tenure has been shrouded in controversy and he RENAMED many of the existing secondary schools after DLP STALWARTS.

What significant contributions have Sleepy Smith made to education, and by extension Barbados, to merit St. James Secondary school being renamed in his honour, other than probably being a founder member of the DLP and Barbados’ first attorney general?

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…in other words, Caribbean politicians have a history and shameful track record of not only being stupid, but refuse to keep their minds open to new progressive ideas, despite it being decades after learning that to continue to be that closed minded runs contrary to the development of the islands and people.

49. @Artax

Did BU read some where the government is mulling over whether to erect a statue or some recognition of the late Cammie Tudor?

50. @Donna May 4, 2016 at 10:15 AM #

“Have been lectured by Ms. Forde. She is very knowledgeable and her words should be heeded.”

It is good to know the visiting Canadian students in the police studies degree programme at Georgian College in Ontario, are being lectured by a knowledgable instructor.

BUT, are Barbados authorities listening?

Leave a Reply to Simple SimonCancel reply