sexworkersThe following is an extract from a Yahoo T&T Group Forum BU is a member. It details a commentary on the rise across the Caribbean. In fact, a flavour of the commentary is playing out in the EU exacerbated by the refugee crisis. The old question is one the regionalist – and the ideologues – cannot ignore, the commitment by sovereigns to managing borders and ensuring quality of life for ‘locals’ by unbridled entry of people whether from the region or outside. It is unfortunate the most endowed economies in Caricom for example are responsible for exporting the most people to the other islands. Of concern is that many of the emigrants are unskilled and operate in the ‘exotic industry’. The Chinese have been effective in tagging Chinese labour to concessionary loans to beggar governments, the result, a growing local Chinese population.

Ordinarily people of the region should feel confident in the political leadership to guide our open societies through an uncertain period. It appears to BU we are currently being washed along in a current to nowhere. Those of us who express concern at the state of affairs are labelled as being xenophobic and jingoistic. Have we found those Nigerians who vanished a few years ago?

Apparently, only the Ministry of National Security and maybe some in government are not aware of the massive influx of Venezuelans and people of other nationalities into T&T (see Inshan’s FB post & Robin Montano’s blog post below). We all know of the Chinese invasion that continues unabated, with people who cannot speak English  and with apparently no resources, who land here today and tomorrow they are up and running businesses, with their work permit, nationalization papers, and staff. CASH is king so they want Cash, no credit card and lynx etc, except in rare cases. Why? you really don’t know why? And, if not collecting taxes, VAT etc from them are not enough, there is tremendous leakage of forex for remittances to their families etc. All this cannot happen unless some in authority are on the take.  Why is this allow to continue?

The government must immediately ramp up border patrols, interdiction, scanning at ports and points of entry, random patrols in coastal areas,  and do all we can to stop the flow of drugs, guns, and people into T&T.

Crime is reaching astronomical levels, gangs are roaming everywhere, murders are on the rise, tens of thousands of illegals are swamping the systems and resources of T&T and we behave as if it is hunky dory and all is well.  Things are getting worse in Venezuela with power cuts for much of the day in many areas, basic supplies running out and violence increasing. People are desperately trying to get out of that land or coming to T&T to trade, barters etc (what do you think they bring to barter & trade?). The easy availability of guns is the major reason for crime. Let’s tackle this problem, now, as a matter of national urgency. If  the current Ministers of National Security cannot do the job then the Prime Minister has to step in, maybe take control of that Ministry, manage & supervise the Ministers… or get people who can do a better job there.

Inshan S Ishmael

1 hr ·

I would like to place on Public record that if Immigration don’t get off their backsides and do something to stem the flow of Illegal Immigrants from Guyana, Grenada, Jamaica, Nigeria, China, India, venezuela, Jamaica and other Countries we will reap the whirlwind.. In fact it has already started….I was told by inside sources that over 50,000 Venezuelans have already landed….The laws MUST be changed, anyone providing accommodation to an Illegal Immigrant must be held accountable and charged..$ 100,000 minimum.

66 responses to “Influx of ‘foreigners’ Changing the Region”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bauer talking the usual nonsense, illegals always take jobs that locals think they are too great to do, except when there is a recession, it saves employers tons of money in paying benefits, they are then able to pay staff bigger salaries, except minimum wage eaners, which means more money in the economy, except for what they stash off shore to evade taxes.

Either that or as happened from the 90s, export jobs to China, South East Asia or South America and pay those workers US $1 a day and leave the US workers to cry foul and that all the jobs are being exported, whereas, with illegals working in the US, the jobs stay in the US and aside from remittances, the money circulates in the US.

Obama had a hell of a fight trying to raise minimum wage, welfare recipients serve several very devious purposes, outside of the corporate welfare recipients who receive taxpayer funded welfare in the hundreds of billions of dollars, only to stash it offshore.

2. lawson April 28, 2016 at 10:34 PM #
    A fellow on the block told me that a similar thing is happening here in Q in the Community, with what they call retired Returning Nationals from England.

3. BT pension money is money I was forced to put into Canada pension plan and others over the years and they have the nerve to tax me on it as they dribble it back after they have been using it free of charge for years. The govt is more than willing to give free rides to people I don’t know with my money, at least this way I can know I am helping a good person that needs a hand up not a hand out.
    But don’t feel left out ,knowing that materialistic things mean anything to you I will post a couple of good African snail recipes shortly.

4. Bush Tea ”Too many refugees are simple greedy, lazy, parasites ..who are seeking to reap the benefits of other’s work. Most want to end up in the most advanced societies where money, exotic luxuries and state welfare abounds….
    How many ‘refugees’ seek to settle in safe, but poor, countries where they can have opportunities to help to BUILD a prosperous society…? For example, practically all of those Syrian /Libyans etc in Europe want to get to Germany or London. Few want to be in Greece or even Turkey where they are culturally much more at home…..”

….

No, those refugees may include such lazy parasites, but mainly are folks looking to improve their life, hence why they would not want to go near Greece or Turkey, even if culturally more at home. Unfortunately, they should leave their ‘culture’ where they brought it from. Integrate, not stagnate and ruin where they are going.

Who the France wants to live in Turkey, they may be refugees, but they are not stupid.

5. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Trinidad should be the last countrty in the region talking about illegal / legal immigrants from Caricom coming into their country. Last time I checked, they are the only one enjoying the fruits of the single maket. Trinidad trade surplus with the rest of the region is so huge that it is joke to talk about trade in region. One way flow is not trade. Caribbean governments lose a lot of custom taxes because goods from Trinidad enter tax free. Diesel and electricity is subsidised below cost of production in Trinidad. Petrotrin sells refine fuel in Caricom market at premium price, when we could have sourced cheaper fuel else where. In essence, CARICOM countries are the one enriching Port of Spain .

The migration from other CARICOM countries into Trinidad, is a correction for the massive trade surplus they have been gifted.

6. @fortyacresandamule

An interesting point that brings into focus one one of the reasons LIAT has never been able to compete with T&T owned Caribbean Airlines. The T&T government subsidizes the fuel of the national airline.

7. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@David. Right on. Caribbean airlines aviation fuel is subsided. I don’t begrudge them for their endowment. However, in economics there is no free lunch, and the market will find a way to make correction. Trinidad foreign exchange reserve is around US$ 10 billion plus another US$ 5billion in their heritage fund. There debt load is nothing, compare to the debt overhang killing other CARICOM governments. Even with low oil prices, they have enough room in the medium term to ride it out.

I mention all of that to say, the few Caricom citizens who are living illegally in trinidad is nothing, compare to the over 90% of CARICOM market Trinidad alone controls. They should be more worried about their citizens who are joining ISIS.

8. @Bush Tea April 28, 2016 at 11:37 PM “but there may be JUSTIFIABLE cause for a lifelong, hardworking housewife (whose contribution to the community via her stable family- may well exceed many other jokers who go out to work) to be formally supported by that community. How does a 69 year-old housewife go out and look for a job in such circumstances?”

Agreed. I have no problem with the state providing for oldish and elderly widows, especially those who have made a socio/economic contribution by raising good daughters and sons.

But the young widows should find wuk or a next man.

I think it was St. Paul who suggested that young widows should marry again, but i ain’t no Bible scholar, a fella like Georgie Porgie would know chapter and verse.

9. I may be Simple Simon, but I ain’t foolish.

10. @ Lawson
    man you and MoneyB are something else…
    Wunna run from Paradise to the Fridge to get way from Tom’s income taxes. Mind you, these were taxes on free money that MoneyB’s dad got when he sold off Bajan assets to for’ners.
    …now you going to extremes to extract pension contributions that you had to make in the Fridge.
    Cuh dear, wunna mean that wunna WILL NOT contribute to the greater good AT ALL??!!

@ Crusoe
    Everyone wants to improve their lives.
    Mendicants do it by begging, scraping and yardfowling.
    Parasites do it by jumping on the backs of others..
    Capitalists do it by exploitation…
    Prostitutes do it by selling their assets.

The CORRECT way is to use one’s given talent to generate a level of surplus commensurate with the degree of improvement desired…

@ Simple
    We are again at one…
    …and yes…young widows should marry again – (and EX-men should be replaced.)
    Did you say that you would be coming by the Bush hut when you finished washing today…?

11. BT last night at the US correspondence dinner Obama said he would like to own a bunch of Tubmans so why are you guys even talking about reparations. My problem with making money in the deep freeze is how hard it was to make it, and when the govt wants to use my pension money as their slush fund I take issue, what about all the half clothed girls I have been taking care of at the strip club what about them or the bartenders I have put through college are they not as equally needy.

12. Leviticus Chapter 19 verse 33 and 34 “‘When a foreigner resides among you in your land, do not mistreat them. The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the Lord your God.”

13. Bush Tea May 1, 2016 at 6:47 AM # @ Lawson
    man you and MoneyB are something else…@ Crusoe Everyone wants to improve their lives.Mendicants do it by begging, scraping and yardfowling. Parasites do it by jumping on the backs of others.. Capitalists do it by exploitation… Prostitutes do it by selling their assets.

The CORRECT way is to use one’s given talent to generate a level of surplus commensurate with the degree of improvement desired…

Not disputing that one must actually work to build one’s life, but your generalisaiton re the refugees was unfair.

And the point stands, trying to put one’s efforts into one of the developed countries is preferable for them, than into some ME country run by dunderheads, like it or not, that is the truth.

And the same applies here, really. You say it yourself all the time, re the brassbowls running things.

14. The solution to unwanted immigration to any country is really simple. Work out whether you need more people coming in, work out why. Then see whether you can reorganise your own people to fill in the gaps in the workforce by retraining, etc. If not, invite immigrants to apply for work permits which have a shelf-life. That’s the Australian model which has worked well.
    The horrible fate of indigenous Australians at the time of conquest is still a major issue there but luckily its not something Barbados needs to address since it seems no locals were wiped out during early settlement.

As a result of European expansion by trade via seaborne conquest of distant lands which began FIVE HUNDRED years ago, millions of West Africans ended up as slaves in the Americas. It became global simply because technology (the compass, improvements in shipbuilding etc., )allowed it to be so as prior to that huge seaborne expansion, everybody on the planet had been doing the same by land anyway. The very word “slave” comes from Slav, peoples popular as captured servants.

Improvements in sailing, the quest for wealth enabled the trans-Atlantic slave trade to flourish.
    It was a time of wealth-creation on a global scale.

Slavery has been going on since recorded time but for the first time in human history people began to demand a stop to enslavement. England, one nation which profited hugely from the sugar boom, was one of the first to condemn slavery and the first to outlaw it. Under the French Revolution it was banned but soon became OK again under Napoleon.

It’s all part of history now and islands in the Caribbean are independent as are the descendants of slaves from West Africa throughout South America.

I say that but always on the news today are stories of people being enslaved. The number of enslaved people today is far greater than what happened during the Atlantic slave trade.

Why are Bajans not looking into that as a sign of respect to their ancestors?

15. So as white Barbadians, who were in Bimshire just after the Carib fled after the Portuguese ran them off after they were attacked by fierce I Carib Indians, who then set up Fort St Bernard Bimshire county of England at Jamestown, after the Olive blossom had been there a while, (even though barbados Government after Independence has tried to rewrite the history stating that black and white arrived the same time! FALSE! But anyway, after the first 6 decades where out of 5000 slaves 4000 were white (Blacks say they were only indentured servants) What a crock of shite , they mostly died before their terms were up and were treated worse because of religious wars in Britton, but the common Bajan yahoo would not know this. Can we then say we are the natives after 400 years!? Black believe they are natives of The Caribbean but that is also not true, but they been there nearly as long as white, so does it really matter we all West Indians. Live and let live, STOP THE HATE!

16. Some of you do not know how to debate issues. You make a point, explain why you disagree and move on. All of us have different views for different reasons. Instead some of you go on and on and on as if it makes a difference.