Prince dead at 57

Prince was a musical genius.  Of greater importance to the BU household is the revelation that he did his part in a relative brief stint of in a temporal existence to improve the lot of mankind. If only more human beings were predisposed to assist a sister or brother financially or through mentorship and to resist greed and desire for things, we would have less problems in the world.

Prince Rogers Nelson may you rest in peace.

120 responses to “Prince the Humanitarian”

1. @ Sargeant
    You with your albino-centric shiite again…??
    What gave what money what…?

So if Bushie gave you a couple thousand dollars …what the hell does that mean ….if the Bushman has millions that he will die and leave anyway…
    Steupsss….

Do you understand why the original bushman instructed the fellow who wanted to know how he could enter BBE’s kingdom to “go and give away ALL THAT HE HAD” ….. and come follow him? …Do you understand the moral behind the widow’s mite…?

…donating little pittances (relatively) …amounts to nothing but good PR …and mostly represents an encouragement and support of mendicancy and brass bowlery…
    When will you grow up and realise that money is NO YARDSTICK by which to measure true worth nuh…?
    It is wise to make provision for young children to be looked after to adulthood (insurance), and for spouses to continue to enjoy their accustomed way of life (joint accounts), but this fetish about disposal of ‘wealth’ is highly over rated….
    Far better to leave a legacy built of the kind of character that inspires the world to be a better place; that sets the bar higher in terms of human decency; and that brings us all closer to an understanding of the REAL purpose of life…

2. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Sargeant April 27, 2016 at 8:14 AM …Not having a will could be very problematic————

Problematic for whom, exactly! The state gets their part, the attorneys get theirs and then the rest goes to the family who can squabble to their hearts content.

Either Prince expected to be around for several more years and thus delayed preparing any such document or he just couldn’t care less or more about such things.

The man was a free spirit who was deeply concerned about how his words and compositions…how his voice was heard and used while he was here. One can argue that he had absolutely no further interest in any of those material earthly issues after his spirit moved on.

So again (generally to all) I ask, problematic for whom….to those still alive whose talents did not create this large cache of wealth?

Sounds like a lottery prize they have won to me…those are problems the average person can handle.

Dying without a will is a real choice we all make…realistically the impact on the ‘poor’ or those with a few pieces of real estate and maybe a $50K – $70K in cash is incredibly more significant than for people at the Prince standard of wealth because there is actually something left for family squabbles after the business of funeral, state (country) and legal expenses are concluded.

Who cares…certainly not Prince.

3. @AWTY

The rule of thumb that some people employ is “that as soon as you have children or property you should have a will”, age should never be a factor in the drafting of such a document as no one knows the scheduling of their “Appointment in Samara”. In Prince’s case he had significant assets and this should be a routine part of the job of his legal advisors but we don’t know what we don’t know, they can offer advice but it is up to the client to accept or reject their suggestions.

Early days yet, a Will may turn up.

4. The point being missed here is if Prince, in life, embraced the role of humanitarian then it made sense for him to want to allocate some of his wealth to the less fortunate in death. It is a simple point.

5. @Bushie

You like Ossie Moore, yuh find a word “albino” and every second sentence is peppered with it, but yuh can’t help it is either that or “brass bowl”.

As usual you avoid what you implied by writing about dead men not needing PR and my challenge to that statement by galloping off on a tangent about BBE Kingdom and Lord knows what else. The response is all so familiar, yuh can’t refute what I wrote so you put your spin on a response which to be charitable bears a passing resemblance to your argument.

This is called Bushian logic, confuse the readers with platitudes about other matters so they forget what the issue is all about.

Time for you to take a dose of your namesake with purgative effects, hopefully it will dislodge the crap in the area above the neck.

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David @ 9:26, no sir that point as simple as it is not being missed. I suggest that YOU are missing the point that Prince MADE his choices. He was 57 Mr Blogmaster. He was not taken at 30 or before he that fortune and a name or himself.

One must agree with Bushie’s perspective on this matter, being that if Prince wanted to give more or all of his wealth to the less fortunate or partnered to provide ongoing support/education or whatever then he could have done so. He essentially had all the time in the world to do just that.

Look around at others younger than he who have made greater impact. I am NOT criticizing the brother rather I simply note he acted of his free will…and a interesting one it was.

There is no reason to project to him what he was not or expect of him what he may have planned.

If Bill Gates had gone to the great beyond before he initiated his humanitarian foundation that essentially gives away his great wealth to the less fortunate by developing and building new and sustainable programs to develop education and eradicate diseases how would we be debating his legacy.

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

oh dear…poor editing: “He was not taken at 30 or before he that fortune and a name or himself.” SHOULD read:

He was not taken at 30 or before he MADE that fortune and a name FOR himself.

8. @Dee Word

Actually you are the one missing the point, pedantic even? The simple point, to restate, is that if Prince was a sincere philanthropist and wanted his legacy to be consistent with how he lived his life then he should have planned to make sure some of his wealth be allocated to the less fortunate. To state the obvious that Prince is entitled to make any decision is to miss the point be a country mile.

9. @DPD
    Problematic for whom, exactly! The state gets their part, the attorneys get theirs and then the rest goes to the family who can squabble to their hearts content
    ++++++++++
    Myopic aren’t we? A properly executed Will & Trust would have ensured that his beneficiaries and any charities that he favoured could receive generational benefits by monetizing his vast collection of music (claimed to be in a vault) and the extensive catalogue of music that he has released. This kind of inheritance flows from one generation to the other, a squabble dilutes that and may even ensure that these assets are sold at a pittance of their value so the heirs get cash now but others reap significant rewards later.

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Sargeant….re Myopic aren’t we?—— Didn’t a wise man or woman once say that the those alive will take care of those who have died? So the question still stands, “Problematic for whom, exactly!”. I am not speaking as an insurance or financial planner. I am speaking under the subject heading re Prince as person and humanitarian.

We are fomenting about things such as “generational benefits by monetizing his vast collection of music” and I respectfully ask: to what avail.

They belonged to Prince and if he was keen on any such actions do you not think that as prescient and wise as he seemed to be that he would have implemented steps to ensure all these awesome things. Maybe he; did maybe not.

When Bushie or GP said essentially ‘He died so what’ it seemed callous. But its the epitaph of us all, not so.

Prince lived a life many of us never will re his creative work. He went way beyond many of the limiting constraints that control our lives. Do you really believe any of us need to pontificate about how or why he did not plan for a future after his death.

Sorry sir but that is a ‘nonsense’ : all of a sudden we know better for him what he knows for himself.

That David is the point. You often speak of my being pedantic when the simple existentialist nature of life is right there as bold as ever: “if Prince was a sincere philanthropist and wanted his legacy …”

You are making MY point sir.

And EXACTLY what Bush Tea is siggesting: he was not a true philanthropist as you appear to want him to be. Why all this palaver.

Maybe the free spirited guy who ran around in high heels and bottoms out and sang of purple rain did NOT care about any stupid legacy; just as he did not care to conform to life’s normal rhythms.

As usual on BU: can’t see trees for the forest. There is normal and then there are people who do no conform. Why would we want to squeeze his life’s essence into our gourds and formats.

Why!

11. @Dee Word

BU understands Sara Palin sent a card to Queen Elizabeth expressing condolences on hearing the news of the passing of Prince.

12. @ Sargeant
    …refute what you wrote…?
    Bushie’s was actually responding to David’s point about being a philanthropist and yet not leaving any will…
    When you graduate beyond NCO status bushie will be able to use more advance language for you, but as long as you are stuck with thinking that life rightly revolves around money, then the bushman will keep whacking your ‘albino-centricity’ and your persistent brass bowlery…

Get used to it….

13. @ David

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That would be just like Sarah Palin, emptyheaded jackass, cant believe she is planning to be part of Trump’s administration, but birds of a feather…..

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, touché . But we have to be so careful with ‘news’ across the net because I had heard that she had actually booked a flight to England for the Prince’s funeral…

The things we learn these days eh!

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/4ngiwX

Echoes of Michael Jackson re painkillers.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They are crawling out….

http://ow.ly/4ngVer

18. […] Prince the Humanitarian […]