The Barbados Secondary Teachers Union (BSTU) has called out members to a meeting tomorrow at 12.30PM.

Up to now Barbados Underground has avoided comment about the spitting incident by a pupil at the Ellerslie Secondary School in a direct way for several reasons we will not share at this time. The BU household along with civic minded Barbadians had anticipated swift intervention by actors in the education system to resolve, especially coming so soon after the ‘wrapper’ affair at the Springer Secondary School . Yet again we have to endure another case of indiscipline in the school system. To be expected the protagonists have drawn swords and the usual script will be followed and blood shed. As many commenters have observed in this forum, we appear to be lurching from one crisis to the other and as as a consequence the parents (public) have developed a mindset of resignation.

BU sides with President of the BSTU Mary Redman that the teacher bashing must stop. All professions have bad apples in the barrel. To throw the teaching profession under the bus because of a few ignorant ones does not make sense. We need to voice our concerns in a respectful manner. Should it surprise anyone if many of the most vociferous voices on the talk shows and others posting prolifically on social media have never attended a Parents Teachers Association meeting or know the name of the form teacher of their child? At the root of the problem in our schools is the failure of the key stakeholders to manage the school environment – the principal, teachers, parent and ministry of education. Those of us who are intimately aware of the conditions under which teachers have to teach; especially at the newer secondary schools, sympathize with the task they are confronted. The herculean task of maintaining discipline in several of these learning institutions is analogous to turning water into wine. In fact – and it is scary – the same observation can be made of several primary schools. Imagine a few students agreeing to damage the car of a teacher, the result a $11,000 repair bill.

There is a rising anti establishment sentiment taking root in Barbados that is threatening to dismantle all the gains accrued post Independence. The social discord currently being experienced in our school system will negatively affect our society for years to come. Why you ask? The indiscipline being played out in our schools today will be the adults of tomorrow. Connect the dots!

What is lacking in today’s Barbados is respect shown by Barbadians to fellow Barbadians. There was a time when children respected the elders to the point even if they felt wronged they exercised restraint and sought to resolve a grievance by adopting a civilized approach. We will never have a perfect system with humans involved. What has become evident to the BU household for some time is the rapid deterioration of parenting skills caused by a society that is in perpetual drift -become loose from its moorings. The rising problem of indiscipline in our schools -whether teacher on student or student on teacher- will only be solved when we tackle it together.

We like to copy the North American way.

159 responses to “Indiscipline Taking Root in the School System”

1. @ David,

If she behaved like the four Canadian traffickers she might have been given a break.

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ TheGazer, DPD and Donna

“You getting on like I kill somebody”

Wunna see the words from the mouth of these new inheritors of the earth?

Having your picture blazoned over the world for your belligerence, while radical rather a scorched earth practice, IS NOT TO BE RECONCILIATORY WITH THIS ABERRANT SECTION OF OUR POPULATION, it is to say, you doing big boy crimes now, and big boy crimes have big boy punishment.

He is poster boy for indiscipline in Bajan schools and if any of wunna children are is reading well, are similarly posted, or my grans, dem becomes fair game for a depiction of the so jet matter.

The problem with us is that we are mek King excuses for the criminals and like Donna, we real quick to talk bout de broken home syndrome and things.

You see that boy child who walked 14 miles from St. Peter to Eagle Hall?

That, even though it has an element of “broken, dis functional home” is deserving of a picture showing determination in someone so young.

Those a stories which Donna and DPD and you Gazer and me need to comment on and furthermore “support ” but for the vagabonds and these who ent kill nobody, front effing page.

Wunna like playing with these peeple and when the shy*e hit the fan den it is silence as you hide behind the Word of GOD, and forgiveness, forgetting that Jesus the Christ tossed the asses of the money changers out of the Dwelling Place of His (my) Father.

Get real, cause dem fellas gine kill wunna scvnt if you keep sleeping

3. Cases like this one allows one to see how justice is distributed in the island. The contrasts are there for you to see (18 ounces versus 300 lbs, a local vs foreigners, black versus white, etc.)

Given the amount involved in these cases (fines and weight of cannabis) any fine in excess of $600 should be questioned.

I kno sum of wunna will say de judge should toss the book at she, but I excuse ya, for ya dunt kno different.

4. @PUDRYR

That story with the boy walking from St. Peter was touching. It exposes what we know, biological parents who do not know how t be parents. There isn’t that support in the terraces and heights for parents. We have a problem.

On Sat, Apr 30, 2016 at 1:05 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

This is where I say that the name of the sellout judge who fined those Canadians one let them go Bach to Canada without doing 2 years in Dodds, their name and face should be here under Lawyers AND Judges IN THE NEWS,!!

Somebody spoke to that Judge.

Cultivating drugs IN A NHC BUILDING is a crime with two dimensions.

The drugs alone should net a fellow 6months but the use of the premises should be grounds for immediate evictions!

You see how rapidly the words “ye have made My Father’s House a den of thieves” seems not to have just dropped and here we see renters at low income premises making NHC property a drug den?

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces my brother I have no argument with your summary thesis that “Get real, cause dem fellas gine kill wunna scvnt if you keep sleeping” but frankly that has nothing to do with the original depiction of the lad…if Imay revert to that story

There is violence all around and it must be punished but simply stated if a Kolig boy get remanded for cannabis possession there is no validity in emblazoning his ensigna across the front page of the Nation let’s say because we want to validate that de big schools dem got delinquents too.

Well hello, we know that…and as an aside on that specifically: back in the day that school was exactly de place from which a lot of the talk about society folks dabbling in de tampi emanated. Anyhow dat is a whole nudder topic .

Look my friend high school is a serious place where the youth go through enough adolescent turbulence of simply growing up and coming to grips with their blooming bodies, minds predatory adults and all such. It’s good to have positive images of your school rather than also have to deal wid that negativity too.

I therefore support highlighting the positive for the school and relegating any bad action to the individual directly and not the school to which he attends…

Its the individual who will kill my scvnt not Ellerslie nor St. Lucy nor Cawmere.

Thus senor I personally would not have reproduced the pic with the ensigna. We can only but do our small part when we are in the arena.

So no quarrel. It is what it is. It’s life.

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

To your second substantive point viz “‘ye have made My Father’s House a den of thieves’ seems not to have just dropped and here we see renters at low income premises making NHC property a drug den”. ——- So what the hell you expect wise old Pieces.

The chickens come home to roost a long time ago…long time. With respect to all and sundry but V.O. Smith is an octogenarian like you, not so. Yah think fellas as erudite and ‘above de law’ like him didn’t possible do a Bill and suck in but did not inhale… don’t they effect the same type of attitude.

Is this lady and dem low income drug denizens doing anything more egregious than those erudite fellows and fellas who renting at the high income House of Assembly… or should that be House of Dissemble!

You love your sweet anecdotes so here is one…de udder day two fellows has a tad little imbroglio (I use de $10 word to show the ridiculousness). They were arguing over a seat in a very crowded space. One devotee said basically, so what are you going to do, shoot me. Cue Tanti Merle: who tell he say dat. Right there in de…..wait again…. CHURCH the other devotee shot his rass!

Google it, if yah think it sounds fictional.

So I smile when the blogmaster refers to parenting and you to the low income shenanigans.

Some people should have their tubes tied (you hear de one about the 12 children wid some chained in de yard) and some people should have their fancy silk ties drawn securely around their necks until they push down whatever in whatever tubes they have.

But torture is inhumane and illegal, and forced sterilization barbaric. But so is starving kids and treating them like dogs…ah well!

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Point accepted Dribbler.

Did not look at him in the perspective of his epaulette but rather as “a school boy, not yet in fifth form wearing khaki”, in a scene with an officer.

I did not see the epaulette in fact in the first version the grandson did he had a scene of three girls from the Arthur Ashe school fighting and I told him that the images WERE NOT SPECIFIC TO BAJAN EXPERIENCE and I told him change it.

Do a google of “RBPF police arrest Student” and see what comes up.

THAT STUDENT has earned the school and Barbados a digital archive forever!!

So much for his future job applications, that is why I tell these idiot youngsters that having a Facebook name of “tightnooxkie@facebook.com” does not endear you to prospective employers at the HIV/AIDS Commission

@The Blogmaster

Denizens of the heights have never had or will ever have empathy for the less fortunate in our society, they look at us with scorn.

You know how long it takes to walk 14 miles?

You understand what motivated him to walk that busy highway to find his father?

You see why de ole man get ban from Feed My Sheep? with them two faced varmints called christians?

They shame the Name of My Lord

9. […] Indiscipline Taking Root in the School System (barbadosunderground.wordpress.com) […]