Submitted by Solutions Barbados

solutions_barbadosManaging our national economy can be likened to managing a home. While there may be complaints about the food, washing, maintenance, and other services, if the mortgage loan is not repaid, then the occupants will suffer the trauma of being forced out of their home, and their previous complaints would become entirely irrelevant.

We are being manipulated into making complains about government services the primary criteria for judging the performance of those managing our economy. The primary measure of their performance is the risk to making those mortgage payments. Complaints about services is an important secondary concern. Of course, if we were not in debt, then the service complaints would become the primary concern.

Continuing with the home analogy, the bank (IMF) recommends that our debts not exceed 40% of our gross salaries (GDP). They have now grown to over 135% of our gross salaries and we have received repeated warnings by the bank about our ability to repay the debt. Concerned citizens have implored the current administration (DLP) to listen to better advice, but the DLP seems intent on only trusting their current advisors until the bitter end.

Many think that the solution is to go back to the previous administration (BLP). However, they brought us from the safe debt of around 35% GDP to the unnecessary 90% GDP on the sorry excuse that low-interest loans were available. It takes no special competence to negotiate a low-interest loan if you are within the safety of the responsible 40% GDP debt ceiling.

It should be noted that while the 2009 Moody’s downgrade occurred during the current DLP administration, Moody’s blamed the downgrade on the recklessness of the previous decade, which started when the BLP crossed the debt ceiling of 60% GDP, which the IMF recommended as the limit for advanced economies like Germany. But we wanted to ‘punch above our weight’, and used the deficit financing option irresponsibly.

By the measure of risk to repaying our loan obligations, crossing the safety of the 40% GDP debt limit to over 90% GDP, and more than doubling the national debt from $4.3B to $9.2B, must rank the previous administration as our worst. The current administration is behaving as if that is an enviable position to pursue.

https://solutionsbarbados.com/2016/04/14/brace-for-impact/

Best regards,
Grenville

79 responses to “Solutions Barbados Blames the BLP and DLP for High Debt to GDP”

1. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

2. @David,the idea still exist and ever so often mooted but like most things bajans very few willing to put up themselves to scrutiny. Thus, Grenville, must be commended. Perhaps, Mr Phillips will reach out to advocates and NGO`s to recruit candidates.

@Grenville. can you answer my questions posted earlier.

3. I am not going to even touch that response. I will let the readers draw their own conclusions.

4. Enuff:

You did not ask a question. You simply employed a time-tested political smear in a proven effective manner. Now that could be intentional or unintentional – please re-read your original post and judge yourself.

You must be aware that professionals cannot discuss their client’s business. You are free to accuse me of any financial, personal and professional impropriety and I will happily defend myself (since I am unaware of any proverbial skeletons) or publically apologize if an issue unknown to me is revealed. You are also free to ask me to disclose anything, and I will respond provided that I do not violate any code of professional ethics. But you should stop, or learn to avoid trying to damage highly reputable and successful companies.

Regards,
    Grenville

5. @Grenville, are you ignoring the two questions I asked of you in my earlier post. Why fight with Enuff?

6. Hi Kammie:

-1- I can take simple and severe criticism, but I will push back on innuendo designed to harm the innocent, which has been practised in our parliament. Hence, we plan to remove the parliamentary privilege that currently allows politicians to defame others without consequence.

-2- Most of our candidates approached us. I did approach 3 individuals on the basis of how they managed their business and their high level of personal integrity.

-3- We want Employer level experience with a high level of ethical behaviour.

-4- They will remain unknown until they are ready to come forward. I will not be financially supporting them or their employees, so the decision remains theirs.

-5- Taxes are paid by the private sector to support the Government. Asking Government employees to pay income taxes is an indirect way of increasing taxes on the private sector. Remember, the private sector pays the wages of the public sector.

-6- Please read the research paper I referenced in the presentation to observe that reducing taxes increases government revenues.

Best regards,
    Grenville

7. Hi Kammie:

Item 6 should have read “reducing tax rates”.

Best regards,
    Grenville

8. @Grenville, thanks. Corey Layne will contact you to set up a meeting as we think BIM and Solutions Barbados need to be a collective, if a third party is to be taken seriously.
    Please remember, you don`t have time on your side and you need to mobilize your teams in the various areas. Food Security,imported inflation, land use policy and increasing national productivity are just some of my concerns. Remember the doctrine of Servant Leadership if you want mass buy in.

When are we going to hear others speaking on issues under the Solution Barbados banner?

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Grenville, the arguments with @Enuff are mindless and are indicative of a barb used previously to puncture your political foray: you are not READY.

How on earth did you expect that people would react to your adventure into politics? The remarks by Enuff were quite frankly mild and innocuous. You should have been able to respond to that smoothly and without the anger and pricked ego display of verbal petulance.

Is it beyond my limited comprehension how can you be ready for the vitriol of politics with this naive behaviour to bland criticisms.

I am also bemused by your remark to wit: “Our candidates care too much about their employees…to risk them being unemployed in this challenging economy …I have also promised to protect our candidates from wicked persons like yourself …”

Is this a game of hide and seek or some other childish endeavor? As was posed above will these candidates not have to reveal themselves well in advance of any election and at that time and beyond will they not suffer the same victimization?

Your remarks either suggest a palatable naivety; an absolute confidence of victory at the polls…or alternative you are are clueless as you said….

I quote you on that : “… I assumed that they were disagreeing on academic economic arguments on which I was UNQUALIFIED (my emphasis)…”

And again: ” I ASSUMED (mine) that the Opposition or the media would explicitly warn us if we were taking on too much debt. …”

Unfortunately, those key words seem to propel your behaviour again!

I mentioned this on either the first or second comment I made re Solutions Barbados since last year so excuse the repetition: your messaging and narrative are abysmal and cannot be continued if you want to be taken seriously. Get someone on board who can script your thoughts for public consumption.

If you were ASSUMEING and UNQUALIFIED in ’08…what makes you the guru saviour now, Grenville.

MESSAGING sinks many a worthy candidate!

Enough, said indeed!

10. Hi DPD:

I was simply honestly stating how I felt and what I did at that time. You may prefer me to dishonestly invent an image for political messaging purposes. Sorry to disappoint you.

Best regards,
    Grenville

11. “Like most persons, I believed the Government and did not examine the financial statements. I heard the debt complaints of Mascoll, and his desire to ‘lock horns’ with Arthur..”

But weren’t you at some point during that time the Deputy Chairman of the Ministry of Economic Development Advisory Committee and head of BCSI? How did you advise etc without knowledge of the financial position of government?
    If you’re so rankled by my factual, malice-free comments, when the political operatives with their PR elixir start campaigning you will be the one in need of prayers. Good luck.

12. @ David /BU

Please allow me to advised that this Watchman is not the said as the watchman on Barbados Today

13. @Solution Barbados

After hearing you on VOB and seeing your postings on BU, you surely need HELP with the solution, since it not the x time yet, what help do you need at this stage, that you don’t have

14. @Grenville, you need to take heed of @de pedantic Dribbler advice. I said to you at Combermere that politics is about winning hearts and not for the faint hearted. You must be able to understand you are seeking public office and will be prone to criticism of all sorts.

Please get a PR team in place before you damage your chances with your so called honest responses. You must not be tend skinned for then you will be worst than the BLP and DLP ministers in dealing in public criticism. A calm head is needed.

Always remember to DTIP..aka Do Not Take It Personal. The barbs are to see if you are tough enough for the job.

15. Just came in and saw DPD and Kammie’s advice to Grenville.
    I third their message. Kammie stated it all. Whilst you should always be honest, you have to choose your words carefully or you will knock yourself out.

16. @TheGazer, you cannot win the hearts and minds of the masses by responding to every fire in a cynical way. You must know, not to accept an invitation to every criticism. How you feel does not matter as you must respect others opinions even if they are stupid or diametrically opposed to yours.

@Grenville, you must be commended, nice to have you responding. Please get a PR team in place soon and understand politics is not for the faint-hearted. Your 12 persons cannot be serious about earning the required votes if they allow you to shelter them from barbs. SB will not have a chance if your 12 persons do not get out there and canvass support as well to as present a sensible alternative governance model.

@Grenville, please contact Corey Lane asap to set up a meeting to discuss a #ANewWay with individuals who want change for better.

17. Any team of aspiring politicians who are too afraid to come forward are but are wait for the beginning of a political campaign are POLITICAL OPPORTUNIST, pure and simple.

We need fearless leaders and people of integrity not those who prefer to protect themselves and launch themselves at the last minute so as to minimize damage to themselves and their employees.

18. @TheGazer, the above comments are referenced to you for the benefit of Mr Phillips and not directed at you.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“He also queried the use of indemnity insurance given the significant cost, and told his audience, which included members of the legal profession and various stakeholders, if we should require all attorneys to have indemnity insurance, when it was recognised that some attorneys would not be able to afford it. “…Do we require that attorneys who have indemnity insurance be able to say to clients that they have the insurance and those who don’t have to disclose that they don’t have it? That is the kind of feedback that I want you to give me. So, I am putting you on notice that… I will take a new Legal Profession Act to Parliament towards the end of the year. That is my promise and pledge to you,” he asserted.” (BGIS) – See more at:

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/80140/reform-legal-profession-act-brathwaite#sthash.aiIQ3yAj.dpuf

An excerpt from Adriel Brathwaite’s promise. As AG amd in charge of the judiciary why is it taking from 2010-2016 to get these acts up and running, the bar presidents have no power, why are they allowed by the AG to hold up forward movement.

Indemnity insurance is a fantastic idea, make some of these lawyers start to practice honesty and since many of them get on so well with the insurance companies anyway, the relationship should be perfect…lol

20. @ Grenville,

I applaud you for having the audacity to challenge the two major Barbados parties. However, I have to admit that I feel deeply uncomfortable with you and your political ambitions. You come across as an elitist. I do not sense from you an affinity with your fellow working class Bajan negroes whether it be on a social, economic or a political level.

Why do you believe that it is essential that you select candidates who are employers? This is both comical and absurd. Surely you do not believe this nonsense.

In order to attract voters you need to cast your net wide. Have you not heard of the word called diversity? How much interaction have you had with the broader masses? Have you taken the time out to visit communities in places such as Bridgetown, St Johns and St Andrews where there are real social problems? Have you knocked on people’s doors in order to hear from these individuals on those issues that impact on their life or has all your research been desk-bound?

Personally, I am now of the believe that your pitch to become the “third party” of Barbados has become a God almighty distraction to your country.

21. I heard Mr. Phillips on the Thursday April 14 brasstacks program, and I was disappointed with most of his answers to the questions of the callers and emailers. He seemed ill-prepared, and the answers seemed to be Mr. Phillip’s personal views and beliefs rather than the well thought-out and researched policies and plan of aspiring political party.

22. Personally i have no beef with Mr Greenville trying to kick against the pricks .however his expectations which accounts for ministers working for free would be met with plenty pressure both inside and outside of the region as labour laws would in effect kick in forcing Greenvill to abandon such a policy with swiftness
    Barbadians as usual acts if they lived in a distant world above the clouds where nobody can see or hear there noises except the opposite is true

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Grenville

AAs long as AC is against it you should employ it because it means that she and the party elite have assessed its efficacy and have determined that it is a vote catcher.

Thatd dribble about Labour laws is her blowing cold air up your pooch since, as was the case with sandiford and the civil servants, if a 8% cut can be enforced on a nation what then of an agreement not to be paid for three months, until you deliver your mandate?

I am giving you advice to win voter not to ef around with bunting from Abeds and motorcades.

You are a weak speaker Grenville yet to understand what makes people tick.

Let me give you an example of emotive speech.

I make bombs!!

Now to the reader that, in the post 9/11 age will draw attention, and even fear in some quarters, but if I adjust that sentence to say verbal explosives and that the things that I write are equally explosive and are designed to destroy their targets, like a bomb does, it emotes an imagery of obliteration of my political? opponents

Your speech is devoid of “meat” and that required explosiveness and you need to enlist a team and learn a script.

You never hung on a block did you?

You can’t go into Bush Hall or Deacons or the Pine or Marl Hole and hang can you? It shows and unfortunately the people whose votes your party is going to need come from there and we can smell a fraud, even if you smoke a spliff wid us under de tamarind tree.

Your heart is in the right place but if you doan try to learn real quick you are not even going to get back your deposit.

One more ting.

When you print your manifesto and say you and your colleagues ent tekking no pay for three months, when wunna donkeys are on the election trail not a man jack going come to get you to buy their votes because not only wunna going be BREK like them but because wunna put wunna money where your mouth is.

Listen to the free advice and stop with that childlike pouty mouth thing cause Stinkliar and Mia going mek you their beatch on the political platform

24. ole man tek off yuh blinders look again nothing for free …… the catch ……. wunna not paying us so wunna cant tell us wuh to,do

25. Sir if or when Solutions becomes govt Greenville can not take it upon himself to remove standards and practices written into labour laws as for the protection to every person who is gainfully and legally employed which states that by law a person must received a wage for services rendered
    That law was put there with a specific intent. it would be mostly preposterous and illegal for govt who must adhere to those practices to believe or have in mind that an employee of the taxpayer must not be paid
    Furthemore Greenville and govt would be opening up to far more than criticisms or attacks but a possibility of laws suits which would be brought to bear formed out of a constitutional right based on fair and right labour standards and practices

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

So AC…you and DBLP only know about fair and right labor laws when it has the potential to affect a politician’s salary….all other times ya’ll ready to poison the labor union’s headquarters.

What I think Adriel Brathwit should also do as AG, is legislate that each and every politician should also buy indemnity insurance, so that when they take bribes from business people, give away contracts to those same business people in exchange for the taxpayer funded contracts, steal taxpayers money, practice their nepotism, cronyism and sexcapades using the taxpayer’s office, lie to the taxpayers, mislead everyone and misrepresent using influence given to them by the taxpayers…….chase down international criminals to help them run scams on the taxpayers, give away the island in the Cahill-like scams….their insurers will be made to reimburse the taxpayers for the ministers’ nastiness.

Seeing that the ministers and MPs get along so well together with the insurance company executives, being esteemed friends, business partners, having all types of bed related relationships…that should not be a problem, the relationship should be perfect…devoid of misunderstanding.

An amount of 5 or 6 million dollars in indemnity insurance per politician should suffice….seeing as most of them are lawyers and indemnity for lawyers is being proposed at 1 million, politicians touch way more of the taxpayer’s money than lawyers touch clients….I think that is fair.

What you think.

27. Dear All:

Thank you for your comments and criticisms. However, criticisms like hamicb65 (April 16, 2016 at 8:03 PM), which is reproduced below as an exemplar, are meaningless. Hamic needs to be more specific.

“I heard Mr. Phillips on the Thursday April 14 brasstacks program, and I was disappointed with most of his answers to the questions of the callers and emailers. He seemed ill-prepared, and the answers seemed to be Mr. Phillip’s personal views and beliefs rather than the well thought-out and researched policies and plan of aspiring political party.”

Exclaimer (April 16, 2016 at 6:21 PM) posted an exemplar of another type of meaningless criticism. He/she made a series of false accusations, then asked a series of questions, and then, without even waiting for replies to inform his/her conclusions, declared a conclusion anyway. Incredible. Clearly Exclaimer did not want a reply from me.

AC’s criticisms were better, but strange. We were challenged not take a salary for 3 months. We accepted the challenge but proposed an improvement – not take a salary if reasonable milestones were not met. AC opposed the entire idea noting a violation of labour laws. OK AC, what if we agree to donate our salaries to the Salvation Army?

Among the mass of unhelpful criticism (that which does not identify a specific deficiency to improve), they were some that appeared to honestly request a response. I will always prioritize time to respond to that type of criticism. Surprisingly, one came from Enuff (April 16, 2016 at 1:16 PM), who had recklessly tried to smear a private company – as he claims, without malice. Whether with or without malice does not matter – the end result is the same.

Enuff asked “But weren’t you at some point during that time the Deputy Chairman of the Ministry of Economic Development Advisory Committee and head of BCSI? How did you advise etc without knowledge of the financial position of government?”

My role was to identify and advise on activities that the private sector service providers and government agencies could implement in order to improve Barbados’ export capacity. National debt issues and policies were within the Ministry of Finance, of which I was not an advisor.

Regards,
    Grenville

28. This Granville Philips guy he’s hopelessly unknown doesn’t have a national profile looks a geek and his mouthing’s lack depth . Give him a pass mark for boldness . A better option for him would be to establish a smart business that brings in lots of foreign exchange and hires large numbers of Barbadians. If he pulls that off he gets the public’s attention.

Good Lord drama queens Wayne and Tony Webster two fully grown jackasses along with Olutuye Waldron write unbelievable crap in the comments section of the media. Is Olu a Pan Africanist he claims? That guy pushes every position by the business elite against popular black government. His views for a Pan Africanist are stranger than fiction. The Webster clowns should be sold to a travelling circus. Two poppets who sicken readers with despicable and trite comments on anything progressive. If they are the cyber faces of the BLP whenever the elections are called the BLP will lose.