Submitted by Heather Cole
Caribbean Court of Justice

In the game of cricket, there is no victory without a challenge. In athletics no race is won without a challenge and in the court of law, no precedent can ever be set without a challenge.

Two recent occurrences prompted me to write this article. The first was a call from a lawyer in Barbados about two weeks ago informing me that a sixteen years old case was finally set to be heard. It was one of two cases and there is no light yet at the end of the tunnel for the second case. The second occurrence was the revelation of the court documents relating to the death of Marcelle Smith in an article on the Barbados Underground. The documents in my opinion pointed to a motive for her murder and the persons responsible.

At present the system for the delivery of justice in Barbados leaves a lot to be desired and that is putting it mildly. No one should have to wait 16 years for a case to be heard. There has been enough time for those responsible for the administration of the system to over haul it and come up with a creative and transparent process for cases to be heard. It leads one to question the management of the system from which justice for the entire population is to be delivered. Are there checks and balances to ensure that all cases are heard in a timely manner? Are there cases lying around in or on some desks catching dusk? Is there a prevailing corruption in the system that warrants the need for a regulator whose duty it is to ensure that all cases are heard in a timely manner? One can also question the effectiveness of the position of the Ombudsman. By now the Attorney General should have created an instrument to define the period within which a case must be heard. I am positive that this would help reduce the backlog in the system. Are there enough Judges, magistrates and cases managers and do they work 8 hours per day? The time has come for a person to be able to track the movement of their case on line that way they will be in a better position to seek a resolution to any bottlenecks that that are inherently in the system. They must be penalties, fines and disbarment to practice for anyone circumventing the process of justice regardless to who they are.

With regards to the emails sent by Mrs. Smith to her Attorney, I was shocked to read the contents and I queried why Vernon Smith and Hal Gollop had entered the deceased property and interrogating a man with dementia. It was a house not a court or a law office or a police station. They had no right being there to conduct legal matters uninvited and that it was most unconventional to bring the police to add credibility to their deed. Protocol should have dictated these learned lawyers to schedule a meeting with her attorney present since she had responsibility for her husband. This case in itself raises many issues highlighted above and it makes one wonder if it will ever be heard since two high profile member of the legal community are involved. However, one also wonders how the revelation of their meeting with Mrs. Smith will impact their credibility with the public of Barbados and if this case is not heard will it justify that some people are above the law or that there is in fact no law.

The above are just two examples but I am sure that there are many more cases out there. Every right thinking Barbadian and those who the judicial system has failed must come together to challenge the system. We are in an era to have a Class Action Suit against the Attorney General, the Chief Justice and the Ombudsman with regards to the administration of justice. Is there any attorney out there who is up to this task?

Paradoxically, two of the reasons set forth to end the jurisdiction of the British Privy Council over the former colonies of the British West Indies can now be put forth regarding the legal system in Barbados. There are the unpopularity of the decisions and the perception that the system has too much power. Can it be that the deeply entrenched partiality now makes the legal system inadequate? It sets forth an argument for the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) to expand its scope to become a local court of the jurisdiction.

One hopes that we the citizens of Barbados can petition to amend its constitution to allow local cases of Barbados or the region to be heard and be not only limited to CARICOM matters or act as an Appellate Court. The petition to the CCJ can also request that it includes the practice of law in its disadvantaged sector and amend that sector include lawyers. Or, by some other measure allow all lawyers to practice across its jurisdiction in any member state. This is intended to create one Bar Association within the jurisdiction that will allow a lawyer in Jamaica or Trinidad to accept a case in Barbados or vice versa without fear of victimization. Therefore one should seek to find out if this problem of Barbados is being experienced in Jamaica, Belize and Trinidad and Tobago.

Another outlook is that since the present judicial system is not serving the best interest of the masses, one wonders if the people of Barbados can by way of referendum be given an option to have their cases heard locally or by the CCJ by-passing the present court system.

The question that we must all ask ourselves is if Barbadians have to die awaiting justice or should they be assured of justice in Barbados or allowed to have their cases heard by the CCJ. In the final analysis, our problem can be resolved by competition and the establishment of a regional local court. To this end it is my intent to find out what is happening in the other islands for which the CCJ has jurisdiction. However, with or without the other territories, seek dialogue with the CCJ and petition them and the Government of Barbados from the Barbados Lobby to extend the scope and services of the CCJ to hear local cases of the people of Barbados. I hope that all who have been disadvantaged by the court system will join in this effort. Your comments and or assistance are welcomed.

242 responses to “Justice Must Be Served”

1. @PURDYR
    Solid as a rock as usual. I like how you always give information which is important to protecting one’s online identify.
    The first poster had me believing I was reading the words of Churchill or some such giant – brilliant.

@SSS
    Nothing much to except say that I am a guy who is very patient. Not all projects were short term projects 🙂

The no accountability poster — brilliant.

2. One man’s analysis
    You must forgive me if I am always complimenting the contributions made by others. Perhaps, it is wrong because I do not mention the names of many contributors whose posts are interesting, enlightening, and at times very entertaining. One thing is clear, Barbadians possess the brains and the intelligence to work themselves out of this dark period. So what is there to question? I question the will of the people?

Do we have the courage to look in the mirror and question the person that we see there?
    Ask them what they want for their country, themselves and their children?
    Can we continue this silly game of B and D as our country heads in a hellish direction?

What we thought was firm ground, has become a quagmire. Do we have the courage to abandon failed policies and parties and strike out for new and higher grounds?

Whilst I still question the viability of a third party, I have not discounted the idea. However,I wonder if a third party can generate the motivation in Barbadians so that they are endorsed by at least 40% of the electorate. Why this magic number of 40%? I looked at a recent poll posted on BU and classified Barbadians in three categories (Diehard BLPites (DBLP), Watching, and Bull-headed DLPites(BDLP) and obtained these percentages based on the following questions:
    BLPite Watching DLPite
    Overall Direction of Life in Barbados 36 54 6
    Compared to 5 years Ago 44 28 25
    Performance if BLP in power 34 39 10
    BLP ready to Take Barbados forward 34 35 31

I think the BLP can fully rely on 33% of the electorate, with a further 9% to 10% being open to voting for them. The DLP support seem much softer; the percent that they can safely rely on is less than that of the BLP, but may reach as much as 30%. There is a large core of voters (35 to 50%) who seem to be open to either party. A third party has to focus on this large but flexible group. Mr. GP, this is your primary target audience. These are who you must craft your message towards. If you adopt the idea that you will feed all, and challenge the the other two parties as if you are their equal, you will find the party-ites (BDLP, DBLP) will eat your scratch-grain, but will never vote for you. See yourself as an underdog and run as such.

3. *sorry my Table lined up nicely before posting

4. BLPiteWatchingDLPite
    36 546
    44 2825
    34 3910
    34 3531

5. I think I can do it by including spaces… but spent enough time trying.

6. One last try….

BLPite Watching DLPite
    36 54 6
    44 28 25
    34 39 10
    34 35 31

7. My goodness me! Things have surely heated up since I got bored with all posturing and shiite talk! I’ve been reading SSS in the traditional papers. I noticed the change and decided to check her out here. You go, girl! Maybe we are closer to action than I thought!

8. @ Piece, SSS, Well Well and All, I finally responded to some of the post. One of these was by David on April 11, 2016 at 7:48 am. He wrote ” your best be to lobby Mia…”

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Heather…I remember the post, it will certainly be a coup, if Mia is sincere and not just trying to generate more empty headed yardfowls.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

BARBADOS TODAY AFTERNOON UPDATE – April 15, 2016
    Added by Video Editor on April 15, 2016.
    Saved under Audio News Updates News Updates Video

inShare

“Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite announces plans to tighten regulations for the legal profession.”

Promises, promises….

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mrs Heather Cole

Tell you what since you have relied on the 1.47 p.m. tert? response to allay or address the observation.

Give us a summary “of the plan” as it relates to the “issue” that you will be developing the petition on and more specifically could you give a summary of your plan as it relates to the Constitutional Amendment (I would not even go to Reform since that seems like a humungous task) I would be grateful, like I am sure many readers would be, as to your equivalent to Bushie’s 10 point plan BUT ONLY AS THAT RELATES TO THE POWER OF RECALL element.

I am going to try a “Dribbler” now which, while it is not consistent with my nature, may shed some light on what is your true objective.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Changing-the-Constitution_10648355

I took a gander at what Constitutional Reform would entail to see why Mr. Jeff Cumberbatch was so disposed as it related to the matter (your word) of Reform/amendment.

I would take it that as a former British Colony our own Constitution has a provision like this.

“The Constitution prescribes the manner in which it can be amended. It is specifically stated that any law which amends, modifies, re-enacts with our without amendment or modification, suspends, adds to or makes different provision in lieu of, suspends or repeals any provision of the Constitution must conform with the procedure prescribed by the Constitution.”

I did not read our own yet but i sought to use this query to see if you have.

Then I wanted to know if as per that article whether AS IT RELATED SPECIFICALLY TO THE POWER OF RECALL if that was covered by a provision of our Constitution and was a “matter” that could be changed by ordinary legislation “requiring only a simple parliamentary majority”.

Again I will rely on you to ascertain what have been your findings to date, GIVEN THAT, it is you who are already in the mode of CHANGE.ORG mechanisms.

Poor simple soul that i am I then went further afield and sought additional instances of “precedence” to see what were the outcomes of any such rally’s per the constitutional reform matter.

I sought first to see what the outcomes were and then, more pertinent to my previous allegation, why might such have been tabled by one administration of the other

I then found another paper at http://www.cpahq.org/cpahq/cpadocs/Cynthia%20Barrow.pdf titled “REGIONAL TRENDS IN CONSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENTS
    IN THE COMMONWEALTH CARIBBEAN”

Ms. Barrow-Gyles opinions “…Constitutional reform has been spawned by a perceived need to strengthen popular democracy, including the reintroduction of local government, and the institutionalization of the recall mechanism as a bulwark against abusive and tyrannical domestic government.”

Now given that i am admittedly slow I will extrapolate on a point presented by Sir Hugh Wooding which I, no legal luminary, and least among the disciples of the Troika, would ask you to interpret for me

He states …”…It seems to us unthinkable to impose any restrictions on the number of successive terms which any party could win. Once that is conceded, it would seem to be wrong in principle to place a restriction on the party’s choice of leadership…”

Given that the remark followed on from the “recall mechanism” and, given that it is possible that say the electorate of the St Michael S.E constituency sought similar Recall recourse, would it not be possible to impute that Sir Hugh is in fact saying that recall of the representative, in this case the Prime Minister, in your case, the Leader of the Opposition, would “seem to be wrong in principle” and would place a restriction on the party’s choice of leadership???”

Let us just consider the accusation levelled at the LOO in the matter of seeking to undermine the position of the Representative of St. Andrew, but paying for the support of the DLP candidate Sandiford Garner is that not a warped type of recall?

Sorry as usual I have wandered from the point.

But let us say that, in the instance where the Power of Recall was en vogue, in an effort to oust Gline Clarke, could not an opponent seek the requisite petition that you are not interested in securing, “IN THIS MATTER” and effect an oust, nearly said coup?”

Jeff speaks to its difficulty, you however say, and I would hope that you are right, that it can be done.

In light of my simple observations above, and those of greater luminaries that I will ever be, would you care to share your “plan” and tell us how?

Or should I assume that, given that it is a moot point WHICH HAS ONLY BEEN RAPIDLY ENTERTAINED BY YOU THAT, this is purely an emotive matter, entertained to secure the support of the “Undecided Voters” that my Man Gazer speaks of and has been trying to get line up in his comparison table?

Is it really not a mechanism to target the unsuspecting “undecideds” more effectively and have Steven’s database and Peter’s skill sets utilized to coral in the undecideds?

Should I provide a picture of that projection mechanism for you too? or is this adequate enough a series of questions for you to respond to?

12. Ronnie Woodyear Avatar
    Ronnie Woodyear

Piece. O de rok not too right. Dat de spirit, man [exclmayshun]. Has Bonny Peppa heah?????

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And those plans for “tightening regulations for the legal profession” aint going down too well, got all the lawyers vex and cussing loudly……lol….maybe the BU lawyers can share.

14. News is that the court has given an order to suspended all work on the dismantling of Andrews old sugar factory to make way for a $225 Million all purpose factory.
    The objection was brought by the owner of Andrews Plantation House, a Mr Elias who quoted health concerns . The Court acted speedily to closed down the operation. A far cry from the people of the Russia and Fisherpond communities,situated directly downwind of the factory, who, for many many years, had to endure the soot, ash and smoke emissions of this factory.
    Money Talks, loudly. Or is this a face saving ,though not money saving , way out? Good one Minister .

http://i.imgur.com/6ZvuewK.jpg?1

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Donna

Bajans are very good actors, better talkers, and the best group of people to easily exploit.

They are also the easiest to intimidate and subjugate as long as yours are polished and the title is way up the status ladder.

Ever since social media has offered a voice to vent, they have been venting, but all that it has been adding up to is just more talk.

I was inspired by the part BU played in the Cahill asylum. We know that a great deal of influence came from the documents provided and Claire Cowans recordings. This stopped a major disaster and probably a payday for a number of persons looking to get their nice retirement packages to ride off into the sunset with.

The whistle was blown, and if those who love their country and want to see it prosper more whistles have to be blown to stop the next part of the problem I am about to get it.

We are faced with the most devasting menaces in the development of our island. They are responsible for our current problems just as they must be credited for the successes of our past. They are the politicians of the Democratic and Barbados Labour Parties.

If we are to change Barbados fortunes, we must seek to change or remove the practices that have led us to this very precarious stage.

Our politicians have become parasitic, power-hungry and money foolish. They have sacrificed good sense for nonsense, good education for perversion, modesty for power, and accountability with absolutism.

As Thomas Paine once quoted, ”a body of men holding themselves accountable to nobody ought not to be trusted by anybody.”

To change Barbados fortunes, we must change the rot and unscrupulous behaviours of our politicians by showing them the meaning of country first accountability second, transparency third, good management fourth, no system is above the law all other shite will be subjected to it.

16. @SSS

Cahill does make for an interesting case study how those with information (documents) of public interest can use BU and social media to bring change.

I was inspired by the part BU played in the Cahill asylum. We know that a great deal of influence came from the documents provided and Claire Cowans recordings. This stopped a major disaster and probably a payday for a number of persons looking to get their nice retirement packages to ride off into the sunset with.

17. @SSS
    Excellent.
    I love contributions like that last one.

18. @ piece the Constitution will take time to put together. It is now number 3 on my list. The DLP must be working on an amendment for the Republic status. I wonder how that os going.

19. @ Heather,

Why do we believe that we can change the constitution? What pressure is there to change the constitution when the masses remain in a comatose state. I do not see my Negro bothers and sisters taking to the streets expressing their disgust with this government. Let’s face it, Bajan negroes have been conditioned to accept their lot in life.

http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/films/news/the-birth-of-a-nation-nate-parker-watch-the-teaser-trailer-for-the-film-that-set-sundance-alight-a6986666.html

20. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

We can make our feelings known through a poster protest.

http://imgur.com/N0fwspC

My Sweet Piece you did any more?

21. @SSS

Posted your poster on FB and Twitter under the hashtag #bajanswantchange

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Heather…you are right to wonder how long they will take with the latest fantasy of drafting anything re republic. Dont know if you saw this post, but the attorney general cant even seem to take his responsibilities serious enough to adjudicate simple matters in a timely manner, he expects those who should be following his instructions to direct him, he is still waiting on bar presidents 5 years
    later to make decisions for him……a farce.

Well Well & Consequences April 16, 2016 at 5:13 PM #
    “He also queried the use of indemnity insurance given the significant cost, and told his audience, which included members of the legal profession and various stakeholders, if we should require all attorneys to have indemnity insurance, when it was recognised that some attorneys would not be able to afford it. “…Do we require that attorneys who have indemnity insurance be able to say to clients that they have the insurance and those who don’t have to disclose that they don’t have it? That is the kind of feedback that I want you to give me. So, I am putting you on notice that… I will take a new Legal Profession Act to Parliament towards the end of the year. That is my promise and pledge to you,” he asserted.” (BGIS) – See more at:

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/80140/reform-legal-profession-act-brathwaite#sthash.aiIQ3yAj.dpuf

An excerpt from Adriel Brathwaite’s promise. As AG amd in charge of the judiciary why is it taking from 2010-2016 to get these acts up and running, the bar presidents have no power, why are they allowed by the AG to hold up forward movement.

Indemnity insurance is a fantastic idea, make some of these lawyers start to practice honesty and since many of them get on so well with the insurance companies anyway, the relationship should be perfect…lol

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…that’s the true definition of action.

24. @ sss,
    I like your logo. It is a start.

25. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You must encourage others to start the protest as well without profanity or extremity. Now get back from a street fest barbeque with a colleague. He said he will do as many posters as I like since we had a good time and the atmosphere was very festive. So stay tuned for some more.

26. Barbadians are slow in the activism business. It will call for patience and a slice of good luck in the quest for the spark.

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You can start a protest as well David. Where is your poster? Yes, many are afraid that the tracking for IP addresses will intensify. We know the political class will be up in arms since such a protest in this simple format can reach a wider audience as a picture paints a thousand words. However, as I said, if we are going to change anything we must first start with the politicians. Either they see the reality that they are the cause and change their ways or have change forced upon them with consequences that could result in them having to face the truth and be exposed. Ahhh, have another idea a poster will pass it on now.

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

My dear Sunshine

I have a few hahaha actually more than a few for these shadows, on both sides.

I have songs too been doing this for a while but I’m like Charles Bronson ” the magnum is loaded but no one to shoot!!”

Go to torbrowser.org and download and install their browser that will anonymize your browser and an IP tracker will show that you have hidden your machine.

DO NOT DO NOT PLAY FLASH files on the site because flash removes the anonymity of your machine ever behind the browser.

Do not use google search engine because since Zuckerberg and Apple and the rest of these IT Giants sold out to the US Department of Defence including Whatsapp, that also nullifies the tor

DuckDuckGo.com is a good tool for anonymous searching

I was busy doing a project that is taking some time.

[Girl I was glad you shared about the dinner details, I was good vex wid that fellow inviting you out and ting especially that he is trained in graphic arts and asynchronous patterns and ting. You see how he balanced the yellow shadow inside the D, inverted the same colors in the B and the background of the word difference and even the question mark?

All I can say is that you have conquered another heart and I have located two bricks to throw at him lolol]

As usual I use the square brackets an thing so prying eye can’t see what I wrote you

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

Thank you very much. My colleague warn me as well and said he will set up my gadgets to protect my IP address. Don’t worry about the dinner it turned out to be quite a nice evening. We just talk about all the ideas for posters. I did not know about all that you explain about browsers. I checked it and Chrome, Microsoft and other browsers allows your IP to be known. So if you are using any of those browsers while logging on to BU they can discover your IP. Can they identify it as well when you are on the BU site?

Do you notice, also, how David have not answered my question or the request asking others to post their protest via a poster have not resulted in one single production from non of the mouths who type their stances on here? Seems like most here are just actors an talkers. They are content if someone else does it and get their asses burn while they pretend like they want to see Barbados change.

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@SSS re: “…Do you notice, also, how David have not answered my question or the request asking others to post their protest via a poster have not resulted in one single production from non of the mouths who type their stances on here?”

So all of a sudden now after @Pieces PC lesson and your dinner chat you are imbued with psychic ability and can see the graphics you and Pieces created that were copied n pasted to friends by any of the BU talkers …oh lawd!

If you and Pieces are creating such catchy and awesome professionally produced stuff why should novice or downright fledgling graphics artists fiddle with their own production…fah what for ?

I would fall into the novice category having done a few bits and pieces of brochures, graphics and tings like dat for public events but I would be hard pressed to produce what you guys have done !

I mean, after all does every soldier in a war mek he or she own gun or fill it wid they owns ammunition…or do de soldiers dem fire de guns with the ample ammunition dat de generals and colonels provide!

Yah drink too much at de dinner or what…don’t worry about others producing ammunition…you already formalize de contract wid two big manufactures (and didn’t pay too much neither) so please continue the flow of ammunition to the troops so they can use it, nah.

And didn’t David say that he has posted the graphics to his FB following..many of whom I am sure have also reposted…the battle spreads SSS….it spreads!

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…..SSS, I cant speak for others and I suppose what you are doing has to gather momentum, but what I can say is, I do things that are more dangerous to those who want things to remain as is to keep their bribers happy and their illgotten big money rolling in to their bank accounts at taxpayers expense.

There has been more than one attempt to get me off BU..just ask BUs resident idiot….AC

But I will jump them. Give your project a little time to gather momentum.

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Pedantic Dribbler

”If you and Pieces are creating such catchy and awesome professionally produced stuff why should novice or downright fledgling graphics artists fiddle with their own production…fah what for ?

What nonsense is this? You sound just like the fella who says, ” Come! We must take a stand, fight the war for our freedom. Our strength lies not in the reach of our arm, but in the mantle of our wits. Our numbers represent our force, And BY FORCE WE SHALL CONQUEEEER! Whose with me? We are! WHOSE WITH ME? WE ARE! Then, when all are motivated to fight, you suddenly put hands on boxcy and cry out: DIARRHEA; DIARRHEA, got to go men start without me. And, to the nearest Out-House you go to duck for cover. Yours is a cop out since it affords you those sweet little convenient words of: NOT ME IT WAS THEM; THEM DO IT!

The protest is not about good posters, but about the views and concerns you have on some aspect of Barbados that you feel grieved about. You think this is some popularity contest for bragging rights? Shite, you can just write words, as long as they are short, to the point and convey the message.

I am sure that you know someone who does graphic work that you can ask a question or with the limited skills you have still produce a few posters with just words. After all, ain’t you the Pedantic Dribbler? I just do not think like you old people. Procrastination was never one of my weaknesses.

33. All very altruistic. Now, how do you intend to address the biggest issue, that which Bush Tea quotes regularly i.e. the ingrained ‘Brass Bowlery’ of the population?

And if you think I am being flippant, think again.

And SSS, re your question of what is needed, I already gave you a clue in my reply. You just did not understand / appreciate what it was.

Likely Bush Tea and a few other readers understood.

I really do not care at this point, seriously. One set of know-it-all’s to another, that is all I see.

Same sushi, different day.

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

No SSS, I would never think of you as a procrastinator. You moved from idea to product and action in very quick time; even the talk of dinner with your colleague you completed that with alacrity. Nothing ’til tomorrow, about you….However with all due respect have you not at some point being labelled as ‘impulsive’ or maybe even in sotto voce as ‘attention deficit: less that 100% analysis review ‘? Maybe, just slightly! (smile)

You correctly quoted me above but touched not on the subsequent and directly related remark:”…so please continue the flow of ammunition to the troops so they can use it”.

Why did you choose to gloss over the interepetation that the messaging provided by your and @Pieces phrases may already very forcibly and succinctly capture my indignation as well? Thus I simply have reused them.

As I suggested SSS it does not take ammunition from several manufactures to win a war but it DOES take ample ammunition readily produced to the troops to win.

You are asking the many soldiers to produce their own of bullets; I suggest a different strategy of limited munitions suppliers readily providing bullets for the many soldiers.

The posters are good, the script and concepts perfect. Please let’s focus our energies and competencies accordingly…and not scatter shoot for the sake of shooting!

We are not at war with each other @SSS…we are at war against the entrenched army of our island home…certainly we can’t be caught up on messaging when in this case it is stupendous…UNLIKE that of Mr Phillips: now that messaging needs an internal war to rage,..

35. @SSS

Your effort is noted.

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Dribbler

”Nothing ’til tomorrow, about you….However with all due respect have you not at some point being labelled as ‘impulsive’ or maybe even in sotto voce as ‘attention deficit: less that 100% analysis review ‘? Maybe, just slightly! (smile)”

Such a cheeky devil with your subliminals. Did I not told you that I have been labeled on here as most things? My latest is from Crusoe, who thinks I am altruistic and Know all (I think). Sotto voce oh pleassssse, not the least. At war with you, now what made you think that? Passing on the posters is all fine and dandy, but they are only coming from two views, my sweet piece and mine. My point is, if more than two start to condense their views in this form of protest imagine how much more would be achieved when friends of your friends and their friends start passing them around as well. In my eyes, all I see are persons contented to stay behind the front line as long as others are in front of them. There is saying for it, ahh help here Drib, but isn’t it called, ”TOEING THE LINE”

Crusoe

IQ could be quite a deceiving thing. I am afraid mine is not so high so I could not dicifer the message in you three lines. What was it really? And, if you are contented with the way things are, man just say so instead of trying to put out the fire before it start. Know all, altruistic, just loving it. You should try my Sushi before you judge it, maybe you might just like it. Remember, not all will the taste the same everyday. As for Barbadians, shite, you got me sound like someone with immense power to influence. Thing is, I was not even thinking about them. Maybe the posters will reach them. What you think Mr. Crusoe. Just here trying to create greater awareness by condensing the information in a format that makes it more effective than the long drawn out discussions over much to do. Have I rubbed you the wrong way or something?

37. Sunshine Sunny Shine April 17, 2016 at 9:04 AM #

Indeed I may like your Sushi, but as a married man, not in a position to try it.

On the issue of being content with the way things are, far from it. Definitely disillusioned and finally accepting of the unshiftable ‘Brassbowlery’ state as Bushie puts it.

38. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Crusoe April 17, 2016 at 10:04 AM #

Indeed I may like your Sushi, but as a married man, not in a position to try it.

Only my sweet piece and others would understand what I mean. You obviously did not get it. Horny devil you, get your mind out the gutter, we talking Sushi not Susie.

On the issue of you being content, I am convince that you are. How else could you be accepting the unshiftable ‘Brassbowlery’ state as Bushie puts it. Either you are accepting it and are going to simply live with it or you can support the poster protest as at least something different, which could raise the level of awareness and appeal too many more people via short messages. Why the particular adjectives about me to tell me simply that you retreat you surrender?

39. @SSS,

Oh, please understand that my adjectives were not ‘at you’ per se, but at the general voting populace and those who wield the power, and that efforts contrary are likely to be met with ‘same old’ result.

So, nothing personal, but I think you underestimate just how entrenched this ‘brassbowlery’ is.

Have a lovely day.

40. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Crusoe

Money makes for plenty secrets. It also pays for silence too, as well as loyalties. There are more bajans now than ever before speaking out, Crusoe. Intimidation has work well in keeping bajans intact for a long time. But, notice that as politicians get bolder and more open with their secrets, the populace is growing weary and more daring with their objections.

Tell me what type of action would change your mind about the brassbowlery that engulfs bajan minds?

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Go to church just for a few hours and come back to see menses assailing the battlements to the perch where Sunshine sitteth.

“Sunshine, I have learnt that the enemy of my enemy is my friend”

So while they are not as “passionate” as you are, and like you are, driven by the realization that the next breath may be your last, ergo the “do it now” mode that you are in perpetually, what you refer to as “comfort zones” in others is often a speed while not a fast as your own, has the constancy of a single drip, and, over a thousand years, brings the spectacular waterfall.

Unfortunately, you and I, and to the best of my knowledge, a few others here, are not too content with our last 50 years of Independence and what we have to show for it, AND, knowing that we don’t have 950 years in reserve, seek change now.

Let me give you a perspective about “broadcasting the titbits that we have spent a little time composing” and the more substantive effort of the stalwarts, like David [BU]

“what is your real name?”

Here you are, the beauteous Sunshine who, with eyes shut, excite the imagination in that 100 x 100 pixel box and when eyes are seen cause one to wonder what does she look like in living colour?

Now these menses here are thinking “I wonder where he is going here with this? It would appear like if the ole pervert, even after service, enflamed by Sister Headley now going expose his carnal desires to the world.

But here’s the thing.

You are “SSS” and I “Piece uh De Rock Yeah Right” and the list of nom de plumes, or Anonymice, as Carl Moore rightfully calls us, permits us to express ourselves here

BUT and here is the kicker, when we do our Batman and WonderWoman things here, how can we have that parlay into “go to Barbados Underground and see me commenting as “PieceuhDeRockyeahRight” about “x” or “y”

You feeling me?

That new invitee to BU is not like a particular voracious reader I know who you tell him once, “go read BU” and they (a) come to the site (b) read the posts and (c) post and give an opinion

In fact, I have spoken to hundreds of people and of those only 20 came to dead and only 5 remained.

The rest are so afraid that they say “not me boasie, I doan read dem tings”

The very mechanism that permits you and I to post, traps us, because we can’t give away our alter ego to our good friends fearful that they will talk out our identities to the world, (though some of us do a fairly good job of that ourselves heheheheh)

So what do we do dear?

Put our heads down and apply ourselves even harder until one arises then 5 then ten, like in the Equality Fight of the USA, which we dun know still going on, but until change comes, we going fight, because, like Corruption is like second nature to them, Miss Suzanne, “we are I bounded by our love for the island that educated us, and the principles of several good role models who inspired us to be the best that we can be…” those are the words of a freedom fighter SSS, you might know her don’t you?

Until that day, we people going fight…

42. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

I know her and know her well. The thing is I could easily put my name up there. I have posted part of my face and I know some know who I am. Am I afraid, not one bit. What house that you know that is divided amongst itself that stands? We have some elected people who want us to believe that no minister of government, in these times or at no time, has never orchestrated a back door deal for a big secretive payday. They would want us to believe that good management entails that there will always be cost overruns and consistent ones too . And thing is, they believe that all that they have done is brilliant management. I am interested in change. Barbados is so messed up that the people seem to think that is normal, and our politicians just love it so. Well I am don’t so the posters will keep on coming as long as my colleague is willing until he teaches me enough for me to start them on my own.