dungSearch for the word ‘dung‘ using Google. Or a dictionary. Or an old person. Google displays two definitions: The excrement of animals (noun) and to drop or spread dung on (verb).

The web version of the Oxford Dictionary offers a similar view, as does Merriam-Webster, but in a more evocative and visual sense. We are grateful that technology has not yet progressed to the point where we can smell what we are searching for.

And the old person? Well the nearest one we could find had this to say: “Wuh you mean wuh is dung? Like cow dung? Dung is shite man!” He then let out a loud stupes (i.e., sucked his teeth), turned and walked away muttering.

Based on the above, it’s obvious that dung is something unpleasant. And smelly. Not something that we would ingest or spend plenty of time being associated with. Dung is animal excrement (shit).

Yet the organizers of the BGI Riddim Project would have us think otherwise – see page 10 04/01/16 edition of Barbados Today – by having us listen to their recently released “Loc Dung Riddim,” part of their six albums in six months project.

Read More @Suck Salt blog

Suck Salt is a quasi-satirical blog. Questions or comments should be sent to: editor@sucksalt.com

16 responses to “BGI Riddim Projects Awful Smell”

1. Support local artist Toni Norville.

toni-norville

2. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Interesting!

“Dung” is simply mimicry of the Jamaican pronunciation of “down”. Like “dan” for “don” and “‘im” for “him”. Our youth have adopted the dialect of another country in preference to our own!

3. @ David

From your comments, we’re reading Loc Dong Riddim instead of Long Dung Riddim (as per the B.T. article). If it’s Dong and not Dung, then maybe someone from the BGI Project should email the reporter and demand a correction.

S.S.

4. @Suck Salt

Tried to find the link without success. Maybe Ado can intervene, he pops in from time to time.

5. @ Jeff Cumberbatch

Your comment rings true, and its begs the following questions:

What does it mean to be Barbadian?
    What is the Barbadian identity?
    And, in relation to your comment, i.e., adoption of other dialects, can a national identity remain largely constant over time?

S.S.

6. A producer commits to turning out six albums in six months, an unprecedented event in Barbados, and all the writer can focus on is the name of the riddim which, as seen in the image posted by David, is the Loc’ Dong Riddim? Somebody clearly had too much time on their hands. This is simply so stupid it merits no further comment, except that the writer is clearly very comfortable writing about excrement. One does not have to think hard to understand why.

7. Meaning in English….Lock Down Rhythm.

Let us look at the big picture. Delivering 6 albums in 6 months is a great idea.

Produce the music and sell it on the internet.

8. Thanks Ado for the clarification.

Suck Salt feel free to amend or advise on the submission.

9. For me it’s always a pleasure to hear those who take pronunciation to a level which shows some pride in taking the trouble to learn to speak clearly and with confidence.Taking time to sound consonants and knowing the difference between ‘in’ and ‘ing’,that is,the different sound in’pin’ and ‘ping’ are habits to be honed at primary level.I repeat..in Canada,my grands spent the first 5 weeks of kindergarten learning how to pronounce words properly,how to sit,how to address teacher etc.In our Barbados we would need the likes of the English teachers who do not let up on standards to go to train out teachers at Erdiston…..I have heard teachers on TV mangling certain words like CHILDREN…RENDEZVOUS,..BRIDGE
    TOWN….PEOPLE…PRETENSIVE for PRETENTIOUS….etc

10. it’s obvious that dung is something unpleasant. And smelly. Not something that we would ingest or spend plenty of time being associated with. Dung is animal excrement (shit).
    ++++++++++++++++++

Dat dere! Man dah is wuh rong wid Buhbadus!

I gots tuh have a word wid my old man.

Imagine he mek me clean out so much shit Cow, Sheep, Rabbit and doan talk bout Chicken and Pigeon. Now if I did ownlee noh dat dah wuzzent nuh manure but stinking shit; I wudda tell he six bad words behind he back.

All through de blasted ground he had me spreading down manure like I is a Caterpillar. Dog bite yuh!

11. @ adonijah

We are a quasi-satirical blog. When we saw the title of the riddim as first published by Barbados Today (Apr/1/2016) using the word “Dung”, we acted accordingly in the spirit of satire and wrote our article (at the time of this comment, it still reads Dung).

We also sent David a link to our article which he shared with the B.U. family. David’s comments referenced the word “Dong”. We then posted a comment on B.U. suggesting that someone – preferably from BGI Riddim – contact B.T. and ask for a correction. Will you ask for the correction adonijah, or will B.T. readers in Bim and the rest of The World continue to see the word “Dung” instead of “Dong?”

Please also see this quote from the S.S. article which you may have missed:

“The fact that so much talent can come together quickly and produce is in itself highly commendable. It speaks to what we can do once we work together towards a shared vision.”

As you can see, we clearly found the project to be impressive and worthy of praise, but not the name as published by B.T., i.e., “Dung.”

S.S.

We will not change our submission. It is based on what B.T. published and what is still displayed as of today. However, if B.T. corrects it, we will consider amending a correction on our site, but the original article will stand as it is satire.

Furthermore, near the end of the B.T. article there is mention of a future riddim entitled “Slaughter.” We spoke to this near the end of our article wondering, on our 50th, why we are words like this which are associated with violence?

S.S.

12. Dung/down.
    Cow dung.
    Sheep dung.
    Chicken dung.
    Etc.

Not just animal excrement
    Not just sh!t.

But excellent crop fertilizer.

Which produces excellent food.

Don’t look down on dung.