ionics
Ionics

There is no need to be prolix about the current state of the water supply and distribution system in Barbados. As a reminder of the games politicians from both the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and Democratic Labour Party (DLP) have played with our most precious resource, BU often refers to the late David Thompson’s speech to the staff of the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) delivered in 2009.  One measurement the citizens of Barbados should be able to evaluate any government is the level of efficiency it exercises to manage the water resource. Not since the period of Nicky Sealy can we recall BWA being eligiable for a passing grade.

All of our central government and statutory agencies need to be efficiently managed. Because water is an essential commodity the BWA needs to be managed as a professional outfit. Instead, we have had to accept through the years the appointment of political lackeys to the BWA Board of Directors. It reached the ridiculous under this government with the appointment of an Executive Chairman. Although it must be said Minister David Estwick has been spending borrowed money to install mains, build spanking headquarters and a few other projects – can we say water supply and distribution has improved? Can we say that 40% of our water continues to leak from rusted mains? BU will recognize good performance by the BWA when every citizen of Barbados is guaranteed a reliable supply of potable water. No excuses, no ifs or bloody butts.

If we are to accept the latest mouthings by Minister Estwick, temporary and permanent desalination plants will be integral to the water supply solution in Barbados. Of interest to BU is the fact two desalination facilities are majority owned by local businessman Bizzy Williams, Ionics (Spring Garden, St.Michael) registered in 1999 and Potable Water Supply (Groves, St. Philip) registered in 2010. Should we be concerned about the growing concentration of ownership in our water supply? After all Bizzy has admitted that he supports financing the PIP. What we need from our government is to demonstrate greater transparency in how they manage. Where is the building of a  quality society constantly touted by this government if a few are always the ones to benefit?

Will Barbadians be given a coherent explanation why the BWA pull back from the water prohibition order a couple week ago? With no explanation one is left to speculate the managers of the BWA are clueless. What Barbadians need to hear from the executive of the BWA is a dispassionate delivery of the vision, the implementation of the project plan, ramping up customer service and the assurance the BWU is fully supportive. This requires leadership, not braying at press briefings.

92 responses to “Water Vision”

1. @Richard

Can you share what is the procedure you are promoting for Barbados?

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The Gazer

Barbados’ motto is Pride and ”Industry.” The one thing that has killed off most of Barbados’ efforts to move from one level of strength to the next is that word called Pride. Pride has puffed is up so much that when we hold certain positions in government we believe that the positions we hold convey instantly the power of omniscience and absolutism. So listening to anyone less is a step down, particularly when you are not part of the elitist group of money. That is why people like Claire Cowan could have and almost got so far with her deal because her waste to energy project is what Barbados need moreso that a simple three Rs endeavour.

3. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Sunshine Sunny Shine April 2, 2016 at 7:23 AM #

Solid contributions,totally on point as usual.

So when will you take up the challenge and round up your cohorts in the diaspora and lead the charge to rescue Bim?

As I have said to you before us old fogeys here on BU can do nothing but ole talk,we messed up this country big time over the last 40 odd years by acts of commission or ommission,the future of Bim lies in your young hands…..

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Vincent Haynes

I am only a little girl. How can I possibly influence the divisive tactics of a political regime that have successfully divided the island into two supportive fronts? The young people are key but are they attracted enough to do what is necessary to have that change? My home is in Europe but my heart is in Barbados. I could not have achieved what I have achieved in Europe if I was in Barbados. I would love to make a contribution but there must be more cavaliers in order for they to be a cause.

5. Passed by Castle Grant yesterday and saw the 10 or 12 inch new main , that we heard the Minister talking, no bragging, about recently has reached a point just on the main road outside of the reservoir.
    My question is, Is this new main, coming directly from the new well in Sweet Vale going to pump water straight into the Castle Grant reservoir holding tank, or is it going to by-pass the reservoir and connect directly into the existing distribution network,which feeds the affected communities .

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Vincent Haynes, Colonel Buggy, my sweet piece, David, WWC et al.

Listen to the following video below to understand the reason why it is so easy for our black leaders and, even ourselves, to be enticed to do contrary to what needs to be done to progress us far beyond the dismal realities many of us face.

7. @SSS

Truth!

This is where leadership (especially in the Black community and it goes without saying in a predominant Black country) is required to disrupt what is an entrenched mindset.

8. Good video
    It is what EWB meant with the mirror image thing too… but the FUNDAMENTAL problem is that we have adopted a foreign philosophy, based on materialism,
    …and we are PISS POOR at making it work.

That materialism thing ‘works’ for the others pretty well….
    They are good at building wealth, protecting it, loving it, and passing it down to their children….
    …and they consider THAT to be ‘success’ ….and feel REALLY good about it… because of a spiritual flaw in their basic DNA composition…

WE on the other hand, (being the people closest to the model that God actually CREATED) fail MISERABLY on most of these counts….We are..
    …NOT GOOD at building wealth… we are MUCH more focused on impressing others
    …NOT GOOD at protecting it … distracted by bling, sex, partying, church, Obeah, drugs …anything else – because we have a DEEP THIRST for more meaning in life BEYOND material ‘things’
    …NOT GOOD at loving it …the novelty wears of quickly – besides we quickly end up with high blood pressure, diabetes or some other NCD to bring us back to reality..
    ..NOT GOOD at passing it on to our children …. nothing much to pass on after all that..

In reality, Blacks should be therefore most likely to search for that DEEPER meaning to life…. beyond the obviously temporary distractions of materialism….
    BUT we are obsessed with the apparent glitter of the ‘developed’ world…..
    We have adopted their ‘gods’….EVEN though they DON’T work for us…
    We continue to bow down to THEIR idols of materialism and money… in spite of ourselves.

We measure ourselves by THEIR standards…
    We plan our lives by THEIR vision of success…
    …wuh the ONLY thing we can possibly do is ….FAIL.

Shiite man…. this is what Bushie means by brass bowlery…

9. @Bush Tea

A huge disappointment has been the surrender of the traditional media. The fourth estate is critical to maintaining a wholesome society. One thing to report news but there must be healthy investigative and scholarly reporting. What we have in Barbados is media houses who are news takers.

10. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Sunshine Sunny Shine April 3, 2016 at 5:53 AM #

Human nature not peculiar to “blacks”,this issue revolves around us deciding who and what we are as I have spoken about time and time again……the quicker we stopped looking at pigmentation the better it will be for us Carribean people……we have a golden opportunity to define ourselves and decide our destiny.

Here is where you need to step back and read up on Boadicea,Joan of Arc,Nefertiti,Harriette Tubman and Rosa Parks too mention a few ladies that made a difference,then ask yourself is Bim worth rescuing….if you still consider yourself a little girl unable to undertake the task then so be it…..Vaya con BBE.

11. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Vincent Haynes

Bim needs to be rescued. I am not afraid of the fight just worried about the bravery and degree of trust in those who will assist in the fight. I wanted to commence a flyer campaign on here but do not know how to use photoshop. Do you not think that you can contribute your knowledge by protesting via flyers, posters and such like in a digital protest?

12. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Sunshine Sunny Shine April 3, 2016 at 10:01 AM #

My contribution is on BU…..by correcting twistorians,giving of my views and experiences and willing to defend them with my given name.

What I would suggest to you is that flyers,posters,etc are secondary and are for the older generation,it is the young you need to capture who are the twitter and newer incarnation users…..read up on how Obama applied them.

13. @ SSS
    Girl, don’t waste your time with big-belly Vincent….. he is just another typical Bajan bowl who, between gulps of rum and coke – while playing dominoes on the couch – steps over to the laptop to cuss Bushie on BU…..

Vincent will not be printing one shiite – you can take Bushie’s word…
    …and when you start that ‘fight’ on behalf of Bajan Brass bowls, just make sure that you watch your back … cause when you there concentrating on the foe ahead, one of the brass bowls will stab you in the back for some stupid-ass reason (such as being jealous of how cute you are – ..or of that 2017 Jag that you are driving….)

In fact the only reason Vincent on BU now so much ..is that his donkey getting six-loves one after the other – so he have a lotta time offa the board to blog…. 🙂

14. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Bush Tea April 3, 2016 at 10:26 AM #

Chuckle…..leave it to you to introduce brassbowl foolishness into what was so far an intelligent conversation.

How come no reaction to this by the BU crowd???

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/04/02/blp-knocks-government-over-moodys-downgrade/

15. @Vincent

What is there to comment about the downgrade that has not been stated already?

16. So, the molasses dump site at Mount Wilton did not get to Harrison’s cave but appeared in Cole’s Cave!!

That will say a lot about the geology in that area.

I have some buddies who been trying to find a link from Coles Cave to Harrison Cave for years but with no success.

But one thing is pretty sure, it will probably end up at the Belle!!

Maybe it will have turned into rum and we can all enjoy the local water!!

17. Vincent Haynes Avatar

David April 3, 2016 at 10:39 AM #

Yep,we are punch drunk….just going around in circles…..todays brasstacks says it all,my first one in Blighty since my arrival,suprised at the clarity of sound…..also listening to the windies men tryimg to self destruct.

18. @Vincent

What is today’s brasstacks topic?

19. Vincent Haynes Avatar

David April 3, 2016 at 12:18 PM #

Chuckle……I rest my case……Jeremy Stephens,Ryan,Adrian Rogers,Bizzy….moderators Ellis&Layne…….pulling out their respective hairs over the state of the country…..no confidence in this govt…….and I tuned in late from 4198 miles away and you in Bim not listening……wuhloss punch drunk.

20. @Vincent

It is the same narrative. We have heard it all before.

21. @ Vincent
    Enjoy….
    Spend a few hours by speakers corner a Sunday morning if you can…
    shiite talk can’t done…. 🙂

22. Vincent Haynes Avatar

David April 3, 2016 at 12:32 PM #

Apparently Charles Skeete started of the programme and stated that S&P will follow suit and the BDD looking very dodgy………looks like events will overtake the dithering of the govt/opposition and the public……Rome is burning and the fiddling will stop.

Will do….was one of my original haunts decades ago.

23. @Vincent

Let us wait for the government’s response although we can anticipate what it will be.

24. … next place for the molasses to appear will probably be the BWA pumping station at Applewhaites.

25. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Vincent Haynes

You have only seen a picture of my shut eyes and part face. I am not vain, but I am subject to sexual advances on a daily basis because of the way I look. I cannot go into a nearby cafe without some jerk telling me he will give me his house if I give him my heart. I cannot come home to Barbados in peace before the immigration guy is not telling me something smart. I could not sit properly in Berks bar last year before two ministers of the BLP were not sending over complimentary drinks to me my peepets. I would love to take the charge but I know I will be subject too much sexual harassment as bajan men have no control over their urges and think that ever pretty face wants to be laid. I do not like know one touching me because I will floor your ass. I prefer to play a supportive role not taking the lead.

26. Colonel Buggy Avatar

John April 3, 2016 at 1:48 PM #
    … next place for the molasses to appear will probably be the BWA pumping station at Applewhaites.
    And that is possible. The caves in that area are extensive. I mentioned before an account told to me by my father ,of a man who was lifted up from a water well at Strong Hope plantation, while workers of that plantation were fetching water in a large cask from the well. The man, a European, had entered at Cole’s Cave.

27. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Sunshine Sunny Shine April 3, 2016 at 1:57 PM #

To each their own……..I wish you a long and enjoyable life.

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Vincent Haynes

You sound disappointed. Why is that?

29. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Sunshine Sunny Shine April 4, 2016 at 5:36 AM #

Chuckle……at my age,having lived through the era that I did,nothing dissapoints me anymore….all of us have choices,it is all part of the genetic make up of our humanoid being and we should always respect each others choices….thanks for taking the time and engaging with your thinking.

30. @ Vincent
    It has not passed Bushie’s notice that since you landed in Europe …you have been chatting up SSS…. Bushie done know wunna Waterford boys… wunna ain’t nuh good…

Tek care Piece don’t haffa deal wid you….

31. Colonel Buggy Avatar

One of the many excavations seen in the Christ Church area as a result of work being carried out by WMC ,Water Management Caribbean, whoever they are.
    http://i.imgur.com/5IqizkX.jpg?1

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Colonel Buggy

Was there any real geological studies undertaken by Barbados with respect to these caves. I get the impression that the geography of the island is only known as far as its limestone layers, but no further.

33. Many years ago when Margaret Knight the mother of the late David Thompson posted to BU she made a promise to share info about the caves of Barbados. She mentioned a name of a person who had undertaken such a task. The name escapes at the moment.

34. Yes. There’s a lot that the BLP and DLP are tight-lipped about. Regarding water supplies and freshwater lenses; geophysical exploration connected to water supplies; this knowledge is used as a political football.

35. Here is the comment posted by Margaret Knight to BU in 2007.

Persons have been asking on this, and BFP, where are all the caves in Barbados. There must be hundreds of caves, and I do believe that a Government Department should have that answer. However, I can point you in the direction of Mr. Keith Laurie, who knows a lot about “Above Ground Barbados” and “Underground Barbados” (he is my cousin!).
    When I was MUCH younger, I was an avid “spleedunker” (not sure if that is the correct spelling), or, the British term, “potholer”, and I was one of a party, back in 1971, led by Scandinavian Ole Sorenson, who went down into Cole’s Cave. On one of Ole Sorenson’s explorations into Cole’s Cave, he discovered Harrisons Cave. At another time, I, and some other foolhardy idiots, went into a cave just under Durants Village, somewhere in the vicinity of the ridge above Appleby Gardens, St. James. One of my friends go stuck and we had to drag him out backwards by his feet. I have not done any potholing since then! There is another cave (probably many more, in fact) in the Widley area, just under a rise where Rediffusion had its relay station many years ago. Bim is full of caves.

36. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

David April 6, 2016 at 4:47 AM #

Julian Hunte if he is still compos mentis,can shed a lot of light on the caves of Bim as he was also a spelunker and was heavily involved with Sorenson&Laurie.

37. @Vincent

The problem our educated society – where billions have been sunk – is that in the main our people do not record events to ensure there is a formal transfer of knowledge through generations.

Have not seen Julian in recent times and he has also been missing from talk radio.

38. Colonel Buggy Avatar

There is also a story told by people who have long long gone, of a tagged duck being placed in Cole’s Cave to see where it would emerge. The duck reportedly emerged many months later, featherless , at Birds River Land , Deacons Road.

39. Because Golden Ridge reservoir is low, half of the island experienced a water cut today, So what about those two wells in St George which the Minister was bragging about a few weeks ago,that were suppose to alleviate all the problems which the residents of Scotland District are facing.? One of these wells in Sweet Vale was discovered by the Yanks with a 100 feet of water,and the other is an old well reopened at Groves Plantation.

40. In a transparent world of government the minister should see it as his responsibility to get back to the public with an update. As always the public is left in limbo by this government to speculate.

41. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You are so right. The entire geo structure of Barbados underground should have been recorded, mapped and preserve in history’s pages for other generations to be always in the know. Even now the government is not too late to carry out a pilot project on mapping Barbados caves with the type of technology that is available today. All aspects of Barbados development should be recorded in pictures with commentary explaining clearly what were the reasons behind the decision.

42. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Sunshine Sunny Shine April 7, 2016 at 5:49 AM #

Such a record does exist….It was shown in the media at the time of the Arch Cot tragedy.