Jeff_column

“The two real political parties…are the Winners and the Losers. The people don’t acknowledge this. They claim membership in two imaginary parties, the Republicans and the Democrats, instead…” –Kurt Vonnegut

Permit me, dear reader, to explain the caption to this essay. The substance of today’s piece concerns the currently topical issue of the notion of establishment of a “third” political party to rival the entrenched Democratic Labour Party and Barbados Labour Party -although this ordinal inexactitude may be part of the political tradition itself.

In fact, Barbados has nearly always had more than two parties contesting general elections; indeed, in the 2013 election there were no fewer than five, including the Bajan Free Party, the New Barbados Kingdom Alliance and the People’s Democratic Congress in addition to the two major parties.

I do not suspect that most Barbadians are either ignorant of or forget this actuality but, in typical Bajan-speak, they consider a third party to be one that appears to stand a realistic chance of some success at the polls, even if that success does not directly translate into an electoral triumph or even more than one seat. Hence, while the People’s Democratic Congress [PDC], for example, was as equally unsuccessful in 2013 as the National Democratic Party [NDP] was in the 1994 elections, yet the popular perception was that the NDP was a “third” party while the PDC was not. Which might also say something about our classist-prone political analysis, but so it is.

Even the current national conversation makes specific reference to a third party, even though those others that contested the 2013 elections have now constructed themselves in to an alliance called the CUP, a veritable party of parties. It might be particularly relevant to the present point that I cannot now recall the meaning of that acronym.

Hence, it is not strictly accurate to speak of a “third” party per se; but rather of a “next” party, a term that will resonate with those familiar with the Barbadian vernacular.

It is noteworthy that the most frequently quoted local political scientists have, to a man, scoffed at the chances of a next party in the upcoming electoral fray, although I believe that that sentiment is based principally on a “win-a-majority-of-the seats-or-go-home” analysis, rather than that of such a party playing any role as a coalition partner to either of the two established parties that should secure fewer seats.

And yet, there is an inescapable and necessary logic to the idea of another political party in Barbados. In the first place, it is a patent exercise of the constitutionally guaranteed freedom of association and, perhaps, even that of freedom of expression. Indeed, these forms of freedom find specific joint expression in the Constitution of Trinidad & Tobago, where section 4 (e) guarantees “the right to join political parties and to express political views…” There is no reason to suspect that our constitutional freedom is dissimilar, even though not identically expressed.

Second, its existence might be considered a natural consequence of the 2013 result where, as a result of the popular indecision as to which party should form the next governing administration, we nearly had the phenomenon of a hung parliament with all of its messy constitutional implications. History will record that subsequent developments have now tempered somewhat the original closeness of that result.

Third, the results of a recently published poll, for what these are worth, appear to suggest that a significant number of those surveyed are not opposed to the idea of another party, although I do not now recall that its leader, whoever he or she might be, was listed among those that the respondents would prefer to see lead the next governing administration.

Further research reveals however that the question was never directly asked; the core objective in that regard being “to identify the individual most suited to lead Barbados, the DLP and the BLP”. The current absence of an identifiable figure as leader of a next partisan grouping would of course have conduced to the absence of any positive response, substantial or all, in his or her favour.

In spite of its logical necessity, however, the next party faces some rather substantial odds, given the local partisan political environment. One of these is the entire commercialization of modern electoral competition in Barbados. This pertains not only to the enormous costs of mounting a campaign that will need to be funded by sympathetic patrons with rather deep pockets, but also the relatively recent phenomenon of some electors placing a value in money or money’s worth upon their individual franchise, a practice that might have become too entrenched to be displaced anytime soon. This, too, would place a significant financial barrier on the electoral viability of any new organization.

These monetary considerations apart, the new party will face, as would equally the established ones, the difficulty of persuading a cynical electorate of the earnestness of its manifesto representations. Given the patent absence of trust and confidence that appears currently to subsist between the political organization and the public, with almost every policy measure now evoking populist suspicions of a less than ethical intendment, it is difficult to imagine that an identical association of individuals will be any more convincing in its proposed policy objectives.

In light of the above, it may reasonably be concluded therefore that while the interests of democratic choice requires, nay, demands, the institution of a credible next party, it appears also that its formation and participation in the next general election do not guarantee it an automatic passport to the seat of government or even to the balance of power by its candidates wining a sufficient number of or, indeed any, parliamentary seats. It must be prepared for the long haul. It must have an attractive and credible message and its members must be able to capture the popular imagination as competent and caring managers of the society, corporation and brand Barbados Inc.

I am currently reading a book, “The Professor and the Madman”, written by Simon Winchester in 1998, about the making of the Oxford English Dictionary. The following passage is most apposite to the present discussion: –

“When conceived it was a project of almost unimaginable boldness and foolhardiness, requiring great bravura. Risking great hubris. Yet there were men in Victorian England who were properly bold and foolhardy, who were more than up to the implicit risks. This was, after all, a time of great men, great vision, great achievement. Perhaps no time in modern history was more suited to the launching of a project of such grandiosity…Grave problems and intractable crises threatened more than once to wreck it. Disputations and delays surrounded it. But eventually -by which time many of those great and complicated men who first had the vision were long in their graves – the goal…was duly attained.”

The question clearly begs asking -Do we currently have such men… and women in our midst?

47 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Political Tradition and the “next” Party”

1. @Jeff

Even the current national conversation makes specific reference to a third party, even though those others that contested the 2013 elections have now constructed themselves in to an alliance called the CUP, a veritable party of parties. It might be particularly relevant to the present point that I cannot now recall the meaning of that acronym.

Cruel!

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

No you do not have such men and women in your midst, unless they to plan to follow the pattern of corruption…if these men and women do exist, they will be successfully barred from entering the fray…and i will tell you why..

“This pertains not only to the enormous costs of mounting a campaign that will need to be funded by sympathetic patrons with rather deep pockets, but also the relatively recent phenomenon of some electors placing a value in money or money’s worth upon their individual franchise, a practice that might have become too entrenched to be displaced anytime soon.”

Calling them sympathetic patrons is a bit much, since they were allowed for decades to make their millions off the backs of the same electorate, in essence, they will be just carrying on and continuing the tradition of funding both political parties.

The political party that entices the electorate with the most lies, pays the most money to buy votes, the candidates who stick the most knives in each other’s back to engineer the loss or win of seats….this would be the deciding factor for how many more million dollar contracts are given out to the campaign funders and how many more decades of concessions are given to those who can pay the most bribes to politicians….the people/electorate is the vehicle currently used, to make this all happen.

Thrre is no room in that equation for a third party, unless a new funder/briber enters the process, with enough money to either prop up a new party through the whole process right up to the parliament doors, or is wealthy enough to fund 3 political parties, which will equate to more loss to the taxpayers since even more bribes will have to be paid to ensure the issuance of more million dollar government contracts and even more concessions will have to be given….in their world, it’s all about more and more greed…the people are merely the vehicle.

Once again, the electorate comes out the loser, for generations to come….unless that vicious cycle is broken, by the politicians, so who will be the first in either political party to refuse campaign funding and win an election based solely on merit and past performances and not on campaign financing from the minority who seek to make millions and seek favors from the relationship….while relegating the population to mere consumers who enrich them all.

3. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“I am currently reading a book…about the making of the Oxford English Dictionary”…

@Jeff, I don’t think I ever once stopped and reflected on that …the making of the dictionary. Strangely, I have reflected on the ‘origins and making’ of words…like why is this or that word considered a ‘bad’ word – as we say in Bim – and other origins and purposes but I always just took the Dictionary of words for granted.

In a comparative sense it seems that many citizens accept the existence of a political party similarly.

A reading of the formation of the BLP/ DLP or that of the Tories and Liberals in England or of the Dems and Republicans in US does reflect that “when conceived it was a project of almost unimaginable boldness and foolhardiness…” and indeed they all took time to properly solidify with the citizens.

But this is a modern era of rapid growth (and rapid denouement) based on modern technology. So although a modern party requires the same gravitas as any of the others mentioned it can more quickly establish itself and propagate its message than they could.

The amazing thing is that given the technology we have today those Victorian folks would have completed that Oxford dictionary in short shrift.

So I am convinced that we have those who can incite and achieve this political next party goal efficiently and quickly…then they have to diligently work to solidify.

But do they have the “boldness and foolhardiness” to run the gauntlet for the length of time needed to solidify.

4. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Jeff @@@@@@ Coalition of Unified Parties = CUP The NEXT Party

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

There are such men but nor enough to constitute a party far less a government.

6. …and you know that how Caswell?
    It sometimes only take ONE enlightened man, …with the necessary balls and commitment, to do the right thing….

What are you waiting for…? …a groundswell of honesty and nationalism…?
    …from a population of mendicant, brass bowls ..that has been raised on the principle of WIIFM?

It is OBVIOUS that you, Jeff, Walter and some others have what it takes to provide the needed leadership…. even though the lotta brass bowl jokers will probably react like the proverbial swine being provided with pearls in the process…

BUT wunna would have done WHAT IS RIGHTEOUS and proper in the circumstances….
    Bushie would even help wunna… 🙂

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea.

As I was here reading this brilliant essay by Jeff, even more brilliant because one of its posits relied on examination of “the making od a dictionary” (can you imagine the caliber of mind that would read that type of book? Sheer explorative genius!) but as I was reading what hit me was this.

“Fain would I climb but I fear to fall” from Sir Walter Raleigh’s remark to Queen Elizabeth I and her response ” if thy heart fail thee, climb not at all” or something to that stead.

I have called Adamson and David Come Sing a Song some unflattering names BUT truth be told, as I perused Jeff’s brilliance on this topic it dawned on me the absolute self confidence these two men had to have had to take the road of ridicule that they had to subject themselves to.

That altar of public service, in addition to money, and savvy, and deep pockets and commensurate technology, needs balls.

“What if I lose?” or worse still, do not even get back my deposit? you imagine the bruises to their egos? The shame? The sniggers? The ridicule?

These good men face this faceless bogeyman EVEN BEFORE THEY GO TO THE TREASURY TO PAY THAT DEPOSIT,!

And so Bush Man even you, in offering your support, exemplify the nature of this first hurdle, for even though you pledge to give them support, as would the ole man, were I younger, we technically recognize the psychology of what they contend with, even in the starters’ blocks

Tarry a while with me while I go yonder to pray…and when Jesus came back they were asleep

8. @PUDRYR

it seems Jeff has a way of coaxing those with the Shakespere background to share. Are you able to encourage Ronald ‘wejonesing yuh brute’ Jones to contribute? Maybe from the CUP ‘rosesareredvioletsarebkue’?

9. @Jeff
    Timing is everything and the timing has never been more apt for a third Party, but whoever forms/leads that would face a myriad of challenges.

About those challenges, as you pointed out the partisan nature of politics in Barbados generally precludes a third party from achieving success so any prospective leader must arrive with a high profile not just a talking head on TV or an inveterate letter write in the media, nor an academic from the Hill, but someone who is already in Parliament and commands support beyond the mantle of a Party. Someone who arrives with their own legions and can articulate a vision that Bajans can identify with, someone who can recruit candidates who have demonstrated a commitment to serving others and not interested in feathering their own nest. Candidates who come from beyond the narrow coterie of people who have offices in Coleridge street or its environs.

I don’t see any person who would fit in that box in the present composition of Parliament or on the horizon so I’ve effectively nullified the above.

I think that the public would reluctantly vote for the present Opposition not because they have any love or confidence in their ability to get the job done but in a belief that the incumbents have outlived their usefulness and despite the feeling of ambivalence that many people have for the leader of the Opposition.

So what’s the public to do? Its between the Devil and the deep blue sea, from the frying pan to the fire and between a rock and a hard place or in the words of that great philosopher Yogi Berra “it will be déjà vu all over again”.

10. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Sarge, you might have added, quite rightly, between Scylla and Charybdis!

11. I note that we are looking for “Him” to lead the battle for the rescuing of our country but what about “Her”………in this day and age all hands on deck are required and a leader will emerge of whatever gender.

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

The venerable Vonnegut also penned…”True terror is to wake up one morning and discover that your high school class is running the country”. Amen.

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

noted in diaspora….MECC’s condo finally sold.

14. Thanks Northern, what does it portend you think?

15. @ Piece
    These good men face this faceless bogeyman EVEN BEFORE THEY GO TO THE TREASURY TO PAY THAT DEPOSIT
    Absolutely correct…. and indeed one of the requirements of qualification would be to have previously suffered the tragedy of failure ….and to have come to grips with the reality that in life, one is ONLY REQUIRED to do one’s honest best….. not one bit more…

THAT, …Piece, ..is the definition of life success.

Both Caswell and Walter understand what it is to have been rejected after genuinely seeking to make valuable contributions….an attribute that Grenville is yet to endure…. (Never mind Jeff, he is bright enough to learn this without having to experience failure… 🙂 )

So even if BUP got only three votes, they would know that they PLAYED THEIR PART in the salvation of Barbados…. (if they got less than three votes… then we gotta take another guard …ha ha ha..) whereas if they don’t, our collective asses will definitely be grassed…..

So even with your proviso…. we have the required people….but…
    Do THEY have the will…?

16. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@Vincent,

The question clearly begs asking -Do we currently have such men… and women in our midst?

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

that she is one of the few people to lose $$$ on a real estate deal in Toronto in recent history, and those to whom she owes will be taking a haircut.

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

The beauty of politics, is you only need proof of citizenship and a heartbeat to play. That places it one level above the oldest profession, where you only need a heartbeat. Otherwise the two professions are indistinguishable. [MOI]

19. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Jeff Cumberbatch March 20, 2016 at 1:11 PM #

It is a good question and was answered in another spot by non other than SSS as follows.

Sunshine Sunny Shine March 19, 2016 at 4:40 PM #

Vincent

Nothing would please me more than to come back home to Barbados and try to change things. But, as you know, a war is not fought by one soldier unless you are Rambo. People like me left Barbados because I wanted to be accepted for what was in my head and not what was between my legs. As you know, there are about three main ways to get a job and rise to the top in Barbados.

20. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Can my 2.00pm become more reader friendly?

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Everyone should be aware by now how I look at things….as it is Mia is now the one responsible with opening the door for people equipped and willing to form and successfully implement a thid party….she will also be responsible for ending the decades old corrupt relationships between the minorities, some of whom she herself accepts campaign financing from and is friends and bosom buddies with…..and her government in waiting.

If she dont make the necessary changes to protect the Bajan taxpayers, there will be hell to pay.

I am sure she herself is by now realizing that a third party can take the pressure off her…she also deserves the pressure she will get…if she continues the tradition of corruption.

22. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Sargeant at 12:42 PM…we are all enjoying some speculative commentary and I presume we are all using some baseline of history to inform that speculation. I presume that is the formula which guided your remark that ” any prospective leader must arrive with a high profile… someone who is already in Parliament and commands support beyond the mantle of a Party.” But may I enquire, WHY?

We all understand the two basic reasons – well three really – why lawyers enter the fray 1) the legal knowledge to deal with legislation 2) the ability to get right back to work if not on the front bench or not elected and probably most important of all 3) the public recognition to build their law practice …. that’s just what it is!

…. but why do you perceive that in this modern era that a new leader for a political party must be already in the House or even in politics? Why?

Doesn’t that basically suggest that we are forever wedded to being gullible and malleable if we condemn the corruption that exists and yet say so boldly to ourselves that we can do NO BETTER than to elect those already a part of the corruption!

You are saying that there is no strong confident man or woman of Bajan birth who is fully accomplished and suitably financially comfortable who can command the required attention, and respect that can emerge from inside or outside the country to develop and drive the next party.

Is that based purely on the fact that historically we have never seen such an animal or the despair that we are back to “ déjà vu all over again”? I hear your frustration but certainly don’t share your pessimism.

Politics is a rough game but from all analysis it’s still about the electorate and gaining their confidence.

So the question really is – in my view- are Bajans willing and able to take away their hand for hand-outs; are we willing to accept that the corruption is actually hurting our development and make a change!

If no, then you are right such an animal of a leader for any next party will never exist…but..
    … if we are ready for change then such a leader CAN emerge.

A bit counter intuitive and gobble-speak I would admit….but Bajans have got ourselves into this predicament so it’s virtually impossible in my view for any one to get us out other than Bajans…

it’s not about the big money for an election campaign and glossy ads and certainly not about money to buy votes…we need courage, that DESIRE for change and a strong voice to guide! .

Chicken and Egg…

We can speculate as much as we like…nothing will change unless Bajans want it…. As we celebrate 50 that much we should know pellucidly!

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And if Mia dont set the pace for introduction of a 3rd party, she is a fool, seeing as she cannot live forever…it’s about people and country, not about her, party or yardfowls.

24. @ Dribbler
    We can speculate as much as we like…nothing will change unless Bajans want it…. As we celebrate 50 that much we should know pellucidly!
    Unfortunately, while Bajans may think thus…. this is not at all true.
    …you probably mean that nothing will change ‘for the better’….

But things WILL change… one way or the other…..and with or without Bajans….and either proactively ..or reactively…

Right now Trickidadians can influence MAJOR change in Barbados
    Right now Canadians can influence major change bout here…
    …wuh the only people who seem incapable of change are Bajans – especially the government – who seemingly can only move when their strings are yanked – by the other major change-agent in the place – the bribe-masters….

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

On a Point of Order De Ingrunt Word aka De pedantic Dribbler

You Mispoke earlier and should have said ..” The rampant misconception that they have the legal knowledge to deal with legislation and that the House of Assembly HAS TO HAVE those qualifications

97% of the rest of your point I agree with.

Ammm…. I was wondering if I could axe you a question unofficial

AC have in a nex blog call me “de Blog Grammatical Officer” so, sincing you had was change your name, I want your advice on this.

I doan like BGO as an acronym and if I change it to “Blog Officer of Grammar” den I becom BOG and dat ent too impressive.

Now DPD, as you and udders know, I is a short man 5ft 2 ins, but I wanted to get words dat wud spell out sumting like “BIG” like the Blog Inspector (of) Grammar whu you tink?

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece, Bushman…..look, lying Chris Sinckler got outted, with proof….written proof.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/03/20/mia-wants-apology-from-sinckler/

27. @ Jeff,

Forgive me for asking but what makes you believe that an alternative “third party” with a degree of “credibility” will make the slightest of difference to our customary political duopoly. Is it not clear to you and others that after nearly fifty years of political empowerment that both the DLP and the BLP legacies have become increasingly catastrophic, incompetent and corrupt?

Nearly fifty years of failure where the baton has been passed on from Tweedle Dee to Tweedle Dumb and you seriously believe that a third party will make an impact on your domestic politics? The word insanity comes to mind.

I believe that we should take a wrecking ball to the political superstructure and foundation and bulldoze it. We need to start a fresh and create a system that is fit for the twenty-first century. Now I know that with your background that you have to remain neutral and mute. If this idea is too revolutionary than I propose that Barbados should seriously look at introducing the voting system referred to as proportional representation where every single vote counts and to do away with this archaic first past the post system.

28. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

But Exclaimer, you realize, of course, that some party will still form the government? What do you mean that ” Barbados (sic) should seriously look at introducing….? Who, as David often asks, will be the one to bell the cat?

29. @DPD
    I stipulated Parliamentary presence because Bajans have a grudging respect for those who are able to handle the cut and thrust of Parliamentary debate with skill and aplomb. Tom’s reputation was largely built on this after he succeeded St.John as LOO. Outside of Parliament you are just a “talking head” and there’s no shortage of those, who pays attention to Commissiong?

Lawyers enter the fray because for the most part they are independent contractors who don’t have to answer to a “boss” and are immune to pressure from employers.

BTW I don’t share your pessimism that everyone in parliament is tainted by corruption and although I concluded that I didn’t see anyone who fit the profile on the horizon let me share a bit from Ralph Waldo Emmerson to any aspiring politician who may stumble onto this blog: “The power which resides in him is new in nature and none but he knows what that is which he can do nor does he know until he has tried”.

30. Can we say with conviction when the next general election is called Bajans will make different demands of the political class?

31. @ Jeff,

You should be asking how Barbados can reach out to the (un)educated, ignorant, docile, self-hating Negroes who continue to deny their African ancestry. If the Negro Bajan population was truly cognizant of their history they would never have inherited those two corrupt monoliths.

Those two dinosaur parties are happy with the system just as they find it. Why? Both get a share of the spoils when they are in power. To hell with the people!

Proportional representation would put constraints on all parties. The window of opportunity to commit fraudulent acts whilst in power would certainly be narrowed.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences March 20, 2016 at 4:52 PM
    “…look, lying Chris Sinckler got outted, with proof….written proof.”

Outted my donkey. Sincere Stinkler was found out to be a congenital liar for a long, long time now.
    Why do you think he acquired the aptly chosen sobriquet “Stinkliar”?

Prodigal Son and the miller were on his case from very early.
    He Stinkliar is the archangel of liars. Only the devil in the form of dead David can surpass him.

33. @David
    We know what Jeff C is reading, what are folks who frequent this blog reading? Perhaps you could start a segment to gauge what other are reading
    I’ll start with mine:

Ta-Nehisi Coates: Between the world and Me

Olive Senior: Dying to Better Themselves (West Indians and the building of the Panama Canal)

Sebastiao Salgado: Genesis (For those who love nature photography it is the ultimate Coffee table book)

34. I’m not reading any literature but I’m listening to the great drummer musician Max Roach who became an uncompromising civil rights activist. The album in question is called “We Insist”, a cross fertilisation of Be-bop, Hard Be-bop, opera, and free jazz. The music on this album stretches the mind and is deeply spiritual.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller….I know Sinckler’s nickname…now it’s official.

36. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Technology is no substitute for brains. One has to conceive what one wants before using the technology to achieve it. Technology is a tool. Not the reality. That is the mistake the more recent attempt at forming a party is making. There are no meaningful reasons for forming a party besides the apparent dissatisfaction with the current leaderships of the two existing parties. There is no fundamental philosophical issues that the new party is attempting to solve. Jeff your column is on the ball today.

37. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

When the date for the next election is called we will all have an opportunity to choose a government and a party which is most likely to give us the majority of things that we desire. I hope we will all go out and vote for that party most capable of managing the affairs of this country. In the meanwhile please think of what would really make us happier.

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ mr Codrington

You have spoken an universal truth.

“One has to conceive what one wants before using the *** to achieve it. *** is a tool. Not the reality. That is the mistake the more recent attempt at **** is making. ”

The inherent application of your remark to almost every sphere of life, barring GOD, is remarkable.

And this is why when Bush Tea and others beg the Caswell’s and Jeff’s and Walter’s to the altar of public service and they refuse, this is the greater loss BECAUSE THEY HAVE IN THEIR PSYCHE KNOWLEDGE OF WHAT IS NEEDED, UNADULTERATED AFOREKNOWLEDGE which the rest of the bunch don’t and will never acquire during this incarnation

But I have come to realize that many of us love the act of polemics and oral with its commensurate aural counterpart stimulation and socially acceptable public masturbation.

We orgasm on the adulation afforded us per our speeches and writings “man that so and so is a boss, man he have such a way with words, and he us so principled” flowers of human existence that enjoy the title of “flowers born to bloom and waste their scent upon the desert air”

I guess that here under this blanket, hiding the light of the iPad from de true boss of my house, in the dead of the night, white I keep watch for that fellow with the sickle, I see clearly what drives some men to service and others to the doldrums of being unknowns.

Comfort.

I am comfortable here in the warm bed hearing the madam’s breathing knowing that while I am not obeying doctors orders to rest that I am in a zone of partial disobedience that I am comfortable with.

So de ole man likens that to the issue of a third party, where, hundreds of competent citizens like Casswell, and Jeff, and Walter are comfortable in our beds and enjoy the customary gmorning each morning far from the maddening crowd.

The morass will remain until it becomes so unbearable to drive visionaries to the House and to the various halls of public/private endeavour and until then Jeff and his cadre of astoundingly brilliant men will continue to be right as they waste their scent upon the desert air

But this is jes an ole man typing cause I frighten dat once I stop de fellow might get a chance tuh creep up pun muh

39. These kind of discussions show clearly why the political process in our country will remain stagnated and basically non -productive under the BLP/DLP.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

One if the 2 political parties now existing merely to stagnate the island and it’s people must be relegated to dust for something, new and clean, devoid of the strangle hold of corruption that both parties gleefully partake, driven and financed by corrupt business people…..something has to give, enough is enough.

41. We keep calling one party two.

42. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“There are no meaningful reasons for forming a party besides the apparent dissatisfaction with the current leaderships of the two existing parties. There is no fundamental philosophical issues that the new party is attempting to solve.” —————- REALLY.

Seems clear to me that the need to move off a path of being beholden to corporate interests and operating your governance on graft conflict of interest and cronyism is the very same fundamental philosophical reasoning that drove the Syriza party in Greece….to success.

Seems clear to me that its the same philosophical underpinning that drives a Bernie Sanders in the US…and the only reason that he CAN’T go third party like the Greece scenario is based on ‘real politic’ issue in the vast US media market.

Seems clear to me that dissatisfaction with leadership was meaningful enough to drive Dr. Haynes to form a new party and as history records also drove Hon Errol Barrow to form his.

For a very educated and experienced man your remarks which are so obviously unsubstantiated smack of guiding the cart along to the ‘status quo’. Why is that?

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Skinner….although they DBLP are a tag team and interchangeable, ya have to separate them when it’s this close to an election….tell ya why…….we want to be very clear when names are being called as corrupt taking bribes and all manner of crimes against the people….who did or are doing what with whom, we want to make sure that though they pretent to be 2 separate parties, they take bribes from the very same business people…take time Barney.

That’s why I been telling yardfowl AC, it will be no cakewalk for Mia when DBLP are thrown out on their lying deceitful backsides to make room for the other lying, deceitful DBLP.

44. I was unaware that the UK JC of the Privy Council had ruled in 2005 that Jamaica cannot accede to the CCJ within the current or existing Laws of Jamaica,whatever that means because the PC has apparently failed to respond as to what is meant by their ruling.I was unaware also,that the said PC has had two sittings in the Bahamas as one was led to believe that litigants had to go to the UK to be heard and that expense was one of the reasons given for having the highest appellate court within reach of Caribbean combatantants such as Vernon and Hal.The third surprise is that the PC is reaffirming that it would prefer to have the English speaking Caribbean countries remain within the jurisdiction of Her Brittanic Majesty’s Judicial Council of the Privy Council.Surprise,surprise when one was led to believe that the said PC is on record as stating that too much time is taken up with matters from the said Caribbean territories.
    The question is why are we having these ambiguous statements being made.Is it to do with the wealth of the old money that is still in the islands such as Drax,Bulkeley,Carlisle,Trent,
    Lascelles etc

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And these owned politicians who have no balls to stand up to that type of tyranny have the nerve to talk about celebrating 50 years of independence and taking taxpayers money to perpetrate that fraud on the people…….independent of what.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Why cant these titled “independent” leaders assert their independence.

BTW…Simmons is starting to look like what he is…I suppose you also look like what you practice, if you have practiced it for enough decades…the other crooks better take heed.