joseyjose

Several days ago the Nation Newspaper published a letter from an individual. Unfortunately, we did not take note of his name, so, we will call him Mr. Letter Writer (but if any of you remember the letter and the date in which it appeared, please email us).

It seems that Mr. L. Writer was most displeased with Anderson Cherry’s display of the Barbadian flag on his skips. The reason for his displeasure being that a skip is no place to display our flag. Fair enough.

Cherry himself is no stranger to controversy (see here, here and here) and some may wonder: Is the flag on the skip a commercially oriented publicity stunt? Is he being patriotic in his own special way? Or, both?

Read full text @Suck Salt blog

199 responses to “Cherry Picking The Barbados Flag”

1. Alvin is an…..
    ….and does not deserve such extensive psycho analysis.

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC, I speak to Alvin only when I have too. He is in a world by himself. However, he cannot refute my point. My desire is to see our young people inventing and showing their creative skills. Check these out.
    Young Electrical inventor

Young man turns plastic into fuel

And for your viewing pleasure a number of inventiohttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dMxnocxsSfsns that soon will be a reality

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hiiii the last one did not load. Trying again

4. @ SSS
    You can forget any such innovation in Brassbados…. The ‘brilliant’ government just banned the importation of ‘drones’ because someone flew one over a ‘restricted’ area…..

So, instead of dealing with the miscreant, their ‘solution’ is to ban the technology….

This is cutting edge technology that can have innovative implications for agriculture (monitor for praedial larceny), fire fighting, mapping, lifeguard effectiveness (deliver life vest to bathers in trouble..) and literally HUNDREDS of other uses.

….but because of lazy, ineffective law-enforcement officials and inept government officials, this country will rule itself out of any future innovative involvement. Then next year we will borrow a few million to buy the same equipment to assist our lifeguards – from China…. (where they OPENLY ENCOURAGE THE TECHNOLOGY)

Talk about donkey-holes….. !!!

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Bush Tea

Convenient excuses to hide the real truth why such technology has to be subjected to a one-year ban for review purposes. You honestly think these politicians and their comrades would want the latest of these hi-tech drones with facial recognition programming to follow and record their movements at a preset height in stealth mode? All of what you stated are the advantages of what this technology can do to assist in meaningful ways. All they can see is a threat to privacy and the problems such a technology could bring.

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Bush Tea March at 8:17 AM …have they banned in as a finality or have they banned it’s non-governmental use!

I imagine that SOME of the authorities are as keen minded as you are and recognize the unlimited potential as you noted but the misuse by such miscreants is also quite real and potentially catastrophic.

Personally I am unable to comprehend how these ‘Jettison era’ drones as envisioned by the usage plans of the Amazons/FedEx etc of this world will work within the context of properly respecting ‘air and land space’.

Drones are perfect as weapons of war and indeed as you mentioned above (when under the control of a government authority or otherwise closely controlled).

But if after all these years we still manage to have so many vehicle deaths on the road how can we unleash this technology to all and sundry and expect not to experience similar serious operational pains..and the really big problem is that the catastrophes can be so much greater.

So until the technology can be properly managed (identifiers/trackers, technological height limitation, collision detectors with some type of avoidance system et al) this is going to be a hard road to hoe.

But yes an outright ban speaks to lack of proper analysis.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ SSS

Wow!!!

The 15 year old inventor from Sierra Leone Kevin is absolutely incredible!!

I am speechless, a rarity, but nonetheless.

Let me be frank and share with you why my black donkey is speechless

Well Well and Consequences AT 7.14 am this morning enunciated the full cycle of betrayal that these young minds face in BuLFVCKINGBADOS!!

This is the the silent “rapist” of all young gullible young inventors and innovators that we are seized with, THE SCUM OF THE EARTH!!

Ohhhh yessssss WW&C has summarized what the real problem is – environment that does not nurture because instead of nurturing it wishes to rape – from ministry interface with whom one shares concept documents and ideas, through the minister, through the Bank on Me’s and the Barbados Entrepreneur Foundations, the Enterprise Growth Funds – all entities that are bereft of any idea, technically tasked with the responsibility of enabling innovation, seeks to position themselves as beneficiaries of the proceeds of that technology and effect the rape.

Imagine that a Phd student at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology uses the little bargaining power that he would have accumulated at M.I.T to effect a 3 week attachment for such brilliance yet our own Cardinal Warde that Alvin speaks of so reverently, a man who has been at M.I.T for umpteen years, seems unwilling rather incapable of establishing a permanent conduit between Barbados and M.I.T but is content to run summer vacation camps where corporate entities are asked to subscribe yearly to a programme which frankly seems to be there to generate $$ to line one man’s pocket during their retirement.

Show us the successes of S.T.E.M over the years. Where are its statistics? Where are its outputs at the national level? Until you are able to do that then all you are doing is running an O’Level Institute where the courses regurgitate CXC curriculii and our enrollees complete the summer stint and “die” in obscurity.

Only for the same shyte to be refreshed the following year with new suckers, Caribbean Export refashioned for the ICT sector.

Black People are our own worst enemy, “Massah” only has to leave us alone AND WE WILL IMPLODE, because it is in our nature to rape ourselves like the black soldiers are being encouraged to do by their leaders as pay for their military services

8. @ Dribbly
    But if after all these years we still manage to have so many vehicle deaths on the road how can we unleash this technology to all and sundry and expect not to experience similar serious operational pains..and the really big problem is that the catastrophes can be so much greater.
    You are of course right…….given the present level of incompetence, lack of vision and overall ineptness that we call governance.

Bushie was of course talking about an environment managed by INTELLIGENT and COMPETENT leadership….
    EVERYTHING in life can be used for good and for evil …even love. The kind of logic therefore, that seeks to ban specific things based on their potential for evil is well …childish (to avoid using another term that Bushie would be tempted to use)

‘Kitchen knives’ probably account for thousands of injuries and deaths every year, as an example…..and don’t even talk about stairways…..

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Pedantic Dribbler

I see that you are talking using the future conditional “So until the technology can be properly managed (identifiers/trackers, technological height limitation, collision detectors with some type of avoidance system et al) this is going to be a hard road to hoe…”

And therein lies my tears.

I weep because IT IS THE FUTURE CONDITIONAL AND THAT, whereas a hunkie will see that their immediate development of such an interdiction mechanism contra drones, a “defeat switch” mechanism – ONE RING TO RULE THEM ALL, which overides all circuitry when they come into drone restricted corridors you in classic “pedantic” style have, like the rest do, assigned the solution to the problem, to “until the problem can be properly managed”

Yet denizens like us, who supposedly seeing the problem, ARE ABSOLUTELY INCAPABLE OF SEEING THE SOLUTION or at least one of them.

Imagine the value of such defeat mechanism as it relates to drone management!!

But again I will say that some of us will forever be HEWERS OF WOOD AND DRAWERS OF WATER

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

America with all its warts opens doors for every innovative, creative brain on this earth…the jackasses, politicians, business houses etc…seek to steal from and destroy the bright inventorstors in Barbados, dangerous, destructive people.

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

Do not retract one single word of what you said, you are spot on.

You are speaking of “active self actuation”, a state of “constant on”, De Pedantic Dribbler is talking about “spontaneous self combustion” waiting until the solution presents itself. which frankly, knowing his potentialities, surprises me as I don’t know why he would make such a statement which relies on “a solution from out there”

My comment about the goodly M.I.T professor will elicits automatic “loyalty responses” from many.

So before that dribble starts, as visible evidence of my posits, I invite the loyalist to view the site at http://caribbeanscience.org/ and research the site in its entirety

Unlike many, I am inclined to do research on these matters aided by me grandson who has a tool called “sitesucker” a fancy ting that seems to do some sort of archiving and allows you to compare content changes.

I ent so bright pun dem tings so all i does do is cut and paste.

Here is an excerpt for your reading pleasure “SPISE (Student Program for Innovation in Science and Engineering) is offered for 4 weeks each summer by the Caribbean Science Foundation to the brightest 16-18 year old students interested in pursuing careers in science and engineering. ..” So we establish that this is a yearly ting.

Then let us move on to the carefully crafted comment “SPISE offers workshops which coach the students on how to optimize their chances of admission with financial aid to the world’s top universities. As a consequence, students from previous SPISE classes are now studying at top universities, including Stanford, MIT,….blah blah blah”

My point is that unlike the young Sierra Leonain? MIT coordinator David there does not seem to be one instance at the seasoned Professor’s site where we see that “as a consequence of the specific classes/S.T.E.M sponsorship one of our our local equivalents to the “Kevin” in the you tube item provided by my girl friend Susanne, is now studying at blah blah”

One could easily say that, for the six years that the organisation has been in existence, it not only has not found an equivalent of Kevin, but has been unable to leverage the currency of its principal into direct relationships between regional denizens and the ICT world and is only piggybacking on what any West Indian would do i.e. apply to Stanford, and the other top Universities

I almost forgot to mention the seeming, or it that “requisite”. lick poochism “SPISE concluded on Friday August 14 with final project presentations by the students, which was open to the public. The audience included: Dr. DeLisle Worrell, Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados; Dr. Hon. Esther Byer, Minister of Labour, Social Security and Human Resources Development of Barbados…”

We don’t give one rat’s donkey who came to view the activity really, what this ostentatious list should include is the name of every one of the students WHO WERE, LIKE KEVIN, ABLE TO BLAZE A PATH ACROSS THE ICT cosmos.

But then again de ole man does use udder metrics to measure success and meaningfulness and doan get tie up in the pagentry and the titles

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces granted that the ‘future conditional’ situation has “assigned the solution to the problem” as you so expertly noted. But what can a society do, what?

When the Wright Bros developed their flying machine was there not a solution that was circumscribed by problems which had to be regulated as that machine became ubiquitous?

NASA no longer does outer space on their own basically but (as I am positive you know) for generations they basically banned private to-space explorations….now that’s their vehicle (pun intended) to outer space.

—– So tell me again how this new landscape of citizen use drone technology does not basically fit the same dilemma! We both know this technology is not NEW…has been used by US and others for years…but now that its been perfected to the proverbial n’th degree its truly now ready for full scale commercialization. But that must be PROPERLY managed.

—– Where in the world except Germany and the mid-East desert roads are cars allowed to travel at 100 miles/hour as they like? How long ago now did Ford commercialize cars again !

So my friend I am pedantic because I write here. I am not like your grandson with super left brain inventive skills or like your buddy Bush Tea with his maths wizardry inventions either. I can also digest what you inventors do and then analyze and look at best options…pedantic is as pedantic does. LOL

Some inventions create more problems than they solve..until those created problems can be managed the invention is generally carefully used…
    —- has always been so throughout life so I am unsure whey we should start to stop that now!

@Bushie your logic defeats me…not for the first time. You remind me of a Math teacher from my days in First Form. Really erudite and intelligent man but his views on the youth of the day were absolutely strange — to say the least….but a cool guy, nonetheless.

One cannot legislate for stupidity or ignorance, obviously. But any government is being negligent if they allow a technology or process to be exposed to all citizens – without proper controls – when its pellucid that miscreants and idiots can abuse same to the detriment of many.

So yes knives are dangerous that’s why they are banned as a concealed item when strolling around in public. Stairways can be dangerous…that’s why they are regulations on how they must be constructed…cars at high speed can be lethal..that’s why there are posted speed limits….a nuclear bomb is earth ending and that’s why the world will ban and CRUSH North Korea before their leader develops one….and on we can go.

Thus the “kind of logic….that seeks to ban specific things based on their potential for evil is well …” REAL and PRACTICAL.

Anyhow, Bushie that math teacher was quite smart and I certainly couldn’t match wits with him and neither can with you; so let’s agree to disagree.

13. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My sweet Piece

Does he not make your heart melt? Such a little darling. To see what he is doing at 15 and how impressed his MIT overseers were just blesses my heart. You think we have any 15 years in Barbados inventing things we do not know about?

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Sweet Suzanne,

There are many, hundreds yea even thousands who are equally talented in diverse areas but here is the thing.

We have the potential to change our economic circumstances right under our feet!

But the thing is that like the proverbial “if a tree falls in the woods and there is no one there to hear it, does it make a noise” conundrum the problem is not with the thousands of Bajan Einsteins it is with the stewards and Stuarts WHO SIMPLY can’t see!!

Two men are passing a party which says “Bald Men Convention – Only baldies allowed” and when they look through the window they see some exquisite damsels on the inside (let us say that all looked like you).

The bouncer who is letting the people in is blind but what he does is that he feels up the heads of the entrants when they reach him.

The men by the way have full shocks of hair and are stumped until one fellow has a brilliant idea.

He takes off his pants and underwear, skins a cuffin, and walks on his hands to the bouncer who proceeds to rub his hand over the mans bald posterior while saying “man you bald, you so bald till you crack” and allows him in the party!

My pint is quite simple beauteous one.

Spencer Silver the investor of the Post It Note, was trying to develop a super-strong adhesive for 3M laboratories in 1968 and failed. However he had the vision to comprehend that instead of a superglue he had invented the opposite: an adhesive that stuck to objects but could be easily lifted off.

You understand what “vision” is my darling? The ability to “see” the potentialities in things that others CANNOT.

So you understand what these successive administrations have been doing in their greed and nepotism?

Appointing blind bouncers as the gatekeepers of our National Development strategy proud of their yearly announcements of “come on in, you sooo bald till you crack”

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My sweet piece

You know I only put that profile of my eyes shut for you. I am not a vain person, just a real bitch when I wannabe. Will send you full picture of my face but not my body. Do not want you to get cardiac arrest. Maybe Alvin can take the pic to some expert and see if he can figure the rest of me to lay his charge that I defame him. Oops I forgot AC too. Lord now AC gine come after me. Woooo is me.

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

Have no fear like the Lone Ranger I going get my sturdy steed and ride that horse to protect you.

Oh dear, i don’t have no horse nearby and may have to revert to riding one of the Animal Chariots to save you which, now that i think of it, since they are both ACs, will defeat the purpose lolol.

I saw the picture and was ammmmmm… quite ammmmmmm … we gots to be careful causing dere is a fellow by de name uh Hants dat does be here looking and ting and know sum uh my bizness already.

Nonetheless the picture is very beautiful so, in order to keep me heart going, i will only look through one eye, to halve de excitement…

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

There are very talented, skilled young people on the island, but too many adults wait to steal their ideas…then the same adults pretend to wonder why the young people are so angry…..hypocrites.

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

You got any proof to substantiate your claim. Cuzing I ain’t see nothing invented since my fater told me about the racing carts and tractors dem use to mek back in the dey?

My sweet Piece

So you are going to left me to the ACs to get hang? You who say love me!

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS….David has had a young man on here posting called David…he can give you all the info re stolen inventions, Piece can also give you info.

The people I know personally who had their ideas stolen by bank employees, government employess etc are still angry enough to take these so and so thieves out…..I suggest you ask around for info on the subject when you are in Barbados again.

If anyone of those blighted thieves had stolen any idea from me, it would have been their last tiefing venture…they have learned the art of stealing very well….from the politicians.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Noooo SSS, I will not leave you alone.

I will have to look for another means of transportation.

Some have suggested the brooms of witches and warlocks or a plain jackass, but since that again points us to you know who, I will have to look for another means.

I dont want you on any broomsticks so that again rules out that hag.

As to your request for proof, i have proof for you.

Easily 20 “instances of proof” and that is only among the ones de grandson knows about

They are thieves all of them seeking to profiteer on the gullible.

We are putting together a brief on a certain group of so called “national facilitators” who everyone getting sucked into their shyte too and as soon as that is finished that will be published here.

it shall neither be mine nor thine should be the mentality of all persons who are raped by the system.

We all need to learn from Putin.

You bomb Metrojet Flight 9268 on Saturday, October 31 2015 and Russia bombs the living daylights out of ISIS AND, HERE IS THE AND THAT WE MUST OBSERVE, not one more incident will happen to Russians anywhere in the Middle East!!

Russia doan play that Geneva Convention shyte my sweet one.

We are at war with these bureaucrats, we are in mortal combat. This is not a game this is our lives so you kill one of mine and i kill 200 of yours and you either stop or the next time I kill 400, expose them to be the scum that they are with their own internal memos and intra-personal email.

Mia now learning how to play that game by accessing the letter-headed documents from the registry where they are teifing and telling Stinkliar “deal with dat”

I am on my way to the castle where the evil ogre has you locked up so hold out

I will reach you by railway, I will reach you by trailway
    I will reach you on an airplane, I will reach you with your mind

I will reach you by a caravan, Cross the desert like an Arab man
    I don’t care how I get there bt I’ll get there when I can

Young miss you got de ole man singing Oleta Adams instead of Gladys Knight and the Pips “midnight train to georgia

21. @WELL WELL, PIECE AND SSS,
    PUT THIS IN YOUR PIPE AND SMOKE IT.
    In Barbados there are restrictions on where one can fly a kite. There is legislation defining where these areas are. The reason stated is that these areas are within the landing and taking off flight corridors for aircraft. Each year before kite flying season the areas are broadcast on radio on a regular basis. Does that stop people from flying kites in those areas? No way. Even though it is a danger to planes and passengers people still fly kites in those areas. Can you imagine what would happen if a person controlling a drone lost control of it and it took off near the airport just as a 747 was taking off or landing, and it flew into the engine of the aircraft? Mind you the plane has a passenger load of three hundred. All the hand wringing would not help after the disaster has occurred. I prefer government to take preemptive action and ban them. Right now drones are only playthings with a high propensity for danger.
    I agree with government, for I can see these things in the hands of our indisciplined youth. One of them is sure to “see what would happen if he flew it near the airport. ”
    CATASTROPHE.!!!!

22. @WELL WELL, SSS, PIECE
    ,I INVITE ALL OF YOU TO CHECK OUT: TROY R. WEEKES, ON YAHOO. I ALREADY MENTIONED HIM AND HIS APP, EASY LEARNER, RE HIS EZ LEARNER FLIGHT SIMULATOR. IT SPEAKS FOR ITSELF. THERE ARE MANY OTHERS. When I was young many young people used to indulge in building radio sets. The young people could not afford to buy short wave radio sets to listen to overseas stations (there was no CBC or local stations, so everyone had to buy radio sets like Phillips, Grundig etc. Older people can tell about them. Like Kevin many young people had the same curiosity and inventiveness. Many built their own short wave radios. Nt denigrating Kevin or his achievements, but he is no more unique than some of my compatriots.
    While you are at it check out http://www.beepcab.com, a local app for summoning taxicabs developed by a young cajan lad.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins March 21, 2016 at 9:25 PM
    “Nt denigrating Kevin or his achievements, but he is no more unique than some of my compatriots.”

But you Alvin are not only unique but an absolute gem of perfect nationalism.
    So why are you sitting on your “fat” ass enjoying a pampered life in Canada when you should be back in your homeland Bim giving back to your beloved DLP country in her most crucial time of need?

The same way you see the young people not only talking the talk but also walking the walk so too can you before you kick the inevitable bucket and spilling all of that creamy intellectual milk you so loyally carry around in your cowardly cranium.

24. Alvin Cummins March 21, 2016 at 8:50 PM
    Actually I was surprised a few weeks ago to see a drone in flight in the Kingsland/ Lodge Road area, Ch Ch, which are supposed to be restricted kite flying areas. One other item that we seem to have overlooked so far, until it has become a raging problem is the use of laser beams, the same type that has scared a few pilots in recent times. These lasers area now seen as play things to spot on individuals as they walk by.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They will stupidly soot one of those beams on someone who is packing and then rue the day…idiots.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

*spot

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, you does wax real Timothhy Callender when you ready fah real. I certainly ain’t intruding between you and the lovely lass but your Putin commentary caught my eye.

As accurate as you may be re strong man Putin’s motives an enquiring mind would also ask why would ISIS poke de Bear like that? Surely they would have presaged such a strong response from Putin.

So is it not just as feasible that they wanted to provoke that response to form the basis to incite another round of Muslim religious warfare in the Caucases area of the Russian Bear’s sphere?

Just a query….I am not a geo-political expert as some here but the ISIS leaders had performed very well to that time as a military unit in their dehumanizing and sadistic way. Therefore, it seems remarkable that they would make such an insipid mistake to attack that Russian plane and open themselves to blistering Russian anger.

….so one can argue that it was either a Western instigated plot to nudge the Bear (and that would be insanely dangerous) or that the ISIS instigated terror attack had deeper implications.

28. Is Hard Rock Cement now the official adhesive of the Government of Barbados?

The $7Million, 50 th Independence song and dance has been written in stone. ” Bajans know the price of everything and the value of nothing”

The decision to decommission the Belleplaine Police,has been written in stone .
    The residents at a recent meeting, were told that their presence, with officials of the RBPF, would not change anything.

The decision of the Mercy Committee in Barbados is written in stone, and cannot be challenged by any court.

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Alvin Cummins

The technology is not the problem no more than Chris Sinckler tries to come over as honest and upright. The same way how you can jump on the bandwagon because one miscreant, as Bush Tea stated, decided to do shite with the technology does not mean that the entire island should be robbed of its advantages. Why don’t you ask for anticorruption and integrity legislation to be passed in light of Chris Sinckler bold face lies. I think it would be more productive if the same way how these people can enact legislation to protect and enable their purposes they surely can enact legislation that makes liars like Chris Sinckler accountable for his wrong doings.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Now you see why they refuse to enact anti corruption, integrity and frredom of information legislation, they are all practicing liars, corrupt and intend to keep information hidden from the taxpayers.

31. @ Dribbles
    @Bushie your logic defeats me…
    Tell Bushie about it…. That is the story of a Bushman’s life…
    Why do you think Bushie has to delegate Caswell to deal with BUP…? Wunna fellows are unable to follow Bush-logic because it is not of this world….. Caswell’s is…

But Bushie can see your plan … You are a smart fella…
    You are obviously looking to coerce the Bushman to cuss and ‘get-on-bad’, and ‘sin he soul’ …with the hope that BBE would then dis-own Bushie ..and adopt you instead – being as you does write real sweet and convincing…. and you wanna be rich like Bushie…

Don’t waste yuh time Dribbles… 🙂
    BBE like Bushie BAD BAD BAD ….in fact, BAD as shiite…
    So you can FORGET that plan…

Besides, many are called….. (you included), you don’t HAVE to be chosen….like Bushie.

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Alvi Pelvi

What you mean when you say that Kevin no more unique than some of your compatriots?

I am confused by this because if you drawing reference to 4 decades ago I don’t see what that got to do with what we would like to see happening now. Kevin is currently in this era. Do you know anyone in Barbados who currently is getting the same recognition for their electrical inventions like Kevin. Please keep your answer short and sweet Alvi.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin is just jealous of that incredibly talented kid. I am still trying to get him to answer me on why Barbados’ olympians do not have their names on the island’s stadium and running track….are they not Caricom Citizens, are they not Bajan…idiot cant even recognize his own people.

34. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

Barbados has talent just not enough opportunity. I think our school curriculum has served us well but if we want to change this consumer base mentality we have to wet the appetites of the young from old for engineering, creating and innovating.

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Alvin Cummins has outlived his “sell by” date and while I too is an ole man, i am very sorry to say that.

Here is an article by Li Dongsheng, the chairman and CEO of appliance group, someone who should know about the value of innovation much better that Alvi WILL EVER KNOW

http://asia.nikkei.com/Business/AC/China-s-manufacturers-must-innovate-or-else-says-TCL-chief

The CEO said that “Only innovation and a greater emphasis on quality can help Chinese manufacturers weather the country’s economic downturn”

I am of the generation and breed of person who is not too interested in the effort, only the results and to be fair to both the DLP and the BLP, the results on either side of the innovation equation are poor with a capital P.

They live in the same world of Alvi caught up in a time tunnel of Errol Barrow and Grantley Adams whose world is dead and WILL NEVER COME AGAIN

36. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

You guys are being quite harsh on the elderly Alvin…his date for sale is indeed past (as we all will be) but he still has lots of fizz left in his bottle it seems.

A pioneer of awesome innovation Andy Grove (Intel) died this week and he was just a few years younger at 79.

There is the randy still alert Sumner Redstone (CBS, Viacom et al) who is one of those that was quite innovative re the technology surrounding media delivery of content. He is 92.

Fellows like Elson Musk, Zuckerberg and, one day ahead, the lad noted above will make the Grooves and Redstones seem as passe and long forgotten as the days of Barrow and Adams….even as we tend to bypass the old, old names of earlier century innovations.

Embracing innovation and the push toward new concepts is important at every period in life and obviously many older folk did it as well as possible during their time…

So are we lacking the ‘silicon valley’ type incubation centers, the bright brains to populate those centers or the public/private partnership will and support ?

Certainly it’s clear that innovation today is at a completely different level to what it was eons ago and to be on the cutting edge it’s important to be swift, keen , willing to do what may seem impossible and to move completely away from previous norms.

The latter seems to be our greatest challenge.

37. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Dribbler

Alvin Cummins is a pooch licker and one who defends corruption. He believes his quest is to come on here enlighten the ignorant when he just simply shows all how ignorant he is. He is one old man that has not grown wisdom. He would do well to check himself and write differently.

38. SSS,
    Tough!!I may be chronologically ahead of many of you, but I am still perking and the brain is still functioning perfectly well. You should know by now that your epithets don’t mean a ping or pang to me.
    Colonel Buggy,
    A British Airways plane coming in for a landing at Heathrow experienced a laser beam shining on the Pilot’s cockpit. Someone caught it on camera, and the pilot called the tower. It is not only in Barbados that we have idiots snd louts.
    Well Well, following my suggestion to BIDC around 1991 t0 Vere Browne (recently deceased) and Mr. Pounder, an annual Innovators competition was initiate. Since then department of Innovation was added on to the Ministry of Trade and then incorporated into the Ministry of Education. So Government does take the issue of innovation seriously.Check out the work that PhD candidates do for that degree. Each project is original and unique, and the theses are subjected to local and external examiners and defended before that panel.
    Dribbler,
    We are making strides in that area. Only in December I was on a CBC programme and there was a long Barbadian whose IT developments had won the top prize in Latin America, and later in Europe. Check with Tricia from The MIX, he was a guest on her programme. Learn more about the young people, and not depend on assumptions and negativity.

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Alvin you miss completely the point and thrust …SSS and Pieces et al can surely speak for themselves but I clearly understand them to be lamenting the extent and depth of the innovative efforts in BIM over the years.

Certainly that is the context of my remarks above. Absolutely nothing to do with any negativity of our youth or misguided assumptions.

To SSS’s point re your penchant to ‘enlighten’ you need to recognize that it can’t be enough to talk about a BIDC effort back in ’91 to validate modern success. Fah real!

Where are the myriad avenues to different technological options? Where are the successes in the other areas? A PhD program in not an incubator of anything unless those folks are the engine works of an active manufacturing or development process. Are they?

Based on our size and resources (lack of) the question as Pieces alluded to is why are we not providing a supportive framework for innovation by our human capital and also providing the type of fertile environment to encourage outsiders to use that human capital!

That’s the rub!

Too little has been done and we are not wired for innovation and moving into the 21st Century …that , was the thrust of the ‘dated’ remark.

I agree that you still have fizz but by highlighting a passe 1991 program you ABSOLUTELY make the exact point @Pieces scripted: that time is past…the future is here and we are still holding on to old models of the past.

40. What’s passe about the National Innovators’ competition? All I was pointing out was that the need to pay attention to Innovation was posited as far back as 1991. So the attempt to present the need for Innovation as something New, is not new.
    Troy Weeks’ EZ Learner is today not 1991. All the young people who have designed and launched apps, are aLL NEW. Do you know Shannon Clarke? He has been recognized and awarded as a mobile innovator regionally and internationally. Do you know of Khalil Bryan? Check him out. DO YOU KNOW HOW MANY OF THEir innovations have been adopted by outsiders? If Pieces would seek he would see that the framework is there.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…are any of the young people’s innovations being used in Barbados and are they being paid for them…you talk about they being adopted outside, are they being paid for their creations.

42. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Alvin Cummins

Of course, I know they do not mean anything to you, but I know they make you think- DAHHH! Can you not stop acting and be true to yourself? You are one self-absorbed egotistic maniac do you know that? How could one old man believe that a few qualifications, talking to a few big ups, qualify him to educate all others? This twisted weasel-like man seems too got it in his head that all others on here need the occasional history lesson in order for them to understand present day realities. And the thing is, the more you write the more you show up a piece of your egotistic shite. Now I would admit that there are times when one or two of your contributions is worth the read, but those are like solar eclipses, very rear. Do you not see the idiocy of you ways yet? Practically everyone on here describes you the same, but the ignorantitis that you suffer from blocks you from seeing anything. You are an enabler to your administrations corruption and you write on here thinking you are doing them and yourself a great service by trying to point out the folly of what others write and know to be true about this administration. Alvin Cummins, I have the scoop on you, and from those few things told, you are trying to redeem your old soul, but as you know, once a Leopard you can’t change them stripes to Zebra. Have you notice that in all of your writing you believe it is your belief to be critical and hardly objective. Alvi Pelvi, where does Jesus fit in all of this?

43. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

If Alvi Pelvi can provide the list of achievements/achievers who benefited from his innovators idea now incorporated into ________ I would very much appreciate it. I do not want one or two names. I want a list of the names coming forth that were able to benefit themselves and the island after incorporating their genius in Alvin’s innovators idea. And WWC, we must give credit if it was Alvin’s idea because if it was, it was and still is a great idea. It is what Barbados needs to do to get young brains thinking and creating. I also want to know if these innovations resulted in wealth generation for these few people and if the island in return benefited. Now please do not tell me shite about he/she/it from Barbados, but doing great things in the US or Europe. I want to know what great things from these innovations are helping Barbados.I also want to know if we are currently manufacturing these ideas on an industrial scale in Barbados as part of our expansion in commerce via exports. Oh, shoot sorry WWC, Alvin said the innovations were adopted by outsiders – COLUMBUS!!. Since 1991, it is only fair to ask how much innovation, creation and invention emerged from this initiative after 35 years of implementation. What is the level of support during and after? Gotta ask that because you know how things run bout dere.

For Alvin, one of my girl peeps had a brief encounter with a young scientist named Handel Callender. Mr. Callender was pushing to set up the business of converting used oil to biodiesel. Do you know what happen to him and the idea that could have afforded Barbados the opportunity to solve some of its used oil problems while getting a relatively marketable source of fluid for those diesel operated locomotives? I think he was frustrated out of existence. Note I said think, I ain’t got many scoops on this. Will have to call my girl to find out more. Maybe Alvin knows, he is the resident historian with 4 decades of knowledge.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….SSS, I am still waiting for Alvin to answer me, good luck getting that list or any positive answers. He is more than likely trying to think up the best sounding lies to post so as to impress…give him a few dsys.

I do remember that bright young man, I hope they did not literally kill him with frustration, trying to steal his invention.

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

Barbados has endeavoured, and rightfully so, to put in place, a number of things that is meant for the greater good. But, the problem with them all is that they tend to be tampered with or purposefully shrouded in red tape with black locks. They never work the way that they are meant too. Take for instance this disaster fund that Chris Sinckler wants to done- away that was never used. It obvious that he wants that money so the excuse for getting it is that it was never used and so it would be better to put it in another section of the finance of Chris Sinckler for his good pleasure. It does not bother him one bit that a number of people who wanted assistance, a number of people who were promised assistance and a number of people whom the government officials say were assisted but when investigated were never assisted (Judy Thomas comes to mind) is not a priority for him at this time. Chris wants that 35 million just as much as he has no problem using the NIS billions as his personal ATM withdrawal machine. Good things and great ideas have a way of becoming horrible things with bad ideas after certain people get involved with them. This is the main reason why Barbados’ politicians do not want integrity and transparency legislation. Too much to lose when you are in a position to influence how much you want to gain.

46. And here is the Barbados Flag / Colours set below that of T&T. Says a lot!
    http://i.imgur.com/HSh6kK9.jpg?1

47. Howdy! I’m at work surfing around your blog frommy new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts!Keep up the great work!

Take a look at my blog post … get paid survey