Submitted by Suck Salt blog
Former President of the BA, Senator Wilfred Abrahams
Senator Wilfred Abrahams

Dear Senator Abrahams,

We refer to the article “Senator: Workers should ride bikes to work” on Page 6 of the March 9 edition of Barbados Today. In particular, we wish to focus on your recommendations and comments regarding Barbadians and bicycles.

We know you mean well and that you have our best interests at heart. All politicians do. In promoting the benefits of cycling – improved health and reducing traffic congestion – we trust that you yourself ride to work or between short distances and that you walk as well (weather permitting of-course). In fact, we’re confident that you have caught – or currently catch – public transport. A true man of the people! One who follows his own advice!

Read full text @Suck Salt blog

64 responses to “Open Letter to Opposition Senator Wilfred Abrahams”

1. Comedy Central…

2. At the mention of comedy, this amateur is here for Amateur hour.

Since we know this proposal will float de way de Landship floats on water, leh muh change de subject.

It has been reported that Myrie wants to return to Barbados

My question is why?

Is it for a belated honeymoon?

Does she want to show the Customs and Immigration Officers the garter she wore at the wedding or does she want to toss said garter at a group of female Immigration officers so that whoever catches it will be the next one to marry.

Meanwhile some members of the Immigration & Customs Dept. are brushing up on the lyrics to “Good Morning Miss Myrie” .

Good mornin’ Miss Myrie (thousand days)
    Uh come fuh de baba.’
    (thousand days )
    ‘Wha’ baba yuh meanin ?‘ (thousand days)
    ‘De big fat baba.’
    (thousand days)
    ‘De big juicy baba.’
    (thousand days)
    ‘If yuh fry um uh want um, (thousand days)
    If yuh boil um uh want um, (thousand days)
    If yuh cook um uh want um.’ (thousand days)

Take ‘er down
    Take ‘er down.

3. Do you know that Mr. Abrahams lives in Strathclyde less than a mile from the Supreme Court? Does he use a bicycle to get to court?

4. In Barbados a BMW, a Mercedes Benz or one of those other top of the line jobs, is part and parcel of these big ups identity.They are know by the brand of car ,and its registration number . Asking any of them to walk, and leave their big rides at home, is akin to when Sampson was coaxed into cutting off his locks. Without the big ride , he is just an ordinary man ,not worth a second look in the streets of Bridgetown, and would have to do like the famous slap- tar ,pension baiting, politician who is always quick to tell you, I am………

5. Sargeant March 13, 2016 at 5:39 PM #

Meanwhile some members of the Immigration & Customs Dept. are brushing up on the lyrics to “Good Morning Miss Myrie”
    …………………………………………………………………………………………..
    And they better no addressed her by her new married name, otherwise it may be another big pay out.

6. “Bush Tea March 13, 2016 at 7:20 AM #

@ WW&C
    The man is a fraud …whose main claim to fame is marrying into a ‘connected’ family, joining the right Lodge and now in the Senate talking shiite to attract attention to himself….and he probably was not getting enuff traction with the ‘gun licensing thing’ against the police…
    No doubt, he sees himself succeeding his father-in-law.

Another one that just want noticing….

We want Philip Nicholls for CJ….”

Bushie seems a bit unfair to me to be shooting the messenger instead of the message – shades of ‘naked departure’ to me. Not his fault if the pertinent gun licensing issue which he raised was not sufficiently saucy to attract the necessary support of the pens of persons of your obvious skill and scholarship.

7. “Sargeant March 13, 2016 at 5:39 PM #

At the mention of comedy, this amateur is here for Amateur hour.

Since we know this proposal will float de way de Landship floats on water, leh muh change de subject.

It has been reported that Myrie wants to return to Barbados

My question is why?”

because according to the ruling of the Caribbean Court of Justice she is entitled like you and me to enter under Caribbean country which is signatory to the treaty of Chaguramas for a period of six months free of hassle from overzealous immigration officers. I strongly feel that the court should have awarded her more money for the unnecessary embarrassment in which she was placed. Perhaps one day her contribution to justice rather than satirically denounced would be given the credit it deserves. All hail Ms Myrie-welcome home.

8. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Note Andrew Pilgrim rides all over the island and was once pictured in his court finery on his bike heading to court……..possibly the pot holes and cracks may have put paid to that.

9. @ balance
    All hail Ms Myrie-welcome home.
    Probably got that right.
    According to Naked Departure (which you obviously read – based on your comment to Bushie @ 3.52AM) she should feel most at home here in our den of wufflessness….
    Shiite – she should move here and at least spend some of the money we gave her…..

After Adriel pay the lawyers they can come too…. bout here will be like heaven to them… 🙂

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…ya missing in action, looks like your worse nightmare is about to happen, starting in the US.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/78963/vermont-legislature-track-us-legalise-marijuana

11. “According to Naked Departure (which you obviously read – based on your comment to Bushie @ 3.52AM) she should feel most at home here in our den of wufflessness”
    you seem to be speaking from experience Bushie but if not welcome to the den for wufflessness was here before us and it would be here after us.

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Vincent Haynes

Andrew Pilgrim from the time he used to lime and play basketball by the Old O’level Institute was always a down to earth fella. He is one of the few lawyers that do not behave like he made himself. Pilly, if he was interested in politics would be one that would bring a few differences.

13. @ SSS
    You are likely right about Pilly. He is from good stock.
    So how do you explain his inability to rock the Bar Association boat as president? …and how come he did not expose all the crap that Philip has now done? …and how can he continue to so passively co-exist with the shiite that so obviously exists in our legal system?

If a good man like Pilly could be neutered by the system, perhaps it becomes clearer how much credit is due to someone like Philip who not only spilled the beans, but call names, dates, places and amounts….

You can keep Pilly ….. Bushie wants Philip for CJ – after we send the current joker back to NY…

14. Bush Tea March 15, 2016 at 7:30 AM #

You can keep Pilly ….. Bushie wants Philip for CJ – after we send the current joker back to NY…
    Broadway, specifically. Since he is a Joker and a Guitar Player.