Submitted by Anthony Davis

Governance

The Freundel Stuart administration is not interested in in pursuing anti-corruption legislation at present because it is not a priority,” Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite said. “Brathwaite played down the stance taken by University of the West Indies political scientist Cynthia Barrow-Giles who indicated at a recent event that corruption was part of the political culture here, encouraged by the country’s penchant for furtiveness – BARBADOS TODAY dated 04 March, 2016

First of all, Mr. Attorney General, let me give you the definition of “corruption” as printed in Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary: “corruption: “noun: Dishonest or illegal behaviour especially by powerful people (such as government officials or police officers) : the act of corrupting someone or something : something that has been changed from its original form “Full Definition: 1 a: Impairment of integrity, virtue or moral principle: Depravity b: Decay, decomposition c: Inducement to wrong by improper or unlawful means (as bribery) d: A departure from the original or from what is pure or correct 2 Archaic: an agency or influence that corrupts 3 chiefly dialect:

Examples

a) The ancient Egyptians used special preservatives to spare their dead from complete corruption

b) The corruption of the upper classes eventually led to the fall of the Roman Empire

c) Socrates was put to death because the ancient Athenians believed he was spreading corruption to their youth

If your perception of corruption does not fall under any of the above categories, then there is really no corruption in this country.

However, seeing that the Prime Minister stated that there is vote buying in this country – not once but twice, in 2013 and 2014, pray tell me, Mr. Attorney General, if that is not corruption what would you call it?

Several lawyers – including the Speaker of the Barbados House of Assembly – have come before the courts for misappropriation of people’s money.

What is that, Mr. Attorney General?

If you need more proof, I would suggest that you read Philip V. Nicholls’ “MORE BINDING THAN MARRIAGE”. It makes good reading, and I hope that he donates some copies to all of the libraries so that everyone has the chance to read it.

It surely pinpoints the morality in Barbados!

It seems that the word “noises” has become an integral part of Government’s vocab since the time when the PM used it.

There are school children being forced into sexual activity by adults – what is that?

One student was deprived of her rights to an education for almost three months – what is that?

What would you call it when a set of people promise to do something before elections, and then renege on them after they have won the said elections – with one of them stating that he understood “from a practical perspective” why the ruling Democratic Labour Party Government had not kept some of its promises?

Is he trying to say that reneging on promises is the correct thing to do as long as the result wanted had been achieved?

What would you call it when a minister can cast aspersions on the Leader of the Opposition in Barbados, and get away with it without even the slightest hint of an apology?

What about Government’s covert op whereby it has sold our land at 6 c per acre and given our water – which is a very scarce and precious commodity – to Cahill Energy for 30 years, whereas the populace is sucking salt to get water for their everyday use?

And the list goes on. The bell will have to toll at some time!

87 responses to “Government Reneges on Promise to Enact Anti Corruption Legislation”

1. Don’t take a ‘boothie’! Voters warned they face six months in JAIL if caught taking a selfie in polling booths tomorrow

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2634994/Dont-boothie-Voters-warned-face-six-months-JAIL-caught-taking-selfie-polling-booths-tomorrow.html#ixzz42YFJYeiu

2. @ NorthernObserver

On page 47 of their 2008 election manifesto, the DEMS promised “the people will be kept informed of what the government is doing on their behalf through:

1) the publication of details of agreements and contracts involving the government and its agencies
    2) formal ministerial statements at regular intervals on the progress of ongoing programs and projects

Kammie and his Future Centre Trust have been “actively involved in a logical and realistic way for change” by asking this DLP administration to live up to their promises of good governance, by informing Barbadians about details relative to the CAHILL project. Kammie has also brought detailed information about how a gasification plant may present some environmental problems for Barbados and thoroughly explained this at a number of presentations at town hall meetings and via the news and social media.

The same ACs who wrote “in many of the developed countries citizens groups become a nexus for many changes,” has constantly lambasted Kammie and the Future Centre Trust on BU for highlighting the mysteries surrounding CAHILL. They described all the documents presented to public as being fake, because it suits their political purpose, while this administration the ACs support is adamant that the project has to become a reality, despite evidence to the contrary.

What group has been able to initiate or impact change in Barbados?

During the 14 years of the past BLP administration, Shelly Weir and the Hope Foundation were at the forefront constantly highlighting the inadequacies of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital. Why? Because she is a member of the DLP and was only fulfilling her political mandate.
    When the DEMS formed the government in 2008, Weir was appointed to the QEH board. There has been no SIGNIFICANT IMPROVEMENT at the HOSPITAL and WEIR REMAINS SILENT because “her party in power.”

Pinelands Creative Workshop shifts between the BLP and DLP; the Israel Lovell Foundation is aligned to the BLP

Groups, organizations and people in general would only be able to effect change in Barbados, if they are supportive of the political party that holds the reins of government.

3. pieter pieper March 10, 2016 at 6:47 PM #

“There are still those among us who believe there is no need for “Integrity, Transparency, Accountability and Freedom of Information Legislation”, despite the fact that not only was it a promise made by the governing party in the 2008 election, but the present AG opines that it is not needed, based upon “economics”.”

@ pieter pieper

But if the AG’s party believes Barbados is more than an economy, it’s a society, then he should with haste look at enacting ITAL. I guess in this instance they are probably admitting that a bad economy has an impact on the society.

4. and what do you believe or expect these piece of legislation would accomplished are there not laws on the books that are ready in place to lock up thieves and scoundrels
    how does one believe that passing another set of laws would protect society from crooked politicians scumbags and sacillwags
    there are countries with these laws namely the USA and politicians are still found caught involved in illegal activities
    How are they caught ?because of watch dog groups and organizations who have a network of people which interact at ground level scanning and observing what is being said and done by these politicians before and after they become servants of the people
    Having the legislation and no one to be overseers and observers of those put in charge of the people trust is another piece of band aid remedy which cannot be effective without society need to regulate

5. If there are laws already in place why did this disappointing lot promised to implement transparency laws within 100 days of assuming government. It is people like you, yardfowls, that is the problem. A people gets the government they deserve.

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Artaxerxes

The Prime Minister does not exude the type demeanour that makes you look upon him as honourable. On the contrary, he has behaved, said and done so many things that make him dishonourable. Does this administration look to you like you can trust their word? When they speak do you feel like they exude confidence? They were never about following manifesto promises. They were all about fulfilling personal agendas. In spite the crookery of David Thompson, you still had a sense that with him there was the extension of a listening ear to all who wanted to speak or make a suggestion. The moment you heard the words, ”this is we time, we will do it our way,” you knew immediately that their promises were only to comfort fools. The moment that 3-PM embrace Leroy Parris as friend and Michael Carrington as having not done anything wrong, you knew exactly what cloth he was cut from. If Barbados had a commission set up to look into the practices of its leader and ministers, one with ultimate power to hold politicians accountable for their actions, deeds and words, I can guarantee you that this lot would fail miserably. Even the estimates are telling a story that seems rigged to put money in many pockets.

7. @ SSS
    If Barbados had a commission set up to look into the practices of its leader and ministers, one with ultimate power to hold politicians accountable for their actions, deeds and words, I can guarantee you that this lot would fail miserably. Even the estimates are telling a story that seems rigged to put money in many pockets.
    That commission would be called the NATIONAL SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE (Commission) under the BUP and Bushie has long proposed Caswell to be the initial chairman.

Having such a commission is a common sense move, as a means of effecting integrity and transparency….AS WELL as the teeth to deal with breeches.

But as you know by now, …..we do not do ‘common sense…’

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They better bite that bullet, because restructuring the dollar, currently pegged to the US will ensure…they will never see recovery, but abject misery, mainly because the current lot of politicians from both divide are not the brightest lot, too eadily distracted by self….Jamaica is a good reminder re their dollar never recovering.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/78820/restructure-bite-bullet.

AC……your memory is short, like I said, am here as a reminder, a constant reminder…what watchdog groups what, what organizations what….your corrupt politicians and scalliwags have a track record and reputation of retaliating against anyone who tries to expose them..

That wicked practice and lowlife behavior of scamps for politicians “let them starve, if they dont shut up” goes back decades…..people have died in poverty trying to do the right thing for the island while the only thing on politicians’ minds were corruption and thiefing.

So dont come on here trying to fool the world, why dont you form one of those organizations or watchdog groups, then we can all sit back and enjoy the outcome. They can do nothing about social media is the only reasons corrupt politicians are finding it difficult to do even more crap on the island.

For the millionth time, corrupt public officials, when caught, go to prison in the US, that is because there are legislated laws on the statute books to curb corruption…..where are those legislations in Barbados, where are they…AC.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art…and when these pretend advocates get their yardfowl positions at the same compromised entities, it ensures they shut up, they never complain again or advocate again…….or they would starve.

It’s like a religion to the politicians….all they have ever been really good at is shutting people up….until now…lol

10. Has anyone noticed that the Government plans to reduce the QEH budget by $9 million while spending $5 million on Independence celebrations?

Can we change our trajectory from social and economic ruin?

11. Govt does not start and end in Parliament it is “WE” the people who chisel’s away at the problems by extending and expanding the laws on the books it is WE the people who are the true enforcers the laws cannot be enforced unless WE the people activate with diligence outside the walls of Parliament using legitimate and firewall methods that legislatures cannot penetrate
    Who make the laws would always find ways to circumvent and to obstruct // unless society step forward with their own formulas and methods of holding politician accountable

12. @ Ping Pong
    How did you even notice that?
    …in an environment where they are giving MORE money to the Defence force…. (to facilitate the BIG parade for the 50th?)
    …where they have been UNABLE to resolve simple promotion issues in the Police Force
    …where schools close daily for lack of effective cleaning
    …where water is off for extended periods -as a matter of course

But every night they can find some moron to come on TV talking shiite about how many days left to the 50th Anniversary….

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

So AC….why dont YOU agitate to put anticorruption legislation in place, since contrary to Adriel Brathwaite, AG…..you are growing a passion about it.

If you can answer me why DBLP politicians have to be forced to enact such legislation, I will go down to parliament with a sign…..do not tell me it’s because they have no money because:

They denied for 7 years that the economy was in trouble.

They swore Barbados was not affected by the world recession, so did the BLP.

They had millions to waste on whatever nonsense rolled around in their heads, including 5 million for independence celebrations and 60 million US of NIS pension money for 4 seasons…..wastage.

So, why would the government have to be forced to enact much needed legislation AC.

Me…I prefer keep exposing them….it takes less energy and is much more fun..lol

14. @Ping Pong

Yes it was mentioned on another blog.

It comes down to a matter of prioritizing, to win an election or the discomfort of a few patients.

15. Bush Tea

I worry a lot for my future, my children’s future and for all those who have no where else to go but Barbados.

Imagine that the British made a fortune (an empire) on the backs of Black Barbadians/Africans then kicked us to the curb (calling it Independence) when we were no longer useful to them and here we are celebrating our disposal.

16. @ Ping Pong
    You worry about your children’s future because you are smart. Most Bajans do not have that luxury. The WHOLE independence /republic nonsense is designed to provide distractions for the sheeple so that they will not have time to think about their children’s future.

Of course you must be aware that you are VERY much at fault for our current predicament. Surely you know that if someone of your intellectual vintage had been available to the electorate as an option in ANY of our recent “Hobson’s Choice” elections, you would have won hands down ..and EVERYTHING would have been different right now…

There is still time for you to give Grenville a call… tell him that Bushie sent you…. 🙂
    Imagine us having a MoF who not only understands decimals..but actually is a Maths genius?

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bushman….first you have to teach Bajans and Caribbean black people by extension,
    that the British got rid of them because they were no longer a viable option for British self-enrichment…called it independence and got a gaggle of dumb blacks to believe such..they should have seen it for what ot wss back then, given the track record of those who enslaved their ancestors…..I believe Barrow saw it in the 70s, but hos time had already passed, hence the veiled warnings, he would not have been able to reverse anything without reeducation.

Where Barrow, Williams et al fell down is, they did not disclose this fact to the people and I gather from the failed federation and crablike mentality each possessed and the current politicians still do, they did not share that information with each other…enter the new age corrupt politician very shortly after, telling lies, keeping secrets and refusing to engage the populace on anythong…..now they have arrived to this stage…50 years later, but they are here.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

*refusing to engage the populace on anything.

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine March 11, 2016 at 6:45 AM #

“The moment that 3-PM embrace Leroy Parris as friend and Michael Carrington as having not done anything wrong, you knew exactly what cloth he was cut from.”

@ SSS

And let’s not forget the situation where the Sanitation Service Authority trucks and Transport Board buses are being repaired by Trans Tech Inc. and the ministers under whose portfolios these agencies fall are allegedly driving vehicles registered to that company.

None other than the Attorney General, Adriel Brathwaite, came to their defense.

20. The ‘Independence’ shiite should have been ‘celebrated’ for the first 5 years MAXIMUM.
    After that, it should have been relegated to just another work day.
    If we had a NATIONAL VISION worth anything then we could institute an annual day of review where we ANALYSED and CELEBRATED progress made TOWARDS that national vision.

“Independence” Bushie’s ass….
    ya mean FIFTY years down the road we still talking shiite bout that?

Independence Day ….Emancipation Day … Columbus day…
    Lotta shiite – designed to distract idiots from the REALITY of their dismal future…..

How about a “Barbados Enfranchisement Day” ….where we review progress on the promotion of the EQUAL distribution of the National resources ….based on MERIT -rather than colour /class?
    ….Of course, that would be showing a CONSTANT DECLINE would it not…?

21. Bush Tea March 11, 2016 at 9:22 AM #

I am in agreement with your above sentiments….do you know that EWB eschewed statues,monuments,days,etc and he is no doubt cussing the ones who put up his statue and those who created EWB day.

Between the late 50’s and the 70’s NGOs like the youth clubs,Jaycees and Lions attracted bright young people who used to debate national,regional and international happenings at various forums…..sadly this no longer happens and we are the worse for it.

22. @ Vincent
    Bushie was in the 4H, Sports club, church choir, youth group and any other youth organisation dedicated to the things in which the young bushman has NO interest…
    …and went on to be in almost every shiite organisation we got bout here…

WHY?
    …because Bushie had wise parents who would SERIOUSLY cut the little bushie’s ass if he failed to take their ‘advice’ to join up… it became a habit…

If they were like the stupid-assed parents now breathing-up the people’s good oxygen …then young Bushie would have been on the block smoking, chasing AC and Islandgal …and ending up as poor as Caswell… 🙂

Everything happens for a reason.

23. Bush Tea March 11, 2016 at 12:46 PM #

Skippah…….The only Cawmerian I knew in the 4H was me and you aint me.

I was in many organisations except anything associated with religion and joined all on my own initiative.

24. @ Vincent
    Bushie cannot speak for the estrogen-driven among us…. you probably learned to sew ‘on your own initiative’ too
    While Bushie was forced by a mother who insisted that he be independent.

REAL testosterone is not easily managed Boss…? you gotta BEND it into shape.

25. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Bush Tea March 11, 2016 at 1:13 PM #

How yuh now so good,sew,bone flying fish,pick down and put back engines yuh name it all on own initiative.

26. …so why the hell don’t you use that initiative to pick down the DLP and see if you can’t reassemble them …this time with some kinda brain?
    …cause obviously whoever put them together mixed up the ‘thinking organ’ with the ‘solid waste’ organ …and got AC as the spokesman spouting inevitable shiite…

At the very least …you can ‘sew’ her A$$ shut…. 🙂
    LOL ha ha ha

27. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Bush Tea March 11, 2016 at 4:19 PM #

Chuckle…….No bozie….I leave that to you and BBE,although after all these years trying it looks like it ent wukking.

28. Given Philip Nicholls’ recent book ,it would be most interesting to read his opinion on the urgent need for anti-corruption legislation, (given the fact that it was promised in 2008). Or will he cover it in a revised edition ? Interesting read !

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Artax

You would think that driving around in a contractor’s vehicle would be grounds to launch an investigation into the nature of such a relation to determine any deviant financial practices. You already know that the money will not be passed via any banking transaction, referral, cheque or deposit. You know up front that we talking cash money transferred from one hand to the next in the agreed meeting spot. You know upfront that to keep a legit appearance, these thieving bitches would utilize their salaries every month, appear to be saving some of it, bring out loans to act as a front, where bank statements can show clearly deductions while they continue to hoard thousands towards millions in the safe keeping of the same contractors, under agreement, or in their privately installed secretive safes or volts. You would think that if we had any real police that dealt with white collar crime or even a journalistic establishment that not influenced by the same wicked people, we could catch a good few of them in the act. Barbados is just the nice little nest egg for breeding corruption and establishing systems to keep it up and running, because what money do not buy, it simply destroys through wicked partnership agreements.

30. Driving around in a contractors vehicle does not make an individual a thief , Allegations remains baseless unless substantiated on”real” evidence

“WE” know a lot of shite don/t “WE” then use the legal parameters to dig up and get rid of .

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…you are an enabler, the worse breed of yardfowl.

You do not see a politician and member of government driving around in any contractor’s vehicle, particularly those contractors in Barbados who are known and proud to be corrupt since they openly boast that they cannot be arrested in Barbados by DPP or police; unless that politician is also corrupt…where do you get your logic.

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Is this the intelligent AC or that other cunt?

Are you kidding me? Do you not see a conflict of interest? Do you not see the raising of a red flag when the ministers’ preferences are to go with the buddy friend Transtec? No wonder why Barbados is so corrupt. Management 101, especially coming from government ministers who are in positions to influence finances and award contracts is that you do not create situations of conflict evidenced by close relationships. T

33. Andrew Simpson Avatar
    Andrew Simpson

David, might a digital platform to capture the will of the people on an issue by issue basis, starting with whether or not implementation of integrity legislation is a priority, be designed? Text Yes for Integrity Legislation or No to allow Corruption and Misappropriation of public funds.

34. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Instead of Yes or No, just put an X that is what we have been doing for the past umteen years to give the people we elect to parliament a free hand in the continuation of Corruption and Misappropriation of public funds.

35. @ Andrew Simpson

I will be presumptuous enough and answer for David (heheheheheheh)

Yes such “a platform” can be designed. Survey Monkey and other online platforms can do precisely that see https://www.surveymonkey.com/mp/certified-survey-questions/

Here are some questions that one would ask though.

1.Who is going to host it? The party that is going to host the platform is extremely important. If it is seen to be a political organisation, IT WILL NOT GET ANY RESPONSES. Even if it is not a political organisation, people are quite weary of coming online and voting for the simplest thing because they fear who will use their information & how

2.What will happen with the information that is harvested. You might not be seeing these surveys recently but Loop, and The nation, and Barbados Today and several other entities are doing these online surveys.

THe reason that they fail of have limited successes is because the sponsors cannot give any legitimate reason why a survey should be done. What is the ultimate purpose of all of this effort.

Bajans live in a society where we fear putting down our name and number even on a Raffle ticket because we feel that the promoters are going to give that information to someone even the Raffle ticket for the school is devoid of cell numbers because people are afraid.

Add the fact that the type of survey that you need HAS TO HAVE SOME TYPE OF DELIMITER, that is, it has to have something which says we polled x people, and these specific people are, other than that the poll that you are seeking to compile, does not have much validity because people can say things like “one man polled 10 times” as happened with the Raffle that Standard had for the $1million dollars and never held the raffle.

You know the one where the government worker at the MTW too 200 government envelopes and put their name in it and submitted them for the raffle.

Will BU do such a Survey?

Well I cant answer for the Honourable Blogmaster but I would ask why? What would he gain?

Would it bring people to BU because BU is a credible online entity without any political bias? Or would it dilute the audience that is currently on BU? One never knows, he could run both.

But Mr. Simpson.

Why stop at a survey?

Why not put your effort behind supporting a Participatory Workspace which expands what BU is right now, Barbados’ Premiere Advocacy medium.

A place where as opposed to talking bout it, BU actually starts doing it?

So for example we are talking about the garbage problem in Barbados.

Why you dont look at piloting a small pilot of 25 houses in *** where your enhanced “digital platform” idea could become a real live project where 25 real people would be part of your ral real survey of a specific local issue and who would use a digital platform to record (a) what is collected (b) what is seperated (c) and other metrics that brings the power of the average man and woman in the street to bear on our particular issues INSTEAD OF ALL THE LOTTA LONG TALK and digital survey toy games.

I am just wondering if your serious question wants serious answers.

When you get old like me and about to dead all the fancy talk and ting does go out the window.

Or you still want the Survey Monkey thing?

36. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

During the week the media, including BU, was misled and reported that a court marshal did not serve Maloney, and that was the reason for his non-appearance in court. Well the marshals took some licks and unjustly so. Did anyone check to see if the summons was ever given to an individual marshal to serve? As far as I’m aware the answer is NO.