Ceda_noteBU with the help of informants continue to expose the shenanigans at a leading Caribbean agency responsible for export development. Like Cahill Barbados, CLICO (CL Financial) and others the Caribbean Export Development Agency (CEDA) appears to lack a strong governance and management framework to assure donors who fund the agency that the process of disbursing millions is complying with policy. Such a conclusion is supported by a 2014 Pillar Assessment of Caribbean Export Development Agency document now updated to BU. The draft document is populated with mark-ups and highlights to assist readers’ understanding of the troubling practices being ignored by CEDA Board of Directors and Management.

BU expresses our appreciation to those selfless individuals who are in a position to share insight to how this important agency that is critical to our development has been hijacked by a few. Regrettably informants have had to retreat to the Internet to share sensitive information because of the lack of confidence in traditional media to protect sources. The BU team is satisfied we are protected by terms of conditions located outside of the region which zealously guard the right to freedom of expression. Further, the BU team ensures all documents received are scrubbed for metadata. Informants can further protect themselves by utilizing Dropbox and/or TOR among many ‘transporters’  to transmit information to dissolve all relationship with the transaction.

Let us (civil society) continue to be vigilant and engaged to ensure the quality of delivery by actors charged with doing the people’s business.

107 responses to “Things Fall Apart Series IV – Caribbean Export Development Agency Pillar Assessment Findings”

1. Make Caribbean Export Great Again Avatar
    Make Caribbean Export Great Again

A lot has transpired since the first article ‘Things Fall Apart” was publish by BU on Caribbean Export Development Agency and its Executive Director Pamela Coke Hamilton and her management bring the organization into disrepute. My how times flies when you are having fun at the expense of EU tax payers and the 15 CARIFORUM governments coffers.

It is now February 2017 and it is unbelievable that Pamela is still the head of Caribbean Export despite the overwhelming evidence that has been presented. It is against this background that I write again to remind you that the following still persists today:

Unadulterated Corruption:
    · Paying for Government of Barbados Ministers to fly first class on government business which has no relation to CE’s activities. The understanding is that the said Ministers will endorse Pamela’s efforts and programs
    · Violating the terms and conditions of contracts with external parties and asking for kickbacks
    · Managers undertaking unplanned travel and claiming per diem
    · Managers not required to submit Back to Office and Expense Reports to validate travel
    · Instructing staff to falsify report to DFID to validate expenditure of funds for BreakPoint.
    · Plagiarizing consultants work
    mismanagement of EU tax payer funds:
    · Using the 28M to fund personal projects (London 2012, Calabash and Colloquium) that were not approved by the EU in the workplan.
    · Hiring unnecessary staff (HR, PR and Competitive and Innovation Advisor), despite the 28M program activities were at an end
    · Paying for hotel accommodation which was never used at Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, 2012
    · Engaging attorneys in London to file legal claim against Shaftesbury Hyde Park International, 2012 for over payment of accommodations
    · Paying for 5 business class round trip travel for Managers and PR consultant to identify and book accommodation for London 2012
    disregard for the laws of Barbados (Employment Rights Act, 2012),
    · Wrongful dismissal Law suit with Elliot Paige 2010
    · Firing more than 30 staff and not paying severance as is required by Barbados Law and ignoring the fact that all contracts specified that the laws of Barbados would be applicable.
    Discriminating against employees near retirement
    blind nepotism
    · Personal relationships with certain staff (legal, Market Intelligence, Managers, Advisor) and increasing their pay and promoting to other positions without any transparent criteria
    · Relocating Market Intelligence staff to DR office with no clear purpose
    · Manager destroying company property (chair and phone)
    · Competitiveness Innovation officer retained as a consultant despite him resigning and staff repeatedly told by Manager that he is not a productive staff member.
    · Discriminating against PR (M&E) officer when she became pregnant
    · Sexual harassment complaint filed against Manager
    · Manager using profanity to employees
    · Manager falsifying consultant’s reports for payment.
    · Manager drunk unable to represent ED at CARICOM Secretariat Meetings .
    · Manager demanding to be paid 22k per month just like the HR Manager
    · Hiring PR and HR personnel because of past friendships with their parents
    Improper discharge of provisions/articles outlined in the Agreement Establishing Caribbean Export.
    · Coercing the former Chairman (Antigua & Barbuda) and current Chairperson (The Bahamas) to violate the Agreement to extend Pamela’s contract for more than 2 years.

Now to present day, Pamela and her management team have successfully gotten rid of staff that she deemed were not in her corner. However, this was not enough, as there are several incidents of her and management giving grievous references to block the 30 dismissed staff from gaining meaningful employment to sustain their livelihoods and send their children to school.

Finally, her paranoia of the chickens coming home to roost has caught up with her, as she holds fewer staff meetings for the she is convinced that persons outside are carrying news. What is even more amusing, is the fact that there has been an exodus of loyal staff, with at least 5 persons resigning within the past three months. These persons are now confirming that the Agency was being run in a corrupt manner and they two have questioned whether they would encounter the same fate as the 30 dismissed staff if they stayed. Some jumped ship as there are no funds and the current staff is hanging on to their jobs by a monthly contractual thread and off course the usual bullshit speech that the EU is going to grant them more funds under the 11th EDF. This would be a travesty as it is very clear that the frequent RECYCLED newspaper articles (The Advocate), high visibility events and glossy publications do not tell the whole truth. To be fair the 28M Eu program was a good one. The evidence of non-performance is overwhelming and it clearly demonstrates that Pamela and her management team have failed to manage the agency in transparent manner, attract new donors and most importantly convince the EU to award record breaking funds. This has only been achieved by one person, the former Executive Director of Caribbean Export, who transformed the agency and convinced the EU to award the 28M Regional PSDP.

DO NOT be fooled by the recent Exporter Awards article that appeared on the back page of the Advocate in December or the fact that new EU Delegation Head gave a glowing speech about the work CE is doing. The EU is very diplomatic and while they may have reason for concern they will not air their dirty laundry in public. But I am sure they have taken notice of CE’s operations under Pamela’s leadership. To further substantiate my point just look on the photo on the back page of the Advocate, the body language suggests that the EU and CE are strangers not development partners

I hope that CE’s Board and the new EU Delegation Head are paying attention, do not be comforted by the recent forensic audit as the auditors were not looking in the right place. If they had contacted any of 30 dismissed staff or shafted consultants (they are too numerous to mention) they would get actual documents that confirm the blatant corruption and mismanagement of EU tax payers funds.

The wheels of justice are turning Pamela, by now you would have received letters from the Ministry of Labour informing you that 30 dismissed staff are entitled to severance pay. I know you are a sensible person and will do the right thing in settling all the legal conflicts. Is it possible that you were ill advised by your loyal staff on what to do?

2. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

Caribbean Export will Never be great again under the leadership of Pamela Coke-Hamilton and her Management team as well as The COO and his accounting team that hides records. A full purge needed while you are at it.

3. We are Watching Avatar

@Retribution-Things that make you go hum

Did you know more people have resigned. I here looking from the inside and wondering what the hell happening. Apparently last month another favourite, PR, who blindly supported Pamela left the building. This was one of the key players in the matter against the consultant, who’s work they plagiarized and mash up her publication business.

One by one they seem to bailing out on Pamela. Plus the guy who just resigned, preaching the gospel on the dishonest CM. Word round the office is that he left because he found out that CM was corrupt and wanted no part of kickbacks.

Isn’t it wonderful how everything comes to light. CM and Pamela thought that divide and conquer would always work to their advantage.

Another departure is waiting at the door, as the consultant has given his notice to leave next month. I guess CM is now going to have work his arse off and earn every single penny of the 22K he receives monthly. Everyone in the office knows that he travels frequently for no clear purpose, but he does this with the approval of Pamela.

Just so you know we have the facts and NOT ALTERNATIVE FACTS, we observed that on one occasion he told Pamela he not going to the meeting to represent her, but will only go if he get to go shopping. Note he never went to the meeting and never filed his BTOR (Back to Office Report), but did go shopping. So we have to ask the quesiton, who is in charge of the madness that still persists?

4. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

@ We are watching, I have been traveling a bit and have not been inform of the latest on CE! but am not surprised at staff leaving. We tend to overlook the psychological problems of the top brasses.

As for CM, Everyone knows that Pamela cannot control her golden boy!

5. @ Retribution-Things that make me go hmmmmmm!

These are the EU options

1.The Governments of the Caribbean do not want to loose the Caribbean Export gig. it is a lucrative bilateral aid thing, replete with its free money and so called technical assistance

2.While the EU is very much aware of the state of affairs at the CE, a fact that is borne our by their recall of the last Delegation head, they cannot seem to insult the hows government(s) by summarily withdrawing their aid.

3.As usual, depending on whose appendages you suck read doggie or who has sampled the other part pre, or post tightening, Caribbean politics is predicated on favours, in and out of bed and not on meritocracy.

4.What you have is a very aware EU that is treading carefully while employing the only thing that they can employ within this diplomatic cauldron i.e. withdrawing programme funds imperceptibly.

5.Staff of whom you speak who are owed severance pay, are caught in that crossfire where EU is “withdrawing” aid from the CE under the current administration, while not seeking to estrange the counterpart governments. In short there is no $$ available to “do the right thing” because (a) the directors/governments, even though they are aware parties are owed these monies cannot (b) insists that, or be party to any initiative which focuses on Collateral damage.

6.In plain english the EU did not budget for nor sign on to the severance pay of 30 people and Coke Hamilton is releasing and paying out those that she beleives have been faithful to her.

7.The CE directors are smart insofar as they, having contractually agreed to appoint the nightwatchman as the CEO, are treading softly lest they themselves are sued by the said CEO remember that she changed the rules of their appointment and tenure and now, with all the respective CARICOM issues in the respective member states, the directors who are being appointed do not have (a) the institutional history (b) the collective will nor (c) the balls to fire her. BUT IF THE PROGRAM DRIES UP, then she may leave.

7.Weak men and women have bred this cauldron which will either be purges as well it should or the fuel under the cauldron will go out, to be reignited by others, or stay out.

Okonkwo the hero of Achebe’s novel learn something about his weaknesses and what leads to his fall in the novel.

Me fears that we forever wander in the deadzone of potentialities and possibilities, besieged by these shadow dwellers, the Cooke Hamiltons and the the mcNairs, blind visionless people whom we appoint to lead us from Egypt to the Promised Land and wonder and wander, incredulous about the path of destruction that they take us to.

But, in the grand scheme of things these crimes that the EU, by sin of diplomacy and protocol, The CE Directors by reason of the mendicancy of the Member states and the power hungry duo of the Doctor and her trusted? steed Chris have only committed “ochu”.

In killing the collective possibilities they have committed a minor crime cause like the DLP and their predecessor the BLP dem ent kill nobody, jes rob the CE blind.

Come leh we wuk up and have a good time.

6. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

@piece, yah ain’t a liar!

7. Hahahah. What a classic sound bite! Whenever I hear people – well evengelicals, anyway – referring to the Bible as a book of "standards by which to live," a couple red flags go up. First is, they probably never read the Bible, save for a few commonly referred to passages, Second, what standards are they referring to: Plural marriage? Concubinage? Infanticde? Genocide? Rape? Incest? Torture? Prostitution? Homosexuality (Pro)? Talking mules? It's all in there kiddies! Frankly, these people are throwbacks to neolithic mentalities.